Mercedes-Benz E400 CKD now in Malaysia – RM494k

w212-fl-e400-turbo-0024

The new Mercedes-Benz E400 is now at Hap Seng Star Bukit Bintang, topping the non-AMG W212 E-Class facelift range. Thanks Yo Han for the tip. The new locally-assembled E400 will cost you RM493,888 on-the-road without insurance and replaces the pre-facelift E300.

A new twin-turbocharged 3.0 litre V6 engine replaces the old normally-aspirated V6 in the E300. The new engine has direct injection and produces 333 hp and 480 Nm of torque. The new turbo V6 is mated to a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus gearbox. It hits 100 km/h in just 5.3 seconds, on to a top speed of 250 km/h.

On the outside, the E400 is differentiated from the E200 and E250 by the AMG Sports package, which includes new front and rear bumpers as well as side skirts. There are also larger front disc brakes, a sports suspension, and 18-inch 5 twin-spoke alloy wheels with staggered tyres in 245/40 and 265/35 sizes.

Inside, there’s brushed stainless steel sports pedals with rubber studs, AMG velour floor mats, and a sports steering wheel with paddle shifters that has wood and leather trim.

You also get a rear seat entertainment system, which includes two monitors integrated into the headrests of the front seats. There’s also a surround view camera, which is useful for parking. You can find the full specs in the specs sheet in our gallery.

Thanks to its local assembly, the new E400 ends up being the most affordable in its segment, undercutting the Audi A6 3.0 TFSI’s RM515k price tag and the RM539k BMW ActiveHybrid 5. Let’s not even bring the RM599k 535i into the equation, which is pricier by more than RM100k.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• shame_Loo on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:20 pm

This E400 is really powerful. The pre-facelift E300 is just a piece of junk if comparing with the new E400. Great move by Benz….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
    • What a waste, Ah Pek don’t need big power lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 45
      • The dashboard is glorified preve’s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 68
        • this arrangement is better screen above aircond vent…i dont like preve/ss arrangement screen below aircond vent..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
          • PauKaya on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:38 am

prefer this interior instead of the floating ipad afterthought in the newer benzes

• jilaka on Dec 01, 2013 at 4:35 pm

kerata olang tua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
          • US Prices for E400 on Dec 02, 2013 at 4:52 pm

The E350 in the US cost USD$51,000. CBU 100% German made. The E400 Hybrid cost USD$56,000, also CBU German made.

So, in Malaysian ringgit, the E350 will be RM150,000 and the more advanced Hybrid cost RM170,000

This car in Malaysia is not a hybrid at all. Yet it is CKD. How can the price be RM500,000?

Even at tax at the fullest about 130%, the car cannot cost RM500,000. Illogical.

Somemore MBM will get it much cheaper from the Principal in Germany than the above quoted US prices. The US prices is after the US government tax on it and the US dealership makes a hefty profit. So, most probably MBM will get this car from Germany for US$40,000.

Adding to that, if CKD, it will come in much cheaper, maybe USD$35,000

So, how does US$35,000 become RM500,000. You mean MBM untung each car RM300,000?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:03 am

At least Mercedes give 4 years warranty. BMW, famous for its breakdowns and mechanical failure, only give 2 years warranty. Most people scared to buy with 2 years warranty. BMW Malaysia is the ONLY car company in Malaysia and ALSO the world that ONLY gives 2 years warranty on their cars.

Why? Because they know, 3rd year onwards, you will be paying through your nose for parts and they can recoup even more profit.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:07 am

Still cannot beat BMW Malaysia Their 535i is sold for US$55,000.

Here, they sold their 535i for RM600,000

And they give their palat 2 years warranty. The ONLY car company in Malaysia AND the entire world that gives ONLY 2 years warranty on their cars.

• Ah Chik will blow away your Suprima S and Preve.. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • MackyMac on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:53 am

DOn’t underestimate the Ah Pek in a de-badged E400… he will own your bum at the traffic lights and be a lot more comfy while stuck in traffic.

