Driven Web Series Episode 5: Company car dilemma – Toyota Camry 2.5 vs Honda Accord 2.4 vs Mazda6 2.5

Right from the start of Driven Web Series, you viewers have requested for us to settle the D-segment dilemma. Your wish is our command, as we present to you this week’s shootout – Toyota Camry 2.5V vs Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L vs Mazda6 2.5. So which is the King of company cars?

The Camry enters the ring with not much to fight with, but plenty to fight for. On its side is its long-standing clout of being the default go-to vehicle for most middle management folks. But as we’ve proved in Driven Web Series, being the best seller doesn’t always mean it’s the best. Sometimes yes, but mostly no.

That’s where the rejuvenated Honda Accord and refreshed Mazda6 come in. Each has a host of new tech to take the fight to the old-fashioned but extremely successful Toyota. It’s a classic clash of young upstarts against the old hand. Battle royales don’t get any bigger than this.

Or perhaps it does, as we have lined up a special surprise entry from the land of the South. South Korea, that is. Watch the video above to find out which K-pop superstar it is that we have deemed worthy to take on the established Japanese trio. Can it fight its way to the top?

Time flies when you’re having fun, doesn’t it? With the fifth episode now out, we’ve come to the end of our series. Don’t worry though, Driven Web Series will be back. Enjoy the full series here, and thank you for watching. And of course, stay tuned to paultan.org for the latest automotive news and reviews. Till next time!

Learn more: ,

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• ABTguy on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:10 am

Ha, I like the insertion of Sam Loo !! Well, and that does not make Camry the worst of the field !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 11
    • Akira on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:50 pm

I just lol’ed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Petrolhead on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:32 pm

Well done! You guys have covered B, C, D segments cars, hot hatches and SUVs, so I’m guessing for the next installment would be an A segment shootout when the Proton GSC is out. Btw you guys should have used the i40 sedan rather than the tourer cause is a D segment sedans shootout after all. Also my impression of Sam Loo is exactly the same as the “Sam Loo” appeared in the video! At first, I thought he got famous and became a guest just because of his RV bs but thank God that wasn’t him. Phew..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
        • Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2013 at 7:32 pm

Thank you Paul Tan! Im famous! Anyway, i’m now kimchi salesman after this episode!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 9
        • samloo sopporter on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Toyota still the best car in term of RV. Support sam loo comment
          http://www.facebook.com/SamLooRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:01 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 361
      • SamShowMeYouHAILAT on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:31 pm

Hey bro, can you PM me the number of those ToToJackpot winners, especially the RM$20 million one, coz I wanna sell their children Ferrari or Lambo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 10
      • LatukBandar on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:33 pm

you must be superlucky to know so many RM20 jackpot winner or super unlucky not to win any when so many of your friends win them.

I don hate Toyota, but whatever you wrote is beyond logic. Win Rm20 million liao but buy Camry for reliability? what kind of BS is that? When you have Rm20 million and your brand new BMW breaks down, what do you do? get a new BMW/Mercedez or complain? get a new BMW of course, if break down again, get a brand new one again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 6
      • sonyman on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:42 pm

i got 20 million i will go get myself a range rover lah, can run over your camry anytime.

And i sprint faster than your camry, even with ACIS or what ever you call it lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Taking about RELIABILITY your Toiyota Hilux car beat the Kancil. Not even close.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • mika for VW on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:50 pm

What a joke from Sam Loo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
      • satekj38 on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Stupid SamShowedMeTheHilux!

Only idiots like SamShowedMeTheHilux trying to work hard and spend all the money for a Toyota!
        Any other brand’s car, even P1 or P2 serve the same purpose, transporting people around…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • Are you sure you are not someone who purposely make Camry look worse by using reverse psychology?

• hadi75 on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:35 pm

I rather buy a modern truck which is cheaper with same or better spec than camry….

• The answer on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:07 pm

Toyota reliable yes but prestige really? Toyota is the people’s car a lot of people can afford it look around their everywhere! Watch the video Toyota has RV and reliability not much else it’s not luxurious nor prestige they have Lexus for that.

