Hatchback spied at European automotive supplier test track – Proton’s new B-Segment Global Small Car?

Proton-Savvy-004

This is the test track of an automotive supplier in Europe, and according to our spy photographer, an insider revealed that the five-door hatchback being tested on the track is the new B-segment Proton Global Small Car (GSC), which will eventually become the Proton Savvy replacement model. He could be right or wrong, but are those Proton GEN2 wing mirrors?

Earlier this week, we reported that Proton is targeting to launch the new B-segment car in 2014, perhaps within the first half. That’s very close by, and if this mysterious disguised hatchback is indeed the new Proton GSC, it must be quite close to production already. We’ve never seen it being tested in Malaysia before, unless you consider the ‘widened’ Proton Savvy we saw.

Proton launched a Nama Siapa Hebat contest earlier this year, inviting Malaysians to contribute to the naming process of the new car. The Grand Prize winner will walk away with the Premium variant of the car that he or she helped name.

This is not the first time we’ve seen a Proton being tested overseas. We previously saw a Proton being tested near the arctic circle. We don’t know which automotive supplier this car was photographed at, but if we’re lucky, what we’re looking at could be the car’s ESP stability control system undergoing evaluation trials by the system provider. ESP will be necessary if Proton intends to gain traction in export markets with this car.

ESP is slowly but surely becoming the norm with cars launched in Malaysia, thanks to car companies like Honda and Kia, which equip the safety system even in their most affordable models (you reading this, UMW Toyota and Perodua?), so it would be great for Proton to offer it in the GSC as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hopefully the quality will be better

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:18 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 131 Thumb down 386
      • Zlanu on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:40 am

You test cars in all weather conditions and Europe provides a nice, stable, well tested testing ground.

You can’t replicate those conditions in Malaysia. You want Proton to be a global car and rely less on Malaysians to finance it, you do this test. Simple.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 216 Thumb down 26
        • U guy oso said talented boleh all go outside., boleh brain drain, best talent all go lion, keloni test, miros p1 sula beli…so y do p1 need to ask kucing kurap (borrow fr je** ***) here to do test or evaluation or even crash test…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 42
        • just me on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:40 pm

No need to test in all weather lah. Nobody outside malaysia is going to buy this junk anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 102
        • Who wants P1 to be a global car? You can’t even sell much here. Look at your Preve and Suprib. I can see more new vios on the road than these 2 models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 63
      • cakap memang senang on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:43 am

cakap mmg byk senang la kawan..why not here la, why dont do that la…why bla bla bla… see ckp mmg senang maaa… typical pr supporter !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 91
        • pikir dulu sebelum cakap on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:47 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 194
          • dino years on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Proton, be smart and don’t bring this into malaysia as a Proton GSC. Bring it as a Lotus City Car, and all will flock to buy. After the books are filled, then you can reveal that it was actually a Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 8
          • pirlo on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:37 am

i do not support BN. in fact, my vote in recent GE didn’t go to BN. but, i do support proton since they are our national car but was badly misused by BN cronies. Their improvement can be seen in their product in term of quality (rare to hear window problem in new model line up), features (esc, 6 airbags), and price (suprima fully loaded compared to satria gti, though the segment is different).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 9
        • farizY on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Which part of the word “opposition” you failed to understand? btw, nothing to do with PR, he’s just stating the grave truth, which unfortunately, many do not see.
          Back to the car, excited to see Savvy replacement!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 40
        • I am PR supporter too… but i sokong proton. the only Problem is here is the GOV choke us with the highest tax that is around 300%!! so blame the mother:poop: GOV not proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
          • Celicazz on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:10 am

300% may applies to luxury makes only.

CKD cars, like Vios, city, almera is made locally and got tax discounts. their margins are what makes them priced high.

yep, many PR supporters, who has good senses like us believe in proton and want better Malaysia, but, still, not all that cause this high prices are tax alone.

some manufacturers taking the advantages of local perceptions and brand blindness too far, and nobody regulating it.

• Eyesore on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:45 am

No dumb-ass… you just choose to look at the negative things… You forgot to see how the manufacturing industries has bloomed in Malaysia once Proton come to existence, How thousands of Malaysians now have jobs and by creating PROTON has turn Malaysia from agricultural to an industrial nation…yeah proton is not that great now but they definitely not the cause of malaysian economy up and downs… much of it due to your kind of ppl who obsessed with foreign products causing our cash flowing outside instead to rolling back into our own country… And no the RND grant is not being used to develop the car… the RND grants is only allowed to be used for research program like the EV research… stupid toyolta blind supporters…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 177 Thumb down 49
        • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

Nothing has bloomed mate. Its all for the cronies. You are too blind to see it. All manufacturing are for cronies which we all suffer. It is corruption. Only bodohs will think jobs are created. Pity the kampung people, they don’t know much. Come to bandar also, don’t know how to think.

