Proton Preve – entire range now with ESC, six airbags

DSC_0167b3

The Proton Preve sold in Malaysia is now equipped with six airbags and electronic stability control (ESC) across the entire model range. When it was launched in April last year, only the CamPro CFE-equipped Preve 1.6 Premium CVT came with ESC, though it only had four airbags then – the CamPro IAFM+ versions, namely the 1.6 Executive CVT and 1.6 MT Executive, had two airbags and no ESC.

Back in October this year, the Preve LE was introduced in the country – the limited edition RM79,688 variant was the first Preve to feature the full complement of six airbags as seen on the Australian-market Preve, which has a five-star ANCAP safety rating.

Now, the complete range has been brought up to a similar ANCAP-certification level, following the introduction of new stock. It has all been done quietly, because all there is to shout the fact is the revised specification sheet for the car found on the Proton Edar website. A check with company sources confirms that the updated Preve is now on the market.

preve new safety specs

Click the image above to view full length Preve comparison equipment list

Safety-wise, all three Preve variants – Premium, Executive and MT Executive – now feature front, side and curtain airbags, ESC, traction control, brake assist, ABS with EBD, Isofix mountings and top tether anchors as standard fitment.

The changes haven’t brought about any increase in pricing – if anything, the prices are marginally cheaper than when the car was introduced. The 1.6 Premium CVT at point of launch last year was RM72,990, and is now priced at RM72,839, while the 1.6 Executive CVT was RM62,990 when launched, and now goes for RM61,921.

The five-speed manual MT Executive, meanwhile, went for RM59,990 when the car was introduced, and is now listed at RM58,921 (all prices are on-the-road, with insurance).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kadajawi on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Why don’t they announce it with a big bang? Ad campaign? 5 star ANCAP rating for all new Preve, cause we care about you. Nope, silent update.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 233 Thumb down 16
    • kadajawa on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 419
      • Makan hati on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:20 pm

Haha, you can’t swallow that proton can offer all that and without price increases as well? Unlike your ‘dream’ jap cars that change bumpers and interior colour and still charge extra thousands. What a sore loser! Anyway, a good move from Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 375 Thumb down 18
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:47 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 384
          • azrai on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:49 am

When you decide to buy a car, are your intention to use it or to sell it off?? If you want to fully make use of the car at least 12 years, there’s no ground to think about RV more. Even hire purchase took 9 years stints. What is more important and way more more important are the price of the car and maintenance cost.
            Do you really thinks the Japs RV is far higher than Proton? 4 years old G Livina RV is 63% while Exora RV is at 61%. 2% so high ma?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
          • sharfox on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:54 am

Usually Proton buyers are lazy and do not want to work hard. Morning hours, they go minum teh 2 or 3 times before lunch. Each time minum teh is 30 minutes. “Sit down tok kok with buddies and talk about chics. Then in between go and work do little work. Lunch comes, go for 2 hours break. Afternoon session, stomach full and then half asleep doing work.” I bet U are one of those owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 115
          • Your father on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Another Joke from Shame loo, constantly give stupid bashing comments like this and tot everyone would buy it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
          • carguy on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:51 pm

so you are saying if A bought a full spec inspira (around 100k) and B bought a low spec vios (80k) and B is still richer than A?? Let me tell you what, a BMW owner will have the same thought of you too, they will think Toyota is for poor and lazy people that doesnt work hard, so they can’t afford a BMW. Use your brain to think before you speak.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 2
          • lolwut on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:11 pm

BMW and Mercedes driver must be god to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
          • Carnoisseur on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:16 pm

I dont think you can judge anyone by the car they drive . your judgement proves to me that you are a superficial moron , the kind any nation do not want even as an illegal immigrant . By the way , I do not own a proton nor do i see anything wrong with owning one . infact i think a thick skull like you can only comment but can’t afford any car . A lesson for you to learn …Dont judge the book by its cover , well that is if you understand the meaning of this sentence

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
          • poor people on Dec 04, 2013 at 4:42 pm

hw about.. i got 2 car.. toyota estima and proton preve?? that mean im lazy to??.. or.. that mean work hard or….??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
          • carenthusiast on Dec 09, 2013 at 3:31 am

Wow, this is the first time of my life! I never heard the proverb saying that, don’t judge the people by their cars. Really??? One of my friend is one of the best employees at his working place and guess what? He drives a PREVE. Some people still use PROTON even though they have exotic or luxurious cars, for daily use. Because of what? Fuel consumption, buddy. I’m sorry to say this, your comment look so wrong. Once said that, we can judge people from their writing or language. From my point about you, I bet you’re so dumb about cars. Read a lot maaa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • ScuderiaVincero on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:33 am

If you believe Toyotas are for the successful, your aspirations are pathetic.

• Kesian on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Tak ada org peduli yg kau kesah atau tak. Kamu tak kesah tapi masih masuk baca article ni dan comment? Memang dasar blind basher.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 211 Thumb down 11
      • BMW Fanboi on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:42 pm

tq BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 128
      • Lilian Chee on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:04 pm

at least better than toyota mios… 2 airbags + DRL hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 8
        • Mahai potong on Dec 06, 2013 at 3:24 pm

Idiot, you rather have 6 airbags that wouldn’t deployed than 2 airbags that can save your life? Go buy it…..mahai sohai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 60
      • if you don’t kesah, why respond?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Proton/DRB-HICOM is being modest.

