Volvo S60L unveiled in Guangzhou, 80-mm longer WB

volvo-s60l-guangzhou-b

Another carmaker panders to China’s long-legged desires. The wraps have come off the imaginatively-named Volvo S60L at the 2013 Guangzhou show. The new-look compact exec‘s wheelbase has been elongated by 80 mm to 2,856 mm, yielding more legroom in the back.

Buyers in the Middle Kingdom can reportedly have either a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo in 200 hp (T4) or 241 hp (T5) states of tune, or a 300 hp 3.0 litre straight-six (T6). Production began earlier this month in Chengdu, Sichuan Province, and the China-only car will go on sale next month, joining the Volvo S80L (wheelbase +140 mm) in the range.

Guangzhou also saw the debut of the Nissan Teana VIP, whose wheelbase is 125 mm longer than that of the standard car.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• shawal on Nov 27, 2013 at 9:49 am

Looks almost the same, shudve try to increase the boot space as well
    hope it can find its way here somehow…

• Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2013 at 10:29 am

Stay away from Volvo. Now every part made In China. It is as good as buying a Geely. But buying a Geely for RM300k.

Every single part in the new Volvo cars have “Made in China” on it. When the Apek company took over, the promised the world it would be fully Swedish. But they went back on their word, it is fully China made.

So, go ahead, pay RM300,000 for a China made car. That is what people call, brilliant and intelligence on the part of the buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • tokmoh on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Tak abis2 dengan bodoh ni.

U tak suka China, u keluar dari planet ni!!

• sam69 on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Now a days, most of the product are from china. Even iphone are made in china, u don’t like just go dig a grave at your yard and buried yourself in..don’t come here and bark like mad dog..

• kadajawi on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:24 pm

The place of production hardly matters. Apple products are all 100% made in China. So what? Does that make them Chinese products?

The question is where are the engineers and designers from, how is the QC, … as long as the Volvo still looks and feels like a Volvo, and most of all still is as safe as a Volvo, why not?

• liwyt on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:59 am

in this case, then dont buy Land rover or Jaguar , they are from India…. you are such a frog

• Accept the fact, China car will take over Japs very soon. You can deny its existence, but the fact remains.

• tokmoh on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:08 pm

paultan, next Polestar launched edi, it’s not V40, it’s V60/S60 facelift.

• tokmoh on Nov 27, 2013 at 12:16 pm

“or a 300 hp 3.0 litre V6”

Not V6, straight 6. Unless a unique V6 in China only?

• Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:29 pm

Hi tokmoh, you’re right. Thanks for pointing out the error!

• RockyBalboa on Nov 27, 2013 at 2:37 pm

i think you need to read first before you write. So many mistakes.

• Sam. Loo on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Im offering myself for editorial article on PAUL TAN… Can u pay me 10 k per article?

• Schmitt on Jul 12, 2016 at 10:30 am

fact of the matter is almost all cars have components made from all over the globe. I’m driving a volvo now and you’ll be surprised to see how different components come from for example, the glass are made in Germany, Headlamps in Republic Czech, engine components from USA, other parts from Holland and the list goes on. Not one car make makes everything on their own as each supplier has got got their own specialization and whats more important as a car make is how they integrate these different components in a reliable manner.