GM to move international HQ from China to S’pore

general_motors_logo12

General Motors will shift its international operations headquarters from Shanghai to Singapore in Q2 2014, according to Reuters. In a bid to make it easier to focus on the Middle Kingdom market, GM separated its China operations from its international unit earlier this year.

The American corporation said it had considered other locations for the move as well as contemplated keeping the HQ in the Chinese city, but chose Singapore in the end. A team of 120 in the Lion City will oversee “key parts” of the company’s operations in Asia Pacific, Africa and the Middle East.

The new base will house some of GM’s sales and marketing, finance, government relations, human resources, IT and legal functions.

“It (Singapore) offers several advantages, including greater proximity to key CIO markets such as ASEAN and India, the Middle East and Africa,” GM international operations communications VP Lori Arpin told Reuters.

The news agency cites Singapore’s competitive tax rates, proficiency in English, skilled workforce and high standard of living as some of the plus points that lure multinational companies to the country.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• why not Malaysia? Malaysian should be enlightened from this article. why do investors like to go to our neighbours instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
    • kenpang on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:55 pm

very simple. it is Dr M effect.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 17
      • Singapore provide America military base in their country to fight against China (which is their own race). Dog will always get a meatless bone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • because this country is sh*t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 30
    • From a Singaporean who loves Malaysia, it’s probably a combination of having to give substantial control of the company to someone else, and safety.

If not for these two, I would have happily packed up my biz and moved over.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • lol…it just headquarter for managing regional activity….i don know y u all so butt hurt when company open headquarter in neighboring countries..when a company opening in boleh u all keep quiet eg like ZF open axle plant, chery motor open plant, GW motor open plant,KTM open plant, Hino open plant here, bose open plant, jcs open here, subaru, vw, peugeot……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 36
      • LajikGor on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:43 pm

the fact that the malaysia government is not doing enough to change the it’s bad perception by the rakyat is obvious…Until a day when the government (either 2 oppossing sides) manage to overturn the perception, they will continue to get bashing..simple as that.

• arsky on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:50 pm

Wah really butthurt lah this guy. Calm down dude.. Take some medicine n take a restt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • flat_tire on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:31 pm

because of shi*tty tax rates that’s why..

• Low Budget on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:40 pm

May be b’cos GM must give some shares to B.N.’s cronies in order to set up shop here.

• Meanwhile in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • ..people reject foreign company..eg when singapore want more control of their properties the so called Rakyat get angry..if give tax break to foreign talent or company people oso angry..if foreign company want to buy land people said gov sell country..so wat to do

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • taikor on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Kasi chancelah Singapore, kalau tiada bisnes ini mcm what else they can do? Singapore only make living with the support from multinational companies from all around the globe, nothing more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • nyayanya on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Again, thanks to NAP..

ohwai…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • Why NAP involve in this?..do you really know wat is NAP that u saying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Low Budget on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:44 pm

NAP means to take a short sleep, nyayanya means the B.N. Gomen is sleeping and therefore unable to catch G.M. to come here.

• LajikGor on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:44 pm

GM, why didnt u choose Malaysia? We have the “best business platform and policies”, a very “transparent government”, we can gurantee a friendly business environment leh….haiyo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • proficiency in English ? Walau-eh, Kanasai, Lim Pek, KKYLP(KIAO KAH YO LUM PAR)…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 12
  • CarDude on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:15 pm

dont buy into thier BS. Its likely the real reason they choose to move to SG is because the directors in Shanghai wants an upgrade living standard hence decided to move.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • frenzyaustin on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:56 pm

I don’t think S’Pore is any lower.

• You Mad? on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:26 am

Very true. GM directors from Shanghai and Rayong Thailand can move to world class Singapore. Meanwhile in Malaysia, GM only have a rented office at NAZA.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • Singaporean girl like to polish Mat Salleh balls, this is the main reason.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 10
  • No biggie, according to our world class govt, GM is a rubbish puny auto company..
    Why need any of the other auto companies when we have the best in the world, Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
    • that’s true, Cadillac, GMC, Chevrolet, and Buick are shitty cars compare to Proton!
      ** sarcastic comment applied**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • I think I didnt even read a word of Proton in the article, do you have magic or something ? Get back on track dude. Dont just keep barking. You really do well with what youre doing in your life ? I dont think you do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • voiddance on Nov 29, 2013 at 11:47 pm

This is no more than an act of tax evasion like apple and few other american co are doing now. Singapore is the place for doing shoddy bussiness practices and gaining more attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • singaporean lick matsalleh balls while malaysian kick their balls got it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • omgdidyoudomathssingapore on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:55 pm

In what way does singapore have competitive taxes when it comes to cars? COE pops to my mind like a bomb…

if you refuse to pay their govt the ridiculous coe, you will be stuck in buses and mrt everyday with the bangla, china-ians. trust me, it’s smelly.

the execs of course, will love sg, their car + ah mat is paid for by company, as well as their serviced apartment. to their lower office employees, hell awaits. their salary can rent them a common room in a government flat (which in size is comparable to a typical malaysian’s storeroom), buy them 2-3 meals a day from food courts, and they will spend more than an hour commuting to work just like KL-ians, just that they do it in a smelly bus/mrt, not their own vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Their WAY – Western “Taiko” never pick any Islamic country for their HQ setup :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
    • Yeah, so Malaysia try harder to be more Islamic.. It will just tarnish the image that was built long ago as a free business zone. Do not forget Johor, the most dangerous state in Malaysia where crime is infesting. How the hell do you want foreign investor to come? Foreign investor will give no shit to these 2 major reasons.:
      1. Try to be an Islamic extreamist state. (Allah issue)
      2. crime is everywhere.

Bye bye Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Sorry, for your information, Malaysia is a secular country and not an Islamic country. No offense to Muslim but Malaysia is NOT AN ISLAMIC COUNTRY. thank you very much. A Muslim majority country doesn’t mean it is an Islamic Country. Don’t be fooled by certain parties. Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • malaysia on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Kita negara berdaulat dan agama rasmi adalah Islam. Sistem Beraja sudah lama menapak di bumi tanah Melayu. Kelansungan ini sememangnya akan diteruskan. Tidak kira bangsa mana sekalipun yang menapakkan diri di bumi Malaysia ini harus menghormati segala perlembangaan yang telah ditetapkan. Jangan sekali pertikaikan negara ini bukan negara Islam, belajar sejarah dan ingatlah asal usul mu wahai kalian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
        • kl fella on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:52 am

talking about learning history..without the contributions of all the races, Malaysia will not be what it is today. We actually have a lot of talent and a lot of Malaysians have excelled overseas.

• A USA corporation just wanted to move to a USA friendly country, that’s all.

• Thompson on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:18 am

I would like to have a cadillac and buick in malaysia, since these cars are cheap in china

• norman on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Buick,Chevoret(Not korean),Chrysler ever venture in Singapore but their rakyat choose Japanese,Continental,Korean and even Malaysian vehicles instead.Do you think that their Voyager 2.7 cost like the Hyundai Trajet 2.7?No its twice as much and breakdown prone

• Edward Carnby on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:36 pm

because the country is full of fanatics and bribery…