Maserati Quattroporte sixth-gen launched in Malaysia: V6 and V8 models, priced from RM899k to 1.139 mil

Maserati Quattroporte 0003

Following its reveal nearly a full year ago, the sixth-gen Maserati Quattroporte has finally landed in Malaysia, with a choice of V6 or V8 power – both twin-turbocharged and direct-injected.

The V6 model is called the Maserati Quattroporte S – its 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 makes 410 hp at 5,500 rpm and 550 Nm of torque from 1,750 to 5,000 rpm, propelling it to 100 km/h from rest in 5.1 seconds and onwards to a 285 km/h top speed.

The Maserati Quattroporte GTS is the V8-powered flagship – this one’s powered by a 3.8 litre twin-turbo V8 that produces 530 hp at 6,500 rpm and 650 Nm of twist from 2,000 to 4,000 rpm (710 Nm from 2,250 to 3,500 rpm in overboost). The century sprint is done in 4.7 seconds and top speed is a heady 307 km/h.

The V8-engined Quattroporte GTS is the fastest four-door Maserati ever built; the V6-engined Quattroporte S the most economical. Both engines – designed in conjunction with, and assembled by, Ferrari – drive the rear wheels through an eight-speed ZF auto.

Auto Normal, Auto Sport, Manual Normal, Manual Sport and ICE (Increased Control and Efficiency) drive modes are available. Suspension is taken care of by double wishbones up front and a five-link setup out back.

Cabin features include an 8.4-inch Maserati Touch Control screen with navigation and reverse camera, Bluetooth, USB and AUX compatibility and INOX Sport pedals. A 15-speaker Bowers & Wilkins sound system is standard on the V8 and optional on the V6, while in-car WiFi is optional for both.

Noticeable differences between the V6 and the V8 include the exhaust tips (V6 oval, V8 trapezoidal), brake discs (V6 slightly smaller) and wheels (V6 245/45 R19 front and 275/49 R19 rear, V8 245/40 R20 front, 285/35 R20 rear).

Introductory prices, excluding road tax and insurance, are thus: RM898,800 for the Quattroporte S V6 and RM1,138,800 for the Quattroporte GTS V8. We’ve driven the new Maserati Quattroporte and find it very good at mixing business with pleasure – click here to read our test drive report from Italy.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• eVaz88 on Dec 06, 2013 at 5:00 pm

Still, GTR can Tapao Maserati anytime~ Just my 2 cent point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 92
    • comparing a 2 door sports car engineered around the nurburgring against a 4 door luxury saloon.
      Next time keep your points to yourself unless you wish to advertise your lack of intelligence.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 4
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:58 am

In Malaysia, we will get lots of orders for this car. Strangely, not from CEOs or multimillionaires.

The bulk of any orders, especially for BMW, Mercedes, Porsche and Ferrari always comes from Government servants. Yes, even the kerani in the office has enough money to pay in cash for a Maserati.

Don’t believe? Ask any Porsche salesman. They will tell you the same. So, if you want to be rich, irrespective of position, join our Civil Service ie Gomen. Life will be easy and beautiful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • In the boxing arena, there are light-, medium-, and heavy-weight boxers, you cant simply mess them up. Please have some intelligence b4 making any comment.

• superbird #43 on Dec 07, 2013 at 11:01 pm

a 1964 427cid Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt and 1968 426cid Dodge Dart can tapao GTR 0-60mph and 1/4 mile any time. How about that?

• not worth 2 cents at all!

• Being a Maserati, it looks great but weirdly, abit generic. I will side towards the previous generation for outright looks. Like the Ford Mustang, it is a more accesable version of a very special car thou I wonder why we didn’t get the 4WD system, I know it dosen’t snow here but Malaysia; poorly organise road, wild potholds and couple with wet monsoon season ,4WD should be a great feature.

Can’t wait for the Ghibli, price around the F10 ger, not that I am going to get one in the forseeable future but would be nice to see more Maseratis on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • IMO, if the price of Quatttroporte starts from RM899K, the Gibli will be priced from RM550K..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • borris on Dec 07, 2013 at 1:42 am

CBU mah…

• abuya123 on Dec 07, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Ingatkan harga 79k to 99k. Baru ingat nak tempah 1 tadi…. Kena cek mata ler aku ni….

Anyway, mahal sangat la…. Kesian orang kaya…. ingatkan orang miskin je beli kereta berhutang. Yang kaya pun beli kereta berhutang padahal mampu beli cash. Sebab orang kaya bukan nak beli saga SV. Nak maserati…. Tu yang kena berhutang.

• Akira on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:04 pm

I’ll echo you on this one. Really looking forward to the Ghibli.

• Smile33 on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:20 pm

Agreed.. The previous generation looks fierce.. Unique.. A bit classic.. Most importantly the engine V8 engine sound roar. This new model engine sound a bit tame.

• Nice to see another luxury item…but the new s class is still the fav in luxury segment…nthg comes close to it…nice to have options hope to see a few in malaysian highways

• Wan L on Dec 06, 2013 at 5:14 pm

for that amount of money, I rather have the new S Class..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Lan J on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:29 pm

different league, should be CLS, Panamera or 6series.