They know smart Malaysians will greatly appreciate this MC update !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 186 Thumb down 9
      • Heskey on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Janji ditepati….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 53
      • aeromya55 on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:57 am

you mean they know “smart malaysians” willl greatly appreciate and kept licking their a55 then you are one of the “smart malaysians”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
      • Mahai Aero on Dec 06, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Idiot! update? they include 4 more “tesco” plastic bags in the car. Only “stupid” Malaysians will appreciate this shit and you are one of them. Congratulations, stupid asshole to make those cronies richer than yesterday. I feel pity for your family, because of you they become poorer than yesterday. Well done…idiot aero…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
        • LOL those airbags are supplied by the Autoliv to other brands too like Honda, BMW, go and say those airbags won’t deploy too. That’ll just show your stupidity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo Ori on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 297
      • carguy on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:57 pm

No one will ever dream to buy a Vios. It is not luxury and poor in quality. Funny that you said “Dream car vios” LOL. Dream car is a car that is special and not everyone can afford (Ferrari Lamborghini).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Vios Dugong on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:04 am

Vios? TRD? Come on la..back to reality here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Sam Loo fan on Dec 06, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Good say, Sam. I am always your loyal supporter here. potong junk will never sell well. Better buy more insurance than buying this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
      • Rizal on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:43 am

Vios ? You got to be kidding. That car is a crap, You won’t find Vios in Europe, Japan or States. Our Malaysian has been conned to buy Made in Thailand / Design for Asian ‘Toyota’ brand car.

• Will it makes any difference to the sales figure? As long it bears the cat logo, not many will buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 59
    • OMG…this not fair to current preve owner. Always belakang mari punya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • S.Roma on Dec 26, 2013 at 9:05 am

I agree with u, all this while they nvr mention about 5 star ncap when preve was introduced, stupid marketing style

• azrai on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:20 pm

Is it true? The Proton Edar website didn’t mention anything about this. Wow. Now the Preve is really a SV thing. Safety 1st.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 6
    • Best part, they didn’t even increase the price ! They REDUCED it !

If UMW Toyota/ ETCM Nissan / Honda MY, sure will be ” Plus +++ ” model, with a price hike.

Example; Toyota Camry ‘Precision’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 6
      • sudonano on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Shhh. Bad example la. Camry “Precision”, Toyota claimed they initially took off VSC for cost reasons, and increased the price over the outgoing model.

They added it and put an additional RM17.10. Guess too kedekut that they wanted to get a little bit more profit at the expense of lives.

But seriously Proton, I am impressed. Now, get a 6 speed auto and manual, dump the CVT and we may have a fantabulous buy here.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 0
        • hey Proton, if you you are real concern about safety. You should have put more airbags to other models Saga, Persona, Gen 2, Exora. Not just those poorly sold model can claim you concerned about Safety. If yes, do it like Volvo and announce loudly you want to be the safest car maker in Asia in next 5 years!
          Proton don’t increase price over the upgraded safety simply because the variants offered to Malaysian was highly over price compare to Australia to fool us poor Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 49
  • Increase in safety features but slight price reduction… hurrrmmm.. how is that even possible?
    whatever it is, kudos proton for setting the benchmark for safety features for cars in our market despite being entry level make.. keep up the good work and please continue improving the quality of your vehicle..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 245 Thumb down 4
    • Saiful on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Mari kita doakan dengan adanya ESC dengan 6 beg udara dapat mengandakan jualan Proton Preve. Inshallah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 232 Thumb down 12
    • Maybe proton already got their ‘balik modal’ of marketing cost during first lunching. Thus, they can reduce price for a current one because now everyone already knows Preve. Nice moves Proton.

• Until I see our beloved ministers and their cucu cici driving, not owning, but driving one everyday as their primary car… that will be the day Proton is a national pride therefore worth buying.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 15
    • Bryan on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Yeah, lead by example.
      If the ministers, parts suppliers, distributors etc. who made big money from the Proton project and their families do not drive Proton as their main car, but ask others to drive it because of national pride, what does that say about their sincerity.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 13
      • AutoFrenz on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:32 am

They did…the Perdana and Inspira…or have you forgotten….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • few times i saw Tun Daim Zainuddin drove a Waja to visit some shops in Melawati few years ago. Some people thought he was somewhat kedekut to drive only a Waja..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 4
    • Say Who? on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:47 am

Sultan Johor? Satria Neo? Ring…ring…?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
    • carguy on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:01 pm

You won’t see the prime minister in korea driving a Kia or Hyundai either. Even Obama didn’t use their own national car.

• johnhoo on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:10 am

Obama drives a Cadillac…, i.e., a GM product. A highly modified Cadillac that’s been custom built like a tank by GM.

That’s their national car lah. If Najib asks Proton to build his daily driver car, I’ll be the first in line to buy one. Maybe a Suprima S with bullet proofing?

• Samuel Tong on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Proton, you have made a great move, well done!
    UMW Toyota, please show me your sincerity to the Malaysians!
    We don’t wish to end up like Paul Walker.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 240 Thumb down 8
    • Bataman on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:29 pm

1000 airbags is not going to safe you when you car goes up in flames.

RIP Paul Walker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 86
      • kadajawi on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:13 pm

ESP might have prevented the Porsche from crashing though. (Driving at a more reasonable speed would have too though.)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 7
        • Enthu on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:16 pm

bro, are you implying that the Porsche didn’t have ESC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
          • they might switch it off before the accident occured

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
          • littlefire on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:42 pm

It can be turn off, some racer think ESP is turning the fun off.. But when emergency.. That’s it.. RIP..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
          • The Carrera GT only have traction control and no electronic stability control (ESC). The driver most likely overcooked the GT in a bend and lost control. The Carrera GT is not a forgiving car once you reach the limits of your driving skills. The sad thing: the accident probably won’t happen if Paul Walker was the one driving. He had good skills not only in F&F but in real world as well. R.I.P. Paul Walker. Gone but not forgotten.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 3
          • DonkeyKong on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:51 pm

