Malaysian drivers want parking space detection and auto parking systems in their cars, survey finds

ford-focus-active-park-assist

Malaysian drivers want parking space detection and full automatic parking assist systems in their cars, a global survey by Accenture has found. They also want a system that, in an emergency, stops the car and automatically sends out an emergency call.

The ‘Connected Vehicle: What Drivers Want‘ survey asked over 14,000 drivers in Brazil, China, France, Germany, Indonesia, Italy, Malaysia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, the UK and the US about their current use of connected vehicle technologies and expectations for future use.

Tech and services covered in the survey encompassed navigation, traffic, autonomous driving aids, entertainment, work tools, safety services, driving-pattern monitoring and more, with 39% of the respondents saying their primary consideration in choosing a new car was in-car tech. Only 14% said driving performance had the biggest influence on their choice.

The survey found drivers in Malaysia, China, Brazil and Indonesia to be the most interested in connected vehicle tech and digital services that are currently available in more mature markets. Among respondents in emerging markets, Chinese drivers have the highest usage of such tech, followed by drivers in Brazil, Indonesia, Malaysia and South Africa.

While Malaysian drivers preferred parking-related systems, their Indonesian peers were keen on real-time entertainment content such as social media and gaming, as well as productivity services such as e-mail and calendar content, the survey revealed.

On average, a staggering 90% of respondents were interested in safety-related driving aids which included lane departure warning systems, collision-warning systems, lane-keeping systems, automatic braking systems and full automatic parking.

In all regions, at least 1,000 interviews were completed, with the exception of China, where 3,000 interviews were undertaken. All respondents had a car at their disposal and either had, or were planning to buy, a smartphone. View the full results of the global survey here, or the results for Malaysia in the gallery below.

Another global survey by Accenture early this year called for a more customised online experience in the auto industry – read our report on that here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• iluvab on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Sorry i only want more air bags and vsc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:09 am

This is silly. No relevance. Survey that has no meaning. What Malaysians really want is cheaper cars. This kind of important surveys, they don’t do. Malaysians want lesser burden on their wallet and not some stupid parking space.

That is more important. Najib, our fantastic Prime Minister promised us up to 30% reduction in car prices before the election if we voted for him and his BN party. Until now, we are just given the broomstick!

Najib simple things also cannot keep his promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • Lower the car price then we can afford better car that come with this features! all matter solved and fulled for all rakyat. Plenty of car in the market already comes with this features just a question of affordability.

• beruk on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:56 am

you voted for him or not?

• Stupid survey. M’sians don’t really know what they want. They just want everything. How many people will bother to press the parking assistance button and then drive slowly along a row of cars and let the system find a parking for you? By the time you do that, people will already taken your parking space. It’s a fancy system, fancy marketing, but little use in the practical world.

• driver on Dec 11, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Market survey… conducted for the sake of $$$.

useless!

• Kalun on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:09 pm

This is true especially for Ladies driver.

My mom really need this features because she can’t park properly and feels embarrassed when she park in the public parking space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • superbird #43 on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:56 pm

why have to discriminate over trivial matters? Men are also the same…
      1) no signal indicator when turning.
      2) accelerating hard right after traffic light turns red.
      3) small car, 2 parking spaces.
      4) park as though the road or parking space belongs to them (motorbike)
      5) road bully
      need i mention more?

• hotwheels on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Those you mentioned are mostly practice by women driver.. Anybody agree with me?

• JDMftw on Dec 11, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Toyota was the first to make auto-parking (parking assist)

But stup1d UMW didnt bring in any cars with it, especially prius

• Mid point through my thirties, i found a very good way to judge the maturity of someone, whether online or face to face especially during interviews when my company is hiring. Listen to them when they make statements like “All men are pricks”, or “All women can’t park”.

Well, let me give you a piece of mature advice. Some men are pricks, not all. Some women can’t park, not all.

My wife can definately park better and faster than me. But i can paint a wall faster than her. Does it mean all men can’t park?

• Narcissus on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Haha you essentially replied an alleged stereotype with a stereotype of your own, i.e. that people who resort to stereotypes are necessarily immature.

In any event, the statement being challenged is that ladies desire/need parking aids more than men. Parking aids as described in this post refer to technologies which, inter alia, assist parallel parking.

The observation that women are less adept at parallel parking can be backed up by anecdotal, epidemiological, statistical and, believe it or not, biological evidence.

Notwithstanding the accuracy of the observation, we also need to draw a distinction between harmful stereotypes and useful observations about classes which approximate reality. Accurate observations about classes are useful, in much the same way that entertainment news and fashion are marketed towards women and sports and cars are marketed towards men. Accurate observations about classes only become prejudicial when used as evidence against individuals. For instance, to say that Miss XYZ cannot parallel park because she is female.