• people who knows car in and out and about technical stuff will not argue with people who has a big ego and small brain like you. the truth is that why do technical guys wanna even argue things with you when things u know is only like 10% of our knowledge?

• Car_enthusiast on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:37 pm

This guy is just trying to provoke ppl with his silly comments. Absolute joker!

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:39 pm

I still remember what Mr. Toyota once said:
      “I dont care if Toyota is the no. 1 in the world, but I do care that Toyota is the no.1 to our customers”….

So please translate that to their business philosophy.

They dont care so many bashers/haters/fartkers here in Paul Tan that disapproves Toyota brands/models…..
      as long as 1- existing customers continue to buy Toyota 2- New customers prefers Toyota over other brands 3- Other customers switch to Toyota brands…..

So now, compare this philosophy to P1: (normal respond from P1 if we complaint)
      1- Idiot, why u buy P1, go buy other model
      2- Standard la P1, of coz vendor installed low quality power window part
      3- You are not our only customers, go fly kite la buy other brands
      4- Factory QC guys no good, we at Sales Room got no choice to pass this car with this QC level. Why dont you take this car 1st, then you send back to our workshop back there and claim for warranty….

Hehehe, sounds familiar???? This is the bull rants for P1 buyers….10 years ago…..and still the same rants today….

P1 never improve….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:48 pm

You guys clever to use my name, but I forgive all of you in the spirit of good motoring and RV. I like the humour though, despite being at my expense. You guys are good motoring journalist who know how to give objective reviews.

However, Jonathan James, please lah, cut your hair. You beginning to look like David Arumugam!. Keep your hair neat, otherwise kutu will come.

I am happy to be quoted in your show. Remember, RV is also important and remember, Toyota is in the same league as Rolls Royce, Bentley and Jaguar. So, buying a Toyota, is buying prestige.

Infact, the Queen of England, with all her wealth and many Rolls Royces and Jaguars, secretly owns a Hilux. She import into UK to use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 108
      • David Arumugam on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Nice hari style James. Keep the hair. One day you can put C4 inside the hair and blast kow Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • Toyota so reliable and efficient that after years of Hilux and Land cruiser diesel engines, they bought a BMW diesel to… wait for it… chase new customers in Europe… and what happened to Sam Loo’s Jaguar RR and bentley’s RV? Not in the same league as Toyota lah.. come on. And don’t forget the GM products rebadged as toyota such as Lexcen in Australia….

• Resale Value on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:22 am

Sam Loo goes to Mollywood.

• ruffstuff on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:18 am

i lel at Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:38 am

I salute that guy dare to act as Sorhai Sam Loo, not scare later get out let ppl Smack Down!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 6
      • JeremyNg on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:58 am

In the end, they write that he not the real Sam Loo ma ….. no worries XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:39 pm

Who keep calling my name, I keep sniffing non-stop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
      • Do you mean ‘sneezing’?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 0
        • Fariq on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:59 pm

Nah he meant it the first time he said it; sniffing. Dogs sniff… and bark about Resale Value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 3
  • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:19 am

madza 6 FTW! just throw the Toiyota in the trash lah..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
  • sam sohai hailat(hilux) on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:22 am

HAHAHAHA, SAM LOO insertion is so damm kao funny

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
  • Leonon777 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:26 am

the 0-100km/h time for the Mazda 6 in the video is wrong I believe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Nope, it’s true. Mazda6 is much slower than you thought

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Immapotato on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:33 pm

Actually, the Mazda6 2.6 gets to 100km/h from standstill in 7.9 seconds. And believe it or not, I can testify to that claim. The torque advantage the Mazda6 has over the others really helps it in a straight line.

• focusing22 on Apr 01, 2014 at 5:45 am

ford fusion can go 0-100 km/h on 7.5 secs
          tested at luar negara ..

