VIDEO: 2015 Subaru WRX still has rally aspirations

It may not quite end up like the WRX concept shown much earlier in the year, but the production 2015 Subaru WRX is no slouch. It looks decent enough – watered-down from the concept, yes, but still a big step up from the standard Impreza – and its new 2.0 Boxer turbo promises 268 hp and 350 Nm.

Paired to a six-speed manual gearbox, it can cover the 0-100 km/h sprint in “just over five seconds,” and Subaru USA claims it’s the best performing WRX model yet. Mind you, this is the half-cooked WRX, not the full-blown STI – that’s why it’s painted red, and not the latter’s signature blue with gold wheels.

This latest promotional video highlights the new WRX’s improved dynamics – 20% less body roll, quicker steering, upgraded brakes (40% more fade resistant) – while showing off that it still feels at home on gravel tracks, rally style. It sounds good too. Excited about the new Scooby, yet?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• the rear look like toyoto VIOS!!! LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • BlackBJQ on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:20 pm

..only can drool while watching the video… :(

• Finally, a Subaru that I admire..

• hahaha on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:38 pm

i miss the old wrx sti…

• PauCharSiew on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:40 pm

it should be blue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • fatchicken on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:33 pm

u can’t read english? the signature blue is reserved for STi not wrx!

• GOOD
    confidence in motion

CIM :p:p:p

• Like a girl next door, simple but sexy..ouchhh can see only …..

• abahko on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:54 pm

y u no advertising with your trademark colour?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • fatchicken on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:34 pm

u can’t read englishhhh? signature blue reserved for Sti not this wrx !!!

• motorhead on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm

If price around 200k here.. I ll save money for this…wahhhh… Hebat.

• About time Subaru got their s*** together ! I’m liking this new Impreza very much. Interior looks plain, but still professional and a bit old-school. Of course, that boxer engine is the best part…. *drools*

• Almera rear with vios lights. Altenzza front face.

• dannylee77 on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:33 am

Altenzza ? new car model ? Mazda Atenza ? i think you mean Toyota Altezza is it ….

• front does reminds me of the old legacy model

• jason on Dec 16, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Almera turbo?

• kktan on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:15 pm

imagine if u drive this car and accident with remmpit , rempit sure jealous tahap dewa and kick it badly.

i would buy a used truck to let them ram into and eventually saw the rempit snatch theft and can run them over like a piece of cake……..

• Dmitry on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:06 am

The camera moves around much quicker that the car goes. Does this mean that the car is actually goes slowly?

• light on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:07 am

Well done! But I wish to comment on the design.
    I was so disappointed. The design is move forward with Europe style. Never catch any Japanese feeling cars any more.

• MackyMac on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:49 am

I felt disappointed as well… but y’know what, it’ll give lots of working room for an awesome ah bengised body kit and a set of konig heliums. Which lets be honest boys and girls, it’s a WRX… it need not be classy.

• rally_fan on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:34 pm

agree.. im guessing market forces at work here.. the opportunity to sell more cars is in the US and Europe.. not in Japan.