Tata Nano in Malaysia – how did it end up here?

tata-nano-malaysia-suthesh

This green Tata Nano was sighted near the Seremban toll by reader Suthesh Kumar Balbir Singh. We wonder how a registered Tata Nano ended up here in Malaysia. Is someone planning to bring Tata passenger cars in? DRB-HICOM currently has a collaboration with Tata Motors via their wholly-owned unit USF-HICOM, but it’s for CBU and CKD Tata commercial vehicles. There has been no mention of passenger vehicles so far.

The Tata Nano’s two-cylinder 624cc engine is mounted at the rear and drives the rear wheels through a four-speed manual gearbox. It produces 38 PS and 51 Nm of torque. Official top speed is 105km/h, so you pretty much have to go full speed on highways. RM15k new car anyone?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• it could be a msian diplomat who just came back to msia. or it could be, this car is comin here soon, just a guess

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:14 pm

This car looks like a Chapati or a toseh. But this car and you will start to wear a saree and eat banana leaf

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 119
      • salambangis on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:57 pm

Tata Nano = Tak Nak. I dont want sarees and turbans in and on my car no matter how cheap.Fullstop.I dont want to talk much…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 100
      • No offence to tata. This car is not safe for malaysian roads. Btw i dont get some people who associate it with food and dress or they need to grow up.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 4
        • you mean your viva is safer than this car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • Basel on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:33 pm

No matter what saloon car you are driving, if you are unlucky, you’ll not safe either.

• dirtyoldmen on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:37 pm

your bad breath stinks of racism. indirectly, you’re implying that you’re somehow better than Indians, over a billion people. you’re just a shallow superficial clown who delights in looking down on others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 10
      • i still dont know any indian people who “eats” banana leaf.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 24, 2013 at 1:19 pm

So many imposters lately.

Must be the K5 owner that was shown the broomstick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • fanofthisite on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:13 pm

something very very wrong with you

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Nov 23, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Dont worry lahhh……this car is so crappy, nobody even cares if its only priced at RM1….

MIROS, do ya thing with MCAP….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • Naim KV1688L on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:17 pm

This car driver is Suthesh Kumar…

• robinhood on Nov 26, 2013 at 2:08 pm

I thought Sammy Vellu. Afterall, he’s building toll highways in India. Hopefully safe for this car

• brendon on Nov 23, 2013 at 12:58 pm

if it is new and 15k or lower , why not ,

it is new car anyway………..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
  • Jimmy on Nov 23, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Should be RM15K at the most. Safer than bike.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 2
  • Heskey on Nov 23, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Hope it’s not coming to Malaysia. if all bikers upgrade to this car our roads will be chocked.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • abuya123 on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Our road already chocked…. Many cars than 10 years earlier. Bear in mind after PR take over Malaysia next PRU, probably no tax for car. You can imagine what happen to our road. However, this is good news. Hope it really officially sell here at 15k price tag. I want to buy 1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 53
      • ARIFFIN on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Before the late eighties, the longest allowed for car loan is only four years. Car price feel cheap now is just because of the low installments due to longer loan payment period of 7 to nine years. If the loan period is as before the late eighties of only max of 4 yrs, how many malaysians can afford imported cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
        • 4g63t dsm on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Car price feel cheap due to loans? In the 80s a Toyota corolla cost about 18k. Why would you need more than a 4 year loan? Now even a Vios is a good part of 90k.

You must be pretty well off to think that 7yr/1000+/mth is considered “low” installment. Even for a car like the Vios, City or the Suprima/Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Yes, sure a Toyota Corolla costs 18k, but to put into perspective look at the starting salary back then: my late father who is a lecturer an holds a Ph.D earns 1.6k a month.

Back then it’s hard to see houses with more than one car. Now, everyone and his cousin owns at least 2 cars. In my previous neighbourhood, my neighbour on the right owns 4 cars while my neighbour on the left owns 5 cars.

It’s all perspective.

• teamsleepnine on Nov 24, 2013 at 3:32 am

pr never said anything about abolish car tax…they said they will lower the tax,making “affordable” car properly affordable cars…sorry la if you berangan every night in four years time you will be driving a 911 or a w222 s class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • kabal on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Bikers will not substitute their ride for this car.. If they do buy this tata, i’m pretty sure they wil not drive it to city centre.. bike is the most fastest and most convenience way to avoid our shit traffic jam in city centre like KL..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
    • 4g63t dsm on Nov 24, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Those people who think cheap cars will cause jams need to get off thier selfish high horse.

Congestion is caused by bad road planning, “rush hour”, poor traffic management, lack of public transport access, population density and breakdowns/accidents.

Bikers will continue with bikes as it’s the fastest way around the city.

Cheaper cars will just mean more people will just get newer or better cars compared to thier present clunkers. After all, means shit how many cheap cars you own, you can only drive one at a time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • tak payah nak jual lah….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Luqman_HKM on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Indian government lost his way?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
    • Redlox on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:34 am

Guess the chinese Gov lost their way before the Indian Goverment !!

• Jared David on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:34 pm

there is a yellow one in klang.

