2014 Toyota Corolla Altis specs teased by UMW Toyota ahead of launch: 1.8E, 2.0G and 2.0V; RM115k-RM137k

toyota-corolla-altis-taiwan-2

UMW Toyota has released preliminary specs for the upcoming 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis, signalling that a launch is imminent, perhaps as soon as January 2014, in time to capitalise on the CNY sales season.

As we’ve previously reported, the 2014 Toyota Corolla Altis will be available in three variants – a 1.8E that’s priced at RM115k, a 2.0G priced at RM125k and a top-of-the-line 2.0V that’s priced at a pretty pricey RM137k – Honda’s basic Accord 2.0 costs less than RM5k more.

All engines are Dual VVT-i units, so it looks like we won’t be getting the US-market’s Valvematic engine. The 1.8 litre 2ZR-FE does 139 PS at 6,400 rpm and 173 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.0G and 2.0V use the 3ZR-FE, producing 145 PS at 6,200 rpm and 187 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm. Both engines are mated to a seven-speed CVT gearbox with sports sequential shift, but only the 2.0V model gets paddle shifters. Both engines use an EPS steering system.

The specs of the 2.0 engine’s gearbox looks similar to the outgoing Corolla Altis. Curiously, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox seems more advanced than the 2.0’s gearbox – it has a variable ratio for the reverse gear as well – 2.604 to 1.680 – whereas the 2.0 model has a fixed reverse gear of 1.668.

As for forward ratios, the 1.8 litre model’s gearbox has gear ratios of 2.480 to 0.396 with a 5.356 final drive, while the 2.0 litre engine’s gearbox specs are 2.396 to 0.428 with a 5.182 final drive.

2014-altis-features

The 1.8E and 2.0G model uses halogen projector headlamps while the 2.0V gets an upgrade to LED projector headlamps with daytime running lights and auto leveling. There are no auto headlamp or auto wiper function for all models. The 2.0V is further differentiated on the exterior with a smoked front grille, while the other cars have a chrome finish.

On the interior, the 1.8E and 2.0G get ‘standard’ trim finishing while the 2.0V gets something called ‘Cyber Carbon.’ Features exclusive to the 2.0V include keyless entry and start, cruise control, black leather seats, and an eight-way adjustable power seat for the driver.

The 2.0G and 2.0V get a seven-inch 2-DIN head unit with a touchscreen and reverse camera, while the 1.8E makes do with a regular 2-DIN head unit with a CD player. Navigation is an optional upgrade for the touchscreen head unit. Aircon is a single-zone unit as standard, and so are steering wheel audio controls.

In terms of safety, only the 2.0V variant gets VSC stability control and traction control. ABS is standard, and so are two airbags and ISOFIX points.

The specs are actually pretty interesting because thanks to the lighter kerb weight and more advanced gearbox, the Corolla Altis 1.8E actually has a top speed that’s 5km/h higher as well as 0 to 100km/h acceleration that’s 0.2 seconds faster than either of the 2.0 litre models. Fuel efficiently will likely be better as well. If you don’t need the extra equipment that the 2.0 models offer, it might be a better buy, but then again it lacks VSC stability control.

You can view the full specs and estimated price list in the gallery below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lim guan eng on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:39 pm

apa? 2 airbag saja ? ini keleta mau kasi aku mampui ka kalau aku membeli ini keleta? atoiii…

UMW.. U Manyak Waste olang punye money la…atoiiii talak gunew punye toyolta

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 377 Thumb down 20
    • my father owns the dual-vvti 1.6E..
      must say the engine is quite good. fc quite comparable to myvi, if not even better..

however still think its wayy overprice though

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 26
      • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

ya..ya…ya…..talking bout fc meaning you cant afford a car. If you wan low fc, just get a bicycle at least its much safer than driving a trash car like Toyoita which doesn’t come with VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 134
        • Petrolhead on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:34 pm

What?! Only 2.0 V gets VSC, TC and only comes with TWO airbags at the price of RM137K?! No Valvematic engine, still using ZR-FE engine? The gearbox in the cheaper RM115k Corolla is more advanced than the more expensive RM137k Corolla? No auto headlamp or auto wiper function for all models? Conclusion is if you plan to buy the 2.0 version at RM137k, you rather get the Accord 2.0 at RM132k, or if you plan to get the 1.8 version at RM115k, you rather get the Kia Cerato 2.0 at RM118k which offers more features than the Corolla 2.0V and also comes with a sunroof and ventilated seats

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 391 Thumb down 10
          • butul ka on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:25 pm

Macam analyst saham….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 5
          • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Well, I have to agree with you on this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
          • Protonkaki on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Proton Suprima S is way better than this !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 78
          • Sam KIA on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm

so are two airbags – ha ha 2 airbag, typical T brand specs in Bolehland

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 10
          • Elantra at RM90k with VSC! on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Just bought a brand new high spec Elantra. Got more features and VSC than the Altis. I got it for RM90k, after year end 8k discount. The 90k car is higher spec than the RM137k car. Cabin also so much bigger than an Altis and the engine is as economical as a Honda City.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 184 Thumb down 19
          • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:42 pm

With the launch of the junk altis,Cerato sales will double as potential toyoyo buyer will switch to Kia C-segment full spec sedan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 11
          • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:46 pm

Cerato full spec 1.6 and 2.0:6 speed,ESP,6 airbags.
            That useless junk Altis?Only 2.0 got VSC.
            2 AIRBAGS and NO VSC for the 1.8 version??This is JOKE and JUNK.
            Cerato BETTER!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 4
          • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:49 pm

But Elantra only have 2 airbags.This is the weak point.BTW wait for the facelift model.Sime Darby should bring in asap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
          • Malaysians Kena Con Again! on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Toyota Corolla in the US is US$15,000. That is the RRP. Some dealerships go down to even US$12,000. So, you can get a good C segment car for US$12,000. That also CBU from Japan. High quality Japan made car with airbags like 6 to 8, VSC and all that. Even at this price, the US government HAS already collected taxes and duty and the US Toyota dealership is making a healthy profit.

Here in Malaysia, we get CKD Made in Malaysia Altis with 2 airbag and no VSC. CKD means most of the parts are Made in Malaysia. This should reduce the cost a lot compared to the CBU Toyota in the US. After all “Pakai Barang Buatan Malaysia”.

But sadly, our Altis is priced at RM137,000 despite being CKD.

So how can a car cost RM137,000 in Malaysia and the higher quality Japan made CBU higher specced car can only cost US$12,000?

Somemore, UMW get their cars from their Principal Toyota in Japan. Don’t be surprised when the car comes to Port Klang, it is hardly Rm30,000 for the Altis cause theiy give their dealership in each country even cheaper.

To add more, if it is CKD, the car will be worth even more less because the parts come from the principal at an even cheaper price.

So, taking the US RRP at US$15,000 (RM$45,000) vs RM137,000 for a CKD, we sure kena CON.

Somemore, the other two variants got 2 airbags and No VSC. UMW Toyota think our lives are not worth anything. ALL over the world VSC is compulsary. Every single Toyota sold worldwide has VSC except in Malaysia. UMW takes this out to make more profit at the expense of our lives.

So, we kena con dua kali ganda. No safety features and superhigh price!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 7
          • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 145
          • It is regional ASEAN Toyota that is suck…many their car in ASEAN r less equip..just look at thai where they built their car..many car there have no airbag up to 2 airbag with no vsc..oni certain model r more equip

• yousorhai on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:43 pm

When Altis owner sits in Preve, his mind asks questions:
            1.Why my car is not as comfortable than this junk?
            Answer : It’s got cheap torsion beam suspension setup.

2.Why my car got no touchscreen thingy?
            Answer : It’s optional. Now you regret meh?

3.Why my car only got 2 airbags. No VSC!
            Answer : Because Toyota sells badge, not car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 5
          • SAM LU HILUT on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Come uncles, aunties, granpas and grandmas. ALL NEW ALTIS for booking. Dun lost out. Dun need check internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Toyota got Great RV? Nah
            Actually you lost more because the initial price is high. Count the total cost of ownership not the resale value only

Preve : 73k. After 5 years : 35k. You lost 38k

Altis : 130k. After 5 years : 80k. You lost 50k

You save 12k with preve, not to mention cheaper parts after warranty finishes.

And yes, cheaper monthly installment means you can use it for other things like house loan, education, insurance, even for holiday.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
          • I would rather go for accord or cx5 with that crazy price… RIP UMW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • theanswer on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:35 pm

how about those who bought audi a6 hybrid?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • the A6 Hybrid is in a different segment dude. Check your cars.

• theanswer on Dec 15, 2013 at 12:16 pm

dude, u didnt understand my sarcasm. too slow dude..too slow.

• dino years on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:12 pm

toyota’s airbags are very powerful. they double as body bags.

• if you can afford a car, why still care bout Resale Value ? just buy a comfortable conti car or korean car but not junk toiyota…….

• Ridwan Autinetmagz on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:44 pm

I wonder why the 1.8 L engine have better performance on 0-100 km/h rather than 2 L engine on spec sheet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Your dad is a smart man to buy the Altis

Durability, Reliabity, Dependability and Most of all, man-machine mutual trust relationship.

This is something that kimchi owners dream of but most of the time, they have are not focussed because they are faced with traumatic nightmares

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 118
      • after looking at the specs and prices, now almost confirm to settle for a cx5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • Vader on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Global Toyota, moving forwards..
      UMW Toyota, moving backwards!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 11
      • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:16 pm

they both came from the same shyt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 84
      • ShameXO on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:59 pm

Is it fare to day, people who are buying Toyota these day are moving backward just like UMW, apology for Toyo fanboy but the fact is true because they’re buying a product that doesn’t progress and competitve

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
        • ShameXO on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Is it fare to say, people who are buying Toyota these day are moving backward just like UMW, apology for Toyo fanboy but the fact is true because they’re buying a product that doesn’t progress and competitve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
      • Suzuki on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:28 pm

It is true.

See how local Japanese market, their Toyota model and specs are much more fancier than Malaysia.

UMW is under government.
        Enough said.

