Driven Web Series Episode 3: Hot-hatch shootout – VW Golf GTI vs Merc A 250 vs BMW 125i vs Volvo V40

Our mid-season episode is a real treat for all you petrolheads, as Driven Web Series, powered by PETRONAS Primax, sets out to settle the much-discussed affair of who makes the best hot-hatch today. Those looking for a new fun-to-drive daily driver now have a big pot of choices to pick from. We round up four of the best to find out which is the King of all.

Is it still the Volkswagen Golf GTI, or have others surpassed it? The GTI started it all, and in its latest Mk7 form, is now the best it has ever been. Opposing fire comes from above – the land of premium hatches. Here, we pit the original hot-hatch against the Mercedes-Benz A 250 Sport, BMW 125i Sport and Volvo V40 T5.

Why them, and not the others, we hear you ask? Two simple reasons: these are the ones you can drive everyday (not mere weekend toys), and more importantly, they all have the all-important brand cachet. After all, why would you look at lesser marques when you want to spend North of RM200,000?

In usual Driven Web Series-style, we cover all bases, and then some. There’s no twist this time round, but we’ve added plenty of turns to make up for it. So fellow enthusiasts, you’re welcome to sit back, crank up the volume and enjoy the show.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• vodka on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:16 am

Should have had a drag race with all 4 cars together too. Would have been great to watch!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 3
    • DSG Kaput on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:49 am

Is there a tow truck on standby? Since the is a VW, better get a tow truck on standby. VW fanboys will say GTi got wet clutch and all that grandmother tales but it still breaksdown so often like the dry DSG boxes.

Amazing how VW fansboys and VW salesman are nowadays so active online again, like many years ago, disputing there is nothing wrong with the DSG. Even VW Global has come clean to tell everybody that DSG is inherently faulty and cannot be used in hot Asian countries such as Malaysia which VW Global said is too hot for their DSG boxes as well as the DSG boxes cannot handle Asian traffic jams like Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 56
      • disgruntledBMWowner on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Cant be worse than BMW dude. At least VW is confident enough to give 5 years warranty. I only get 2 years for my new F30. Was promised by BMW SA that all BMW car is entitled free service every 20000 km when planning to buy the car. After buying,now 36000 km and I have not got any free service. Complained to the manager they said will service according to recommendations by on board computer. I said the SA didnt tell me that and promised free service every 20000km. He said SA resign already….This is BMW Malaysia.. Pure con job. I will go for VW or Merc after this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Tow Truck Association on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:58 am

We would like to give our sincere appreciation to all VW DSG owners. If not for you all, we would not be able to send our kids overseas to study degree course. Thank you VW DSG owners!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 26
      • Bob_B78 on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Frankly speaking, I never saw a VW on tow. If VW is so bad I would at least saw 1 on tow truck from the 1st day they do business in Malaysia. Bare in mind everyday I can see lots of ppl driving VW on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 30
        • Yoong on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:06 pm

Bro, I have seen a few times in KL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
          • Bob_B78 on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:08 pm

Im staying in PG so maybe Im just lucky. However, everyday my route to work I get to see a banner that jinx all VW owners. Lol

• Adrian on Dec 05, 2013 at 1:26 pm

oh no… my own Polo already sit on tow truck 3 times in year 2013 itself!!

• teelim on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Mine needed towing for a flat battery (^_^;)

• Raja Lawak on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:53 pm

Kesian…Suprima not joining…oh wait different kampung lah

• kingston5 on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:21 am

It would be more interesting if they included the Focus ST and Megane RS265, but nevertheless a good shootout.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Smart Alex on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Those are like leceh manual cars la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
      • I guess u drive auto cars. Manual cars are for real men drivers. Maybe your not real enough to be a man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
  • you guyz are awesome.. i enjoy watching it.. seriously Malaysian need this kind of car review show. KEEP IT UP GUYZ!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
  • kezman on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:57 am