• kangkung on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:27 am

Wargh so funneh! It’s just getting better every episodes. Keep up the good job. Well UMW how u feel now?

• glaze on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:12 pm

UMW dont care the Camry and Altis sales anymore. They are focusing on Vios and Hilux

• mystvearn on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:29 am

If I was a Honda dealership I will copy this and play and my showroom with subtitles. Loop forever. OR to spite Toyota, play this in front of their shop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:51 am

Edit:
      If I was a Toiyota dealership I will copy this and play and my showroom with subtitles. Loop forever. So that this video can open the eyes of Tai Lan Ngong people that though RV is important than safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 12
      • mystvearn on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:17 pm

So, Accord have pathetic RV is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Zamri on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:23 pm

SamLoo never say Honda got no RV.

SamLoo prefer Toyota. But he only deny Kimchi.

It’s ok if you buy Honda, Samloo wont argue.

REAL Samloo never condemn Honda at the first place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Spot on.

I only love kimchi (Hyundai) owners that buys the cars brand new and sell them off a year later at 50% price

• V4Life on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:30 am

great episode! Fair verdict as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Focusmk3 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:30 am

Lol…nice one on Sam loo! …. I 40 …pretty impressive … Time for Malaysian to break the honda, toyota trend … It’s a bigger ball game now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:41 am

If paultan bring in K5 in this video, all the rest of the car can park far far…far behind!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 68
      • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Yes the k5 is a no RV car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 26
      • Even i drive korean car but k5 will not beat mazda 6 or passat or what so ever, every car has it own pro and con.

But at 145k range, k5 is indeed one of the best value for money option in D-seg market. Reason its not in this review i think because this round they are comparing top-spec of D-seg price at 180k+ which is not K5 target market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 9
        • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:05 pm

K5 will be numero uno is Resale Value, from the bottom, if the used car fella accepts trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Eh idiot, stop talking about resell value already. Your time is a pass already. U buy car to sell or to drive. What a prick man u…. Go and get a life. If u like Toyota so much, shift to Japan and stay in Toyota city. U don’t need to come here and become a clown to everyone. Such a douchebag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
      • Jimmy Lim on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:33 pm

I was Driven to cover that sexy looking Kia Optima K5 which is looks good in D Segment. Kind of let down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Fariq on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

Hahaha. You guys deserve a big-ass round of applause for a season done well. What a way to end the season with the ‘appearance’ of Sam Loo. I LOL-ed when I saw the Hilux wording on his shirt. Great video work and entertainment value.

Maybe Hafriz could be a little more natural with the cameras. Other than that, bravo guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • glaze on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:16 pm

i wonder how many times the “Sam Loo” laughed while taking the video…LOL

• AUSNSW on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:35 am

It is finally out…Good job

• kingston5 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:36 am

Well said.The Honda ‘just” edges out against the Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • Krasher on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:37 am

Thanks for introducing Sam Loo!! (Although it’s fiction)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Pororo on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:40 am

Yes, i agreed the Accord is the best D-segment car in Malaysia… So, Mr. Sam Loo, any comment you want to say because they said Camry is most worst, most boring car compare to the i40 Wagon (Kimchi) and Mazda6?? are the RV drops 75% after a year?? HAHAHA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 9
  • hahaha psycho Sam Loo is inside the driven. thank god Camry didnt win. Honestly speaking, the car body design looks so stressful, to many sharp edges.

• sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:53 am

Simple words. Camry is “As Hilux As Sorhai Sam Loo Face”!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 10
      • omg, Sam69..

Get a Moral Session or Religion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
        • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:15 pm

Mohd bro don’t bother about this butthurt Kimchi fanboy.Accepr the facts lah Kimchi is still miles behind these Sushi cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 32
          • NgongHaiTao on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:54 pm

So, accept the fact that this guy is the biggest ignorant who thinks like this.

• Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:57 pm

In other words, Camry ACV40 2.4V is still the best Camry ever made.