• najib on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm

Jangan risau, Toyota walaupun 2 airbag tetapi body kuat. Kalau accident dengan lori 18 tayar pun masih boleh hidup.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 145 Thumb down 63
    • Sirimusa on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:34 pm

If Proton can offer 6 airbags and all the safety features that come with it, there is absolutely no excuse for UMW to offer a car with such poor safety options at almost 70% more expensive.
      I’m not bashing UMW or supporting anyone, but I’m truly sick and tired of having us Malaysians short-changed like this.
      On this note, I would like to congratulate Proton for the superb progress they have made to improve safety and lament UMW for taking steps backwards, having no regards for our safety and overcharging us mad.
      I hope this car flops so that we can send a message and a strong lesson to all automotive companies in Malaysia: enough is enough!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 267 Thumb down 10
      • Contender on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm

You hope that Altis will flop ? Keep on dreaming … even the Camry launched with 4 speed for their 2.0E and G spec and their top spec 2.5 without VSC still selling fairly well. But they have since added VSC for their 2.5 and 2.0G spec model. I belief this Altis will do the same … the next facelift only with bring us the valvematic for their 2.0 models …. my advise buy to buy their 1.8 model and wait for their improved version for their 2.0 version with valvematic …. but then again typical Malaysians would buy anyway so …. too bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 16
      • lithium on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:27 pm

yes i agree especially toyotas and honda (honda only slightly better).

at the price these vehicles are selling why are they not offering 6 airbags and vsc standard? from vios/city all the way up.

the civic for example is so poorly spec compared to the US counterpart. its sad that a car that perform so well in the crash test in US and honda malaysia choose to omit critical safety kit (look at the small over lap test on youtube). the corolla aka altis did quite poorly in that test and that is with full safety spec. the cerato/forte didn’t do that well but at least kia gave full specs.

seriously UMW think a gps/navi is more important than side and curtain airbag? LED DRL more important than VSC? explain the importance of the additional airbags and VSC to any car buyer and i’m sure they choose that over the superfluous gps/navi or LED DRL.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 3
        • glaze on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

According to UMW, LED DRL is as important as VSC. Because the 2.0V model with LED DRL is coming with VSC.

Navi is less important than VSC because even the 2.0V coming with VSC does not have Navi.

Most importantly is there are still many uncle/aunty supporting UMW. VSC, DRL, TC are some magic spell words to them. 2 airbags enough to go pasar beli sayur. Horsepower, gearbox? As long as pump petrol can move enough lah! Who cares 0-100km/h in how many secs.

These are the true supporter that make UMW moving backward. Sorry I think its not moving at all!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 0
      • Proton vs UMW
        Pls consider these point regardless of model, specs & prices
        1. Durabilities of parts
        2. Services center quality & services
        3. Long run maintainence costs
        4. Car value (this will help while you trade in your car earlier than loan settlement)
        5. Fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 60
        • Miss up one important comparison: safety. When the driver die or handicap, everything above seem meaning less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • True Testimony on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:41 am

1. Toyota, but Proton parts cheaper.
          2. Proton (Toyota service centres couldn’t be bothered about you, they have too much business. I complain about rattling/engine underpowered, they say, AIYA ITS A TOYOTA BIASA LA. So whats the difference between proton and toyota’s mech attitudes? My nephew’s Proton gets picked up from his house to the service centre, and is brought back after its finished. Eat that type of service, T&H)
          3. Proton, parts cheaper, mechanics all round knows how to fix.
          4. Proton, and before you roll your eyes in disbelief go ask how much a Camry is traded in for. I KNOW. I HAD ONE.
          5. Comparable, and again, GO CHECK YOURSELF. While the Altis may trump Preve, the Innova or Estima certainly does consume more than Exora.

And you forgot about:
          6. Safety (Proton)
          7. Brand Image (It’s more of Prootn being an under-performer than Toyota being any God of Car.)
          8. Comfort (Proton, I had a Camry, I KNOW)
          9. Driving Dynamics (Proton, I had a Camry, I KNOW)

and for your info,

MOST MALAYSIANS DO CARE ABOUT PRICE.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 1
      • Gee Tee arR on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:42 pm

Kudos to Proton’s slight advancement, although im not a fan of Proton. However so, I would still love Proton’s rebadging methods if cars such as Proton GeeTeh-aR, Proton Lembukini and Proton KerBaru are introduced to us Malaysians.

Advice to Proton: stop advancing. haha
        but rebadge better cars such as: (guys you fill in the blanks) im sure you have a long list of rebadging list for Proton :)

• toyota is releasing a bunch of jokers. the 1.8e outruns the 2.0g from the spec sheet. what the hell was the toyota engineers thinking?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Raja Lawak on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Sam Loo gerenti banyak gembira ini hari lah Ha Ha Ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Where is Sam Loo? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Lim kit siang on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:14 pm

LU da pakai camry lu manyak chelita. Bapak pon pakai proton saja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • honda-civilian on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:40 pm

pfttt…glad to hear that..seems my civic fb 1.8 is better than altis 1.8e..haha..

• Uncle Camry on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:50 am

I am a (formerly loyal) Toyota customer, but now I feel UMW is treating us customers as if we are fools. UMW seems to hope their customers never compare with other car brands, because once you do, it is obvious that Toyota is offering a bad deal to Malaysians.

UMW is making a mistake here. Maybe their profits will increase in the short term, but word will get around, customers will feel cheated, and Toyota will lose market share to other auto makers.

And why are they doing this in Malaysia? In the US Toyota is competing on low price AND stuff their cars full of goodies like eight or ten airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • driver on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:19 am

Finally! Well, better late than never. We need to spread the message wider and faster. It’s not about toyota, or any other brand. It’s about us! Our hard earned money!

Let’s launch “We Deserve More!” campaign.

… and of course, the same message goes to Perodua as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • shame_Loo on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Top speed 185km/hr & 180km/hr? This is a joke. Even my previous gen, I managed to bring the car to 190km/hr and still can go further. 2.0 acceleration poorer than 1.8? Sam Loo, shame on you….

• apa lu on Dec 16, 2013 at 8:50 pm

bukan lim guan eng sudah ada camry 2.5V meh? :D

• lok kau koon on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:49 pm

Toyota famous for durable engine , cheap parts and good resale value…buy korea junk after 5 years then you will regret forever…I owned those junk..think before making decision

• muhdfzi on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:24 pm

bukan toyota tak guna,kerajaan Bn yg tak guna….itu kereta mahal sebab tax bro…

• Daniel on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:40 pm

why only the 2.0V variant gets VSC stability control and traction control?

still 2 airbags? Picanto has more airbag than this Altis..

End of the day people still rush to buy bbecause it’s a Toyota..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
    • Quality > Quantity.

Rich People prefer Quality first.

When they want quantity, they willing to pay more.

lastly, Urge Goverment BN Capati Janji reduce car price by 20-30%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 38
      • PassingBy on Dec 14, 2013 at 9:52 am

more like they want the brand then the quality. u sure a toyota wont be a scrap metal after a car crash? lol.. quality pfft..

• sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:35 pm

Toyoita is meant to create rubbish for sorhai Tai Lan Ngong ppl to buy it just because it got RV. They doesn’t care you drive the car just out of the showroom and the next thing you are lying on bed in the hospital. Only Sorhai ppl will buy a car without VSC/ safety feature. Look at Korean car they care bout life. Sooner or later Korean will wipe out all the japanese junk car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 82
      • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:58 pm

the Koreans now already wiping out the junk Japs,especially Kia.You see even the mini car Picanto also come with ESP and 6 airbags.Yes sam69 is right,only those retarded ppl will buy the junk underspec car at high prices.I am not Kinchi fanboy but when I buy a car I will look at the specs first as I love my family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:03 pm

You have no class and only kimchi driver who are poor talk like you. I will see you at my junk yard to trade in your kimchi at 50% after one year. Dont beg me for 51%. Kimchi has no RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 41
          • Sam Loo..u have 1 yr old hyundai/kia price RM20-30k?

• Sam 67 on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Sam Loo, you’re just another bloody typical Malaysian who opt for resale value rather than safety. Wake up….

• Sam Loo on Dec 14, 2013 at 12:22 am

If its a sushi, it will have great RV

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV

If its a KIA, start to pray 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
      • sam ialah babi on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:11 am

org miskin takde duit je dok fikir soal RV….yelah mane nak ade duit deposit nak beli kereta baru, so beli kereta yg RV tggi…haha…sedih hidup ko dik non

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • helmi on Dec 15, 2013 at 10:30 pm

Pls dont call Sam Loo like that (Bxxx). He is a funny guy with his rubbish posting that give us some relief in this stressful world.

• At least Toyota have RV you can sold it when you have dong gua tau fu.U got a lot money to use when you have problem

• vincent on Dec 13, 2013 at 1:42 pm

This is a car for those buyers that don’t know much about car and still thinking Toyota make the best car in the world.
    For 137k, make more sense to buy a Sonata, Accord or CX5. If these cars are too big for you. Then just you half of the sum to get a Preve, more value for money.
    Good luck to those buyers who still wanted a Toyota that take you for a ride.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 32
    • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:40 pm

edit first sentence:
      …Toyota make the best Tin Milo car in the world & without VSC.

edit last sentence:
      ….Toyota that take you for a granted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 35
      • Low Budget on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Bradder, Is it Toyota or UMW taking the people for granted? If it is Toyota, then hundred of millions people around the World got fool by Toyota, It can’t be too many fools believing blindly to Toyota’s, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
        • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:35 pm

Egg or Chicken come first?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Bob_B78 on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Global Toyota don’t rip off people the way UMW Toyota does to Malaysian, is just as simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:18 pm

If its a sushi, it will have great RV

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its a KIA, consider Plaza Masalam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 24
      • So you’re telling me that a Skoda that’s sold in Malaysia have better RV than a KIA? Sir, are you on crack?

• kusochon on Dec 15, 2013 at 12:49 pm

why plaza masalam?

• Okay specs, but questionable safety system…in otherwards, typical UMW offering.

I’ll just leave the comments section now before the bashing comes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
  • And so the UMW bashing begins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • And why does the 1.8l have better 0-100km/hr timing and better top speed compared to the 2.0 cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • 139hp for 1.8 n 145hp for 2.0 ONLY IN 2013…no vsc for 1.8..n only 2 airbags for both 1.8 n 2.0 model..
    Better buy civic, cerato, focus or elantra in term of safety, performance, n also price..boikot UMW!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 3
    • heloo..u forget to mention proton preve for ur better buy list. R u living in Taiwan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 13
    • policeman on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:29 am

Inspira lagi bagus. More HP. MIVEC!
      Lagi mooorah.

• next car for Driven Web Series

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
  • thong on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:00 pm

Top speed for 2.0 180kph n 1.8 is 185kph..even b segmentt cars can tapau this..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:07 pm

2.0 clock 0-100 @10sec, most other brands 2.0 can do lower than that….CVT lagging perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • nabill on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:29 pm

since when toyota buyers actually look at the spec sheet or compare 0-100 times????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • that’s right. toyota buyers are blind. they just buy because it’s a toyota. give them a milo tin also they will take as long as toyota logo is there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
      • yeah. they like the SUSPENSION only..