What? Where is Suprima S? Isn’t it’s the hottest hatch from Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 47
  • drchan on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:58 am

well done, we need another German, the Audi A3 and probably Mini Countryman to complete this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • ahmadjohnson on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:00 pm

I haven’t watch a video yet but the winner of this shootout should against another 3 hot hatches, Mazda 3 MPS, Ford Focus ST and Renault Megane R.S.. It will be interesting to watch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • YeapyEvo on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:20 pm

Nice review, next please do a review for RS Megane vs Golf Gti MK7

• Hiii Paul Please compare & shoot out sport sedan BMW 328i vs Mercedes c250 vs Volvo S60 T5 vs Lexus IS250 vs Audi A4 2.0i vs Infiniti Q25….

Mott

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
    • ricky on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:01 am

Hiiii Paul Please also compare and & shoot up Aventador, F12, 918 Spyder, Huayra, CCX, Zonda, MP4-12C and Veyron….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
      • bigman on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:29 pm

how about u do it urself… u brilliant…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • SupremeUnderwear on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:16 pm

May I request to compare Sam Loo vs Maserati vs Kimchi vs Dr M vs Perkasa ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • good suggestion but infiniti has no Q25, the previous model was G25, Now they hv the 3.7/3.5 litre Q50, and i think a 2.0litre turbo Q50 will be launched..

• Baldwin on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Well done, guys! You all outdo yourselves once again in this episode.

Keep em comin! =)

• Norman Jazeera on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:52 pm

Guys, great work! I hope in the future you guys could also show us the legroom and headroom space for driver and passengers, rear visibility, blind spot areas, compartments / sockets provided, boot size, quality of materials used for interior, trim levels that come with the model etc… Perhaps 4 of you can ride in a car and mention your experience as driver and as a passenger. Cherio!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • sonic31s on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:14 pm

VW GOLF MK7 get the title “Car of the year” wasn’t for nothing…
    The improve version “GOLF GTI” were even better !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • ..but reliability sucks big time, my less than 2 year old golf tsi need clutch pack replacement and my friend’s 3 year old 2.0 Roc broke down with EPC problem and need to be towed to SC. My colleque’s 2 year 1.4 Roc was recently had whole MU & Clutch pack replaced….all under warranty but the HASSLE of being without car for few days is troublesome!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Meng Tatt on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:25 pm

wow, good video is more better compared with the 1st one.

but from what i watch is the video wasn’t fair enough when shooting the car interior.

the video did show how is the BMW rear seat and the space, but what is the other 3 models? Since it’s 5 doors car.

every car can speed up to 180km/h or 200km/h with below 150k

this 4 car is consider as high speed car(around 200k)
    but how many second needed when from 100km/h-0km/h?

just my 5 cents..

• Polo Saga on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:46 pm

How about Focus ST and Europe version of Civic Type R?

• Enthu on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Kudos to the team for making this great video. I perfectly understand why track cars like Focus ST and the Megane wasn’t included.

That’s who it should be done. Instead of throwing everything into one bowl of rojak.

Great job! Enjoyed it every bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • ricky on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:59 pm

where is the Focus, Megane, Civic Type-R Euro, Brera and MPS? dont tell these cars are not hot hatch? cannot be driven on daily basis? clearly biased comparison. the GTi is no match for the superior handling and build quality of A250, sorry to VW fanboys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 28
    • Aiyyooo boy. These people are the expert judges right now laa and we value their comments and justufication. They test drove all the 4 cars and concluded that gti was no 1. Yr opinion here is therefore rubbish. Now go and fly kites somewhere else boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Smart Alex on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:18 pm

The fella is obviously a Merc salesman or someone who struck lottery and came from a Kancil. Don’t know what is ride quality at all

• jooli on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:41 pm

if have no clue or dont know anything about cars, dont comment so fast kiddo. nap time now, go grab your milk bottle.

• jooli on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:40 pm

totally agree with ricky, the interior, the handling and everything is just way above the Golf GTI. only VW childish naive fanboys will support their GTI is much more superior and dare not admit how good is their rival. (or should i say how good ARE their rivals). peace~!

