2015 Volkswagen Passat sighted again – integrated trapezoidal dual-exhaust tailpipes seen

VW-Passat-sedan-9

The next-generation 2015 Volkswagen Passat sedan has been sighted again, this time testing in Spain. Only the sedan was sighted this time – our previous set of spyshots featured the wagon as well.

One new detail has appeared that wasn’t there in our previous set of spyshots – although the rear tail lamps have more disguise on them this time, there are now trapezoid-shaped dual-integrated tailpipes, neatly tucked into the rear bumper design.

The 2015 Passat will be the largest Volkswagen-badged car built on the MQB platform that underpins the Volkswagen Golf Mk7.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:27 am

Can be sighted all they want but the DSG they never sort out. New body, new engine but same old DSG. So, this car sure to breakdown non stop in Malaysia. Malaysians are blind to even VW Global confession in black and white on May 08, 2013 that ALL their DSG cars, even their 2013 models are prone to continuous breakdowns because the DSG boxes cannot handle hot asian weather and asian traffic jams.

ALL DSG cars sold in Malaysia are illegal. So, this 2015 car will also face the continuous breakdowns as other 2013 and 2012 Passat owners are facing now. Facebook does not lie. VW fanboys say its competitors bad mouthing them, well, all facebook comments are from genuine owners who have had their facebook account for years. Go to VW Facebook Malaysia and see the thousands of complaints.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 64
    • I travel about 120km in KL and Selangor DAILY but never see a Volkswagen breakdown at road side. Where are all the genuine VW owners breakdown of their cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • Malaysia tow truck now all are very efficent, so it is hard to see them in action.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 85
        • Larry on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:38 am

“Malaysia tow truck now all are very efficent, so it is hard to see them in action.”

… Thats the dumbest statement I’ve heard so far …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 61
          • well, only a dumb person can make that statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 30
          • Only a dumbest will reply to the dumbest statement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
          • simonsays on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:27 am

As usual this is immature VW fanboy’s trademark, called others who has different opinion from them silly, retard, stupid… now dumb person… They really like to bring down people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • simonsays on Dec 04, 2013 at 8:12 pm

The so called breakdowns are actually from Naza and Sime Darby salesmen, not VW owners!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 48
        • MaserattiShameLoo on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:59 pm

The so called breakdowns are actually from Sam bdh kindergarden junior sales man from empty Toyota showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 8
        • 2013 Passat Owner on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:14 am

I have a 2013 Passat. Bought in January. So far the car break down 4 times. All DSG problems. Each time service centre took 3 weeks to repair my car.

Now VW salesman and VW fans have changed their game plan. Last time they deny and deny about DSG saying people spreading rumours. When VW Germany confess in black and white, the VW fanboys were stunned. They kept quiet online. Don’t know what to do. then they changed their game plan. Now, they just spread rumours that all VW Malaysia facebook comments are spread by their competitors.

Hello fanboys, your VW Germany already admit lah that our DSG boxes cannot use in Malaysia.

That is the problem with VW owners, we don’t want to admit. Once we admit that all DSG are faulty, at least we can take class action law suit against VW Malaysia for selling us a car not suitable for our climate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
          • Deidre on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:26 am

Hello 2013 Passat Owner. Can you please show us your car together with your car number and your name? Only then, people will believe you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
          • DariusLim on Dec 06, 2013 at 8:44 am

Can all those who claimed their cat breakdown have the balls to take a picture of themselves with their name and their car number plate so we can prove they are telling the truth? Or else you will continue to be labelled a bullsh****r.

Come on, show proof! If you got ba**s, show some proof now! Come on, do it, show some guts, if you have any!

