W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class: first details released!

Mercedes-Benz C-Class W205

Ladies and gentlemen, the new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class. The popular compact exec sports a new look inside and out, and is up to 100 kg lighter than before, thanks to its lightweight Modular Rear-drive Architecture (MRA) that sees almost half of the body made from aluminium. It’s now 4,686 mm long (+95 mm over the W204) and 1,810 mm wide (+40 mm), and sits on a 2,840-mm wheelbase (+80 mm), while the boot can hold 480 litres of luggage.

C 180, C 200 and C 220 BlueTec diesel variants are available at launch. The C 180 is powered by a 156 hp/250 Nm 1.6 litre engine (0-100 km/h in 8.2 seconds, 5.0 litres per 100 km, 116 grams of CO2 per km), the C 200 by a 184 hp/300 Nm 2.0 litre engine (0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds, 5.3 litres per 100 km, 123 grams of CO2 per km) and the C 220 BlueTec diesel by a 170 hp/400 Nm 2.1 litre engine (0-100 km/h in 8.1 seconds, 4.0 litres per 100 km, 103 grams of CO2 per km).

Coming soon are a new 1.6 litre force-inducted four-cylinder diesel (115 hp/280 Nm and 136 hp/320 Nm states of tune), an updated version of the proven 2.2 litre four-cylinder diesel (ranging from 115 to 204 hp) and a BlueEfficiency edition of the C 220 BlueTec diesel. All engines are equipped with start/stop and are Euro 6-compliant, while all diesels come with selective catalytic reduction (SCR).

A total of five four-cylinder petrols ranging from 156 to 238 hp will eventually be available, along with a 333 hp V6. There’ll also be 4Matic all-wheel drive versions and a C 300 BlueTec diesel-hybrid with a four-cylinder diesel engine and an electric motor (204+27 hp, 3.9 litres per 100 km). A plug-in hybrid will arrive in due course. Gearboxes are a new six-speed manual and a seven-speed 7G-Tronic Plus auto – reports say a nine-speed auto is on the way, and a full-fledged AMG version should surface by the end of 2014.

Looks-wise, the new Mercedes-Benz C-Class has been updated to bring it in line with the W212 E-Class facelift and W222 S-Class. The side profile shows a long bonnet, a passenger compartment set well back and short overhangs. A choice of two different faces are available: a sports grille with centrally-positioned star or a classic grille with three bars and the star on the bonnet – the latter is for the Exclusive line only. Avantgrade, Exclusive and AMG Lines are available.

Fins in the grille can close completely to optimise aerodynamics. H7 halogen headlamps and LED tail and brake lamps come as standard, but two energy-saving LED variants are available: a static system and a dynamic version with ‘LED Intelligent Light System’ that gives the car a distinctive look at night.

The interior – which you’ve seen before – debuts Mercedes’ new touch-sensitive pod that’s placed over the S-Class-style COMAND dial. This controls the seven-inch floating central display; specify COMAND Online and you get an 8.4-inch display. In automatic vehicles a one-piece centre console panel sweeps from the air vents to the armrest; in manual vehicles the centre console is slightly steeper and features two separate trim elements in order to give space for operation of the gear lever.

Also new to the C-Class is a head-up display which displays information such as speed limits, navigation instructions and Distronic Plus messages. An electronic parking brake comes as standard. NVH has been improved through optimisation of the blower, power windows, seat adjustment functions and other actuation and operating noises.

The new Mercedes-Benz C-Class has a newly-designed four-link front axle – the front independent suspension is fully decoupled from the spring strut, improving grip and lateral stability. At the back is a five-link independent setup. Steel suspension with selective damping is fitted as standard; this comes in three versions: comfort, comfort/sporty for Avantgarde and a sporty 15-mm lower setup for AMG Line.

Additionally, Airmatic self-levelling air suspension is offered for the first time in the C-Class. The electronically-controlled, continuously-variable damping applies to both front and rear axles. A system called Agility Select offers Comfort, Eco, Sport and Sport+ and Individual modes.

All Mercedes-Benz C-Class models will feature the electromechanical Direct Steer system as standard in future. This combines road-speed-dependent power assistance from the speed-sensitive power steering system with a steering ratio that varies according to the given steering angle. The power steering assistance provided by the rack-and-pinion steering gear is controlled on-demand, contributing towards efficiency.

Standard safety systems include Attention Assist, Adaptive Brake Assist, Collision Prevention Assist (autonomous braking at speeds of up to 200 km/h), while Distronic Plus with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot, BAS Plus Brake Assist, Active Lane Keeping Assist, Active Parking Assist, a 360-degree camera, Traffic Sign Assist with Wrong Way Alert and Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus are optionally available.

