Fast & Furious 7 filming suspended indefinitely

fast-and-furious-7-logo

The production of the latest Fast & Furious 7 filming has been shut down for an indefinite period following main star Paul Walker’s tragic death in a red Porsche Carrera GT along with his friend Roger Rodas. Paul Walker and Roger Rodas operated an auto shop together called Always Evolving Performance Motors.

Film for the movie was currently in progress and Walker had already shot many scenes, with filming set to continue on Monday this week in Atlanta. The movie was supposed to have premiered July 11 2014.

“All of us at Universal are dedicated to providing support to Paul’s immediate family and our extended Fast & Furious family of cast, crew and filmmakers. At this time we feel it is our responsibility to shut down production on Fast & Furious 7 for a period of time so we can assess all options available to move forward with the franchise. We are committed to keeping Fast & Furious fans informed, and we will provide further information to them when we have it.  Until then, we know they join us in mourning the passing of our dear friend Paul Walker,” said the studio in a statement.

The script obviously has to be rewritten, but the question is to what degree, and how much presence will Walker have in the final product. If filming remains on hiatus for an extended period, the release date could see it pushed to 2015.

Investigations into the cause of the car crash are still underway. According to witness Jim Torp in an interview with CNN, a blast was heard in the distance before the car hit a light pole, which could indicate that a tyre could have blown causing the car to lose control. Other sources claim that power steering fluid was found on the road ahead of the accident, which could mean something was mechanically wrong with the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• junaidi on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:28 pm

with all due respect, they don’t call that car the widow maker for nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
    • oh really on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:00 am

The Widowmaker is actually the 911 GT2, not Carrera GT. But nevertheless the Carrera GT is indeed quite a tricky car to drive for those inexperienced drivers.

• Tun Porshe on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:35 pm

ALAMAK…. if reports on mechanical issues are true, then Porshe could prepare to be sued!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Apa salah kena sue? Already earn so much money and then kena sue, its ok wat… Some more produce problematic car which kill Paul Walker, and possibly the F&F excitement/series too.. Padan muka Porshe if it’s true…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Fariq on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:55 pm

Big deal. Paul was a mediocre actor whose acting skills are probably as good as yours. If you think suing the manufacturer responsible for causing Paul’s apparent death, then many other car manufacturers will be liable for a legal suit. Instead of mourning his death, how about looking forward to see who’s replacing him in the movie? Typical.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 110
        • tiadaid on Dec 05, 2013 at 3:35 pm

He may be a mediocre actor, but he’s still a human being who left behind a daughter who loved him very much so don’t be so callous.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
          • Fariq on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:58 am

So? what separates him from all the other sons and daughters whose fathers died in accidents? What makes Paul such a person worthy of everyone’s mourning when there are others just like him out there whose deaths were not as dramatic or publicised as his? Pfft, grab a sense of the word ‘reality.’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
        • Fariq, you are such a farqing idiot. Your comments doesn’t reflect any compassion at all. I wonder sometimes if you are a human being at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 8
          • Fariq on Dec 06, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Haha, now now, hold your horses bro. I do feel the loss of Paul as much as all you other people do. But I choose to be optimistic about his passing. I am as human as you are, we just happen to have a different take on death. So, to each their own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
        • Sorchai on Dec 05, 2013 at 7:30 pm

What goes around comes around.

Be careful of your tongue. Do not speak ill of the dead.

I don’t want to bring your family into this but…

Your mother didn’t teach you manners ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
        • fuckingidiotfarq on Dec 05, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Fraq your comments shows what a horrible human being you are. Pls know the real Paul before commenting.http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2518431/Paul-Walkers-charity-work-Tinseltown-tsunami-zone.html . What have u done for society besides posting the stupid comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
          • Hello fren, the idiot above is Fariq, nor Farq. I’m Farq and I’ve screwed him in my posting above. Pls get your spelling correct.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
        • Danny on Dec 05, 2013 at 7:59 pm

Fariq, you are probably just a young kid who knows nothing of life. If so you’re forgiven. Or you’re a sociopath and it’s also probably not your fault. So while he wasn’t the best actor, he used his fame and money for good, starting a foundation to help victims in Haiti’s earthquake and the Philippines’ recent typhoon. He was a good guy. You are not. go away

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • “paul is a mediocre actor”
          And yet fariq sits in his home and wonders when he would be able to finally afford that pink kenari he has always dreamed about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
        • Farkup on Dec 06, 2013 at 4:58 pm

the best word to describe you is ..arrogant..

• hakimR on Dec 05, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Problematic car or not, if willing to buy, then risk is your indefinitely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • wow yeay on Dec 05, 2013 at 3:58 pm

how to sue?
      they already modded the car..
      so not according to manufacturer spec/design…
      go figure..

:)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Porsche = VAG….mechanical prob is not something unexpected…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Thomas on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Hello “crz”, can you tell me the name of the car company that is rated the best drivers car and best handling car in the world? Can you?

In case you don’t know, its Porsche. The company also has the best safety record in the world for performance cars and the best profits among any car company in the world. So please don’t make any silly accusation without knowing anything about “real” cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • Dugong on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:19 am

Best handling…hahaha…my grandma can drive a gtr and smoke your porker anytime. best handling masuk longkang probably….Don’t believe, see how many porker masuk longkang in ulu yam :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Dugongpimp on Dec 07, 2013 at 7:26 pm

You mean porky pig? What porker? Is that what your ulu yam school taught you?

