Proton Persona SV launched – from RM44,938

proton-persona-sv-launch 011

We’re at Proton’s Bola! Bola! Bola! Mega Test Drive Carnival, where the national carmaker has launched a new variant of the Proton Persona called the Proton Persona SV.

Following on from the well-selling Saga SV that was launched in June, the Proton Persona SV becomes the most affordable Persona variant (sitting below the RM47,534 Standard manual, solid) as well as the second-cheapest Proton model currently on sale.

It’s based on the Persona Elegance (the 2010-facelift model). ‘SV’ stands for ‘Super Value’, and to that end, the Proton Persona SV offers dual front airbags, front seat belt pre-tensioners, all-wheel disc brakes, ABS and EBD. However, there are no door visors, no fog lamps, no tailpipe finisher and the door mirrors are adjusted manually. The 15-inch rims wrapped in 195/60 series tyres carry on unchanged.

proton-persona-sv-launch 015

Engine’s the same 1.6 litre Campro IAFM twin-cam four-cylinder that develops 110 hp at 6,500 rpm and 148 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Suspension is handled by MacPherson struts up front and multi-links with stabilisers out back.

The Proton Persona SV comes with either a five-speed manual (RM44,938 solid, RM45,388 metallic) or a four-speed auto (RM47,938 solid, RM48,388 metallic). Prices are OTR with insurance for Peninsular Malaysia, and they include a two-year or 50,000-km manufacturer’s warranty.

There’s also an Easy Financing scheme that offers monthly repayments starting from RM388. You can have your Proton Persona SV in Solid White, Bronze Garnet, Tranquility Black, Genetic Silver, Fire Red, Chiffon Green or a new Atlantic Blue body colour (yes, the Suprima blue).

Proton targets monthly sales of 2,400 units, but COO Hisham Othman is confident the brand can sell more, citing the success of the Saga SV, which has received 42,000 bookings to date. Around half a million units of the Proton Persona have left the Tanjung Malim plant gates since the car’s 2007 introduction.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• I smell bashing on the way

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 196 Thumb down 18
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 489
      • Blind basher begone on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:45 pm

Hey wise guy, give us another car currently on sale with the same body size, same safety equipments (dual airbags, ABS, EBD) and price as this Persona SV. I bet you didn’t even read the article and just want to bash blindly. Who is more stupid then?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 356 Thumb down 32
        • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:37 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 303
          • And the Latio is how much when new?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 231 Thumb down 15
          • why the heck I wanna buy 5 yrs old secondhand car? Insurance will be an issue. Spareparts will be an issue. Who knows how the car was treated.

At least this SV is built fresh new.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 327 Thumb down 23
          • Bogdan on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:37 pm

LOL that super duper ugly latio??? 5 years old some more.. so funny.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 15
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:49 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 223
          • the invisible beast on Dec 06, 2013 at 4:34 pm

to mr. hilux, name me a car that is brand new for 45000 and has 2 airbags,abs and ebd. i know you’re probably one of those people that look down at poor people but considering that you drive a toyota, that doesn’t make you rich either. how would you feel when a 7-series pulls u beside you? its a budget car for people with a low income and students. IDIOT

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 4
      • ben yap on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:14 pm

previously Saga SV, now Persona SV. In future, Inspira SV, Preve SV, Neo SV, Exora SV and Suprima SSV!

Perodua can follow suit too…. Myvi UV (ultimate value), Viva UV and Alza UV.

For Toyota is Camry NV (No Value), Altis NV, Vios NV, Avanza NV and fortuner NV.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 327 Thumb down 22
        • JeremyNg on Dec 01, 2013 at 2:15 am

Neo SV already on sale ! Satria Neo 1.6 CPS standard , priced at 50k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Toyota RV always hit the highest among it’s rivalries – Honda, Nissan etc
          No RV or NV should be referred to KIA or Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 70
          • azrai on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:09 am

When you decide to buy a car, are your intention to use it or to sell it off?? If you want to fully make use of the car at least 12 years, there’s no ground to think about RV more. Even hire purchase took 9 years stints. What is more important and way more more important are the price of the car and maintenance cost.
            Do you really thinks the Japs RV is far higher than Proton? 4 years old G Livina RV is 63% while Exora RV is at 61%. 2% so high ma?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
        • ben, perodua already had their sv version much earlier than proton.. they had the s-series though proton got my vote for not compromising on the safety feature..

• A bengong comment. Buy malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
    • Hangit on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:23 am

The govt should apply new rules… Stated Proton & Perodua must come out with new model every 3 years. Old model like persona, saga ie model more then 3 years to be scrap.

Persona = 8 Tahun
      Saga = 7 tahun

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 26
      • Proton is not under gomen lor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 16
      • Jonathan Lee on Dec 01, 2013 at 5:42 pm

Uh huh.

So next year should BMW also scrap their F10 5 Series (four years old), E89 Z4 (five years old), F01 7 Series (five years old), X1 (five years old and X6 (six years old) from its lineup?

Seven years is the standard length of a car’s generation. This does make the Saga a little long in the tooth, but the next Proton “Global Small Car” supermini is coming next year so a saloon version should come swiftly after.

As for the Persona it’s already been replaced by the Prevé, so it’s really only there to pad the lower end of the company’s lineup as an affordable family saloon. It’s similar to what Renault did, selling the Mk 2 Clio as the Clio Campus alongside the third-generation Clio. That car was in production for 14 years, ending just last year.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
      • Celicazz on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:16 am

How mathematically stupid u must be to calculate:

Persona: 2013-2007=8 years,

Saga: 2013-2008=7 years?

My god, u must be retarded.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
      • phuwekkk on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Hey hangit, looks like your math is also hangit ma.. the new saga was launched in 2008. so 2013 minus 2008 is equal to 5. that means this saga is only 5 years old ma..ish3..

• darkermarker on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:36 pm

I smell you are instigating…..

• OMG…normal activity for P1 did for old model car. It will only make the current persona owner feel dissapointed and the RV will drop further.

• Henry on Dec 02, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Anything to sell those cars. They have plenty of stock to move.

• lelong kampung on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:23 pm

mingu dpan suprm sv -$50, bru laku, bru org nk pikir bli.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 57
  • 1Msia on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:24 pm

Dual airbags..? Wahhh same as Toyota Previa..!
    Hahaha :p

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 228 Thumb down 5
    • Bro, you forgot to mention same four speed auto. It’s 6 Personas for the price of one Previa/Estima but i bet some diehard T fans will still say the Previa has better value.

Anyways, this SV represents good value for a sedan with good handling and refinement. Weak point is still the engine but its not exactly unreliable, only lacking some low down torque and need a little better FC but still wholely acceptable. Build quality niggles are pretty much all ironed out since this is already a 10 y/o platform. The stick shift is fun to drive as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 10
    • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Previa can fold down the seats and put the coffin you’ll be in, in it.

Persona is a coffin by itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 137
      • A stupid comment coming from a civil servant. Hmm, that sounds familiar and is all too often these days.

Mr policeman, the previa would be your hearst too because i dont think your latio can fit a coffin in it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 16
        • Bogdan on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:41 pm

i’m sure he is not a policeman.. u i’m sure is a stupidman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 11
      • Turbo_Ridera on Dec 25, 2013 at 11:54 pm

how the heck u are going to compare previa and persona.it’s not even in the same segment

• Pontiac on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:27 pm

TERIMA KASIH BN. JANJI DITEPATI. UNLIKE SAMY VELLU SAID JANJI DICAPATI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 128
    • diamjer on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:23 am

boleh tak org politik jangan menyebok dalam blog pasal kereta!

muntah aku…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
      • hahaha on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:51 am

hahaha..entahnya. ckp psl kete pown ada jgk org politik dtg menyelit. pelik haku!

• invec on Dec 11, 2013 at 6:54 pm

sampah politik dimana-mana… ignore je

• nice.. good value

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 15
    • The only reason only proton can provide such cars at such pricing is simply result of unfair taxation..

If the playing field was equal, we would be talking about polos and fiestas at such price points as well..

Good value? Rubbish!

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 110 Thumb down 153
      • proton is highly taxed too. some cars like vios is overpriced coz the difference of tax imposed between local and locally assembled cars more or less same.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 23
        • Green on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:05 am

How did you proof Proton car is high tax?