I therefore humbly request that you retract your allegation of immaturity against Kalun.

And yes I am too bored at work.

• turboman on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:40 pm

To resort to stereotype or not is a personal choice. But to say all women cant park or all men are pricks is simply immature.

There are some women who cant park and some who can. Some men are pricks and some are not.

Give yourself a few more years in life and u would understand what I meant.

And not gonna retract anything.

• Narcissus on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:09 pm

Based on your response I surmise that you have interpreted the statement “this is true especially for ladies” to mean that “all women can’t park”, which is clearly a highly prejudicial stereotype. How you made the leap from “Malaysians want parking space detection and full automatic parking space detection (being the topic of the blog), and this is true especially for ladies” to “all women can’t park” I cannot understand, but it appears that what we have is not a difference in opinion, but rather a difference in reading comprehension.

You are essentially attributing to him a comment which he did not make, and then criticising him for it, thereby engaging in the straw man fallacy.

Give yourself a few more years improving your English and maybe you would understand what I mean.

Oh, the irony… :)

• Turboman on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:41 pm

What has gotten into you man? Too free at work?

What do you think Kalun was thinking when he wrote “This is especially true for ladies driver” in an article about parking related system? Well you don’t have to reply, but let the other Paultan.org readers reply.

You are trying to divert the attention from the real issue but instead use all your arguements to discredit the person who points out the issue. I think you are engaging in the red herring fallacy.

Go ahead look it up in the dictionary.

I can almost guess what your reply gonna be. But well, lets see if you can surprise me.

• Narcissus on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:28 pm

Apologies for being late. Work caught up with me. :P

Firstly, an argument is only a red herring if it distracts from the topic at hand. My argument was that a statement that “all women can’t park” is indeed an unfair and untrue stereotype, but you haven’t shown that this statement was actually made. This actually goes to the core of the issue, doesn’t it?

Let’s see my interpretative train of thought.

“This is true especially for ladies driver”.

1. What does “this” refer to? It must be the topic of the posting, which is that “Malaysians preferred parking related systems more than their peers”. Hence, to reconstruct the sentence, “Malaysians prefer parking related systems more than their peers, and this is true especially for ladies driver”.

2. Then we go one step further. “Malaysians prefer parking related systems more than their peers, and Malaysian lady drivers prefer parking related systems even more than Malaysian male drivers.”

3. Then we take out the first part, which is now irrelevant, leaving “Malaysian lady drivers prefer parking related systems even more than Malaysian male drivers”.

4. Then my final interpretation, which is “Malaysian women, as a class, are less adept at parallel parking than an Malaysian men, as a class, and therefore they would prefer parking related systems more than Malaysian men”. This is actually useful information if correct. Very relevant for marketing and product design, and can be the subject of much academic debate (see e.g. http://link.springer.com/article/10.1007/s00426-009-0267-6)

Here is how I think your train of thought went (feel free to correct me)

1. Hmm he mentioned lady drivers and parking in a negative light relative to men.

2. He must think that all women can’t park.

3. Any observations about any class under any circumstances and regardless of truth or accuracy must be an unacceptable stereotype.

4. He must be immature.

Secondly, I was disappointed to see you resort to the ad hominem fallacy first by saying “Give yourself a few more years in life and u would understand what I meant.” You basically alleged that my arguments lack substance because I lack life experience. I therefore helped you realise the error of your ways by replacing my “life experience” with your “English comprehension”. Hence my reference to the phrase “oh, the irony”. I’m actually very happy that you agree with me that ad hominems which aim to discredit the other party without dealing with the issues is wrong.

I sincerely hope I met your expectations. :)

• turboman on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Dude.

Whatever gives u a hard on at night and rock your world.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:16 pm

Auto parking systems should only exist in car like Camry and must not be in Focus. People who don’t know how to parallel parking won’t be driving a Ford anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Of course they would say yes.
    I wonder if these people have factored in the fact that these features would raise the chances of cars being even more unreliable and also more expensive.
    That said, im glad people in malaysia chose parking, too many damn hit and run dents on every car.

• bvc100 on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

Been in Paris a couple of years back, and was i surprised that almost all of the “normal people’s” car had dings and scratches. I wondered why initially, could it be that the Parisians are really bad at parking? It turns out that due to limitations or parking in Paris (and the smaller satellite cities around it) had forced them to adopt the bump-bump-bump parking technique, both to park and moving out of the parking lot. Until we have that sort of problem (super limited and small parking spaces) in Malaysia, i guess the normal parking sensors should suffice.

