Clearest view of Proton P2-30A Global Small Car yet

Proton-P2-30A-Global-Small-Car
Click to enlarge image

This is the clearest spyshot of the upcoming Proton P2-30A Global Small Car yet, thanks to reader Hakim Hashim. Proton’s upcoming hatchback was sighted at the PLUS Ulu Bernam rest area.

Some features of the new Proton hatchback that we noticed from this spyshot:

• It seems to have rather large headlamps, which can be a good thing as if executed well, as it can lend the small hatchback a funkier design and spice it up. For the target market, the car has to look youthful.
  • The upper grille has two horizontal slats, with a Proton badge in the middle. This seems to be a departure from the Proton ‘wings’ grille, which typically features a single bar running across the grille.
  • The car has a large lower grille that’s trapezoidal. The grille is wider at the bottom but the bottom curves inwards like the Proton EMAS Concept instead of having a sharp edge like lower grille on the Lotus CityCar Concept. It also has multiple horizontal slats, with the number plate mounted on the grille.
  • The door handles are of the grab type rather than the lift type.
  • Wing mirrors have signal indicators, and for the first time on a Proton they are mounted on the door instead of at the A-pillar.
  • The rear headrest seems to be pretty close to the rear windscreen, which could mean there isn’t much luggage room in this car. Remains to be seen.
  • The engine hood has some disguise taped on it but it looks like it has two lines running across the middle, similiar to the Preve.

We expect the P2-30A Global Small Car to be launched in the first half of 2014. Anything else you can notice? You can click on the spyshot for an enlarged image. Share your findings with us in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Proton R3 Biru on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

Bro, how come you dont see our new side mirror. We purposely dont tape it for you to see.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
    • Doesntmatterwhatmynameis on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:20 am

why can’t they follow the great design like the emas concept? its quite a big depature from it and the headlamps would look big on a hummer. i know the car isn’t released yet but it doesn’t look promising. come on proton let the designers be free with their designs and don’t sacrifice design for money. look at other small cheap cars that managed to pull off cheap and funky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • from design to production takes years & how long has this car took? may be they just bought over d whole design from china, like ipro, csl & put proton badge.

another savvy in the making, even d front grill looks so much like it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 117
          • pirlo on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:47 pm

penat-penat kau taip panjang-panjang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
          • p2-31A on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:01 pm

komen paling bodoh dalam bahasa kaukasian pernah aku baca.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
          • x honda on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:35 am

i and my family bought toyota high class car but still problem occured and very major and serious issue.until my father vios suddenly engine die off while driving to klia.luckily no accident on that time.we already sold the car and get new red preve.Cheaper,confortable and fastest.higher class compare to vios.And i just know vios not sold at Japan only sold to low class country by low class salesman.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 0
          • Bataman on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:09 pm

Yeah..Toyota very highclass…LEXUS so highclass until it auto drive and cannot break and kill the owners. Then Toyota CEO came out apologize and made press conference in high-class hotel.

I will stick with my low-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
          • Hampeh on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:34 pm

Toyota high class? Setakat pakai Toyota nak berlagak. Gila ke apa?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • my father drive vellfire just out from showroom..and the rear bumper flying away when he try to speeding…this you call good car from toyota?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
          • qozh moreno on Dec 27, 2013 at 12:20 am

Lame3… i think u need to get laid… such dumb statement… pity with tour type of mentality….

• no name on NET.. on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:59 pm

VIOS?.
          hahaha..
          kat Japan VIOS AKA BELTA..
          mmg dijual, tapi utk golongan low class..
          cuba p dok kat Japan..
          nk nampak keta VIOS punyalaa susah..
          kawan Japan aku cakap..keta tu LOWCLASS.. dia pon xminat nk beli.. wakakakka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • ManDan on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Its all about making money la….. have alot of ppl to pay.. including undertable ones…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Tak lawa la side mirror.. besar macam gajah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 50
      • Proton R3 Biru on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:47 pm

sat gi kami boh side mirror besaq duit 5 kupang. hampa komplen. besaq pon komplen. keja komplen. komplen komplen komplen.

first important thing is the functionality. we will enroll with automatic side mirror folding system.

we are progressing. we are learning how high end model from proton can be integrated with BLIS (Blind Spot Information System). wish us luck!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 13
        • Vader on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:22 pm

U r especting BLIS on this car? No wonder need to wish u goodluck!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 64
          • jika proton letak sesuatu yg baru korang kata mampu ke proton letak sesuatu yg baru?? kalo tak letak teknologi baru org bodoh akan kata sampai bila nak maju kalo tak berani berubah.. susah sgt ke nak wishes them a goodluck?? betul tak anak2…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 20
          • Proton R3 Biru on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:42 pm

keyword: high-end.
            baca slow slow ye bang. kalau tak faham tanya. jangan langgar dinding walaupon ada 6 air bags. sekian
            \\\
            we are learning how high end model from proton can be integrated with BLIS (Blind Spot Information System). wish us luck!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 20
      • thelonely on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm

most probably adhere to china regulations.
        so going through china market as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
      • terpotong on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:22 pm

badan besar, tayar kecik , telinga besar….menatang apa ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
        • masterhotak on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:11 am

Keta lain lagi hodoh, ada macam dugong la ikan keli la, hidung ba** pun ada. Lagi tak senonoh. depan panjang sangat belakang kontot sangat, hodoh pulak tu. Yang tertonggek kat belakang tu belum citer interior tema ironman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • gilasyaitan on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:17 pm

Hek eleh, kete lain ade jugak yang lawo. ko macam macam adik aku, orang komplen kate kenape matematik fail die jawap orang lain pon ade yang fail. bodoh bertingkat2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
          • ekeleh on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:01 am

Hek eleh, itu matematik bole kira betul salah. Buruk cantik subjektif. Ko kata buruk, belambak orang lain kata lawo.