Taking Langkawi price as a reference?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 63
          • Proton and Perodua does NOT get excise duty/tax exemption in Langkawi/Labuan unlike other brands. Therefore their prices are about the same like other parts of Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 10
        • Green on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:08 pm

How did you proof proton car price is high taxed comparing to foreign car?

taking Langkawi price as judgement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 51
          • Please refer to Akta Kastam 1967 and 1976…the langkawi onli apply to sales tax, import tax n “import excise duty”..p1 oni get sales tax examption n still has to pay local excise tax.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
          • Green on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:24 am

alright, so there is still a high duty imposed on foreign car, causing them to be so expensive,
            leaving the poor affording local assembled car.

else,
            a vios/city RM60k at langkawi but RM85k at peninsular just doesnt make sense.

definitely i understand that, foreginer can reduce tax by setting up manufacturing plant, and even RnD centre to further having lower tax.

good example = Honda practicing, able to cut Honda Jazz by 25%.

but, here doesnt show that UMW Toyota is greedy. In fact i see Honda a more greedy 1, still reluctant to reduce City price, where this car is CKD in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
          • pirlo on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:54 am

kih kih. bashing without reading and any knowledge. same like macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
          • Based on ur figure…try calculate the tax…do u get the 75% excise + 10% sales tax?

• Bogdan on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:43 pm

the green macai.. anyhow, well done proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • pbw953 on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:54 pm

Waaa, Stan such a rubbish comment too. If you use other cars than proton better not to comment because it is utterly rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Tell where in ASEAN(minus brunei) u can find sedan with that price..below RM50k n has 2 airbag, power windows, radio/speaker, abs+ebd, 4 disc brake, 1.6l..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 10
        • Okay I answer..
          Persona SV..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 3
        • Hangit on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:14 am

Model dah nak masuk 8 tahun lagi mau keluar. teruk betul. lupus je. want new model to replace this persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 52
          • BadBET on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:55 am

Preve & SS is the new model, or do you have trouble financing it? than the Persona SV is suitable for you.
            Malay proverb say “ukur baju di badan sendiri”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
          • ferry on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:35 am

Why not as it’s going cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Hero86 on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:11 pm

like u will buy it.. duh..

• bla bla bla on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:22 pm

Enough already with tax shit! If u like it you buy, if not shut the f#@k up!. Stop bashing already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Ding Dong on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 258
      • how about new vios which still uses recycled decade engine? it’s much more defunct with ah beng skin, not to mention overpriced.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 14
        • I rather take Toyota decade engine then a
          under powered yet makan minyak yet not reliable 21st century proton engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 145
          • paypal on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:47 pm

11k/litre is so jimat minyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
          • Take those decade engine running in KL or Bangkok or Jakarta and the FC is sucky too, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
        • Hangit on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:15 am

at least hide under new makeup.. proton??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
          • Compare saga with vios. On saga there is , new drivetrain CVT, facelifted front and rear, dual airbags, audio control on steering etc. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
        • mickey on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:38 pm

why do u have to change the engine when it is still good in fc and power?

• pbw953 on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Aiyaa Ding Dong, u not journalist maa. So shut up laaa. Journalist must find news to cover and then write up about it. If not so little news, unlike you ding dong here ding dong ting tong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
      • Paultan is Malaysian automotive site
        Proton is Malaysian automotive brand.
        U feel me bro?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 9
      • pacifictuna on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:21 pm

Hey, bash any car but a good journalist’s work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • i could say paultan.org is briliant…p1/p2/toy/gov give paultan massive traffic…massive traffic mean money/income to website..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • support u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • setiapaduka on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:37 pm

45-48K – ABS EBD+4 disc brake = Great job

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 16
    • Harris Murad on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Yes the model is outdated but nevertheless, it really is superb value; with the specs and all.
      Awesome PROTON, good job.
      Now focus on customer service!
      Thats the only way they can jaga the customers n rebuild people’s trust.

Go PROTON!:)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 13
      • powershot on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:09 pm

truthfully, proton aftersales service is not bad. if you know where to find the good ones, then you’re set.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 7
        • powershot on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:16 pm

good service centres. gotta do research on where are the good ones. for a peace of mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
        • Avoid authorize service centre!! Go straight to eon/edar sc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • Agreed. Proton Edar must improve, they represent Proton’s interests. Proton itself might be ok, but Proton Edar needs to buck up and stop taking customers for granted.

Also, I think the Persona looked the best when it first came out in 2007. The front bumper and grille were elegant, but the rear lights were weird. If I bought this Persona SV, first thing I’d do is to change the front bumper and grille to the 2007 version. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • catnium on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:44 pm

sure this persona SV got 4 disc brake, ABS+EBD or NOT??
        Why i check at proton web site only stated got dual airbag 2 disc brake and NO information about ABS+EBD???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
      • valeo on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:13 pm

Its looks like great value for the low price. However I can’t help but wonder why Proton did not introduce this SV model right from the very beginning. Were Proton cars overpriced or wrongly packaged in the first place? Anyway Proton is expecting good demand for its SV models but I hope this will not give them an excuse not to introduce new products every 2 – 3 years.

• bleukaizen on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:46 pm

great job, super value for 2 yrs warranty only!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
      • harris murad on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:58 pm

if only they can throw in 5 years warranty as well, fuuhhh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 30, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Good job..but the only letdown is the manual side mirrors adjuster..:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
      • BadBET on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:02 am

back in 2010 i buy a new car with electronic mirror adjuster, guess what happen then ; I only use it once or twice and 3 years later it still stay there untouched, so manual mirror adjuster it not a letdown. Maybe only will trouble people who share their car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Get this car and say goodbye to your social life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 67
      • funny on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:47 pm

Mr policeman, you think your latio is so high up the social ladder? i bet it will cause some giggles whenever you mention you are driving a Latio.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
        • Celicazz on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:09 am

U go talk to the common public, then say there’s a car named latio.

Probably, nobody will know its a Nissan.

It does not sells well isnt it?

• hmm.. not much difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 89
  • Mozilla Chrome on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Clearing stocks before the introduction of the new Proton B-segment?

Hmm..anyway..maybe we need Suprima SV as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • Netscape Navigator on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Honda City year end sale got RM8K (official discount) or RM10K (unofficial discount)!All stock must go before the arrival of 2014 New City.

• Wayangkulit on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Malaysian “car enthusiast” see 4 speed auto and no VSC they want jump from klcc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
  • dino years on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:46 pm

This might not be as good as a vios but then again, vios is certainly not two times better than a persona, as much as the UMW prices and Sam Loo think so…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 10
    • Foreign car is expensive due to Goverment high tax.

Blame government please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 72
      • if Kia can sell new Picanto with 6 airbags, many safety features and blablablabla at only RM50-60k, why UMW sell Vios tin kosong at RM70-80k?

You cannot blame only the govt. UMW is taking advantage of this situation by putting very high profit margins on their car pricing, knowing ppl will always blame govt about it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 25
        • 2 reason:
          a. you are a newbie in Paultan.org.
          b. you are weird BN supporter. if normal BN supporter also know our CBU car got more tax then local assembled car.

else,
          show me the reason:

A-segment = Viva, Hyundai i10, Suzuki Alto, Picanto.

all these car got wheelbase less then 2400mm.

Why Picanto is the MOST EXPENSIVE?
          RM60k for 1200cc?? with a wheelbase shorter then Viva, dont mention Myvi 1300SE at RM48k with 3 yearsf free service.

simple.. High Tax for foreign car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 69
          • 2 reasons oso:
            1) u r superoldie in Paultan.org
            2) u r weird PR supporter. If normal PR supporter oso can read that mim comparing SV with Vios which (mim said) overpriced. Plz read people comments many many times n not simply show ur support for PR ok…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 24
          • the price of picanto in thai is bet RM42-55k but thai spec has no airbag and abs…we get 6 airbag +++…not so much different but boleh spec more value since got all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
          • Hi dg. Let me tell u what I like about…

1. Government continuously building train, and even bullet train coming soon, as agreement ady done together with Singapore. With 4 station in Malaysia from KL to Singapore.
            2. Government using Japan Technology Precast method to construct high rise with time cut more then 50% of total time needed. It’s like able to mass production low cost high rise…

I am not a blind BN supporter nor a blind PR supporter though..

