Sixth-generation Ford Mustang: first details on 2.3L Ecoboost inline-4 and 5.0L V8 engines

27 Three quarter on background

The sixth-generation Ford Mustang was officially unveiled last night simultaneously in six cities worldwide, and we were at the Sydney launch to bring you live coverage of the event.

We’ve already covered the initial details on the car in our story yesterday (with live photos), but today we have more technical details on the Mustang to share with you. The sixth-generation Mustang measures 4,784 mm long, 1,916 mm wide and 1,381 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,720 mm. That’s the same wheelbase as the outgoing fifth-gen, but the car is longer, wider, with the height being about the same.

2.3 litre Ecoboost engine

02 EcoBoost engine fact sheet

The model that Malaysia will most likely get is the one in the middle of the line-up, which is powered by a four-cylinder 2.3 litre Ecoboost GTDI engine. It already has more than enough power, and has significantly more affordable taxation – both in terms of road tax as well as import and excise duties.

The new 2.3 litre Ecoboost brings turbocharging to the Mustang powertrain line-up. It’s the first Ford engine to use a low-inertia twin-scroll turbocharger to provide quicker boost response. A twin-scroll turbo allows Ford to keep the exhaust pulses separated from the next cylinder in the firing order, eliminating mixing losses and maximising pulse energy to the turbine wheel.

The cylinder head features an integrated exhaust manifold that separates the inner and outer pairs of cylinders into each inlet passage to the turbo. The separated exhaust ports also enable the exhaust valves to stay open longer for reduced pumping losses that improve specific fuel consumption by about one percent.

The engine is expected to produce 305 hp at 5,500 rpm and 407 Nm of torque from 2,500 rpm to 4,500 rpm for the American market spec – 90 % of that torque is said to be available from 1,500 rpm. Because of the high power to displacement ratio, the engine features a forged steel crankshaft and conrods, piston cooling jets, steel piston ring carriers, premium bearing materials, upgrade valve seat materials, a high-pressure die-cast aluminium cylinder block with ladder-frame bearing caps, and a deep sump die-cast aluminium oil pan.

The engine uses a 9.5:1 compression ratio with direct-injection and twin-independent variable camshaft timing, and is said to be able to run on RON91 fuel. Bore and stroke is 87.55 mm by 94 mm. The steering is of the EPS type, with a 12.2m kerb to kerb turning circle.

The Ecoboost Mustang will be available with either a six-speed manual from Getrag or a ZF-based six-speed automatic gearbox with paddle shifters. Power goes to the rear wheels, and the Mustang comes with a limited-slip differential. Brakes for the Ecoboost model are 352 x 32 mm vented discs at the front with four piston 46 mm fixed aluminium calipers, and 330 x 25 mm vented discs at the rear with single piston 45 mm floating iron calipers. Standard tyres are 19-inch wheels with a nine-inch width, wrapped with 255/40 series tyres.

5.0 litre V8 engine

29 V8 engine fact sheet

The top-of-the-line engine is the 5.0 litre V8, which will power the Mustang GT. The engine does 420 hp at 6,500 rpm and 529 Nm of torque at 4,250 rpm. Compression ratio is 11.0:1 and the engine is recommended to run on RON98 fuel. There’s no direct-injection here, but there’s twin-independent variable camshaft timing at least.

The block and head are aluminium, while the pistons are cast aluminium and the conrods are forged. Because this engine will tend to have to be revved high, it has stiffer valve springs compared to the old V8 to ensure that the valves close completely at high RPM. The intake manifold has control valves to partially close off port flow at lower engine speeds. This increases the air charge tumble and swirl for improved air-fuel mixing, resulting in better fuel economy, idle stability and lower emissions.