If not for corruption we would not have lost out to Thailand, now Thailand the Auto City. We were on our way to become Asia’s Auto City, but Proton’s nonsense drove away all the CKD to Thailand.

That would have given Malaysia 10 times the jobs Proton are giving to Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 118
          • those cronies r from second largest tututut company..close p1 will close those company oso..g8!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
          • BeemerFreak on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Finally someone that speaks his mind. It is obvious the hundreds and thousands of jobs Malaysians lost because of proton. 1 company can only create at most 50,000 jobs with a 300,000 cars a year capacity. Imagine Toyota, Honda, Nissan and gang are all there, at least 2-3 million cars a year, and easily 5 to 6 times more job opportunity. Only crazy people continues to support proton. Take tax payers money to develop cars and ask tax payers to pay for the cars. That is just not right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 64
          • Proton Staff on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:02 pm

But why still Toyota/VW/Honda want to CKD if everyhing lost to Thailand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
          • Kampung Brain on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Correct. Only BeemerFreak can see this. Because solely of Proton, every car manufacturer has run away to Thailand. Even the existing guys doing CKD here are also planning to run to Thailand to do CKD. This alone, we would have lost few hundred thousand jobs. In the 80s, Malaysia was about to be the AutoCity of Asia. Every car manufacturer like Malaysia. Then Proton came about and started their crap. All the Mat Salleh and Japanese so scared. They all ran to Thailand. Not only we lost few hundred thousand in jobs, we lost few hundred billion in investment and factories. Every billion US dollar went to Thailand because Thailand practiced fair play and no crony practice. Dont be stupid and think Proton gave us jobs. Proton gave us ONLY 30,000 jobs. But because of ONLY Proton, we lost at least 500,000 jobs.

At the same time, every Malaysian had to pay 3x the price of cars. So, we lost

1) few hundred thousand jobs
            2) few hundred billion in investment
            3) Malaysians were deprived of low car prices the past 30 years.

All this to benefit about 20 or 30 cronies to be rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
          • Sori beb check your history…thai is autocity in sea since 70’s…when p1 came in middle of 80’s boleh take that crown..n thai take it back in 90’s till now….u said bout boleh to became autocity of asia in 80’s, that bcoz of p1 exist that time not toyota not honda but p1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
          • Boleh never was CKD king…in the 80’s or 90’s

• valeo on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:34 pm

You say proton has created jobs for thousands of Malaysians but do you know many more thousands of Malaysians suffer from paying high car prices including those made by Proton? Surely you must know by now that Proton’s upcoming flagship car is a rebadge from an older Accord? And this after so many years in business, it cannot produce a reliable car for Malaysians not to mention a flagship car. I can tell you many Malaysians are not really obssessed with foreign products, if a Malaysian company can produce a reliable and reasonably priced product, I will it buy it anytime. We are not stupid to spend lots of money just because its foreign made. But we had been screwed for too long by paying ridiculous prices for below par products like Proton cars and thats why you see a lot of anger from the ordinary Malaysians. Finally don’t call other people stupid or dumb ass when you are not really intelligent yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 40
        • give me the proof that boleh is CKD king between 1980-1999 (minus p1 & p2 production)..i can give proof that thai is CKD king between 1970-2012

• cruxidex on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:47 am

from the look of the disguise sticker’s pattern, surely it is proton because the sticker been using b4 for preve & suprima..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Obama on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Who will buy this piece of thing? Last time when savvy was launched, boasting how much a global car it was, but then all the owners suffered cause of the quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
          • Low Budget on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:42 pm

I won’t mind buying if they price it at RM 18K, the same price as when Proton Saga was ‘invented’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:51 am

ya, I do agree with you about the economic effects by Proton and how injustice to us because of the tax.
        However, I think they have reasons to test over there, you have to consider factors such as equipments, engineers and good/famous test track.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
        • Bryan on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:23 pm

Why bother testing on track? In Europe furthermore…..
          Cars that run in M’sia has to be tough to fend off the monsoon weather, afternoon blazing heat, traffic jams, shitty roads, shitty drivers and potholes.
          If your car can run well in Kuala Lumpur during rush hour, then it can run well anywhere in the world besides antartica.
          So why run test in Europe again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 46
          • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:05 pm