By the way, your grandma must have slept with too many GTR drivers that she cant tell the difference between porky pig and a car.

• porschesince1974 on Dec 06, 2013 at 12:50 am

I notice there are many “young kids” in this site that does not know much about cars but act like they are god’s gift to automobile expertise!

Please learn the history of Porsche cars and why they are the most successful car company in the world of performance motoring, before making any silly comments about the make or its reputation.

• Heng Loo on Dec 05, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Porsche is for real men and not for gays who cannot drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 7
    • das auto on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Its Porsche u dumbass…nor Porche or Porshe. Go back to school and learn some spelling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Mamat on Dec 05, 2013 at 12:46 pm

Dear Sir,

Third paragraph is missing the inverted commas that signify an opening quote. Good day and regards, your daily reader. ;)

• NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO……

• Sam Loo on Dec 05, 2013 at 1:14 pm

FF series will be legacy since the decease of Paul.

• SamKonek on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:20 am

They will replace with sam loo driving toyota hailat doing fast and furious in jinjang.

Sure more famous than paul wanker fish and chip.

• RIP dear Paul &Roger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • SpongeWai on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:03 pm

what if FF7 resume production in sometimes, this will be last episode…

RIP to my idol, Paul Walker…

• Was expecting an explosive FF7 and the best in FF series, but too bad such things happen..

• Robert Kubica on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:08 pm

After this, riding in Porsche GT will also be classified as risky activities – in which film stars need to avoid, especially when their film haven’t finished shooting yet.

• agree..the producer should mention in the contract tht their stars only allowed to use proton cars as long as they still tied in a production.

• Abg Long on Dec 05, 2013 at 2:50 pm

F&F will not b the same w/o paul..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Simon Hoh on Dec 05, 2013 at 6:45 pm

FF7 filming shouldn’t be stopped. I’m sure Paul would have wanted it to go on, building upon the legacy that he has left behind.

• Porche sucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • superbird #43 on Dec 05, 2013 at 8:50 pm

driving too fast on the track is fine. but, driving too fast on the street, u r putting ur life and other people’s life at risk.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:10 pm

RIP : Paul Walker
    I wonder who is going to champion the GTR Skyline now? It’s also a lost for NISSAN.

BTW, there was a post on FB that featured Paul Walker claiming that his death was fake? Really don’t know what to believe these days.

• Savvy88 on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:29 pm

I think the storyline will be changed where Brian O’Connor will be the next victim murdered after Hahn. and the scene of the accident will take the real scene where Paul was killed.

• Raysonick Tham on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Honestly, I was not a fan of PW until I heard about his tragic death and I was shocked! From there I start to realize what a great actor he is. I managed to watch his last movie “HOURS” and it was great.

I hope once settled down, F&F 7 will continue although without PW. Maybe they (Director) could at least show he died in an honorable death like saving someone (Good Samaritan) and then continue with the storyline. I know it’s hard to watch F&F without PW, I understand that. It’s something like the TV Series GLEE, where the main actor/singer suddenly died but the series just continued after a long break.

Anyway RIP PW … You will be deeply missed by your love ones, friends and fans globally, especially in Malaysia!

• Raysonick Tham on Dec 05, 2013 at 9:39 pm

The Porsche that burst into flames with PW in it was also due to the petrol tank is situated in the front bonnet. This is the 2nd time I heard this. The first time was a Porsche GT3 RS3 where I took it for a wedding shoot in year 2008, a year plus later the same accident happened like how PW died in the car accident but the driver managed to escape just in time before bursting in flames. I have still the pictures with me.

• DamienS on Dec 05, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Hey young ciku – Jo, please learn how to spell the car name first before you learn how to suck. Grow up, kid!

• jolly_idiot on Dec 05, 2013 at 11:11 pm

Rip paul walker. We always miss you and always love you…

Back to FF7. Easy. Get a guy go to korea and have a heavy modification to make like paul and have the show keep moving. A tip for the director, in respect to paul do revise the script and let him die in the movie too. So moving forward FF8 can go on better.

An advise to other actor in FF7. Especially Vin Diesel. Starting from now, please drive like a sissy on the road and do not risk your life. Otherwise no more FF8.

• The issue is..how many euro ncap star does a porsche carrera gt has? If none..i also can build one as fast as it does.

• Sabon on Dec 06, 2013 at 12:43 am

Abon – If you can build one, you will be too busy being rich and successful to be spending time here in this site with all us mere mortals.

• Heng Loo on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:06 am

‘The Carrera GT quickly developed a reputation as a car for skilled drivers only, Patrick George, of the auto enthusiast website Jalopnik, tells THR. Jeremy Clarkson, the host of BBC’s Top Gear, once described its handling as “knife edge” and that if the driver makes a mistake, “It bites your head off.” ‘
    ‘What makes the car so fast, points out Beggs, is not just the 612 horsepower V10 engine but “that it’s a relatively light car for the size. The carbon-fiber chassis and power make it go — a lot of acceleration is just power-to-weight [ratio]. It’s not all about the horsepower.”

IndyCar racer Graham Rahal told Jalopnik: “It’s a race car for the street. Simple as that. It asks for and needs respect at all times. It’s not a car for people who don’t have experience driving high-end vehicles or race cars really, for that matter.”‘

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/paul-walkers-death-porsche-carrera-661728