Ko ni budak sekolah tak habis ke? Pi main jauh-jauh. Syooohhhhhhhhh!!!!

• kadajawa on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Just another Savvy crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 101
      • driver on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:19 pm

those who have driven savvy know that your statement is not valid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • BeExcellentToEachOther on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

I’ve used the manual savvy for 5 years now, and it had been very good to me. Don’t say like that laa.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
        • bvc100 on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Agreed. Mine is 8 years old now and still serving the family well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • tong kang kung on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:00 pm

ramai juga proton iswara first edition masih menyebok di jalanraya……..

• Fredo on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:43 am

the only problem with Savvy was the use of the Renault engine which lacks of spare parts..leading to an expensive parts and repair and so the technical know how of our local mechanics..I believe Proton have learnt that and will use Japan/ own engine in future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Sam KIA on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:42 pm

Wing mirrors have signal indicators …….

Do you see it!

• azminbinanuar on Jan 01, 2014 at 12:25 am

saya tahu di negara china, pembeli gen2/persona meningkatkan performance kuasa kereta mereka,serta tambahan assessori, kesemuanya dalam lingkungan usd 15 ribu sahingga ka tahap local porsche !!!

• zamer on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:39 am

they only afford to do curves only at the front hood..but not at the sides like a200, mazda, hyundai..

you’ll notice this among all proton model where they dont have any side curves to save the cost.

i believe this will be a powered by 1.3 engine with the hope of CPS applied as saga 1.3 is a useless underpowered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 69
    • Just saying on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:22 am

This is a car for budget-conscious buyers afterall. The cars you mentioned are few times more expensive than this car expected price. The overpriced Myvi and Viva are quite bland in term of stylings too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:43 pm

You’ll notice those things on Toyota’s as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • thedarkside on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:18 pm

tak pakai enjin baru NFE ke? denggg….

• Low Budget on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm

Only latest Hyundai cars got very sexy curves, no matter-lah. If Proton can price it 40% below MyVi, it will kill off MyVi even if it looks like Russian Tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • omanjedi on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Bro..your undermining the beauty of Russian tanks..they current T90 and upcoming Armata tanks are definitely good looking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Whynot on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:50 pm

In order to compete with today and tomorrow market, Proton need to design good lasting exterior design. The trend for curved and side profiling is a must to show that you are still catching up with today market. Many big player like Volvo, BMW and Mercedes had fixed their mind in creating futuristic design ahead of time. I would not buy any car that looks like Tiara, Savvy or Juara that Proton had failed miserably in design and loss of earning!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
      • marlIV on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:13 am

Myvi and kenari are not that good but still can sell

• Bataman on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Savvy actually looks way ahead of it’s time. Noticed how Kia Forte copied the front??

My Savvy 7 years old, still solid. My relative VIOS 5 years old drive like floating milo tin with lots of noise and butterfly feel.

Take Proton over stupid toyota anyday.

• i dont think savvy looks way ahead of time. And the front design of Forte is totally diferent. And i dont think driving vios like floating milo tin like you say. More comfortable than driving my uncle’s savvy. soo proton lose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Fredo on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:45 am

ada engine turbo kat body ni kalo….hhahaa..
      bole la resing ngn Myvi YRV turbo…kih..kih..kih

• Carbonated on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:41 am

It is confirmed the engine is 1.3 Turbo CFE.
    Front light eagle type. Rear light FAIL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 40
  • lim kit siang on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:41 am

kenapelah belakangnye sebegitu buluk…mehhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 28
    • semy villu on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:13 am

dey dey deyyy…yitu kereta kamu belom liat…yappa punya orang la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Anwar Ibrahim on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:04 pm

camo bro…

• Just A Nobody on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:27 pm

Whoa, the big boys from the 3 main clan (race) are hangin’ around here. Quite a rare sight, truely 1Malaysia. Btw, where’s our PM? Why didn’t he join you guys? ;p

• Najib Razak on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:33 pm

because Rosie doesn’t let me ='(

• Just A Nobody on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Well, you’re here now, haha… Anyhow, are we mere humble peasants be hearing any good news on the upcoming NAP presentation soon? Better be good, there’s a lot of unhappy people around recently Mr. PM sir ;p

• Say Who? on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:32 pm

LOL this made my day… hahahaha

• Celicazz on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

Headroom for rear must be good. The shape from outside suggests it.

Side mirrors, it is similar to fiestas.

• syazwan on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:47 am

2 version engine will be running for this GSC.
    1.3 NFE non turbo
    1.6 campro which 1.3 will have more torque than 1.6

• Potong on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:48 am

It’s Myvi killer!

or killed by Myvi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
  • vee-oh on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:55 am

I suppose Perodua engineers don’t have a chance to play with the camouflage tapes on their new car, because only design new bumper no need those tapes right?…aiyya don’t be mad Perodua just joking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • pirlo on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm

hey. take it easy dude. perodua also need to tape their spoiler as well.