• Fahmi on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:16 pm

Decent car ruined by poor specifications and overpriced…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
  • quite expensive for an ugly piece of shit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm

I totally agree with you, just like the Hilux face of Sam Loo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 6
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:44 pm

sam69, more like sam67 is a sorhai tai lan ngong that bought a K5 last year.

After 3 months, remorse sets in and he wanted to sell. Came to my showroom and Sam showed him 3 Hilux immediately. Feeling cheesed off, he tried to sell the cabbage a other used car dealer but everyone told him the same thing.

Last month, this lam ciao came to my yard again, and I showed him the broomstick as we no longer accept KIA. He came over a few times and just last week, our Nepalese guard gotta man handle this fella out.

We all understand that he is desperate, but business is business

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 46
      • japsfan on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:08 pm

hahahaha….what a story..unfortunetely u r a brainless tiny story teller

• You banyak pandai buat cerita…why don’t you go to hollywood bikin movie? Don’t waste your time here…won’t earn you anything

• jolly_idiot on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:26 pm

Did i read correctly? 1.8 is 0.2 sec faster than the 2.0 in 0-100km/h?
    This 2.0 is a slow poke. Gutless… Apek car.

Should wait for the new Mazda3 then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Dato' Jack on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:29 pm

SAM LOO said.. all added features only available for 2.0V variant only….

kah kah kah…. Umw Toyota oh Umw Toyota…. please go learn how Proton Preve been equipped with all 6 airbags, vsc, etc on all variants..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 24
    • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Toyoita = Blood Sucker!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 10
    • this is so called business on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:49 pm

would an university hire a guy tat only got a SPM certificate to teach their students??
      UMW can sell alot of kosong vios with RM 78k, can proton do tat?? why dun u ask proton learn from UMW??
      This is marketing strategy la bro…..if u said those ppl tat buy toyota cars’ are sohai, tat means who buy branded are sohai too, coz they just simply attract by the brand. This so called branding strategy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 17
    • AdrianC on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:00 pm

err… VSC BA TSC Side airbags only available in Preve Premium variant (72k+)
      but oh well, still cheaper than Altis

• VSCBA on Dec 15, 2013 at 11:26 am

now all variants of preve do have the above spec.

• Rashuk Khan2 on Dec 31, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Oct ’13 production onward All Preve variant equipped with 6 airbags and ESC. even for 1.6MT Executive ..If you don’t believe just drop to Proton show room and see it yourself…

• My god ! my mom’s current altis 1.8 G includes VSC . And this new piece of s^&* gets nothing. Just another case of makeup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
  • parang on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:36 pm

never mine with all sort of bashing, people still buy. bottomline actually is reliability and toyota havent fail to deliver yet haha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 36
    • When there is nothing in the car, there is nothing to break down..

So of course the reliability is great..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 13
    • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Yala..yala… even kancil is also reliability mah, see on the road still can see ppl driving..its more than 1X year wor… so why get 3X4X more expensive car? duh….. Kids please grow up la..don’t be Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong like Ah Pek Sam Loo. Now is the New Generation, 2014 is coming…still hugging your old engine for century? Look at Korean car, they will swipe off all fugly junk sushi car very very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 15
  • Dato' Jack on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Best quoted ever:

“Both engines are mated to a 7-speed CVT gearbox with sports sequential shift, BUT ONLY the 2.0V model gets paddle shifters”

“The 1.8E and 2.0G model uses halogen projector headlamps WHILE THE 2.0V gets an upgrade to LED projector headlamps with daytime running lights and auto leveling”

“There is no auto headlamp or auto wiper function for all models.” -> wtf???? hello!!!! even the 73k preve have these features..

“Features exclusive to the ONLY 2.0V include keyless entry and start, cruise control, black leather seats” -> wth???

“In terms of safety, only the 2.0V variant gets VSC stability control and traction control. ABS is standard, and so are two airbags and ISOFIX points” -> lets spell B.A.S.I.C…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • farghmee on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:53 pm

giler sengal kete ratus ribu airbag ada 2 jek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • Bob_B78 on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Jetta probably has the worst price to spec ratio. Now Altis takes second place. I think not before long the next generation Altis will take 1st place. At least Jetta safety feature is better with 6 aribags

Anyway, congrats UMW Toyota for making Estima/Previa the worst price to spec ratio in MPV segment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • anonymous on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

another rip off by Toyota, Malaysia Boleh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
  • peYno on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:47 pm

2 airbag and VSC only for top spec? Somemore no built-in Turbo, no auto-cruise and Lotus Handling?

Better buy a Suprima S global car than this third-world crap car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 8
  • anuar on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:49 pm

LOL, the safety features presented is a fu**ing joke from UMW. Really 2 airbags only?

and only the 137k variant with VSC?

You guys has become very tamak. every new model u guys lower the specs but increase the price.

Lets make a campaign to BOYCOTT TOYOTA MALAYSIA!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 3
    • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Campaign??Tak payah lah the only way to boycott Toyoyo Malaysia is double the sales of the Cerato.1.6 or 2.0?That is your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • fatchicken on Dec 13, 2013 at 2:59 pm

malaysian love airbag LOL… they ll settle for a kancil with 9 airbags than a altis with 2 airbags lol..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 45
    • bvc100 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Err… you’ll want those airbags if you ever get into a crash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • enrico on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Not just malaysians, it is global standards for all new cars to have side airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • akula on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Macai TOYOTA detected!!!! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • headlesschicken on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:47 pm

you’re not going to LOL that much when you’re a passenger at the back of this altis during an accident, are you?

• bvc100 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:07 pm

Btw, where’s Sam Loo?
    Would love to “hear” what he has to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo Lover on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:08 pm

woi Sam Loo where are u man? Thinking of ideas n points to counter the bashes?? come on i noe u can do it…Sure u gne talk bout RV, reliability, n brand…pls try sumthg diff this time.tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Stanley on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:11 pm

The 1.8E and 2.0G is like kosong car only. The picture up there of the specs is like all for 2.0V only. Feels like they only wish to sell the 2.0V only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • enrico on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:13 pm

This is the campaign in Australia, to encourage people to buy cars with safety features

http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au

Meanwhile in Malaysia we are paying more than 100k for 2 airbags and no VSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • nabill on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:28 pm

dont blame toyota..
      blame the G for having slack rules…all the other countries these cars are loaded with safety kit on all trims bcos its MANDATORY to do so if ur wishing to sell a car in that country…

in our country however……

• … the gov discurages ABS, ESP, etx. ?

• Green on Dec 15, 2013 at 10:37 pm

agree,
        blame the government too.

for not tepati janji allow 20-30% price drop in car.

else, no need buy those car above RM100k.

• sudonano on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Disgusted and disappointed by this extreme rubbish spec from Toyota as always.

I had some hope in them when I saw the 2014 Altis. It genuinely looked nice. Better looking than the Civic (from the back, front, both are nice). It is no Peugeot/Citroen/Ford/VW, but it is inoffensive.

Then I saw the specs.

At this point, it seems mad to buy the Altis. Like 1.8E no VSC? Seriously? And the 2.0V has only 2 airbags?

UMW Toyota knows, the largest seller will be the 1.8E and 2.0G. Cause at a price of nearly 140k, why not get a D segment from the Koreans or the 2013 Accord, which is a bigger car. They had the same conundrum with the older Altis. It made no sense to go for the range topping 2.0V cause it was so close to the Camry 2.0E. Sure the 2.0V Altis has a more advanced engine and a newer (but sadly a CVT) gearbox, yet you were getting more metal in a Camry.

At this point, we now know how UMW still is in the abyss. Its like Naza Kia can come in with a more advanced, safer, and more comfortable Cerato 2.0 at a price well below 120k. The Cerato is not a sportscar. That I agree. That sportscar like handling is meant for the Focus and Jetta.

But that is the same thing with the Altis. It is a car which is supposed to waft along the potholed roads we have, after your hard day of work. And the Cerato does it well. Probably better than the last Altis.

Its safe to say that the spec list has not changed since the 9th Generation Altis.

Oh and to all those Toyota sales fellas feeling threatened, we know you guys are so scared now, purposely pressing the dislike button and refreshing the page repeatedly, in order to block the comments that say the truth. But the truth is the truth and you cannot hide that. Good luck. Malaysians are not stupid and not oblivious.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 2
  • Toyota is offering a well designed car with outdated features, and the trick is most Malaysian still buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • alamak..Toyota really moving backwards nowadays!i very hard to pursuade myself to get this car…why toyota cut off the specs? airbags not important? vsc ? holly shit! wishing the people whos still buying this car good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • I prefer Toyota Altis over Civic BUT 1.8E without DSC TCS but at over RM114k is a way overpriced!

ONLY stop buying, get ya deposit and buy Accord or CX-5 with RM137K.

They can’t sell Camry with stingy features but they knew that many still looking for new Altis. So UMWT gamble with lowest specs possible with status quo pricing of C-segment price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • After reading this suddenly i think suprima s or preve is a better option… sadly it come with bad quality & poor interior design…

So, i better stick with my myvi instead…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • yeehaaa on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:49 pm

I think you need to test drive Preve n Suprima S first, particularly Suprima S before you make any comments..Me myself had the same thought like yours on those cars but when i’m in it..i was like.. ok,I WANT THIS CAR !!!!!!! and i’m buying one.. go n test drive, trust me..you will love it!

• Nge Seng on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Disappointing for an established brand to insult customer’s discernment. And really for the cost, customer should do their homework. This offering does not set any standard in its class.

• TOYOTA??? Hmph… the brand that keeps fooling people… Toyota fans, are you opening your eyes already??? LOL…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:41 pm

I LOL along with you…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Boss Sam always encourage sorhai tai lan ngongs to buy kimchis that can be traded in, specifically Hyundai.

We need these breed of people to keep our business healthy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • enrico on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:26 pm

https://www.tac.vic.gov.au/about-the-tac/media-room/news-and-events/2009-media-releases/dont-buy-a-car-without-esc-and-curtain-airbags?SQ_ACTION=clear_design_name

In Australia the government is telling people not to buy cars without VSC and side airbags!! Wake up Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
    • ruffstuff on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Only in malaysia people go for reliability, resale value over safety.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • this is so called business on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:00 pm

just like alot of malaysians like to spend but dun like to buy insurance…

• Shaun on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Wow, not a single positive comment and yet I’m sure many of you will go and buy this car at the end of the day, as it has so called better resale value and it’s a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • A car with wheelbase = 2014 H city and N almeera. Passable

• airbags on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:30 pm

Given you a viva with 7 airbags and this altis 2 airbags. Both went to a collision. Who will survive? Just think. Keep on bashing Toyota and enjoy you Suprima Ass. Btw, if you try to compare, both are different segment.

