Toyota Verso – first to use BMW-supplied 1.6L diesel

bmw verso

The Toyota Verso compact MPV is set to be the first Toyota to be equipped with a BMW-sourced engine – the 1.6 D-4D variant that will be launched in Europe early next year will be powered by an oil burner from Munich.

This follows on the agreement between Toyota and the BMW Group that was inked two years ago, in which BMW would supply Toyota’s European division with its 1.6 litre and 2.0 litre diesel powerplants beginning 2014.

The diesel engine supply venture is of course part of a larger collaboration between the two automakers – joint research on lithium-air batteries as well as the co-development of a sports car and a fuel cell system are also scoped within the partnership.

The arrival of the 1.6 litre diesel will bring the powertrain choices for the ZGR20 in Europe to four – the unit, which has 111 hp at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm at 1,750 to 2,250 rpm on tap, joins an existing 2.0 litre unit, the 122 hp and 310 Nm Toyota 1AD-FTV, as oil burner choices.

Integration was handled by the R&D team at Toyota’s European technical centre in Belgium, and involved the development of a number of new components, including engine mounts, a dual-mass flywheel, a new gearbox housing/gearing and a stop/start system to further improve efficiency and reduce emissions. Production of the Verso 1.6 D-4D kicks off in January 2014 at Toyota Motor Manufacturing Turkey’s Adapazari plant.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• norman on Dec 03, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Proton,you should listen and learn fromthis.Since you have collaborate with Honda why not ask them to supplytheir 1.6/2.0 turbodiesel for your Saga FLX/Exora/Preve/Suprima/Perdana and enter India/Europe market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Anonimes on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:11 pm

bcoz that will be cost consuming. Why bother getting expensive engine while Proton can make their own engine, which a lot cheaper and sell it around the same price tag as toyota engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 47
      • Proton should take the others companies engine to enter into different countries cause proton lack of engine that fulfill the requirement or euro6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 03, 2013 at 6:05 pm

This shows how great Toyota is. BMW sales are so bad that they are so desperate to sell engines to Toyota.

Everybody and every car brand depend on Toyota’s name and strength.

That is why even in Malaysia, all the BMW Malaysia directors on the quiet use Toyota Hilux. They know Toyota got good RV.

They themselves know BMW has the same RV as Kia. Owning a BMW is as bad as owning a K5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
        • Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:04 pm

I only deal with used Hyundai.

Because of that, K5 owner that tries to get rid of the rotten cabbage was shown the broomstick.

You will have to excuse this type of behavior. It happens to all when a whole RM140k vehicle becomes zero value in less than a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • pirlo on Dec 03, 2013 at 4:45 pm

because, there will be a group of proton basher emerging to this website bashing the idea. for example:
      1. dah beli enjin petronas, tak nak guna. membazir!
      2. proton mana reti buat enjin, beli enjin je tau. rebadge je tau.
      3. enjin vtec yang preve pakai ni kuat minyak. proton tak reti buat enjin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Hafiz Rahim on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:04 pm

nice move from toyota and BMW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • why should Proton use Honda Engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 39
  • Fabian Leo on Dec 03, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Proton is improving this recent years,But the vibration of the gearbox is still abit noisy.So,Proton can still have alot of space to improve.And,why dont you just decrease the car price since you are buatan malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Where u gone fren?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Agree, hv been owning protons until the current generation …Proton has been improving, but so as other car makers, and the pace of improving is rathet big…As a proton owner, i feel the cars are not “lasting” , means u could feel the vibrations, noises (from engine, steering etc) , an indication that the car is wearing down.. i also owned a toyota altis for 7 years, not a single switch malfunction , no harse vibrations, problem free for 7 years..
      I think proton needs to also focus on the basics, when the fundalmental structure is solid, consumers will feel it (quality).

• azrai on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:07 pm

For those who like to mention RV on cars, please read this real life experience. http://otoreview.blogspot.com/2013/10/trade-in-dilemma-vios-again.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Hailat face on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Is it because Toyota’s diesel engines are mostly outdated and can’t meet latest Euro regulations without major upgrades or redesigns? I wonder what will Toyota fanatics say if UMW decide to bring in this BMW-engined car into M’sia.

You know, since they always say Toyota’s engines are the most reliable and BMW’s are Banyak Masuk Workshop to them. The looks on their faces while trying to explain that its still going to be reliable would be priceless. Hailat faces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • azrai on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Then the engine will be installed on new Toyota; Toyota Hailat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • Green on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:36 pm

who really care about that.

we just care getting a good car.

• Hailat face on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:32 pm

Obviously, you haven’t read the comments from trolls like Sam “I worship Toyota” Loo and SamShowedMeHailat.

BTW, where are those two? Usually, if the news are regarding Toyota they would be the first to comment and run down other brands’ owners. Sam, don’t forget your classic ‘BMWs only worth 50% RV after 1 year ownership’ sales pitch.