• i was told by a proton supplier saying that it is not impressive an hard to beat myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 31
    • Fries on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:20 am

Sure bo? Cos my Uncle’s niece who works for Aquaria said it will beat the Myvi flat wo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • I believe this not myvi size, so not myvi killer.. it is more to like a Viva size.

And could be killed by its own Saga if they priced it at 40k regardless how good looking the car is… now u tell me.. if u have RM40k for a Proton car, you want Saga or this small car? Lolx… unless this car really packed in good features (power startup button, 4 airbags, ESC, ABS, BA) + touchscreen GPS… haha… who don’t 1?? But really hope it packed it nicely

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • Fries on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:37 am

However, if you look at the passengers in the car, it does appear that this is bigger than a Viva. Not sure if it’s as wide as a Myvi, but it sure looks similar in length at least.

• Just saying on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:30 am

Since you got ‘inside contact’, care to share more details about this car? Or how the Myvi is better than this? I am sure a lot readers will be interested to know about that, provided you don’t just pull something out of thin air.

• People prefer Quality.

not quantity anymore.
        A reliable car that can last 7 years at least.
        Ppl who buy RM40k – RM70k.
        alot people taking 7 years loan – 9 years loan.

PRoton cant last that long.
        So, Proton loose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 45
        • What?! You sure have a low expectation of a car’s lifespan. There are still a lot of protons and other brands 15 y/o and above still running on the road. Yes, they will have some failing parts that need to change but hey, at least proton spare parts are cheap.

• Sadly those running good are Mitsubishi engine Proton.

yet, those Mitsubishi Engine Proton Assembled car, proven to have many minor issue too.

Campro Engine.. If it not happend to u, u are lucky.
            That engine, good enough to show off some figure, lack of fuel efficiency and quality.

furthermore with more minor issues.

Plus lousy service from Proton.
            If you wanted to be treated that way, go ahead and buy your Suprima S.

@ australia. 20kAUd, still nobody want to buy Proton. even given with 5 year free service.

Proton is just like another China Car to them. Quantity buy no Quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
        • driver on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

now how the hell can you tell this particular car does not have a quality? it doesn’t even have a name, what more is launched!

• If use Honda engine. be it outdated 1, no major issue is good already.

can take 7 – 9 years more peacefully.. some minor issue is ok.

• mamat on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:59 am

panjangnye bonet depan.. bumper depan pn mcm oversized.. belakang pendek sangat.. mcm tertonggeng je kete ni..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Sam Loo on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:04 am

I’ll work harder to sell off another 3 more Toyoita Hilux for Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong Toyoita fanboy and get myself this Proton P2-30A Global Small Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • theophilus chin!! where are you.. I summon thee…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Green on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:13 am

Big in QuanTity.

Small in QuaLity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 12
  • Zzergg on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:14 am

Just wondering…appreciate if anyonr can answer…
    1. What segment this car will be in…A Or B.?
    2. If B segment, why benchmark against BRIO?
    3. What segment is MyVi again…?

• Celicazz on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:41 am

maybe for fuel consumption?

b segment to benchmark a segment fc, thats something

• Jason on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:17 am

Savvy verson 2. not much break though design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Guys. It’s the honda brio underneath. Look carefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
    • panadoll on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:14 pm

you should check your brain carefully..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • the rear door of this gsc rounded..brio more angular. the back windshield of brio not same level rear door windows..gsc look same level….fuel cap of brio almost higher than door handle of back door..gsc below n located at different side..door handle of gsc almost same level…gsc butt look rounded..brio look flat….front end of gsc look way longer

• MYJACKSON on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:28 am

If proton can get the jazz’s 1.3 to 1.5 engine for this new car, it will be great, as it’s very fuel efficient and will be durable for malaysia market.

• Since Proton and Honda is in collaboration now, we can only assume that will happen. Proton do not have a viable small engines of its own yet, and using Honda engine will surely improve public perception regarding reliability and fuel economy.

• Heng Lee on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:56 am

Do you really think that Honda will supply them with engines? Hahahaha… :D

• rickyll on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:13 pm

You’re right. Honda will never allow its engine to be passed on to rival automaker even in JV or collaboration unless it’s an obsolete one. Just like Mitsubishi only allowed Proton to use its out dated engines for the early Saga, Iswara and Waja.

• preve on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:12 pm

so enlightened me, why did Proton bought Petronas E01 series engine again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
        • dafuq, u think Proton GSC use PetronasE01??

omg, u are drunk, go home please.

that powerful engine should be used in Lotus or Proton D-segment.

• Proton said they will not use the engine bulat2 lah. 1st they will gradually put e01 tech into existing engine, and at the same time developing a new Euro6 engine based on the e01..

• itu front wiper frameless type ke?

• Blublibla on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:35 am

The shape of the car turns me off. The body is short but the hood is TOO long. Oh well let’s see the final outcome when it launches -_- I’m not expecting though.

• huthut on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:23 pm

hood too long means the engine is not france made……..

• Roy Mustang on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:16 pm

Hood long means it will elongate the accident time thus reducing force when collision occur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • long hood mean you dont need to lift off the engine when changing clutch.