;)

• If you think only ahpek will buy this car then u r dead wrong. There are many young adult at age 40-45 can afford these car. And whats your ah pek definition? Who told you ah pek dont need or cant handle such power? Man, u gotta broaden ur horizon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 15
        • Sam Mistress on Dec 02, 2013 at 4:36 pm

above 40 is already considered ah pek lar.

for gal, consider ah poh already.

Don’t believe go ask a 20 year old gal what do you think of going out with a guy who is 40 years old ?

She will says, ayo, ah pek….*vommit*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
          • your bro on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:33 pm

Dude, is Paul Walker consider ahpek then? when u speak u speak with a brain that God gives you. You dont spit for no reason. So means u r short life dude, 40 years old ah pek. so 50yo very old and u die at 60? slap the shit out of u mofo.

• Najib, where is the 30% reduction you Promised? on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Where is Najib’s promise of 30% reduction in car prices over a period of 5 years? Najib promised before the election that if we voted for him and BN, he would ensure that he would match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices. Najib himself quoted saying that the BN government would reduce car prices by up to 30% gradually over 5 years and we should trust BN. Infact he said BN always keeps to their word. 6 months have passed and nothing has been done.

Infact companies like Toyota and VW have increased their prices. Does not matter now whether a car is CKD or CBU. What matters now is where is Najib’s promise and how can a mere E class can cost half a million. This car is only US$50,000 (CBU) but sold here 4x the price.

• Powerful le…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:33 pm

I don’t think BMW officially brings in the 535i anymore, since the Activehybrid 5 is more powerful, and has more stuff, at a cheaper price.

But this Merc. Looks very well finished. Somehow this generation facelift E class has to be seen in the metal. Pictures don’t do it justice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • The finishing is only suitable for old people. Those fake wood finishing, yuck!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
      • AcerMan on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:53 am

Yuck because you can’t even afford those so called fake wood finishing? Ptui! Haha

• You don’t know me. Can’t tell I cannot afford those car full of fake finishing materials

• wick3dbox on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:25 am

You wont find anything fake about Mercedes Benz, even the chrome bits are aluminium. Please dont spread false information on the internet for others. Restrain your fingers from typing if you dont know. Thanks.

• bryan on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:45 pm

Test-drove this car earlier this morning. Wow! The acceleration is just amazing! And the noise that it makes while doing just that… is music to my ears. PERFECT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • Still have noise? Then this is not luxury cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
      • wickebox on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:58 am

That is a typical cliche of taking words out of context. What he meant was the engine’s V6 growl, which is music to most peoples ears. It is unsafe to filter out 100% noise on any cars, be it luxury or not. If you dont appreciate V6’s engine then why are you even here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Growling because its engine is underpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
          • Lol, an engine produced 333 hp and 480 Nm of torque, 0-100 in 5 sec deem as underpowered? Then most of malaysia cars are bicycle d.

You acted like a kid, say whatever unreasonable stuff without using Your brain just to win in an argument. Kid!

• motorhead on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Power.. Sporty.. Fast.. & can fit 5 person comfortably… All in one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • If 7 people , put 2 of them in the boot

• leitbe on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:25 pm

Joke of the day! Half million car still cannot ferry 7 people!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • wickedbox on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:15 am

Then are you saying the joke is on ferrari, lambo, porsche and all the cars that are worth more than half a mil that can only ferry 2 people?
          I’d say the joke is on you to make silly comments.

• leitbe on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:21 pm

That’s different, sport cars always ferry 2 people.
            This is pathetic and luxury car wannabe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Works if your name is Tony… Tony Soprano.

• For half mill, rather get n unreg M5 4.4 turbo which most recond dealers advertising at +$500k fully nego.

