Perodua Buddyz sedan – thoughts behind the design

KLIMS13 is now over – if you’ve somehow missed it, do check out our comprehensive coverage of all the models on display there, and by that we mean the ladies too.

Arguably the most important car to be revealed there is the Perodua Buddyz Concept, which previews the local carmaker’s future foray into the sedan market.

The design study’s somewhat unorthodox looks have drawn a lot of attention from the public eyes – mostly negative views, we must add. But, there are a lot of reasons why the Buddyz looks the way it does, as explained by its Chief Designer Muhamad Zamuren Musa in an exclusive interview with paultan.org last week. Read it in full here.

Watch the official video above to get plenty of insights on how the concept was designed, and continue reading below as we find out the thoughts that lay behind the Buddyz’s bizarre looks.

Perodua_Buddyz_Concept_ 026

The Buddyz is clearly an evolution of the Bezza concept from KLIMS10. Did the public reaction or feedback of the earlier concept influence the new one?

It definitely did. We received predominantly good feedback on the Bezza concept, mainly with regards to the exterior looks. The sleek silhouette was especially well accepted at the previous KL Motor Show.

However, when it came to the interior, many thought that the rear headroom was lacking, which is due to the sloping roofline. And then, there was the issue of rear visibility, as the rear deck was rather tall. Some also commented that it looked bulky from the back.

On the design front, some found faults with the sudden vertical cut at the back, so we prepared a more prominent protruding trunk in the Buddyz. With that, rear visibility has also been vastly improved, and it’s now the best among all our models. We’ve also achieved significantly more vertical interior space with the new design.

As for total luggage space, the Bezza had around 440 litres or cargo room with the seats up. The Buddyz Concept improves on that figure, as we’ll show you. (See the boot space demo here, exclusively on paultan.org.)

So everything about the Buddyz Concept is by design?

Yes, it has all been tailor-suited for the general Malaysian consumers. We at Perodua understand our target customers, their needs and their lifestyle. The Buddyz is a direct solution for all that. This design’s chosen silhouette is selected specifically because of the space and packaging requirements we’ve set for ourselves.

We prepared various design concepts, prior to the Buddyz’s finalisation. They all revolved around our preferred packaging requirements, and at the end we agreed on this particular one. It portrays a strong but simple image.

Small cars just can’t have too many lines, lest it appears weak and fragile. From the side view, we only have one dynamic line on the shoulder, which admittedly works better in the flesh than in pictures, where it appears too one-dimensional. This design achieves a simple yet characterful outlook.

We’ve also factored in the typical Malaysian taste, so it looks sporty, dynamic and aggressive. We applied a lot of visual energy on the front face, as we aim for strong and sturdy image that is balanced between the front, side and rear.

Perodua_Buddyz_Concept_ 017

Are there any specific design elements you’re particularly proud of?

I’m proud of the whole car! The sleek eyes are dynamic and emotional. The entire combination of the headlamps, muscular fenders, and the stretch line to the rear is completely unique. It has a direct continuity, achieving a wholly cohesive character.

Then we have the long tailgate to portray a wide image. With a compact size, design elements that are available to us become limited, but yet we achieved a very solid look with these simple lines. Some of the Bezza’s key elements were kept in tact, based on the good feedback from the public.

This is Perodua’s own design, obviously. But clearly there is an easier route to make a sedan – the Toyota Etios, for instance.

We are well aware of the Etios, and it would be a good base for a compact sedan, but the most important thing that needs to be understood is that we are making cars for Malaysians. For locals. We understand our customers better. Other designs, the Etios included, is a global design, so it’s not a perfect fit for Malaysians.

Locals want a car with sporty looks, but with a spacious interior. We understand that very well, and this is the result of years of market research and customer feedback.

Lastly, any comments on heading Perodua’s first bespoke design?

It has already been 15 years since Perodua had a styling division. In that time, we have developed and matured our own unique ideas, incorporation global design trends and specific Malaysian requirements. I’m particularly proud to combine both of those elements.

I’m also glad that the Malaysian community is now a lot more aware in terms of car design. (Talking about the comments on paultan.org) Where before they talked about performance, now they’re commenting on automotive design. Comments on the Buddyz haven’t all been positive, yet I feel glad that they’ve evolved and taken notice of the automotive design world.