Airbags include pelvisbags for the driver and front passenger, a newly-developed windowbag, sidebags for the outer rear seats and a kneebag for the driver. The front passenger seat can also be fitted with automatic child seat recognition, which now works by a weight mat, enabling any child seat to be used. The airbag is automatically deactivated when a child seat is fitted and reactivated once it has been removed.

Even the air-con system benefits from enhancements – when the car enters a tunnel, the air recirculation flap is automatically closed, and reopened when the car exits. This is done through map information from the navigation system. Also, opt for the Air Balance package and you get active fragrancing, air ionisation and more efficient filtration.

The navigation system features an animated compass, a ‘Drive Show’ with information for passengers similar to the on-screen presentations on board aeroplanes and Google Maps. It can also show live traffic information. A unique Frontbass system uses the space within the cross-member and side member in the body structure as a resonance chamber for the bass speakers, while a Burmester surround sound system is available as an option.

While on the move, Mercedes-Benz Apps such as Weather, Google Local Search with StreetView and Panoramio, Destination/Route Download and Facebook can be used – just pair up your data-enabled mobile phone via Bluetooth to the basic Audio 20 system. CD/DVD playability is available on Audio 20 CD or higher and with COMAND Online.

COMAND Online offers a 8.4-inch display with a resolution of 960 x 540 pixels and a special bonded glass cover. It enables digital TV/radio reception as well as fast hard-disc navigation, automatic tailback avoidance via live traffic information, integrated WLAN functionality and the Linguatronic voice control system.

The new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class is set to debut at the Detroit Motor Show in January.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• SpongeWai on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:12 pm

Mercedes Benz Malaysia will bringing 2 petrol-engine models here at the end of 3rd quarter 2014…

C200 & C180

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • rifraf on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:40 am

Rear window looks too narrow, back too tall, something wrong with proportions..definitely not following Fibonacci numbers..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:25 am

All the Ah Pek is very happy right now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
        • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:54 am

fake fella… this car usually own by spoiled brat kids.

sam69

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
        • Please get your eyes check, if you expect some things that easily accepted then blindly get a Toyota.

I bet you’ll tell different story when you see the real thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Obama on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:41 am

no more 1.8l?

• OMG…Look like N.Almera butt….yucks…puihh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Mercedes is nothing but a low class car. All the Datuks and Tan Sris in Malaysia are now switching to Camry because the Camry never breakdowns. BMW and MErcedes always in the workshop. Banyak Masuk Workshop term is now in ALL BMW owners minds. So now, the Datuks and Tan Sris have chosen their Prestige car, the Toyota Camry. This C class is nothing but a waste of money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 89
      • latuk talan seri on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:57 pm

datuk & tan sri nowadays take kancil or taxi to office, sometimes take the LRT or komuter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • frenzyaustin on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:16 pm

The spec sheet and performance figure is great The interior is nice, except the stupid tacked on tablet. But exterior just looks…wrong? I just can’t digest the exterior, looks like a 100% scale down S-Class. The rear quater from the side profile looks completely wrong. Like tacked on boots from the Mitsubitshi Attrage/Fiesta Sedan. A hatch should looks better IMO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 61
    • mercedes since 1987 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:11 am

What do you know boy? C Class has always been a scaled down S Class even since its inception in 1993

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • Gracke on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:58 am

Definitely has the cel of S Class all around the design!!

• Sharfox on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:23 pm

Why must it look weird from behind?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
  • Contender on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Well the F30 dominance is coming to an end …. I mean the current C-class being the older model is struggling compared to F30 BMW …. well I’d guess that’s how they play the game …. you have abt 2 years o headstart before I launch new model so have less competition sort of during the initial years ..

Lovely car the new C class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:32 am

Sometime Ah Q spirit is good for you. If current uncle C class can beat F30, why they have to keep on give big discount and sell the C class less than 200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
      • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:56 am

hey you, fake fella.. stop using my nick.. go use sam67, sam96, sam87, or sam47..i dont care..just don’t copy mine. thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Daniel on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:02 pm

Mercedes never sell their any model under Rm200k,if you can’t afford just go buy proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • Daniel on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:05 pm

Mercedes never sold their new models under before,and it will never ever be.If you can’t afford for one,please don’t reply any comment again fake sam69

• Cclass on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:58 pm

The currect C class isnt going to beat the F30 in terms of spec. I dont the the 4 cylinder 238hp will out race a 245hp 328i. As much as i look fwd to this car since the leaked shot, i am completely dissapointed by the spac and looks of it. I was expecting 250hp for the high end 4 cylinder given that BMW already have a 245hp engine in their 3 series… But well, some might argue one cant buy class… No doubt that the V6 engine is a so much better buy as compared to the 335i. But otr, all we usually see are 4 cylinders. =(

Cheers.