Bro, you can refer to the comments of others below me.
            As they said, may be is because the ESP supplier is located there.
            So, it’s much convenient to do the testing, the engineers could tweak or change the parts on the spots.
            Also, looking at the pictures, I suspect this is a MIRA test track, which they could test the safety of he car’s handling. Just my opinion though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • BrianAdams on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:34 pm

Some component, (Battery for example) requires higher spec for different climate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • Low Budget on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:49 pm

That’s absolutely right! Chief of all the pot holes and road bumps.
            Many of us have to spend thousand ringgit repairing our cars suspensions, absorbers, bearings etc. due to the shitty roads, What’s more huh? DBKL want to increase assessment rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • nieko on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:59 pm

If a carmaker wants to sale its cars in europe its cars have to comply with regulations that are catered in this case for European s in this case whether: snow, ,hale thats why proton is testing its , cars in Europe .and remember not everyone knows if TC, ESP could work on a road filled with snow

• bikers kental on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:41 am

woi bangang. tak reti baca explanation kat atas ke?
            ESP kau tau apa? siapa supplier ESP? siapa provide ESP test in malaysia or asean region? u name me one la kawan. jangan jadi bodoh sangat. nampak sangat BN ko ni.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • test by automotive supplier…
        maybe the supplier based at europe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
      • Drive on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:14 am

Not all testing were done by Proton. Some modules are developed by the suppliers. And some of these big Tier-1 suppliers have their own development process, which include development on their proving grounds. Despite Proton having it’s own test track, not all specific surface/facilities are available. Some like split mu surface or full blown handling track are still not present. Also Proton testing outside Malaysia is nothing new. Haven’t you seen the Preve mules testing pictures in the arctic region? Proton test salah. Tak test pun salah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 3
      • toyota even do winter testing in europe.

http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/11_16/b4224020644459.htm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • farghmee on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

alamak encik, otak sudah tertinggal di rumah ke?

what is the reason for them to test the car at foreign land?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
      • thelonely on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:22 am

you are too ignorant my friend.
        cars have to be tested in real world conditions, in extreme weather. and Malaysia does not have the facilities to conduct these kind of testing.
        it’s not about going for holiday. i don’t think they have time for even going out of tests during daytime.
        And what is this about taxpayer’s money? everything is from the company’s R&D budget. you think this is Rosmah issit?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
        • pirlo on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:43 am

yup. they do think that proton is owned by rosmah. rosmah doesn’t care at all with proton. she could afford rolls royce.

• Buat kereta ada regulation kene follow la samm loo..
        Are you the expert? Kalau expert come to proton and consult them..
        Even perodua built their car test in japan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
      • Stupid comment! Don’t know anything about car testing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • kamal on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:35 pm

sam loo..jgn tahu ckp je withaout knowledge..yes proton di tubuhkan melalui duit rakyat..tp hanya pad permulaan sahaja pada 1985…kemudian kesemua perbelanjaan ditanggung oleh proton sendiri sehingga kini…mereka pergi ke europe dan negara lain2 adalah bagi memenuhi piawaian di sane bagi pasaran disana..bukan pergi bercuti…ada juga fasiliti y tidak ada dimalaysia sebagai contoh ujian Encap di australia…jgn hanya bijak berkate-kate Sam loo tp x th ape2….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • caprico on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

this is a test ground for ESP lah.. read before you post rubbish..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • armandd on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:07 pm

Your writing shows that you have zero knowledge about car development, testing and homologation. Read more technical stuffs instead or malaysiakini or harakah la bro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • lmaoatyourmama on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Funny. Then ask Nissan not to do testing in Nurbugring. In fact, many major companies did that.
        Really typical. Bash bash bash, never think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • cawan on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:16 pm

wei mangkuk…everybody is doing that lah…not just proton and stop relating politic with everything….this is a car blog for god sake!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
      • ahBeng on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Next time should just get Paul Tan & his mates to test it on Driven Web Series, with a little help from L’oreal Mok as guest….. sure popular hit mah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
      • opaixxx on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:10 pm

aku bukan nk cakap byk la.. tapi aku rasa aku nk tumbuk muka samloo ni..

wey apek, masa zaman toyota Corolla tu RM 20,000, gaji majoriti orang masatu antara RM 700 – RM 900 le.. it was around 30 yrs ago.. ko nk compare dengan gaji 3000 sekarang buat apa. macamtu aku pun nk tukar tiap2 tahun..

• brownkids on Nov 28, 2013 at 3:34 am

damn you dont have brain do you?

