Driven Web Series Episode 2: The family SUV battle – Honda CR-V 2.0 vs Mazda CX-5 2.0 vs Ford Kuga 1.6T

Another week, another episode of Driven, powered by PETRONAS Primax! In our comeback episode, we settled the ever-relevant RM90,000 question between the 2013 Toyota Vios, Proton Suprima S and Honda Jazz Hybrid. Missed it by any chance? Catch our revealing verdict here.

Next up, we tackle the family SUV category to find out which one is best. Is the refreshed Honda CR-V 2.0 still the king of the urban jungle, or has the popular Mazda CX-5 2.0 AWD beaten it to the crown? Also in with a shout is the Ford Kuga 1.6 EcoBoost – trying to prove that there is a replacement for displacement.

If that sounds too straightforward for you, do remember that this is the new Driven Web Series. We always do things with a twist – 350 Nm worth of it this time. Okay then, we won’t drag on too much with words – we’ll let the video (of us talking) do the talking.

We are currently hatching up something rather hot for your viewing pleasure in the next episode, so do tune in again same time next week. It will be a hot date!

Have any opinions or suggestions? Let them be heard in our comments section here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:56 am

but but…the subaru is so fugly..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 50
    • JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Subaru is junk in Malaysia.You want SUV should buy Sportage or Tucson FL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 107
      • Petrolhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Jonathan James Tan should involve more in the future Driven series, he is good at this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:00 am

Superb job done guys. You have done great work. I appreciate all the hard work and humour you all put in. It was the most pleasurable time seeing the show. I am sorry I have turned down many request from you guys to be co- reviewers in your show. I have to maintain my neutrality as a Toyota salesman. UMW forbid us salesman from speaking in public about other cars.

On a “healthy criticism” note, Hafiz and Paul Tan, aiseh, its time to lose weight lah. Both of you are gundus lah. The stomach so big. Got tyres somemore. Please lah Paul Tan and Hafiz, pls lose weight a bit. In the motor industry, not good to have perut. Look at Jeremy Clarkson, James May etc. Look at Fifth Gear, Vicky Butler Henderson all, all slim and slender. So, hear it from me, Sam Loo, Toyota’s No 1 salesman, its time to shape up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 15
      • Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:38 am

Oh by the way guys, your test FC is totally flawed. Every single review in every automotive magazine admit that the CX5 is the best fuel consumption (FC) of any SUV out there. So, how you guys can get better FC on the Honda CRV? Known fact that Honda CRV makan minyak a bit.

Come on lah, Honda Malaysia got give you guys each ang pau packet is it?

Even I sell Toyota also, I admit the Mazda CX5 with their skyactive engine has one of the best consumption in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 12
      • Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:41 pm

You see, the sorhai tai lan ngong K5 owner has a broomstick permanently inserted in his behind.

In conjuction with the permanent hailat face, he will be hoping that the KIA he has will increase in RV

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:45 am

Impersonator, K5 owner that has been shown the broomstick

• Boy Racer on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:02 am

Paul Tan, such a badass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
  • tokmoh on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:06 am

Well done episode *like*. Sadly, very little said about the Scooby other than it’s fast.

Are you guys limited to 10min max? Being online, it should be ok to make the episodes longer.

• tokmoh on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:06 am

And lol Harve. Vtec didn’t kick in yo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Raja Lawak on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:09 am

That SUV battle missing Subaru XV, RAV4, Peugeot 3008, Mitsubishi ASX, Nissan X-Trail (or maybe the latest model later), Citroen DS5…correct me if I’m not mistaken the list.

Up next, Driven must do all-out Pickup double-cab battle: Hilux – Triton – D-Max – Colorado – Ranger – BT50 – Navarra. From fuel economy, running costs, towing test, oil palm fruits loading test, offroad capabilities etc. Throw in some Land Rover Defender double-cab and that miscellaneous China brands too. Sam Loo’s RV opinion must be defeated and debunk the Hilux myth once and for all!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
    • sudonano on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:47 pm

They have done a previous SUV battle, some time back, with the 3008, Tucson, ASX, Xtrail and the last gen CRV.

http://paultan.org/2011/12/16/five-fold-mega-suv-shootout-mitsubishi-asx-v-nissan-x-trail-v-honda-cr-v-v-hyundai-tucson-v-peugeot-3008/

I guess this time, they were focussing on the models most consumers look at, not many look at the ASX, XTrail, Tucson and 3008….