They might have switched it off to enable the Porsche to drift. The Porsche oversteered into a corner and slameed into a tree and lamp post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
        • GrowUpPr**ks on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:15 pm

Hello Dumbasses, the Carrera GT is a homologation of a GT racer. Its a raw race car, without the frills. ESC and all the other safety gimmicks in production cars are not used. Instead roll bars and/or race seats and belts are used. So stop this nonsense about ESC. It is just a gimmick by Japanese car makers. Even with ESC, most people die in Japanese cars than any other car in the world. So enough with this low IQ talk about ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 26
          • GrowUpPr**ks on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:21 pm

By the way, even roll bars cant save you if your car burst into flames and you are caught inside. This is just an unfortunate incident. Nothing to do with the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
          • Wisdom on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:55 am

I’ve been saved, twice, in a car with esc.
            Hint: The thing really useful when it’s rain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • porkie on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:34 pm

I don’t think more airbags would have saved him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 15
      • i believe he was referring to ESC.
        i wonder how did the Porche lose control.
        mayb they switched off the ESC or they were speeding too fast…
        only god knows~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
      • I believe he was referring to ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • dude, too soon man. Do you like it if people poke fun of your death?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • they are sincere with u..
      thats why vios is still equipped with old engine mated to 4AT…. so u wont drive fast thinking ur car is a Porsche GT. kudos to Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 23
      • DonkeyKong on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Myvis come with new engine but 4AT, and that’s enough to make the losers who drive them think it’s a Veyron. Just look at how Myvis tailgate Volkswagens, BMWs and other better cars as if Mvis are actual hot hatches.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • amirad on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:53 am

Couldn’t agree more. My 75 yrs old dad drive a Myvi, an SE lagi tu. Very slow driver as expected for an old man. Once a while I would drive his myvi. I must say at 100 km/h the car feels ….well you guys know how it felt. I simply cannot imagine how a Myvi driven by a hot blooded young males especially, tailgate a GTi at 160 km/h. These guys surely have balls of adamantium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Isaac Tong on Dec 06, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Bro, time to wake up. Stop talking kok here. Come homelah.

• Good job Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 5
  • Tracks on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:22 pm

The inclusion of the additional airbags and ESC as standard items accross the Preve range is a most welcome move by Proton. Especially so when there was no price increase. Now, to see what others will comment on this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 3
  • Sirimusa on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I’m no fan of Proton generally, but BRAVO! Excellent move. Finally, in terms of safety, a Malaysian car is at the top of the pyramid.
    6 airbags, ESC, ABS, EBD and a 5 star crash test is excellent and better than many cars that cost 3 times more.
    Now, just improve quality and plastics Proton and you have a winner.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 244 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:54 pm

At the very least, just put back those soft-touch foam moulding on the dash surface, like what the Wira had. It would have made a big difference to the perceived interior quality of the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • John Tan on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Not just the built in quality. Improve(or change) the vibrant gearbox too! And the fc as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • awiebelang on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:25 pm

syabas proton! keep it up!
    have some improvement!
    wait for 6-manual variant..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 3
  • bluebird on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:34 pm

LOL to those who bought Potong Pervert few months ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 84
    • Don’t make fun of the early owners. They were willing to risk RM60-70k on an all new Proton with little reassurance.

Early Prevé owners (who bought theirs in mid 2012 – WWx no. plate) suffered the most because of reliability issues and whatnot. They deserve to be respected, because it was their comments and feedback which helped Proton improve and refine the Prevé as it stands today.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 252 Thumb down 5
      • Obviously on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:42 pm

You deserve a medal for defending the unsung heroes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 4
      • taikor on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Dammmit! Someone is cutting onions

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
      • in my opinion…it cannot be avoided since the preve was launched during transition between old to new management…if they want to change the spec to fast it is not fair to early buyer..at least a year or more better time..it is an update afterall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • you sir, and all the early owners of Preve deserve my like..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Preve is a good car for the price in malaysia…
    Proton have a massive task to further enhance it into an excellent one come facelift
    Gearbox , fuel consumption , interior quality fit n finish

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Good move on Proton. Next step is to improve the quality of your cars and your after sales network.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
  • tsunami potong on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 208
    • Ckp je lebih on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Sebab masih banyak pembeli kereta mcm kamu ni yg lebih pentingkan bodykit dan accesory dari keselamatan lah brand2 premium pun masih offer minimum 2 airbag dan takde ESC walaupun harga makin naik.

Kalau tak suka proton pun, sekurang-kurangnya dia org boleh equip safety sampai tahap mcm ni. Tanpa kenaikan harga lagi tu. Brand lain ada berani?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 4
      • bagus proton turun harga walaupun semua produk BN sudah naik atau otw naik harga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
        • proton don’t need to follow bn footstep because proton =/= bn.. proton belongs to us rakyat..

bravo proton for the spec upgrade with price downgrade..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • rickyll on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:39 pm

Well done. At least DRB Hicom has done something to accommodate the customers. Compare to the Waja 1.6 M I bought in 2001 which basically equipped with no safety features. Proton has certainly moved forward in the right direction. Though my experience with Waja still left some sour taste in my mouth, I would say this one is value for money. Any way, I would only consider buying another Proton if it comes out with a new generation and fuel efficient Campro engine.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
    • pumpkin76 on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:29 am

Ahhh….. your post brought back sweet memories of my 2001 Waja 1.6M too…. mine was WJN plate, with mitsu 4G18P engine….. you are right it had ZERO safety devices…. but I really missed the drive up to Genting….