• You obviously talk with your p@#$%t.. Do yourself a favour and do some research on car testing before commenting on something

• nzain on Nov 29, 2013 at 2:58 pm

proton said “committed to be better”….if not just bash them over

• Superman on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:53 am

this looks like a small Japanese car maybe Honda. the GSC will be a Rebadge then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 70
    • Krasher on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:00 am

Proton Brio???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
    • superman on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:53 am

9 negative points meaning proton marketing staff who are paid to view this comments on paulk tan give 9 negative points immedialetly in less than 10 minutes!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 56
    • its shape almost match the brio, could be based on it. I’m ok with rebadge as long it have quality interior and good specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • nieko on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:49 am

To mr superman proton is not using any platform from Honda ok that ventur is for the peerdana replacement model l know you still thick proton only know how to rebage other cars like how produa does iam so sorry but when it comes to engineering proton is better than most asean made cars ….I know it hurts when its true

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • agree with nieko,, i have relative working with proton and many others manufacturer used proton enineering service that benefit from lotus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:04 am

So this is what proton testing previously.
    Hopefully we can get a good spec and easy maintain car, I really hope that this will better than swift and jazz.

ESP as norm with cars today? Ya right, but sadly Perodua is too poor to provide while UMW just care about their own profit margin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 2
    • alldisc on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:14 pm

forgetting something, huh??

UMW is owned by Permodalan Nasional Berhad (PNB) which is a govt linked company (GLC) and this meanss…

UMW is the government maa…

• victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Actually almost all automobile co. in Malaysia have some linkage with BN, but not everyone sell the car so kosong like UMW at high price.
        Haiz…

• Eyesore on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:05 am

Hohoho…. somebody will be burned for this. The test track in europe is highly confidential area where not even a phone with camera allowed…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • ugly proportions

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
  • maelambung on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:09 am

The rims are like evoque rim..and rear lamp like alto then front like lotus city car..it just my prediction only..haha…hopefully it good better quality to beat other B segment car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • budin on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:14 am

I saw one in putra heights before..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Unforgiven on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:32 am

You must be kidding, a C-seg Proton is still not as good as the B-seg Vios. So where should you spend your money? Be wise!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 58
    • farghmee on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:24 am

define good.

if having lesser safety equipment means good, toyota symbol is more suitable for ur avatar rather than Shooting Arrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
      • Unforgiven on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:03 pm

I read it at Paultan on how to spend the rm90k. I don’t own PROTON or Vios that’s for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • farghmee on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:54 pm

oic.

then u should diversify ur reading.

• Unforgiven on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:43 am

Read more, as in Global, you’ll know the answer as well.
            Think Global and read Global, see what’s happening to the World vs Malaysia now, think in 2 years, 5 years, 10 years etc down the road as well. It’s a competitive World, don’t just be jaguh kampung. Corruptions and cronies companies that gets free money into the pockets must go. The real companies must stand up. LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
          • YOu want to spend 90k on Veeeyos?

Bwahahaa hahahahah ahahahaha ahahahahaha ahahaha

*vomit*

• spongebob on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:32 am

proton suprima mini maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • johnjjj on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm

u mean like samsung name their phone?
      samsung galaxy s4
      samsung galaxy s4 mini

proton suprima s
      proton suprima s mini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Could not use any Mini word for any cars, since the Mini trademark is owned by BMW Group.

Prefer them retaining the Savvy name – as customers can SAVE cost by buying a New Picanto-specced car at the price of a Viva, stay SAFE with 6-airbags and ESP, and feel the SAVOUR of a better-built car.

• mamat on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:34 am

eaww.. panjang nye depan die.. lampu pulak tejojol keluar kalo tengok dr blakang..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Brian on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:40 am

Hope Proton will re-design this.. way too ugly for me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
    • kenot on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:20 am

wow! you have a good eye to see through the camouflage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Some Malaysian thinking is like this:

If this car is Honda, Toyota or others..their said “OH, WOW, FANTASTIC, NICE, SMART, I LIKE..”.

If this car is Proton…their said “UGLY, EAWW.., BAD DESIGN, UGLY PROPORTIONS, RE-BADGE, TIN MILO, UNDER POWER and other bad word”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • Bling on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:47 am

wow. u have very good eyes. i’m working in proton, i see the camouflage car every day. but i couldn’t imagine how does it look actually. u are damn good.

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:42 am

While this might be Proton’s GSC, I really wonder if this is really a misplaced development for proton. Afterall, all the A/B size Protons beyond the Saga never really did well, even in Malaysia, let alone abroad.

