Proton P2-30A Global Small Car sighted in Malaysia

proton-gsc-malaysia
Click to enlarge image

Proton’s upcoming B-segment hatchback has been sighted again, this time in Malaysia. The above spyshot which was posted in the Cari Forums shows two Proton P2-30A Global Small Cars on test in Malaysia.

We first saw the Proton GSC on test in Europe at a supplier’s test track. The car sighted in Europe featured alloy wheels that could preview the alloy wheel design of the future product while this Malaysian car wears steel wheels. Curiously, if you look at the far right side of the photo, you can see a Honda Brio in front of the P2-30A. The Brio has trade plates as well. Does the Brio have anything to do with the P2-30A, or is it just a benchmark car being driven together for comparison? Note that DRB-HICOM briefed research houses earlier this year that it would be embarking on this project on its own and not with a JV partner.

Proton is targeting to launch this new car in the first half of 2014. They also launched a Nama Siapa Hebat contest earlier this year, inviting Malaysians to contribute to the naming process of the new car. The Grand Prize winner will walk away with the Premium variant of the car that he or she helped name.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:29 am

Well, it looks kinda like a viva fighter. But i think what proton really needs is a myvi fighter. A car that is small and cheap and isn’t made entirely out of plastic. i’m curious with this model though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 7
    • OMG…Ini macam BRIO punya adik…puihhh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 98
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 388
        • don't even bother on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:05 pm

I don’t even bother to give him thumb down anymore. Makin banyak dislike makin menjadi-jadi perangai. Attention seeker in his gene are lot worst than Lady Gaga.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 4
          • jun jun on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:15 am

tidak ape ma, ini olang sama saja mcm itu anjing ma…menyalak sajew kilija diew…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • volkswagen oldskul on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm

to mr. sam. shamed on u lah.. toyota is not good enough.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
        • volkswagen oldskul on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:50 pm

to mr. sam. shamed on u lah.. toyota is not good enough.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • niat sebenar nak sruh org berkeje keras kalu nak berjaya.

Tp tak perlu le nak jadi batu api dgn mengaitkan proton dan pembelinya. Kalau la negara Jiran kita(tak kisah yg mana skali pn) mampu menghasilkan kereta sendiri , tak kira la bertapa taik dan sampah pun kualitinya. Nescaya mereka akan menganjing produk mereka tu didalam negara kita ,itu org panggil smangat patriotik.

Memalukan je ade org macam ni.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
        • phuwekkk on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:15 pm

yeah..and these word are coming from a forever alone toyotaya salesman..knows nothing about the world other than his beloved toyotaya..not realising that his ancestor is just a immigrant imported by the britis to work as a miner in malaya..full of b******t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 10
          • driver on Dec 11, 2013 at 5:21 pm

Mana ko tau dia bukan Melayu?

Memang aku menyampah komen dia, tapi ko xboleh kait dgn bangsa macamtu jk.

• Azhar on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Nahh…. Toyota more worse even can said daylight robbery. Compare Preve and Vios, I choise Preve cause more value to your money compare than Vios. What ?.. Not agree… Than deal your self.. If you said Toyota the best, why most of them sell they car especially Camry after 5 years ?. The answer is they do not want to deal all the Toyota hanky panky issue after that… So, Toyota is Quality car… Nope… Worse… Other thing.. Why I need to trust salesman if they job is to do the sales.. For sure salesman said shit smell like perfume to sell the product… Deal with that…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
        • Suurii on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:34 pm

My dad’s salary almost 50k per month.. but he is using proton.. what makes u think people use proton is damn poor..? id***.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
        • AllAboutReality on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:41 pm

I have a Nissan Impul mpv and a Toyota TRD car and coming I am going to have a R3 car. For me when I enter into this auto industry, I know the reality that the PROTON car is not cheap because of its quality, but it’s cheap because of PROTON just make small profit compared with others brand (where its component prices are cheap compared with PROTON and they make more profit when sell to public). For your info, some of PROTON’s critical parts are manufactured in Gemany and Japan with premium price.
          Other than that, when I test drive several of the PROTON cars, its handling is much better compared than the 2 cars that I have and also the performance of the PROTON cars have much improved. Frankly speaking, previously I always have bad perceptions with PROTON cars, but when I know the reality, PROTON sells their cars for peoples and its 100% developed by Malaysian.
          For your info, I plan to buy a PROTON car not because of money, but I buy PROTON because it is much better than other brands and I smart :D.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 14
          • Persona on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

the majority buy a car for it’s durability and quality, not whatever that is stated above.. And talking bout durability and quality, i’m sorry but proton still needs to buck up on that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
          • Ayecaramba on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:36 am