• Abg Long on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:43 pm

WELL DONE PROTON!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
  • supra 1.5 trd on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:54 pm

vios owners says: “what airbags?”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 206 Thumb down 6
    • Vios owner will also say, more parts more breakdown, rather stick with my legendary 4 speed gearbox and as much less features as possible. Toyota the best.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 12
    • teamsleepnine on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:21 pm

vios owner say it’s engineering and build quality so good it doesn’t need tractions control and airbags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • alldisc on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:22 pm

vios owners also say they prefer ultra reliable but still modern technology, economy and most important is trusted after sales-service support network.

• Do we need any more proof that Proton listens to our comments and complaints ???

Remember in October 2012, the Prevé got 6 airbags in Australia ? Nobody was happy, myself included. But they took note, listened, and responded ! Meanwhile, UMW Toyota and ETCM Nissan can’t be bothered. Honda and Perodua are not much different.

This is pure people power at play. As a consumer, we must always exercise our consumer rights. We have made history today. Be proud my fellow countrymen !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:23 pm

Yes. Proton do acknowledge the feedback. Look at Suprima, their CVT3+ upgraded with better noise insulation and response. Safety spec is standard for domestic and export. And i remember they promise this will continue for future models as well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
      • Wah.. I think proton management read my comments.. *blushing.. haha

• arulkay on Dec 02, 2013 at 5:59 pm

sweeeet…..hope proton can equip preve with real n bright drl…..looking forward proton gsc next year hope it will BOOM inside out…..walawei….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • I’m no fan of proton at all but this time syabas and well done to proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 3
  • SgWay on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:03 pm

Bravo to Proton and DRB Hicom.

Thus is indeed a bold and visionary move.

It is indeed a paradign shiftnto Proton who not only aim to supply cheap but also safe cars.

The Preve IAFM will surely be a winner after this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • kancil merah on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:03 pm

good job proton..good job..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 1
  • really really pity those who bought the first batch without vsc.
    loyal supporter, buy earlier, this is what you get.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 28
  • ruffstuff on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:05 pm

I sense something in the upcoming NAP announcement. Suddenly, Proton cars are well equipped with safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
  • RoKie on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Wow. A full ***** ANCAP safety, C-segment sedan under RM60K. That is seriously a good deal.

Well done, Proton !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
  • Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:25 pm

Now…. all the October batch owner will regret. Surely pity them. But to DRB, it’s purely business.

Wait till early next year, more surprises to come…

To DRB, care to solve all your current customer complaints before somebody file a case at Consumer’s Tribunal. Truth do hurts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • Goyangkaki on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:26 pm

I really do not know what to say. Buying a proton in Malaysia is really a big investment risk. I am driving one myself as am not able to afford Japs or Conti cars. Bought one with such high price with almost no features to shout about, and now Proton is adding more things with drop in price. What will happen to the value of my car in the second car market. It will drop so much and yet still have to service the high loan. Really regret getting a proton. These people really dont know how to do business and care for the buyers. So inconsistent in business decision making and making the buyers susah only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 77
    • ruffstuff on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Weh, this already bargain lagi mau komplen? Ini belum lagi harga semua kereta turun. Lagi ramai complain with RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 10
    • buying a car will never be an investment la bro..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 3
    • banyakmulut on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:26 pm

wah this guy really mulut longkang.. we buying cars is not for investment, its just for transport only..u want rv better buy a house la then u go kerja naik beca

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • mizzuddin on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:40 pm

duduk diam2 kerja kuat sampai mampu pakai kereta idaman sudah laa bro…

jangan blame orang lain

mentaliti pun tak betul macam mana nak pakai kereta mahal?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:51 pm

You, sir, are quite selfish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • Say Who? on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:53 am

bagus…goyang la kaki tu lagi…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Macam bagus on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:30 pm

Excellent move. Better spec .. More cheaper. So bashers mahu bash apa lagi???

Congrats proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • whats with 6 airbags,esc,tc aa proton?such a waste..yu need to learn from toyota la just put 2 airbags and keyless start is enough..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 53
  • Chow 1 on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Better than vios with crappy safety features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
  • Proton Preve vs Vios = who die first!! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
  • Toyoda on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Now it is time for the government to enforce tighter safety regulation on new cars on sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
  • since proton can compete competitively, why don’t we remove the protection on our national cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
  • Try Harder Proton but good job for now !! on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:38 pm

Good move by proton by failed execution !!

Those who bought the preve earlier will be cursing I guess that’s why they did not announce and made a silent move to do it. Was this additional safety fit done in the factory or outside the proton bengkel ?? More questions and if it was not fitted in the factory …how sure this additional safety features will work as its not been tested and zero quality control on installation done ??

I can see they are trying but its not good when they don’t have a proper execution plan to do the changes needed !

Anyway yiipee for those new preve buyers …at least on paper you have good/class leading safety features for the car but whether it works or not, that’s another question hopefully nobody will encounter !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 68
    • Obviously on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:57 pm

You sound like you can see things without actually being there. Mind telling us when Proton will start using a new engine? And where the next meteorite will fall on earth?

Preve has been fitted with 6 airbags and ESP before. The Australian market Preve’s that are fitted with them are assembled in Malaysia. What makes you think they can’t produce the same cars for their own country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • lok 7 kid on Dec 09, 2013 at 3:55 am

How u know it work or not? dont ask me go and bang the wall to test the air bag… how u know other cars air bag work or not? dont tell me u go and bang the wall and prove it…

• SgWay on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:39 pm

The non CFE are now value for money car and the sales should improve.

Bravo to Proton and DRB Hicom for this bold move. Hope ESC will soon be standard in the Exora. In several years, Perodua will officially the national tin milo car.

I am sure UMW and other car makes will have to re-strategise theii business plans as Proton models out-spec their Jap mules.

