UMW Toyota targets to launch three models in 2014

toyota-corolla-altis-taiwan-pix-007

UMW Toyota will be targeting to launch three models next year, according to a research report by Hong Leong Investment Bank Research.

The first will of course be the new Toyota Corolla Altis, which will be launched as a CBU unit from Thailand. The car hasn’t actually been launched in Thailand yet, but since we’re going to get our units from Thailand we’re expecting that to happen soon.

We’ve already seen estimated pricelists for this model. Three models will be available – a 1.8E going for an estimated RM115k, a 2.0G going for an estimated RM125k and a 2.0V going for an estimated RM137k.

toyota-camry-hybrid-klims 071

The second model targeted to launch is the Toyota Camry Hybrid, which was previewed at KLIMS. The Camry Hybrid is expected to be locally assembled under the new NAP rules. Pending government rulings on possible tax breaks for large-capacity CKD hybrid vehicles, its pricing could be pegged at a small premium over the current range-topping Camry 2.5V, and will take over the role of the Prius in the Toyota line-up, since it is unlikely that UMW Toyota will do CKD assembly for the Prius.

With a combined output of 205 PS by combining a 2.5 litre Atkinson cycle engine to an eCVT system that integrates two electric motors, the Camry Hybrid can get to 100 km/h 8.6 seconds, compared to the standard 2.5V’s 9.7 seconds. Fuel consumption is significantly better too, at an average of 19.6 km per litre over 13.0 km per litre for the 2.5V.

The identity of the third model is not revealed – the report merely says UMW is currently still under discussions with Toyota for the introduction. If you look at the markets around us, there are two models currently sold in other ASEAN countries that could be this third model that’s under discussion to be introduced.

One possibility is a next generation Toyota NAV1 based on the Toyota Noah Concept that was shown at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show. Nissan and Mazda have already launched their entrants into this new segment of tall MPVs – the Nissan Serena S-Hybrid and the Mazda Biante. Indonesia is currently the only country where the NAV1 is sold officially.

The other is the new Toyota Yaris hatchback which is sold in Thailand. It’s not the same car as the European Yaris, but a separate model designed for markets like China and ASEAN. It shares the same dashboard design as the Toyota Vios. However, unlike the Vios which is powered by a 1.5 litre engine, the Thai market Yaris uses a smaller 1.2 litre engine mated to a CVT gearbox to be classified as an eco-car in Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Toyota - Moving Backward on Nov 26, 2013 at 9:58 pm

The 3 model should be Alphard, Vellfire and Land Cruiser. All priced RM400k above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 45
    • Petrolhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Guess UMW is trying to launch more models to save their Vios sales when the new City is out

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 115
        • i will thank you by giving you a high five, in your face.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo Kena Heart Attack on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:33 am

Camry Hybrid is the US is $26,150. That also CBU Japan. So high quality. Got even 8 airbags. All for RM75,000

Here we will get fully Malaysian made CKD Camry for RM180,000. Double the price.

How is this possible when kononnya there is tax exemption for Hybrid? Somemore CKD should be cheaper with Malaysian parts used.

Are we still being cheated by UMW? RM70k vs RM180K and CBU Japan 8 airbags vs CKD Malaysia with maybe VSC also taken out. Then few months later they put VSC back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
          • sonyman on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:01 pm

dont think they will sell at 180K probably 210K after tax rebate. and with 2 airbags and no Traction control.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:25 pm

umw is owned by PNB, which is an investment arm of the malaysia government.

does this means the govt is cheating the people?

go figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Sam Loo Kena Heart Attack on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:41 am

Breaking News!. We just found out Sam Loo aka SamShowedMeTheHilux was married but his wife left him for another man. The other man it seems drives a Kia K5

This is why he hates Kia owners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 17
          • motorhead on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:09 pm

So Kia K5 owner only good at collecting second hand wife or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
          • sam69 on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:45 pm

and born a retard call motorhead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:51 pm

K5 owners licking their wounds with their tails tucked in between their legs

• Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

Toyota now panic. Their breadwinner is the Vios. Now everyone know Vios is a death machine. No VSC. Now, everyone want VSC.

Even my gardener also that day telling me Toyota cars got no VSC. I think he read Paul Tan because he told me the new City is a better buy with VSC.