DS5 is a C segment hatch. Not a cross over.

But I agree. Hilux, Ranger, Navara, and DMAX. Off road, oil palm carry load, and throw in that Great Wall whatever it is called!

And of course, mighty Defender must be there. Good twist!

They should do a D segment, and C segment, with the Camry and Corolla. And should also bring in Sam Loo or at least a message to him.

But yea, if only it could be longer, it would be even better…. :/

• Krasher on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:13 am

Thanks for another wonderful episode of Driven! Keep it up, guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Pontiac on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Next should be the mazda 6, accord, 508 and passat.
      No need to put camry in. So ugly.
      I dont even want a kpop k5 or sonata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • please on Feb 12, 2014 at 3:54 pm

please la, honda accord oso junk. Become accordana soon. I rather put K5 or Sonata over this junk

• Mileage subie?

• sliced on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:21 am

I bet the next episode will feature the golf. Cant wait!!! Keep up the good work guys

• I think you need to revise the price for Kuga, it’s the old price…current price would be 161k++

• Mormon on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:23 am

Surprised that ford didn’t came out 1st for fuel test. Shouldn’t higher power per cc = better range?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • its due to kuga is much heavier than others…so the 25hp over cx-5 really means nothing in fuel consumption or performance

• NO, moron..sorry mormon..there are other factors to consider, the weight, the transmission efficiency, the way it’s driven, and turbo charged cars tend to become heavy drinkers when pushed …and more..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • skypirate on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:29 pm

exactly, performance wise the Kuga should be miles ahead of the CX-5 on PAPER, but in real world, the difference is miniscule. this is the problem with small displacement turbocharged engines. take fuel efficiency for example, the Kuga should theoretically gives better efficiency, but in real world it’s the opposite especially when you are doing a lot of town driving. The problem with small displacement turbocharged engines is that you subsciously tend to rev the engine more for the turbocharger to do its work, if the turbocharger is not doing its work, the car is an underpowered mess. But of course other factors need to be taken into account too, like the weight, CX-5’s weight is 1455-1555 kg depending on specs, and Kuga’s weight is 1580-1770 kg. So it’s all about power to weight ratio, and sadly manufacturers do not put weight in their brochures. But one is for sure, the Kuga’s 240 nm of torque will definitely help during full load.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Innovator on Nov 29, 2013 at 3:08 pm

It’s in most brochure the vehicle weight, written under kerb weight.
          Also, I think 3008 is more like crossover, not so much SUV. Anyway, it’s a great video, on par with the UK videos..

• But the 0-100km/h competition, CX-5 got 9.6sec, while Kuga 9.7sec……

• its because hafriz is so heavy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Spectra5 on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:40 am

Good job guys… keep it up !
    Would like to suggest a battle between MyVi vs Mitsubishi Mirage vs Kia Picanto.
    Would be helpful for guys like me on tight budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Tree Hugger on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Agreed.

Please review the best selling segment for majority of the consumers out there i.e. Myvi vs. Hyundai i10 vs. Mirage.

Market leader vs. CKD Kpop vs. Efficient Jap.

• powershot on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:42 am

honda crv sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
    • JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Yes it sucks.2.0 still use the outdated junk SOHC.Buy Sportage better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 33
      • Francis on Nov 26, 2013 at 2:25 pm

JpCar Junk,

SOHC is not outdated nor other valvetrain like DOHC is better neither, its all about purposes and design.

http://paultan.org/2005/06/22/sohc-vs-dohc-valvetrains/

• Tree Hugger on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:14 pm

Wow. I never realize crv is THAT underpowered. That’s only with Harvin alone driving, imagine if it’s loaded with a typical Malaysian size family of mom, dad and 3 kids?