• Black Dog on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:02 pm

Great show, excellent dialogue, fair review. Bravo!

But my eyes still hurt looking at the Angry bird! No minus points for ugliness?

• Gosh, my fav.. A-class spot at 4th.

• Jinggo on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:09 pm

and the winner is…. V40!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
    • Long been branded as old uncle brand and V40 is been compared with other sporty car. Well done Volvo! I go for V40 as it has good outlook, rare, and reasonable price with high safety rating.

• fortminor on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Driven is getting better. Hafriz is also improving. Not too “wooden” anymore. no offence dude ;)

• Kereta Cantik on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:12 pm

I agree the delivery, how the presenters speak and act, has improved a lot since the first episode. I guess they needed some warm up to get into it. Now they look like they born to be on TV. Directing and editing has also improved.

I enjoy this series, so thank you for making it and keep up the good work guys.

• tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:48 pm

The volvo is cheapest, the only sub-rm200k. Also with 5+5+5 coverage, best after-sale package too.

It’s clear volvo is not a sporty brand, more focused on safety and comfort. And design is very beautiful, especially the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Smart Alex on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:19 pm

If that’s so why they introducing things like polestar and advertising their cars as beingnaughty

• tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Their core models are still tuned towards comfort.

The so-called “naughty” s60 is still pretty soft compared to german rivals, but it is a sportier volvo. Drive s60 and 240, the 240 feels boaty. But drive it next to 3series, c-class, volvo is boaty.

Polestar is relatively new to tuning commercial volvo.

In the end, ask anyone who thinks of volvo, sporty? Nah, it’s always safety, and how comfortable u feel after long drive.

But making it naughtier is always welcomed :)

• Volvosai on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:20 pm

I got a feeling volvo pay lots of $$$ to win in favour. Coz, once a buyer buy a volvo, it’s for life. Even sam loo won’t even want a volvo park at his stock yard. Taboo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • jason on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:53 pm

i really think you guys shouldnt do lap times in elite as its a go-kart track. and you guys entered corners wrongly, hence a huge lap time for the bmw and volvo compared to merc and golf.
    additional alfa romeo makes hot hatch too, its called guiletta

• Smart Alex on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:20 pm

One does not doubt the ability of the Singh to follow proper racing lines

• Denaihati on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:26 pm

very nice video and fun. waiting for more car review like this.

• Yamin S on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Bravo guys for another laughing session! Seriously, I’m a fan of your show now. 10-min is still longer than any car TV show could give for a comparo. Yes, there’ll be blatant bashings and senseles comments, but the fact that you guys did give the cars some mild thrash to come out with an arguably collective ranking is to be commended for. As I said in many previous comments, any buyer with any money to buy a car, MUST test drive the choices that they have before deciding the one to drive home. As for those who don’t, just enjoy the show!
    P/S: Pity Harvinder, he left the skirt at home. Otherwise, it’d perfect with the A-Class;-)

• That Sam Loo guy will be very pissed off with this shootout… they should put a Toyota Yaris as the ultimate benchmark…

lol…

• frenzyaustin on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:31 pm

According to him, Malaysian built Vios has more RV than imported Yaris.

• SamLooKasiPungkuk on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Sam Loo busy selling sushi. He is so broke now. He cannot sell his no RV Camry 2.5. Brand new 181k. Now 1 year car selling for 145k. Pity him. Better sell to junkyard.. Haha

• seancorr on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Another nice episodes from the lads at paultan.org

I think the reason why we don’t see the Focus ST nor the Megane is because those are low volume sellers and have stiff suspension so its not really an everyday hot hatch car.

• mr_em on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Focus ST do not have a stiff suspension, firm may be.

You can still drive a Focus ST everyday, the only problem is most Malaysians’ left foot can only cope with not many hours of traffic jams hence Manual Transmission cars are left out from the above comparison tests as such.