If 1 Suprima Ass that have 6 airbags and whatsoevershit and 1 Toyota Altis 1.8 park together and you are able to choose 1 car for free, which car will you choose? I bet you 10 out 10 will definitely choose the Toyota. Why? Simple enough because of Toyota. People nowadays buy cars based on the price, looks, and brands. None of them walk into the showroom and ask “this car how many airbags ah? Got VSC or not? I scare my car skid leh if no VSC”
    Let me tell you, VSC is only as good as your tyre. Is just a sensor with fancy name like VSC, VSA, ESP, Traction Control etc that cuts off your fuel even your foot still pressing the trottle when only the driving wheels start to lose traction. So haters that cant afford a Toyota will keep on bashing Toyota. Even rebadged Proton Accordana they will also feel very proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 99
    • ruffstuff on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

The Suprima. Safety first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
      • airbags on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:54 pm

Safety first? I dont think so. Proton is struggling to sell off the Suprima Ass. Even KIA Rio, Cerato, Vios, Elantra, Peugeot 208 that are on the road more than the Suprima. You dont drive your car out and shout “hey look i pay only 70k i got turbo and 6 airbags and VSC”. People will look into what brand what car you drive. I hardly see any Suprima Ass on the road. And now Proton just rebadged the old accord. That is going to make the brand name Proton worst. Is like using other people ass to stick on your face and claim “this is our national car – Proton Perdana”. This is a joke of Malaysia. Because of Proton, every other brand are overpriced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 45
        • sam69 on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:40 pm

People dont buy proton is because their after service sucks and problematic car. You see more Korean car on the road because they are all fully equip with high feature not to mention the safety features VSC. Go study more, kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
          • ruffstuff on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:26 pm

Still more toyota than korean cars. I would happy if more safer korean cars on the road rather than Toyota. But that is not the case. Safety is not important for malaysian.

• Proton Staff on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:43 pm

I don’t bother what people think about the car or the brand. What’s more important that I made the right decision. ESC is as important as your seatbelt. It doesn’t matter Proton, Kia or Peoguet, if the car is safe i endorse it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
        • i Love airbags on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:57 pm

Hurmm…i dont think u know about how VSC or ESC or VSA work. Go on youtube search for ESP how it works by fifth gear..

ouh u say about brand r?? pffttt itu kampung area can la u show off..in k.l nobody cares bro.. u live in a world were nobody cares about u.. hahaha…

one more think ESP give u confident to drive 120 KM/h at Karak on wet condition..PREVE is one of the best on that situation..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
        • PassingBy on Dec 14, 2013 at 3:33 pm

lol brand? hahaha seriously who cares about what brand u using? when u crash the cars all together u only got 1 thing similar = scrap metal. oh most probably the one without all the safety measures will be on newspaper too for tragic accident.

• For free? Toyota Altis. Sell it off since the RV is good, and get a much better car within the same segment and price range.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • i will choose the new altis. then i will sell it off (since it has good resale value)and get myself a safer car with VSC n more airbags, even a Suprima S will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • not-my-name on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:01 pm

Ha ha ha, another butt hurt fan.
      First of all, sorry (i try to respect ur opinion, peace).
      Definitely i’ll choose Suprima Ass if it for my daily usage.. nobody is perfect driver. Technology is very much welcome what ever u say, especially safety.
      In reality, IF FREE i will choose Toyota not for my usage nor my family, but to sell it with expensive price to person that fanatic like u. The money i use to buy another house.

SMART ME :-p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Dato' Jack on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:08 pm

wah… now 130K car standard is lower than 76k standard..

if i’m the buyer and afford for 130k car.. for sure this altis is not in the list…

only sohai people by sohai altis car.. retard car at retard price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • stfu airbags on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:01 pm

hello airbags, stop harassing other peoples concern on safety, stop mention this stupid “So haters that cant afford a Toyota will keep on bashing Toyota” thing, T are not that exclusive, bare that in your mind!..

increased price and lack of equipments is a total rip off. not to mention that T put their customers life as an option while other brand try to fit all those ‘fancy’ features as standard.

nobody want to drive and crashed, but those ‘fancy’ features will definitely help if anything went wrong.. change the way you think, don’t be happy when you’re being robbed in broad daylight..but if you still do, provide your address and sure somebody will rob you, thank and congratulates and then left you unharmed.

put your brain where it supposed to be, it don’t deserve to be placed in a cow butt even that cow live in a luxurious condo.

the choice is yours, good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • kompor on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:11 pm

Of course i will chose altis for free and then sell it to tololta fans..
      I can use the funds to buy suprima + all risk insurance and a little deposito..
      If prefer looks still got a little change to spa / saloon / boutique once a month maybe..

• iskhalifah on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:39 pm

Dear Mr.Airbags, why don’t u try this.

Drive your car (switch off VSA) at only slow 40kmh on wet tarmac, and slam the brake pedal hard (imagining another vehicle suddenly obstructing in front of u). I will congratulate u if you can handle the car straight.

This is something that my friend learnt during Honda safety driving course. The driving course was pretty wet. The instructor asked him exactly to switch off VSA & slam the brakes at 40kmh, the Insight he drove suddenly spun out of control 360 degrees!(but didn’t turned turtle). When the instructor turned the VSA on and did the same thing, the car vibrates like hell but it maintains a straight traction under heavy braking. VSA also helps to stabilize the car the wheel lose traction during cornering in wet roads (doesn’t apply if the car is carrying so much speed).

It happened to me. My car spun when I drive at 50km at the NKVE exit to Jalan Duta curve. Luckily no car behind me. It is also quite an uncommon sight during rainy days to find cars spun and turned turtle at the Jln Semantan exit-Jalan Duta curve. Trust me, they dont have to drive at 100kmh to spun out of control, even at 60kmh its just too risky to lose control on wet roads. Just having ABS & EBD won’t help u much.

Imagine that you’re driving at a ‘faster’ speed 60kmh during the rain at kampung road & suddenly a helpless child crosses the road from nowhere. U know that if u swerve left or right will land your car right into the ditch, the only way is to brake hard. With VSA, at least your car won’t spun into the ditch/divider or hit incoming vehicle coming from the opposite lane. The ABS will further assist you to steer out of the harms way.

And if all fails, at least if your car spun & crashed on a lateral collision (side impact), the curtain and side airbag will reduce risks of serious injury or death (at least). SO is the basic Preve (with 6 airbags & ESC) is way safer than the Altis 2.0G? And wait.. it costs half the price. You be the judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Just saying on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Mr airbags, you are definitely UMW’s dream customer because you will just buy anything they push to you unquestionably. Can you answer why at such a high price, UMW can’t equip the car with safety standards at par with what is offered at the other countries?

• Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:54 am

You must either be a juvenile let loose on Paultan.com, a Toyota diehard who believes Toyota = Lexus, want-look-class-die-never-mind or just plain anti-Proton.

Both my wife and I drive Euro marques that are loaded with safety features that help us to driver safer and stay safer. We used to drive Toyota and Honda. I can tell you, no regrets going Euro. The local distributors have skinnied down our T and H cars!

If you still think that you are classier in a T/H, I am one who would buy a Suprima S, stay safer and laugh all the way to the bank. On a fine day, I may even challenge you to do a T-junction side impact collission :-) I bet our side and curtain airbags will reduce death by 40% and injury by a wide margin. All these are based on facts, not fiction.

If you are ever going to bash Proton again, base on facts please. If you purchase a Suprima S and an Altis today, 7 years down the road, your total cost of ownership will still be less on the Suprima S. The only thing I did not factor in is your perceived bruised ego (being seen driving a Suprima “Ass”) and the fact that you may never live to the 7th year should there be a side impact on your side.

Think about it. You can defend Toyota. But defending UMW Toyota is a losing game. Just look at the facts, Paultan’s article. Ignore the comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 14, 2013 at 1:07 pm

I will agree with kompor. I will surely choose Altis. I will sell it back immidiately for 75% of its selling price to toyo fans (hell they surely buy it). Then I use the money to fully paid the Suprima.

Walla…. I got Suprima for free with extra cash in hand. Then I can do whatever I want with SS.

Common… gimme the Altis…

• enrico on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:30 pm

It is now mandatory for all new cars in US, Europe and Australia to have VSC!!

• fridzmax on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Euro 2 emission standard, torsion beam…what car laa is this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • =myvi

• kambinganas on Dec 14, 2013 at 3:31 am

Biar betul, kete RM137K pakai torsion beam? Kalo macam ni beli City je lah!

• pirlo on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:24 am

euro 2? dammit umw. they are really giving low-spec vehicle to malaysian. if i’m not mistaken, malaysian regulation for emission is euro 3 at least. even proton can provide all euro 3 in their variants.
      please note that providing a vehicle with better emission will cost you a lot (better catalytic converter, advance calibration). when this altis comes with euro 2, how much they earn from that?

• Savvy88 on Dec 15, 2013 at 8:23 am

Proton CFE engine = Euro 5
        IAFM+ engine = Euro 4
        CPS Engine = Euro 3

• Syameer on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Well done to Toyota! I am pretty sure all the hardcore fans are very happy right now with the latest plastic surgery done to the latest Altis. Well, I like the design. It is simple and not over complicated; Sushi design philosophy. But, the downturn, very poorly equipped for its price tags. They are making Malaysians look like a dumb people. Spending hundred of thousands for a car with a spec of RM 70K car. What a shame. Malaysians, please open your EYES WIDE OPEN! The Proton is improving much but what they get from you is bullshit every time! Please at least appreciate their effort! This time Toyota is really making a fool of you, where all the intelligent basher? Bash them lah!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
  • nighttrain on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:40 pm

1.6l Preve, 138bhp 6 airbags, VSC and some more. Whoever buys the 1.8l 139ps, 2 airbag, no VSC Altis is an idiot.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Low on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:45 pm

Design buruk, safety alakadar, features hancur, harga cekik darah. Vote for Kia Optima K5 or Honda Accord. Well, Toyota – Moving Backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • dino years on Dec 13, 2013 at 3:50 pm

even with 6 airbags and vsc, this car is expensive. but its a toyota. without them, omg expensive. but its a toyota. branding is everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Toyoda on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

Looking forward for this car but the features especially safety features are still way behind all of its competitors (German, Korean, french infact other Japs also). Toyota has the best car manufacturing standard but not sure if that can balance off with the empty specs cars with competitive price tags. Well I think they would care less about it since it will still sells good and majority of their target buyers drive slow, follow the rule, duit cukup2 je bli keta toyota (RV la,FC la,spare part murah la)….. and stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • bakhi on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm

oohhh…no stability control even for 2.0G; previous altis 1.8G got this VSC..guys if u re planning to buy a family car..seriously get a car with stability control..think of the passengers u bring along..now turn back to get civic 1.8s..yeah it has VSA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • mahal nak mampus la kereta kat Malaysia ni..kalau mcm aku ni setakat juruteknik kat Sapura,sampai tua la x merasa kereta buatan japan yang ok-ok sikit..cett..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • tebabow! on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:04 pm

bro, skarang ni dah takde kereta jepun yg ok ok sket.. zaman tu dah berlalu…

new vios no vsc? now this above 100k punya kreta no vsc oso- what so ok about that?

what so branded about toyota? or Honda? i dont say “WOW A TOYOTA!” instead i say “oh it’s JUST A TOYOTA.. OR after reading this i might say “oh its just a UMW…”

• glaze on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:48 pm

100k no vsc is normal la, even the 270k Previa also without VSC! Toyota mah, resale value good, wont break down, why need VSC right?