Learn more: ,

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• motorhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Enough said.. Just put it in the production & let’s the market approve all the points discussed above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Vader on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Talk like professional, do like amateur!!!
      However, this topic telling us that everyone can talk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:37 am

The design is a joke. It will be like the Juara. Everybody laughs at it. That is why the Juara became a big failure. Now, Perodua going on the same road. Stupid designers. here it from me, toyota’s No 1 sales person, this car is doomed for failure. Perodua should sack the whole design team for wasting their money. This is the problem with Malaysia, come out with stupid designs and waste taxpayers money. This will sure to fail like Proton Jumback.

Government give you all grants, these grants are our tax payers money lah. Grants are my income tax going into your pockets. Malu betul. Come out with proper designs and stop wasting our money. Already Proton and Perodua are getting so much protectionism. Because of you two companies, the 30 million people have to spend tens of billions a year on overpriced cars.

So, your existence has lots of social and economic effect. Yes, it is not just grants. Because both of these companies are kept afloat, ALL other car prices are overpriced. Before Proton came about, you can buy a brand new Nissan Sunny or Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. If you are earning RM3000 a month, paying your car no problem. Now, your Toyota Corolla is RM120,000 but we still earn RM3000.

The economic effects of Proton and Perodua has done a lot of injustice to Malaysians for the past 20 years. So, do us a favour, and at least come out with proper designs. Each and every of the 30 million people in Malaysia have tolerated and supported you financially the past 20 years directly or indirectly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 21
        • vee-oh on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:44 pm

wow you just copy paste your comment from Proton section…talking bout killing 2 birds with a stone

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Gsiau on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Hey do you know that our taxpayer just pay it to P1 nt P2
          P2 is a independent company without govn assist
          and all of the design of perodua was from their own designer, not taking the car body from other car company just like proton, getting the honda accord and make it proton perdana, or we call it proton accord
          i saw what perodua wanted to do, they want to show us that they are able to design and get themselves a good result without the govn assisting

• wargadunia on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:13 pm

Luaskan pendangan anda. Rekabentuk tidak statik dan tidak dibuat semata-mata mengambil pandangan anda. Juara memang gagal di Malaysia yang tipikal. Tetapi rekabentuk itu ada di Jepun.

• Raja Lawak on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Yes sell it fast! Let’s see how Proton having sleepless nights empty showroom no visitors all car buyers rushing to book Perodua sedan 6 months waiting list also OK no problem HaHaha!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
      • sam69 on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Sam Loo will be digging his nose and show u the Hilux face! _|_/~oo~\_|_

• pirlo on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:05 pm

let’s see either daihatsu will allow this or not to be into mass production. after seeing how big the potential that astra daihatsu shown in previous indonesian motor show, i wonder this buddyz can be approved by daihatsu or not.
        untung la perodua ada model buddyz. proton tiada model emas. the design copyright had been used for VW up!.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Vader on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:29 am

The fact is the VW up! concept car unveiled on the Los Angeles Auto Show 2009 and potong Emas unveiled on 2010 Geneva Motor Show.
          So, the statement that the design copyright had been used for VW up!. is not true and should be another way.

• Thunderous Kitty Chan on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:19 pm

This guy is an excellent….. script reader

• motorhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:09 pm

What’s your problem? Menstrual syndrome? Who said you can’t talk? Talk la how much you want.. I meant the perodua people, not you.

• Chow 1 on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:32 am

It’s a constructive criticism. Nice job, but this looks really amateur. You can do better than this for the exterior. Interior looks Ok.

• lamlee on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Front OK. But the back look a bit like Datsun 130y. The rear is sharp and lifted upward.

• Start/Stop button between the seats. Accessible by all the passengers. Are those people come from Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
  • dentist on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm

please dont produce this car. its just damn ugly with no originality. copies a vw golf anterior and the rest is just like a box.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • jolly_idiot on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Tok big, tok kok, tok east, tok west, tok 3, tok 4, tok tok tok. No outcome. This is perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Butcher on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Don waste time on improving the design. Instead, put effort to improve on safety e.g. create a more rigid car body. I saw so many fatal accident already…

Back to basic mate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • darus on Nov 26, 2013 at 3:55 pm

I am proud to see that P2 has made progress
    and the team of designers come up with
    a good, practical and workable design.
    Good luck P2 and I am confident that the final production unit will be the pride of the nation !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
    • Are you out of your mind?

