GALLERY: Volkswagen Design Vision GTI Concept

VW Design Vision GTI -01

Another year of Wörthersee, another mad Golf concept. This year, we saw a very hardcore GTI race car concept called the Volkswagen Design Vision GTI Concept wow the crowds in Austria. Here’s a fresh gallery of the flat and mad machine.

At 4,253 mm, the Design Vision GTI is 15 mm shorter than the production Mk7 GTI, thanks to a more compact rear apron. It is obviously much lower and wider too – height has been reduced by 57 mm while width is up by 71 mm. It is the ratio of height-to-width in particular that gives the Design Vision GTI its race car proportions.

Klaus Bischoff and team has drawn the C pillars and side sills outward as autonomous body elements, creating space for substantially enlarged track widths and specially developed 20-inch wheels (235 tyres in front, 275 at the back). The wheels adopt the concept of the “Austin” Mk7 GTI wheel, which in turn is a more dynamic derivative of the “Denver” GTI classic rim.

VW Design Vision GTI -21

“We wanted to bring out the design elements of the GTI as concisely, dynamically and emotionally as we could so as to get to the heart of the fascination that this car emanates,” the VW brand’s head of design said.

Under the hood is a 3.0 litre V6 TSI engine with 503 PS. The twin-turbo V6 also makes 560 Nm of torque between 4,000 and 6,000 rpm, with 500 Nm available from 2,000 rpm. This immense force is distributed to both axles via a DSG dual-clutch gearbox and all-wheel drive. 0-100 km/h is done in just 3.9 seconds and max speed is 300 km/h.

Inside the minimalist cockpit, the thing that stands out is the steering wheel, which houses a Ferrari manettino-style switch on the left (Street, Sport and Track modes) and the start button on the right.

Like previous mad Wörthersee specials, don’t expect this one to make production – it was designed purely to induce wet dreams among GTI fans. For the real thing, click here to read our review of the Mk7 Golf GTI.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• front facia look alike….humm

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:11 am

The DSG cannot even handle the 200 plus bhp of their normal cars, how want to handle this 500 bhp? Sure to breakdown even more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • BMW Fanboi on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal
        Come on la, fix your stupid self admitted faulty gearbox first. VW already admit in black and white but stupid Malaysians here buy it and want to action, I got german car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Tow Truck Association on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:57 am

I hope this car will become production. At least us tow truck drivers will have more business. “Kami Menyambut DSG dengan sepenuh hati!!” is our slogan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • keris lawak on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:13 am

The front is Perodua Buddyz concept!
    how dare they copy the design of jaguh kampung! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • @@! This looks like Buddyz!!! :P (if you know what I mean)

• Hihihihi…

My guess is true after all when seeing Perodua Buddy..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:41 am

Can come out with all the power and concepts but what is the use when the DSG breaksdown? Sort your DSG VW and then come out with all this fancy concept cars. It is chicken and egg story. DSG also don’t know how to do, then want to come out with 500 bhp car

• SamLooKasiPungkuk on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:18 pm

Sam Loo busy selling sushi. He is so broke now. He cannot sell his no RV Camry 2.5. Brand new 181k. Now 1 year car selling for 145k. Pity him. Better sell to junkyard.. Haha

• Mr. Ego-Meaning-The Double on Dec 03, 2013 at 10:37 am

Copied from the Perodua Buddyz concept. Shame on you VW.

• whoa nice design but the interior need a lot of improvement.

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:10 am

If VW rebrand proton suprima as the new Golf, people will still get it and pround of it.Conversely, people will still bash proton if there rebrand scirocco as their satria.By the way, GT86 look better though.

• SamLooKasiPungkok on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:15 pm

GT86 oni look good for u. GT86 is a useless car by toyota. It doesnt even come near GTI. No RV n Toyota Malaysia got no sales for it. U go sell sushi first. Go sell ur toyota camry 2.5 in junkyard first. 1 year car aso selling for 145k. Brand new 181k. Owhhh sushi shit!

• This one come out first then buddyz. Buddyz design a bit late compare to VW GTi

• alldisc on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:07 pm

i remembered at one time, Jeremy Clarkson tested a similar looking souped-up Golf GTI. which was a special project by VW as a a present for GOlf GTI owner annual meet.

it was equipped with a W12 engine and a one-off unit.
    If not mistaken, in 2010 season of BBC Top Gear.

• sometimes, I think, this car price is overprice but the design is just so so only

• farizY on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:20 pm

While the rest of the world praise VW, Malaysian stuck with the typical kampung mentality.
    Well, who cares, not many will be able to afford this car anyways.