Last time many ppl buy toyota without even looking at the specs. Hopefully with the good social networking nowadays can change ppl’s mind. Don’t bother buy this overpriced car! With 137k there are many options even D-segment and SUV are available.

At last, next time you would say “oh no its a Toyota!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • SHITTY UMW on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:36 pm

i thought i was reading the statement as…”oh its just a shit, UMW…”

• sepul on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:14 pm

It seems that japanese cars are more expensive than korean or conti cars, however great their resale value is. And I have to wonder if they are that cheaper to maintain, service wise.

They are fuel efficient, yes. But then people might sell them after few years.

• Samy vellu on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:16 pm

1st Kindly dont use my tradmark “janji dicapati”. U all tadak malu ka??
    2nd we already seeing car price drop la thambi. Look at the price now. Got rebate summore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Denaihati on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:20 pm

“Curiously…. – it has a variable ratio for the reverse gear as well – 2.604 to 1.680 – whereas the 2.0 model has a fixed reverse gear of 1.668.”
    i think 1.8L less power and torque, need higher gear ratio, while 2.0L is sufficient. but test drive we will known the different or reverse drag race ka…heeee
    Nice front end and dashboard, much better than predecessor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • The only way of asking for better safety spec with this kind of outrageous pricing is by giving them bad sales figure. Proven with the Camry case.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Very good car. Once u drive an altis, u wont bother driving a cerato

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 30
    • this is so called business on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:14 pm

agree with tat, if u wan to buy a korean car go for elantra. i tested cerato and elantra, elantra is much much better than cerato. cerato hv too much vibration…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
      • Kommunys on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:13 pm

Yes those who drive Altis will praise here and there as they drive Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • japsfan on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:33 pm

u r such a Smart One

• autodriver on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:46 pm

“There are no auto headlamp or auto wiper function for all models.” Auto headlamp and auto wiper are very simple function and nowadays very common found in C-segment. How come Altis still don’t have them but yet selling at “premium” price.

VSC only for 2.0V and two airbags for all variants only? The 2.0V safety level is just same standard like Forte 1.6SX I bought 2 years ago, whereby 1.8E and 2.0G safety is lousier than my car. Weird.

Some people believe it is Toyota and it will still selling well. It is not always right and subject to which model. The previous Altis is fail to main its market share due to old tech and unfavorable rear design. If these were the final selling price, god bless UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • sakitsedap on Dec 13, 2013 at 4:56 pm

why bother putting “auto lights” in the spec list when its not available on all variants? hoping someone would misread it?

• i pity the marketing team, they have to dig out something that the car is better than competitor(which is nothing just like the vios). they target the wrong market already, currently this market’s buying power is young families and young execs already. they could not keep up anymore. now only we see uncles buying vios and camry.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Boss Sam has been so busy since 11am today.

So many K5 and Forte owners lining up to come into the yard to trade in their cabbages, but boss had to turn every single one away, because there is still no market for KIA’s, even if 1 year old K5 is at RM40k and 1 year old Forte at RM25k.

He is still busy now, skipped lunch when some Elantra owners came in. We will meet the numbers to have the 3rd batch of kimchi exports by Christmas.

Thanks to Proton in Accordana and Toyota for the Corolla Altis, more and more kimchi owners are selling off their rotten cabbage.

Will be back by 10pm tonite to let everyone know the deperateness of kimchi owners out there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 42
    • tebabow! on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:41 pm

oh boss… i got cerato 1 month old… memang so so only la, so i wana sell my 1 week old TRD vios- suda kena eksiden la boss- try to dodge a dog that suddenly crossed the road while i am speeding. NO VSC PUNYA PASAL! by next month finish repair.. how much u take?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 35
    • japsfan on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:40 pm

good story essay… but u get an F without supporting facts

• Hate Bastard Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:43 pm

Real Asshole you

• Why do people even buy Toyotas nowadays ? They’re a dying company lah, and so is the rest of the Japanese car industry.

If you say ”Toyota cars are still the most reliable in the world blah blah blah” ; What’s the point in having a super reliable car if it only has a 4 speed auto, 2 airbags and a 1990s dinosaur engine (a.k.a Vios)? Those well-kitted Toyota’s are usually too expensive or are Lexus badged.

Instead of buying a Toyota, why not buy a Ford, Kia, Hyundai, Skoda or Volkswagen ? All offer FAR MORE technology and safety features, but at the same price. Yes, all of these brands do not make cars as reliable as Toyota, but they offer a far more dynamic experience. You will have really great days driving them, and really bad days. In a Toyota, it’s always a normal, boring day.

Or better still, why not invest in a Mazda ? A combination of the best of both worlds; reliability and features, but at a slightly higher price tag ?

Don’t buy something because everyone else buys it. Buy it because YOU want to. Screw peer pressure, screw brand image and screw UMW Toyota.

Btw, this is comment is coming from someone whose dad owns a 2011 Toyota Altis. Even though my dad is satisfied with it, I personally wish he had bought a Mazda3 or Ford Focus…. or waited for the Kia Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 31
    • Sam Loo on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:55 pm

Why not buy koreans instead?

Because,

If its a sushi, it will have RV
      As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV
      If its a KIA, do pray 20X a day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
      • Bro, chill man, money and RV is not everything in life.

I can earn back that lost RM50k or so. But that happy feeling… that warm, fuzzy feeling…. yes, LOVE. That one is priceless. Do you really love your sushi or not ? I dunno man, who would you rather marry ? A boring leng lui or some wild chick ?

• japsfan on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:49 pm

RV again? how much is your? since u r the expert of RV

• Autoexpert on Dec 15, 2013 at 10:22 pm

The re-sale value of a car is based on demand/supply and public, NOT by used car dealers like Sam Loo! Don’t get fooled! A good high quality product, including kimchis will demand high RV one day. Sam Loo has forgotten that in the old days, Malaysians all laugh at Japanese cars for their “Milo tin” content. With all major recalls from “used to be reliable” Toyota, kimchis will be more popular than sushi in time to come! Mark my words! This has already taken place in USA market. The Korean cars are the first to offer 5 years warranty, no mileage limit! If you think Korean cars are not reliable, do you think they dare to do this? Even Japanese auto makers did not dare this. Only people like Sam Loo who has never been living or even get educated out of his “kampung in Malaysia” has this narrow mindset of RV is king! Anyone who buys a car based on RV alone is really an idiot! If you think Toyota has highest highest RV, think again, it’s Honda. Go trade in a Camry, and see whether other than Sam Loo will give the Hilux treatment!

• U said it all on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:40 pm

Dammit u said everything I wanted to say. I drive a current 1.8G Altis. Spec even better than this crap.

And yes Mazda is the only Japanese car brand I still respect. Genuine in their offering. Honda need to wait for the next civic. Current one is a major flop. Even comparison video here attest to that.

I seriously suggest samhilux, Sam loo and Maserati start jumping ship. Umw Toyota really moving backwards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Ahhh well, I feel you bro. What to do, we all sakit hati only right now.

Anyway, you can still rest assured your Altis will be there for you, for many many years and decades to come. She will be boring, yes, but she will serve you well ’till the end.

• glaze on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:46 pm

Why do people even buy Toyotas nowadays ? They’re a dying company lah, and so is the rest of the Japanese car industry.

>>Bro, if you have any figure to prove I would really like to see it. If it is based on your personal opinion then sorry I am giving a Dislike for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
      • There is nothing to prove, it is a known fact.

Japan’s population is shrinking because not many people can afford to have kids, and those who can don’t want to. Japan’s population is one of the oldest (by average age) in the world. The people who work at Toyota are on average older than the people who work in other companies like Hyundai-Kia, Ford, VW etc. Japan needs young minds and talent, but they still DO NOT hire younger professionals from other countries, unlike Hyunda-Kia and China’s carmakers. How can we expect Japan to keep up their level of competitiveness when their car industry is being led by a bunch of old dudes who are living in the 1970s and 80s ?

What goes up, must come down. Japan had their time, but those times have LONG gone. We will remember and cherish those times when Japanese cars were considered innovative and true value for money. Just don’t dwell in the past.

• Guilt79 on Dec 13, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Dad will say

“Your money or my money?”

• your i agree about your comments for toyota….until this part

” They’re a dying company lah, and so is the rest of the Japanese car industry.

thumbs down for u because of this

• Kk, up to you if you want to believe it or not, but it’s memang true.

Just give it another 10 years, the whole game will change, especially since China has finally risen to the challenge.

• BoringStuffs on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:43 pm

SamShowedMeTheHilux, stop saying the same things over and over can? Can almost predict what you’re gonna say each and every time. *Yawn* boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • boring with sam on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:18 pm

bro, this SamShowedMeTheHilux always mention RV, RV and RV for all kind of tread from paultan.org. Understand it is tough time for this UMW salesman, by no choice he has to remind everyone Txyota having the best RV among all brands.

No turbo like VW, no new engine like Mazda Skyactiv, higher price than Hyundai/ Kia but yet much lower spec, quality is being questioned by recall from oversea cases. Where’s the selling point, RV maybe.

• SamCucukTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Sam Loo and Hix are the same guy both graduated from Sam bodoh kidergarden school where headmaster is Sam Bdh. Best subject is talk coxk.

• konikeciwa…im die hard Altis fan since 2002 model..so i’m about to sold my previous 2009 altis. Please even me die hard TOYOTA doesnt mean i do not do any reasearch or comparison with others. I really2 hoping this altis can beat spec KIA CERATO K3 spec..6 a/b, power seat, flex steer,..cmon that only cost 118k for that spec..MayB kia Engine quite far behind than TOYOTA..But now!..what in my mind” why not i give a try to kia”..Some time people become boring always come with same feature..So we are democrasy..INI KALILAH to Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • are yoou sure that kia engines are older? have you heard of direct injection? toyota don’t even have that. they have to use subaru technology to incorporate. i think u need to do more research before saying things.