I think rationally.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 7
          • dino years on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:12 am

Sorry doesnt make sense.

Toyota previa 270k with same equipment as this proton SV. Oh even the fabric seats are identical LOL.

Honda Odsysey, all the way from Jepun ok, 240k (comes with all possible bells and whistles).

In short:
            When car companies decide they sell cheap, they can. When they decide they sell expensive, they still can, coz sadly most of my malaysian brothers still need more education in reading car specs, not blindly pick logos. Yes, govt has a lot of tax on cars, but not all that much. Certain brands are just taking advantage, pricing their cars ridiculously and dissing the govt in the process.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
          • Proton staff on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:07 am

CBU only 30% taxMFN countries have 10% import tax only. Most cars are from CEPT countries have 0%. CKD have 0% import tax as well. CKD has been define as local cars to give similar benefit like Proton in term of taxation because of NAP nature to give incentives towards local vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
          • digigi on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:46 am

If like that Vios should be priced 50k only.

• All models from proton will have SV !! on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:47 pm

Stupid junk SV for sale…looks like all their models will have SV..next will be preve SV ..killing the already crap resale value of the car owners who bought those models earlier & at higher specs/price !!!

Pity falls on all persona car owners who recently bought the 1.6 persona manual at rm48k & auto for rm 51k where both models come with 1 airbag & you paid so much higher to this SV junk which has 2 airbags, proton screwed them when buying the car & when selling the car with crap resale coz of this SV model !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 111
    • pomeer on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:50 pm

buy vios with good rv then, you can die in this death machine too. which one is more important, money or life? furthermore cars are never an investment

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 7
      • robin on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:54 pm

airbags = safety?
        i think chasis is important aspects who have to consider, i give u viva with 7 air bags, u will be sardine anyway…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
        • pomeer on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:22 pm

Where got viva with 7 airbags?
          If airbags are not important to safety why it should be there in the first place.

The chassis of the persona is not bad with that price by the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
    • dino years on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:14 am

sigh, give high price, ppl complain too high. make lower price, ppl complain RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
  • PE owner on Nov 30, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Then the my old proton persona lagi no value since the new wan so cheap….kena pakai til the day it koyak!!! Anyhow, i still feel persona is a car that value for money despite it resale price…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 3
  • Good price n specs… Eventhough dated chassis n design…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
  • imran on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Value for money.. all wheels disc brakes + abs. Great enough..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
    • catnium on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:53 pm

sure this persona SV got 4 disc brake, ABS+EBD or NOT??
      Why i check at proton web site only stated got dual airbag 2 disc brake and NO information about ABS+EBD???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Potong on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Relaunching the Gen2 again and again after 9 years of cycle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 43
    • dugong on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:27 pm

But at least the price is much lower now. 10k cheaper than when gen2 1st came out….while dugong relaunching again and again at higher price until now almost reaching 100k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Better value for money than myvi se

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
  • infinity on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:10 pm

Jonathan Tan, how much are the other persona variants?

• harris murad on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:01 am

infinity bro, now there are no other variant lagi dah. only the basic one if im not mistaken.

• Emmmm…I ok with those spec…but not ok with the trouble campro engine at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 38
  • Isn’t that was the price when personal was launch few years back?

• What??
    only 2 years/50,000km warranty.

This shows Proton reliabilty is lousy.
    no peace of mind. except a good body + some gimmick safety feature which dono working anot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 54
  • sudonano on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:21 pm

I don’t know, to laugh or to cry.

Thing is, the Persona is practically an obsolete model. It was launched in 2007, based on the 2004 Gen 2. That makes the platform underpinning it to be a good 10 years old.

In 10 years, they obviously would have covered the cost of designing and engineering it. But a more pressing issue, is the Persona’s safety. We all know that the older Protons are not as safe as the newer ones like the Preve.

If they really wanted to make an SV, why not go do a Preve SV. A Preve SV would make sense. It is still a new model. You know that the Preve is a much better Proton. And if people bought the Preve SV and are satisfied, won’t they not mind moving up to another Proton, instead?

But you cannot deny that at 50k, it comes smack at the Myvi SX/EZ. And that tin has no ABS. And it is a much smaller car.

So, while a good job for going after the Perodua, not so good job of the choice. A Preve SV at about 50 odd K would be even better.

And I think there is a typo, why is it 2 year 50000km warranty, not 5 years?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
    • Trying to do reverse psychology to bulls that the preve is good? Poodah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
      • sudonano on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:47 pm

Have you sat in a Persona and sat in a Preve right after that? The Persona feels really dreary. At least the Preve is not half as bad.

You can go on with your Persona SV, I’d rather get a more recent Preve SV if it were me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:43 pm

How can they afford to give 5 years warranty when the car will only last for 2 years???

Yeah, how about a Lotus Evora SE at 50 odd K?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • fryer tuck on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:05 pm

the 5 year warranty is 2+3 warranty where the 3 years is paid to insurance company to cover the extended warranty. for persona sv, pricing is low, so there’s no margin to cover extended warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
      • sudonano on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Funny, but if i am not mistaken the Saga SV came with 5 years warranty… It would be a pity that they give only 2 years, considering their past reliability records….

• Zenyu on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:25 pm

this was actually not bad at all. for 47k u get 4 disc breaks, ABS + EBD and also 2 airbags, and its not a small car as well

now compare that to a certain car from T brand….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • turboMax on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Now let’s see a proton inspira sv ..!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • fast5 on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:18 pm

Let’s make it 50k-60k with ABS + EBD + 4 airbags + 4 disc brake…
      inspira sv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Inspira SV on Dec 01, 2013 at 4:46 pm

If Inspira SV Rm 50k with ABS + EBD + 4 airbags + 4 disc brake… Is a Must buy!!!!!

• Not bad la for the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • CHSPJ on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Wonder how much the gsc will cost? Hopefully below than 40K.

• I love proton on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:39 pm

Dear Proton, why don’t you all launch a Proton Satrianeo SV

• doom of P2 on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:45 pm

The doom days for myvi n viva!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
    • mokhlisnor on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Viva maybe correct.. but u are wrong for myvi. even before, Persona price is lower than Myvi but Myvi sales sustained at 8k – 10k units a mth.. It was a doom day for Proton n thats why they were introducing Perosna SV coz they have a lot of CBU stock stranded at their Sijangkang yard ..

• Worth to buy than a dugong J-Spec… Congratz Proton.. (y)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • Matchy on Nov 30, 2013 at 1:47 pm

Confirm 2 years/50,000km warranty?

• Nazrul on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:06 pm

It has has rear fog lights but not in the front. Ahh well, still a damn good value for money anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Anonymous on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:13 pm

2year or 50k KM :O

• fenzo on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Proton should focus more on building affordable car like this. Thumb up for Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • I will call it SP…Super problem. Steering noise problem, brek disc wrap problem,IAFM problem, accelarator pedal vibrate problem,rubber door seal.multi function steering button problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 100
    • Ononimos on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:10 pm

I need to defy your statement there. I am one of the persona owner and I have never experience all the problems you have mentioned above. Perhaps, you are the one with a dirty heart problem. Go clean in up n stop spread lies mister. Ty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 14
      • Forgive him, bro. Spreading rumours and scaremongering are in the job descriptions of other brands (mainly P2) cyber troopers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 7
        • Ononi n carz. If u think i lying, why dont u check the item s that i have listed on forums? I and many other persona owners have similar experince. If u both have never experince such problems thats good for u both. Since u mention P2 , Their cars are better n after sales service is great. If there was a problem , those guys will get it done n will call back just to check if everything is ok. For the problems i had with persona, those guys will give excuse thats normal. U guys are obvoiuly are just infant to proton cars. Ur nightmare has not started so just keep dreaming boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 41
          • AntiP2 on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:10 pm

So u said perodua sell better cars? Nope:
            Myvi, warped disk, even after warranty claim. Power window switch prob after 1 year. Fuel smell in cabin. Lousy suspension. Everything rattles after few months.
            Kancil, 850 manual, belong to the wife, wiper motor konged just after 1 year warranty (Denso mind you), clutch have to be replace due to sticky shift, driveshaft after 2 years.
            Both is my experience with the so called better local car manufacturer.

