Low HP interest rate, free service for Chevrolet Sonic

DSC_7290

Chevrolet distributor Naza Quest is offering customers a “Super Sonic Special” to see-off 2013, a promotion for the B-segment Chevrolet Sonic hatchback and sedan.

From now till the end of the year, those purchasing a Chevrolet Sonic will enjoy interest rates from as low as 0.99% by Maybank, subsidised by Naza Quest. The company will also throw in three years of free service with parts and labour, but excluding lubricants. The warranty is for five years or 200,000 km.

Launched here in December 2012, the Chevrolet Sonic is a global replacement for the Aveo range. The Thai-made B-segment offering is available in both five-door hatch and four-door sedan forms, powered by a 99 hp/130 Nm 1.4 litre Ecotec four-cylinder. The gearbox is a six-speed auto with +/- buttons on the gear shift. Launch report and pics here.

If you want to check out the car in person, Big S Roadshow weekend events will be taking place at Naza Automall PJ from 29/11 to 1/12 and 6/12 to 8/12.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• abahko on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:47 pm

lol, kesian tak laku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Only real low life scum in Malaysia buy Chevrolet. No RV at all. No trade in value. Usually failures who buy this buy the K5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 45
      • anti-dungu on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:53 pm

watch your mouth keyboard warrior. Chevy cars are featured in Transformers, a big budget movie. what movie that HILAT was featured in?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
      • MaserattiShameLoo on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Only real low life scum from junior sales person of Sam garbagx team talk bdh story on RV. Usually junior sales man from Sam’s team who cant afford to buy the car but continue to talk coxk only on RV.

• why nobody like this sonic boom? i really have never seen a single car out there.

come to think of it, i also did not see any cawat on the road as well.

• damdidum on Nov 25, 2013 at 12:58 pm

Semua kereta Naza tak laku sekrg. Peugeot Citreon pun kena lanyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 11
    • biasalah. economy tak berapa nak ok. better beli rumah dri bli keta mahal2

• have not see one on the road yet….kesian….bagilah 0% interest rate….kesian kereta ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • superbird #43 on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:15 pm

i’ve seen 1 though in kuching. looks so so. but y does it come with auto tranny only? y not offer manual tranny as well? btw, rarely hv i seen a car offering rwd these days, except high performance vehicle or suv. its more superior than fwd in many ways

• sonikbomb on Nov 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm

i drove one and i have seen a few in Subang and Federal highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • powershot on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:13 pm

so far I’ve only see one on the road, once. Once….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • swifty on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Must be the test drive unit. I personally have not seen one on the road. Maybe I’m not lucky enough. Could be a candidate for modern classics for being the rarest.

• anti body kit on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:16 pm

What about the resale value in 3 years time when the warranty runs out? Thanks but no thanks.

• johnjjj on Nov 25, 2013 at 1:53 pm

went to their showroom… no ones there..

• SuperSonic on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Apa sal emblem Chevrolet tu lekat kat bumper depan je? Nampak ganjil la tu!

• Suzy Chevrolet on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:55 am

Emblem tu kat belakang pun ada juga mesti tak perasan tu….

• price must go down to rm70k flat

• sudonano on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:23 pm

I did go to their showroom in late July. Shockingly there was no one to attend to us. Helped myself to see the Sonic, walked away disappointed. The Kia Rio, Peugeot 208, Ford Fiesta, VW Polo TSi felt more premium and better put together than this. Not to mention the cramped interior and micro boot compared to the slightly more comfortable Rio or more stylish 208.

• komarad on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:33 pm

208 is one stylish pug!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • _xXx_ on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:15 pm

I prefer to see alone and not to get disturbed by these so called sales exec. Most of them know nothing about cars. BS je dorang tau…

• that’s right mr vin diesel. majority of the sales rep knows next to nothing. they are obviously not passionate about cars. they are only passionate about the commission they are going to earn. sad case, and that’s why many of them can’t last long in the job.

• sammy on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:40 pm

If give more discount may consider for my mum…since got 3 yrs free service and 1% interest for 5 years.
    TanChong also giving same int rate and less 5k for Almera..bigger car but no free service.

• powershot on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:28 am

regardless of the looks, you are better off with the almera. nissan’s spare parts availability & aftersales service is much better

• sam69 on Nov 25, 2013 at 2:47 pm

at least still better looking than Vios hailat face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Suzy Chevrolet on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:06 am

Better looking..
      Better features and benefits…
      Better quality….
      Better handling…

• budlee on Nov 25, 2013 at 3:03 pm

I drove the sedan model in USA but with a 1.8 litre engine. Its okay inside, spacious, and rides well..

but for 79k? i could get a 6 airbags and esp Suprima S or Kia Rio, or a Jazz, or a Almera or a Vios..

I guess, you must really liked this car to get one…

• GM is doing badly especially in asia

• superbird #43 on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:26 pm

not really, considering d fact that its subsidiaries, buick has strong presence in the far east.

• AUSNSW on Nov 25, 2013 at 4:31 pm

At least they doing well in us

• ahmadfaris93 on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:28 pm

GM is doing poorly in this region. They need to step it up.
    Firstly, I think the Sonic is an “okay” car. It is pretty disappointing that it came in with a slightly less powerful engine compared to the competitors here(ie Fiesta,208). In addition, they should brought in with better spec/trim. I’ve seen the LTZ trim and it has decent rims.
    Hopefully, they’ll improve in the near future.

• Fries on Nov 25, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Actually the car looks pretty good, i like it. But looks alone doesn’t sell in Malaysia. Which is why the Vios still sells even though it has no specs worth talking about and terrible looks.

Everybody only cares about resale value, but in all honestly, all cars have atrocious resale value these days. I just traded one in, terrible terrible.

• Naza? …. .hahaha … Go get a new distributor.

• b sensible on Nov 25, 2013 at 6:20 pm

our outlet has problem selling chevy cars…every mth dismay sales figures making the a/c bleeding…no idea why chevy is treated like unwanted son. incentives alone won’t satisfy customer! they need more than pure satisfaction like value for money. the trick is that chevy need to be fleet leasing so build up the confidence among consumers…and i don’t fancy giving a lot incentives to get the sales going.

• jamal on Nov 25, 2013 at 7:54 pm

detroit of asia konon. if tomyamland factory build this crap better off plant padi or kelapa sawit at the land rather than this resources-wasting car.

• motorhead on Nov 25, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Look good.. But don’t why.. They never make good engines.. The last Aveo was a total crap.. Fuel guzzler…

• Crazy price!
    at the sonic price range of rm78k-rm82k
    there are so much more better looking, better spec, better price better etc cars in the market than this sonic
    why would anyone in msia buy this than other cars LOL

• i cant even remeber seeing one on thr road, surprised as looks good…and Naza still dare to raise the OTR price of the Cruze..

• Sonic will lose to Fiesta to the max.

• johnjjj on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:26 am

err.. LTZ comes w 1.4l turbocharged engine right?

• amphibia007 on Dec 04, 2013 at 12:31 pm

Chevrolet Malaysia after sales service are unexceptionally poor. I still did not get my under warranty rotor parts replacement yet after 6 months. Ask the representative in 3S centre and they said the parts still did not reach our shore yet. Is it because of the management in Chevrolet in USA is poor or is it Chevrolet Malaysia don’t even bother about our complaints due to big backup by NAZA? I’m wondering.

Does anyone can suggest where to complaint if this goes on?