I now believe that DRB Hicom is serious with its 500 000 cars per annum target. The GSC and the upcoming Perdana replacement will complete Proton range of cars and with high safety standards as it ethos and a range of new engines including petrol and hybrids, Proton can achieve what it plans to do under DRB stewardship.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 0
  • at last…..an entry model with ISOFix mount…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
  • _xXx_ on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:52 pm

still can’t impress me until you change the engine to an Jap engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 77
    • Still improvement on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:32 pm

At least, these small improvements shows that Proton do listens to customers’ and online opinions and more importantly are willing to execute changes. So far, there are no other carmakers offering this ‘more for the less price’ products, unless you count Perodua’s ‘percuma servis cukup, tak payah kurang harga’ offerings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Green on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:58 pm

If Proton gonna use Honda engine through the collaboration..

I am gonna buy a proton. For sure!
      be it Preve or Exora.

While poor people also not so worry to extend the loan length to 7 or 9 years to afford it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Syabas Proton. Now only we can say Proton has a real 5 star ancap car in the stable. Not when we had the earlier version which some “Proton” rep here commented and insisted it is 5 star ancap version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • nigga on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:56 pm

increasing safety features while reducing car prices. now thats not something we see everyday! kudos proton!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • Bryan on Dec 02, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Now, to work on design, reliability, good fuel consumption, good marketing, branding and great after sales service…. Then they might make it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • Bravo for proton for this great move

But… how bout existing owner? And 7k for suprima is not that worth anymore. . Just got drl.. 7in screen… leather seat… n bigger rim only.. should reduce price for suprima

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • thedarkside on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:02 am

some japanese car maker must have thought that air bags is some kind of plastic bag you use when shopping at tesco.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • Eric Chan on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Good Job ,but i just get a preve last three month …. 4 air bag…..do proton offer free upgrade ?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Sattian on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Not actually a fan of Proton (in fact a harsh critic) but i feel its moving in the right direction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • honda on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:16 pm

Previously i had bought two proton car. but now not proton fan. however i proud this malaysian car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Hw about leather seat, Day time running light and reverse camera for premium version?? With the new added feature,Premium version seem less attractive ady apart turbo egine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Exactly my thoughts bro.. Lots of people (me included) looked at the premium version is becoz of the esp n airbags. Now that every model in the range has em, paying extra juz for the turbo seems unattractive now. Either lower the price more, or fit more kits.. Juz my 2 cents. But still, gud move by proton. At least now u have ur customers in mind instead of juz making money.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:36 am

Preve Manual will be “Goreng Pisang Panas”. Just a small modification on the Exhaust System (Retro fit- MARCO) and Air Intake (RED LINE), you”ll be able to catchup with CFE power with lower FC.

I’ve experienced it with BLM 1.6M (Limited) But now,it’s safer.

• zen zack on Dec 02, 2013 at 7:36 pm

wow finally most comments are positive, Malaysian does care for safety features..Good job Proton, finally the spec that we deserve for..for the future develop a low fuel consumption direct injection engine and improve the CVT make it as quiet as the toyota CVT..U can do it Proton we Malaysian support u..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • Kalun on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:03 pm

Hey Paultan, Proton introduce a new colour called Soft Lilac.

I do some research and it abit of purplish colour.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Kalun, yes, we’ve mentioned it in our previous post (http://paultan.org/2013/10/21/proton-pandu-menang-contest-preve-le/) “The automaker also unveiled a brand new colour for the Preve last week. The shade, called Soft Lilac, is targeted towards female buyers, the company says.”

The car in the particular shade can be seen here: http://paultan.org/2013/10/21/proton-pandu-menang-contest-preve-le/proton-preve-soft-lilac/

• tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:40 pm

It looks like iridescent white, a really nice color i remember on satria neo and few other models. How is it different than iridescent white?

• Absolute Rider on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:12 pm

It’s good to hear that. However Proton, please improve your interior quality.

Plus improve your Suprima S with:
    1. Rear bumper with functional diffuser.
    2. Proton infotainment. Use good quality display model. Many people already complaint the current system is poor. 2014 Honda City even comes with 8 speakers if not mistaken.
    3. Fit and finish. With smaller gaps. But I think you need to redesign the interior. Gaps between the dash and door panel also wide.
    4. When is your new engines going to be ready?

Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • y do u keep copy n paste same comment over n over? u just make reading comment harder..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Absolute Rider on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Because this is serious matter. I want Proton guy read about it. Do you want them to improve or just ignore what I comment to them, the Proton?

• Fahmi on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Better late than never….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:16 pm

No matter what proton deed, it is still inferior to Toyota.Proton is subpar and not the same class to toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 70
  • Rahim Thamby Chik on Dec 02, 2013 at 8:40 pm

Now the only thing to really start sales moving would be for proton to change to the Petronas developed E-01 engine and it would be perfect. Proton Achilles heel is the campro engine + punch cvt gearbox

• My brain just cannot compute how a 60k sedan can have 6 airbags n ESC while a certain 270k mpv can get away with just 2 airbags n no ESC! How a certain company want to maximize their margin profit in expense of people safety is beyond belief..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • Mamatwhyla on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:27 pm

Stop the nonsense Proton, cepat tutup kedai …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 94
  • yes… wise move..safety first.. harga maintain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • Lim Kit bai on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Like this cannot die la with six airbag. VW airbag usually dont deploy when an accident happens

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • “VW airbag usually dont deploy when an accident happens”

Where you got this nonsense from?

• lok 7 kid on Dec 09, 2013 at 4:11 am

dont tell me u really go and bang the wall and test it =.=”

• Are there different names for ESC?