• Sam Low' s Maid on Dec 13, 2013 at 5:56 pm

My boss busy today…im going to wash his myvii car later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • setscrew on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:08 pm

I don’t really bothered by not having some kind of gimmicks, but oh my god, not again! 2 air bags and no VSC?! Those could be the life saver when unexpected happens, for god sake, the consumer need to be united and make UMW pay for their ignorance and lack of social responsibility!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Ridiculous !! on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:27 pm

This is totally rubbish! They are even going backwards! At least outgoing 1.8G is cheaper and has Vsc. Come on la, they wanna use Camry tactic again? Cannot sell and 1 year later give free Vsc?
    How many more loyal fans they wanna piss off?
    RV? It’s also a joke now. U buy at 137k and later sell at 85k is considered good RV? Didn’t even calculated interest rate yet due to the higher loan of the price.
    Already less and less altos on the road as it is. Small interior, lousiest c segment spec yet highest price out there. Is there a conspiracy for umw to kill off Toyota here?
    Really can’t believe my eye after reading this article. Rip umw Toyota.

• Van Damn on Dec 13, 2013 at 6:59 pm

Actually this car is perfect. Just that the price should be RM90k instead. But need to add RM40k for a small little metal plate badge so that Sam Loo and his family can eat kimchi everyday to afford the RM40k badge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • SamCucukTheHilux on Dec 13, 2013 at 9:14 pm

Sam Loo is only a junior sales man that make hard earn money. He cant afford to eat Sushi but nasi lemak kosong. He was my previous colleague at the UMW showroom, as a junior sales man with no integrity, he made low income but talk like boss, I am so wondering his brain already cucuk to his backside

• paparadzi on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Want a higher-spec Toyota for about the same price? Get a Prius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • blublibla on Dec 14, 2013 at 12:11 am

About to get one :D The Prius is the only Toyota I have respect for. 50 MPG/4.0L per 100KM for the win!

• Van Damn on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Prius? Let me show some calculations :

4L/100km (Prius) vs 7L/100km Car B
        Assuming one year you drive 25000km:
        Petrol Price for Prius:250 x RM8.4(4L) = RM2100
        Petrol Price for Car B:250 x RM14.70(7L)=RM3675
        Hence,
        Total Savings/Year:RM3675-RM2100=RM1575
        Total Savings/5 Years : RM1575 x 5 =RM7875

In Bolehland A Toyota Prius costs RM135k after discounts. The car is excrutiatingly and painfully slow and it is a laughing stock symbol (Refer to movie The Other Guys). The built quality of the car is worse than a preve. Try slamming the door with your eyes shut and you will hear the sound of Milo. After 5 years of driving you only save RM7k+. Deduct this from your initial price of RM135k and you have a RM128k budget. With this RM128k, you have so many other better options than this vagina car. Unless it is Prius C, then the RV and Petrol value makes much more sense. Stay away from the Prius aka Vagina Car.

• I have a 2004 Altis 1.8G, and although it is reaching its 10 year mark, I must say that I really don’t have any reason to change my car. Sure, it may look like an ageing rock beside many of the more modern cars but given my packed schedule (always running late), I really need something that I can count on to start whenever I turn the ignition.

It has seen its fair share of accidents, which is about the only time I couldn’t use the car when I needed to. Services are simple, quick and consistent, although costs are on the higher side. Change the battery when you you see it getting weak and it won’t let you down.

All the buttons work, lights light up, windows work and engine still relatively smooth. It’s a simple car, for simple people, and that’s a good thing. Torsion beam suspension is rubbish when pushed, engine is weak when pushed to redline, 4-speed gearbox is bad for extra-legal speeds, etc. However, if you’re a person who drives at a decent speed, corners safely (comfortably), and only exceeds the speed limit by pure accident: this will make a great car for you.

Resale value is great for most Toyotas, not because they have a premium ‘image’ or are cheap to maintain. Simply put, my Altis is 10 years old and I don’t seem to see it having any major issues for another 5 years, at the least. I would pay for an old car that I can continue to just start and go every day.

On another note, for all of you comparing specifications and features, I would like to urge you to stop simply comparing simply based on the fact of if the feature is there or not. While safety features (TRC & SRS) are absolute necessities for today, the rest are all about EXECUTION. Auto wipers work completely differently depending on the make of the car. From experience, most of the non-premium marques with this feature will occasionally wipe even when its on a dry, sunny day, smearing gunk all over your windscreen. The auto headlamp on a VW and a Toyota will work very differently as well. My VW only lights up when it’s really necessary, whereas a Harrier/Alphard/Estima always turns the lights on whenever you simply cross an overhead bridge, and off again, ruining your HID bulbs in a few years. HID lamps on my VW shine bright and far, whereas those on a Harrier or Camry are significantly dimmer and have a lot less range. If I had a car with auto wipers and lights that don’t work well, I would leave them off anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:35 am

WW, just want to comment about VW. I spoke to my relative living in Germany, VW is NOT a premium brand. It is their KERETA RAKYAT. It is the folk’s wagon after all. Premium brands are Audi (VW Group), Merc, BMW etc.

Having said that, I think it is a good car with the exception of the problematic DSG (most of my friends are hit) and also poor parts availability problem. There is a Toureg in JB belonging to a relative’s friend who has been in the workshop for months. Yes. Not bluffing. He even provide photos and phone number so that you can call him to verify.

As for the light switching on under the bridge, one thing to bear in mind is that safety matters. If it is on, it means that it is dark enough. Your car because a silhouette to the car in front and behind you. Switching on the light makes sense. The car in front sees your headlamp and the one behind your rear red lights.

My car does that as well and is also slow to switch off. This is a conservative approach to passive safety. Obviously, VW engineers made their choice and I can’t say it is wrong but I am glad my car switches on the lights in a tunnel without much delay.

• Modesto.hann on Dec 13, 2013 at 7:47 pm

We malaysians are equipped with better knowledge about cars. Won’t be easily ripped off anymore. thanks to air Asia for bringing us out to see the world and Unifi for bringing us BBC that shows us Top Gear.

• Just saying on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm

I understand that entry level models will always get fewer equipments than top spec ones but at least don’t skimp on safety, UMW.

Come on, the Altis is already the most expensive C-segment car in this country and yet they are still equipping it like in the 90s. ESC and 6 airbags should be standard.

Part of the blame should be on the buyers because if they start demanding for better safety, then UMW will surely listen to the voices of dissent. This ‘Just buy because its a Toyota/ any arrogant brand’ mentality will not benefit the users. Sorry for the ranting.

• Artist on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Wow, no VSC, no xtra airbags.. better get a vios, doesn’t feel any premium without those features, just slightly a bigger car which is negligible for most of us…

• Colin Wong on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:01 pm

All said, it is not Toyota, it is UMW Toyota that is the problem.

Also, please, Toyota is not a high end car. So please insinuating that people who are disappointed with the 2014 Altis are sour grapes. Toyota = Japanese Proton. Period.

• Money Rip-off on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:34 pm

Shame loo, show us your hilux face, your boss UMW come out such a nice car to malaysia, thought every one is dumb-ass uncle that don’t know what is car spec. And ask you to keep hard selling them. Pity you also.

• Korean Junk Boss on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:40 pm

Thank you all the salesman and fanboy who put so hard effort to bash this Toyota kao kao, will give you all good bonus come this christmas.

• Korean Junk Boss on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:45 pm

And how about Cerato full spec as our annual dinner lucky draw prize. Thumbs down if you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Guilt79 on Dec 13, 2013 at 10:46 pm

I read the comments, more entertaining than the news about the car.

• Only happen in boleh land…………other market get d full spec. Other 4airbags, VSC been eaten by someone who like to eat people life indirectly. RIP Toyota ……

• its hard to beleieve some people boasted the Supima cheaper wit 6 airbags more safer (like untouchable wont die in an accident) the main reason is the gomen protection and high excise duty, Toyota Honda FORCED to omit some features in order to keep the prices down…omg no wonder BN still rules wit such rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • pirlo on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:18 am

if that’s the case, why koreans can provide better safety and better price comparing to umw (picanto, elantra)? don’t tell me BN also protect those kimchis. honda specs is also not bad comparing to this toyota within same segment(civic).
      it is all up to umw, want to include them or not. they have big profit margin due to high selling price minus BOM cost. no wonder that practice was also followed by overprice perodua.

• Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:22 am

Bob, keep to facts please. Class leading cars like the Focus is cheaper, loaded with safety features which includes 6 airbags at lower prices. Don’t let your love for Toyota cloud your good senses.

Keep to the facts. Wake up. Toyota is a great company but UMW is trying to rip us all off.

• BRANDING on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:47 am

Then why Mazda 3 (expected price 139k) and mazda 6 are so expensive too?? pls compare apple to apple. mazda, honda, toyota, suzuki, mitsubishi are Japanese brand and Ford, hyundai, kia, proton, Mercedes, BMW are not Japanese brand. In this business world, branding rules everythg, if u hv a better brand name u are able to sell ur products with higher price-tag. Just like why Mercedes are more expensive compare to Lexus. Do u noe wat are the valuable asset in coca-cola company?? Is the brand name itself.

• tiadaid on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Branding my left foot. Just because you have a strong brand doesn’t mean you can price with impunity & not offer value for money.

Only in Bolehland with the typical idiotic mentality “Brand first, value second” does this stupid notion applies.

• blublibla on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:56 am

Excuse me sir but a Kia, a Hyundai, a Ford and many other makes are also charged very high taxes just like Toyota and Honda. Yet they can provide c-segment car like the Altis at a cheaper price and lots of creature comfort features.

And as a respond to why people compare this with Preve/Suprima is because Proton threw in more safety features in the Preve but they didn’t increase the price but decreased the price instead.

UMW here is doing the opposite by ommiting features especially safety features yet they increase the price for the sake of a “all new generation” car. WTH?!

What say you Mr Bob?

• ruffstuff on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:17 am

I don’t think that you know that Proton is also have heavy excise tax. If PR rules, Proton will be cheaper and still safer than overprice Toyota. That is how our tax system works under FTA.

• donkeysaressmart on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

HAHA T&H forced to keep the price down by omitting safety equipment but then how about Hyundai/Kia/BMW/VW/Peugeot? They also protected like Proton? What a joke.

