VIDEO: McLaren P1 vs the ‘Ring in under 7 minutes

Building a successor to the legendary F1 wasn’t going to be easy, and McLaren dutifully laid out a few performance targets for the new P1 to achieve, apart from being the best driver’s car on both road and track, of course. A rigorous development programme was planned including testing in the harshest conditions around.

The sold-out McLaren P1 – all 375 units of the RM4.4 million (before tax) hypercar have been accounted for – has hit all of its performance targets so far: it does 0-100 km/h in 2.8 seconds, 200 km/h in 6.8 seconds and 300 km/h in 16.5 seconds. The last figure is a full 5.5-second quicker than the F1, and the quarter mile run is demolished in under 10 seconds.

Last but not least, is for the 913 PS/900 Nm road and track monster to lap the Nurburgring-Nordschleife – with all of its 150 corners, 300 metres of elevation change and 20.8 km length – in under seven minutes. It’s the toughest challenge of them all, according to McLaren, not discounting that the Porsche 918 Spyder achieved it with ‘just’ 887 hp.

McLaren_P1_Nurburgring_02

Without giving exact numbers, McLaren has just confirmed that the P1 has dipped below the magic seven-minute barrier, lapping the circuit with an average speed in excess of 178 km/h. Whether it beat the 918’s all-time lap record of 6 minutes and 57 seconds is not yet clear, though you’d think that McLaren would be more than happy to announce it had it done so.

To set the lap time, the P1 was primed to its ultimate track-friendly setting – ‘Race’ mode, which extended the active rear wing by 300 mm, dropped the ride height by 50 mm, while the RaceActive Chassis Control suspension system stiffened up by 300%. Stock tyres, though bespoke ones tailor-suited to the P1, were used, so there’s no tyre trickery in play.

Behind the wheel was McLaren chief test drive Chris Goodwin (you may recognise him from his days as an F1 commentator), and apparently he reached the P1’s electronically-limited 330 km/h top speed through the straights, and pulled no less than 3.9 g through the turns. Watch the short video above to see the McLaren P1 at its absolute best.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Chaerul on Dec 09, 2013 at 2:46 pm

…seems like the 918’s kinghood at the ring only lasted less than 3 months ;)

• You read the above report?

‘Whether it beat the 918’s all-time lap record of 6 minutes and 57 seconds is not yet clear, though you’d think that McLaren would be more than happy to announce it had it done so.’

• yup, it may be 6:58, 59….i think if it managed to dip below 6:57, they would have anounced it..
        Now, where’s the La Ferrari ?

• Actually, 6:57 is not the fastest time the 918 can achieve around the ‘Ring. Porsche themselves admitted with some more optimized settings (the 6:57 lap time is done with a developmental car), the 918 can still go faster.

On the other hand, the bragging rights of being fastest around the ‘Ring are probably not that important anymore for Mclaren and Ferrari now that P1 and LaFerrari are all sold. 918 on the other hand is not selling well.

• thanks for the info..totally agree…but i think becoz they dont announce it, the curiousity (of typical readers/fans) becomes stronger.

• Half of the batch of 918’s was already sold before the car was presented? This is ‘not selling well’?

• BBQPorker on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Who dares to buy porsche anymore when it’s so easily become char siew when crash ?

Widow maker no doub. Then again, people who drive porker alwasys got small kuku. So less one small kuku species is better for mankind.

• Sam Loo on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:16 am

Utter bull. Yes this car in the ring can action. But in real life scenario, McLaren is like McDonalds, not practical. I see so many McLaren and Ferrari in Damansara Heights. But when they tekan and want to race with me, every single time they lose. Because this trash cars have to slow down at least 10 seconds in each speed breaker and hump. So, you 0 to 60 is 2.8 seconds is all bullshit. Each bump and speedbreaker, the McDonald McLaren loses a good 10 seconds because he the owner so scrared his undercarriage and underwear get damaged.

My Hilux just goes and goes just like Duracell battery. I laugh at all the Ferrari owners and McLaren McDonald owners driving in KL. Everywhere also, my Hilux beat them flat. I look at rear mirror struggling on each speed breaker.

Then also, like the recent 3 Lamborghini bakar on NSE, lets face it lah, all McLaren and all Ferrari, just accident a bit also, the car letup! Ticking timb bomb. No other car in Malaysian motoring goes in flames in an accident except Ferrari and Lamborghini.

So, one must be very stupid to buy such cars in the first place. It is not Kia owners that are stupid, looks like Ferrari and McLaren McDonald owners also deserve the broomstick!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 59
      • macromedia on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:59 am

Yea man. I laff at all them too. Change oil is in 4 figures. I go car park also win them esp when going up and down ramp. Losers all. LOL Lidat how to tokyo drift right?

• macromedia on Dec 09, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Horrible, badly done sound FX. Very annoying noises, wheezing noizeeee.

• You dont have to worry since you wont be able to afford one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • macroemdia on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:42 am

yes I cant afford one, and its still a horrible soundFX. Expected more from the PR team doing this vid for such an amazing car. U dig?

• I believe it will more faster that 918, why they haven announce lap timing. Coz they think their P1 still can go more faster as they want~~~~

• A mentally fast car. The launch off the corner to the straight is mind boggling.

A true technological advancement in motoring.

• i believe mclaren withhold their lap time it’s because they want to wait for laferrari’s time.
    they dont want the prancing horse to announce that they beat their time by a mere second and then it goes into a ring time race all over again.

there’s no doubt the mclaren beats the 918’s time,imo

• heel-and-toe on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:04 pm

I don’t think the P1 beats the 918’s time. Prior to its launch, McLaren claimed that the P1 would be the fastest production car in Nurburgring, but after the 918 clocked 6:57 on the ‘Ring, McLaren seems to never really annouce their actual time. They just stating “under 7 minutes”.