I don’t quite get how the 2.0 crv with poor power-to-weight ratio ended up beong more fuel efficient than the famous skyactive mazda?

• frenzyaustin on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Honda CR-V sucks….
      …. the least oil in the comparison.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Dec 08, 2013 at 2:44 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• irene on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:50 am

may i know why you commented honda crv sux ?
      i am considering to buy honda crv 2.4..

• Whatever on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:43 am

A decent effort guys ! The video maybe not contains everything that one would like to know about a car but it’s more than enough for a 10 minutes review. It’s just that perhaps the acting could be more natural.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Just_Me on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Loosen up guys … you look soo stiff..gotta enjoy watcha doin …
      Great SUV Comparison .. loved it . Keep it up

• Pontiac on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:13 pm

At first im a bit confused. Its not so typical like other motorcar show where each of the host will stick to one car until the end.

• Alex Chan on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:44 am

nice documentary sir!!…many aspect can be improve and im sure it will be improve!!..

keep up the good job!!

• Great! on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:01 pm

A Great comparison! loved it!

Since the Lexus CT200h appeared twice in this video, I would love to see the Lexus CT200h vs Merc Benz A-Class vs BMW 1-Series vs Audi A1 !

Yes the Lexus is the only hybrid but they all share similar price tags.. I think it would be swell to have these 4 compared in terms of Luxury Fit&Finish, Comfort, Practicality, Ride&Handling.

• totti on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:09 pm

You have done a good job for the previous review on RM 90K car but neglected to highlight the comfort for rear passenger.

I hope you are able to review the rear passenger space for a family SUV.

The madza CX5 is a driver car and the rear seat is torturing for long distance trip.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • tutti on Nov 26, 2013 at 12:19 pm

i think they quite sufficiently pointed out that the crv has the best interior for rear passengers

• Francis on Nov 26, 2013 at 1:40 pm

Since there is an asking for suggestion, I would love to see the comparison extend to the model as following;

1. BMW X1 sDrive20i/X3 xDrive20i
    2. Hyundai Tucson 2.0
    3. Kia Sportage
    4. Range Rover Evoque 2.0 5Doors
    5. Mitsubishi ASX
    6. Peugeot 5008
    7. Subaru XV
    8. Volkswagen Tiguan

Thanks!

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:09 am

But you never include kimchis in evaluation with sushis and sui kwan euros.

Kimchis can be compared with TATA/Mahindra/Great Wall/Geely/Dong Feng etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Good job guys and keep it up. Glad to finally see our own online malaysia car review.

• cool review!!! keep up the good work!!!

• Aeuie2010 on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:36 pm

Great review! I’d be happier if you review some soft offroading.

• Honda CRV (2.0) fuel consumption is 18.3km/L ?!?
    Sure boh ? That is paper data kut ?
    It’s not convicing at all.
    I am driving a CRV 2.0 (current model).
    Urban = 9km/L
    Highway = 12km/L
    Any other CRV owner can share yours ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • L.E.M.B.U (hons) on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:31 pm

u should try doing ur own calculation lah. i believe ur data is taken from the trip meter display right? they are not very accurate i’m afraid. i think the figure 18 km/L is quite believable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • Yamin S on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:05 pm

Hahahaaa… 3-car shoot-out spoiled by Schwarzeneger like cameo by Paul’s Scooby! But, to be fair, it should’ve been the XV rather, to match the trio. Anyway, another piece of good work with humour and thrill at the end. If at all, these comparos do tell buyers to really TEST DRIVE the cars first before finally deciding which to pay for. And I tell you, as much as the heart goes for the fairest one, it’s the wallet that picks the one to be in bed, opps, garage with…

• shawal on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:13 pm

Heyy… u didnt mentioned kuga’s reclining rear bench , thats practical too for passengers..
    subaru vs santa fe diesel ….since they’re in d same price range…

Howabout driven compares between new and used cars within the same price range , pros and cons… some used cars are lot safer and glides through potholes and bumps… admittedly at a high mintenance costs but you are experiencing the goods

• Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Subaru and Hyundai?

