Proton Suprima S launched in Thailand, 805k baht

proton-suprima-s-launched-thailand-2

Following overseas launches in Indonesia, Australia and Brunei, the Proton Suprima S arrives in Thailand. The hatchback has turned up at the ongoing 2013 Thai Motor Expo, and is available in a sole Premium variant for 805k baht (RM80,900), on-the-road. It joins the PreveSaga FLX, Gen 2 and Exora Bold in Proton’s Thai range.

“The global automotive landscape is now more competitive than ever,” said COO Hisham Othman. “However, despite the challenges we face from our competitors, we remain confident that the brand will keep growing, and our products will continue to be well received here, as the Suprima S joins a strong stable of Proton models in Thailand.”

proton-suprima-s-launch-brunei-2

The Proton Suprima S was launched in Brunei only last week, also in a sole Premium variant. Australia is the only overseas country so far to get more than one variant – the GX and GXR mirrors our Executive and Premium variants respectively in terms of equipment.

We reported recently that Proton has plans to re-enter the UK with three new models – they should be the Exora Bold, Preve CFE and Suprima S. The Suprima S is set to offer a six-speed manual version in Australia and the UK from next year. South Africa is another mentioned target export market, but when that will happen is unknown at this juncture.

Gallery includes photos from the Brunei launch.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• mitsushihtzu on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:12 pm

wait, 80k for a proton in thailand? i think they are better off with their toyota than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 62
    • But non of them as equip as SS in those price range…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 70
      • Petrolhead on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:14 pm

At the RM80k price bracket, I think the Thais would rather get a:
        Toyota Altis 1.6G at RM81.9k
        Honda Civic 1.8S at RM83.3k
        Nissan Sylphy 1.6E at RM79.9k
        Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8GLX at RM79.9k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 25
        • DrHead on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:24 pm

non of them as equip as SS in those price range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 63
          • All of the above comparison. You all has left one one main important thing which is the Fuel Consumption! Which of these cars produce the worse fuel economy? Also don’ forget that in Thailand the fuel price is not subsidized by their Government and cost much higher than our non subsidized price!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
          • DrHead on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:51 am

non of them has better fc than a vios, lol. vios sucks in city, so are them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • do you check their spec?….the safety aspect of cheapest thai
          Preve has 2 airbag n has abs+ebd, no esc(vsa) RM66k
          SS has 6 airbag, abs+ebd+ba, esc…RM80k
          Civic has 2 airbag, no vsa, no abs+ebd+ba..RM83k
          Altis has 2 airbag, no vsa, no abs+ebd+ba..RM81k
          Sylphy has 2 airbag, vsa not sure, no abs+ebd+ba…RM80k
          Lancer has 2 airbag, has abs+ebd+ba..RM80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 60
          • of course the spec of the preve has to be better than other car makers : when u r a company with poor track records ( in thailand), weak branding power, etc….or else the thais will rather buy kapcai..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 11
          • sorry to disappoint but the average consumer does not care about how many airbags a car has, the first thing they would do when they are shopping for cars, is visit showrooms and they are going to see the interior of this car and that would be the last time they ever visit a proton showroom. Sales numbers don’t lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 26
          • last time i heard people said p1 give customer milo tin car…unsafe car oni 1 airbag 2 airbag..lack of features..history don lie bout that…if p1 remove most of those feature sure kene bash….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 48
          • its like people rather die in unsafe more popular branded car than survive in safe unknown not so popular brand car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 38
          • u all can thumb down as many as u want bcoz u all cannot handle the reality/truth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 22
          • airbags on Dec 13, 2013 at 12:51 am

do u really need six airbags? then you cant have babies, toddlers, tennagers, kids, etc, in your car. u r killing them.

• boleh people do not know the spec of those car that make it cheaper in thailand than boleh other than tax….most of u don know that most basic almera in thai don have radio/speaker..power windows..1 airbag…
          don u guys feel weird that even boleh has crazy tax the price of car boleh n thai oni RM10-15k or sometime RM20k different…most of time boleh is more equip than thai variant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 14
          • Also, more airbags DO NOT mean, more safety, YES it is safer during the initial impact, but you havent mention anything about structural integrity of all the cars you had previously listed. I would rather be in a car that has a good crumple zone than one that has more airbags, also if you are wearing pretensioner seatbelts most airbags are pointless anyway!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • butthurt ker? on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:41 pm

accept the facts lolz, remember to use some vaseline.