• Thats because you dont even know the problems are there because proton sc told you memang macam itu. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • OWNER on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:21 pm

So sad i my car hv some of the problem he stated above. My front passenger door abd bonnet will leak when heavy rain (I’m not sure is the rubber problem or not), steering hv some noise while i turning it, and FC is scary…..

• PassingBy on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Honestly did u even sit in one b4? dont bash a car b4 u feel it. I been driving mine for 4 years n i face no problems at all. none of ur statement fits in a persona. sry its not a bad car bt just the brand u hate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
    • keefan on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Dei dei…..go get a scooter!

• Persona on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:13 pm

oh pls, i myself drive a persona everyday as my daily commute and i do experience all the problems that are stated by vnoz and i’m alrdy a soft driver. what annoys me most is the accelerator pedal starts to vibrate even when i hit 90km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 25
        • Yup, agree with u too. Has ur rear door seal fallen off yet? Those guys at ss used a double sided tape to do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
        • Same here. I own Persona Elegance for 3years.
          Changed 3 power window regulators, replaced engine head, replaced leaking radiator. Accelerator will vibrate at about 2000-2500rpm, I think it should be resonance problem. Steering will hv noise while turning at low speed, ie during parking or driving slowly in parking lot. Not a bad car, but I hv spent many Annual Leaves to claim warranty. My boss even ask me why I need to go to sc so many times as my car still consider new…
          This Persona SV will be the best car in this price range with all the basic safety features. Pls roll out Preve SV as well at 58k, I dont need the fancy body kits, drl, fog lamps, push start button, etc. I just want 6 airbags, abs, ebd, ba, esp and isofix.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
          • Green on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:14 pm

interesing person you are.

You have faced so many problem at your Persona Elegance, but still hoping to own another proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • Kuriboh on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:41 am

Do your hear it from your friend friends?…or do u really owned persona before?

• Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Feels shaky now. I need to start divert people attention from visiting this carnival and showrooms as this will harm my sales volume records.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • fenzo on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Next Preve SV please !! Preve fan will be glad. A lot of preve admirer in PT blog :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • mamamia on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm

soon there will be complain even persona have cheaper price

• azizi on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:37 pm

Wow..it is not juz sv..but with safety package..good job..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • shaqz on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm

Affordable for those in need of a sedan. Perhaps there will be an SV variant for every proton model later…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • bluebird on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm

kampung car for kampung folks at expensive price. People are FORCED to buy Potong because Gahmen jack up price of every other brands.
    Try playing on level field and we will see if you can still survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 68
    • again, you are paid to post same false thing again?
      the prices now are more or less same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
  • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Both kimchi and ponton owner will have hailat face when they sell their car at 50% of the buying price after 1 year. Bettet buy Toyota that has high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 74
    • but you don’t have chance to resell it because toyota car is your moving coffin!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
    • ur a freaking idiot who lives in a toyota bubble..u give human beings a bad name man..ur a disgrace seriously…ur other comments on other topics are pukable…n u probably look like a monkey to jus to rub some salt into the wound !

• bluebird on Nov 30, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Kampung people pronounce ‘Campro’ engine as ‘Campur’ engine. They pronounce ‘Savvy’ as ‘Sawi’. ‘Preve’ as ‘Pervert’. ‘BLM’ as ‘Bawak Laju Mati’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 61
    • Serve you right someone calling you stupid. So what, BMW is banyak masyuk worksyop, etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Moot point on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:32 pm

What’s your point? People also pronounce Viva as Biba, Hilux as Hailat, Alza as Acar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Good move from Proton. Next time, Proton should offer something similar like Preve SV with all the necessary safety equipments (4 air-bags, ABS, EBD, Traction Control, Electronic Stability Control (ESC)) as standard minus the whistles and bells (eg. GPS navigation, auto headlamps, auto retractable side mirrors) with lower price tag. I am sure this will boost up the sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • drCooper on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:01 pm

That goona kill preve sales, aint think proton want that..

• AdrianC on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:32 pm

then they should upgrade the specs for preve at the same time. upgrading all their products.

• donadoni on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:12 pm

decade old tech still sell like sam loo one. ripping your wallets like no body’s business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 32
  • nabill on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:13 pm

True meaning of Super Value….ok now lets see some bright guys comparing to some 90k cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:46 pm

How is this super value? When you have a fender bender and end up in hospital, who’s gonna bear the medical bill?

Avoid this trash. It is a trap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
      • powershot on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:24 pm

maybe you’re referring to alza or myvi. then it makes more sense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • All cars can be involved in accidents. That is the point for all the active and passive safety items, to avoid and to minimise injuries.

Having said that, ABS and ESC is more important than dual airbags as it can prevent collision from happening in the first place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • BrianXYZ on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:15 pm

You have to give credit to Proton this time. This is really value for money…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • fast5 on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:38 pm

G and cars company’s controlling the vehicles prices in this country…
      Let’s make the car prices like Thailand or Australia then set back the real prices…. then YOU will call “This is really value for money”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • Good value… A very suitable and proper car for young family who can’t afford imported car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • enthusiast nasional on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Another variant for beggars. daydreamers and rich wannabe can finally buy a car. indeed! more beggars driving persona sv. last time they were in saga sv. Beggars. always like cheap car like this persona sv. get a life beggars. nothing too woo driving this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 99
    • hbrush on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:02 pm

They might be living in a terace, richer than Vios driver who lives in a small flat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 1
  • LOGANATHAN on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:36 pm

EXCELLENT MODEL. THIS IS WHAT THE MALAYSIAN NEED. THANK U PROTON GREAT JOB

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 9
  • Goodluck on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:36 pm

2 years manufacturing warranty?? good luck to buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
  • LOGANATHAN on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:37 pm

EXCELLENT WHAT THE PROTON DID

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • albag on Nov 30, 2013 at 3:49 pm

super value indeed… durability and reliability issues come later…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Well done Proton. Now i can smoke the VW Golf & Polo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • Jayson on Nov 30, 2013 at 4:35 pm

Based on our govt automotive policy and our local automotive industry, have to really give proton a thumbs up for this really super value car. They even give sport rims instead of steel rims with cap, ABS EBD and two front airbags. I think no car will match this value.

Personally, I do not mind the persona. It is spacious enough for its segment, boot size reasonable, car doesn’t look that bad and I think it is one of proton’s achievement as well. Sadly they didnt really go beyond that after all.

Reliability wise, I was using my company’s Proton persona for 3 years. During that time, regular maintenance and preventive maintenance was done. NO ISSUES at all. Power window worked, car never breakdown, don’t feel the car “loose”. Probably a lucky batch but hopefully this comes with the same reliability AND HOPEFULLY we will see a Preve SV at about RM50k+++ ish price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 5
    • policeman on Nov 30, 2013 at 6:48 pm

What pathetic company you’re working in where the car is a Proton? Yuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 56
      • PassingBy on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:26 pm

at least the company has brains for choosing a reliable car instead of 4-5 year old german car which break down at the road side more n more often these days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
        • Good value???? how is a 7 year old car with pre historic design and the cheapest quality interior GOOD VALUE?
          this is to clear stock and sell to people who dont know anything about cars, even if you want a persona you can get a relatively new one for less than 30 grand on the second hand market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
          • where? where 30 grand?
            you talk cock

• You can’t find a “relatively new” secondhand Persona with 4 disc brakes. The last Persona model that has 4 disc brakes is the “high-line” model, which already discontinued a long time ago.

• PassingBy on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:41 pm

not good enough judging from our money value n the competitors? try find a NEW car with all those spec. try find one. u r comparing 48k on a daily use NEW car not a brand or a design.

• dino years on Dec 02, 2013 at 12:04 am

and the vios, with three facelifts at 90k, is good value. the sarcasm just kills me.

• since the launch of the SVs, sure the car accessories shop make a lot of money by selling fog lamps. lol
    nice specs for the price even tho i kinda hoping for the cruise control to be maintained as well..sad

• I like this photo!

• you can put waranty for 10years….as long as its 50k km… what a rip off…

• victortan on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:10 pm

I like Proton but I hate the SV models…
    It’s just wrong to progress such way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • I feel you bro. I would prefer if Proton were to move away from the ‘cheap and affordable’ image too, but that would be suicide right now.