In this instance, Driven is right to classify what is considered as an everyday car for Malaysian… it has to come with an Auto Gearbox!! Conventional/DSG/CVT or similar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • CARtoon on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Great job with the video guys. I might be wrong here but I thought the BMW comes with adjustable settings similar to the GTi saw well.

• Smart Alex on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:21 pm

Only the m sport has adjustable suspension. Don’t be fooled by the drive mode button

• dino years on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:54 pm

i think u guys should have an mpv episode soon, because mpvs are really popular in malaysia. try to get hold of the toyota previa please, i want to see how it holds up against competitors.

• THE TURKISH GUY on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:55 pm

Make a video about peugeot 208 , ford fiesta , audi a1 and kia rio .

• nabill on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:23 pm

is it possible for next comparisons u include reliabily surveys?? thy have alot of forums and real surveys online to collect ….reliabilty is an important factor in purchasing a car regardless of brand…it should be included in the criteria to rank the cars…bcos not many shows online/youtube bother about it n u wil have sting unique in ur reviews…

• NeoLover on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:04 pm

The series get better and better every time.good jobs guys.

• Driven fan on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:36 pm

Can we have a readers polls pppppppplease……
    Since you have given your verdict, it will be interesting to see the public’s verdict too!

• i-m-neutral on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:37 pm

Volvo V40 +1
      i’d go for it because of value in money (least expensive in the group), practicality (everyday use and comfort), style (very good looking)!!!

• dugong on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Sam loo will spoil the poll by bringing his hoarde of toyota salesman to mass vote non stop all day on vios and camry only. Smart ppl will stay away fr those thrash.

• Archangel on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:12 pm

I would love to see comparison for MPV’s categories in the next episode. Hehe.

• areyoukiddingme on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Realistically, the GTI is the LEAST PREMIUM, HAS THE MOST PROBLEMATIC GEARBOX, and THE CHEAPEST LOOKING. The Volvo sounds the best, is beautiful and extremely safe and reliable with 5 years free service. The BMW isn’t ugly, is great to live with, has a premium image and has great resale values. The merc is flamboyantly beautiful, expensive but very premium looking. I don’t see how a f**king VW could be the best of the bunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 16
    • tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:02 pm

>BMW
      >Great resale values

Cannot brain!

But agree on the rest. Merc probably has best resale value here.

VW is good, but scared DSG.

bmw is unique with rear wheel drive.

Volvo is nice. A bit thirsty, but when u feel the 5-cylinder purr, totally worth it :) and that assured feel of a very safe car, priceless. I believe the T5 has auto brake function, right? Impressive, all other arguments are invalid!

• tokmoh on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:58 pm

Added thoughts:

Bmw scared banyak masuk workshop.

So vw n bmw are out. To argue they have performance, if i really look for performance, megane rs265. Checkmate. Cannot drive manual? Pussy aa want performance but not manual?

Merc n volvo. Cheaper, safer, 5-cylinder, 5+5+5, volvo it is :)

• Misses old Driven on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:39 pm

Another great review done by you guys which a lot of improvements seen comparing them to the first episode. I do miss the old driven series a lot by Sharizan, Harvinder and Nurul Alis sponsered by BHP though. Especially Sharizan, with his epic style of presentation. Too bad there’s no Season 2 for the last Driven. Anyways, good job guys. Bring the glory of the olden days of Driven back!!

• xiper on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:54 pm

often copied never equalled !!

• VW Golf GTI did not get the hot hatch king title for no reason..

Best all rounder..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Luqman_HKM on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:13 pm

I see, this is in Bukit Jelutong, I can tell by the D’Bayu (Greenview), the mosque and golf course. Next, BMW 428i Sport vs Mercedes C250 Coupe vs Audi A5 2.0 TFSI. Also Harvinder, just be the first to be in the car at the end.