Yes. Some of the names that we know about in Australia are:

Electronic Stability Program (ESP) – Holden, HSV, Hyundai, Kia, Mercedes Benz, Jeep, Renault, Saab, Chrysler, Citroen, Peugeot, Ssangyong
    Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) – Ford, FPV, BMW, Mazda, Land Rover, Jaguar
    Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) – Suzuki, Toyota
    Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC)- Nissan, Subaru, Alfa Romeo
    Dynamic Stability And Traction Control (DSTC)- Volvo
    Electronic Stabilisation Program (ESP) – Audi, Volkswagen
    Active Stability Control (ASC) – Mitsubishi
    Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA)- Honda
    Vehicle Stability/Swerve Control (VSC) – Lexus
    Automatic Stability Control + Traction (ASC+T) – Mini
    Electronic Stability Programme (ESP) – Dodge, Skoda
    Maserati Stability Program (MSP)- Maserati
    Porsche Stability Management – Porsche
    Stability and Traction Control – Fiat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • The German “Elektronisches Stabilitäts Programm” was first, invented by Bosch (the inventor of ABS too).

• _xXx_ on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:53 am

Plz use national name, PKE (Program Kestabilan Elektronik). Haha… sounds gd rite…

• Roy Mustang on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:31 am

Proton Preve & Suprima uses BOSCH’s ESC, EBD, & ABS. Also the electronic accelerator pedal is from BOSCH too. Not using mechanical anymore.

• I must say this is a good move for proton even though i don’t like this brand. Hopefully the gov can tidwn up the safety regulations. With all car dealler will not take any advantages to earn more profit especially UM and ETC. If y any one of you are interested especially for japanese car you can search for baffa japan. See how much is the original price for th same brand that sold in malaysia and japan.

• Hmm.. hate to admit this… but… proton really did a good job lately….especially with the launch of persona sv, with the standard equipment it come with really wow me…

Good job proton… good job…

Inb4: CIA secretly plant a mind control device in bik mama’s hair… that explained why she never change her hair style…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Dec 02, 2013 at 9:58 pm

congratulations protons. please extend this features to others model.

• victortan on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:20 pm

freaking awesome!
    nice move, Proton.

• norman on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Bravo! Exora 4 stars,Preve and Suprima 5 stars so after this can cfe exora comewith esc 6 airbags,Rev cam with gps intergrated dvd as well?

• I thought we could get Rev Cam+gps+dvd in Exora Prime..or I’ve seen a wrong brochure

• Thank you Proton … now my Preve (early batch) RV even lower! … still got CVT noise, sound from driver seat and rear seat. Wind sound at door, without 6 abag etc.

Maybe if want to buy Proton next time need to wait 1 year, no 2 years after launch then get good car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Just A Nobody on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Wise move, though a bit late (salute to those earlier batch Prevé owners). Still, kudos to Proton for showing how they actually listens to the consumers feedbacks and complaints. Providing such safety specs throughout all the range without increase in price is simply outstanding! Hopefully Prevé will truely live up to its name in the hearts and souls of us Malaysians, and strongly prevail. Way to go Proton, way to go :)

• Bluesyworms on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Have they upgrade the cvt to vt3+ like suprima? Hope they will do similar upgrade to Exora soon, with hill hold assist plus puddle lamp.

• nabill on Dec 02, 2013 at 10:59 pm

thy finally understand…msians dont give a rat about handling n all dat…thy care about value and safety…bcos in their mind more airbags more safety even though thy drive around with awesome bold tyres…proton, jus go with the follow…

• wower on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:03 pm

I cannot give any comment, only want to

wwwwooooooooooowwwwwwww

wwwooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww

wwwwwwwooooooooooooowwwwwww!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Those eyeing suprima, better wait for the price drop

• holofanboi on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Wow proton, a wonderful step in the right direction! You guys have insurmountable odds stacked against you guys what with the global competition and all.

But its nice to see that under drbhicom, you guys are making progress!

A word of caution – you can’t stay with your engine tech any longer though…cmon now, one last push to regain Malaysian confidence!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Cinabeng on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:09 pm

I own proton as my first car and driving conti now…it served me well and keep up the good work..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Common on Dec 02, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Why Sam Loo hates Kimchi and Plotong so much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Hate is from love on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:17 am

There is an old saying: the more you hate someone, the more you love someone. Hate comes from love.

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:20 am

Impersonator at work

• Heard his first GF drive potong and lost her left leg coz no airbags. His 2nd GF crippled both leg when drive kimchi. His 3rd GF drive vios and still survie till now..

• Some people are bashing other makes such as toyota and honda for not introducing 6 airbags etc for selected models…pls understand that there are many other factors that make it difficult for them to introduce more features and bring in more models into the market. The market is controlled to protect the local manufacturers. so stop the bashing. If only there was no restriction..many lives would have been saved. I am referring to those killed in accidents involvinh local cars such as the Saga and what not. the Preve is a good effort desite the horrendous looking dashboard..but Proton still has a long way to go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
    • ruffstuff on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:30 am

It is not difficult for Kia, Hyundai, Peugeot to put safety equipment. But it’s difficult for Honda and Toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
      • BadBET on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:35 am

H & T know that their die hard fans will blame Proton for everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • thelonely on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:20 am

no toyota asked for exception from the government. nothing to do with protecting local market

• somebody on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:25 am

The Toyota Camry sold in USA has 10 air bags.
      Meanwhile in Malaysia ……..

The more people defend a brand even the less it’ll have to work to get your sales.

• victortan on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:21 am

BS, as ruffstuff said, other manufacturer can do, and therefore no excuse for the T and H brand.
      I was once ask Perodua how they can do better as the Kia Picanto, then they said pls compare the price/spare parts/space.
      They just don’t get it, it the safety features that matters.
      Now I gonna ask them again:
      Good morning, Perodua. Can you do better as what Proton do to the all range Preve?

• safety on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:33 am

The Toyota Camry sold in USA has 10 airbags.
      Meanwhile in Malaysia ………..