• S class?? Cmon, s class is so common in Malaysia now. No one actually stare when u r driving one. But if u drive this, the roaring sound is alrsy enough to make ppl drool.

• bluebird on Dec 06, 2013 at 5:27 pm

car price RM450k, Tax price RM450K = RM 900K.
    Thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • It does not fit 300% tax or 200% tax

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • I see what you mean, but the price starts from 900k EXCLUDING taxes. So yea…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • Aaron on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Brother, if you look closely, 900K exclude road tax and insurance, not excise/import/sales tax.

• Old news on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:21 pm

Tell us something we don’t know. You got money, you buy. If not enough money, work harder & smarter so you can afford a 900k car someday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 06, 2013 at 5:52 pm

Where’s that spoilt-brat maserati…?

I wonder if he had already sold off his parents’ properties to buy these cars…

• Guan Yin Ma on Dec 06, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Introductory prices, EXCLUDING tax and insurance, are thus: RM898,800 for the Quattroporte S V6 and RM1,138,800 for the Quattroporte GTS V8. So with tax it will cost RM 1.6mil for V6 ? Any typo ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Road tax on Dec 06, 2013 at 9:53 pm

Read carefully. It’s excluding road tax and insurance. So, its going to be around 930k on-the-road.

• Horrified on Dec 06, 2013 at 10:31 pm

There’s a limit to how much we can take man, RM898k and RM1.138M BEFORE taxes? WTF 400+k FREE profit before even considering the taxes, after tax if really double the price, they profit total RM800,000+ PER CAR? Malaysia BOLEH!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • Jiawee on Dec 07, 2013 at 2:40 pm

Hey noob..

RM900k before road tax + car insurance.
        Total for this = RM20k – RM30k.
        depends on your NCD.

RM900k already include import duty & TAX by MALAYSIA. the komunism style, Ripping off from the rich for the poor.

• abuya123 on Dec 07, 2013 at 6:45 pm

No need to shout bro… Not your money

• For 900k, which is the price of the M5 as well..

M5 is the obvious choice here.
    V8 engine vs V6
    560HP vs 410HP
    4.4 sec vs 5.1 sec to 100km/hr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • razibar on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:16 pm

ahaaa…finally the car i’ve been waiting to buy for my wife for christmas…maybe one for my mom too…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • PauKaya on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Introductory prices, excluding tax and insurance, are thus: RM898,800 for the Quattroporte S V6 and RM1,138,800….uk price starts from £80,095……so where did another 400k go to? salesman commission ah…daheck

• abuya123 on Dec 07, 2013 at 6:53 pm

Assuming out of 400,000, salesman got 80k. Najib and friends got 319,999.20. 80 cents you got it indirectly, out of portion from BR1M.

Anyway…. you still got your portion. If you want more, dont let Anwar be PM. You yourself should be PM

• James are u sure that is before tax?that is more like after tax price.

• Heybadigol on Dec 06, 2013 at 7:44 pm

Beautiful car. And a fairly large boot for an Italian car. If the price is minus tax, how much is the tax? Saw the reviews on YouTube, both engines sound awesome. Can’t expect less from a Ferrari derived engine.

Can’t wait for the Ghibli to reach here. That one is expected to be a volume seller. Mate it with the 3.0 turbo, then you’ve got a car that will be very fast, and an exciting, though slightly dearer alternative to the BMW 5 series and Merc E Class.

• SIGMA on Dec 06, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Is the price correct? are you sure is before tax ? base price in US is $102,500(approx RM360k) only and you are telling me RM900k is before tax…..

• Paid Naza Italia a visit. Prices are WITH local taxes but are off the road. i.e. without road tax, reg fee and insurance. Car looks lovely in the metal and still sounds very mean.

• Painter on Dec 06, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Buy comparison, the Quattroporte rivals S-Class or E-class?

• Neither, i would say more towards the CLS, 6 Series competition, it is meant to be swift and sporty but sits 5.

• beautiful interior and front, but ugly rear like cerato/mazda 6. great car overall but only if maserati has quite the reliability of a porsche.

• i wan the model miss carey ng!

• blackbox on Dec 07, 2013 at 10:07 am

Shit! Wet already….

• ShutUp on Dec 07, 2013 at 10:17 am

I ain’t gonna buy a MYR 1 million Cerato!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Maserati(Official) on Dec 07, 2013 at 3:40 pm

I was about to purchase this when I saw it was launched one year ago.

So Malaysia selling at a higher price on a rather old model, what else is new here…

Such a shame as my big pile of cash lying motionlessly on the store room are begging to be spent this year to reward myself for a years of hard work …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • bluebird on Dec 07, 2013 at 4:24 pm

the car is worth a price of a freehold bungalow. It is like a moving bungalow.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:20 am

This car RV is hopeless. Buy at 1.2 mil after 1 yr you will beg me to trade in at only 200k. Better buy an Alphard 3.5 and travel in comfort and style and watch ppl turn green in envy. If performance is required we got lexus LFA which can easily tapau this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • So many ppl comment on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:04 am

Damn so many ppl give all sorts of opinion regarding the car. But out of all commenter, i think those really can afford mayb only 5% of it. Most only talk cock.

• inginiyer on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:21 am

malaysia salah lagi…. biase le tu….