• The horsepower figures is merely just a number. One thing you’ll find after test driving is that cars can have +/- 10-20 HP difference but does not mean the one with higher HP will always be faster.
        Personally, I’m excited by their C400 (3L V6 turbo). As with all turbos, the power is always restrained and you can mod it to unleash its true power.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 8:38 am

Agree. horse power on paper might not reflect the actual on Wheel HP. E.g while driving an BMW F30 316, easilly to misunderstand it’s 320

• albert on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:39 pm

MB as always offers creature comfort interior and best carriage money can buy….I just don’t have enough money. God help me please….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
  • Wah, I like the sound of those new airbag systems ! Mercedes Benz has always been one of the pioneers in car safety, much respect as always !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • F30 320i have merely nothing on board. No navigation. Small center display at 6′.. No reverse camera. Can’t play movie. It just an expensive car. Also not 100% keyless entry since you still need to look for your gigantic key in your pocket just to unlock this damn car. The noise from the run flat tyres is really annoying. Not to mention the steering rack noise. Despite all that, I have to admit that the ride and handling is something to die for. Not sure how W205 stood against F30.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 3
  • seancorr on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:37 pm

Oohhh the C180 engine can outgun the 316i…and I notice that the Audio 20 basic sound system plays DVD and selective damper control is standard! As usual safety is top notch coming from Mercedes.

Audi A4 1.8 TFSI also offers damper control as standard too but for the BMW you need to purchase the 328i M-Sport to get damper control….BMW Malaysia better buckle up and start offering more spec to your cars and increase your warranty period to at least THREE YEARS please! BSRI isn’t warranty okay…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • the old model looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 24
  • The interior completely owns the interior of the 3 series..

Honestly, the bmw interiors compared to the merc and audi looks really cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • qwerty on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Well, I believe the F30 now has the most outdated, most boring and most cheap-looking interior when put together with the C-Class, A4 and IS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • Sohai on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:32 pm

This car will rape both Proton and Perodua together.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • i hate perodua and proton but you have to be seriously mentally disturbed to compare those companies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
    • merc fanboi on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:30 am

that will not happen. they’re in different leagues altogether. funny you even mention proton in the same sentence with a merc.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 8:42 am

without taxes, AP, this car only able to rape them.

• dino years on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:36 pm

specs on the paper kill, but i hope they addressed NVH which i found totally unacceptable in the old model. sounded like a lorry and i’m not trying to exaggerate.

• Elvin on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:26 am

Just take my money,MBM.

• Josh Ling on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:14 am

i just hope MBM can bring in both the sports and classic grille. the classic one looks surprisingly awesome on the new C-Class!

• w204 owner on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:01 am

W204 look more aggressive than this new W205

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • farizY on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:36 am

I guess the reason people commented about the looks is because it isn’t as sporty as W204. I personally think W205 looks sharp, very sexy curves. The interior is miles better than it’s competitor.

• hondaman on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:43 am

bootspace smaller than the city & vios, less 1 golfing buddy to hitch a ride to the golf course.

• Classy, smooth, a genuine Mercedes-Benz. Thou looks-to-class, I’ll personally slide towards a more agressive 3er F30. Interior looks classy but against a more unique Lexus, it looks sort of plain, but better IMO than its Deutsch competition[opinion-may-differ]. Mercedes shows the way in its tech feast once again, I’ll need a full day to go throu what system does what but all in all, its without a doubt a strong competiotion from Stuttguard and tthey really never feiled to impress.

On the side note, The three pointed star is a surprisingly a very rare sight in East Asia. BMW seems to be more common.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • what’s with the verbose comment? fancy yourself a reviewer for paultan is it? “deutsch competition”, “competition from stuttguard [sic]”, “three pointed star”.

jesus. what a pretentious snob.

• Devils123 on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:46 am

Lets see how the specs look like when they bring it down to Malaysia. The F30 also looked great when the car was unveiled or when the details were released. It was like miles ahead of the rest with all the specs and features that was paraded. Till they brought the extremely watered down version to Malaysia.

• merc fanboi on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:23 am

Shut up and take my money!

• heybadigol on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:58 am

Looks svelt, sleek, sexy from the front especially the sportier version (im guessing that is the AMG line trim?). Looks great from the side too. But the back is a bit off, like too much fat, when compared to the front. Interior looks good too. Now that we can see the entire dash, the floating tablet thingy doesnt look too bad, cos it looks like it belongs there. But I still prefer the part-of-the-dash look of the Lexus IS’ main screen.

Talking about the interior, how does the storage in the lower dash open? I presume there must be cupholders inside it. If the flap opens upwards, wont it block the clock and controls below the AC vent. Or do you just remove it manually and store somewhere else?

• Gracke on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:01 am

Still the 1.6 turbo engine which is now using on A200 :-( , put it in the C class will make it some more worst, CGI is a lot better!!!