Not sure just how big a market Proton is trying to chase with this car, especially that now even the Chinese manufacturers have improved leaps and bounds (with some cut and paste no doubt)

I would rather see proton put that extra effort and concentrate in making a better 4 model/segment range.
    A B Sedan, a C Sedan, C Wagon and a C MPV.

No point to have 6-8 cars in your lineup when they are all not as good (or likewise long-in-the-tooth)as they can be. No point coming out with a car just to go head to head with Perodua market. Like it or not, Perodua will own the A/B Hatch segment no matter what Proton does.

Instead of a small B segment, I believe Proton could do better if it dropped the Suprima S and made a Preve wagon instead. Afterall, in most markets, the B and C price ranges aren’t too big, as with proton selling at massive discounts, it might just be the winning ticket to have a C Wagon which cost the same as everyone’s B Hatchback. Besides, if proton wants in at the European market, having an Estate would be essential.

Its the formula that made the Koreans so successful when they started, and I don’t see why it wont work for Proton.

The Preve/Suprima was a step in the right direction but the development was a little shortsighted and the product could be a lot better with a little extra fore thought and RnD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
  • Yuhoo on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:46 am

I want the original EMAS design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Yes, I’m disappointed too. I thought the new ‘global small car’ would be based on the EMAS. But now it seems to look like a Viva, Picanto, Kancil. Nothing special at all… :(

• sub_zero on Dec 18, 2013 at 7:42 pm

are you daft? Emas is intended as A/B – Segment Global car

which mean they are to compete the likes of Viva and Myvi

seriously, you eat plutonium for breakfast???

• pathfinder on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:46 am

left-hand driver?

• If testdrive in malaysia many people will send photos to paultan, so lets have a testdrive in europe and hopefully no spy photo? Hahaha got u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:57 am

I saw the swipe you did there, Paul!

Proton’s B segment is this? Hmm, the shape does resemble the i10 Mk1. Though it could also be the cameo…

But i am more interested to see what is under the hood. I highly doubt the 1.3 Campro will soldier on, Its almost 7 years old, and the 1.6 Campro itself is barely used now.

Could it be a new engine being under the hood? Or the first model with the Petronas engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:58 am

hopefully it will much better than savy and get a good market.

• dzulx on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:05 am

Gone are the days of black camo tape :D…

Kinda miss it though..

• iskhalifah on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:15 am

The proportion of the car is a little bit odd when compared with modern B-segment cars. The wheel arch is small compared to the overall height of the car.

Its a B-segment car with A-segment sized wheel arches & tyres (15 inch with skinny 50 profile tyres?) like the picanto. A thicker 15 inch with 60 profile tyre is better (e.g. Jazz/Polo) as it will fit the wheel arches better & portray a more sturdier and solid appearance (+ comfy ride as well!). Of course I’m hopeful that the premium version will feature 16 inch ones. Come on Proton designers, I know u can do a lot better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • donno on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:16 am

Goodluck Proton!

Hopefully the styling will be up to date and appealing to young customers. VW type of bland styling is soo passe. Consumers need a car that can exite them visually…

• Datuk on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:19 am

myb it is true proton GSC, but i hope the build quality is far more better because its call global smart car rite? must be on par with global standard. i mean the quality like conti car.

• Raja Lawak on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:25 am

To ensure success of this car:
    1. No more funny name
    2. No more step window
    3. No more wau bulan design motive
    4. No more gearbox problem costs RM10K-15K to replace (after discount)
    5. No more obsess to fight Myvi or Viva, but global export market
    6. OK, give 10-years warranty + 10-years Free service (parts, labour)

If still fail, just rebadge the Mitsubishi Mirage lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
    • what gearbox (new not half-cut) cost less than that to replace? Honda? Toyota? name me one…………..

• i don’t see any step window in the spyshot? so, this GSC already 1 step to success……

• donnyck on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

what an idiot 10 year warranty and 10 year free service , including part and labour too?

what a retard u are …………….

• 1. No more funny name – what funny name? is it as funny as your name? Humanity 101: Show some respect to the name!

2. No more step window – what step window? Automotive 101: Use only generic terms understandable by the community of the industries.

3. No more wau bulan design motive – How hensem is your mirage errkkk??? beautiful lies on the eyes of the beholder. May look ugly to you but not to all. Purchasing 101: just buy something you like! of course within your affordability!

4. No more gearbox problem costs RM10K-15K to replace (after discount)- Do you honour the manufacturer preventative maintenance schedule? send to authorized or cikai ahbeng workshop??? Most breakdown is happened because the owners didn’t performed regular preventative maintenance as per advised and also by half-cooked mechanics.

