Next-generation Nissan Sylphy and Nissan Teana to launch in Malaysia in 2014?

tokyo2013-nissan-serena-01
Nissan Serena facelift unveiled at Tokyo 2013 – will this be the CKD model?

We learned last month through a report by Maybank Research that Tan Chong will be launching the Nissan Note in 2014, and a new A-segment car in 2015. Well, it looks like that’s not all that the Malaysian Nissan distributor has up its sleeves for the next year.

UPDATE: The new Nissan Sylphy is now open for booking. Read our full and exclusive test drive report.

According to a site visit report by HLIB Research, we’ll see the new C-segment Nissan Sylphy launched in Q2 2014, and the new D-segment Nissan Teana launched in Q3 2014. The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid will be introduced as a CKD car in Q3 2014 as well.

DSC_0154b
New Nissan Sylphy

The Nissan Sylphy currently sold in Malaysia is an aging model that was recently facelifted with new tail lamps. It has been replaced by a new model that was launched in Thailand in August 2012. We attended the launch and came back with brief driving impressions which you can read here: Nissan Sylphy brief test drive in Thailand.

The new model gets an improved 116 PS/154 Nm 1.6 litre engine, now with dual variable valve timing and a first-in-class dual fuel injector system, using two spray nozzles per cylinder. It’s mated to either a five-speed manual or an Xtronic CVT. The range-topping engine is a new longer-stroke 131 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre motor codenamed MRA8DE, with dual variable valve timing, mated to an Xtronic CVT.

Teana Thailand-06
New Nissan Teana

The L33 Nissan Teana is a newer car, only making its ASEAN debut in Thailand recently in October. You can pick from a 2.0 or 2.5 litre engine, but the latter is now a four-cylinder engine and no longer a V6. Both engines are paired to a CVT.

Our man Jonathan test drove a Chinese market variant in the US – you can read his brief driving impressions of the 2014 Nissan Teana.

Learn more: ,

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• testdrivereview on Dec 08, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Note that your link to the test drive review for Slyphy is missing. Page not found.

• platte on Dec 08, 2013 at 7:19 pm

Preve – 1.6l Turbo – 140PS, 205nm
      Sylphy – 1.8l – 131 PS, 174Nm

Hail Proton!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 37
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:47 am

This cannot be true. Because Nissan always launches cars in Malaysia 8 years later, after the model becomes old and obsolete. That is ETCM, lembap and slow. Anyway, nobody buys Nissan anymore after their scum CEO openly came out in public and said having high car prices and high car taxes was very good for all the 30 million people population in Malaysia. Malaysians can NEVER forget this wonderful statement by the No 1. Man in Nissan Malaysia ETCM. A very shocking statement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 22
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:13 am

Nissan is a toilet company. The current Teana in Malaysia was launched in Singapore 8 years before it was launched in Malaysia. And in that 8 years, ETCM was selling old stock Cefiro Brougham to Malaysians whilst the new car was in Singapore 8 years ago. They were so ashamed of this, they renamed the Cefiro as Teana. So, when you go to Singapore, the Cefiro is still sold, yes the latest model.

ETCM, stop bullshitting to Malaysians lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 26
      • kington on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:58 am

You’re quite an academic person aren’t you? Only figures matter?

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:47 am

Obviously, an impersonator who owns a K5 that has been shown many broomsticks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Hadi75 on Dec 09, 2013 at 2:21 pm

Comparing turbo engine and NA engine…..smart la you….

• Joshua on Mar 31, 2014 at 11:20 pm

Preve – 1.6l Turbo – 140PS, 205NM
        Jetta – 1.4l Twincharger – 160PS,240NM

Hail Proton?

• yawn…

• Sam Loo on Dec 08, 2013 at 5:19 pm

Fantastic designs and innovation from the Japs.