• Don't lie VW salesman! on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:21 am

I dont think so. So many DSG problems until service centre cannot cope. Just to make appointment to service is 3 weeks. Service Adviser told me, so many cars with DSG in workshop and that is why normail oil change service also cannot come in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 26
          • tiguanowner on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:36 am

Hello, tell me which service centre are u talking about. I have been sending my VW for periodical service and have been to 3 different service centres. There are hardly any cars. I can get my car serviced in less than 1 hour. What are you talking about? Please show proof!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • dodolseller on Dec 06, 2013 at 8:55 am

Wow,why Naza and Sime Darby salesmen so defensive, click dislike many times… So must be true la, its their job.

• Timothy Ang on Dec 04, 2013 at 8:09 pm

Hiya, u silly guy, all the complains in the Facebook page are from frustrated competitor salesmen. Its well known already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 47
      • simonsays on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Called others who has different opinion from you silly, retard, stupid…This is the trademark of immature VW fanboy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 33
      • Don't lie VW salesman! on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:25 am

I see the comments all coming from facebook people with at least 200 friends. So, no new facebook accounts. And they are lawyers, doctors, students etc

Not dodgy facebook accounts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Don't lie VW salesman! on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:32 am

Timothy Ang, VW salesman detected

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
        • Timothy Ang on Dec 05, 2013 at 6:04 pm

If i am VW salesman, you think Im stupid enough to mention my name? Im actually a VW owner, you can check my record in VW PJ. I have nothing to hide. The reason i know that the Facebook is a lie is because none of the VW owners in the club that has more than 1500 members know who is responsible for the Facebook smearing as they do not have any problems with their cars as mentioned here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
          • Steven Wong on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:30 pm

I owned a Jetta. I already had my clutch plate and engine changed by VW. The car broke down in less than 2 years. Even with the new engine, it shivers sometimes in low gear. I am getting it checked again.

• tongahbakery on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:16 am

Wow, you so good at manipulating the system to get so many dislikes by just one person.

• tongahbakery on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:23 am

Im referring to SamShowedMeTheHilux. He has single handedly managed to get more than 100 likes to his own comment. Wah, ha, hah

• Bob_B78 on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:46 am

VW should sell CKD Passat below 170K, for the price does not justify against Golf/Jetta. Both model performance is similar to Passat. If want to sell at above 170k, at least put Tiguan 2.0 engine inside.

• No offense to Jetta owners, but I believe the passat pricing is justified and Jetta is overpriced. The Jetta just felt so cheap. Could not even accept that the boot hinges were very similar to a vios. The Jetta might come close in performance but never the level of comfort.

• If you don’t own a Jetta or the money to own one, then better don’t comment lor…..

• Bob_B78 on Dec 04, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Basically, C segment cars are bias towards sporty handling (Lancer GT, Mazda 3, Preve etc). So definately Jetta comfort level is not as good as D segment Passat.
        At 170K, i would buy the new 2.4l Accord for it is reasonably priced with good amount of equipment, equally good to drive also. This goes for Kimchis too.
        For the price for Passat Sportline (190K), better get a mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Akira on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:51 am

Hmm… This looks promising…

• frenzyaustin on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:05 am

The way they cover the rear makes it looks like a Lexus IS.

• vw = dsg failure, steer clear from vw….i’m an owner of a golf, i know all abt the dsg prob….what a hassle!

• lots of ppl complaint about DSG issued bla bla….but seen more n more Passat on de road nowadays, so confuse?

• Unforgiven on Dec 04, 2013 at 7:30 pm

If you love the speed, you’ll need to try dsg or twin clutch, you won’t regret owning any quick shift… else just go back to your CVT or 4 speeder, LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • VWJettaowner on Dec 07, 2013 at 11:54 pm

i own Jetta since 2012…travelling Sban KL everyday… so far so good, never regret..no DSG problem at all…love the performance, 2.4 Na car also left behind..

• Steven Wong on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:34 pm

You are very lucky. I bought my Jetta in 2012 too (manufactured in 2011) and it broke down this year. They told me that the piston cracked. They changed a new engine for me. Before that, I had my clutch plate changed. Overall, it is a very good car. Good fuel consumption and power.

• TOY_otacarsick on Dec 24, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Wah..they even change to the new engine