5. No more obsess to fight Myvi or Viva, but global export market – Ok, this is a great point to ponder. i do agree. Marketing 101 – Aim higher achieve higher!

6. OK, give 10-years warranty + 10-years Free service (parts, labour)- I like. as for now, 5+5 is lucky!

PEACE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • art248 on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:29 am

hahaha, well maybe the ESP supplier is an european company. so proton brought the car there to be equipped and tested at the same time maybe.

• It’s great to see how Proton is constantly trying to achieve greater heights by pushing new models with great specs and value for money. I am seriously not a Proton fan but yet I’m still happy to see Proton improving and trying to make its way into global markets. IMO Proton should put in more effort in creating more fuel efficient engines and embark onto hybrid routes (they have been experimenting on it all this while if I am not mistaken and I know it’s hard for a relatively young automotive company to develop a hybrid) which are more relevant to us Malaysians who wail of fuel prices everyday. And yes, quality refinement should also be emphasized. No more hard plastics and bare looking dashboards that make cars look cheap. Both The Preve and the Suprima have potential, just that the concepts are poorly executed and developed. Anyways, go Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • DaoDao on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Now comes the pricing! Malaysian’s are price sensitive when it comes to Malaysian Cars. Nissan will introduce a compact car with pricing below 50K so this GSC needs to be below 40K loaded with features, fuel saver and quality in order to survive the rat-race. Don’t end up like other highly price model with low volume.

• spyshotX on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:48 pm

it looks like a heavily toned down version of the earlier image posted by Paul back in 2010..

http://paultan.org/2010/08/24/first-image-of-lotus-badged-emas-global-small-car/

long nose, short butt.. sorry not my taste..

• doesn’t looked like proton emas, concept remains as concept?

• pirlo on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:50 am

please read the automotive news. the copyrights of emas was bought by VW for their model VW Up!

• VW bought the EMAS design? Where can I find this ‘news’ in the press?

• khairulx19a on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:14 pm

hope it has same spec like new kia picanto

• What Proton need is some proper car interior designer that can make cheap materials look premium. I think there’s an article here that mentions Honda to be quite good at this.

• I think if this global car quality is really good.. and yet failed because of Proton name… then they should have consider re-branding its name to something else… to avoid those negative image bring from the past… bad image has spoil Proton…

• tokyoprotocol on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:27 pm

I applaud any effort Proton make to develop and sell new model especially in the A/B segment which appeal to the majority of us. However, I fail to see the rationale behind developing a small car without a highly efficient engine. A modern small car is always associated with good FC i.e. mirage and toyota iQ. If this car fail to achieve good FC, you would think twice about buying it.

• same ugly…as preve and suprima :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
  • Fail Proton for Sale - Only RM1 on Nov 27, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Another junk from the proton junk R&D department…it has all the makings of the failed proton savvy and more as those unqualified\lazy R&D people are just not bothered to produce a good quality car ….close proton down or better still just sell to other car automakers for RM1 then at least we can see some better quality cars coming out from them……see this is what our local junk proton has done to the people, everybody hates proton, even their own workers complain about proton. Don’t believe, go and talk to the mechanics at proton service centre and hear it for yourself !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 45
    • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Dude, I don’t know why you have such mentality.
      Maybe the automotive policies in Mala

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • victortan on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Anyway, unless we have massive changes in the government, this will go on forever.
      So why don’t you hope for the best for Proton?
      I have seen a lot of honest and hardworking ppl inside trying their best to make Proton a success.
      Don’t write them off easily.
      Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Fail Proton for Sale - Only RM1 on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:51 pm

What’s the use of honest and hardworking ppl inside trying their best to make proton a success when this is the same story they have been telling for the pass 30 years ?

30 years have gone by and Proton still telling everybody they trying their best… That’s not trying, that’s called Epic Fail !!! Go try in Honda, Toyota, Hyundai, Kia …to name a few sure succeed !! When they say they are going try their best, they deliver and it does not take them 30 years :)

• victortan on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:41 am

Well, it’s not fair to compare Proton to Honda and Toyota. Both of them existed even before your father born. Hyundai and Kia manufactured cars in mid 70s while Proton produce the 1st car in mid 80s.
          See the gap?
          Anyway, you cannot deny that Proton is improving and progressing in a good level recently. IMO, the latest model is actually quite near to it’s competitors, although needs more refinement/quality.