• Eyesore on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:24 pm

OK… that’s what Malaysian drivers wants…
    Next ask Accenture to conduct survey on:
    1- what are they willing to pay for..

2- Are they willing to pay for the technology to be installed in their car?

3- If the tech is available, let say on the high line models, would they buy it or they just go for the cheaper version which does have the tech…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Pengguna Mac Tegar Tapi Sensible on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Accenture ? LOL.

• What Malaysian really need is guide on how to park properly. There are too many idiot occupying 2 car parks, park senget-senget.

• Chris on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:50 am

Probably make sense for auto park for some people.. but parking space detection? Err…. I got that over 25 years ago before I can even drive:

“Look daddy daddy! Over there got space can park!”

• I think the term parking space detection here means the system to calculate and determine the suitability of a parking space before the system ‘approve’ to car to self-park.
        This makes sense in parking areas with no parking lot lines, such as near ‘pasar malam’, random roadsides or near mosques during Friday prayers.

• Anyone noticed that in the first picture of this article, the parking confirmed will fail. XD

• Absolute Rider on Dec 09, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Malaysian drivers want these and that. However, basic equipment such as indicator, drivers also don’t border to use.

Anyway, Proton should equip those equipment besides to archive FIVE STAR in EuroNCAP, the car needs to equip Autonomous Emergency Braking System (A.E.B)

• bvc100 on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:46 am

AEB can only do so much. It doesn’t help if the driver isn’t paying attention to the road/their driving in the first place.

• Absolute Rider on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:03 pm

Hi bro, that one I know. Please read my comment. To archive EuroNCAP 5 Star, the car must equips such device. Thanks.

• No, we malaysian need cheaper car.tq

• superbird #43 on Dec 09, 2013 at 6:29 pm

a car used to be build primarily with more mechanical than electronic components. components such as ABS, EBD, traction control, VSC, sunroofs, etc… have become a standard equipment today. therefore, the more are installed, the higher the price and the more luxury it will offer.
    But, maintenance is hard and expensive once they are faulty. they are more vulnerable to elements, such as heat and moisture(water). so, think twice before purchasing a new car.

just my 2 cents. :D

• jolly_idiot on Dec 09, 2013 at 6:31 pm

I wonder how those driver get their license if they can’t even park properly and require park assist.

Why don’t car maker come out with auto driver too?

• teelim on Dec 09, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Auto parking is not all that great (at least for now)

I can park into a space faster by my own than using auto park on a VW Sharan. Also, auto park will avoid spaces which are considered small (but where the car still can fit – parked the car myself).

I would rate reverse cameras more useful than auto park.

• Wayangkulit on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:13 pm

Malaysians wants all the gadgets but most of them are not willing to pay for the price, the maintenance and care associated with the gadgets. They want to pay peanuts and expect things to function forever with the continuous of misuse.

• gdntsk on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:33 pm

IMHO, if all of us as Malaysian drivers are given enough training hours and proper driving training by qualified driving trainers, we wouldn’t really need the parking aid systems as they are actually optional features offered by automakers.

• bvc100 on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:56 am

Agreed. And use bigger cars for the driving schools. This way, regardless whether the students drive something small or bigger afterwards it wouldn’t be too intimidating for them.

• Shame_Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:33 pm

Shame on you…parking assistant? Pay some money and get valet parking. Sorry, Sam Loo’s Toyota junk doesn’t have this feature……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • victortan on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:35 pm

no thank you.
    I parked better and faster without the system.
    The sensors alone should be more than enough.

• toyoda on Dec 09, 2013 at 8:00 pm

1000 interviews are to small to represent the whole Malaysian. Sadly to say, Malaysian prefers bodykit than safety and intech features.

• Malaysians want everything and yet not willing to pay more. Not only that, they want free this free that.

• Sam Loo on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:19 pm

The answer to this riddle is buy a used kimchi.

Trade in price would be 50% within a year and selling price would be spprox. +20%, due to the high risk of used car dealers taking them in.

Also, if you want a used KIA, get it online, coz no used car dealers want them anymore

• Even Proton won’t provide it in Perdana Accord SV.

• If Malaysians are truly interested, why haven’t we seen any company attempting to create these with the local assemblers? Are Malaysians too downstream in technology that they can only copy or buy. or they just answered for fun?

• ahmadjohnson on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:17 pm

1. I want a car with manual gearbox

2. I want car prices in Malaysia to be reduce
    (Malaysia is ranked as the second most expensive place to buy a car in the world)

• travel_safe on Dec 09, 2013 at 11:17 pm

I want motorbikes to have automatic braking so that they’ll actually slow down and stop instead of going dangerously close to cars and increase the risks of accidents.

• They should go back to Driving institute to relearn their skill. This kind of funtion making people lazy….