• fugly on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:36 pm

No, he is not out of his mind. He is just in the design team that came out with this, so some self-assuring talk is much needed.

• bekas perutdua on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:07 pm

join the company first, then judge whether the model can be real-produced or not.

• Mackaroni on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:01 pm

sorry to say tat, this is the ugliest looking car perodua ever produced (or technically not produced yet)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
  • nene99 on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:11 pm

This car makes me want to hold a major protest outside Perodua headquarters just so that they will not produce this hideous looking thing. Don’t do it, we’re gonna be the laughing stock of the automotive world. Please we appeal to you to go back to the drawing board and redo the exterior!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • powershot on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:40 pm

if then it manage to end up in top gear, jeremy clarkson will then destroy this car as he did with the kelisa.

• paulman on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:11 pm

too late, u all oledy the world’s laughing stock..

• anonymous on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:12 pm

The chief designer should shoot himself. No matter how u sugar coated it with fancy jargon and geekspeak… the exterior of the end product design looks ugly. Period.

Would P2 dare to test the market since most of the putblic has given negative comments? Haven’t learned from P1’s mistake in Juara.. nicknamed the washing machine on wheels? The public couldn’t even commit wholeheartedly to cars that looked good but with suspect engineering features like savvy n tiara… their sales have proven it.

Go ahead and produce it… gonna be followed by a big marketing disaster… not to mention your cost. Would P2 then blame the public for not understanding design language OR the idiot a**hole who gave the greenlight for production. Don’t be stupid… learn from the past… coz the market knows what it wants… or don’t want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • annoy_namous on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:17 pm

With this kind of design, Perodua should stick to rebadging the car jobs only, as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • mitsushihtzu on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

hey i was thinking how much safety rating can this perodua get ?

• Low Budget on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm

I would suggest to make the car even more exotic by substituting the steering wheel with a bicycle handle.

• Critique on Nov 26, 2013 at 4:50 pm

I guess the design is the way it is cuz it tries to achieve one too many objectives.

Well, one may say at least they’re designing something (although it’s not the prettiest design out there).

So better luck next time I guess!

Cheers :)

• shawal on Nov 26, 2013 at 5:19 pm

thats the problem of trying to squeeze as much space between the wheelbase
    Designers can sketch as much as they want (I’m looking at you honda)
    Marketing guys will try to reduce costs as much as they can..
    Engineers will have to meet up with different road safety & regulators worldwide …

thats why nowadays b-c-d segment could have almost equal amount of space inside..
    But the difference is in the term of design fluidity , safety , powertrain and material used…

• I believe this is only a concept. I also belive that perodua not only came with this what I call as an ‘experiment’ concept. Maybe they do this as their survey since the feedback is not postitive as they saw. maybe the real version of 1st Perodua sedan far more improve from this one in term of design.

• Perodua don’t waste ur time and money. Take a box and fit 4 wheels to it and put into production. It’s as spacious as Buddyz and look as ugly as well, but will definitely be cheaper.

• Akulah on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm

“Locals want a car with sporty looks, but with a spacious interior. We understand that very well, and this is the result of years of market research and customer feedback”

and at the end of the day they will rebadge the Toyota Etios.

• kamil on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:57 pm

yup, at certain point, it seems to be true..

bla.. bla.. bla.. sedan.. bla.. bla.. bezza… bla.. bla.. bla.. buddyz.. bla.. bla.. & at the end of the day, they just rebadge the toyota/daihatsu cars & when they launch it here, there we hve it, tadaaa a new perodua! hehe

• Saga BeLum Masak on Nov 26, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Ahhhh….

That boot…. reminds me of Suzuki….what… Suzuki D’zire (or is it D’zaster)….

• darkermarker on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:20 pm

hahahaha….Perodua is pretty good in making comedy video of cars….

• carlzen on Nov 26, 2013 at 7:51 pm

look at the design *puke* bluarghh

• policeman on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:38 pm

Heard that at the end?