Another nail in the kimchi coffin

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 37
    • Heng Lee on Dec 08, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Yes, the Syphillis is the most beautiful car ever seen!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:21 am

ETCM is one kedkekut company. Go and see thier ancient HQ in Jalan Ipoh, you will get shocked. If HQ also they so scared to upgrade in quality and prestige, you think theiy gonna pay money to give you good materials in your car and top notch high quality airbags? Don’t forget, airbags also got caplang OEM brand. I think if Nissan cannot even upgrade their CEO office, I think even the Nissan cars also use caplang OEM parts. Maybe OEM from China!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • DevilzMayCry on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:53 am

Confirmed you are from UMW Toyota. Haters will hate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
      • Better than your UMW. Airbags only 2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • peter on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Dear Sir.

i think there is misunderstanding on your quote. yes. no doubt Nissan is well behind interms of design, but please take note that Nissan best car is sports car, GTR, Fairlady. their sedan is only average in looking, but high reliability. Please have a look at the new nissan xtrail which will come into malaysia soon before you comments. Nissan Sentra engine is well famous for GENTING TAXI. i bet if you buy a honda civic u can’t afford to do so.

i am not from Nissan but i my first car is nissan car.

About Tan Chong HQ, please make a proper investigation before your comment. they remain this Jalan ipoh HQ is becuase this is the founder’s first Nissan Showroom. and they preserve until today.

about airbags and all the parts. I can assure you most of Nissan’s parts is made in Malaysia. Compare to others imported from thai and etc. at least, Nissan Teana is assembled in Msia. how about other brand? Honda accord and Toyota Camry? Nissan is one of the world stict in procurement departments. all parts supplier is approved by Nissan Japan. not like other company. and all parts must met their standard. As i know, most of the parts for Malaysia nissan is made in malaysia. joint venture with foreign countries technology.

i was in automotive industry as consultant before and i knew all malaysia car makers wells.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • Gee Tee arR on Dec 19, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Wow fancy hearing my 1st and trusty car the old nissan sentra here. Well it was my 1st car, its 23 years old. and Its still super reliable! Been travelling from Melaka to Ipoh frequently, and never failed me! Dont condemn the game if the players sucked ok? Same goes to cars, if ETCM is trying to strip of your value, it doesnt mean the car isn’t good. Nissan first and always better, although my GeeTeeAr is much better anyways :) peace from a loyal Nissan fan.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:58 pm

If its a sushi, it will have great RV

If its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, make it your habit to pray 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • Pontiac on Dec 08, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Ugly. Mazda 6 still on top

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
  • Too late TC. Ya Sylphy (hopefully they use other moniker like Nissan Pulsar or Sentra). Current Sylphy is a class above with 2.0.

Using the same name simply doesn’t augur well with existing one. Sentra more affordable and could price it lower than Toyota Altis, due next year.

• Redwings on Dec 08, 2013 at 9:19 pm

Tan Chong really money sucker…
    Why can’t you just bring these 2 new models now….

• nissan makes some good sedans, especially the sylphy & teana’s weakest point was only its exterior, now that they have fixed that, these cars has to be the bargain of the year.

• Too slow la. Sylphy or new moniker eg Sentra or Pulsar 1.6 & 1.8 hardly can beat new 2014 Altis but right pricing and of course Nissan TC infamous high over trade can win some Altis buyers.

• QChan on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:52 am

“..Nissan TC infamous high over trade..”

I’ve oft-heard this term but never understood it. Can someone please explain what over-trade means? TQ

• Over-trade means ETCM are buying your existing car at a higher price than the price that2nd hand car dealer willing to take, especially for models that are not so popular or models due for replacement. At 1 time, purchasers of Nissan Sentra were being offer for over-trade up to RM10K.

• sonic31s on Dec 08, 2013 at 10:07 pm

If this is true, Uncle TC finally understand Nissan is behind the market and if the values and car safety equipment if attractive their will a life line for Nissan in M’sia market.

• Arriving in 2014? Here in Thailand I’m seeing a lot of the new sylphy and not one of the old model. So slow la tc

• motorhead on Dec 08, 2013 at 10:21 pm

Xtronic gear is among the best… Drove a Slyphy, I can’t get a comparison (same class) for this Xtronic gear smoothness.. I care less about it’s exterior.. Class of it’s own… Just bring it.

• next year teana i can confirm it
    but sylphy i don think so would launch next year…
    tan chong always slow and small plant indeed.

• Kyoshooo on Dec 08, 2013 at 11:42 pm

Nissan always very slow in introducing new model in bolehland.

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:04 am

Who needs a nissan when you have the best…surely ppl will go for toyota world No.1.

Nissan got poor RV just like kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 12:59 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, make sure you pray more than 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Whatever on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:37 am

So what it’s still a 2 years old car by 2014.. Better get the newly launched, produced globally Mazda 3, Altis or even a soon to be facelifted civic.