• According to some BN Minister on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:20 pm

It just a car that for middle class in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
  • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:32 pm

We should buy 4 camry instead of this overpowered ah pek car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 84
    • MR.Cool on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:54 pm

pls go back to ur cave….MCH~!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Shame_Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Shame on you, Sam Loo. Yes, you can buy 3 to 4 Camry, but you will not get the luxury, comfort, powerful, handling, safety and many more of Conti car has. So, what’s the point to buy 4 pcs of junk when 1 conti can beat your lousy camry easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • SamLooHatesHimself on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:34 am

Yes, you can buy 4 Camry’s, but you will feel like you are driving a Honda cub, because all Japanese cars feel the same – boring! Zzzzzzz

• chinoy on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:48 pm

this new image targets the youth and for this price i’d rather get a GTR.not suitable for apek to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • Whut? The CLA is targeted for the younger gen but definitely not this one. E Class for the youth? r u high on weed? Tell me who’s the youth that can afford this and personally like it?
      go back home, ur drunk.

• I rather buy a cheap RM300 mountain bike than all cars. Our G keep sucking our money dry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
  • Sam Loo Ori on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:06 pm

Camry 2.5V beats this overpriced car anytime. Much better RV. An will never kwai tai like mercs. Looks more classy too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 69
    • Sam Loo vintage edition on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Camry vintage 4 speeder will smoke this mercs anytime. cause this car will broke down on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo vintage edition on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:41 pm

Camry will smoke this ah pek car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • Just Someone on Dec 01, 2013 at 2:27 am

I’m someone who have been reading the paultan blog but have never left any comment before. Let me guess… you own a Toyota Camry. In your other post, all you mentioned was Toyota better, better resell value. Have you even sat in a Mercedes or BMW before? The comfort level is of total different class all together. So if one can afford a supercar or BMW or Mercedes, that’s their choice. But your argument point is always about resell value. You are like telling me why I should buy the Panerai when Casio is a better watch, or why someone would buy a Hublot when Casio baby G is cheaper and last longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo Ori on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:50 am

Have you sat in a new camry 2.5v before? Its far more spacious and comfortable than merc e-class. Only S-class is as good as camry. But who gonna pay 800k for a car that is same as camry? After 1 year your car will be worth 400k only and i will see that hailat face again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • teamsleepnine on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:45 pm

you know that the current camry not even anywhere near w220 12-13 y/o s class in term of everything.so let alone w221….forget w222 maybe…maybe in 10 years time the camry an come half close..yes half close as the w222 …and yes…10 years.

• teamwaketen on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:00 pm

In term of everything? Please specify, give examples don’t talk only.

• w220 got how many star in Euro NCAP Safety Rating? If 0 then its safety quality is below Viva.

• thedarkside on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:06 am

what the hell did i just read? comparing S class with a camry??????

• SamTheHaiLatYau on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Hey Sam, you know nothing but only RV. If the only reason you buy a car due to RV, then try be a dai lan ngong to sell your Hilux and Camry for 200k(yes, above the new price) and see which hai tao will buy from you. Just because you couldn’t afford a luxury car and so scare of loosing the money over year, it doesn’t mean that your Toyota is the best.

• Define different class? How you can tell comfort level is different. Care to explain?

• nobody on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Whoever that Sam are, I’m pretty sure he own a Merc or Bm .Just admit it Sam…

• andrewk on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:58 pm

Don’t feed the troll bro….

• Just Someone on Dec 01, 2013 at 2:34 am

Oh just so you know, I know what I’m talking about. I own a Mercedes E250 and a Toyota Camry. I am not saying that Toyota Camry is a bad car, just that your way of comparison is idiotic and you obviously have no idea what you are talking about, and have never sat in nor driven a Mercedes before, and you sound like you can’t afford a Mercedes so it is all sour-grape talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
      • maserattiShameLoo on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:17 am

Sam Loo sng his gxrbage sam hilux team sre only junior but old sales man from Toyota. They re only small immature old folks whre sam is driving 2.0e camry that he took 7 yrs 90% loan. They provide fake
        Info on RV since Toyota car sales is bad and got nothing to do at showrshowroom. They also good inthumb down yr comment. They are piece of junk junior sales man whi are sstruggling hard for their living. Forgive those sampah lah.