• Malaysian only car for resale value. They rather have empty spec toyota or honda than paying extra bit for loaded kia or other. That’s the mentality. Resale value is top list. When will we change?

• Can’t blame them.. Cost of buying a car is already high enough & let’s not forget the max 9-year loan period and high interest rate to get one.
      For them.. Changing car is almost impossible without incurring loss should they decide to sell the car after 5 years down the road. Worse case scenario, they have to fork out money just to sell off the car. Most of us Malaysians are still griping with the high cost of living especially those in Klang Valley.

• superbird #43 on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:36 am

that’s why i won’t sell my good old ’70 Firebird. no RV and nobody’s buying it also though still in decent quality. just run and maintain it until it dies.
      RV? it didn’t matter. its useless if u ended up fixing a car’s equipment that had broken in the 1st place unless modifications is your priority.

• encik boss on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:59 am

I believe Malaysian drivers need double parking space detection.
    *sarcasm*

• The truth is

1)Malaysian drivers want cheaper cars

2)Malaysian drivers wanna see vvip using public transport instead using ‘white horses’ to clear their way. Last time they said ‘Pemimpin Berjiwa Rakyat’, ‘Rasai Denyut Nadi Rakyat’, so why not u guys suffer like us?

• superbird #43 on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:21 am

leaders do not lead by example. commoners drive local and Japanese cars whereas minister’s chauffeur drive luxury cars, primarily continental. the gap between them is large.
      now, what does that tell u?

• mohd fuad on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:45 am

bring pallet truck for parking assistance…

• RyanS on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:00 am

Most local people having “Kopi’O lesen” surely cant park well la, improve driver’s skills and driving behavior would be better lo.

Look at what they’ve done during driving test?? YOu think they really passed the test??
    *if you know what i mean*

• motorhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:06 am

I want a toilet in my car.. Sofa.. Mini bar.. Karaoke..Robot driver.. Total convenience & comfort.. Craps.

• Denaihati on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:51 pm

safety is priority, statistic shows driving attitudes is the main factor of any accident, but technology might help on human Error, i hope next technology will have error proof with less expensive.

• CWKen on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:03 pm

This simply shows how lazy most Malaysians can be. First they refuse to drive stick shifts (wanna drive auto then complain fuel price hike when their autobox are the main cause of bad FC) and now they’re too damn lazy to park their cars? What’s next? Total autopilot?

Sensors are great but I have to say they do make people be complacent at rare occassions. For example, I probably got so used to reverse sensors that I’m having a little doubt with my ability to judge the rear car distance if I have to suddenly have to drive a car without one or if my sensors are faulty.

This also brings another scenario, what if some pedestrian walks past when the car is auto parking itself? I’ve encountered too many ignorant imbeciles who just suddenly appear in my rear mirror while I was half way reversing my car. They were just inches from my car and they just happily walk past your car with some even gave that “dare-you-to-bang-me” face.

• ProudMalaysian on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:17 pm

But in msia we dont need parking related systems, what we can need is auto parking to double park spots and/or auto parking spots right infront of any shops/house so that we are 2 steps away. we can use auto disabled parking too when it is not utilise. i love automation! Msia boleh! JPJ school Boleh! I’m so proud.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:31 pm

K5 owner with a permanent hailat face impersonator
    When I informed all the car traders not to accept KIA, this bugger kept coming back to harras Sam & I.
    So, we showed him 3 broomsticks, and this joker is now so screwed that he almost jumped off his apartment building

• jacksonljs on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:17 pm

If you ask me, most Malaysian drivers need is to be thrown into prison (min. 1 year) as well as minimum 10 strokes of two-thumbs size of cane (a glow steel iron pipe used for whipping is even better) as Malaysian drivers (i call them as setan jalan raya) are easily the most barbaric in the world. Zero respect towards disabled/mobility-limited person (esp. those parked at OKU parking), we are totally right and others are wrong mentality, blardy reckless driving, even PDRM summons they don’t give a damn about it (some of the phuqers still drive on the road even with warrant of arrest and/or more than 10 outstanding summons, they should instead thrown into jail for long long time and get whipped anyway)

• roadpatriot on Dec 12, 2013 at 1:57 am

M’sian drivers are the “most barbaric” in the world? I disagree, if compared with drivers in the middle east, certain parts of South Asia, etc. However, I feel a lot (not all, but most) M’sian drivers are idiots and should be whipped for:
      1. Hogging the fast lane when driving at same speed with the middle/slow lane fellas.
      2. Stopping/slowing down to gawk at accidents
      3. Take their own sweet time to drive off when the lights go green.
      Drivers who are guilty of any of the above 3 sins shouldn’t bloody complain about traffic jams.