Lamborghini Veneno Roadster, on an aircraft carrier

lambo veneno 02

Nothing like doing an over-the-top public debut for an over-the-top sort of car – Lamborghini chose an aircraft carrier as the venue to give its Veneno Roadster, announced in October, its first public showing. The limited-edition supercar was formally unveiled on the flight deck of the Italian navy’s aircraft carrier Nave Cavour, which was docked in Abu Dhabi’s Mina Zayed port.

Only nine units of the Veneno Roadster will be produced, six more than the hardtop Veneno. Shown in Abu Dhabi in the specially-developed ‘Rosso Veneno’ shade, each of the nine buyers will be able to individualise the colour of his 3.3 million euro (excluding local taxes) ride to suit personal preference.

The 1,490 kg Veneno Roadster is identical to its hard-top sibling, sans roof – it’s powered by a 6.5 litre V12 that sits behind the passenger compartment, delivering 750 hp to all four wheels through a seven-speed single-clutch ISR automatic sequential transmission. The car’s 0 to 100 km/h time is 2.9 seconds, 0.1 second slower than the 40 kg lighter hard-top, but the top speed is identical at 355 km/h.

Gotta hand it to the Italians for the spectacular. Veneno what they’ll come out with next to top this one.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Black Dog on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Half will probably goes to oil sheiks, that’s y the launch is in Abu Dhabi

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:09 pm

My Hilux look sexier than this trash. When you race with a Lambo, the Hilux will beat it flat because the lambo got to crawl on every speed breaker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
      • Tak mampu beli dok diam2…hahaha…Why u race on the road with speed breaker?…Better said race in the jungle…of course ur hilux will win for sure…hahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Veneno on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:01 pm

stupidest person on earth is the one who compares the mighty Veneno with Hilux.. idiotic level : infinity..

• IHATEVENENO on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:10 pm

only one word for it . UGLY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • benzs on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Only abu dhabi can afford such car while fuel is not a big issue for them. Nice design by lambo. Too bad only 9 units.

• Arab's Royal Family on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:00 pm

cus WE ARE RICH! not like you guys, you name them.hahaha

• Sheikh Jamal Al Kassan on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:45 pm

You Malaysians are pathetic! Only know to comment. We’ll take them all! Ha ha ha ha ha!!!!

• darkermarker on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:53 pm

now put car on carrier, and for sale….

how about putting the cars in outer space?
    Call in Lambo Astro?

• AUSNSW on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:06 pm

I think the chinese in China will take half…some of them are freaking rich…

• Passerby on Dec 04, 2013 at 5:31 am

absolutely… not to mention that they always like to show off with their not-so-special collection… owning an i-phone is like a collection there… probably you will earn money when you trade the phone off… it is like investment eventhough for a phone thingy… haha! the even will send a lamborghini as a wedding gift to the bridegroom… disgusting chinamen… although i am a chinese

• Joker on Dec 04, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Super car on aircraft carrier = F22 at my basement car park. Good to show nothing much practical!

• supersaiyan on Dec 04, 2013 at 5:27 pm

i have drive this car..just “boleh-boleh”.. it more fun to drive Preve (did you guys know, preve got 6 airbag “banyak tu”.. )..Preve is better that than this crap.. hahhaha

• Joker on Dec 05, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Good one! Have you tried the 6 airbags and make sure it is not paperbags?

• JDMftw on Dec 07, 2013 at 10:14 pm

0.1 second slower than hard top, 0.2 seconds slower than GTR, 0.4 seconds slower than NISMO GTR

I hope GTR will continue to hold its throne as the most affordable fastest car in the world