The V8-powered Mustang will also get either a six-speed manual from Getrag or a ZF-based six-speed automatic gearbox with paddle shifters, sending power to the rear wheels through a limited slip differential. It has larger brakes – 380 x 34 mm vented discs at the front with Brembo six-pot 36 mm fixed aluminium calipers, and 330 x 25 mm vented discs at the rear with single-piston 45 mm floating iron calipers. The V8 Mustang uses a staggered wheel setup – 19 by nine-inch wheels at the front wrapped with 255/40 tyres and 19 by 9.5-inch wheels at the rear wrapped with 275/40R tyres.

Both the left-hand drive and right-hand drive Mustangs will be built at Ford’s Flat Rock assembly plant in Michigan. Prototypes will begin to be built in January 2014, but full scale production will begin later. Australia is expected to get the Mustang in 2015, so a Malaysian launch will probably happen then as well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• theanswer on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:04 am

2.3L 4 cylinder might be too small (of course can mod it higher) but i’d prefer to make it 3.0L v6 twin turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 32
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:01 am

This is a toilet car. Anything from US is always crap quality. Especially their cars. That is why Ford sales are so slow. Their Focus and Kuga sales are like ZERO. Yes, Fiesta selling well, but ALL current Fiesta owners crying because of super expensive parts prices.

This Mustang is doomed for failure in Malaysia. Why buy this trash when for the same price you can buy a Porsche C2S?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • I can never get my head around accepting a I-4 Mustang. I know it is powerful and efficient and being half the size of the V8, lighter and nimbler, effectively beating the purpose of why I like the Mustang…sheer unforgivable brute force. I know the thinking is old and stereotypical, but when they slot in a RB26DETT into a Mustang in Tokyo Drift, there were many up-roar from fenatics, both Mustang and JDM fans.

The aesthatic itself harks back to the days where muscle car were intimidating in appearence and a engine that is smart and controllable in this seems wrong. Down-vote me, but I’am sticking to the V8 for the Mustang. Come to think of it, Ford, why not a ecoboost V8, that would be nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Fariq on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:44 am

As mentioned in the article; it’s wiser to bring in the smaller displacement variant instead of the 5.0 litre variant. The reason is simple – taxes. Make no mistake, the V8 is unquestionably the preferred choice among the many stang enthusiasts. But if Ford brings in the 2.3T stang here, it’ll undoubtedly sell, as well as make many of our dreams come true. What are the odds of having an American muscle on Malaysian soil? I say bring it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
      • Boy Racer on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:22 pm

Agreed. Although plenty will agree that the 5.0 litre V8 is the way to go, based on the specs of the 2.3 litre EcoBoost engine, I’d say that’s pretty good too. Besides, it will be WAY cheaper to have the 2.3 than the 5.0 litre Mustang.

• Truth be told, I find the inline-4 more or less akin to a hairdresser car, all the show, but in this case still has the go. the I4 Stang’ is none the less a globalize Ford; like many company in this day and age, they found out icon sells, so by making it more available, they can rake in the extra profit. But this bring a consequence little cared by large manufecturing company and as well as non-motoring enthusiast(the market majority), pedigree.

To me a I-4 Mustang is less special, its more of a marketing ploy than an actual attempt to make a car great. It also makes Mustangs less special, back than owning a Mustang means something, like (in reference to Tog Gear)owning an Orca, its awesome to have but impractical. Now you can have a proper V8 Mustang, but your neigbour with a I-4 Mustang will laugh at you for your rather insensible decission for one just because you are a purist. imagine tomorrow waking up and found out Ferrari is selling another model with a Toyota-reliable V6 at the price of a 370Z, yes there will be rejoicing, but will owning a Ferrari be special anymore, now that every joe can have one.

This is a very opiniated comment, so most likely I’am speaking this out to a small minority.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • seancorr (Member) on Nov 04, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Watch this…Mustang vs Camaro

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTJPDurLEKw

• Chris on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:11 am

How about the 3.5L V6 ecoboost in the current F150 truck? Some 365hp and 569nm of torque? I haven’t heard of any V8 ecoboost at all.

