Michael Schumacher tries out the W205 C-Class

SimCity is a secluded test site where Mercedes-Benz tests new assistance systems, and in conjunction with the impending global unveiling of the new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class, Mercedes-Benz have invited their brand Michael Schumacher over to get his thoughts on the new safety systems that will be available with the new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class (which recently had its full official pics leaked).

Some of the assistance systems available with the new C-Class include:

• COLLISION PREVENTION ASSIST PLUS. At speeds of 30 km/h and above, it issues a visual warning if the gap between the driver’s vehicle and the vehicle ahead is too small, with an additional acoustic warning at 7 km/h and above if there is a danger of collision, and provides an adaptive braking assistance function. If the driver does not react, a collision with slower or stopping vehicles ahead when driving at speeds of up to 200 km/h can be prevented or at least minimised by automatic, autonomous partial braking. The system also brakes in response to stationary vehicles at a speed of up to 50 km/h, and is able to prevent rear-end collisions at speeds of up to 40 km/h.
  • DISTRONIC PLUS with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot helps the driver to maintain a suitable distance, even in stop-and-go traffic. The steering assistance feature is new and helps the driver with lateral control of the vehicle, even on gentle bends, and offers a traffic jam vehicle following function.
  • The PRE-SAFE Brake provides autonomous braking in the absence of a driver reaction. In typical urban driving scenarios, it can prevent collisions with pedestrians or stationary vehicles at speeds of up to approx. 50 km/h; or, at speeds of up to approx. 70 km/h reduce the impact of such collisions.
  • Brake Assist PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist can, depending on the situation, boost the braking strength applied by the driver, if necessary up to full brake application and can also react to crossing traffic and pedestrians.
  • Active Blind Spot Assist issues a visual and – if the indicator is activated – an acoustic warning of the presence of a vehicle in the blind spot area; and can prevent a potential side-on collision by applying the brakes unilaterally at the last moment.
  • Active Lane Keeping Assist warns against unintentional drifting across a lane through vibrations of the steering wheel; and if the vehicle actually crosses a lane marking, corrects the vehicle’s position through unilateral brake application. It also applies the brakes unilaterally if the vehicle drifts across a lane marking and the neighbouring lane has, for example, oncoming traffic, overtaking or overtaken vehicles in it.

I’ve personally tried Active Lane Keeping Assist with the new S-Class when I test drove it in Canada. These are likely to be cost options especially with a relatively entry level car like the W205 C-Class though, but we’ll find out how many of them are standard and how many of them are optional when the car debuts, and most importantly which will be available on Malaysian spec cars when it is eventually launched in Malaysia.

Watch the video below.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Great, when will this happen in Proton car?
    Btw, Schumi is just GREAT!!!

• jolly_idiot on Dec 16, 2013 at 5:33 pm

If schumi ride on proton. For sure the car cannot finish the lap oledi cerai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • PTreader on Dec 16, 2013 at 10:33 am

Waoh, it is very nice. Mercedes Benz Malaysia, please take our advise. Make the tech standard in all vehicles. It should help you gain market share more then the a-class or cla-class. Honda and Toyota can lose this generation of innovation.

• Gracke on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:18 am

Mercedes Malaysia doesn’t care anymore!
      When the A Class launch, I go to have a test drive and find out whether Mercedes makes improvement on the new 1.6 turbo engine and gearbox technology but the sales attitude absolutely rubbish, not willing to give test drive, waiting so damn long even not much visitor and told that their new car sales are only from existing owner, less from walk in customers! Damn f**king…, it seems like Mercedes C&C Malaysia has done very well in the car market and DO NOT NEED increase anymore new owners!! Even BMW and Volvo giving very pleasure customers service and launching their PERFORMANCE new models with attractive price to get more customers!!!
      Finally, after test driving the A Class…honestly said, under power, down shift gear no response, gear changing not smooth, lagging turbo(sounds noisy only), S mode and paddle shift no surprise. Only the quality of interior are very well and seat are very comfortable!
      What is all about this for a RM200k sport hatch, it is hopeless :-(
      People who test drive it can feel its worst, better take BMW or Volvo.

So what is so damn proud of Mercedes sales and attitude SA, check your car first!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
      • BLT Club on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Yes the A class seems lacking. No COMMAND Online, no THERMOTRONIC, no distronic. Agree on downshifting, the car just refuses sometimes. Not sure about underpower though, on the A250 the power just comes and comes esp in sports mode. Test drive the A250, the extra RM40k is worth it man.

• Gracke on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Agree with you friend, A250 sure is strong and powerful and worth it too for a sport hatch. Actually A200 should behave like this too and A250 have to give us more awesome surprise to compete others rivals too!!!
          BUT!!! with such price range, really will have another choices out there, that is the BMW F30 320d! :-) Once you had test drove this beast, definitely do not want to get out from the car, it’s amazing!!! You really enjoy driving the car and do what you want, not under control by the car itself, fantastic!!!! That’s what I pay is more more worth, even it is not a hot hatch BUT is a sport hatch and rear wheel drive! Again, even 320i or 316i is not disappointed! ;-)

• farizY on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:27 am

All those tech, especially the ones related to tailgating; is a MUST for Malaysian drivers.

• Storm on Dec 16, 2013 at 11:33 am

Good news for those who like to whatsapp while driving! These techs will definitely help a lot to reduce accidents. There is one more tech and the most important of all, how to prevent OTHERS from colliding into your car. Until the day come, all these techs are deem useless if one truck just come straight at you.

• PTreader on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:14 pm

yep, need this system on trucks and motorbikes too!!!! pesky bikers trying to hit cars.

• Proton Saga on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Yes, there are tonnes and tonnes of technology by these German manufacturers but when the cars come to Malaysia, there’s only the ABS, VSC and the airbags. For the Japs, Toyota is the best, if airbags were not made mandatory, all we get will probably be the seat belts!

• Denaihati on Dec 16, 2013 at 12:14 pm

great and very advance technology. it might be expensive but, if afford to buy brand new Mercedes-Benz, should be able to expense for this extra safety option too.

• Joejoe on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:13 pm

PRE-SAFE Brake tak boleh pakai in Malaysia.
    If you’re surrounded by robbers front and back, then you’re doomed. The car won’t move.

• PTreader on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:08 pm

Need disable PRE-SAFE button. Specially called After-SAFE.

I thought about it before already, for distronic, Collision prevention assist, if the kidnappers/robbers come and block your Billionair boss’s car, the body guard will need a button to disable the electronic nanny, then drive thru the gaps of multiple vehicles that the kidnappers/robbers laid behind. Plus it will need to blare its alarm to the surrounding so at least provide warning that the car is going to push thru.

• blaster88 on Dec 29, 2013 at 12:17 pm

Interesting. Believe Volvo came out with the technology first. Walk the talk, remove the dummy and put a person in front of the Merc……most effective form of Marketing.

• Leonard Dechow on Dec 30, 2013 at 10:44 am

Michael AS a German in America I lust herd about your accident. Please Please don’t die. You’re the greatest racecar driver to sit behint the wheel. What a waste it would be not to see you in a race car again. All the luck and prayers are with you, come back.