My father’s friend supplies plastic parts for Proton and he was burdened by Proton to cheapen his price or else suffer being out of business. The problem with Proton is that they face difficulty in finding the right suppliers at the right price. Some if not most vendors are also cronies. That’s a fact. And this causes Proton’s cost to increase. Whereas other manufacturers are able to source better quality parts at a far more acceptable price, Proton isn’t able to.

The fact that you say Proton is of good quality, I highly doubt. Nor are they technologically up to date. But I do know they have made an effort to be better which is the main cause of the growing support I am beginning to have for Proton.

I’m not a fan of their management or their cars and their reliance to the government and destroying the Malaysian car market. But scrape all that off, I want to see Proton independent and clean without cronies and the government’s hands dipped in Proton’s business. I want to see Proton striving to achieve higher. I want to see Proton fight without aid and risk going bankrupt than being pampered by tax payers money. I know it may be harsh but this is how they can start producing quality cars and operating efficiently. I hate everything about Proton but secretly, I want them to succeed without our help and with their genuine effort. Useless hope I know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • willie on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Proton is not under government, now under DRB. They don’t get taxpayers’ money directly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • Ayecaramba on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:04 am

Willie, I don’t mean any disrespect but I hope you know DRB has strong ties with the government. If Proton were to submerge into the abyss for facing financial difficulties, I can assure you the government will save Proton without thinking twice. Also, the price of Malaysian cars show what the government is doing to protect Proton up till now. Yes, you may say they cannot change it now because the whole economy will go haywire but bear in mind they can choose to slowly shift car prices into foreign manufacturers’ favor but they chose not to. Also although theoretical, I believe Proton can receive financial help from the government whenever they like though not in public. To just simply believe pushing Proton to become privately owned in just one move would be ignorant. Just like many companies in the US, Malaysia claims Proton is too big too fail. That is just how politically tied Proton is with the government.

• So then what car do u drive ?? since u r so confident

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • PassingBy on Dec 10, 2013 at 8:58 pm

driving proton cars are poor people? oh man toyota should throw this saleman out even he claims that he is no.1 in sales. with this poor mentality he is only bringing down toyota even more. shame on u toyota having this guy working for u!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • terpotong on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:32 pm

Although Sam Loo sounds like a disgusting guy, I share his hatred for Proton and its makers. DRB Hicom will keep on making shit-cars like Proton so that people have no choice but to pay $30,000 more for a decent car …..which OF COURSE ARE SOLD BY DRB HICOM. What a scam!
          Khaaarrk PTUI to DRB Hicom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
        • True Testimony on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:34 pm

i rather drive proton than toyota. i changed from a toyota to a proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • bikers kental on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:32 am

f**k you sam the keyboard warrior. poyo nak mampus. macam najib dan rosmah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:40 am

Everyone here can kutuk me but deep inside they know they deeply desire a Toyota. A Toyota is everyone’s dream car. Like I said, work hard, don’t spend time kutuk people online, work hard and you will get your dream Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
          • daniel on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:33 am

TOYOTA your dream car?? Get a higher goal in man, life is short and you only live once. See the real world instead of living under a coconut shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • SamShowedMeTheToyoLta on Feb 04, 2014 at 6:30 pm

yeah.. spend your whole life to get this toyolta..

• LuckyInTheUS on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:41 pm

A Toyota? I get them Beamers twice as cheap in the US. Not so effin proud of your Toyota now are ya?

• Asdfghjkl on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:34 pm

You love to compare Proton, no wonder u r always nothing

• 1. Proton buyers are not necessarily poor people. I know many well-known individuals who also buy Proton for their kids to travel to college. So your comment on Proton owners being poor is just utterly rubbish.

2. To making a sweeping comment that all poor people are in such a condition bcoz they are lazy is downright ignorance. I have an elderly aunt who manages his household and raised up 3 beautiful children all by picking up scraps at the junkyard. Yet she only have money to own a bicycle let alone a decent car. So watch your words when you say poor people are lazy.