• Heng Lee on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:56 am

Hood long? Maybe V8 smallblock?

• Someguyonthenet on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:40 am

Please dont be copy of the jazz. Please dont be copy of the jazz. Please dont be copy of the jazz. Please dont be copy of the jazz. Please dont be copy of the jazz. Please dont be copy of the jazz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
  • vee-oh on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:49 am

Proton GSC if you can beat my Attrage’s 21km/l that would be awesome

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Hahaha, you’ll be amazed at how close this GSC was going to be to your Attrage (or the Mirage anyway). Just look at the codename for the development of Mirage, Mitsubishi GSC.

Anyway thank heavens its not a Mirage rebadge anymore. What a poor handling car and the interior is just cheap! Cheaper than a bloody Myvi. At least Proton cars have ride and handling (being just as cheap inside)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • vee-oh on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:16 pm

all the best GSC…but again im telling here for this kind of car I don’t need ride & handling to be Lotus like. Priority is low maintenance, durability and comfort…hey i’m a Proton fan too and if this GSC can really stand up, i’ll be impressed too! btw I have a 17 years old Satria 1.6 manual debt free that has complete suspension makeover and it rocks!

• chaerul on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:58 am

noticing the gap between the engine hood and front grille could not stop reminding me on the “toilet lid” engine hood on Savvy.
    Surely hope it wont be one this time :)

• amfin on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:21 pm

Proton latest attempt is commendable. Please ensure you can deliver good mileage,low fuel consumption and low pollution car and you guys may have a winner.Not forgetting the safety component too coz we don’t want this car to be included in the planned 12 years vehicle end of life policy lists on the basis that it is not safe even before it official unveiling. Good luck

• Good move.
    Why not pull the handbrake and pause for a while Proton? So many models are out, which one is your real killer/ success? Then you start what you are suppose to do/ finish.
    All the best!

• i like side mirror

• policeman on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm

As always with any proton design, it looks better with camouflage than when revealed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Something just popped in my mind,and i know its still too early..but somebody must tell Proton to make an exciting tv commercial for a car in this segment,hopefully they would..don’t wanna end up like the Suprima’s ad

• fuzikawa on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:36 pm

haha!
      Agree
      C’mon Proton, be serious..

• niceone on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:03 pm

agreed. hopefully the marketing dept. get their target market right this time. or else proton should sack them all.

• syamness on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:28 pm

From the side profile, I think you can see that in the future Proton can easily stretch the rear into a compact sedan ala Peugeot 207 or Mazda 2 -> solution to Saga replacement. This could have been one of the considerations for Proton (besides manufacturing cost) and the reason why the design deviates so much from the EMAS concept.

• fuzikawa on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:39 pm

I actually look forward to a much uplift Saga, comparable to current B segment of other marques.
      It has so much potential but neglected.

• Denaihati on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:43 pm

f anybody can remove the camouflage using photoshop…heee
    hope it will a good car and have good sale later.

• techtikus on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:49 pm

The front part of the car has got potential to be good looking but the back most probably end up mimicking Myvi.

Those tall type tail lights don’t look good. I’d prefer something like the Polo. Looks neater that way.

The side looks like Viva in a way. They should’ve designed curves on it. It would’ve made it look awesome. Well, here’s hoping that the car will be a success when it comes out :).

• It does have curve..identical to preve and sumprima s…can’t you see the tapes covering them?

• TAKEP1070 on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:25 pm

the rear design language reminds me of Fiat Punto..

• hahaha on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:33 pm

hope the price will be under 30k for the base model…it doesn’t matter if it has low hp or quality

• Agree
      IF say RM40k, No quality = No talk.

Quality = Reliability to Run with peace of mind up to 7 – 9 years.

Baru boleh angkat loan peacefully.

• Eyesore on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:06 pm

People say VW is quality… with your definition I wonder why my sister in law who owns a VW Golf no longer than a year has no peace on her mind regarding the car…

• I didnt say VW is quality car.

Quality = Reliability.

VW = is Big in luxury Quantity.
          Sometime, the missed out on Quality.

VW is among the top 10 worst reliability car..

If a car has high risk to spoil, got quality meh?

Macam China car with superb finishing saja.

• Low Budget on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:49 am

Oops! VW Golf is ultra cheapo car in Germany, worst than Proton Saga.

• Since Proton so pandai rebadge…just take Myvi and rebadge and add lotus handling.. it will effortless become no 1 in Malaysia again

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • thelonely on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Gen-2, Persona, Exora, Preve, Suprima S, Saga, bukan rebadge pun. tiba2 ada Perdana dengan Inspira boleh cakap proton asyik rebadge? zaman dulu Proton rebadge, lepas DSSZ cuma Inspira saja yang rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • bReaL on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:04 pm

plz make it looks good, like scirocco maybe,,with good handling and enough power,,and feels premium enough…never lose hope with local car maker despite the long history of mediocrity

• if you look at the photo.. u can see that there is minimal space in between the back seats and the 5th rear door.. myvi definitely have more space than that

• Its a healthy version of viva. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • To be P2 killer, at least double the space space like Suprima design. See how Mxzda & Fxrd do.

• Kay Heem on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:48 pm

no idea what is the fuss about small car, Proton really think that they can rival Perodua (Myvi, to be exact) on introducing something similar to Myvi, but the fact is, rakyat buying Myvi is NOT because of the size.