• Halleluyah on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:27 pm

After 3 episode, jonathan and havinder are great! but the others have to buck it up man. reviewing cars with very less excitement, lack of enthusiasm and not even half entertaining or informative. Although it’s a web series, Car Advice (youtube) is much better on every direction comparing to this. now now, don’t say that i do not support you guys, i’m a fan of paultan.org since the early days. but the driven(series) is not even half good comparing to your articles in the web. man…… do something. sometimes someone just have to be the bad guy. =) *waiting for ep4*

• meseli on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:53 pm

aiyoo why not test GTI with A45 AMG,,. baru fair..

• glaze on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:31 pm

are you sure GTI with A45 AMG is fair?

A45 AMG is to compare with Golf R bro..

• lamanblog on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:12 pm

vids getting better. congrats Driven

• well done guys! enjoyed watching it :)

• Vw Owner on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:39 pm

Good Show. Should extend the time of your webseries

• kobealex on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:09 am

Nice review…

However, think its pretty unfair pitting the GTI against the rest which arent really performance/sports tuned cars. It should go up against the likes of the A45 AMG and M135i… the GTI will win when it comes to track and lap times against the normal a250 or i125… if it is about the budget and racy hot hatches, I feel that the GTI should be pitted against the likes of Focus ST, Renault Megane RS or even the Mazda 3 MPS which are all sports tuned and coming in at very similar price range. Oh… and aren’t hot hatches meant to be sporty and not comfy on the roads?

kudos for the vids, but like Halleluyah mentioned, it could be a lil bit more informative and natural… I know its still new and hoping for better reviews from the guys…

No offense btw just my 2 cents… cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Vincz on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:14 am

Driven, can you please do more tests in the “affordable segment”? The A, B and C segment.

These are the cars where most of the Malaysians buy, not the premium brands.

A Golf GTI seems too far away for most of us.

• Josh Ling on Dec 04, 2013 at 6:18 am

Shout out to Chris, you are really good in front of the camera!! although i must say all the other 3 are doing a great job as well.

Hey, can we have Danny in the video next week?? have been waiting for his appearance since last week……lol…..

• hohoho on Dec 04, 2013 at 7:47 am

Good comparo, however, if this is a review of the best hot hatches in the Msian market, then should have included the Megane RS and Focus ST, and boot out the Volvo.
    But as it is, out of the 4 cars, the best 2 is the GTI and BMW. A250 got the best looks and brand catchet, but its ride is poor relative to the rest, altho its handling is good.
    In the end, the best all-rounder is the GTI. Without a doubt.

• Leonon on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:50 am

Know it wouldn’t be likely for the team to do a comparison of the A200, 118i, Volvo V40 T5 and Golf TSI but if so, would the result be any different?

• I think a comparison of A200, 118i, Volvo V40 T4 and Golf TSI for day to day drive can be quite interesting too.

• niaulong on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:23 pm

I Must Work Hard and more aggressive to own one of this Hot Hatch. Maybe 10 years later :_(

Great Driven Web Series!! Like it~

• LOL…where is citroen DS5?

DS5 has massage seat which VOLVO V40 doesn’t have…and the list goes on…

*not to mention v40 is 30% assembled here…whilst DS5 is only 5% assembled in malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • All these cars here do 0-100km/h in less than 7s. You can have the 9s car, no thanks.

• Jinn Sung on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:24 pm

Love to watch review between Suzuki Swift, Fiesta, and Peugeot 208

• sammy on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Most of the presenters are a bit wooden, maybe stage fright? Need to be more natural, not like reading a script or memorized script …lol! The Flying Singh (hee!hee!) was more natural as his lines were more natural, spontaneous speech with natural flair. The others need more practice to keep their minds off the camera and mic.