• AUSNSW on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:25 am

Last time test drive A-class….It was really powerful…It’s power look like a 2.0 camry..

• SamLooPungkokKasi on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Stop commenting abt Toyota in all de pages. Dont compare mercedes wit toyota. Toyota dont come near mercedes. U n ur blady toyota. Get a life scumbag.

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Toyota is known to have best RV. Benz is just nothing, may be you cant even afford a vios. Come to my showroom, I give you 20% discount when you trade in your junk kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • teamsleepnine on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:49 pm

if they care they don’t buy car…even if it’s toyota….mercedes is FUTURE OF AUTOMOBILE…what ever mercedes do in 10 years time you will found on other car makers like toyota.

• waken on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Nowadays they copy each others. Nothing is to be respectful or compliment here. The rear lamps of e keras look like old toyota SEG. So lame.

• SamLooPungkokKasi on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:27 am

Lame shit Toyota. Camry 2.5 where got RV. 1 year car already selling for 145k in mudah. New price 181k. Haha.. Go sell sushi 1st.. Who wants to buy ur sushi vios. Still using de same engine n gearbox frm de 1st generation.

• dugong on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:09 pm

You are wrong! 2013 camry 2.5v only asking for 145k. My neighbour nego and bought it for 137k. Less than 1 yr car drop almost 50k!!!

Scam Loo and his RV is nothing but a hoax!!

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:12 pm

You must be one hailat k5 owner who lost 70% of car price after one year. Serve you right.

• comparo on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:02 pm

Dont compare dont compare. Please explain why cannot compare. Dont just talk cock here. Give examples on why contis are much better than japs

• teamsleepnine on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:50 pm

now tell,if conti is not better then the maps…why japs always copying the germans?pffftttttttt…

• comparo on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:06 pm

Merc fanboy cannot answer my question lol.

What copy? Again, just fanboys talk cock. Fanboys only know to talk merc is good. Good what? In terms of what? How far good is that?

• dugong on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Maybe you should give examples why toyota is better than proton? Otherwise camry is just an overpriced perdana.

• Explain why cannot compare. Dun just say better handling, comfort erc but give examples. If nobody dares then merc is just overpriced camry

• Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:55 am

K5 owner with a permanent hailat face at work

If its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• See Zhanwei on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Thanks Yo Han!!!

• AUSNSW on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Really so love mercedes benz….argh….

• such power. v6. wow. so benz. such class. wow.

• Kai Leong on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:03 am

It is a good car. The price is not overly high too considering all the bell and whistle you get from the car. A lot of people like to take the car retail price from the US or UK sites to compare the price of foreign made cars sold in Malaysia. With the accessories the Malaysian dealers throw into the car, I have to say it is just rightly priced. Well, this sort of car put a smile on your face. Who cares about the resale value or what your friends said!

• zamer on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:47 am

this facelift model is a looker..i prefer 5 series previously but somehow the e class now takes away.

people who wants comfort and performance only will buy this car.. i am sure not everybody owns this car will thrash everyday. its just that they foresee when to use it for some fast driving

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:00 am

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia Sdn Bhd President and Chief Executive Officer, Roland S. Folger + Former finance minister Tun Daim Zainuddin would both probably add, “drop Open AP system if you want the cost of owning this car any cheaper!”

Well said!

http://www.bernama.com/bernama/v7/ge/newsgeneral.php?id=994694

• Unforgiven on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:29 am

Most may still go through Naza Brabus, paying cash possibly. 20/30 units of Brabus at Naza is gone/sold in a month (certain time). But I’m sure the real boss, those without corruptions will still choose this path, hopefully.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:10 am

i’m expecting a v8..damm it.