• “pls understand that there are many other factors that make it difficult for them to introduce more features and bring in more models into the market. The market is controlled to protect the local manufacturers.so stop the bashing. If only there was no restriction..”

what kind of bulls**t is this?! so now you’re blaming the policy for restricting top notch safety features from being offered by T & H badge on our local shore?!

if you really hated local brands so much and you want to dedicate your life to bash them til your last breath, by all means go ahead it’s your right but please get your facts right..

• Heng Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:00 pm

“pls understand that there are many other factors that make it difficult for them to introduce more features and bring in more models into the market. The market is controlled to protect the local manufacturers.”

Yes, there are several laws and regulations that prohibit Toyota from offering more than two airbags and more than four gears!

• Finally Proton has done something right.
    So many positive comments.
    Good job Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • Tanda2 nak kiamat.. bila ramai komen puji Proton.. haha (melawak je)

• fuzikawa on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:55 am

Dear proton,
    Please update your transmission (that punch cvt) and NVH, and preve is even much better!

• Happyguy on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:08 am

Good move proton… Good moveee…. Thumbs up

• cheebye, then how abt those who bought the preve with only 2 airbags???

Can I consider this as con??

• iluvproton on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:46 am

Those early preve owners banging wall now…

• Good job Proton!!!
    Finally you’ve made a wise move…I think maybe Proton could introduce 6 airbags and other safety features in Exora Bold/Prime too since it will carry more passengers and have higher COG than a car.

• clutch_plate on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:03 pm

And don’t forget to replace a hand brake to foot brake like Caldina or Alphard. It makes the Exora feel more premium. Just my 2 cents lah!

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:16 am

If its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a KIA, it can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • farizY on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:25 am

Pity those who already bought the car without these safety features; considering absolutely no price increase came with adding them on.
    Excellent improvement, but somehow looked like an after thought.

• Big year end sales…. lelong..lelong..lelong

• dear proton,

i want to see GSC next year to be specced just like preve LE and price it no more than RM50k. i think this is rational as the cheapest preve LE is only RM58K.

• jibby on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:55 am

proton, please make exora spec like this (ESC + 6 airbags + traction control) and u will get my money!!!

• Aerro on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:05 am

If still not laku, give free basikal lah! LOL

• Potong Saga best on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:22 am

Proton: Gua naik harga lu olang bising, gua turun haga lu olang pun bising! Apa lagi supporter Potong mau?

• wendy on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:48 am

im a vios user but i hate to admit i feel so empty driving this car..kinda envy with this new preve :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • why they can’t just put this during first launch and need to “secretly” update it only now?

Is it really T & H margin very high here and not Proton or Perodua? I don’t think so, Proton and Perodua margin equally high, as you can see now they can offer 6 airbags with reduce price! T & H and other car manufacturer price is high partly due to the tax (which is masuk pocket to some people), so I can’t imagine how much they really earn! they can actually do this (give all the best features from the start!) since 30 years back when proton was created! so you imagine how much they actually masuk pocket for 30 years (or maybe just some of the “Staff” in proton??) Of course if they really want to play fair, then abandon the tax system and compete (which i am pretty sure that they are working on this as since this days they are many spec update with reduce price going on across national make cars!)

think think think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • victortan on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Ya part of your comments are right.
      But you should show some gratefulness to this update. Proton did it while Perodua still offer lesser for a small car.

• spec during launch was decided by old management.. one and half year later standard ancap 5* spec offered now came from new management (drb)..

last time i remember paul did some interview with new proton boss why local & export spec are different.. i think the new management took the comments seriously and decided to upgrade the local spec as similar to the export spec as what being reported in this article..

• ruffstuff on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:13 pm

You mean like vios got high tax? more than 50% local content then it got similar tax like Proton. No import tax also. How so?

• Choy.. proton wasnt under DRB when preve was first launch.. I think it is the new management initiative to put in all extra features after taking feedback from customers. Kudos to proton but feel sad to anyone who bought it before update

• Think sales must be dwindling. the next step to boost up sales is to introduce the concept one with nice rear lamps which we first saw in a motor show before launching. That would be a hit.

• wow, good job proton

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:21 pm

A good move by Proton though it should’ve been this way when the Preve was launched. I just fail to understand the shallow mentality of certain people who associate Proton buyers with being lazy and what not. I do believe that some cosmetic updates are due, particularly the dashboard centre panel and the tail light clusters.

• Would say its a very good move from proton(good slap on UMW face), even better if face-lift they could redesign the interior and use better quality material then would be nice, and offer 6 speed manual gearbox instead of 5 speed.

• Two Birds & 1 stone on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Smart decision .Thank you proton for slapping UMW’s face on our behaif . Very pleased to see Proton is taking the lead in this respect . Soon all cars on sale here will be equipped with ESC / VSC as standard safety figure. TQVM.

• alldisc on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:18 pm

sales numbers hardly move, old stocks not moving, year end coming soon

target not hit, old stocks will depreciate.

must do sumthing.

• tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Wow, first time I’m impressed by DRB.

Good job for improving safety. Adds strength (oh the pun) to its marketability.

Proton desperately needs to focus on fuel efficiency next. Get direct injection, aluminium block, start-stop feature, etc.

• iskhalifah on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:26 pm

The best announcement by Proton so far this year. Better late than never I guess.

Now I wondering if there are still ignorant people who dare say that the Vios J is better than the Preve.

• victortan on Dec 04, 2013 at 12:33 am

Yes I bet there are still a lot ppl worshipping vios j.
      No matter how many specs given by Proton, you can’t change the perception towards them in a few days.
      Therefore, Proton need to keep the good work continue and earn trust from public.
      It’s not a 1 day work.