3. How do you claim to be Toyota’s No.1 salesman? Because based on your IQ and attitude, u will not go far.

What goes around comes around. Unfair criticism and looking down upon others is a sin. Karma is always there.

• nates on Jan 02, 2014 at 12:16 am

i drive Vios. And I regret that I choose it..

• Butterfly on Jan 09, 2014 at 10:43 pm

If I work hard and get a lot of money..i will buy a house..not a car

• Yamin on Feb 01, 2014 at 6:23 am

In Singapore, a Briton had to abscond to Perth with his family due to a death threat after he insulted on Facebook that, “Only poor people take public transport.” He later lost his job because his behavior do not represent his employer’s culture.

I think Malaysia and Toyota should show Sam Loo the broomstick otherwise people might think that it was the Malaysian Government’s & Toyota’s culture to insult the Malaysian masses!

• Yamin on Feb 01, 2014 at 7:12 am

Toyota should show Sam Loo the broomstick otherwise Malaysians would think that it was their corporate culture to insult Malaysians!

• Yamin on Mar 20, 2014 at 11:08 am

Toyota Is Fined $1.2 Billion for Concealing Safety Defects. See

• proton is well known for its good handling, safety, reliability and sturdiness. Frm the side view i can tell the design is up to date. Bravo proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 29
      • Hahaha…. then why are they not selling well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
        • I wonder how much DRB marketing pays Abon to make comments. Sorry I am not trying to be rude but what you say here is a total lie. so far in KL and Saha alam I counted only 5 Suprima on the road. I also heard about thousands of unsold CBU units workdwide and in TM plant.,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
          • These people living in denial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
          • pirlo on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:34 am

i also heard..

the favorite statement from bashers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
          • puterakupang84 on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:47 am

I want to add some point in your comment…I think it’s really hard to find Proton Preve on the road nowadays…I saw more Kia Cerato than Proton Preve….I also heard that Preve sales were very low….agree with me? hahaha….(living in denial)…but the fact is…you can find many Preve’ on the road nowadays..I can say it getting increasing day by day…thanks to proton low sales hahaha….

• whysoharsh on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:38 am

Branding lohrr… Apple still trumps Samsung in many parts of the world…

• Proton is well known for it’s RELIABILITY? STURDINESS?
        Good handling Yes I agree but how can the gearbox , power window, CVT vibrating, saga BLM suffering low compression (cant start the car), saga BLM fuel cap stuck, and so on and so on translate into relability and sturdiness?

I hv been driving a saga BLM for 3 years now, i hv heen servicing the car at authorized proton workshop without a miss…

Yet, in three years, i had to call for towing 4 times due to the low compression problem which wont let me start the car, the fuel cap could be opened from the switch inside, power window switch malfunction…And someone is really making a big joke when he says proton is wellknown for reliability and sturdiness..Maybe he put a proton batch onto other car …

But i will be happy if proton improves, but they need to do it now…Another advice for proton : You may have GOOD RECIPES, but equally important, use GOOD INGREDIENTS. Get the fundalmentals right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
        • Mat Global on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:21 pm

It is rather sad that the good motoring test reports and reviews of P.T has been spoilt by certain idiots who like to provoke others.
          I have owned cars of various makes and know exactly their plus and minus points.
          Proton Preve in particular, is a good all round car as what my one year plus owning the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
        • farghmee on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:18 am

bagus2…sila tukar kete lain.

macamla kete lain xde masalah? :-P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • selain Saga BLM, saya ada satu Toyota camry 2013, sebelum saya menjual corolla altis 7 tahun yang langsung tak ade apa apa masalah, selama 7 tahun..

• Bro.. I bought old Proton Satria year 2000. Sometimes have few malfunction part, however still never been towing yet.

• Despite so many years of protection by u know who yet still a junk.

• willie on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:04 pm

what junk? it’s much better than dugong almera and catfish viso.

• TanTunTin on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Has anyone ever thought that it could be that this so called global car is base in the Honda Brio as part of Proton’s “collaboration” with Honda that also includes the previous generation Accord as the Perdana replacement?