• What facts? Proton bashers alwayz talk cock here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
          • i don say other than airbag is not important…body structure is oso importtant..wat i mean that those feature make the price different..eg just look at preve basic thai variant it cost at least RM15k cheaper than lancer, altis, civic n sylphy..people tend to compare price without knowing the inside n then bash like there is no tomolo

• hangit on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Toyota Altis 1.6G at RM81.9k
          Honda Civic 1.8S at RM83.3k
          Nissan Sylphy 1.6E at RM79.9k
          Mitsubishi Lancer 1.8GLX at RM79.9k

Try apply the same price here. I very doubt people will buy SS.

• DrHead on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:06 pm

non of them as equip as SS in those price range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • marvelman on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:56 am

Non even Turbo.

• _xXx_ on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:05 am

but these cars are NOT Lotus tuned wor…

• sam69 on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:48 pm

Still better buy than the Fugly Hilux face VIOS anytime..without VSC..Only sup9 Tai Lan Ngong will buy a Vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
      • Yes … The one bought Suprima are sore high. The one produce this junk are even more sore high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 25
  • Jinggo on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:15 pm

kaki apa hal? simen kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Salesman Tom Yam on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:13 pm

The consequence of test drove Preve. Lucky her still alive and kicking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
    • Django on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:13 am

It shows that Proton still need Tongkat to survive. Hidden message lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • donadoni on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:24 pm

why always show the butt side when promoting superimau? confident so much design very nice wan ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
    • iluvass on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:49 pm

S! the ass! Got it??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • The front is pretty much identical to the Prevé, so why not the back instead ?

Besides, the Suprima has a far more alluring arse than her older, more conservative sister, le Prevé. LOL

• Usually car makers use the front, or the front quater for photos..this is the first time i think a car maker uses the Butt..

• Nissan on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:51 am

Stupid proton claim this is not Preve hatchback yet the front is exactly identical end up no face to shown in the launching of this SS but could only show SS’s ass.

• No pre-booking…? means failure. Also proton for years they already mention over and over again “However, despite the challenges we face from our competitors, we remain confident that the brand will keep growing, and our products will continue to be well received here, as the “Model” joins a strong stable of Proton models in Thailand.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Krasher on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:40 am

Growing in their dreams! I never saw any proton ads in thai tv and hope that wasn’t part of the marketing plan

• superbird #43 on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:27 pm

r they going to offer 6mt here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • ss427 on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:29 pm

Proton really think the Thais are suckers.. Thailand build so many outstanding cars from so many Japs, Korean, Euro and even American brands and they have to buy your Proton over there?! Seriously?
    Those locally assembled cars from established manufacturers enjoy considerable tax breaks in Thailand..

And even the lowly POS Vios is a far better choice than the Suprima la… Seriously, just how are you going get parts easily for Proton in Thailand?

I seriously do think someone needs to a full reality check inside Proton. You’re making alot of terrible marketing mistakes in short succession.. and its alarming… :( Just because you can sell in other countries doesn’t mean you will succeed over there.
    This is no longer the 60-70s. The world really DOESN’T need nor will it ‘wait’ for this kampong manufacturer to learn the ropes the hard way overseas.
    You’re just wasting tons of $$ and time Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 87
    • Kasi peluang la sama dia… dia orang meniaga…U apa pening2…^^

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 21
    • Most of them underspec (the cheap one)..maybe except ford n korean for below baht 800k..lol boleh oso assemble euro, korea, jap car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
    • puterakupang84 on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:59 pm

wah….you are so clever in maketing? I hope u drive BMW…ckp manyak pandai maaaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • have u been in thailand??
      number of proton on the road is quite impressive there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
      • Krasher on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:38 am

In the southern thai you may bumped into a exora or gen2 once in a blue moon. But in streets of BKK, as I said its easier to spot a Ferrari. That’s how impressive Proton is in Thailand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • thaiproton on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:21 am

lol impressive you mean? maybe you saw malaysia plate

• Sinjiapork man speaks….puihhh
      Full of hatred and envy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • parang on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:52 pm

Your sentence…Thailand build…mana ada maa diaorlang cuma pandai pasang skru saje… so pls stop lies…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Hmmm… A lady with a crutch launching the car, what does it imply?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
  • talk talk on Nov 29, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Why always let people see the butt of suprima S? nothings special la wei..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
    • bootupjoe on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Because front same like Preve and behind different mah…

• The photographer ask them to do thumb up or they do by themselves?

• lol…
    when proton sell cars cheap oversea moan proton not fair. when proton sell cars pricier or same price as local still bash proton.
    just LOL….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 10
    • Ononimos on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:01 pm

Have you read a story about an old married couple, a donkey and the people around? That is what exactly happen in paultan. They just want to find the fault and failure behind other people’s effort. So, don’t waste time arguing with these people. Just read their comment while eating your nachos and pray that next generation of malaysian will have better attitude and mindset. The Y-Gen can no longer be saved.

