Sixth-generation Ford Mustang to debut this week – will we get the right-hand drive Ecoboost model?

We’re only just under two days away from the official unveiling of the 2015 Ford Mustang, the sixth-generation model to wear the nameplate. We say 2015 because that’s how the Americans choose to call their model years – a year ahead – so effectively in our terms this is the 2014 car.

It’s going to be a significant event, because the S550 will be a global car – it will be available in both left-hand drive and right-hand drive. So if you’ve got the cash to run around in a Mustang, you won’t have to be sitting on the wrong side of the car any more.

And right-hand drive means it has the potential to be launched here in Malaysia – perhaps the outgoing S197 Mustang showcased at Ford’s stand at KLIMS13 is a good preview of what we can expect? We’re told that there are plans to introduce the Mustang here, around the same time that Australia brings in the RHD version.

Ford Mustang Shelby GT500 KLIMS 2

Rumours are of a multiple engine line-up that includes a turbocharged four-cylinder – a tuned-up version of the 275 hp and 400 Nm 2.3 litre motor that debuted in the Lincoln MKC compact SUV. Other engine options include a normally-aspirated 3.7 litre V6 and a 5.0 litre V8. There’s also word that it’ll ditch the solid axle for independent rear suspension.

The new Ford Mustang will be unveiled globally in five cities worldwide. We will be reporting live from the Sydney part of the launch, so stay tuned.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• If I was not mistaken, it was autoweek magazine that leaked picture of the new mustang. Hopefully I do hope its fake cause it does not look…..American.

Aside from that, it’s not that I find the 2.3l ecoboost to be bad in a Mustang but…..a straight four turbo? In a Mustang? I’am no purist but that’s a little sacrilegious, it’s not the first mustang however to get a half the engine of a normal(proper?) mustang, the thrid gen did it before. I do hope the mustang is not ruin by globalization, it has ruin a few icons before, the Huayra, GTR, just to name a few. I do think the mustang should just stay American but it’s chassis can be use for market outside the states, a Capri perhapse

• Chris on Dec 04, 2013 at 10:18 am

As far as I know, the 3rd Gen Mustang SVO is as much a Mustang as one could get.

Sure it probably won’t have the grunt of a V8, but depending on the power delivery, it’s probably as good as, if not better than the existing V6 Mustangs.

I mean, I-4 mustang, whaat? V6 mustang, whaaat? At least the I4 will have cheaper road tax… and I suppose easier to just swap out the components for even higher boost.

• The 3rd Gen SVO Mustang has actually less grunt in the I4 configuration than the V6 until 1985 where it put out about 5%more power and torque over the Essex V6. And If I am not mistaken, the road tax system applies only outside the United States, so engine displacement dosen’t matter for US.

I am not concern of the grunt as, like I said, the 2.3l Ecoboost will sure to have enough grunt to propel the Mustang, I am only concern of the Mustang as an image of a pony car, and the last time I checked, people in the US and to certain extand people outside of America, buy Mustang for its Americana image. Would’t another smaller, lighter car base on the Mustang architecture be better, a Capri perhapse, still a succesful nameplate. I find making the Mustang name plate more globaly accesable looses some of its American speciality. Its abit of like waking up and discovering Ferrari is now making cars in China, it just so sacrilegious.And if I want a cheap 4-cylinder sports car, usually I would walk towards a more Japanese or European showroom.

This is a very personal comment so yeaah it could just probably just me having thios mindset.

• Chris on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:55 pm

You’re right. I’m not too sure about roadtax system around the world, but I had a friend who shared a bit with me.

He owns a 67’s Camaro SS, restored. Told me that it cost the same to register one to be driven legally on the road as a Honda Civic. Plus his car pre-dates some emission law they have so he didn’t even have to send his car for a bi-annual (iirc) check up. Plus, no electronics means no high labour cost to fix up the car, he just did it himself.

That said, I do refer to the upcoming I4 ecoboost as an alternative to the current V6 models as they pump out similar power and torque, yet a more “economical” option in case it reaches our shores. But I do agree that the image is slightly off. A V6 mustang/camaro/charger, it just doesn’t have the same ring to it. They should revive the Capri, a modern classic, 2.3L ecoboost… kinda have a romantic feel to it.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 04, 2013 at 9:22 am

They will never into the Ecoboost for lower models in Malaysia like Focus. Because then the Focus will be priced at RM70,000 because it is a 1.0 cc car and lower tax.

Also, road tax will be RM20 per year. Less money for the cronies

Another thing, less fuel being used. Less money for the Petroleum companies which will be less tax paid to the gomen.

Our government want us to use more fuel. And to protect Proton, they will never allow it to come close to Proton price. See even 1.0 Fiesta, price at RM100,000!!. Should be RM50,000 because 1.0 lesser tax. But everything controlled by MITI to screw the rakyat of Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 30
    • Lol..funny comment..which crony collect roadtax? I tot JPJ collect roadtax..not allow to price close to p1 price? Where u gone bro? Full spec kia picanto price within p1. Same for kia rio.. in thai which is fiesta ecoboost 1.0 is made oso price almost ~RM80k (779k baht)..u want bolehland to price it RM50k?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • how can you compare with thai? their cars aren’t that cheap also.

• superbird #43 on Dec 04, 2013 at 7:37 pm

one day, we will also experience Oil Crisis and/or Energy Crisis much like the States experienced during 1973 and 1979. that’s when people start to use vehicle less (motorbike especially) and/or swap their fuel thirsty vehicle for efficient one i think or encourage public transport. dun ever think we will be spared from that.

• heybadigol on Dec 04, 2013 at 11:51 am

Kinda weird that a muscle car will have turbo, meaning that it too will go the downsizing route. No more big V8, sadly. Though a turbo 4 or 6 can put out about same power and torque as the big v8, it wont have the sexy grunt/burble of a V8.

But at least they’re giving us a RHD version, finally.

• superbird #43 on Dec 04, 2013 at 2:00 pm

characteristics of a true muscle car
    1.front engine, rwd
    2.400ci(6.5L) and above
    3.deep exhaust sound, normally aspirated
    4.bad suspension/good straight line performance’
    5.represents fun loving american culture
    6.big block v8, affordable
    with this mustang, however, they seemed to miss some of the points above. by putting inline-4, the monstrous amount of power and torque will be missed and no turbocharger can give us the same feel as the v8.
    even if 6th gen mustang debuts here in msia, i guess it will be priced around bmw 5 series. bad news for muscle car fans i guess, including me

• DonkeyKong on Dec 04, 2013 at 6:54 pm

Obsolete dinosaurs will be complaining about the lack of large NA engines in a Mustang but come on, to make it a global car, there has to be mass appeal and easy ownership for everyone in every market, and not every market is receptive to large engines.

The turbocharged I4 is *ONE OF THE ENGINE OPTIONS AVAILABLE*. Don’t know why everyone is bitching about it as if that’s the only engine available.

• paparadzi on Dec 05, 2013 at 4:38 am

While a 5-litre V-8 Mustangs are desirable, they are not practical in c.c-obsessed countries such as Malaysia. A small L4 will make it possible for some of us to finally own a Mustang, not necessarily the top-of-the -line but still a Mustang nevertheless.

I’ll get one, if the price is reasonable and the look is good.