Better to have my legs and arms intact with a car with VSC than end up in the hospital with serious injuries. In the long run, with hospital bills, you pay more owning a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:42 pm

K5 owner with a dildo up his rectum barking like a dog

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:47 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • motorhead on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:31 pm

All models will be the top selling in the market, well done Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 71
      • JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:58 pm

All will be 2 airbags,4 speed,no VSC and will be at RM 500k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 6
        • dino years on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:51 am

whats so “new” about these models? seen them all before in different clothes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Boohoo on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:06 am

No new Hilux for Sam arr?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Infinite facelift on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:52 am

Don’t worry. There will definitely be a ‘new’ Hilux coming next year after the ‘new’ Innova, with slightly different grill design and rear lights. Price? Of course its going up because cosmetics changes also need money and UMW net profits already down this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Infinite facelift on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:54 am

Don’t worry. There will definitely be a ‘new’ Hilux coming next year after the ‘new’ Innova, with slightly different grill design and rear lights.

Price? Of course its going up because cosmetics changes also need money and UMW net profits already down this year. So, people do your part and buy everything UMW are selling unquestionably.

• sam69 on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:22 am

The new Hilux is already pasted on Sam Loo Hailat face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Hilux for Hyundai owners

Broomstick for KIA owners

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • OMG….”Untung Many, Wahhhh” – UMW…

• flykite on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:00 pm

UMW go flykite lar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
  • flykite on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:02 pm

UMW you are making the toyota brand bad

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
    • superbird #43 on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:58 am

cant agree more. maybe they under-equipped toyota vehicle as well? who knows…

• flykite on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Toyota should nominate other reseller

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • sonyman on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:34 am

dont think that is possible as toyota is making profit from UMW, Why should you sell lower when you can sell more expensive and no one complains and the buying never stop?

Business man always think, Money first, then only see later.

• flykite on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:07 pm

UMW you are just a money lecher towards dumb citizen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
  • Krasher on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:08 pm

There’s no excitement from UMW anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • sonyman on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:04 pm

there were no excitement at all from the beginning. Whats the difference now? same what,

• flykite on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Smart citizen will never fall into your obvious trap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Exactly. Smart people will never buy kimchis brand new.

They will only buy sushi’s new.

Tai Lan Ngong sorhais will buy kimchis new and lose at least 50% within a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Let me guess : 3 models to launch next year

1. Camry Hybrid
    2. All New Corolla Altis
    3. All New Yaris (compact car)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
  • sudonano on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:15 pm

I think all these analysts will be spot on if they predict that 2013 will hail the return of under specced and over priced motor vehicles that run on dinosaur technology, with absolutely no regard on safety.

Family MPV with no stability control in 2013?
    B segment sedan with same 2003 engine and gearbox plus no stability control and hideous face?
    D segment sedan that is miles behind competition?
    Cars that can only be sold with one reason, resale value, which is claimed by only one person with the initials S–L–?

Yep. UMW Motors, moving backwards. Toyota should get someone else who won’t rip off and turn away many interested customers from their good cars. What a shame.

Carry on folks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Family MPV should be VW Cross Touran or Sharan.
      B segment sedan will be Polo sedan.6 speed and 4 airbags.
      D class sedan?No need to think.Either Optima or Passat.
      These cars mentioned can easily Junk out those toyoyo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 13
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:14 pm

DSG? Have the tow truck operator no. on your speed dial please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:47 pm

At least e know that all active and passive designs in sushis will work.

For kimchis, they are just there for cosmetic purpose and those tai lan ngong & sorhais out there are so easily bought by these inferior korean gadgets that can be obtained from Pasar Road

• james on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Tax-free Camry 2.5V is RM117k(refer to Langkawi price). If Camry Hybrid price @ RM190k, that’s mean hybrid motor + eCVT transmission will cost you RM73k… totally unbelievable…conclusion.. the tax exemption for hybrid is fake!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
    • Lol hybrid always cost above normal car in low tax or taxless country…current tax exemption in boleh does not include 2.0 above..new tax for hybrid is not announce yet..how can u say it fake? Does boleh football team get gold in this coming sea games?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • JpCarJunk on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Want a hybrid?
      2 choices:Audi A6 hybrid and BMW AH5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:37 am

Actually, consider a used 15mth old K5.