Hyundai/KIA is comparable with TATA/Mahindra and Great Wall/Geely/DongFeng etc

• nice job. should add another comparison with depreciation in mind

• Sportage on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

I am thinking to sell my Sportage to get a SUV for offroading. Which one is better for offroading?

Sportage is very good for offroading but it is problematic.

• Alex Chan on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:05 pm

dear sportage,
      if u considering an offroad vehicle, get any ladder frame 4wd SUV – Ford everest / Toyota fortuner / mitsubishi Pajero / Isuzu trooper, make sure the low range gear aka transfer box (4H / 4L) are working well.
      Most urban SUV dont have this extra low range gear box.
      This low range gearbox are very usefull in steep climbing and hauling trailers.

• this are all soft roaders, if u want to do off roading…u shud look for those fortuner, pajero sports or if u have the budget ….its the land rover disco, the ultimate 4×4 that can be a family limo too!

• the best for offroading is subaru forester and xv

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:15 am

Good News and Bad News.

Good news is that you have woken up to realise that kimchis are problematic and they will break apart by 40,000kms/2 years

Bad news is that KIA”s are no longer accepted by used car dealers as trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • kobealex on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:34 pm

What about the Kia Sportage and Hyundai Tucson? I think these 2 are worth a comparisons too since the Koreans are making quite a statement with their offerings.

• holofanboi on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:13 pm

4th Place: Harvinder <–lmao

LOL! Was honestly expecting to see 'CR-V' hahah!

And Paul, whoever gave you your lines on the Forrester's intro was effin brilliant!

"Your children will never be late for school…

-Never-"

xD

Overall, great improvement over the first episode with how the camera kept taking shots of the car's interior and misc while the hosts were giving their review. That mysterious obsession with all of you with blocking the car with your butts is still ever present (show signature?) but nonetheless, great episode!

I hope that in the future episodes, a more fleshed out, personalized style for the other two reviewer (see how I can't even remember their names?), as Harvinder is properly portrayed here as the clean, knowledgeable one of the group but to eventually be bullied by the others as a comic relief!

For the last part of the segment, Paul was obviously the big bully.

• Wendy on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Good work! But should be xv instead forester

• Their ranking is just as what I thought in considering my choice for suv..

• blublibla on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:54 pm

This episode was awesome! It could have been better if the acting could be a little more natural though xD. Loosen up, guys.

And hybrid car shootout please. Prius-Insight-CT200h

• budlee on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:20 pm

oooh 18km/l for the CRV? that is close to the vios you guys tested.cushy, huge and easy to maintain. no wonder malaysians love it!

too bad all three SUV (CRV, CX5 and Kuga)failed the insanely tough small offset impact test by IIHS.

Only the Forester managed to pass the small offset impact test and it does it with flying colors.. but then almost all of Subaru pass IIHS tests….

Good job guys, can’t wait for more…. right after I fill up my tank with Primax… wink2

• Commoner on Dec 02, 2013 at 3:57 pm

I own a 2.0 Honda CRV. I don’t a believe you can get 18.3 km/l FC. After driven 10,000 km, at most I can get is 14 km/l on the highway. Average is about 11 km/l.

Havinder is correct on Honda CRV 2.0 being underpower. But overall, I am satisfied with Honda CRV space, comfort, quietness and practicality. I’ve test driven Mazda CX5 and Ford Kuga before making decision to buy Honda CRV.

• sonyman on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:12 pm

in the end, everyone go and buy a Honda CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • dino years on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Dear Paultan guys,

Your Driven episodes are always insanely funny at the end, great job especially with the previous jazz suprima vios one!

I have a suggestion, instead of labeling each car with a all-encompassing 1st, 2nd, 3rd, position, how about splitting your conclusions into different sections, eg. which car performs better in 1. Safety, 2. Driving Dynamics, 3. Fuel Consumption, 4. Interior, 5. Ease/Cost of Maintenance,(maybe even RV)?

Different people have different concerns with their cars, some customers are really focused on RV as you can see from certain comments, and some on safety.