• As a ex-Proton user, now my car is Nissan and almost 6 years I’m using it and my interior still in tip top condition….my opinion and advice for proton:

1) Please upgrade the interior design + material – no more sub standard and gaps here and there ( I feel it when I’m doing test drive Preve + Exora )
    2) Economical is the key – nowadays Turbo can achieve around 6-8l/100km…please do some serious study to tuned your engine to achieve that.
    3) Last time I’m using Gen2…now Segment C (Nissan) and my family become bigger…WHERE IS YOUR SEGMENT D car? there a lot of people out there not interested for an MPV and like Segment D car which should be less cheaper compare to other makers ( sub 130k-170k) but Proton ignore it… why we need that car? because we can also use it for working, some exec. don’t like driving an mpv to work..not suits our nature.
    4. Please for the future products…give everything during launch..not 2 airbags..then 6 airbags a year later..then this and that 3 years later……you should do proper planning before launch.
    5. DONT use your first customer after official launch of your product to be a victims of what is wrong or right with the car……then 6 months later uprgrade ECU, 1 year later solve here and there…..you should be a matured manufacture after 20 years in the business…no more trial and error syndrome everytime you launch a product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Corbin Prime on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:59 am

TQ Proton for quickly and timely respond to the market environment. The range of product now are really value for money. Pedulikan kata2 bashing yg bagi aku macam lalat taik tu.. Next thing to do… Proton.. plis la… redesign balik front grill preve yg macam ikan merah jual kat pasar ni. Menganga lebarr sangat. Pastu lampu belakang. Tak mau la ropa bertingkat2 macam rumah flat tak siap. Korang try la ubah dua benda ni dulu. Kat Malaya ni, pembeli memberi penumpuan banyak pada ropa dan outlook kereta mereka dulu; ;lebih pada benda yg lain. Tu sebab banyak kedai2 aksesori kete sana sini sebab nak bagi kereta cantik. Kekadang, korang Proton, kena la dengar apa pembeli nak. Jangan ‘menyombong’ tak tentu hala atau syok sendiri. Lain la kalau staff/pekerja korang boleh beli kereta korang sorang 10 bijik untuk naikkan sales…

• cakap tak peduli bashing. ni macam bashing je..

• leaver on Dec 07, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Merc punya grill gedabak, beemer punya grill besar macam hidung *toot* tak bash plak.

Preve keta turbo la memang grill besar. Takat vios enjin tak power takde grill pun takpe.

Kahkahkahkah

• niaulong on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:15 pm

As man said to PROTON :

“Where is Your D-Segment Car”

U have the Most Advance Plant in Tg Malim and u cannot create or produce a D-Segment car to compete to Japs nor korean, only rebadge last gen ProCcord.

tsk tsk tsk….

But Anyway, This is a nice move for “Up the Spec,Lower the Price” if compare to conman company T.

• prevent on Dec 04, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Wow, it’s really a disappointing news for the current preve cvt model owners. At least proton can re-call the current owners for a free upgrade. That would be nice.

• I just meet my uncle last week where he has bought and sell his proton preve… what the surprise is… he not surgestion anyone to buy this car… after 1 year run with preve.. his preve engine leaking.. gear box boom at highway…. absorber kong… and etc…. he sold his preve..and but jap’s car…

what i want to share here is.. come on proton.. dont just take people money … but give them poor car…

if the buyer come from poor family… the buy this car only for fix the car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • carguy on Dec 05, 2013 at 5:12 pm

Seriously, I’ve own quite a number of Proton’s car but non of them had any major problem. I mean it is normal that 1 out of 1000 cars will have big problem and that is unfortunate. My boss has bought his new Camry 2.5 half year ago, and he had a lot of problem with his car recently. Engine problem, throttle missfiring problem. Went for check up and still no solution yet. I’m not trying to bash Toyota, what i mean is no car is perfect. There is always one or two that are so unlucky sometimes. But what annoys me is that when proton cars got problem, people bash it gao gao. But if their Toyota got problem, they will just keep quite, or they will say “All car also will have problem ma”. That’s not even fair. My neighbor had a 2011 Merc E class, and he is also facing alot of problem. constantly sending his car to the service centre and the sc have no solution for the problem too.

• catnium on Dec 08, 2013 at 11:59 am

“1 out of 1000 cars will have big problem” but if your car is one of those 1 out of 1000, i m sure your comment will be different.
        Me and my family only own two proton car BUT both with unsolved problem until i sell it (1 out of 1000 cars!!!). on the other hand, we own three P2 and 3 T-brand car/mpv but never have unsolved problem, so what conclusion can i make? Always Unlucky with brand Pr_t_n ONLY???

• My jiran, my friend of friend, my colleague, my aunty/uncle/, granpa/grandma also always tell the same story of proton.

why must from others people? Not from ur own self?

• potential new car on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:17 am

wow very tempting…but can anyone provides me the exact url to the specs brochure…coz I couldn’t find it on proton edar or preve microsite…not updated as is shown here..

• Justin on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:59 am

Very Good Initiative from Proton…!!! Safety first…!!!

But cry cry cry for me who recently just bought a Preve Executive with only 2 airbags… Haih… :'(

• LovesThePreve on Dec 30, 2013 at 6:49 pm

what I love about the car is that no need to slow down too much when pass through speed bump..( btw, i do know what is its purpose for) xD such a great suspension lah!

• prve upgrade good move on Jan 03, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Please someone tell me how i can claim the extra 4 airbags and esc for my current preve??

Proton you moron.

• the power of dream on Apr 07, 2014 at 9:35 am

good move, if u think u can u can…. hehe

• Life1 on Jul 23, 2014 at 3:20 pm

I have a proton wira sedan 1.5GL, 1993 version. pls, if there’s anyway my car can get a makeover, that will make me the happiest person on earth bcoz I luv the car so much.