Mitsubishi ASX CKD sighted – 2WD and 4WD variants

MITSUBISHI-ASX-CKD-JPJ-0001

It was made official last month that the Mitsubishi ASX would be locally-assembled in Malaysia, and thanks to our regular contributor Anol Alias, we have photos of what likely are CKD examples of the SUV, taken at the JPJ car park.

“TCMA/MMM” stickers reveal that the grey car is a 2WD variant while the white car is 4WD. TCMA likely stands for Tan Chong Motor Assemblies – slated to be the contract assembler for the ASX. MMM should stand for Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia.

MITSUBISHI-ASX-CKD-JPJ-0009

Although both are listed as “H-Line” variants, the grey 2WD car appears less well-specced than the white 4WD car. The chrome surrounding the front grille and fog lamp housings are not present on the 2WD, while the 4WD has a panoramic roof and seems to ride on bigger rims.

Production is set to start in January, with sales to begin the month after. Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia currently sells two variants of the Mitsubishi ASX – the regular ASX, which was facelifted in May, and the higher-spec ASX Euro. The pre-facelift ASX participated in our five-way SUV shootout, which you can read here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• i tot some people said many company who CKDed car here runaway to thai to CKD their cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
  • sam69 on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:28 pm

meh…boring…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
  • Datuk on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:35 pm

if the price at Rm100k-120k i think it will be good and pls maintain the spec as cbu unit. if they sell below rm100k, that will be tremendous!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • benzs on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:40 pm

This model never impress at all. So small instead so expensive n not worth it. Rather choose crv o fortuner. Just add up few k would get bigger size. This 1 is totally unseen on the road especially sarawak area. Mayb 1 o 2 unit within a week probably.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
    • If it’s 118k. Then it’s not few K to a Fortuner. Seriously Fortuner is so so overpriced with a handling of a sampan.

• Rulered on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Yeah I saw one Bentley about once a month in Kuching, unimpressive car indeed, not like Vios, very impresssive…

• cskiat on Nov 28, 2013 at 12:49 pm

I am a ASX 2012 owner, the car looks good. 4WD option with audio steering control. If it is priced right … it will be a good buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • totti on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Proton should rebagde this car and sell below RM 90K instead of rebagding the fail Inspira.

They don’t even know which car to select for rebadge and call themselve a car manufacturer.

What a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 27
    • Black Dog on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Fully agree

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • policeman on Nov 28, 2013 at 6:09 pm

You think an SUV can sell better than a sedan? How did Inspira fail? Your parents failed, to use a condom and look what happened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
    • it’s Mitsubishi’s decision. They gave Lancer to Proton because the Lancer is not really successful as they planned and it came with lots of problems. Yawry handling, bad NVH, frequent engine and CVT overheat due to insufficient cooling. All of them fixed in the Inspira, and was also applied to 2011-current Lancers.

• Anand on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:08 pm

From where u get the idea that the engine and cvt overheats. You want to challenge me. U must be a asshole for just talking nonsense or can’t own a Lancer and feel frustrated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • yup… Proton never had a SUV model before… Exora Platform can be use to built one perhaps?

• policeman on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Why the aircond dials same like Proton inspira dial? Copycat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • Hope the 2WD will be introduced below 100K. I always admire this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • how many did they sell this thing? 3 international?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • cskiat on Nov 28, 2013 at 1:45 pm

4WD option with audio steering control. Looks like they have improved the specs. Good job, Mitsu. If they price it right … it will be a good buy. Hey … I have no problems with my ASX and I welcome the move on CKD, it will increase the availability of parts and accessories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Just put on Proton badge, offering around 80k and let it sell like a hot cake!

• That how gov reduce the price…janji dicelepati.. make all imported CKD..good job + well done

• Keep it under 100k and you might be the winner here

• Good news for Malaysian. please price below 140 (4WD) and 120 (2WD)…..

• Why must everything be related to proton?

• EnergyAnalyst on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:26 am

looking forward to this one!

Top Gear UK gives this car a 7/10 verdict which is the same verdict given to Ford Kuga & Mazda CX5.

It is a very Good verdict if compares to Subaru XV, Subaru Forester, Honda CRV & Nissan Juke that only gets 5/10 and still 1 point score better than 6/10 scores of Nissan Qashqai, Dacia Duster & VW Tiguan

Its size and its 4WD capability (for 4WD variant)can beat the crap out of the soon to be launched Peugeot 2008, Ford EcoSport and other decidedly urban only 2WD small SUVs—which are really really claustrophobic kind of small :-)

The only downside is it is rather old model albeilt face-lifted.

• nzain on Nov 29, 2013 at 2:55 pm

do admire these asx..go for 2wd n hoping the price could be affordable to purchase…hopefully below 80k…fuuhhhhhhhhh

• madzzz on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:30 pm

I hope proton not gonna rebadge asx lar.. no quality later.. i afraid they will name if Proton Bazooka. lol..
    See like Proton Sperma-S now oredy got many komplen. fuhhh…