Proton is still considered a loss-making company in Malaysia, their number one priority is to generate sustainable profits. Selling value-for-money versions of existing models is one such way. Building new and more competitive cars is another, but this takes money and time. Last but not least, is the ‘cool factor’ or brand image. This one takes more than just time and money, this one is up to the customers to decide.

First thing’s first I guess.

• presna on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:13 pm

no offense guys but P1 should realize the facts, it needs volume sales, and abroad (with exceptions for certain models in Australia, like the jumpback and persona) P1 has almost zero ‘visibility’ amongst car buyers…

think it would serve P1 better to capture the local market by offering better pricing for the same specs found in competitors…

• grown up proton..: (
    this car outdated already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • First we have
    Base Line – Medium Line – High Line – SE

Persona Elegance
    Base Line – Medium Line – High Line

after Preve come out

Standard Manual – Standard Auto

then SV Manual,SV Auto…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • budlee on Nov 30, 2013 at 7:24 pm

whoa!

a full size sedan with dual airbags, abs and ebd for less then 50k!

a basic car but with safety built in. congrats to proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • presna on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:29 pm

hey P1, hows about a proton satria neo sv??? that could be nice… :D

p.s. basically sell most of your models (bar inspira & suprima) as SV…. pretty sure everyone would be happy….

• Low Budget on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:42 pm

In that case, Proton should copy right the word ‘SV’ otherwise Perodua might copy ‘SV’ in the coming months.

• PROTON suckss on Nov 30, 2013 at 8:48 pm

WASTED MONEY TO INVEST ON PROTON !!!
    NO THX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
    • konned on Dec 01, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Buying car is never an investment, go for property instead.

• The proton cyber trooper is strong here. By proton cyber troopers, i mean BN cyber troopers. *gets ready for down votes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
    • Say Who? on Nov 30, 2013 at 11:03 pm

Supporting Proton doesn’t mean they are BN cybertroopers… you live in hallucination maybe…

oh! I forgot… you just have a very closed minded… :)

for me.. I love Proton…(yeah there were problematic sometimes)

BUT! I HATE MALAYSIAN Politic!
      I EVEN HATE the both Parties blind supporters!
      you know… It makes 30-40 years old fella look soooooo childish… grown up both sides politician on a keyboard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • pirlo on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:18 am

not necessary. supporting proton doesn’t mean supporting BN. in fact, lots of PR supporters working in proton. they know clearly how TG Maheleel did to proton directly.

• SayNoToProton on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:22 pm

Pathetic proton can only gain market share by decreasing the price,what super value??!!LOLL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
    • kobangang on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:34 pm

You want to buy overpriced things? That’s stupid

• Low Budget on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:39 pm

By the way, decreasing price is very good news for many of us who can only afford a certain amount of money. While you say Proton is pathetic, I would say Proton is God send.

• ex persona b-line on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:44 pm

I try to understand,
    I bought a Persona B-Line manual-metal grey for 48k on feb 2008
    I sold it last month for rm18.3k for an mpv
    Today proton launch a model with better accessories ie all disc brake,abs,ebd,air bag, which i dont have before..with a price almost the same on a basic model 5 years ago.how do they do it???last time full loan 9 years,48k,rate 3.99% i stil pay rm610/month..and now can get rm388/month..wow!!i should have wait this day 5 years ago!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • ex persona b-line on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:46 pm

Forgot to mention,alloy rim vs steel rim too…how do they manage to reduce the price

• pls dont condemm our own product kalau mau beli belilah kalau tak keep your mouth shut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Nov 30, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Kimchi and proton car RV is 50% after 1 year. Your face will look like hailat death fish when you sell this car after one year. Loser ok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
    • Macai must die!! on Dec 01, 2013 at 2:59 am

If you don’t condemn how you gonna progress the car industry!!
      If i have choices i will close Potong & bring down the car prices & this will help the rakyat save money!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • ickyuck on Nov 30, 2013 at 9:59 pm

i came here for the comments

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • This of course will kill the used car market..indirectly…what a move…

• aku tak faham betol dengan rakyat Malaysia ni. harga kereta turun salah, kekal salah. eh dah kalau turun tu, diam dah la. nak bash wat taik ape lagi? ade je tak puas hati. sial je. korang bash macam harga kereta tak boleh turun, dan takboleh tak turun. itu pun kalau faham la. yang duk bash tu, pakai kereta mahal kot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • chap ayam on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:08 pm

We nv ask the Potong price to reduce the price but to abolish the tax on car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Jonathan Lee on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:37 am

That’s impressive. Just shy of RM45k buys you a decently-sized 1.6-litre saloon with seat belt pre-tensioners, ABS, EBD, four-wheel disc brakes and four-wheel independent suspension. You could barely buy a Myvi with that amount of money, and that still couldn’t net you half the safety equipment.

This Super Value series of cars are starting to make a whole lot of good sense. This is far better than Perodua’s own supposedly value-added S-Series cars, which equates to simply putting an SE bodykit on a Myvi 1.3 Premium and calling it a day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • autodriver on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:51 am

Good value with such safety features given. This persona sv is comparable to previous persona high line. Proton reduce the price tremendously (1.6A is 10k cheaper) but only take out “small accessories”. I personally guess it is tax reduction because proton not capable to massive production to low down the cost of production to provide such attractive price. Btw we don’t need to care the tax, as soon as good value to consumer is more important.

Nevertheless, it is not all good news to all. It is not fair to those who bought:

1. persona B and M line few months ago.
    2. saga 1.6 FLX
    3. preve executive manual or CVT

To those who haven’t bought car, it is good news. To whom have bought, especially proton car may feel upset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • tessla on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:54 am

In some way, yes. But the time goes on. Those who bought it already passed the monthly installment for few months. They are nearer to finish it than those who buy it now.

Same with buying gadgets. If you keep procrastinating from buying because you afraid of being obsolete then you end up with nothing.

• autodriver on Dec 01, 2013 at 1:55 am

Negative impact – from saga sv to persona sv, proton has reduced the price to attract buyers. This action indicates proton may anytime extend the SV version to others such as preve, exora, preve or even a new suprima s. If I would like to buy a suprima s now, I will hold on and wait for the “sv” version. Otherwise I spend more for the same car when it launched “sv version” in future. Weird business strategy from Proton, create uncertainty to its customers and it is in dilemma situation.

• Ohhhh this came as a surprise for me, I was really expecting a Prevé SV ! As much as I’m disappointed, I’m just as happy to see another Proton SV model done right. Safety features are reasonable, about the same as a Vios or City, but the Persona is much, much bigger (C-segment). Also glad to see it comes with alloy wheels, looks so much more professional than the taxi hubcaps.

This car will sell like hotcakes, no doubt. I’m tempted to buy one myself…. but I want to wait for the Prevé Turbo with that sweet, sweet 6 speed manual…. :3

• bonbon on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:58 am

dekat negara2 maju pun kereta yang ada simple feature macam ni yang diorg offer kat market gak… 40k harga yg ok gak. kalau proton boleh offer 30k lagi mantap. mintak aa guna nama 1malaysia, mungkin bokeh dapat totally free NAP tax, only gst saja.

• pirlo on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:45 am

i support proton, but i am against the idea of using 1 malaysia in proton products. nothing to do with najib & rosmah co. in proton business plan.

• klguy on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:47 am

hmm, isn’t persona suppose to be discontinued after the launch of the mighty preve and suprima?

• autodriver on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:30 am

Persona still selling hotter than Preve now. It is hard for Proton to discontinue a hot selling model while the new model still unable to delivery volume after launching for few months to a year.

Proton may think of discontinue after launching Preve SV and Suprima S SV, price lower than 60k and yet remove some small accessories but retain all major equipment.

• such SV. so lambo. very cool. so win. wow. proton. wow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Proton Staff on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:12 am

We are doing stock clearance, just like how we did at Saga LMST RM28k last time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • mokhlisnor on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Saga LMST is not a car. It is a scrap car. what a crap r u selling (20 yrs car of age).

• they should call all SV model as
    SVC = Stock Vehicle Clearance
    Definition= cheap version due to unsold, tak laku

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • NonMalaysian on Dec 01, 2013 at 9:25 am

Omg.. not again…..what happened to Malaysian cars producers they cant sell it so just change few things and put on sale again…cheating buyers….