IT IS because:
    1) Saga & Persona is using hopeless Campro.
    2) Other Korean/Japanese/Conti “small cars” or those same segment with Saga/Persona are selling at ridiculous prices thanks to your lovely votes for BN.
    3) 99.9999% of typical rakyat will have the mindset that Perodua = Toyota. No fish, prawn also good. No Vios, Myvi also good.

rakyat are buying Myvi not because they love small cars. So Proton when you want start learn your mistakes?

After 3 decades in automotive industry, still jaguh kampung all the way.
    Learn something from Hyundai and Kia, please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 34
    • bluebird on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:21 pm

i feel you, u expressed exactly what is in my mind.
      be careful, some people might ask you to migrate to somewhere else if you are not happy here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • I fully support the above statement. Why I have a Myvi because proton is useless. I pick Myvi because Myvi is problem less. Currently my boot can’t really fit my baby stroller but what to do as I cannot afford a proper sedan. Force to buy a Myvi lo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • Oninimos on Dec 16, 2013 at 8:51 pm

Wow. 99.999%??

I am the 0.0001% then.

No wonder toyota n perodua could not careless about the safety of their customer. 99.999% Malaysian could not careless meh.

Sembang mmg lebih2 la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • derrick subaru desu on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:55 pm

ya, i am also the 0.0001%, that is why i work harder a bit to get civic hybrid, haha!

vios sell 90k, people are still buying. next generation vios sell 100k, i gerenti u wil still see people buying. but try imagine potong persona selling 90k and we shall see what is the end result??

Xde fakta jgd dk sembang je.

• Vios selling at rm 90k because of what if not to save the ailing company proton. The same vios is selling below rm 60k in china which is one of a country with most expensive car (of cause malaysia is the champion la).

• peyno on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:01 am

hahaha so vios jual mahal sebab proton suruh jual mahal??? UMW mau jual murah proton tak bagi???
            another malaysian kena conned

• unsopen on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:21 am

It has got to be cheaper because CKD. Even it’s 60k, it cannot fight with full equipped C segment cars like preve.

Vios is only tin kosong without VSC and lame 2 airbags.

• How many Preve have you sold last month? Share la figure, jangan la malu-malu.

• unsopen on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Vios catfish is very rare. Even rare than Preve!

Now Malaysians have woke up from UMW con

hahahahahahah

• peyno on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:00 am

proven.. proton basher = perodua owner je but pretending be import car owner

ppl buy myvi coz can’t afford real JDM car and they believe myvi is JDM

prrrfhhhh

• good job proton…time to change

• momocultus on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Kay Heem.. they say stupidity has its limit guess u just gone over board with it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • derrick heng on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:41 pm

people will not say you are stupid if you keep silence. proton forum is elsewhere, you must be drunk to come in here.

• just hope the tail light wont be an unfinished line like the preve. the headlamp somewhat look like saga flx while the front hood got slight curve above the emblem (easy to pull maybe). should have redesign the front grill as it truly resemble savvy’s.

• Myvi78 on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Bumper dgn grill mgkin ada wow skit, lampu dpn ambik konsep saga flx, lmpu blkg ikut konsep myvi tp lampu bulat…4 airbag, abs, ebd, esp..5 star ancap..1.3 cps or nfe..price range = 30k-40k..if over that range, it’s not myvi killer..ni pndangan sy saja

• Sam KIA on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Global Small Car – hopefully not another Savvy with German Fat Guy talking!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Nizam.Z on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Pergi tgk gambar Tata Nano sana. nampak tepi macam sama jer, tengok side mirror macam sama jer, tengok belakang macam sama jer. Dah macam Tata Nano yg dibesarkan & dipanjangkan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Carfox on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:05 pm

I just hope to God that they’ve designed a decent rear end. My friend mentioned something about the Gen2/Persona’s really tall boot and bulbous tail lights reminding him of Rosmah’s ass. I haven’t been able to get that thought out of my head ever since and it haunts me whenever I see one. And the Preve’s rear just looks like it was designed by a whole bunch of people who couldn’t settle on a design; what’s with the pointless crease coming down from the tail-lights? And to me, the boot will always look like it isn’t closed properly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • You think God wants to help lazy people that syok sendiri at the expense of others?

• Carfox on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:28 am

I’d like to think not, but they’ve been doing it for decades with no end in sight so…

• oldtc on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:44 am

Many cars are getting higher now so got higher boots. Almera, vios, mazda2, go and bash them. The designs are not good. and I’m sure you are blind too see those bulbous lights. Where got persona with that lamps anymore? Already years with new rear lamps.

If you call them lazy then how about Vios with decade engine and ancient 4 speed gears? That’s real laziness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
          • You can have an stealth or nuke in the car. You can even have an Allspark in it. But if it is reliable, no one will buys it.
            How many Persona did you sold last month?

• Carfox on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Lol, just saying, bro. My two cents. And anyway, I hate most of the Japanese designs. They’re too awkward-looking and few models ever grow on me; and adding ricer body kits isn’t helping in the slightest. The new ones look promising though. And halo, bro Persona tail lights are still the same basic shape as the ones on the Gen2.