• John Tan on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

Good job man. Well done. At last Honda have won something lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • JacKal on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

Best episode yet, mainly due to the Sam Loo parody. Looking forward to the next series. Just a point on the estate version of the Mazda. I thought the main reason for the big price difference compared to the sedan is the difference is the docket price.

• shawal on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:49 am

Best comparison so far, couldve included the 508 and optima, honda accord is d best no doubt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:54 am

if they include K5/508, japan sushi junk will hide far far far behind lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
  • love this preview

• Proton Perdana also D-segment leh. It will be no.1 in this comparison!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Wisdom on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:55 am

I saw much improvement in the review.
    Informative, funny, fair, direct and clear.

Very nice. Keep it up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • Arun 12b on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:56 am

should add Peugeot 508GT which same price wit mazda 6 2.5. sure it wil be the winner for fuel efficient n HP & torque and in build quality :)

508 GT nw ony RM189k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Peugeot??Are you kidding me,no RV and most important K5 and 508 is a junk.Hard to see one around Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
      • NgongHaiTao on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Then you should move out from Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm

if all u wan is rv,then u better go buy a house. a car will never suit u ,even ur overprice toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Najib Razak on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:58 am

Sam Loo must be very proud to be featured in this episode. All his efforts in promoting his beloved Toyota finally bear fruits.

NOT !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:15 pm

Fruits which bitter inside it..hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:00 pm

Looks like Brother Paul did take notice of my postings, and so did the thousands of surfers for used kimchis.

At the rate KIA is devaluating, I may have a business case to trade them soon.

So sam69 and those sorhai tai lan ngong, just hang on for a while

• JeremyNg on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:01 pm

Where the hell is the real Sam Loo ?! I am curious to see how he react to this video ~ hahahaha

Finally he wish come true that he get people attention

• MG250 on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Funny how Hafriz mentioned Accord has the most kit. What kit? Isn’t Mazda 6 has the most especially the safety features like brake support?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:12 pm

The Honda has LED headlamps, LaneWatch, Active Noise Control and Active Sound Control (though it’s still rather noisy in there), two colour screens and decent-looking (faux) wood trim, none of which the Mazda has. But yes, the Mazda counters with more airbags, larger wheels and a few extra safety systems.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 13
      • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm

So….you guys prefer those extra gadget on car rather than extra safety systems?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
        • Lam Soo on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:32 pm

Sure, if u wanna compare based on spec sheet, no need to drive the car, can just record a video comparing the brochure side by side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
        • Too much safety system may useless sometime.If the car is very controlable,then why we need those airbag.It may cause plenty of money when the airbag jump out.

• Samuel Tong on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:38 pm

In term of build quality, Mazda 6 should win the crown. When i sit inside the Accord, it looks plasticity, maybe slightly better than Jetta. Meanwhile when you sit inside the M6, you may feel the solidness and the refinement. It looks better than a Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
        • sonyman on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:36 pm

eh, no matter how volvo is better ok. MAzda happen to share platform only.

BLIS, City Stop All belongs to volvo friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • No, you are wrong. Ford already parted with Mazda. The new Mazda Skyactiv does not share any component with Ford/Volvo.

• Are u sure the accord is plasticity?I found that the soft touch material are in everywhere inside the accord.

• Do you know that Mazda 6 Bose sound system has noise compensation system from a mic? It’s far more advance. Honda lane watch only pop up a video for left side only which is weird. Don’t u think so? Meanwhile Mazda 6 has rear vehicle monitoring for both side with warning lights coming from both sides. Adaptive frontal light system, smart city brake system, high beam control, lane departure warning, high quality trimx etc. How Accord can have more kit is beyond me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
        • YouMazdaSalesmanKa? on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Bro, you a Mazda salesman ka? You seem very adept with the 6’s equipment list, like only a salesman would be :p

I’m familiar with the Mazda’s Bose Noise Compensation system myself and it’s hogwash! It’s still noisy inside, far noisier than it should be.

