W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class official photos leaked through UK print magazine

w205-an-0002

The leaks of the W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class just won’t stop. Here are official pics of the car from the February 2014 copy of UK’s WhatCar? magazine. Because of print publishing schedules, publishers often get press info released to them early, and since subscribers tend to get copies early, all sorts of info leaks out this way.

According to WhatCar?, the W205 C-Class will go on sale in the UK in Spring 2014. It’s built on Mercedes-Benz’s new MRA (Modular Rear-drive Architecture) platform. It’s about 100mm longer and 40mm wider than the W204, yet up to 100kg lighter depending on the model.

Engine options will include the C180, C200, C250, C300 and C400 for petrol models, and C180, C200 C220 and C250 for the CDI diesels. The petrol C300 tune is new, with 235 horsepower and 370Nm compared to the 250 tune’s 210 horsepower and 350Nm. There will also be a diesel-powered C300 BlueTEC Hybrid later.

The car is said to debut with the seven-speed 7G-Tronic gearbox, but will receive the nine-speed 9G-Tronic in a technical update. There will also be the option for AIRMATIC air suspension for the first time.

UPDATE: WhatCar? photos removed, have a look at their story on WhatCar?’s website for details.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fariq on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Mercedes, oh Mercedes. Something is going terribly wrong with your new design approach. The facelifted E-class was a wreck; and it seems that the C-class is bound to join its bigger brother. Trying too hard to shake off the “uncle-driven-only” image huh? What an utter mess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 69
    • Obama on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:43 pm

It looks stunning, larger, lighter and greater!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • sam69 on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Mercedes try to hard, but to no avail. Mercedes will always be an Ah Pek car. Unless they change the name Mercedes to Mainsini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 37
  • fatchicken on Dec 16, 2013 at 1:45 pm

looks alot better than current F30 !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 15
    • sam69 on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:18 pm

We believe your perception, we also know your are 50 years old and above.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • What should I buy? The new W205 or the A250 or the F30 320i or the V40 T5? All well within my budget above which it is out of reach. I want value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • kensiew on Dec 16, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Off course the A250. The spec of A250 is away better and higher than the rest. Size is not an issue nowadays coz we must get what we wanted in terms of performance and quality of what we have paid.

• droll on Dec 16, 2013 at 8:52 pm

actually if you have been in a C class and a A class you will know why A class is lower price. the interior, materials looks a lot better in the C class. in the A class, you can see obvious signs of cost cutting to keep the price competitive. nothing wrong – just a different strategy and target market.

• The C class is still the baby Benz with it being RWD. The A class? Meh, that is like a rebadged VW.

• kadajawi on Dec 16, 2013 at 2:25 pm

Looks quite good, but the proportions are bad. Not as bad as with the F30, but really… maybe they should stop creating huge engine bays just so that there can be an AMG/M model? This isn’t a Coupe, so stop trying to look like one (massive engine bay, and at the back a small compartment for passengers).

Also, really, that tablet inside? When the A class was introduced I thought… my, that tablet looks bad. They must be doing that to make the A class look and feel a bit cheap. Like they created a pretty interior, and then noticed that there was no space for a satnav/display so they just took an iPad and mounted it to the dashboard with a cheap aftermarket mount. Well, and then Mercedes started to do this to all their cars.

That you CAN create a beautiful interior with a big display was proven by Tesla. The Model S has a 17″ (!) screen, and it still looks great inside.

• not as bad as F30? really?

• kadajawi on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Don’t get me wrong. The F30 is a good looking car, so is this. And overall I prefer the F30. BUT what I meant was the length of the bonnet in relation to the rest of the car. Yes, they may do it to have room for a bigger engine, to have better handling/driving dynamics, better safety, but still, it just looks wrong.

• laughingor on Dec 16, 2013 at 7:39 pm

This shape is an improvement actually. And it look futuristic. It is subjective of course…I can’t imagine a small engine bay and big butt, perhap something from proton design…

• Robert on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:00 pm

It looks like a mini W222 S-Class ! I just dislike the rear 3/4 look, the taillights aren’t doing it justice for me. Plus, I loath the afterthought tablet display on the newer Benz’s.

• Elvin on Dec 16, 2013 at 4:44 pm

Nice C-class! Going to own it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Ricahrd on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:38 pm

It’s the ugliest Benz ever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • whichone on Dec 16, 2013 at 6:46 pm

front headlamps, prefer bmw. rear headlamps, oklah 50-50. interior wow superb. i was undecided between this and bmw but so many f30 these days boring lah…good job merc