• Proton Staff on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Kalau lazy kita tak hantar kereta paegi test jauh-jauh. 100k mileage pun tak test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • acocho on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:01 am

kalau lazy, kita tak develop car from ground up, kita rebadge je semua model2 kita…

• I know it is a little too early but…Dear Theo,could you make a rendering for this? Never thought i could be more curious ._.

• thedarkside on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:26 pm

now….unleash theopolis chin(did i get the name right?)for his latest rendering.

• norman on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Heard new Campro 1.3 NA engine churns out 100hp/124nm and CFE one 118hp/200nm

• lagendaz on Nov 27, 2013 at 3:30 pm

this car look alike mitsubishi attrage.. nevermind.. i always support proton, but somehow waiting the new launch honda city coming to malaysia. i think i love it.. hehe

• JaguhKampung on Nov 27, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Jaguh dah sediah keluar dari kampung jaga monyet-monyet bandar…

• JaguhBandar on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:20 am

if nothing to say better keep quiet……………

• orgbongoksukamenyebuk on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Jgn menyebuk lah bongok…tak puas hati pura pura puas hatilah…

• It is 1.2 turbo car

• Abg Long on Nov 27, 2013 at 5:36 pm

nice design, safe, jimat itu petrol, harga itu ok.. aku beli lah. i support u proton. 2 bijik proton i sudah beli tau, 1 sudah habis bayar hehe. work harder & smarter, hopefully no need 9 years loan hehe.

• I highly doubt those are Proton Gen-2 wing mirrors. They have LEDs built into them.

There are subtle design cues from the Mitsubishi MIEV, Mazda 2 and Fiat Punto; all of which make sense.

Also, I agree with Paul. Hope this GSC gets ESC as standard. It would be a HUGE slap on the face for Perodua, and even HUGER slap on UMW and ETCM.

• Proton staff on Nov 28, 2013 at 7:07 am

From what I heard, the target is 5 star Euro NCAP. Final decision on spec for local vs export still not sure. Because our market are very price sensitive, not feature sensitive. I do hope malaysian get 5 star safety equipment as standard.

The engine, all i can say is Euro 4 and Euro 5 compliant. Its a new variant of Campro. Transmission is punch CVT2.

• sugarcrush on Nov 28, 2013 at 9:59 am

you knew more stuff on powertrain than the equipment spec.. guess you are from powertrain dept right?

offtopic: any news on new engine replacement for campro?

• thedarkside on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:16 am

can we have dual VVT for the engine?

• Celicazz on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:29 am

I can assure you that it is not gen2 mirrors, it is like a fiesta mirrors, mounted on the outer panel of the front door, and they have a quarter window in front.

• motorhead on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:13 pm

The problem with you proton, no consistency in your model.. Tiara.. Scrap..make new Savvy.. Scrap.. Gen2.. Scrap.. All scrap & keep wasting money in R&D.. Where as others keep improving their existing models… I won’t trust Proton anymore.. Elok terus matilah.. You ve become a liability to us all. Elok jual terus.. Sebelum mampus terus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Same like hyundai n kia…

• Celicazz on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:23 pm

Every car makers scraps their cars after some period, e.g. 6-7 years for most European models, 5-6 years for the Japanese and Korean, and some even 10years for low volume models and flagships like audi tt, lamborghinis, hondas, toyotas, range rovers, jags.

Why is that a problem when Proton scrapping theirs, after some years? Savvy was made in 2005, its oredi 8 years and about time, u think?

• Savvy88 on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:57 pm

If it a B-segment compact car, so the size will be at Myvi size, not Viva.

cant wait to see the competition.

• Savvy88 on Nov 27, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Perodua busy with their sedan..
    Proton busy with their compact car..

quite interesting to see there..

• Thompson on Nov 27, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Thought it was a myvi frm the rear… But its good to see a new Proton again

• Absolute Rider on Nov 27, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Proton, please start your facelift of Suprima S due by six months time. I’m not bashing but this is serious. Some designs flaws and interior fit and finish quality still poor. Even some local car magazines also made the issues. Proton infotainment system for sure need to be upgraded.

• darkermarker on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Sorry Proton.