On the subject of Toyotas and ancient powertrains, I’m not a huge fan of Toyota but a lot of people will tell you that they’re bulletproof. I may not agree with their “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it,” way of doing things, but it works and and a lot of Toyota customers (around the world, not just in Boleh-land where they’re overpriced) today would agree.

I won’t necessarily call them lazy, but it baffles me how a company in the game this long is still struggling with reliability issues; this coming from a current Saga owner with electrical problems.

• Ononimos on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:32 am

Diam la amoi. Kau tu keje saleman je. Bukan nye pandai sgt pun.

• Just A Nobody on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:11 pm

3 doors version (hoping so badly) of this hatch would definately look stunning and way youthful. Nontheless, it doesn’t look that bad, body shape decently excuted.

• i found an emergency button on the top of the dashboard..perhaps james bond style ‘rocket’ eject seat?..lol

• carthusiast on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:59 pm

dear Proton R3 Biru, why are you guys so intoxicated in killing off the myvi’s reign as the best Malaysian kei car? as per your original ‘wawasan’, you should be building better sedans for Malaysians.

let Perodua do it’s good job in building kei cars eventhough they are too fast too furious on the road.

Proton should concentrate on building better sedans/mpv with the below features before embarking on BLIS :
    1.Change your radiator fan so that the car doesn’t wake up the whole neighborhood
    2.Resolve the squeaking sound on the drum brakes of the Saga/Exora when braking on reverse and forward
    3.Change the door closing sound which is continental style to Japanese style
    4.And please get rid of that Cam tak Pro engine
    5.Reprogram that TCU to a non conti style of feel

And please don’t advertise job openings that are reserved for 4 pointers only as these bookworms don’t really think out of the box….you need people who are passionate about cars like me to tell you what will sell and what will not!

Just because Fiesta shot up to no 1 rank, your analyst told you to sell the Suprima….well how many did you sell against your forecast of 200 unit/month?Mind sharing it here……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
    • Because these people have no direction.

• amoi-suk on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:45 am

If no direction they don’t use same engine and gears for decades. Guess which company? lol

• Haha, I only know company that launched car with carburetor post year 2000.

• amoi-suk on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:09 pm

Year 2000 ? That’s 13 years ago., who cares?

I talk about present not past. Do you still live in year 2000? Pity.

• amoi-suk on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:46 am

*they use*
        in case you cannot detect sarcasm

• Anonymous Coward on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:29 pm

This model’s meant to be used as a common platform between both Savvy Replacement and Saga Replacement. Proton DOES know that Saga is their bread and butter. But why not have two cars at the same time? I think they’re also targeting for a B-segment MPV at the same time, which allows this platform to be used for three cars.

• Heng Lee on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:00 am

6. Cut the top speed to 110km/h to make it Japanese style

• leitbe on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:17 am

Wow proton cars like contis. much more better than Japs, lol

• Proton R3 Biru on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:27 am

@carthusias
      Thank you for your feedback. We are trying to find our niche. Like how hyundai known with their fluid sculpture design.

Our main priority right now is to have better engine for gsc. Delivering good FC for our customers, right performance and good emission.

• carthusiast on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:28 pm

Dear Proton R3 Biru,

First of all, you got my nick wrong….pun intended!

It looks like your interior and exterior designers are not talking to each other.Hyundai’s fluid sculpture in internal and external but take a look at Preve.The interior does not complement the exterior.

I own a ’08 Saga and a ’09 Exora and that’s why I can relate all these problems listed above.

Well if u need my help to be your car critic before launching, send me a mail.

• motorhead on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:02 am

well said

• Pity Proton. The GSC’s luggage area no way superior than Myvi’s.

Unless Proton can compensate this with substantial FC advantage over the Perodua, this small car sale unlikely to be on par with Saga volume.

• Anonymous on Dec 16, 2013 at 8:24 pm

Nak jimat duit? Beli lah keta kecik utk pegi keje … Other than i10 and kia ppl now have this little car.

I think the design is acceptable for normal ppl .. Pls provide airbag and better ncap ratings … And pls dont have ur designer talking in a video like johny ive about the new design …

Wonder if the SV version is only RM 25k or below with reliability .. If you guys can do it … Then this car will be the next success other than the saga … Gud luck proton …

(Hav an r3 package too … So ppl can buy upgrades whenever they got extra money)

• Green on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:11 am

I support you.

Maybe this is the Najib’s Viva RM25k???

GSC SV RM25k for rakyat?

Then,YES!. Proton SV always comes with good specs.
      Strongly Support.

• Tutup here tutup there….cover here cover there….Proton, your tutup pintu policy make your products village champion only….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
  • old dog on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:43 am

Protong and Global in the same line is so funny…never in our life as long as whatever protection policy implemented here..

• nabill on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:20 am

the front looks like it sits too low

• I think this is more of a Viva than a Myvi, though it seems to be a a little bit bigger than a Viva. Have to admit that it’s hard for Proton to beat Viva and Myvi with this as Proton’s perceived quality among Malaysians is pretty bad, with horrible fuel consumption (which is the main thing drivers complain about), problematic drivetrains and low quality refinement. The styling of the car looks kind of weird from these spyshots, perhaps it takes time for us to get used to it like the Kenari and current gen Myvis.

• But wait, could this car be a Saga hatchback? The front sort of resembles that of a Saga. Idk though.