• NIEKO on Dec 11, 2013 at 6:48 pm

Hey stop saying that,, if this GSC is based on the brio than can you explain way is it smaller in comparison than the GSC ,and I hate say this but the Honda Brio can’t even be sold in Europe because of poor Safety& quality if you don’t belive me you check it in autocar uk…Remember not every car Honda makes are good some are even worst than Kia & Hyundai …

• Celicazz on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:30 am

Come, proton bashers… Unleash your stupidity…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 36
    • ^ Kebodohan Yang Tiada Tandinganya on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 143
      • Syazwan007 on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Its ignorance, not ignorantly.. Just saying.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 4
        • Harris Murad on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:48 pm

hence the name; ‘kebodohan blablablabla’
          pity pity

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
  • nzain on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:37 am

hope this model can hit the market especially beat that myvi…and come with good features as preve…juz prove it proton ‘commit to be better’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • The overall design could be a lot better when its finish. not much complaints about that.

This GSC will sell like hot cakes if proton put the whole load of features and value for money. good price but the car is equipped with all the Practical features like :-

– 5 star EU NCAP Rating, Airbags , ABS , EBD is a must,
      – LED @ DRL front and rear light, Latest trend
      – Auto adjust & auto fold mirror.
      – Good infotainment. LCD touchscreen and GPS for town people to search for direction
      – Reverse and front sensor (park assist)
      – New engine with good power and FC.
      – Responsive CVT.
      – Leather seats. most people with children will opt for this.
      – Tinted windows also a must for us in Hot Malaysian Weather

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 5
      • Please improve the design of head rest especially for driver … at the moment just pain in the neck while and after driving.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
      • abuya123 on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:06 pm

Wow… minta mcm2. Try pergi tesco. Angkut barang berharga RM500. Pastu kat cashier bayar RM10 je. Boleh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 12
        • yup minta macam2 that is practical and needed for the owner

but i dont ask for stuff worth RM500 and only want to pay RM10 only.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
      • mamamia on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:55 pm

rasenyer park assist xperlu kot….kete kecik pn xleh nk parking dgn betul maknenyer driver tu yg bermasalah…haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • ntah pa2 on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:03 pm

cvt bad got low life span..x cukup umppphhhh…

• How many got low life span? Any source or link to support your comment or you are just living in denial, lol

• Petrolhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:38 am

No suprise to see a Honda tested along side a Proton nowadays but at least the new Proton GSC has different rear lights compared to the fugly triangle rear l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • farghmee on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:31 pm

benchmarking purpose?

honda brio isn’t here in malaysia.

• dude, benchmarking boleh dapat whatever car in the world laa… even if it’s not in malaysia, they can bring it in.

• Petrolhead on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:39 am

No suprise to see a Honda tested along side a Proton nowadays but at least the new Proton GSC has different rear lights compared to the fugly triangle rear lights on the Brio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • new sawi? plus some unreliable french powertrain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 77
    • how do you know the gearbox is? previous savvy is diferrentlah…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Unreliable French powertrain? I’m not really into French cars but do you even know that Renault has made one of the best front-wheel-drive cars and has also been proven on motorsports?
      Even the Satria Neo S2000 WRC car uses Renault 2.0 engine.
      Unreliable? Seems legit.

• Alfie on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:40 am

Hope the car is better than savvy with Proton’s own engine this time around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • first on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

UGLY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 60
  • SamsungFreak on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:41 am

learn from previous mistake of Savvy…. make a better car than Myvi…. thumbs up !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • sohai babi on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:46 am

Still crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 86
    • carguy on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:55 pm

Typical proton basher, didn’t even tried the car and yet leaving bad comment about the car. I wouldn’t say Proton is a good brand, but at least they are improving.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 8
      • Everytime you launch a car you expect people to renew their trust with Proton. You “Mudah lupa” doesn’t mean that other people “Mudah lupa” too.
        We will always remember how Proton screw up the auto industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 35
        • bikers kental on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:36 am

weh perodua salesman ioma@amoi. tak payah la nak racun orang lain pasal proton. macam ni ke healthy competition by bashing other brands to other people?

• junjun on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:51 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 125
  • Joe Radzif on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:53 am

Global?
    Macam nak fight dengan local (Perodua) jer…
    huhuhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 37
    • doesnt look like a small car base on wheel arch and rims..