• Alexxx on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Who is the shahrizat lookalike dressed in blue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • bootupjoe on Nov 29, 2013 at 5:48 pm

As a Thai or Malaysian ,would u buy a Proton car in Thailand even if cheaper with high spec…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Raja Lawak on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:03 pm

If give 10 years warranty + 10 free service (parts, labour) maybe yes…after 10th year can send to scrap yard lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • For sure this car will Gail again. With a scary fuel consumption not to say lausy sound proof and absorber yet with the price more than 80k, I don’t think Thai will buy it. (I just test drive it) Preve still better choice judging by it’s price. And proton fans please don,t compare this car with b segment Japanese car in terms of quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • not-my-name on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:34 pm

They compare by the price range la.
      I hate someone always say compare apple to apple but didn’t see which view/angle we are looking at

• Here friend, I don’t know your knowledge about this car. But here I can give you some information. This not from me but from proton salesman. They said they need rm 50 RON 95 to travel from sibu to bintulu which is around 220 km. However I my Nissan livina x gear only spend rm 70 to travel from sibu to miri which is 450 km. The price between two car are differ for rm 5 k and yet this because of the stupid taxes from gov to protect national car. Now you can compare it. Hope your maths is not that poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
        • Celicazz on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Seriiusly, comparing livina with suprima? Seriously???

1.6 turbo pulling 1.3 tonne wide tires with a 1.8 n/a lugging a lightweight narrow tires?

What are u implying?

Tax? Do u even know that livina xgear is assembled adjacent to Perodua? It is locally made and have cuts in their taxes as same as Proton. Why the difference of price, u ask?

Research before posting, u wont sounds that stupid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
          • I think it the one should research in the amount of money taxed to livina x gear by government. Try to see the price in labuan and langkawi and u can see the difference. Please don’t comment blindly. As for the turbo engine what I can say is just a toy who wast money. If you really want to feel the sensation of speeding, buy a sport car is a better solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • bemmi on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:59 am

205nm is not a toy, it’s equivalent to 2.0l engine. if you dont have anything right to say, don’t make it wrong.

• bemmi on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:34 pm

lol dun talk cock here. SS FC is no way far lousier than vios. Take bangkok and KL traffic jams, it’s almost same.

And the soundproof? Did you measure it with your poor ears?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
      • I trust my ear. I think my knowledge of 20 years in music help me a lot. Come on man, don’t be too drunk of your . Support proton too much will not help it to grow. Try to give some solid comments to the management . If proton is that good, it should sell all over the world not just with a sales volume around 5% of Toyota yearly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
        • bemmi on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:56 am

Vios has good sales but it’s a death machine without VSC. Go figure.

• So can u explain even there is no VSC the vios still sale like hot cake where as suprima still need to dump all the gadgets in but ok still not impressed with it.

• bemmi on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:09 pm

It’s explained, good sales don’t necessarily imply good car

• Bryan on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:55 am

Bemmi, if a good car can’t sell it translated into nothing. So far I only see once or twice on Klang valley and hopefully its not a test drive car. I have been driving 4 diff proton car, and to be honest if to ask me, experience of driving proton car I really cannot tell much. Have good and bad experience. As for the suprima, the rear design is disappointed and for me as no choice loyal customer for proton, I would not buy it.
            Things in proton became mess since after DRB taking over and I don’t think they have a clear direction of developing proton further. The important asset of proton? The land bank in shah alam that can became another commercial and residential shah alam. During the acquisition of proton, they been unfair acquisition as the land bank not been revalue for years.

• Absolute Rider on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:12 pm

Proton, PLEASE change your Suprima S:

1) Rear bumper with proper functional diffuser.
    2) Rear lights with thicker LED light guides.
    (Look at Hundai Elantra
    3) PROTON WING is to thin. Look “weak”. Look at
    those Honda etc. Thick and bold. Look “strong”.
    4) Interior fit and finish. The gaps is wide.
    5) Proton infotainment system. Many people
    complaint! The touchscreen is terrible.
    ………

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Absolute Rider on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:14 pm

Correction Hyundai… not Hundai (Sorry)

• Agree. The glass and the structure is not that solid. I can feel some vibraration from roof when past through some lousy road. Eventhough the Toyota did reduce some material for the vios especially the rear door are so thin but they didn’t sacrifice the quality of comfort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • No Idea on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Premium variant for 805k baht (RM80,900)

thailand buying a imported car is almost the same with malaysian buying a local car?