Since the owners can’t trade them in anymore, you can always bargain harder and tell them if they dowan to comply, even Sam will not show them the Hilux now, just a broomstick instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • Chow 1 on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:36 pm

What happen to the car price drop?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Maserati(Official) on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:39 pm

That so-called ‘yaris’ is soooo disgusting. Better not bring it here or Malaysians will be vomiting green. We want the real yaris, not that one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • Pontiac on Nov 26, 2013 at 10:46 pm

Aiyo u all. The third should be the new rebadge mazda3 with toyota hybrid laa. U think toyota dont know how to rebadge meh?? They have no new engine, so now use skyactiv engine couple with their hybrid system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • tebabow! on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:02 pm

dear umw, its ok if u don wan to equip ESP to yr car. we will still buy it.. we fan! we r so terrer giler bawak keta. ahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • dodgeviper88 on Nov 26, 2013 at 11:30 pm

Not to nitpick but do you mean Hong Leong Investment Bank Research?

• Pl4y3r122 on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:02 am

UMW Toyota is ripping Malaysians off. Other countries are getting better spec Toyota cars. Toyota japan should appoint other dealers other than UMW. We all should make official complain to Toyota Japan. Lets all make proper complains to Toyota japan. UMW GO FLY KITE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Josh Ling on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:14 am

so the prius will be gone from local toyota line-up??

• norman on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:46 am

Dun like Toyota there’s still Honda,Mazda,Suzuki,Mitsubishi,Lexus,Subaru,Nissan and upcoming Datsun
    Still want more gadgets can try Kia or Hyundai
    Wanna locals theres Proton and Perodua
    Dun wanna?Theres continental likes Audi,VW,MB,Volvo,BMW,Peugeot,citroen etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • ladyGOGO on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:39 am

i know it is going to be Yaris

• Innova facelift
    Hilux facelift
    Avanza facelift

all 3 come with new bumper design and abeng LED DRL

• Blublibla on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:10 am

We should sign a petition that will ask Toyota Motor Corp to appoint another distrubuter in Malaysia. Or even better, they themselves become the distrubuter.

UMW is milking us customers way too much! Our Prius Standard is the same spec car with the Prius III in the U.S that cists only $26000. That’s RM72000! RM 68,000 more! Note that the U.S price is already includes shipment costs as the U.S Prius is from Japan. IThe Prius is also tax exempted in the United States. Same like us! But ours are RM 68000 more!

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:31 pm

if prius is sold at 72k, what will happen to preve and suprima??

do you think malaysian govt will allow that? can you see how the game is played??

• amfin on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:35 am

Haiya Malaysian,wake up lah, until n unless we change government don’t bother to talk c__k lah.All this ding dong bout NAP, price reductions all kena tipu sama BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
  • iluvloyola on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:04 am

Total disappointment. The three models should be avanza j, vios j and camry j. All have one air bag and no vsc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • honest on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:32 am

Auris hatchback plizzz

• Pl4y3r122 on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:12 am

We should sign a petition that will ask Toyota Motor Corp to appoint another distrubuter in Malaysia. Or even better, they themselves become the distrubuter.

• alldisc on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:14 pm

UMW Toyotsu in Shah Alam is owned in majority by Toyota Motor Corp Japan. TMC has a long relation with UMW (since the days of Sejati Motor, after Borneo Motors) which is about 30 years and they highly respect that fact with no intention to ruin it.

• johnjjj on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:34 am

saw a flying vios few years back..
    was it because of the lack of VSC?

• shannon on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:38 am

hey umw, ah jib gor said during ge13 u must drop ur price la.. y ur price keep goin up huh?
    later ah jib gor rampas toyota dealership like he rampas sugar from robert kuok then only u know.
    come on lower prices pls

• Denaihati on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:49 am

look like 2014 a big year for umw toyota.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Looks like 2013 is a big year for uncle Sam, as he has broken the Sri Lanka market for used Hyundai.

For KIA owners, you will need to consider driving them into the Klang River or setting them on fire

• b sensible on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:11 pm

now new suv launched? the current rush is dated for the time being…new fresh makeover!

• Brown Man Wheels on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Wondering why so many people hate Toyota..but at the end they still buying toyota..typical malaysian..

• Someguyonthenet on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:00 pm

I’ve been waiting for the Noah to come to Malaysian Market. A proper MPV than the stupid Innova

• no need to guess la. the third model will launch Avanza 10th years anniversary Super Limited, Lagi Bagus Facelift.

• AUSNSW on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:47 pm

UMW sucks money

• Ash Menon on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Actually that Yaris looks like it’s the one we’re mistaking for Proton’s new B-segment hatch.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:59 am

Another bizzy day again.

Crowds of kimchi owner lining up to come into Sam’s yard.

had to turn all KIA owners away. Has 2 Ssangyong owners that we may consider.

Dam, still so many sorhais bought their cabbages despite the low RV warning issued. Good for us though. Expect Sam to give us a good bonus for CNY in Jan