• fastd on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:54 am

Perodua local?
      Ask Uncle Google & ask for stake holders info.
      Even for their new plant, only 40% allowed in operation floor….
      Local la sangat!

• priya on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:53 am

ini poton manyak kicik…

saya fikir yini A sigmen bukan B sigmen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • Dato' Jack on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:55 am

lets start counting how many basher and supporter comment.. as normal when topix carried PROTON subject it minimum comment is 500.. this 1 i predict more than that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • mamat on Dec 10, 2013 at 11:58 am

poton beriyo ~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 36
  • underskinned on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Is that a Honda Brio at the front?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • ae92r on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Maybe to compete with with myvi for local market. But lookong at it 2-3 times… just like NAZA SUTERA….. It can be improve.

• setiapaduka on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:11 pm

Does it reliable? I think most protons are reliable except few model where proton share the engine w other manufacturer. All models from first batch saga are still on the road. Hope this model will continue..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:03 pm

There is nothing wrong with the 1.2 liter engine in the Savvy, it is a reliable engine plucking away in millions of Renaults, and it works. Has a good reputation. The problem is Proton mechs who may lack the training and experience to deal with it, and most of all the AMT gearbox. Savvy owners seem to recommend the manual Savvy, that one is very reliable. Proton should have quickly changed the auto gearbox to a more reliable unit, even if FC had gone up a bit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • intermilan on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Agree.

Most of the comments made on Savvy is not from owners.

Having said that, overall, Myvi is a better package than Savvy.

Here is what I believe to be Savvy’s Achilles’ heel:
        1. Clunky operations of the AMT gearbox
        2. Poor interior quality
        3. Poor Proton & also unauthorized workshops product / service knowledge on the AMT gearbox (use wrong g/b oil that leads to failure)
        4. Expensive parts price, especially if its from Renault
        5. Certain parts prone to persistent premature failure

• side mirror look very nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • pacifictuna on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:29 pm

doesn’t look similar to EMAS concept. wonder how the final product looks like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • spyshotX on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:02 pm

google “lotus ethos”

• kadajawi on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:06 pm

I’d say ugly. The Emas was cool, but this looks very Viva like. I think they are going for the A segment, so this is going to be a very cheap car. To be honest I don’t understand why they would do that though, they also need a follow up to the Savvy/Saga in the most popular segment in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • no name on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:35 pm

the camo still heavy u can predict how it looks…so hebat la u kadajawi…

• budak baru on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:38 am

i work in proton. i saw these camo cars several time, live. but i couldn’t imagine how does it look actually.
        you have good eyes, bro.

• EMAS design blueprint has been sold to Volkswagen laa buddy. The VW Up!

• TabikCorpHassan on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:44 pm

Actually the other way around. VW Up Design was conceptualised before Emas. But after VW bought Guigaro, Emas gone la!

• ZigZag2000 on Dec 10, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Well from my observation…this is not proton global small car project…this is becoz the brio is actually belongs to Perodua’s RnD which the Brio is their benchmark car together with Mitsu Mirage..they use these car for benchmarking the upcoming viva replacement model…so this could be perodua’s testing their car not proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 39
  • if not mistaken this GSC small car was an rebadge car of Honda brio with mirror changes. as you can see on the picture by side view or the previous post here http://paultan.org/2011/03/17/honda-thailand-debuts-the-production-brio-compact/ door , door mirror , car shape it can be say is totally the same as Honda Brio.

The mirror change of rebadge car for proton in the history, may as below.

– Rear Trunk
    – tail lamp
    – Rear Bumper
    – Bonnet
    – Front bumper
    – side mirror mod onto the door ( looks similar as Honda City 4.5G side mirror )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 38
    • It’s looks like a shared chassis since the windows look exactly the same. Rebadge means most of the old car look the same as the original like the inspira but from the camo you can see that changes are made at the hood, doors, bumpers and lights so it will look nothing like the brio. I wonder how this costs proton 200 mills

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Green on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Should not be using Honda Brio Platform.

the petrol intake is at different side.

• the rear door windows of brio clearly look small..exhaust at different side..fuel cap at different place

• not-my-name on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:34 pm

Minor, not mirror

• The mirror change of rebadge car for proton in the history & also for P2-30A GSC, may as below.