• disgruntledBMWowner on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:08 am

Mercedes as usual…brilliant front grill but have the ugliest rear. Cant the just make a perfect front and back. Damm ugly backside

• tebabow! on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:10 am

the perfect look of ‘kereta orang tua’! but i really luv the retro futuristic interior tho!

• Looks like a shrunken S Class….if only they had left the S class design exclusively for the S Class. I know there will be a standard design cue..but this looks so much like the new S. Good for those who buy the C class. not so good for those who buy the S. that being said, BMW seems to be falling behind the three pointed star lately in most areas. The F30 looks ugly..I think the E90 looks a lot better. The F10 is nothing special either..the E60 is still a looker. Well..won’t talk about the bloated 7 series. Way to go Merc..back to glory days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • wcooi on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:51 pm

How come no Electronic stability program ESP? MB not consider this as fundamental safety issue?

• kadajawi on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:04 pm

I’m sure it has ESP, it’s just that that is a standard feature on almost all cars overseas, so why even bother mentioning it? They don’t mention ABS either… basically mentioning ESP there would be like mentioning the existence of a brake pedal here.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 8:46 am

yes, its standard feature. coz, its MB, not UMW, proton, perodua.

• merc fanboi on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:43 pm

So it did not mention anything about having central-locking mechanism. So according to your logic, this beauty doesn’t come equipped with central locks laa then?

This is Mercedes-Benz la bro. Not some obscure Toyota Camry that first came without the ESP. TCM only installed the ESP several months later, only after people made a fanfare about it, and TCM still had the cheek to call it an “upgrade”! ha ha ha

• Johnny bravo on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:18 am

unlike the so called God car for many ah bengs, the all new camry doesnt even come with ESP when it first launch. now thats a Kamikaze car.For benz,bmw,audi, ESP and ABS is standard, like some said here, they dont even need to mention it.

• kroll on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:34 pm

i dont have any problems with the rear end. i actually quite like it. it gels well with the rest of the car IMHO. its definitely not butt ugly like the almeera. the only thing that’s gonna break the car is the choice of colour. the dark blue one looks terrible. i think white or silver looks best for this design.

• KangKung on May 26, 2014 at 8:52 am

i think the rear of the car seems ugly from photos. BUt it might looks good on actual car u seen.
      Anyway this rear design surely makes this car looks smaller.

• Robert on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Being a former owner of a W204 pre-facelift C200, I have to say from these high-res images the W205 looks to have gone further upmarket – especially interior wise – and is sure to give the B8 Audi A4 as well as the F30 BMW 3-series a run for their money. That said, if MB Malaysia prices it well, I might consider purchasing the C250 variant.

• I’ve been a beemer fan all my life but this this W205 can have my money over the F30 anytime..finally,a gorgeous C-Class

• Mercedes_hothead on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:52 pm

The rear end looks too much like the Rover 75 of ten yrs ago

• shawal on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:57 pm

Not love at first sight..
    But definitely an everlasting one…

• c dan and c oup on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:18 pm

Love the car. But not the 5 years cycle of design production and not to mention 2.5 years facelift introduction between every cycle. However, yes this is the global car business.

• kelvin on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:22 pm

why the butt is so short and narrow? otherwise the car is quite good looking

• I love the interior.
    Especially the touch-sensitive pod that’s placed over the S-Class-style COMAND dial.
    Very nice.

• audi a4 on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:00 pm

between w205 & f30, which one is wider? longer?

• blaster88 on Dec 27, 2013 at 3:33 pm

Interior looks stunning! depends on what you want…if you value prestige and good after sales service, it has to be a Merc. If you dig handling and performance, The 3 series is the way to go…

• Willows on Jan 31, 2014 at 2:37 pm

I am looking for a 1.6CC model and I will go for this (Merc C180) model compared to BMW316. looking at the specs:
    BMW 316 : 135hp 220Nm 9.2second (100km)
    Merc C180 : 156hp 250Nm 8.2 (100km)

Nuff said.

• Sam Loo on Feb 07, 2014 at 10:32 am

terrible rear end

• Willows on Feb 07, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Hi.. need some advice. Which would be a better choice a C180 or CLA180? Thanks

• I read some posting about new C-class CDI 1.6 using Renault engine. What about the petrol 1.8 engine? is it still using Mercedes or Renault, especially the Malaysia version?

• Paul Tan on May 20, 2014 at 5:09 pm

The petrol 1.8 from the W204 is now a 2.0 for the W205. Same engine as in the facelift E-Class W212.

• Anti-Toyota on Jul 11, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Hey Lord won’t u buy me a Mercedese-Benz. My friends all drive Porchea, I’ll must make a mend. Work hard all my lifetime, no help from my friends. Hey Lord won’t you buy me a Mercedese-Benz. *chuckle*.

This is one handsome car. I will be targeting this baby!