The cars tested were a bit limited, with the GTi not compared to a proper hatch like A45 and M135 which foreign mags have done, which kicks out the Gti due to loss of power compared to an A45. Maybe comparing apples to oranges until the next Golf R comes. Good effort for a local production, great shots and editing…pity the commentators.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:47 pm

Based on personal experience in Malaysia, Don’t buy a new BMW. Their after sales service is crap and warranty is 2 years only. All emails complain to HQ is entertained poorly by a stupid personel called Chandra Gandhi .They will try their very best not to allow you to claim any manufacturing defect. If can claim also u will wait like forever for parts. Try talking to the sales manager. They think they are like richer than u and me. Lol. Bloody low class sales man. I think now BMW realize and many people boycott already. Many F series BMW club members have disposed off their cars because of frustration. Go for merc instead. You will be treated with more respect, hopefully. I will know soon

• blaster88 on Dec 04, 2013 at 7:13 pm

My 2 cents…VW after sales service ABSOLUTELY sucks! I know, I have a GTI and I would rather eat glass than to deal with VW. Sad becoz the GTI is a great ride. BMW service has slightly improved lately but 2 years warranty is unacceptable esp the $$$ you have to pay for gearbox, adaptive shocks, fuel pumps etc. Merc (Hup Seng to be exact) gives good service and the 4 year manufacturing warranty provide piece of mind….but seriously, I have not walked into a Merc showroom for ages but the A250 is a great attempt to look hip again. Lexus tops in after sales service but you are buying a scaled up but very well built Toyota?

• Petrolheadless on Dec 04, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Would have been nice if the Ford Focus ST was included in the comparison as it is also a hothatch..

• teelim on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:28 pm

I think the Focus ST would fit better in this shootout in terms of pricing and performance compared to the Volvo.

Would love to see how the ST compares to the GTI

• amirad on Dec 05, 2013 at 4:07 pm

In most oversea comparos between Focus ST, megane RS and golf GTi, the Focus sits in the middle between the extreme handling RS and the jack of all trades GTi. Even watching in youtube, the sound symposer sounds great. Haven’t got the chance to hear it in real life as there aren’t any test drive unit for focus ST. Interior of ford focus is no match for all the cars above. Why is it really great handling cars have so so interior. Driver enjoying the drive so much that he doesn’t bother about the interior.

• V4Life on Dec 05, 2013 at 8:39 pm

you guys can go on and on and on about how fast the GTI is, how fun the BMW is, how COOL the a250 is, but that split second in a car crash, the car who really will save you, is the v40. it will sacrifice itself, to save you, the driver. it’s the closest thing to death proof.

the v40 T5 is the best all-rounder imho. Not only you get a handsome car, you get a really fast car (213hp), and at the same time, you know you are the driving the safest of the lot. if you value your life, this is the car to buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • mazran on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:27 am

V40 on upgraded shocks should fix the floaty feeling you get… then it should be a great car!

• Why exclude the Focus ST and the Megane RS? They rule in the world of hot hatches, together with the Golf GTi. The Volvo’s such a joke lah btw.

So here are some comparisons that I would reckon for the following episodes:
    1. Honda Accord, Mazda 6, Toyota Camry (Japanese D-segments)
    2. Perodua Myvi, Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10, Suzuki Alto (Affordable compacts, though Myvi is a segment ahead but their prices match)
    3. Serena S-Hybrid, Mazda Biante (People carriers with similar prices)
    4. Honda Civic, Toyota Corolla Altis (Maybe after the new one arrives), Kia Cerato, Hyundai Elantra, (Sushis vs Kimchis, add in the Preve maybe?? [pun intended])
    5. BMW F30, Lexus IS, Volvo S60 (Premium C-segments)
    6. High end D segments: F10, E-class, Lexus GS….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Stealth on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Boss, Paul Tan still looking forward to the volvo v40 review la.

• imanazman on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:18 am

Really acquire more feedback about DSG VW, worth to buy or not.

• Bash-tard on Jan 09, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Bought my ’16 GTI SE here in US for $29k. It’s obviously a class below the Merc A250.

Not sure how VW justifies the price there back in Bolehland. For reference, the price of the Golf R is around $40k and the Merc is around $50k here.

The GTI that I bought has the limited slip diff, backup camera, start button, keyless entry and free vwnet service + sirius xm radio for 6 months. I don’t think VW is being fair for the VW-fans back in Bolehland.