Mercedes-Benz CLA-Class comes in via the grey route

While Mercedes-Benz Malaysia is preparing to introduce the new CLA-Class here in Malaysia, grey importers have already taken the opportunity to bring in the car, which was first unveiled to the world in January 2013.

This CLA-Class was seen on a trailer by reader Asmadi, along with other Japanese and German grey import cars. It might be appealing to someone who wants a CLA-Class before anyone else in Malaysia, or perhaps for those who are looking for a cheaper price, but you’ll be missing out on Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s four year unlimited mileage warranty.

This grey import car wears an AMG Sport bodykit, unlike the black CLA 200 that we saw previously which was fitted with the Urban equipment line. Like the A-Class it’s based on, the CLA 200 is powered by a turbocharged 1.6 litre engine with 154 hp and 250 Nm, while the CLA 250 gets a more serious 2.0 litre turbo four that makes 208 hp and 350 Nm.

After the CLA-Class is eventually launched in Malaysia, we’ll be looking forward to the introduction of the GLA-Class next to go against the likes of the BMW X1.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• peneng already got 1 on the road…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Larry on Dec 07, 2013 at 7:16 am

FWD is really no fun, better get a Camry with bigger space and reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 66
      • u r comparing 2 cars from totally different segment! Compact Luxury Sedan vs mid-size family sedan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Petrolhead on Dec 08, 2013 at 12:38 am

Verdicts of the CLA
          “Light on luxury, harsh ride, not that cheap once you equip it. When you pay for half a Mercedes, you get half a Mercedes.” -Car and Driver
          “A Mercedes that fails to satisfy its judges on many of the levels on which we’d usually expect a Benz to compete. In terms of cabin ambience and space, its interior lags behind the best you’d expect at this level. Likewise in performance, ride, handling and, dare we say it, appearance.” -Autocar
          “Merc has created an entirely new niche here, and it had an opportunity to build a car that really stood out. Something to get excited about. But it doesn’t look good enough, or drive well enough, for that. It might be a baby CLS in theory, but it’s not a baby CLS in practice.” -Top Gear

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
          • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:17 am

That is CBU, once its CKD, imagine how trashy and low class it owuld be? To all CKD fanboys, dream on thinking our CKD quality is at par with CBU German quality. If everything can be Made in Malaysia, nobody will buy Mat Salleh things lah from Europe anymore. There is a reason why many Datins and Tan Sris go to Europe to buy real Made in Europe products.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Fake Fella. Impersonator

I only deal used Hyundai

No demand at all for KIA

• Good joke:

‘Toyota recalls 803,000 Camrys, other models’

http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/cars/2013/10/17/toyota-camry-recall/3004119/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Camry compare with Mercedes ? JOKE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
        • SamCucukTheHilux on Dec 07, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Sam Loo garbage team member comparing luxury and non luxury car. Sam Loo kindergarden boy memang macam ini. Takda otak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
          • simonsays on Dec 08, 2013 at 7:20 am

Orang ada otak takan nak beli kereta camni, FWD Mercedes YUCK PTHUIII……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
        • Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:37 pm

People that have hailat face buys KIA and Hyundai.

For KIA owners, be prepared to be greeted with broomstick when you try to trade in the rotten cabbage

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:54 am

Lately, all Mercedes within one year can lose so much RV. Even 2013 E250 now being sold by MBM for RM270,000 just to clear stock, when brand new is RM400,000.

This CLA is no different. Always buy a 1 year old E class or CLA class. You will be thanking me Sam Loo for this wise advise. Remember most 1 year old cars are virtually brand new but RM100,000 less!

And 2nd year onwards, the depreciation lessens in momentum. Maybe 20 to 30k per year.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:38 pm

For KIA, no used car dealer in town will accept trade in anymore.

They have to try hard in mudah.my or lelong.com.my

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 07, 2013 at 1:53 am

This show how efficient “grey” importer are LOL!!LOL!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • Grey importer = AP king
      If u wanna know

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
      • Unforgiven on Dec 07, 2013 at 8:58 am

That’s free money into the pockets system/process. Cannot understand want we wanna do that/continue to do that. Funny!

• kktan on Dec 07, 2013 at 2:02 am

doesnt worth to drive this cars , end of day rempit will hit it , people will scratch it…….

rather buy a used truck to hit around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
    • john mat on Dec 07, 2013 at 2:18 pm

If you can’t afford it don’t be sarcastic. ..others with big money can spend on it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • kancil driver on Dec 07, 2013 at 3:05 am

wa many rich people in peneng. how rich people get money?

• ayyoo maa… abes la the W204 models…price goes down..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano on Dec 07, 2013 at 9:42 am

CLA is not a poor man’s Mercedes for me. Small price, but big amount of beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • john mat on Dec 07, 2013 at 2:20 pm

Small price???you kidding me…rm 288k for this machine with 1.6 cc…over priced.. should be around 230k only.

• Jeff Ng on Dec 08, 2013 at 5:36 am

Its actually the taxes in Malaysia that made it overprice. Without taxes would probably costs you RM120k. Well that is even cheaper than a taxed Honda Civic. Imagine that you work 3k monthly (working class) in UK for a year and you can actually cash buy it.

• small price apekejadahnye.in the west this is the ‘cheap’ mercedes range that one can buy but here they jack up the price kaw kaw claiming because its a coupe; a sports coupe is more expensive than sedan in malaysia by practice.

but den again malaysia apparently so many rich ppl who has no problem paying for it and make the AP king laughing happily

• john mat on Dec 07, 2013 at 2:23 pm

MBSA has put an over priced for 1.6cc car..CLA 200 for 288k…omg.

• Naim KV1688 on Dec 07, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Akhirnya dapat jugak cla nanti…

• Asking price too high on Dec 07, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Gray importer asking RM322,000 for this

Crazy Price..

• Tested this grey import at Afcar Auto..overall is a good car..not great but good..slightly smaller seats than my w204..abit larger than a200..reminds me of sonata too lol..I’ll gonna skip this..w205 will beat this cla straight..just wondering what price it’s gonna come up..

• Satrian on Dec 07, 2013 at 6:00 pm

Bro in Kelate got one …red colour
    Thought A200 from front but see back and shocked by my self . Booted with cla180 name plate

• teamsleepnine on Dec 07, 2013 at 11:13 pm

saw one in seremban 2,white colour saw from the back…despite being a self proclaimed mercedes fanboy not me cuppa tea..maybe if i got to see it properly i will change me mind.

• Stealth on Dec 08, 2013 at 2:42 pm

Any idea on its pricing? Could this babe be priced lower than a C class? Something between A and C class?

• farizY on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:38 am

If one can afford it, might as well buy it officially from Mercedes-Benz.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:39 pm

If its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a KIA, it can be traded in