• granfia on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:24 pm

As if other producers don’t do the same!
      Bwahaha hahahahhah hahahahhahahaa

• Great low price cheaper than myvi even! But has anybody felt that the proportions & ergonomics of the backseat are just plain horrible? I sat in a persona taxi for a short trip once and it was totally intolerable!!!

• Sam Loo on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:49 am

Only Toyota has best RV. Thi car eventually need to potong after 2 years. Very low quality car for losxr only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
  • Let’s wait for preve SV or suprima SSV

• 2 years warantty? So what’s after 2 years?? Should make it like 3 or 5 years warranty.

• rickyll on Dec 01, 2013 at 12:54 pm

While the move to reduce car prices should be lauded, it would somehow backfire on the sale of Protons. For those who just bought the Saga or Persona as mentioned by “autodriver”, it’s certain left a bad taste in their mouths. For those who intend to buy a Preve, Suprima S or Exora, I am quite certain that they will hold back to wait for SV models. If Proton’s intention is to clear stocks, then there shouldn’t be a SV version in the first place, simply reduce the price as seasonal promotion is enough to get the job done.

• tiadaid on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:30 pm

If that’s the case then you can’t buy anything since the same thing would happen to any product – I got the exact same experience buying my old Honda City when they launched the VTEC model 3 months after I bought the DSI version

If you have bought the car before the launch, chalk it up to opportunity loss and move on.

• magpie on Dec 01, 2013 at 3:10 pm

Waiting for exora sv..

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 01, 2013 at 5:44 pm

You’re late man…. Exora Bold CFE Standard is the SV. Sells at RM69K compare to Premium at RM80K.

But it’s not a bad idea if the price is less than RM60K….

• am owning 2007 basic model. door handles broke few times. Alarm and central locking malfunction. worst is wet floor board after car wash or heavy rainfall.
    Power windows motor won’t last. two of rear doors replaced with OEM but still died after short time. All these happened from first year to 3rd year ownership.
    Highlighted to PROTON to no avail.Is Proton caring to recall failing parts?
    Not likely.

• Say Who? on Dec 01, 2013 at 5:42 pm

wow you must be the “malang type” proton user… while other praise about their proton… my symphaty goes to you… I think proton should treat the “malang” buyer more than other… should their make a program about this?…yes is my answer

• chap ayam on Dec 01, 2013 at 6:12 pm

why does Toyota will recall their cars if found defected and Potong never recall even those defects are well known?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • capitik on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:39 pm

LOL Potong never recall? Dey, go out from cave. Please read more.

• What malang? Proton memang macam itu punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • chapT on Dec 01, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Toyota got massive recalls worldwide. Toyota memang macam itu punya.

• kiogami on Dec 01, 2013 at 4:15 pm

RIP Paul Walker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • steven on Dec 01, 2013 at 5:02 pm

don try to cover for proton n produa…..malaysian car sales like XXXX.to higly taxed. all the tax money go to najib acc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • darkermarker on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:41 pm

sori proton.

Your cars are such dissapointment to my frens, my family members and myself.

Even your low price wont change anything now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • kimi's fan on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:44 pm

This is hurting current non-sv model owner
    and brand itself

• norman on Dec 01, 2013 at 7:56 pm

From the replies and comments i know many peoples loves this car,Period.Youwant cheap this is cheap.Japanese sell their Corolla Axio 1.5 to their own ppl around RM42k middle line without ins…Quite fair considered theres only 2 local brands here only.

• Amirul on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:05 pm

At this price range,Proton should put electric door mirrors as standard.I don’t mind losing some spec,but not electric door mirrors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • azrai on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:32 am

Did you know it is actually the side mirror and not power window? How many times do we actually adjusting our dise mirro in a day? In a week? In a month?

• Hero86 on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:26 pm

P1 can not satisfy all msian.. everyone got their own taste and requirement.. i think the safety issue bcos they wanna pass the ANCAP..

• Mamatwhyla on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Whenever i see Proton news, i can’t stop myself bashing it. This is because they shouldn’t exist in the 1st place and make our Malaysian life miserable all these years.

Whoever think this is good car and good value, go go buy because Malaysian always cepat lupa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
  • Bogdan on Dec 01, 2013 at 8:48 pm

i give thumbs up for proton for this Persona SV! the hell with all d -ve comments.. 3years old saga fl, 100k km over, superb condition, no problem at all.. good job proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
  • bigman on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:38 pm

bull shit…just rm1000-2000 difference between the standard version and the sv… just take out those accessories and add in 1 airbag.

• AdrianC on Dec 01, 2013 at 10:57 pm

Persona SV vs Myvi 1.3 SE
    http://www.perodua.com.my/ourcars/myvise-1-3/specifications
    myvi 1.3SE 44k with ABS EBD dual airbag too but with fog lamp, electric windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • 1.3 vs 1.6
      Are you high?

• Jonathan Lee on Dec 02, 2013 at 2:19 am

The Myvi SE is also far smaller, less powerful and only features one seat belt pre-tensioner for the driver, rear drum brakes and a torsion beam rear suspension instead of the independent multilinks of the Persona. You can keep your fog lamps and rear electric windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Fog lamps are not required for driving conditions in our country, except for runs to Genting Highland or hilly/mountainous area where there are fog/mist.. If you require your car to do these runs regularly, proton/myvi is not suited.

• I own a persona SE which i bought 2 years ago at 60K. This car have been giving me nightmare until now. Replace both rear absorber twice, brake giving “eeeeeee” sound and replaced new brake pad twice also under warranty. Driver side power window failure and replaced as well. And the worst thing is after 2 months i get the car, there is some rattle sound near passenger side door. Went back to SC and you know what the SA told me? “Ini bukan camry memang macam itu la tak boleh buat apa apa. Banyak persona dan saga pun macam tu i think is normal. Kalau tak boleh tahan boleh pi accesory shop pasang sound proof. I boleh recommend kedai bagi u”
    I was like WTF is this shit?!

And now proton launched this persona sv below 50k. I have no idea how am i going to sell my car next time. I still have 5 years loan tied up. Sigh. Guys, dont get blinded because of the price and fancy spec. YOU REALLY NEED TO RECONSIDER BEFORE YOU BUY ANY PROTON. Dont believe me? Bring any of ur proton and go to SC and told them u got sound here and there. They will tell u “ini biasa normal” :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • I feel u bro. Went to the same problem with those same comments. Im just about to sell my persona h line, many car sales man are asking so low. I just want to get rid of it because of the never ending problem with it. Proton are obviously not bother about customer care relationship.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • embun on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:58 am

I also have persona elegance, but only 1 airbag? demm.. also no esc abs. and now they’re selling lower price.

• forrestcat on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:47 am

Im actually a safety conscious person and I am glad that this car is available.

I was put out by the previous basic Persona model which dont even have abs and ebd but cost RM50k.Meanwhile the Saga and Myvi was too small plus I dont like the looks. The Persona despite its age is still a reasonably OK looking car.

This car can threaten the 2nd hand car market for not only Protons but lso City and Vios cars that now swamp the 2nd hand car market priced higher thqn this Persona SV and in most casws lack EBD and pretensioner seat belt.

• zainal abidin on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:58 am

This is truly SUPER VALUE,especially the 4 discs brakes. There is truly life left in the PERSONA,who knows maybe even be a ‘RACING SPORT’ manual or auto version with the reliable but under utilized CPS engine to come.

• farizY on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:42 am

So let me get this straight, a bare minimum Persona SV in Malaysia cost RM47,534.00,
    while a fully equipped Persona selling in UAE cost RM40,295.75?
    http://www.protoncars.ae/models/Persona/specification.aspx or google search “proton uae”.
    So exported fully equipped Persona is cheaper than dalam negara? Nice one Proton, thanks government. Kita sudah kena tipu.
    Remove AP, remove protection policy and PROTON; get a technical partner. Baru real persaingan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Celicazz on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Here’s a fact. UAE is tax free.

So, that 7k u r talking is probably the tax

• ppitcrew on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:44 am

Memang SUPER VALUE, Proton Untung, Rakyat pun untung..Good Job Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:56 am

THis car no RV ok ! both proton and limchi are only for low grade people. Spend a bit more to buy Japanese car and see it at higher RV. Buy vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • PassingBy on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:03 pm

that fugly vios??????? oh boy i wonder where your eyes grow.