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:06 pm

K5 owner was again shown the broomstick 3X.

Have to pity him, coz his RM140k vehicle is now worth RM0

• Julian Lee on Dec 03, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Ho-lee-sheet. BMW engine in Toyota. Now that is what I calls quality! Sam Loo would be proud liaw

• good news fow BMW owners. they can get the cheaper parts n service after this..hhehe

• If only UMW Malaysia bring in the car with this engine, just wait – i think they preferred selling decades old tech rather than offer this engine here because Malaysian will still buy and proud of owning a brand new but old tech car.

• norman on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:01 pm

Why must Proton use Honda diesel engines?Does Proton have any Camprodiesel i ask u?To develop one take years of R&D and since Japanese is known for their reliability why not buy from them?When u get back the return of investment then slowly you can produce your own,See Quoros?Its a Euro car using Chinese badging and thats strategy not copycat like others.Turbodiesel by the way is popular in Europe and India..Our Asian diesel tax make it expensive to own one.Ive drive several turbodiesel cars in UK,Paris,Madrid and fuel consumption is great,One example is Singapore’s new Taxis all using turbodiesel see how fast their acceleration from light to lightis?

• Celicazz on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:07 pm

This post is about Toyota n BMW, why r u ppl talking abt proton???

And no one bashing Toyota doesnt develope own engine and bought bmw’s instead??

Stay on d topic, idiots.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • If Toyota use BMW engine, ToyoLta fans will say nice2, Good2 things. But if Proton using that BMW engine on one of Proton car…. for sure all ToyoLta fans will say bad2, sh*t2 things. What the hell !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • fast5 on Dec 03, 2013 at 3:48 pm

Simple because of greed, Proton use all the profit to buy LOTUS then after 20years is still using the Campro engine and got to admit only bring LOTUS “steering-mounted” into proton cars OTHERS goes to their pocket…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Rashuk Khan2 on Dec 03, 2013 at 5:04 pm

After so so many years Toyota need to adopt engine?

• this is the exhange programme between BMW and Toyota, BMW need toyota hybird technology and toyota need high performance diesel engine, both is win win situation

• superbird #43 on Dec 03, 2013 at 7:43 pm

germans(bmw) possessed high-tech turbodiesel engine technologies, whereas the japs(toyota) excelled in terms of reliability and electronics.
    in short, german technology with japanese reliability.

• Sam Loo on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Yeap, Japs and Germans.

For the Tier 3 car manufacturers, KIA/Hyundai can team up with Tata/Mahindra or Geely/Great Wall.

Then, their engines will be call Kimchi_Chapati_DimSum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • frenzyaustin on Dec 03, 2013 at 8:40 pm

A very win win situation. Either a high performance Toyota or a reliable BMW.

• Heng Loo on Dec 04, 2013 at 6:18 am

Toyota’s Diesel engines are known for their unreliability, namely the 1AD-FTV?

‘AD Engine Out of Warranty Guidelines (0730J)
      We are pleased to advise that we have received more formalised guidelines from TME for the handling
      of AD engine problems on out of warranty vehicles. The coverage and processes are summarised below.
      Conditions Covered
      1) Oil consumption worse than 0.5 litre per 621 miles (1,000 km)
      2) Overheating & Head Gasket failure due to carbon deposits on the pistons’
      http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=2&ved=0CDoQFjAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.club-toyota.ro%2Fforum%2Fattachment.php%3Fattachmentid%3D11363%26d%3D1362864289&ei=IFaeUqS1HofXrQfzlIDYDg&usg=AFQjCNGxQd3Sqza-J8S46LzKMoKhH1UhWg&bvm=bv.57155469,d.bmk&cad=rja

• Microdude on Dec 03, 2013 at 9:25 pm

The amount of torque..wow..

• norman on Dec 03, 2013 at 11:43 pm

Like i said both parties gain else why the collaboration?Some ppl just cant get it in the end label ppl idiot,I wonder whos the real idiot now.BMW turbodiesel is much more refined thats why Toyota want.

• farizY on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:35 am

I don’t see anything wrong with technical collaboration. Why all the hate?

• wan jamak on Dec 04, 2013 at 1:30 pm

sam loo,
    this shows how suck toyota is. the make relaible engine, basically for uncles. why it’s reliable? because it’s using old tech (albeit isara carb engine is more reliable). but they know the cant wow the younger generations. toyota is able to make peformance engine, but they also know that if they are following the same pace tech as bmw, audi etc, their engine will end up like them too. fast, high tech but unreliable, high maintenance cost. no longer toyota the reliable automaker tage line after this?

but they are greed, so how to capture all market? get bmw engine lor.. hopefully this move will place toyota in the eye of those who’s eyeing for contis. but at the end of the day, if people complaint, blame bmw lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2013 at 6:04 pm

Well, use a 2.4V Camry and all I know that it has the lowest TCO for a D-Segment Vehicle.

But as long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in