• Anonymous Coward on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Saga = Savvy Sedan. The current Saga is a stretched and widened Savvy. They’re going to do the same with the GSC.

• Zzergg on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:26 pm

so…Proton R3 Biru is the official Proton spokeperson eh…so, mind sharing whats the monthly Suprima sales? I’ve read that the great Preve target sales in Indonesia is 200/m… how about Suprima in Bolehland…all gadgest, hi-tech, C-segment at B-segment price…come come…at least your sales should beat a Fiesta rite….hehe

• nzain on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:00 pm

juz read it if u want to…this is bout proton quality…this is from one of proton’s consumer

pada bulan 3 yg lepas sy membeli sebuah kereta proton satria neo r3 berwarna hitam.kerana dasar cintakan negara dan menyokong produk keluaran syarikat tempatan maka saya memilih proton sebagai kereta pertama saya.tetapi ku sangka panas hingga ke petang tetapi hujan ditengah hari..ceritanye bermula apabila kereta yg ditempah di proton jalan ampang mengalami kesukaran.sy menginginkan kereta keluaran 2013 tp oleh kerana tiada stock maka mereka memberikan kereta keluaran 2012.oleh kerana salesman itu kawan sy,sy bersetuju sahaja dgn pemberian diskaun sebanyak rm1500 walaupun dlm hati terasa seperti ditipu.bulan pertama kereta sy berfungsi seperti biasa,tetapi masuk bulan kedua masalah mula timbul apabila power window bahagian pemandu telah patah.masuk bulan ketiga cd player pula rosak,bulan keempat kedengaran bunyi nyaring di bahagian tayar belah depan penumpang(sy suspek bunyi bearing) dan juga cover lampu brek belakang hampir tercabut kerana skru yg tidak dipasang kemudia lampu brek belakang pula terbakar.pada bulan kelima penggunaan kereta segalanya kembali pulih selepas mendapat servis dr pihak proton di setapak tetapi sekali lagi cd player rosak kali ini sistem gps pula tidak berfungsi dan juga masalah bateri.kereta tidak dpt dihidupkan ketika berhenti di stesen minyak.bulan keenam pula terasa air menitik dikaki ketika membawa kereta(sy suspek air dr aircond,mungkin ade leaking).hal ini membuatkan sy seperti ditipu oleh pihak proton kerana mereka menjanjikan produk terbaik dr mereka.mmg betul proton menyediakan waranty selama 3 tahun,tetapi adalah tidak logik sama sekali apabila hampir setiap bulan kereta sy menghabiskan masa di bengkel.sy juga bekerja utk membayar ansurans bulanan pada pihak bank.dimana hak saya sebagai pengguna dan rakyat malaysia yg mempercayai produk buatan tempantan??inikah produk yg di bangga-banggakan oleh mereka?maka tidak hairan lah ramai yg memilih kereta buatan negara lain kerana produk proton masih seperti dulu?adakah mereka tidak belajar dr kesilapan model2 yg lain?hanya tahu mengaut untung semata-mata?dan akhir sekali masalah yg saya alami adalah sistem gear!sy menggunakan kereta jenis auto.masalah gear box pula yg saya hadapi sekarang.masalah paling besar setakat ini!gear seperti tidak masuk ketika menolak keposisi D!utk bulan seterusnya sy tgh memikirkan apakah masalah yg akan dihadapi kelak!adakah ini yg saya dpt dgn harga kereta yg bernilai rm64ribu!bukan niat utk merendahkan proton tp sekadar menegur.sy harap dgn luahan pengguna proton seperti sy dpt didengari oleh pihak atasan supaya mengambil ikhtibar atas perkara yg telah terjadi..jgn memikirkan untung semata-mata tetapi sila lah tingkat kan kualiti produk anda..sekian..

• tong kang kung on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:43 pm

memang lazimnya kereta yg dibeli baru memberi pelbagai teething problems, yg memenatkan juga untuk diperbaiki.Ini berlaku semenjak dulu, kecuali kalau anda bernasib baik memilih jenis2 volkswagen beetle atau morris minor !!Lebih baik anda beli saja kereta terpakai kerana penjual lazimnya telah memilih kereta yg baik2 saja atau telah diperbaiki untk jadi stok jualan mereka.Masaalah ramai kita ialah hanya kerana berkeupayaan makan diwarung2 saji ttp berhajat menikmati std berbintang dgn perbelanjaan sama….

• apaajekaunakpanggil on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:35 pm

TQ kpd pembakar2 hati & jantung yang sememangnya tahu pasal kreta. Thumb Up for you guys!!!Mmg dah jadi sifat anjing tahu menyalak aje, mmg sifat monyet tahu mengejek aje dan mmg sifat babi tak tahu malu. Klu nak jual kreta masing2 juallah TAK PAYAH nak condem kreta org lain!!! Heh yg ada DO-IT silakan beli kreta ikut STYLE masing2 la. JANGAN kencing-berak pulak kat Kreta orang sebab nak lakukan kreta sendiri. Ada OTAK kah kamu?

• PassingBy on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:41 pm

is it just me or the head lamps looks like the saga flx weird looking shaped head lamps?

• p2-31A on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:09 pm

puja2 toyota, dulu time jepun serang china, dendam kesumat sungguh kat org jepun. patut kalau da cina beli la brand cherry ke, yg dari china. bukan rasis ya cuma kasi sedar pada mana2 yang hipokrit!HA!