• rchoo on Dec 14, 2013 at 1:06 am

Wow, I enjoy reading so many anti Toyota comments.
    I have already boycotted jap products since some time back for the following reasons:

1. They did not admit nor apologize for the rape of Nanking (massacre 300,000 to 500,000 Chinese in just one city alone with all imaginable cruel ways you could imagine).
    2. Denied and refused to compensate so called comfort woman in Korea, Philippines and China (actually sex slave).
    3. Changed their education system to whitewash all their world war 2 crimes.
    4. Deny the existence of platoon 731 (which carried out biological and chemical weapon testing on life Chinese as guinea pigs).
    5. Deny the invasion of Asia but instead use the wording of “IN” and “OUT” of Asia. They think it is their house, coming in and going out as their wish.
    6. Refuse to clear all left over mines in China like in QIQIHAER
    7. Hunt Whales citing research, researchers research with their brain, the jap research with their tummy.

And the list goes on.

Now be very very alert, the ABE government are reenacting a series of laws recently just like the their government in Word War II, getting them ready for aggression.

I for one will not buy anything Japanese for my new house, tomorrow I will place order for a brand new Peugeot 508 Premium, features for features and performance for performance beat the Jap flat.
    You guys better straightened your spine also, boycott jap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • shawal on Dec 14, 2013 at 1:46 am

http://www.umw.com.my/ourcompany/bod/Pages/default.aspx

these are the people responsible of selling overpriced underspecced toyotas in malaysia..

But of course the parent company have to take the blame as well

they won’t sell competitive cars , if malaysians keeps buying them

• cliche on Dec 14, 2013 at 6:51 am

New cliche is coming:
    “What to do? It’s just a Toyota” (125k, 2 airbags NO VSC)
    “Yes, It’s a Proton!” (73k, 6 airbags, WITH ESC and Lotus ride and Handling)
    “You can go wrong with Toyota”
    “Oh no, it’s overpriced underspecced Toyota!”
    “Oh yes, it’s a value for money proton!”

• dino years on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:51 am

value for money proton? oh no, not nearly. but still better than toyota and that’s the problem. Toyota is making us think that they are the market standard and all other car makers need to do is give us the standard safety equipment without innovating and improving.

• heybadigol on Dec 14, 2013 at 7:39 am

To be honest, the car doesnt look too bad. And UMW was rated number 1 in the recent ownership survey for best sales & after sales service. But to be frank, id rather buy a cheaper car with better specs and lose out on UMW’s “top rated” service. Even considering that its “CBU” made in Thailand, it has no business costing that much with such low spec. Why cant Toyota HQ do something about this? Are they not worried about the Malaysian dealer (UMW) destroying their reputation. Or are they all happily enjoying the profits to be bothered about it.

When will the new Mazda 3 reach here lah? Then Paultan can do comparo new Mazda3, new Altis & Cerato (since it topped the previous comparo).

• yeehaaa on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:06 pm

My friend test drive mazda 3 in the US already. Interior design nice…but it’s small inside (hatchback version)

• AUSNSW on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:49 am

C-segment cars are too expensive today….Just add more money can get d-segment car….Why don’t buy d-segment car instead them.

• Crook on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:58 am

Not sure why our Gov not taking action on Toyota for using our
    country as their DUMPING GROUND!

• Guilt79 on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:38 am

Nolah. Toyota didn’t treat us as dumping ground. But they though altis will be use as taxi, just like Thailand. So they take out Some features.

• Carbon on Dec 14, 2013 at 9:55 am

My buddy was so looking forward for its launch. But after the specs was released, he’s totally turned down by the omission of VSC. He’s going for the mazda3 instead. Thanks tot the idiot umw purchaser who decided to uncheck VSC from the spec list.

• Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:24 am

UMW Toyota. Malaysians have spoken. PaulTan’s articles don’t often attract so many comments and so much attention. Malaysians are not angry with Toyota but with UMW. You think we are stupid but we are not. If you are still profitable, remember, you are chipping away the goodwill that goes back decades. Your competitors are not sitting still. They are really spoiling us all by giving us all. Just look at Euro marques such as VW, Peugeot, Ford etc that rose up from nowhere. Passats have given you a good beating and I am beginning to see fewer New Civics, fewer Altis and more Focus and Polos on the road. Watch your back.

We all know that you give us the oldest technology, lowest specs and don’t give a damn about our safety. VSC is a lifesaver and so are airbags. For the sake of profit, you and Honda put up false advertisement of “prestige” and such nonsense to distract the unfortunate less informed consumers the danger you are putting them into. Worse still, some of your unscrupulous salesman talks about how “safe” your cars are but without telling the full story: that airbags and safety features are essential for NCAP star ratings.

Shame on you UMW Toyota and I go as far as saying what goes around will come around. For those who knows about the hugh impact of the absence of VSC and airbags, yet still made the decision to remove them for profit, do not forget, what we do, someone up there is watching. Some call it karma, some call it divine justice. It is just morally wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • rchoo on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:39 pm

Yeap, U r right, which is why I just placed a deposit of RM 1,5000 for Peugeot 508 Premium just an hour ago.

This Peugeot 508 is really powerful, it generates so much torque at such low RPM, that’s what most drivers want and it only sips petrol (not drink). and it comes with so much features, way to many to pamper us with. Now, all NASIM has to do is to prove its service and Peugeot maybe its TURBO reliability.

• rchoo on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Sorry, it is RM 1,500

• Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:58 pm

508. No regrets. It’s a good car. 10k service only RM380 plus. Engine is good. The only problem is that you must regularly push the car. Otherwise turbo unit rosak. That’s their experience. Anyway, with 5 years warranty, you’ll be fine.

• setscrew on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:32 am

Long story short, just say no to Toyota. I can bet my head on it, they will wake up.

• nicivo on Dec 14, 2013 at 11:35 am

i sure hope they dont launch this car with these specs…its a joke to tell you the truth..what a rip off…. 2 airbags??? 1.8 with no VSC???? UMW you are kidding me. Of course some idiots will be buying it but in general sales are gonna go down the drain for toyota.

• Gracke on Dec 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm

There are many choices out there…why just or a must Altis……why!

• budlee on Dec 14, 2013 at 12:29 pm

only two airbags?

honda civic has 4 on the 2.0 model…

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 14, 2013 at 1:34 pm

That’s the mandatory air bags in bolehland. the remaining bags will be given when you die in accident, free of charge. Depends on numbers of bodies in your car…..It’s the body bags….

• Haloo Sohai Loo
    Do u Really Know about Car Rv??
    let me ask u 1 thing.
    How much does vios 2010 rv?? as far as i know is around 50 – 60k G spec and Kia Forte 2010 1.6sx 6speed is also around 50 to 60k + – forte sx full spec new car price is 85k Toyoyo Bios Gspec is 89k so call high spec G oh ya 1 more cammy 2.0G spec 2011 model at 115k kia k5 2011 108k new car price for camry 2.0G 159k k5 new car 143k kia are number 4 in malaysia now means market share increase when share vol increase mean more demand when more demand means increase RV why i know?? bcos my friend just sold kia forte for 50k+ buying a k5 Do some fuc**king study b4 u kutuk org Bodoh u know wat some 1 told me when u are stupid u dont know is the same as when u are dead u whould know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
    • Jennice on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:02 pm

omg. Why whould ppl buy RM60k 2nd hand Forte when there is NEW Proton Preve.

Kia Forte reliability very good? crash test very good?
      hahahhaha….

Why u are looser??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • AdrianC on Dec 14, 2013 at 2:01 pm

somehow, Thanks to UMW, because it unites our people to sokong Proton & oppose UMW lol
    tengok comment semua likey Proton & the Preve rather than this shiat

• Uncle SAM on Dec 14, 2013 at 3:01 pm

With this car launch, the sales is going to be bad.. SAM LOO face will show you he’s HAI LAT instead of HILUX!!!

• SamToyotaSalesMan on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:10 pm

Why bother, Sam is only a old folk but junior sales guy at UMW that talk cock like he is the boss.

• Edmont on Dec 14, 2013 at 3:17 pm

another overpriced piece of crap from Toyota..

moving backwards.. well done UMW !

• new altis 1.8e 139ps RM115k , 2.0g 145ps RM125k and 2.0v RM137k compare to hyundai elantra md 1.8 premium 150ps at only MYR114,903.30.

• You say? on Dec 14, 2013 at 5:36 pm

Those shopping for Altis and now disappointed will jump to sonata/k5 instead. Currently those who cancel booking vios jumping to elantra. Coz 1.8 now giving 11k discount, even cheaper than vios now. How I know? I was in Hyundai showroom when the buyer telling the salesman.

• Sam Loo on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:08 pm

I am too busy at showroom, the altis sell like hot cake, I got too many orders today. All kimchi showroom is empty. No RV car like Kimchi will die soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:10 pm

Penipu

• Colin Wong on Dec 14, 2013 at 6:27 pm

Actually, Peugeot 408 is already a worthy option with the warranty and free service.

• rchoo on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:21 pm

I also considered Peugeot 408 but at the end decided to get a bigger car for my family which is the 508 Premium.

Yeap, this Peugeot 408 2.0 is only RM RM 106,839.50 – RM 12,000 = RM 94,839.50 (w/o insurance), so damn cheap w good features n very nice interior, worth every penny.

• rchoo on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:35 pm

Yeap, u r right.

What on earth is happening, have we lost our mind, Peugeot 408 2.0 – RM 94,839.50 (w/o insurance), features u look for them yourself, even more a continental car. A jap car like altis 1.8e 139ps RM115k , 2.0g 145ps RM125k and 2.0v RM137k.

So much difference, go figure yourself lah, it is a no brainer.

• setscrew on Dec 15, 2013 at 8:47 am

Agreed, if the new car price already differ by 40k, what’s Point of arguing with RV?

• cosmothegod on Dec 14, 2013 at 6:36 pm

I know UMW executives read this blog. Tell your bosses(I know you call them assholes) about what’s going on down here. Each commentator represents a few hundred potential buyers. It’s called evolution of communication power.

• SamToyotaSalesMan on Dec 15, 2013 at 9:59 am

True, tell your management if you keep the old uncle junior sales man like SAM LOO the bdh sales man (only), your sales get even worse.

• Annyeong on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:12 pm

Well Done UWW! All the best for your sales in the Malaysian unker market. I just got myself an outgoing model kimchi namely Forte 2.0 full spec at 91k at 1.88% . You know what,i can hv 4 airbags more than your top of the line 137k altis but priced even lower than your TRD vios . So what if the RV drop like a stone at least i save up 46k of cash that can even get a myvi 1.3 on the spot. All i can said, UMW, your pricing really can gives us cancer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Green on Dec 15, 2013 at 5:57 pm

I believe if everybody force to show Original Profile pic.

They will show similar age as yours.

