BMW M3 and M4 – first photos emerge online

BMW M3

BMW M4

The first pix of the upcoming BMW M3 sedan and BMW M4 coupe have been leaked online, which probably means an official unveiling is imminent – could we be looking at a Detroit debut?

BMW M’s new twins have traditional M car cues – a bespoke front end, wider fenders, quad tailpipes at the rear, and like the last generation where the M3 Sedan was given the front end of the 3-Series Coupe, the 3-Series wears the 4-Series front end.

The interior shot shows us a redline of 7,500rpm, with a 500rpm ‘yellow zone’ just before that. The newly developed S55B30 engine 3.0 litre twin turbo engine will produce 430 horsepower at 7,300rpm and over 500Nm of torque from as low as 1,800rpm up to 5,200rpm. It will be mated to a six-speed manual or an optional seven-speed M DCT with DriveLogic and launch control

GALLERY: BMW M3

GALLERY: BMW M4

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nissan on Dec 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 150
    • My Nismo R35 will smo….[thats too ah beng speak]….comfortably overtake you, leaving the dust and exhaust from my automobile to cover your forward vision, leaving you humiliated in your R35.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Nissan on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:47 am

At least I can afford a R35. I think you only can afford a toy model of a R35. So keep your mouth shut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • What you gain in your materialism, you lost in your humanity.

• Go get married with ur beloved r35 then, there are holes at the tailpipes…oh no, the holes r too big for u..

• carazy on Dec 12, 2013 at 12:29 pm

r35 whats that? some kind of animals, fruits or something?

• superbird #43 on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:23 pm

if u r talking 0-60mph and 1/4 mile, a 427cid ’64 Ford Fairlane Thunderbolt can and will smoke ur r35, stock by stock.
      1/4 mile – 8.55 secs @ 243km (as of 2012)

if u want a modern car, a 2012 Ford Mustang Cobra Jet will eat your r35 alive…
      0-100km – 1.52 secs
      1/4 mile – 7.85 secs @ 279km

bugatti is the fastest? i dont think so… :D

• Too boring cars because all the series is with same front and rear, only bumper is different. The designers are out of ideas, should be sacked.

• Heng Lee on Dec 12, 2013 at 7:12 am

24h race Nurburgring 2013:

Pos 32, 79 laps: BMW M3 GT4
      Pos 134, 48 laps: Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3

Why the M3 covered 31(!) laps more in 24 hours?

• farizY on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:27 am

Regarding GT races, different series, have different regulations.
        If I’m not mistaken, Japan’s Super GT cars are the fastest GT cars on the planet. They once put a Euro GT1 MC12, it could not keep up with the Super GT cars. Again, all depends on regulations and a lot can happen in a 24 hours race.
        That being said, both are equally stunning machines.

• Heng Lee on Dec 12, 2013 at 4:13 pm

But why the GT-R even finished behind cars like Peugeot 208 GTI, Seat Leon Cupra, Golf R and even an Opel Manta from 1980? ;)

• A nissan pussy wanker owner what a pity.

• farizY on Dec 12, 2013 at 8:28 am

I congrats you sir, successfully trolled Paul Tan readers.

• ya ya, go marry ur R35..u can use the holes of the tailpipes…

• Van Damn on Dec 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm

Looks stunning! Best looking beemer in years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:02 pm

Very close to “concept. I just love M models bring back the yellowish colour! Miss my E46 M3 :( with this colour. Alright now is waiting C63 pulak.

• bemez on Dec 12, 2013 at 2:47 am

Yello is too pale like sick people skin. The blue colour is so cheap looking.

• tricycle on Dec 11, 2013 at 8:07 pm

the side mirror is too radical. but it fit nicely.

• Definitely a M3

• So ugly. Ugly as hell, over complicated bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Bob_B78 on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:54 am

U may call it ugly but i believe if this car were given to you to drive for few weeks, you would show off to your frens and visit all the nightspots in the city to just to let ppl know you are driving the latest M3/M4.

• well can somebody tell me what are the differences between regulare 4 series & regular 3 series?

• so style. much fast. such fierce. wow. much speed. wow.

• sudonano on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:05 pm

It is time to save up!

they both look very very very amazing. And are guaranteed to drive as good as they look.

Best car for 2013? Maybe.

• ignite on Dec 12, 2013 at 2:52 am

What amazing? Copy paste lazy job. They should close shop.

• sudonano on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:19 am

I think you mean the copy and paste job would be something your dear Perodua does with their Myvi unlimited limited/special edition.

M cars are supposed to look understated. They are not supposed to have over the top body kits like your dear Perodua. It’s that simplicity and the sheer engineering under the skin, that makes an M car.

• BMW BEST on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:51 am

That’s how kids thinking…must design like Perodua so you can have outstanding performance-skirting, lips, darken rims and add-on some ugly as hell sticker like the latest F.E.M version~

• sudonano on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:45 pm

Totally agree. The FEM one is a real insult to car making. Goodness.

• Aeuie2010 on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:06 pm

With 6 speed manual i think this is more fun for purists rather than the r35. Absolute control.

• More fun if being towed by tow truck!
      BMW – Banyak Masuk Worksyop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • superbird #43 on Dec 11, 2013 at 10:09 pm

looks like BMW has returned to its root with the upcoming m3 and all-new m4 with an inline-6 cylinder.
    the very outgoing m3 e90/e92 will always be remembered as the only m3 introduced with the normally aspirated v8 engine.
    it is lighter than its i6 predecessor, redlining at 8300rpm, producing 400Nm of torque @ 3900 rpm and 414bhp.
    putting twin turbo in an M cars seems to dilute the magick that goes along with them like handling, high revving motor, state of the art on-board electronics and traditions.
    just my 2 cents.. :D

• Passerby on Dec 11, 2013 at 11:48 pm

i remembered an article saying BMW has stopped producing inline6 engine… but now they are bringing back this engine on a M badge… V8 will be missed and downsizing in engine displacement is imminent towards the future…

• The car does look real good everywhere except the rear.

There is just something about that rear that just does not seem to do justice to the rest of the car design.

• well can somebody tell me what are the differences between regulare 4 series & regular 3 series?

• shawal on Dec 12, 2013 at 12:47 am

absolutely sensational…

• ZF 6 speed manual? bmw’s relationship with getrag got sour?

• Like-A-Sir on Dec 12, 2013 at 9:13 am

The only perfect car in the world. Balanced up of everything from performance, style, image reputation, fuel consumption, size and bang for buck. While some of you are not agree, try to compare from the A-Segment Smart Fortwo up to F-Segment Porsche Panamera, you know that the M3/M4 is an all rounder..

• BMW BEST on Dec 12, 2013 at 10:45 am

Amazing stunning beautiful powerful! Best BMW M3(M4) for me! Perhaps M4 also can be treated as M3? lol

• khairulx19a on Dec 12, 2013 at 11:23 am

m3/m4 will be all over malaysia road after this

• (alex) bmw using ZF gearbox for sometime already… why getrag

• GirthyDude on Dec 12, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Haizz again the crap comment about smoking other with GTR.Hei Nissan you have no legit prove that you own a GTR.