They call it a glocal car? WTF?

Exterior they can do it. But the interior, I’m sure that can’t be the production interior. All those fancy gadgets and lighting. They may have to price it quite high.

• Antonio Vivaldi on Nov 26, 2013 at 8:47 pm

how do you guys operate this car? shifted gears or voice command on gears?

• guilt79 on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:34 pm

If this out in the market, will become a joke for Jeremy..

• nick lau on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:24 pm

as a designer i have to say this,

awesome presentation,
    crap design,
    good copy writing,
    wrong message

• Denaihati on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:40 pm

a brave design featured, look weird at back end.

• Dun talk and show so much, we no need proton kedua. Just put in Toyota engine and sell your car as we already get use to this

• Pontiac on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Low roof design?
    Tall and ugly to me

• Annoynimouse on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Who give a shoot what JC thinks. If the car has some strong features (space etc.), and cheap enough, the local buyers are at least going to give it a try, admire its plus points and forgives its shortfalls just like they did with previous P2 models and the vast public will follow suit. In will sell regardless… I personally think its buck ugly, but some people wont mind the looks as long as the ‘boot’ is big :p !

• anti body kit on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I have said before, let this be just a concept. Perodua should not try to be smart like Proton and got its finger burn by producing own car ie gen2, persona, preve etc… full of problems, small international demand, poor image and losing money. Just stick with trusted Daihatsu. You will never go wrong with Daihatsu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • carguy2000 on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:20 pm

I thought we have one talking about this nightmares

• Udo Omar on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:59 pm

Poor design. Evoque wannabe. Forget all these national cars. Bring the tariff on excise duties back before Proton was ever produced. Cheap cars, more varieties and better built quality.

• kuning on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:05 am

wow. not only did they come out with a horrible design. a horrible name too…..

• wats wrong with P1 P2, always like to talk talk talk show off their five “prototypes” like P1 last time, none made it to production..just hire Peter Shcreyer

• Majority who give negative comments here maybe can join Perodua styling department & then became Perodua MD. Who knows..maybe they can be the next ‘Peter Shreyer’. Don’t always talk..talk…type…comment…but do nothing. Poor Malaysian low minded citizen!!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:55 am

Sometimes looks count, no matter how good the underlying concept was.

Being an Industrial Designer, his priority should be to make something look good and appealing. For practicality, they don’t need a designer…. engineers can just come up with a square box.

Take the Pontiac Aztec. Mechanically, there is nothing offensive about it, and as a higher riding MPV build on a mass market minivan platform, it was promising as a concept with practicality as its modus operandi. But the looks did it in.

Incidentally, the Aztec was styled by the same person that went on and did the C7 Corvette. Shows that even seasoned designers make mistakes like this if dictated by management or a focus group.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:00 am

Now, in his defence, this “mistake” looks like a design from management.

Management : Take the Myvi and slap a boot on.

Designer : WTF??

Being in-house, I don’t think he could have said “No”. He is now tasked with “selling” this idea.

• mehh….design so fugly

• tokmoh on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:22 pm

I don’t understand, if anyone wants a Myvi with big boot, why not just get the Alza?

Take off the 3rd row, it’s literally Myvi wagon, way more spacious than this unimpressive concept.

• Am excited to know how much AGAIN Malaysia government need to subsidy for this “AWESOME” creation….

• i like the front design this car,but at the back…hm..why not change it a little bit..it’s weird.

• bonbon on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:51 pm

seriuously, Perodua concept team need to go back to the drawing board and redesign the rear… with the black bottom makes it look even funnier…
    as if trying too hard to be futuristic…

• They never learn….

• Just thinking out loud. Why don’t they come up with few designs, put the designs online with 360 view and what not and then let the public vote on a online poll or something. To make it more interesting have lucky lucky draws for people who share their votes on facebook. They will get clearer picture which design will sell and indirectly help to market their new car before production

• lamlee on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Front OK but the back reminds me of Datsun 130y. Still sellable as long as cheap and with toyota engine.

• the_teaser on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:13 pm

disappointed by the exterior..but the interior is superb .. as saying goes ” don’t judge a book by it’s cover” or should I change it to car now?? nahh forget those saying.. design , performance, safety and styling are all that matter!