• kambinganas on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:38 pm

Menarik kan? Malaysian gomen tax Thai imports heavily but the Thais don’t do the same?

• marvelman on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Don’t just say. The Thai has been like that since the War era. Opening gates for every foreign country. History.

• smokey on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:18 pm

is that lady our beloved sharizat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • kawabanga on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:26 pm

With that kind of pricing, i think Proton marketing people are really out of their mind…

• Yes if cheaper than proton use people’s money to supports foreign buyers.

Welcome to insane proton basher minds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • fast5 on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:56 pm

I think the BOD and “the real owner” DrM should be blame on this…

• Best Gila Proton S --- FAIL Yet Again on Nov 29, 2013 at 6:56 pm

A lady with a crutch launching the car showing thumbs up for Proton Suprima S, she might have test drove the car and accident so guess what ??

No knee airbag, so this is what happen to my leg …best gila !! Yea Proton S BEST .. ANCAP 5 and half star for this !!! haha

Epic Fail by Proton again and again !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
    • Eh, show some respect lah. She can barely walk, but she (Dato’ Nazirah Hussain – Msia ambassador to Thailand) still came to endorse the Thai Suprima launch. She also came for the Thai Prevé and Exora launch last year. She’s doing her job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
      • kambinganas on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Aku rasa imej wise it would have been better for her to rest at home and send someone else. It could have been she did not want anyone to steal her limelight, not because dia sangat tekun bekerja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Gary Yap on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:20 am

A National carmaker on crutches? You won’t find a better analogy anywhere else…

• Celicazz on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:36 pm

Wait till you crush your knees, than you know how hard is it to tolerate people joking about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • why i seldom see Suprima S on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • huehuehue on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:20 pm

Wait next year Proton going to launch Suprima SSV that without LCD screen, ESC, autocruise, foglamp, sportrim and less 4 airbag. Then Proton will claim got 1000unit alone in pre-booking.

• darkermarker on Nov 29, 2013 at 7:29 pm

Good product or bad product, or blardy lousy product……all give “finger lickin good” thumbs up.

Thumbs up sign is becoming very cheap oredi….
    Next time just hire bangla and do thumbs up…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Contender on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:27 pm

Proton Suprima S selling at 809k baht in Thailand … ???maybe they give 30% discount from their announced recommended retail price …. quietly through dealers

• Absolute Rider on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:46 pm

When is your NFE engine ready? Is the engine made from aluminium? How about Patronas engine?

Once you put in the engine to your cutting models such as Peeve and Suprima S, that the time you facelift those models, especially Suprima S…..

Do it as soon as possible, and make no mistake.

• IntactNoPotongGuy on Nov 29, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Proton’s job is to using crappy car to create massacre on Thailand by increase accident rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • ksckt on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:04 am

that means civic, focus etc that has 5 star ncap safety rating also make massacre there!

• Good, good, keep the hype train rolling Proton/DRB-HICOM. You must not let interest in your developments fade, public interest is crucial to Proton’s revitalization.

I’m still waiting patiently for any news on the entry of the Prevé and Suprima S in China. Since 2012, there has been no real news about the Proton-Hawtai deal.

As it stands, China is Proton’s best and fastest growing market, more so than Malaysia itself. With just 2 cars, the Gen-2 and Persona, Proton and their Chinese partner Youngman have managed to sell over 100,000 units in the last 3 years alone. If you count the Youngman L5, which has a Gen-2 platform and CamPro engine, it would be 150,000 total.

If the Gen-2 and Persona can sell so well in China, the Prevé and Suprima S should be best sellers from day one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • b sensible on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:00 pm

couldn’t understand why proton end its partnership with youngman? we see from all the previous partnership were for a certain period of time. why can’t there be long lasting relationship just like brothers & sisters. come on…should get serious into new relationship then!

• ???

As far as I know, the Proton-Youngman partnership is holding. Youngman still sells Proton Gen-2s and Personas in China today.

They haven’t divorced yet. I hope they don’t, cause Youngman is honestly not a bad company. Unlike other China car brands, they are willing to partner-up and do business the right way instead of reverse engineering Japanese/Korean cars.

• shawal on Nov 29, 2013 at 9:59 pm

You why she broke her leg..?
    Cuz the SS is not equipped with knee airbag and collapsible pedals n steering column

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • just me on Nov 29, 2013 at 10:01 pm

My thai friend told me, malu if drive proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • taikor on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:13 am

But my thai friend told me he bought proton bcuz its well equip and.. its so RARE !!