• benzc on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Not v12. DUH. Not powerful enough.

• teamsleepnine on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:54 pm

i don’t expect a v12 from e”400″ duh!!!!!
        you want power get amg la !!!!!or just slam a amy badge on e200 i heard you get +200 from faking an amg duhhh!!

• paypal on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:50 pm

I a bit wonder why the rear seat entertainment is too thick? For all type of car. Really, a tablet was really thin compare to that and why they couldn’t hire a company like samsung or apple to make the entertaiment stuff…it will be much better

• ahmadfaris93 on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:58 pm

More powaaaaaaaa

• Damn, previously i took pride over my 3l 528i as it smokes most MB Eclass. However with this beast in the road, i may have to back off a lil bit. 0-100 in 5.3sec. Damn it takes a 550i to beat this.

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:00 pm

I doubt you own a bmw, toyota AE86 can smoke you till you look like hailat at your face.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • 550il on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Those cars are sucky in raining. Still have to slowdown somehow.

• On papar is 5.3sec, but no Ah Pek dare to floor it, so don’t talk about 528i, even a Camry 2.0 will beat any of this Ah Pek E400.
      But wait I don’t think Ah Pek want to buy this car, E 400 sounds like ‘Tentu mati sejuk sejuk’.

• Give us the pictar or it’s just in your dream!!!

• thedarkside on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:08 am

my fav merc at the moment. after the facelift this car looks wicked!!!

• bluebird on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:56 am

RM 494K = RM200k car price + RM294 government tax.
    Thank you gahmen.

• go test drive F10 535i and see …

• subtlesilver on Dec 02, 2013 at 1:59 pm

does anyone know if the e400 ckd is equipped with the new distronic plus? (the auto cruise control)? there is no mention in the spec sheet on cruise control at all..

• carfan on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:17 pm

There is quite a number of recond A7 with the twin turbo 3.0L engine around (400K). This new merc E400 with AMG clothes can affect their sales.

I wonder if the revised Eclass comes with all the new safety features of auto front collision, side warning, infra red night vision as shown on the Mercedes website?

• Sam Loo Ori on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Camry can smoke this car anytime. Why? Coz the benz will kwai tai after 5 mins on the road.
    Camry never ever breaks down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Just Bought one on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:48 am

Thanks for the article, I was going to buy a BMW 528 but heard about the E400 being released. I received a call on Sunday from the dealer and placed the order today. Can’t wait to get it. Never thought of a Camry doesn’t compare.

• Sam Loo on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:10 pm

Congratulation, you are getting a piece of junk with no RV. Be smart when you chose your car, what for getting a car with no RV. I cant wait to see your hailat face when you trade in your car to me. I will probably take 50% of the buying price after one year. In 3 years time, my camry has better RV in value. You are really bad in financial planning dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • Just Got ONe on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:18 am

Sam Loo, thank you for your comment, What you don’t understand is I wont be selling it. Obviously you are concerned about your RV on your Toyota as you have to sell it after a few years, my E400 will last and the enjoyment will not wear off. I must be bad at financial planning as I can afford to buy it and you cant, thanks for your advice.

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:07 pm

Like what I say, you will come to my junk car yard where your car will put in my Hilux after 1 year since it break down so often. With no RV, i may not give you any good price.

• kaya loo on Jan 22, 2014 at 12:34 am

Haiyaaa… who cares RV . We are people who enjoy driving good cars. We make tons of money from other things so don’t bother RV

• DatukMB on Feb 10, 2014 at 12:53 pm

RV? What about the prestige of being seen owning and driving an E250/E400? I admit the Camry is a reliable car, but it has the ‘construction supervisor’ image. The E400 makes head swing far more than any other cars on the road. The value of the E series lies in its prestige. Well, how to proof something as abstract as ‘prestige’?

By your head swing, when I drive pass you.