• aeroback se on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:49 am

salam 1 malaysia….
    malaysians engineer bkn tak blh buat bentuk yg sporty, boleh tapi mereka terikat dgn feature and most of all, safety/fuel efficientcy. sebenarnya pembuatan bentuk kereta ok cuma perlukan touch-up dan aerodynamic. lbh sporty maknanye lebihla budget. yela klu nak bentuk sporty tapi engine tak blh blah pun org merungut gak. contoh savvy, bkn tak lawa klu dah touch-up, engine pun power n fuel saving cuma bab amt tu yg selalu rosak kat gearbox oleh kerana carbon brush cepat haus. pernah test drive dalam top gear n diklasifikasikan sebagai kereta paling jimat minyak n engine yg power sewaktu naik bukit dengan loading yg bnyk mengalahkan kereta2 lain yg berjenama. sama juga dengan kenari pun pernah buat test drive dalam top gear. grip sewaktu cornering dgn kelajuan yg agak tinggi dan pendek. lotus elise pun membuang dgn speed yg sama. bile kita tengok mula2 mmg tak lojik langsung kereta tu terlalu tinggi bumbungnye tapi tu lah hakikatnye. malaysia cuma kurang pakar tentang bab engine n gearbox tapi dari segi design masih lg boleh bersaing. proton pun dah berapa bnyk mengeluarkan bentuk sendiri selain dari tiru bentuk kereta lain contoh wira aeroback saya nie dari lancer ataupun evo 1. sekurang2nye proton n perodua cuba nak buat kereta nasional sendiri walaupun tech dari vendor luar n cube keluarkan kereta yang sesuai dgn harga n kemampuan. bersyukurlah malaysia tak buat mcm negara lain, cukup 5-7thn kereta lupus or tukar. tak abis hutang lagi dah kene hutang lain. tepuk dada tanya selera. apa kemampuan kita itulah kita pakai untuk keselesaan kita n tak berhujan panas. semua kereta sama, mesti ada kelebihan n kekurangan tapi yg penting ble dah accident or rosak confirm kene repair, betul tak?

• aeroback se on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:52 am

nengok pada p2 nie ada rupa dgn fiat punto pasal side mirror pun dah nampak mcm punto. sekadar pengetahuan…

• @PRoton R3 Biru.
    To success using low cost leader marketing management.

You must ensure your product is on par with your price. Then, Great Sales.

RM25k for Campro [Auto] is what the public want.
    else?
    RM40k for Honda engine Full Spec.

Why RM40k? because we wont agree if PRoton MiniCar RM50k. no1 like it.

@PRoton R3 Biru.

Everybody want Proton, if it’s very cheap.
    else, nobody want a Proton. Nobody want expensive Proton due to low quality. reminder => Quantity and Quality is different. U put a BLIS Function = Quantity. Reliability = Quality.

We got big quantity. We can get CipPlak Pilot mechanical shaker for RM2.

but, Most would prefer a Good Quality Non Shaker for RM3.50. else, they would buy Pilot Shaker RM6.

People want Quality AT ALL COST.
    Quantity.

• siapasaya on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:48 pm

nieh,hangpa toksah dok wat leceyh. taw dak designer malaysia bnyak yg berbakat,nak buat design yg lebih dasyat dari pengeluar kereta luar negara pon boleh,tpi masalhnya kos tu,mould dia yg mahal.

• Remember Tiara and Savvy? No cheap spare parts and its getting rare. My first vehicle Kancil more than 10 years still got cheap parts. Now that’s worth it.

• sayang malaysia on Dec 25, 2013 at 10:40 pm

hampa tnak beli kete ni hampa jangan kutuk. duk diam2. biaq diorg buat kejo diorg, hampa buat kejo hampa. kalau bagus sngat, bak sini hampa bagi rekaan TERBAIK bg hampa. complaint je tau. melayu.

• Sayang Proton on Dec 26, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Ada banyak kebaikan beli Proton :-
    1) selepas lima belas tahun masih model yang terkini.
    2) parking di tepi jalan, tak takut hilang.
    3) lambat sampai office, alasannya “kereta rosak” dan boss faham.
    4) alasan untuk ambil cuti.
    5) mudah untuk dapatkan spare part tiruan – murah.
    6) tak payah resau ramai kawan nak pinjam.
    7) yang paling penting, support proton supaya tidak bankrupt !

• jimmy on Dec 31, 2013 at 8:09 am

Proton kena ada kelebihan pada perkara2 lain yang bukan kualiti termasuk cost ownership kereta – termasuk harga kos kereta, harga maintenance part dan labour, enjin jimat minyak (bukan enjin performance) & kelebihan seperti safety 5 star dan kelebihan styling yang mesti melebihi at least toyota (on par with europe like volvo, volkswagen atau korea, kia sportage – stylign sahaja bukan semua feature) tapi yang paling penting adalah kos ownership disebabkan kos sara hidup yang tinggi di Malaysia. Boleh keluarkan 2 variant kereta iaitu kereta SV (yang feature/safety kurang) dan variant medium & high line (feature banyak). Ini tidak kos maintenance kereta proton agak mahal jugak…..mungkin proton boleh advertise on perbezaan maintenance untuk competitor dan kereta proton.