– Rear Trunk
    – tail lamp
    – Rear Bumper
    – Bonnet
    – Front bumper
    – side mirror mod onto the door ( looks similar as Honda City 4.5G side mirror )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
    • no name on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:41 pm

go home man…u r drunk..can’t u see the difference between GSC and Brio…do ur homework b4 bashing..

• Why does it look so different from emas? Plz proton, I put high hopes for this model.. Hopefully this car will be ten times better than myvi :-)

• Proton Emas? That Giugiaro sold off to Lambo before Proton can claim that the design is theirs.

• Strange logic!

I bought something at Carrefoure before Carrefore Malaysia was sold to AEON.

Will AEON now claim the things back from me?

• By having you as their staff, no wonder proton is at this state.
          Lambo stops giugiaro from wasting their time on ailing company

• So you think that Guigaro designed the EMAS for free and without any contracts with Proton? Otherwise they wouldn’t be able to sell it to another compoany?

• The Proton EMAS design has been sold to VW. Google VW Up!

• Omastar on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:00 pm

P2 go for sedan, P1 go for compact car, in the same time. I think they might have some agreement each other.

• Matchy on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Is proton going to rebadge the Brio?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • ben yap on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:26 pm

the silhouette of the car looks awkward.

looks like savvy replacement model. it might follow the same fate as savvy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
    • spyshotX on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:03 pm

savvy’s shape suffered from love-hate syndrome.. you can call it cute and ugly at the same time.. this savvy replacement silhouette somehow reminded me of the new kia picanto & 2014 hyundai i10 which both are also global models for the respective brands.. it seems that they finally did it right to understand global taste after all..

• potong segah on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:31 pm

hope they will fit in 1.6 turbo engine for the GTI version!!!

• intermilan on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:26 pm

imagine .. Proton Savvy GTi ..
      for sure the craze of anak2 muda!

• Honda got Brio, Proton got BR1M. People can use BR1M money to buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • kucca on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:48 pm

let’s guess the car name,PROTON KERDIL …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • proton kura kura

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • ricky on Dec 10, 2013 at 1:58 pm

its a rebadged Brio with Proton’s own hybrid technology, starting price estimated RM40k, next year April.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Roy Mustang on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Rebadge Brio?

good try genius. They’ve started GSC project long before Syed Zainal resign lah. That time HOnda oso ddnt come in yet.

• nabill on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Wd u kno it,it might turn out da brio is jus a car caught in da pic got noting to do with da convoy!
    Anyway remember during da exora testing thr used to be few blue toyota wish 2gether?
    Wat made da savvy a failure was da engine/transmision combo dat was unrefined n costly…come to think of it…proton dont hv a smal engine fits thr…god i hope thy retire da 1.3 iafm+ its been ages….punch cvt is a given…
    Thy should ditch da handling by lotus..this car is a city runaround doesnt need lotus…needs relaible mechanicals,god fit n finish n comfortable

• pirlo on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:48 pm

if let’s say there is a 208 using trade plate in the picture, would you guys assume that proton is rebadging 208 as well?

• the first P1 to use side mirror mounted on the door body instead of A-pillar of the door.

• Tahu la you dari Proton. Trying to make people notice this changes. Will it improve the sales? Nop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
      • bikers kental on Dec 11, 2013 at 12:41 am

tahu la you dari perodua. trying to bash without facts and figures. will it improve your intelligence? nope!

• Gokul on Dec 10, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Guess this is the “cheaper cars” promised by the ruling party before the GE13.. According to their ideology, cheaper car doesn’t mean bringing down the taxes. There is always another way to do it and this small thing is the proof of it. Anyways, not going to bash until I saw it. However, it’s proton. Hence, you cannot ignore their quality record so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • The front car is Honda Brio.
    The ones at the back are Proton Beriya-iya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • rubbish on Dec 10, 2013 at 3:42 pm

proton still an proton.. rubbish car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
  • Fariq Halim on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:25 pm

What happened to the Proton Emas Development, Paul Tan can you dig up some information? i hope that it wasnt just another hangat2 tahi ayam

• dzulx on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Proton never learn will they?

Even with the camo, you can already say it would not be a handsome car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Denaihati on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:33 pm

if from bro, with affordable price, almost like previous savy or cheaper, i believe might have a good market. hope cheaper than saga sv. good luck proton and make it no.1 and more reliable and long last. sophisticated accessory is less necessary, but improve the safety feature, sound proof etc.