• Shud hv put th Xv in there…..anyway……i really enjoyed the features….keep up the good work guys!!!

• sepul on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Paul tries to be cool in the Subie. Yeah!!

Too bad the Forester did not get thoriugh review. It is a great alternative besides the CX-5 albeit being the most expensive here.

• Krasher on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:17 pm

Can you guys invite a special guest for the next episode?
    I would love to see Sam Loo!

• GreenMonster on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:17 pm

With Mazda’s SkyActive, shouldn’t it have the best fuel consumption?

• west end boys on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:32 am

good job,major improvement

you guys should do premium mpv review -alphard vs elgrand vs starex
    -camry vs accord vs optima

• skatax on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:16 am

CX-5 should win it they test the 2WD unit. This 4WD is a bit heavier and slower.

• donnyck on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:03 am

i wish that first episode got drag test ,

and also following episodes

• donnyck on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:15 am

jonathan james tan is a great talker.

see his surname probably is paul tan brother

• I think Subaru XV still have too much of the “car” side of the crossover to be considered as average SUVs, like these three. The boot space is pretty darned small, unless you chuck out the spare tyre.

• sonic31s on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:10 pm

Thanks you so much !!! My up-to-date favorite episode…
    Cant wait for the sedan comparison XD

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:57 pm

The next review would probably be done with Tucson, Spotage, Ssangyong, Tata, Mahindra, Geely and Great Wall.

These manufacturers belongs to the same category

• Well done, can have a D-seg 150k+- round up something like this?

1. Mazda 6 2.0
    2. Accord 2.0
    3. Camry 2.0
    4. Teana 2.0
    5. Sonata
    6. K5
    and so on?

• Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:48 pm

Sonata and K5 needs to be compared with China and India made cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • nabill on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:41 am

plz dont do any hybrid shootouts…we gonna feel asleep half way..

• Quiet on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:07 am

A much-improved effort compared to the initial debut, keep it up guys!!

“Full throttle, full throttle!” LOL Harvinder #thumbsup!

4th place – Harvinder LMAO #epic

• Great video shootouts guys! Keep them coming!
    Coming in as owner of a CBU CX-5.

Agrees that CX-5 is very good overall in package, price, equipment, look (stance) and the premium material usually found in continental cars.

Agrees that CR-V is very very good in the package space, but what’s with the cheap plastic everywhere for the price? As a passing statement, a van has even more interior space.

• Agreed with Paul. I’ve tested the Forester.
    Definitely 100% better than those 3 suv. Good power, great handling and at the right suspension.
    The only thing lacking is the touch screen and gps. At 200k i would expect that to be included as well. Considering to buy but worry bout the RV. Will wait Subaru news to CKD it hopefully

• 3.54 : BMW – SHEER DRIVING PLEASURE ….LOL….by coincidence?? non are Beemers….

• semut on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Can host Top gear Malaysia………but you guy must be relax & cool and not so stiff……be like Jeremy, Richard Hammond & James May…..anyway great show

• Shufiyan on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Ooooo!!!! the Forester!!!

• vincent on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:00 pm

I seriously doubt the fuel consumption readings for the 4 cars, specially anything above 15km/ltr. I drive a Civic Hybrid YOM2009, and I only get 12-16km/ltr for a mixture of city/highway driving.

• sWoon on Dec 12, 2013 at 11:47 am

Not fair not fair ! How can use Forrester to compare?!
    Should use Subaru XV

• Hi Hafriz

great job on the small SUV reviews. It was funny & opinionated… but really, how did u guys manage to those fuel consumption figures. A 2.0l CRV with 18.3km/l? Really? That’s even better than a Ford Focus 2.0l TDCi rated at 17.0km/l. OMG! Fact is, it’s even better than what my friend can get on his Prius…. It’s so flawed. Even Honda Australia quotes a figure of 12.8km/l for the manual.

• So, anyone know whether the kuga titanium.+ will be in Malaysia? I thought of getting the normal kuga now. But as you guys said, no LCD. So, anyone know whether where can install this LCD for kuga? Thanks.