• Eugene on Nov 25, 2013 at 8:34 pm

Yeah that’s right. I tot my eyes wrongly see.. I saw 1 yellow nano on port klang..

• sepul on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:38 pm

I think this is the exact same car I encountered near Taman Sendayan Baru just before Seremban. It was on the opposite road. I saw it about 4-5 months ago.

• Black Dog on Nov 23, 2013 at 2:55 pm

PLEASE, PLEASE don’t bring it in. WE’re not a 3rd world country. If it’s on sale here, we’ll be flooded with Bangla drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 55
  • Sam Loo on Nov 23, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Wow, now Hyundai i10 has a direct compettition, finally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 13
    • kusochon on Nov 23, 2013 at 4:57 pm

hahaha

• Low Budget on Nov 23, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Top speed of 105 Km/H? Even the “kap chai” or Kancil beat this car flat! i10 will be 1 class above this Tata.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • sam69 on Nov 23, 2013 at 8:59 pm

Not even close enough..ur toiyota trash cant even made it to malaysia..

• supra 1.5 on Nov 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm

another flying car after viva, myvi n vios

• http://www.clutchd.com/2009/07/tata-nano-passes-its-first-european-crash-test-video-included.html/

it is safer than you ignorant people thinks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • taugeh on Nov 24, 2013 at 1:10 am

it is a smarter choice than smart for two at rm80k +
    that sits 2 person ,

• San_J on Nov 24, 2013 at 2:46 am

I saw 1 same light green colour at Kesas with Melaka plate..

• suresh on Nov 24, 2013 at 2:53 am

any one thinking of buying a motorbike…may buy this car…

• If you don’t like it…just don’t buy it lah, if it’s sold here. Then again…some may buy it. That’s ones choice to make. Simple…why all these racist comments? Jealous bcos a Tata Nano is on the road? Grow up lah Msians. Some dumbass said we are not a third world country…but we are..in fact some of the comments here made by a bunch of losers..clearly indicate that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • im_who_im on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:18 am

i agree with this comment…quite sad and disappointed with our malaysians lately…with all these racist and fanatic comments…so backwards and narrow minded…since when cars became a trade mark for races?…if so, how bout our own product?…does it reflect our own image?…CARS and brands are manufactured /designed by certain groups (consist of all races & religions to be precise). it should not reflect the country or its people for the sake of end user product coming out from such country….shame on those who relate race to brands and so on…..

• diamjer on Nov 25, 2013 at 8:56 am

its weight lighter than kancil 660.
    scrap the backseat for larger engine bay…

voila…

you got yourself a backwheel pocket rocket.
    come on DRB bring this to malaysia.

• idiots on Nov 25, 2013 at 11:20 am

I clearly have no hope for this country. Even a simple discussion regarding a god damn car veers towards racial sentiments. And you idiots expect racial equality and equal treatment? Dream on la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • RoKie on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:31 pm

OMG ! More flying death traps on wheels on highways now !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • fafau80 on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Some Banglas@Nepalis working here brought this thing here.I guess.. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Basel on Nov 21, 2014 at 12:29 pm

You are totally ignorant. Those kind of workers are not illegible to bring in their car.LOL.

• ahhing on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:02 pm

For the price it does serve its purpose well. It still shelters one from rain and sun and is safer than a bike. So it does make sense for lower income groups with family. Shame on you haters. You don’t know poverty and hope you can taste it soon.

• Can fly in air asia,fire fly etc.But driving in this car is so awkward.This car is only for those who can’t afford to buy kancil,kenari etc

How about cherry?

• rafflord on Feb 21, 2014 at 12:16 am

atleast its a 100yr over old brand tata ,from 3rd world country have the step to buy the rovers to make it profitable unlike losing lotus pothong. tata , mahindras are sold in malaysia and for god sake,still pothong wiping thier left over semen for last 6yrs in India to sell thier brand.

• fadzee on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:10 am

it can be a platform for kei-car lover like me to enjoy car modified in cheapest way.thinking of Tata nano with bolt on turbo charger and Rota rims 13″.

• fadzee on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:11 am

it can be a platform for kei-car lover like me to enjoy car modified in cheapest way.Tata nano with bolt on turbo charger and Rota rims 13″.

• Basel on Nov 21, 2014 at 3:24 pm

We all must know,Tata Nano is the world’s cheapest auto costing around US2,200 per unit.It is known as Nano – “The people’s car”in India. Unlike “your Love” car PROTON JUARA which is much more expensive.Imagine if Proton Juara were on the Street of New York???????
    The owner of the Nano car must have enjoyed his life and liberty driving his Nano car in Malaysia.It not a big deal…after all his money..his choices…or may be the car is just one of his collections.Those “kampung folks” who have commented negatively about the car…please enjoy your life.

• fidelcatstro on Mar 01, 2015 at 2:47 pm

id love to get a tata nano body and fit in a scapyard gsxr 1000 motorcycle engine and bring out 120 ponies from its rear wheel

• JOHNSON Chew on Oct 16, 2019 at 12:17 am

If they have ev cars, that will be good!