• Norman on Dec 10, 2013 at 4:47 pm

Im rather surprised with some people here blatantly bash without proper facts and even name calling others,Thats already shown how naive and totally idiotic one is.The cars havent even put on production yet you all alreary know how the car will perform is..Seriously la if your siblings do mistakes and yet trying to improve himself progressively would you discard him just for the sake of his mistakes?Im not surprised if a smart ass would involve politics in this and by all means go ahead and carry on with your dimwit mentalities and its already grown up in your block head brain.Pls la this forum is about automotive industry and please post constructive feedbacks in a positive way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • bukapintubayartol on Dec 10, 2013 at 5:24 pm

I think Proton will have a great tactical advantage if they can launch this car before the next generation viva.

• tested along
    honda brio?

so is this
    proton benjo?

• Mr Hukaka on Dec 10, 2013 at 7:26 pm

Will it be another SavVy?

• Bro m on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:08 pm

Still using campro engine???

• amaid on Dec 10, 2013 at 9:34 pm

Personally..i like proton handling…best in its class…lotus handling DNA is in proton…so no doubt proton handling good.for those who like handling rather than body or engine quality can opt to proton…i think for same price range is there any car that have good handling such as proton car..maybe yes..just correct me later tq…i think proton should but volvo lah….so that they can improve safety and car body…hehe…

• hohoho on Dec 10, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Global Small Car????
    U use the word global when u r selling cars in all corners of the world. That’s certainly not the case for Proton.
    Better rename it to JKSC for Jaguh Kampung Small Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • iluvproton on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:20 am

Seriously ugly i must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • elantr on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:19 pm

you can see through the thick camo?
      are you superman alike?
      lelelelelelel

• im rich on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:28 am

i work as a businessman and earn about 30k per month but still i use proton instead of toyota cause proton is my country product and i proud of it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • If it resembles Emas or Lotus Ethos, then it’s seriously good looking. What’s important to me is for Proton make good of their current products and carry them into this GSC. Dont tell me there’s no lesson learnt!

• ..and I think Proton needs to seriously bring in the expert in Interior Design. That’s a major thing to change, that’s bcos Proton loses big time in this aspect to other marques, I think.
    My 2 cents.

• Sagia86 on Dec 11, 2013 at 3:44 pm

I’m not prejudice with proton, but this one really look fugly… come on proton, can’t you just fired your designing team (interior & exterior) and get a really creative talent?

• totti on Dec 11, 2013 at 4:43 pm

my friend just bought a non turbo Preve 6 months ago and has been visiting the service center for the past months due to the rough noisy engine and steering vibrate after 30km.

The service center cant solve the F….ing problem of the rough noisy engine.

I test drove the car yesterday and this new campro engine is worst than my 6 years old nissan Latio and Toyota Rush.

She want to sell of the junk from proton after owning for 6 months.

Any taker want to buy at RM 50K?

• The whole team who designed the Preve and Supimama should be sacked, the rear of the Supima looks like a 80s stationwagon…sorry, not even biased local magazines with rave reviews cant save the Supimama

• zeirul on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:21 am

its ok if the price at RM20k below..

• Allen on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:41 am

oh no ~~~ it look like naza sutera

• human on Dec 15, 2013 at 11:00 am

i have to say ‘no’ for proton compact after seeing how unreliable my sis savvy, glad choosing the other brand, almost 8 years serve me well without a single towing. sorry proton

• david on Dec 15, 2013 at 11:18 am

trust me.it has the same fate like a Savvy

• Mr technical dept on Jan 04, 2014 at 2:19 am

bkn sng nk design seat model GSC aka P2-3 ni…berbulan2 develop…bermcm2 testing baik local or overseas..jd jgn nk bangga sangat stakat pkai kete cap jepun..ak pon ade gak kete jepon n kete proton..feel sme je..stakt minor issue tu normal..klu keje xde kene mengena dgn automotif jgn pndai jd commentator pulak..develop kete sendiri tgk pe jd

• proton on Mar 20, 2014 at 8:55 am

WELL , ANOTHER REPLICA OF PROTON ? LOOKS LIKE A VIVA