• vroom vroom on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:41 am

someone make others expensive just so you think this is cheap. get it?

• Dato' Jack on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:01 am

if u really need a car and cant afford high monthly repayment commitment, this is best car for you and your family… either u single or married..

but u already have a car, and plan to change to new one and afford for higher monthly repayment than don’t waste ur time on reading those fella’s comment..

• azhar on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:41 am

almost like myvi 1.3 price..its a no brainer..this persona definitely has more value than myvi

• just wondering when suprima r3 or s.e will be launch

• enthusiast nationals on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:20 am

Buy people buy.. Flock the road & service centres.. it all means money and economy to the country & people..

• freaky nation on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:22 am

I hate bashers. Because of them, car prices plunge. I feel cheated now! If I knew this is coming, I would not buy my Persona ealier this year!

• Malaysia Mega Carnival Sales !!! Final Stocks Clearance…all units must go. Reliability will only last 2 years or 50 km whichever comes first.

• china also produce better spec car i a shorter time…. wtf u doin for 30 yrs proton ?

• Then ask same question to T, N, H etc, where were they when they are only 30 years old? They created 5 star Euro NCAP rating? LOL

• BLT CLUB on Dec 02, 2013 at 1:34 pm

What’s the big deal? This is an old platform (similar to the 2013 Vios). Sure the price is attractive, but look at it hard. It’s an old design with a lousy interior. Most ppl will live with a car for 5 years, ask yourself, is that the interior you want to see and touch everyday? And only 2 years warranty? Come on Proton, BMW you ain’t!

This is just trying to beat a dead horse, RM45k for an old, old platform. We just think it’s super value because everything else out there seems overpriced. But the best way for Proton to move forward and to learn is for ppl to stop buying. Work a bit harder and get another make. Maybe, just maybe Proton will make a better car rather than launching marketing gimmicks.

• Commoner on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:06 pm

Why Sam Loo hates Kimchi and Plotong so much?

• smokder on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Because preve turbo and veloster turbo always smoke his hailat hilux and camry, lol

• aliş on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:47 pm

to all proton suckers…proton international sales 15000 units a year. Hyundai 4.500.000 ! i put some dots between the digits…so maybe you will realize the difference.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • whocares on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:49 pm

who cares? cheapest elantra comes with only 2 airbags. preve now has 6 airbags across the range.

hail proton!

• Celicazz on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:41 am

So?

Hyundai started in 1960’s, of course they sells big today. Wut the eff u r tryin to say?

• Jonathan James..i browse through proton edar web n saw the specs for persona sv. Why in the specs the brakes not same as reported here? The front uses disc but rear uses drum 8′..help please?

• daniel on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:36 am

If you complain why the overseas pricing for Proton is so much lower, Ajib will say we are subsidising your fuel, electricity, rice etcs, so where to get the money? Wait till we get slapped with 20% GST then we can really complain and Ajib has prepared for that. Proton will then either grown up and know how to complete or a real white dying elephant.

• Why Persona SV is 49k ++ with only 2 airbags and EBD only while the Preve with Super Value is giving 6 airbags + ESC, EBD and 5star ANCAP with CVT geartronic with just only 61k++.

What do you mean by SV….is slavery vechicle ! pls equip the car more to justify 49k++ !!

• nzain on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:46 am

arrghhh…i’m so stressful seeing this SV…i’d purchased persona basic with same price of SV but got nothing..out of sudden the new personaSV has good safety features than basic persona

• is it some kind of joke? or market strategy? or mistake in updating the website? Persona SV with dual SRS airbag while Persona Standard with only a single airbag???

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/en/Models/Persona/Model%20Pricing%20and%20Specification%20Page.aspx#PRICING & SPECS

• Don’t buy Persona Elegance. Simple

• Hadi Hakim on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:58 am

Well Jabb,its easy for you to say, but for some who already bought Persona Elegance and to deal with this sort of lie and deceit marketing from Proton, its totally unacceptable bro

• niaulong on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:31 pm

So….This come out and my 2005 Gen.2 RV should be selling at 10K?

• Celicazz on Dec 04, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Cud be.

Cars were never an investment, u know.

This is what the current owner of cars have to suffer when demand of cheaper cars increases.

Manufacturers are not entitled to the responsibility of their cars’ RV. Thats just rubbish.

Thats what happen in UK and US, cars are cheap, more outrageous so the used one.

• candy on Dec 04, 2013 at 8:06 pm

1st of all, why so many people here keep gvg negative comments on persona sv and all proton products?

Yes this car might not good enough for some of you. People buying this so called ‘super value’ doesnt necessary dont hv money. Some might just prefer being low profile, dont want to spent much. Dont forget, in this country we also hv those with low income earner. With the increasing price in everything, lu ingat itu duit jatuh dari langit ka? With this range of price, yet offer some good functions, lower monthly installmnt, definitely might not suit lu org yg byk duit. Go away, buy those imported cars. So, why dont u just keep silent, because those buying cars from proton, are using their own money ya.

I dont drive proton because i am honda lover btw. I just dont like people underestimate those who cant afford to buy imported cars.

• mokhlisnor on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:19 am

Hello Proton?.. Proton Persona already 7-8 years now. It suppose to phase out by now. Dont be like your old saga where you run the production for 20 yrs (86-2006).. end like crap

• Celicazz on Dec 05, 2013 at 7:56 am

Dude, the car already replaced by preve at top end of the range.

This car can still sell, why not sell it? There are other manufacturers selling previous gen cars as low cost models too. Proton arent going to sell this 20 years. Maybe when it is finally phased out, it will be reppaced by top of the line B-segment, who knows?

Plus, who else selling at this equipment level throughout SEA???

• mokhlisnor on Dec 06, 2013 at 1:27 am

Dude, thats the problem with Proton. When they hv new model in line, they did not phase out the previous model coz the car still can sell. Thats what happen to old saga.

In manufacturing, the jig n die accuracy can last to 5 yrs. Thats why most japanese cars, their model introduction only 4-5 yrs.

Local manufacturer, Perodua Kelisa is the best example. Introduced in 2001 n phase out 2006 even thought the mkt still demanding at that time. I owned Kelisa 2003 n the value still RM18k – RM20k at the moment. Is there any Proton cars same age having a same value right now?

• Celicazz on Dec 06, 2013 at 6:11 am

Tools wear and tear depends on maintenance.

Honda, Toyota also did that, albeit they produced more, so, you r saying their tools of the 10 years old Vios engines are out of accuracy.

Kelisa was phased out due to economical problems. The tools might as well aged long enough since daihatsu made it long before Perodua assemble it. Plus, they invested in New plant for New engine to use and want to roll out Myvi.

I believe it is just non sense to have tools, jigs and die accuracy lifetime affect accuracy. Its depends on volume and maintenance.

• mokhlisnor on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Then u r wrong. I worked in the automotive company before. I am not talking about tools. I am talking about jig n die. Their lifespan is 5 years. Which model that Toyota and Honda prodeced more than 10years?

U are wrong again with Kelisa. It wasnt phase out due to economical prblms. If yes tell me what?. In fact, some sales dealers plead to Perodua to sustain Kelisa along with Viva. But the Perodua policy same as practised by Toyota, they hv to obey for only 5 yrs each model.

U are wrong again about Perodua new plant. They invested New Plant not to roll out Myvi but to roll out Viva. Myvi will maintained at old plant.

If you dont believe about accuracy, you can check body dimension of old Saga (after Iswara batch including LMST).

• Please explain to me why Perodua keep selling Myvi when its already 8 years?

• mokhlisnor on Dec 12, 2013 at 1:40 pm

The current Myvi is the new Full Model Change (FMC) introduced in 2011. By 2013 they will have facelift before phase out in 2015. It wasnt the same with old myvi only retain the name. Thats it should be when Honda introducing Old Civic with new Civic.

The japanese life cycle car like this, every 2-2.5 yrs facelift and every 4-5 yrs phase out n itroduction of FMC.

• You can’t say the same with Vios in Malaysia. They are basically the same car with only facelift from the first generation to the latest one. If it keep selling like hot cakes then Toyota will never bother to upgrade all the technology in Vios Malaysia.