• Gsiau on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:07 pm

well i cant say that this car is beautiful
    but i think its very ugly
    but at least we saw that perodua are designing their car with their own designer, not rebadge other brand’s car

• The Mug on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Nice effort.. But seriously they need to work on this exterior design. It’s quite a disaster. The interior looks promising.

• WOW PERODUA really outdid themselves with this design I like to see the look on protons FACE

• Merc Babe on Dec 25, 2013 at 2:03 am

Hmmm…. Let’s see what I think of the car…
    (Interior)
    – front & dash : dashingly futuristic. Very daring, very beautiful, I just thk white carpets will hv too much prob in the future tho. But indeed, very beautiful.
    – rear seats & legroom… Rear seats are slanted more now. Gives u the continental feel of comfort esp long distance journey. Excellent! Head rest looks like Merc-Benz!! Legroom may nd to improve tho. Looks squashy….
    (Exterior)
    – front looks quite ok. Maybe lamps can drag a lil longer. I noticed the signals aren’t very visible.
    – A & B frame looks Gud, C frame however…. It looks like disaster! Like the supposed designer suddenly died n he finished up to B frame n someone else continued his work! C frame too thick making the door opening look so sharp n dangerous! I mean, why do u need so much emptiness there when u can actually push back the seats to give wider legroom behind & make the door panel frame less ‘orbit’ looking?!
    – rear look is another issue, it’s just so wrong! It’s really boxy suddenly when the interior, u gave it so much flaw.. Rear laps are just toooooo sharp. No flaw.
    – then we have the rear bumper… This look just so wrong! It just doesn’t match even a lil. I know the current trend is black bumper to gv it stronger look, but it doesn’t look right in this car. The flaw is just totally lost here!
    However I must say that’s the reason why I still keep my last batch of Kenari til date. All 4seats are reclinable, high roof, good boot space. Love my baby girl. Not willing to change to Myvi coz back seats can’t recline. I may consider the Alza, but I do not lfeel comfortable driving it… The seats n steering don’t feel right.
    But hey, keep the interior, just improve a lil on the rear interiors, but ur exterior…. Maybe u cud look into it. I’m a huge Perodua fan when compared to Proton. Cheers!

• Sonny O on Jan 24, 2014 at 2:39 am

Are you KIDDING? Very sorry to mention this – this design looks WAY, WAY, WAY WORSE than the historically popular Czech-made Skoda 120 or even those venerable retros in Saab 90….back to the drawing book again, please……

• syukiro on Jan 27, 2014 at 6:56 pm

im afraid this is a total mess, ‘typical just get the job done Malaysian’, lets put our heart in our work, thats how the japanese and germans achieved success

• Anime_Lover_953 on Feb 16, 2014 at 9:35 pm

i was wondering why there is no side mirror??? anyone???

• Lim Boon Teck on Apr 02, 2014 at 11:40 pm

the biggest fail is push start and stop engine button in the middle of driver and front passenger. if there is a kid in the car? if accidentally press on it? totally fail

• It’s a CONCEPT guys. Look at how much it changed from KLIMS 10. Maybe after this (if they be smart) they will find a middle ground between this design and the KLIMS 10 concept (BEZZA). Mu cari betul betul.

I’m looking forward to seeing what they can come up with next.

And for the Proton Juara Haters, I used to own one, it’s a niche car that not everyone will like. but u know what? I was in japan this year and the Japs have LOTS of them same feckin design, just badged as mitsubishis, suzukis and nissans. Some platform sharing deal i guess. And I’d say my Juju was still the best car i owned, but failed only by Proton’s after sales service.

I think its good that all of us fuckers are debating it, cos i’m sure P2 is watching. And they prolly be takin’ notes, so that they will (hopefully) change it.

My thoughts on the design itself. Soften the fuckin’ lines. Too harsh, too space age. lack of side mirrors prolly is a nod towards goin’ the rear cam route, but that being said…I want mirrors! Just as a backup. I be analogue, not digital.

As a last word, Paul, u looking for a writer heheh? I’m looking to earn some extra money now that i’m putting down for an Axia.