• Krasher on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:18 am

Agreed. That’s why I said you’ll easily find a Ferrari than a Proton in BKK

• thaiproton on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:15 am

lol most probably your thai friend is malaysian or work with thai proton..

• Simon on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:16 am

Is Proton going backwards? I can see their cars are displayed backwards now.

• Going backward company is T, still have 4 spd gearbox and museum level engine in those new Vios

• Simon on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:56 am

Vios uses the 1NZ-FE engine for 11 years. Gets 11km/litre. A reliable fuel efficient engine after all these years. Why change something that’s already been proven.

• Krasher on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:24 am

Proton in Thailand? It’s easier to spot a Ferarri than a Proton in BKK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • mrhukaka on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:26 am

When to test drive suprima s the front sensor it’s not functioning.and the steeringfeel not so smooth.the infotainment system shows up Spanish language.the pedal feels a bit hard and shot travel distance.if compare with preve.the noise levels have improvements QC also improve.better then preve.only thing the side view of cars like out of proportion.preve looks smoother and back trunk more practical.
    If this car price are same with my 10 years waja I will support proton.but at this price I still drive back my old waja it’s reliable except the power window problem.Mitsubishi engine are easy to maintain and fuel saver.not the campro.overall proton still having their view as a car manufacture.no car are perfect but if for me I will prefer safety more then a resale value.not afford to repay loan just go for some affordable.not because of face or to showing off maybe a brand or people buy I buy your friend buy you also buy.buy what you need but not what you want.
    Car price will depreciate so you buy a proton not satisfied with services center can service ah beng car services.but with some expensive car some German brand I can see lot of negative feedback from FB.there it’. No point to show off branding and just leave your precious ride at workshop for many days and still paying the loan.car will be scratched by ichi hand people at any place and parking.so for my point of view a reasonable price car with a good safety feature will be my first consideration.not to mention governmen tax.cause we can only settle with it.
    Unless you having a better suggestions for our government.to lead them better with current situations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • benzs on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:43 am

Thai is like detroit but is in asia, mostly japs car were produce there. Would Thai ppl buying P1 since they can get long well known car manufacture like Toyota?

• The rear of the Supima looks so boring like a station wagon and is the worst view, yet u these ” managers etc” chose to show off Potongs butt in the photos..talk about competence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Laporfo on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:36 am

Good job Proton & all it staffs. Now more people is looking & talking about you. It is good for continue to educate them about what New Proton is all about. Previous Proton does not the same with New Proton.

• torquealot on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:50 pm

Err….who’s that woman with the plaster casted right foot and a supporting stick ??? It is just worsen with that hijab she is wearing…. Why Malaysia nowadays like to portray their conservative Islamic image ah ??? Don’t they know most earthlings detest anything which is associated with Islam ??? No brainer publicity !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • norman on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:03 pm

80k?Should sell below 76k but strangely when i went to Bangkok,Surattani,Hatyai theres more Proton compared to Mazda or Daihatsu..Exora,Persona,Saga,Savvy

• Low Budget on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:48 pm

Many stolen Proton cars from Malaya end up in Southern Thailand, get it?

• SS Crab on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Went to proton event over the weekend at Shah Alam. I’m not sure who drove the SS and wrote a crap review. It is a total disappointment and the review is total bullshit.

Press the throttle, I can’t even feel the soft turbo, press it hard, the engine sound like its gonna burst.

Switching the gear from auto to manual, that gear feels like plastic and its like going to break. OMFG!

The steering wheel is so thin, the control on the steering wheel can’t control the player. I Lol’ed at the salesman.

6 airbags? Yes, you definitely need it as the body feels like an empty can. I didn’t close the door hard but it shuts like tin kosong. To compensate the thin door, definitely you will need 6 airbags, duh!

With that pricetag, I will go for lowest spec almera/vios/city/forte and not for this piece of crap.

Proton thought by putting in those push start, 6 airbags, touch screen player, soft turbo to attract buyers, overall, the car feels like crap.

• norman on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:46 pm

End up in Thai?How come my buddies and cousin there buy from showroom?Sour grape ah u?

• thaiproton on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:23 am

proton in thai equipped with LPG(which mean NGV)…integrated…yet nobody want to get it

what malaysia proton offer to us? malaysian?

• Ben J.W. on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:23 pm

With that price tag, why buy Potong? Can buy Nissan JUKE or PULSAR.

• prouser on Jan 07, 2014 at 3:51 am

Well surely Proton make anyone envy… As there are more comment either bad nor good when Proton Cars make a debut… So many green eyed- good job Proton….just make it a bit cheaper for us…