• There is no V8 ecobbost, its just a suggestion. But I think the V6 model of the stang’ will have the ecoboost V6. I find the V6 to be a more authentic choice for a budget stang’ . I mean the Mustang did begin life with a Inline-6.

• The 3.7 V6 (mainly for North America) and the 5.0 V8 are just re-tuned versions of the current naturally aspirated Mustang engines. The standard/base engine for most export markets is expected to be the 2.3 EcoBoost, this is the middle engine in the US between the V6 and V8.

• Celicazz on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:22 am

It wont be called eco boost, then.

It is surely be an expensive to make such v8.

In ford’s philosophy, its a no, no.

• get the 2.3l, swap a v8, dont tell jpj.

• Raja Lawak on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:09 am

“The model that Malaysia will most likely get is the one in the middle of the line-up, which is powered by a four cylinder 2.3 litre Ecoboost GTDI engine. It already has more than enough power, and has significantly more affordable taxation – both in terms of road tax as well as import and excise duties.”

Fat hope lah. Sure the price RM500K later.

Nobody can afford it unless your daddy is big time VIP or former menteri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Dont be such a pessimist and so silly. They way u said it i guess when ppl driving nice car u r straight to assume them are VIP son, cronies, mafia or former menteri? I do hate cronies and those who makan rasuah to be rich. But malaysia have many more honest business man than easily afford one or more cars that cost RM400k and above. Besides, Camaro 6.2L only 499k. So Mustang 2.3L most probably will be price at RM250-280K. U have to rmb, Mustang in US is not as luxury as Conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
      • That’s right, not all rich ppl are evil or bad. Many rich ppl work really and reap what they sow. It’s always the rotten apples that spoil the rest.

• Kuchai on Dec 06, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Ya thats right.we can afford fiesta only

• shawal on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:24 am

1 year to save up…lol…

• zamer on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:32 am

damn..i would love this more than the 4 series..
    ford maybe just a focus, but mustang is a different thing

bmw conventional looks among all other model is no longer attractive..

put this mustang and red mazda 6 in garage and i’ll be smiling all day long

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • tricycle on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:34 am

Paul, what would be estimated price if Ford Malaysia decides to bring it to Malaysia? Hopefully not more than 250k. At least we will have American muscle on our road.

• longjaafar on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:41 am

Agreed. If it is RM250k and below, it will fly…

• ford owner on Dec 07, 2013 at 7:21 pm

It wont be 250k..
        Ford fiesta st is 150k
        Focus st is 200k

So how?

• Dont be too optimistic bro…just look at the price for Chevy Camaro sold here as comparison. It wont differ much.

• i think he meant the 2.3L. Of coz u dont expect a 5L car to be sold at RM280k. But Camaro with 6.2L oni sold at 499k so i guess Mustang 5.0L will be arounf RM500K? or lesser. Check the price in US dollar and times 10 then u roughly will have our Ringgit value.

• kingston5 on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:50 am

Ford Malaysia,please bring it into Malaysia in RHD!

• StigMata on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:52 am

To be built in January 2014.
    You meant 2014, not 2015, when you said:

“…will be built at Ford’s Flat Rock assembly plant in Michigan. Prototypes will begin to be built in January 2015, but full scale production will begin later.”

• PHILIP LOH on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:22 am

An American muscle car icon ……

• farizY on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:30 am

Obviously I can’t afford this car, but, will there be any right-hand drive version? Maybe for the UK market? That would be awesome.