I gave up on you since 10 years ago…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • proton on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:11 pm

Don abandon us… we can offer u lifetime warranty on our new car good news, we plan to build the Zonda R challenger soon. That’s why we conduct testing at Nurburgring. We have a target to clock the fastest time… beat that Zonda R under 5 minutes…

• Carfox on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:21 pm

To be quite honest, I think it looks more like a new iteration of the Chery J1, which is also sold in Australia in RHD. It shares a lot of the current gen design cues.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • lamanblog on Nov 27, 2013 at 11:24 pm

B-segment car with narrow design, small rims (not support large 17-18inch rims), very cheap looking structure wont becoming hotcakes.

what was proton been thinking? they simply refer to mazda 2, myvi design rather than using vw polo or peugeot 208 as their role model, yet wanting to enter the market with rubbish.

we gave you opportunity to expand by paying 3times more for our car, this is what you repay us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Celicazz on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:21 am

U oredi knows wut the car looks like with all that camo?

U just saw the silhouette, myvi, polo got front quarter Windows? No, they did not, this car has.

Wut r u talking???

• lamanblog on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:11 pm

see it yourself. u think this design can fit 16/17/18inch rim?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Celicazz on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:40 pm

And… Why do u think it cant?

And why do u want to slap in 17-18 to a city car and hurt its fc and ruined the whole point of making a city car?

Why?

• AdamA on Nov 28, 2013 at 11:17 am

I’ve been using Savvy for four years. Never had a problem, well probably because of my rigorous routine maintenance that strictly follow its schedule. was excited when this came out. I wonder what kind of engine that would fit into that tiny car. Depan dah nampak panjang, so my wild guess would be campro. Can’t wait for this model to come out next year. I am between Suprima or the New Savvy.

• Hope this will be the ULTIMATE UK CITY CAR! WAKAKAKAKA. Joke of the day!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Revvvv on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:18 pm

When I’m about to buy my first car (I’m 23 btw), everyone asked me to buy local cars and most of them recommended Proton as your first car. But I spend 120k for a Mazda 3 2.0. Why is that so? Because the quality of the local car is shitty compared to CKD cars from Japan and Euro. I rather throw my money else where then anything made in Malaysia especially cars. Care to think if you are driving in one of this ‘time bomb’, do you even feel secure? Too late to game up coz other CKD are dominating the market. And test car in UK for harsh environment? Why not Japan or Pacific island with it’s earthquakes? Or the hot weather in Dubai that can spoil you electrical wiring? Or typhoon area.. Malaysia is harsh enough to test all of this (not the earthquake). Make it in Malaysia first then only think of making it elsewhere. Its not like you launch your national car in overseas country right? who in the right mind will do this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Just Another Dude.. on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:47 pm

If you know nothing about automotive industry, stop talking. You make fool of yourself..

• Revvvv on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:21 pm

BTW, when Savvy was launch in UK, Top Gear mentioned that Savvy comes with its punchline ‘Your first Lotus’. Nearly made me stomach cramp due to excessive laugh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • oldtc on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Lotus is under proton company, so what?
      Proton cars are much better than Japs n RnH by the way and they got it from the Lotus.

• If I were Proton, I’d do something that could make customers take my product seriously.

• Keng Yap on Nov 28, 2013 at 8:04 pm

This will become hot sale car if Proton name it as Proton Tokong.. surely! ASk DRB to invite Penang well-known Tokong-in ruler to launching. Globall maaahh..

• Proton Tiara.
    Proton Savvy.
    What do they share in common?
    Small size car from Proton. Renault technology.
    And they all disappear from the roads after a while.

Proton doesn’t have much luck with their smaller sized cars. With the aim to beat the Myvi sales, is certainly a very bold and ambitious move, since they never had a good track record. The hot selling ones are sedan, because it appeals to the poorer people who want space and bigger CC.

I’m certainly looking forward to this new car. Since it is supposed to beat a Myvi.

• RoKie on Nov 29, 2013 at 1:30 pm

Maybe after this car, the next Saga model will feature VSC too. That’ll surely contribute to better access to safer cars.

Kudos Paul, for telling UMW T and P2 to buck up. Keep it up !

• Kucing Comel on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:12 am

weh, kalau tak suka, diam je la wahai kucing2 kurap… hahaha

• bonbon on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:27 am

I cuma takut the new engine saja. suprima s cfe engine tested welk already in exora and preve. I would like to buy it but after 5 years.

• NIEKO on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:29 pm

If I am not mistaken the new engine will be called NFE (natural fuel efficient )but I still don’t know whether its turbocharged or NE but its stated that it would produce 104hp/173nm and that’s all from a 1.3L ,But did you guys know that proton also has a 1.2L +REEV Combo this engine was first made for Lotus but now Proton is also set to use it on a deferent note there is news that Lotus will also make its version of the very same car.

• swee swee on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Does anyone know why the car testing in Europe?
    The gearbox was designed and manufacture in Belgium?

• macai detected here