VIDEO: BMW M235i Racing unleashed for motorsport

BMW Motorsport is wasting no time taking up the recently unveiled 2 Series Coupe into its elite line-up of race-prepped offerings. This new BMW M235i Racing will slot in below the company’s existing FIA-approved pair of the Z4 GT3 and M3 GT4.

It sure looks good, doesn’t it? A fair bit more menacing than the standard road-going M235i Coupe and even the tarted-up M Performance option. The ultra-wide fender flares give the game away – not that’s you’ll ever see one of these on the roads, off course (pun intended).

Under the hood is the same 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo straight-six you get in the road car, albeit one tuned up from the usual 326 hp to 333 hp. Torque remains the same at 450 Nm, all handled by an M Performance limited-slip differential. A racing exhaust system is present too.

KW dampers, H&R springs and anti-roll bars plus a racing-grade braking system are tasked to handle the twist and turns of motor racing, along with a full complement of safety fittings – FIA-approved roll-cage, Schroth six-point harness and Recaro Pro Racer SPG seat.

This lil’ un’s got some bite. We likey.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• bmw motorsports on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:08 pm

M4 DTM is confirmed on track next year.

Kidda miss the BMW WTCC. Sebastian Loeb will face stiff competition from Honda WTCC teams. Can’t wait to see the new season to kick off..