• Ponypower on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:36 am

yes there are right-hand drive versions. From what I understand they will be available at a later date then the US release but I’m sure that is subject to change

• The idea of putting any other engine than a V8 in a mustang is sheer lunacy…

• Ponypower on Jan 19, 2014 at 1:39 am

Please explain? It started as an I-6 and has had I-6, I-4, I-4 turbo, V-6, V-8 put in it over the years. Unless it has changed recently the most sold Mustang model in history was the 79-93 I-4 LX model

• Sam Loo on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:02 am

99% of the commenter here won’t afford to get this american muscle.Better mimic me and get a toyota camry, , it’s is luxury and chick magnet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • superbird #43 on Dec 06, 2013 at 3:02 pm

i have a ’70 400ci(6.6L) Pontiac Firebird Formula

• Shut up la Sam

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 08, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Tai Lan Ngong Sorhai K5 owner with a permanent hailat face trying to impersonate Sam again

• Sam Loo on Dec 08, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Well, as long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

As long as its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• encik boss on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:04 am

kalau aku kayaa~

• Hadi75 on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:37 am

Prefer the look of the previous gen…this one look like a mitsubishi from certain angle….

• Fingers crossed on Dec 06, 2013 at 12:00 pm

The rest kept its original design but the front looks more like infinity. Would be interesting to see this here.

• sp33d3mon on Dec 06, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Paul, american ’91 Octane’ fuel is actually equivalent to our RON95.

• ss427 on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Actually its approx RON 97 we have over here.

PON 92 octane is about RON 98 here
      PON 89 octane is about RON 95 here
      PON 87 octane is about RON 92 here

• ss427 on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:34 pm

I don’t know about Bolehland but Ford distributor in SG has already confirmed that the new Mustang will be sold in SG :D :D
    We will have both models, the 2.3L Ecoboost and the 5L V8. Transmission choices are unknown for the moment but local Ford dealer said rest assured the 6MT will be available (dunno which model though)

Ahhh I can hardly wait.. The current model Mustang GT can be had for about top spec Camry and Accord $$ in the US. Hopefully the Mustang will be priced as such in SG too. So for a budget of Camry 2.5, we can get the Mustang 5.0 here :D:D

• superbird #43 on Dec 06, 2013 at 2:59 pm

pricing? competition? let me guess…
    2.3L ecoboost
    – around the price of mitsubishi lancer gt
    – compete with regular japanese and european cars
    3.7L v6
    – around the price of nissan fairlady 370z
    – compete with higher end japanese sports car
    5.0L v8
    – around the price of bmw m3 e92 coupe
    – its a new environment for the mustang. expect to see competition from every corner.

we all know, the govt are very involved with that. they wont let u have the 5.0L motor so easily. where Americans get it rather easily, it might cost a pair of hand and feet here. (unless ur a high ranking govt official)

i wonder if we also get the mustang here in the near future. we’ll wait and see.

• shawal on Dec 06, 2013 at 6:24 pm

If u were to register ur 5.0 v8 in east malaysia…
    U wud oni pay 1/2 the amount for roadtax

• superbird #43 on Dec 06, 2013 at 8:22 pm

i agree. :D
      but u wont be able to realise the full potential of the 5.0 v8 in east msia. i’ll tell u the reasons:
      1. long roads connecting several villages
      2. small roads and their obstacles(slow cars, lorries, buses, blind corners)
      3. the conditions are pretty bad (potholes, patches everywhere)
      4. no dedicated highway from kuching to miri
      its a breeze climbing steep mountains and hills with my ’70 400ci firebird, much faster than the turbocharged pickup truck and modified cars, though it ‘drinks’ more petrol. i only drives it when i have some cash to spare and for long distance journey.
      *People have a long, hard look at my car along the way thinking its just a regular Toyota Corolla. its a RHD, 4 speed manual btw. :D

• paparadzi on Dec 06, 2013 at 8:54 pm

For the 2.3 L4, price it below the BMW 4-series price and people will buy. Not exactly cheap, but reachable.

As for the 5.0 V8, not many people will be happy to pay RM 11k per year for road tax, not to mention the purchase price.

• Scarlet Rose on Dec 07, 2013 at 11:07 am

wow….this machine is so macho and really eye-catching.
    Cant imagine how gorgeous it will be if driven by a real man…

• nighttrain on Dec 07, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Mustang in Malaysia. It’s marketed an affordable sports car elsewhere in the world. Just like Toyota 86. Should be the same dumbass price.