• mokhlisnor on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Current Vios is totally FMC. Its totally different with old Vios. They only shared the same platform. Engine wise, they may upgrade frm the previous version.

• Persona is 6 years old. The life cycle (not running period) of normal is about 7/8 years. Still have 1 year to go.

• JK Thum on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:01 pm

OMG! I cannot believe what I’m reading. Isn’t persona supposed to have been replaced by preve? facepalm. truly hopeless

• Celicazz on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Kindly ask Renault why they sell Clio Campus alongside the New ones.

Ask also Indonesian Toyota why they sells Avanza alongside what we called the New Avanza (Avanza Veloz in Indonesia).

Do your study.

Every product has their marketing portfolio. After Preve had their ROI on Preve, for abt 2 years, then theyll rolls the new n basic one. Thats sales n marketing.

• ScrewTheRV on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Screw the RV. Everywhere I read is about Vios RV RV & RV. Is it Vios has no other better things worth mentioning ? lololol.. Most of us buy a car to drive, not to sell it after 1-year.

• Yes i also hate the idea of RV. But thinking of it, it is preserving your self asset value. In case one day you wish to change to a better car, your current RV is still good then you don’t need to fork out too much money…. or worst still if you suddenly need more money, then you can sell your car & not loose too much of your money that fast….

• S.Roma on Dec 05, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Dear sir,

wanna ask, is this car have the tech that they call HPF like saga SV that can get 3 stars NCAP?

• What a funny Malaysian ! I love you guys ! HAHAHA !

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:05 pm

This car got no RV. A car for people who fail in their life. Come trade in this car to my Hilux junk yard after one year, I give you 1 % extra for trade in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Savvy88 on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:04 pm

BMW’s RV is way more worst than Proton RV. is it make the owner of the BMW fail in their life?

How stupid to measure someone’s success by looking at their car’s RV.

• Bukapintubayartol on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Persona SV vs Saga FLX SE 1.6 CVT?
    the saga actually costs a thousand Ringgit more

• like digging their store for junk to sell again..
    first day I buy this car oredi got problem here n there..and when u join the forum..everyone knows about it..u juz have to send it back to sc and repair..lol.bumper loose not connected to headlamp..back seat problem,rubber finishing dried up,wiper oredi half rusty,iafm kong,water leakage into car,engine dam noisy-muz always upgrade software,bad fc,heavy pickup,door handle paint all scratches,cheap quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • catnium on Dec 08, 2013 at 11:12 am

All car (Proton, Toyota, Honda, Perodua, …) have good RV by the time you place order (Told by salesman) but when few years later you sell or trade in your car there will be NO or LOW RV (also told by the same salesman). so, buying car RV mean nothing

• ender's game on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:35 am

Hi, Jonathan,sure this persona come with ABS + EBD
    and 4 disc brake ?
    I ask because proton website didnt provide info on ABS + EBD and stated that the brakes are 2 front disc brake only. The rear brakes are drum.

• Hadi Hakim on Dec 09, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Hmm,so Proton have launched the Persona SV which is equipped with all wheel disc brakes and also ABS+EBD, though minus some other things such as safety kit,security etching,coil carpet,door visor, etc compared to more expensive Persona Elegance. What baffles me though how come the more expensive Elegance don’t have the safety features of ABS+EBD while having only rear brake drums, compared to the Persona SV. Commonly other car manufacturers will offer a better spec car for the more expensive car in the line-up while offering lesser spec for cheaper car. I feel cheated by the marketing exercise adopted by Proton. I pay much higher car (Elegance) but being deprived of safety features of ABS+EBD and rear brake disc which the cheaper Persona SV possess,i’ve been totally deceived..

• robert on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:30 pm

As proton user, I’m really frustrated with Proton with this kind marketing. For early customer, who bought this persona. for example if u buying the medium line at price tag 53K+ for auto tranny. but doesn’t equipped with all those safety features. its really not fair. then others issued is facing with no resale value after all. hopefully proton don’t overcome with this kind a trick in future. we don’t care if u produce just a common car. just remain a good quality since malaysians paying with their hard earn money.

• This kind of mentality stop every car maker to bring in better spec to our car market…. poor malaysian

• Moonwalker on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:10 pm

I want Suprima SV or new Perdana SV

• Lee Mei Leng on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:53 pm

Totally not happy and annoyed with the new Persona pricing and specs. I own a 2012 B-Line (M) persona, with no air bags, no sport rims, only front disc brakes and at a higher price. Owning this car was not pleasant at all, my car was found faulty few days after delivery. My gear box was having problem-waited 7 hours to get it fixed, my front disc brake warp, waited for hours for it to changed, power window got problem-another wait to get it fixed and lastly my engine check icon appeared which makes me panic and waited to get it fixed-reason engine check sensor faulty. Thought my engine was giving me problem. Wanted to trade in or sell it but is impossible because I bought it at a higher price for a B-Line. I also understand that the Government will soon implement a must to have air bags in all cars, but mine do not have one. This means I have to fork out money to fixed it and I doubt it will be cheap for me to do so outside, unless Government are willing to at least give us free installation of an air bag for buyers like me.

• Ploton on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Make good use of the warranty.

• Proton seem clearing existing stock such as BLM and Persona asap, both remark as SV. Estimate new Proton B Segment Global Small Car will be big impact to existing Proton B Segment Model (Big possibility won’t equipped with any campro engine)

• kopirait on Dec 25, 2013 at 8:08 pm

made in tanjung malim.
    look so ‘cheap’.

• preve sv coming??? on Jan 19, 2014 at 11:24 am

loan 40k. interest 3.5%. tenure 108months /9yrs. interest paid 12600. plus 45000. total paid to bank for this PERSONA SV is 57600.. SV… memang sv! add repair and maintenance and fuel.. still SV.. so 9 years pakai expect belanja around 85000 ok la still SV what????

• banyak tul permainan…dulu beli harga 48k..bulan2 rm508..pendahuluan 4k insuran n ntah ape2…airbag1 brek disc depan je..proton xnk pgl ke psg brek disc..kete 7bulan lepas…

• Light needed on Feb 05, 2014 at 1:59 am

Very obvious – clearing the high inventory / stock with SV promotion. Seems the persona real demand is very far behind the sales forecast.
    Pro – cheaper persona with equipements + safety (otherwise how to sale? and catch up the high inventory of products and raw materials?
    con – next time people will not buy the standard product but wait for your SV. It hurt your integrity. As we will no believe that you offer the SV for the sake of the people. Otherwise you should have done this in the standrad package to benefit the rakyat.
    Try work toward without the protection of unfair policy. This is the only way you could earn the real respect (not blind support). Be strong to make the ordinary thing better and later perfect and can be pround of.

• Light needed on Feb 05, 2014 at 2:08 am

This could be stock clearing (both products and raw material (contracted) high inventory)
    Pro – Rakyat get cheaper equipment and safety features with the SV
    Con – Rakyat wont trust proton (integrity issue) may always awaiting the SV in future.
    It will hurts proton’s integrity further.
    Be strong and firm for the basic. Work toward the environment that without protection. Like a kid that can be independantly live without the protection from the parent. You won’t know how far you go until you has been tested by the real fire. Do this gradually from the very small parts. Sikit-sikit integrity (include service) lama-lama akan jadi bukit of trust and respect of 1 Malaysia’s Malaysian

• Omar Anak Jikau on Jun 26, 2019 at 11:27 am

Proton Persona SV was not done and procude and inspected thoroughly. Why i mean this because buyers whoes own this car which was made in 2014 has it own major problem with it 4doors leaked when rainng while parked, unmove. I bought my SV Persona in miri dealer branch, i make my complaint on the thus matter . Everytime after heavy rain dispite all mirrors door was checked and cornfirmed closed properly, still my car get heavy wet on my carpert and smell mushsy. Never gave a chance to get it done by the appointed workshop due to always a long waiting cue.

What i and those who are having the same verhicle having the same problem grant a special treatment CARE foc to get this fix, because this is a brand new vehicle came out with such problem in first place shouldnt be happen as proton run many many years of experienced in producing . I need to hear a positive answer as we all already grumbled sucrified many years since we bought it till today. Those who resposible for this model Can read others comments and take your resposibility to clean up this mess. Please fixed this vehicle to all buyers having this kind of leaked problem.