• How about new x-trail? When?

• The new Latio with 1.6 DIG turbo ler? Its been launch at other countries few years back but still now news about this. TC still like a snail in auto industry

• iluvnissan on Dec 09, 2013 at 9:50 am

I suspect it is cheaper to pay nissan hq for older nissan models sold in Malaysia.

• All the boss in TC is retired old man which walk very slow compare to snails…so what do you expect? they don’t even bother about Turbo, performance and all that .., even new cars model not important for the them because even they themselves walk very slow to the toilet…..

• Everyone here should sign an online petition with thousands of online signatures and send it to Nissan HQ in Japan saying that we are unhappy with the dealer in Malaysia as we get our cars so late or not at all. We should request for Nissan to sack Tan Chong and come in direct to Malaysia.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:51 am

If its a sushi it will have RV

If its a kimchi, you will be shown the Hilux

If its a KIA, you will be shown the broomstick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Funny, picture of Nissan Serena was high up there but it was never mentioned in the article.

• Er… see again.

“The Nissan Serena S-Hybrid will be introduced as a CKD car in Q3 2014 as well.”

• jflee169 on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:18 am

This is what TC biz model.

TC: If consumer want turbo/powerful motor vehicle, please refer to Renault, Subaru and Infinity. Or else, please “stick” to Nissan if you want a “slow and steady” vehicle.

• nabill on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:53 am

nissan cars are so mundane now…
    no more good designs…all like economy cheapo cars that r beter used for taxis…no effort at all…its like the cheapest route to buying a japanese cars…
    i stil cant understand almera design no matter how many times i see it…its ugly mess from front to back..terrible…x-trail borring to sleep…latio and sentra stil selling…no comment at all…dont tell me fairlady is a great car ..we r talking abt run of the mill cars…even vios now hav good design…that says sting…

• Van Damn on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:57 am

The Teana profile looks like the facelifted Sonata. Good to know the japanese are finally catching up in terms of designs.

• Nissan Tan Chong Malaysia! worse la! Slphy, people used 2 year already…Malaysia not yet launching…Palia!

• Latio on Dec 09, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Nissan service center in Puchong is very slow, the wait time to service my wife’s Latio is always double the time for service my Honda. I though other service center is better, so went to the Nissan service center in Klang, also slow, I really don’t know why it took so long? I also think they need to have more service center to cater increasing needs.

• Ooi Hock Jin on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:26 pm

Nissan Teana’s seat is more comfortable compare to the latest Toyota Camry

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:49 pm

Some people just have a serious deficiency of brain matter.

Camry is a D-Segment Sedan whereas Serena is a mid-sized people mover

If the person has been to Fukushima lately, I can forgive, otherwise its just plain ignorance

• Obviously not as exciting as Optima. Also do think Accord is a better bet. Is 125k a reasonable price n upcoming sylphy at 85k for 1.6. In the PAST, Japanese always priced higher than Korean cars, i think it’s ought to change now to attract and survive.

• Hello. I’m planning to purchase Nissan Teana recently. However, I’m afraid that the new generation of Teana will be launched in Malaysia right after I bought it. So what should I do? Anyone here knows when’s the launch of new Nissan Teana?

• I brought Tenna last month, if you purchase now, you can get better discount rate.. so far no official news on new Teane launch in Malaysia.. you know lar, TC always slow………

• Teana 2.5/2.0 discount at rm15k/10k … just did test drive yesterday(1/1/2014)..

• apalalu on Jan 04, 2014 at 12:21 am

What the hell people talk bad about Nissan here? U think it is easy to be top 3 car manufacture in Japan? Use ur head pls.

• azhar on Jan 04, 2014 at 10:13 pm

I plan to change my sylphy to new teana. When it will be launch?

• serena on Jan 06, 2014 at 8:49 am

According to ETCM FB it will be Q3 2014. I’m looking forward to replace my Slyphy Impul to new Teana too.

• is it worth to buy second hand slphy let say year 2000

• Allen on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Saw the new Sylphy on trailer today along the PLUS highway from Changkat Jering to Kamunting toll.

A total of 5 with an Almera onboard. Launching soon?

• I drove my new 2014 Nissan Sylphy from Penang to KL on the North-South highway. My average speed was 90-100 km/hr. My petrol consumption was 19.06 km/liter. In town driving the petrol consumption is only about 11 – 12 km/liter.