Not earning enough and trying to judge Rich Man’s toys.

• golfer on Dec 15, 2013 at 10:49 pm

Where got rich man’s? Nowadays college students ady driving Golf GTI.

• KingOf4X4 on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:29 pm

My point of view is that Toyota Fortuner is the best vehicle around….end of story.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • motorhead on Dec 14, 2013 at 8:39 pm

RM137 for torsion beam? Try test car with torsion beam on sharp corners with some speed.. Sure masuk longkang.. Thumbs down toyota.. I own a vios.. But this is too much. Syphilis is a better choice.. Bring the new Slyphy quick & kill this Altis sales for good. Kasi kubur terus. Very few on the road nowadays dy.

• baru beli accord on Dec 14, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Err.. since when accord cheaper than altis. I bought accord at rm139888. How in the earth suddenly it became rm132k

• setscrew on Dec 15, 2013 at 9:26 am

Sink or swim? UMW, you decide.

• Tak tau malu on Dec 15, 2013 at 2:12 pm

Totally agree! New car price already 40k difference. Not even calculated interest rate incur by the bank yet due to high loan price, Sam what the heck u still talking about rv? Not yet buy already lose 40k. Even if rv good, u only get back what U paid, yet all the while driving a Kosong car.
    Sam, hilux and maserati. U 3 are already well known umw crony clowns here. At least time put some brains and logic behind ur comments b4 blindly advertise for umw pls. As u can see from all negative comments, ppl has waken up, ur tactic which ii similar to bn oppression will no longer work!

• inisemuapoyo on Dec 15, 2013 at 4:02 pm

UMW management must have not heard of paultan.org….

• motorhead on Dec 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Altis almost dead dy.. Can hardly see 1 on the roadroad today.. Bad position on pricing.. Bad move..

• kktan on Dec 15, 2013 at 9:59 pm

so expensive , lousy engine and box ,keep on use old engine , who want this shit?

• kktan on Dec 15, 2013 at 9:58 pm

is there any asshole want the 2.0 ?

• Alangkah Puasnya Toyota! on Dec 15, 2013 at 10:33 pm

Whatever you people say and bash, they still sell well. Cuz in Malaysia, car depreciation is paramount. As long as it has good long term value, no airbag also never mind. I think I’ll buy UMW shares, get some profit and get a new Mazda 3.

• atoyot on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:06 am

Come on Malaysian, use your power as consumers. Stop buying overprice cars. Who cares about resale value when you have to pay more down payment and higher monthly installment or longer loan installment period. Look for value, not resale value. Please remember that a staggering 25% cause of bankruptcy in Malaysia is due to car loan (source:Malaysia Department of Insolvency). If you still want to buy overprice Toyota, just get a Vios because basically the features is the same with new Altis with slightly smaller size and power(negligible to most of us anyway). Vios still new also so your friends and neighbors still owe by it. You may look stupid for buying Altis instead because it is no more premium compare to vios on safety wise.

• Maserati on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:38 am

I test drive this in Thailand, the performance and quality of this is one of the best in its class. Its like driving a Merc sometimes until you see the toyota logo, then it hits you that this car is engineered for perfection at half of the price of executive sedans from germnay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • puterakupang84 on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:49 pm

I would rather wait for facelift..

• hahaha on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:43 pm

the main and only problem : price
    if it is much more cheaper it would make sense

• Design dah basi baru nak launch kat malaysia.

• Toyota neutral now on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:38 pm

Before you star I want to say I own an Altis G from year 2011, so I know what I am talking abt.
    Why does anyone want to pay 120k ++ for a car that has safety features worse than a sub100k car? Everything else looks good but if you earn that much money to buy it, it should come with the safety features. Definitely a game changer… To other brands!!! I am keeping my 2011 Altis G for years to come…

• u may tink buy Korean cars cheaper can save RM10K++ but when want to sell end up lose RM30K++ in value?? which will make u bankrupt?? if monthly installment only diference a bit, better buy Toyota

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:03 pm

Correction.

Buy Japanaese D-Segment, you will get 60%-80% of RV within a year.

Buy Sonata : lose 50% within a year

Buy K5 : it will only be worth no more than RM30k after 1 year

• autodriver on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:25 am

are you sure korean car cheaper 10k but end up lost 30k upon selling?

Hyundai Sonata 2.0 High Spec 2011
    – new car price 144k
    – after 2 years selling at 90k

Toyota Camry 2.0 G 2011
    – new car price 155k
    – after 2 years selling at 105k.

New car price different of 11k and 2 years after is 15k different. It is 4k lower from Sonata meanwhile owner enjoy more gadgets.

This is average price from mudah.my, please verify yourself.

• Shaun on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:06 pm

As per your calculation, after 2 years:
      The loss in Sonata is RM54K (RM144K – RM90K)where as,
      the loss in Camry is RM50K (RM155K – RM105K), so, do you really think Toyota kept its value better over the years???

We have 2008 huyndai at home and the car is running smooth and solid, no major issues over the years. so i say better buy korean and if take my advise, buy a one year old one, so u wont lose much after using it for 5 years.

• If you were the buyer, with 90k budget what would be your choice? Sonata or Altis?

• Aiyaa..malul lah..Honda City pon ada VSA..

• makemelaugh on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:52 pm

u guys make me laugh

if u think umw just sucking money then dun support

ask ur friends all dun buy any toyota car anymore

make them change . and not come here to become keyboard warrior
    kimchi car is doing well, but will have take some time to improve on their technology
    are they reliable or not? this is main issue, if they can make the car reliable to use for 6 years then they will only able to compete w toyota.
    becoz i believe that kimchi just like samsung tv or smartphone , good for 2 years after that lousy like proton for the remaining 4 years.
    toyota is like iphone, can be use and stable even after 5 years of using……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • JeremyNg on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm

This is a good example why I always said that toyota and apple owner are the same ! they always think that both of the brands are the best in the market.

What so superior about Iphone a ?! I know that most of the people used it are cocks bcs they think it is the best phone in the world. same to this car, it not the best in the market too.

• Cars Fanatics on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:21 pm

For the price, better choose Suprima S full spec that is 57k cheaper.

• vee-oh on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:52 pm

design not bad, quite elegant and sporty at the same time…but with the price, malu la to the Korean cars. Or is it because UMW wants to give 10 months bonus to the ‘creative and intelligent’ staff?

• FINALLY a lot of you agrees that Toyota is putting out crap cars nowadays.

• Nicholas on Dec 19, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Driven Altis 1.8G, really nothing special at all… Feel like driving a Vios actually…

• UMW stands for United Motor Works, it start from humble beginning of a workshop, and venture into selling toyotas.
    now you see UMW ventured into other non-automotive business, how you think they have the money to venture into so many business if they dont made ridiculous profit from selling toyotas? Hahahaa

• Thomas on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:57 pm

hmm… I’m looking for 150k price car for months. Be frank, until today I still cannot decide which car to buy. None of this price range car can satisfy my features wishlist. So sad…..

• Dicky Chong on Jan 08, 2014 at 7:58 am

Hey Bro, nowadays Korean car is better than Japanese in term of design n feature. 150k u can get a new facelift for K5.

I just jump from Toyota to Kia because I think car is a depreciation item, since both brand have the same fact, y not go for better one?

• cikenchop on Dec 25, 2013 at 11:38 am

after few months waiting…sadly now hv to say bye bye altis…not worth at all.
    haih…

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:41 am

I know this blog has come a long, long way. However, just want to share some info that points to the fact that the problem is not with Toyota but with UMW.

US Altis have 8 airbags, STANDARD feature! Likewise Vehicle Stability Control. Read on here and it will make you cry.

http://www.toyota.com/corolla/features.html#!/safety/1832/1856/1876/1866

• Colin Wong on Dec 27, 2013 at 9:46 am

And why did I even forget to mention that prices starts from only USD 16,800 and peaking at USD 19,000. That is roughly RM56K to RM63K. For that price range, you can get a Preve Manual at RM58K (Add 2K!) and a Preve Auto at RM62K.

• Steve Jobs on Jan 07, 2014 at 1:44 pm

UMW mmg jilaka… should standardize all the safety features across all range.

• wewanttohavegoodcar on Jan 07, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Yawn, Toyota!!! we need premium car with premium price paid.

sadly people start comparing Altis with City, the spec for altis is even lower than Honda City!

Cant even compare with Civic.

Need to move on to European car now, as Japanese car still in their dream.

Driving should be about the Fun, Experience and safety.

• Maserati(Official) on Jan 07, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I’ve test drive the Mazda 6, Teana, 3 and 5 series, C and E classes… I can say without a doubt that this Altis is a class above these cars I drove.

• to-yo-ta on Jan 07, 2014 at 10:36 pm

2.0 top speed 180km only? no wonder sometime saw on the road Altis struggling Myvi chasing behind.. what a big joke

• logen on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:48 am

i think better i go for the elantra or the brand new kia cerato because it is more well equipped with abundance of safety and convenient features…………so i guess yould too better go for the korean cars today……………………i am proud to say that i am a korean car lover.thats because their cars were the one which impresses me a lot………..do u guys agree with my statement…………pls comment bk.thanks.anyway the corolla altis is not worth at all for buying and purchasing but it is very worth of purchasing a new kia cerato,elantra or the suprima s or even the preve and even the peugeot 408…………

• logen on Jan 10, 2014 at 11:54 am

even the kia cerato 2.0 with well-equipped features is sold at only RM115,888 and the 1.6 variant starts at RM99,888………..the elantra aso at RM114,888 for the 1.8 variant with full spec and well-equipped while the 1.6 price starts at RM86,888………………and guys dun forget the brand new refreshed optima is coming soon to our shores this month mean while as i mention the elantra gets a facelift for 2014 and it will make its way to our shores too this year……….hope it will be equipped with 6 airbags compare with the 2 airbags which is the current one………….this is very important for maximum passive safety………..and maybe i heard a resource say that the facelifted elantra will be equipped with a blind spot monitor……..i am not sure about that…….we will wait and see when it debuts here

• Free Survey Bypasser on Feb 19, 2014 at 12:27 am

When some one searches for his necessary thing,
    therefore he/she wants to be available that in detail, thus that thing is maintained over here.

• Conti Believer on Jul 10, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Sigh….all the bashing of Toyota….

Instead of getting bashed, I drive a Ford Focus. It comes with 6 air bags for bolehland although the full specs. is 10 airbags. It has all the ABS, EBD, EBA, TCS, ESP, HLA and City Assist functions and rated 5 stars in Euro NCAP for safety. 0-100 is about 9.5 to 9.2 secs unmodified.

As for resale value, who cares. I am not buying it today and selling it tomorrow. Safety first.