The Honda’s system may not have a fancy audio brand to shout about but it works the same way. Either way both cars are noise inside so maybe these systems aren’t all they’re hyped up to be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • I am. So? Did I exaggerate on all the equipment list?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • kimchilover on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:48 pm

lame pitt.

if you can judge a car based on the equipment list we wouldnt need car reviewers. anyone can claim specs can do this and that and this and that…

but when test drive, we find NONE of the supposed benefits.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • mazdasalesmanwillreplacesamloosoon on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:00 pm

i think he is definitely a mazda salesman. anyway, honda sound system also has the exact same noise compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • shawal on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:35 pm

The mazda 6 is cramped at the back
        and the interior is no different than the CX-5
        Mazda build quality is nowhere near Honda’s , even if its CBU from japan..
        and the color screen is small , low resolution

in this sense, the Accord feels more premium inside, better dash design , especially at the back, which includes sun blinds

The honda has a better ride, but still depends on driver’s and passenger’s taste..

The honda is cheaper and uses less fuel too

The mazda 6 needs a HMI interior update & revision for it to come up tops..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Mazda6 does have Bose sound system that include digital amplifier which processing :
        1. AudioPilot Noise Compensation Technology
        2. Centerpoint & SurroundStage signal processing circuitry.
        AudioPilot microphone mounted inside the cabin to monitor interior noise level.

• Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:01 pm

Anyone in their right mind will prefer the Lexus ES.

As long as its not a kimchi, you will not need to jump off Masalam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • Colin Wong on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Sam, it is not nice to make fun of what happened at Masalam.

• Joshua on Apr 01, 2014 at 12:37 am

what’s the difference between active noise control & active sound control?

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:02 pm

Luckily K5 was not included in the review because it would have had its butt kicked upside down.

Korean cars are nowhere near Jap cars.

I really LOL at ppl who buy korean cars thinking that they got a good deal with 9 airbags and all where in actual fact they r getting an inferior product which still have poor driving dynamics and interior quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 77
    • wait wait wait, you want to be in the video for next series is it? don’t be so desperate la, you can take vids of yourself using your iphone ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • No Shame! on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

He is sam loo, same person, maybe too ashamed of himself to use Sam loo to comment as everyone here laughing at him including driven+. But to be fair, he is a real joke here to contribute some additional entertainment here for everyone to laugh at. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
      • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:30 pm

Even Sam Loo dont dare to use his original name instead he use Sam Loo 2.. LMAO~~~~ He worried so much of his Hilux face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • SamToyotaSalesMan on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:29 pm

He is only a junior sales man, talk cock, talk big, talk like he is the taukeh. Pity this guy. We used to work together at Toyota showroom, he was one joker with no integrity. Forgive this uncle lah.

• Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:03 pm

I just trade kimchis (only Hyundai) coz they can be exported to 3rd world countries.

Used car market in Malaysia is dead for KIA, so need to drive trade in price lower for export

• Jinggo on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:05 pm

Where is the subaru LEGACY? jilaka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Peter on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Drive vol 5 feature Sam Lxx. He should rap so to increase entertainment value.

Toyota/UMW should be taught a lesson, their cars (or even senior managements) are so resist to change & self-improve. Every launching of new generation car come with controversial (negative part) design & same technology (if not less), YET the prices hike according to inflation values!

I have a feel that Toyota mngnt is like our elder parents who choose Toyota base on its past glories & … full stop … no arguing pls!

Resale values is a reality that need to be considered but while we’re suffering at it due our own distorted market, it dosen’t affect the the progressive values of Korean cars. Sam Loo is a typical bad example of consumers in our market, good body or dead body all he cares is to take adv of it and being a part of the problems rather than solving the prob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • ss427 on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:14 pm

Sam Loo got PWNED! :D:D

Hey guys lets be fair abit lah.. The i40 wagon should at least get 2nd place behind Mazda 6. Why no one mentioned that the new Accord looks like the one from the early 2000s? And that there’s no more wishbone suspension upfront?!

How can such blatant cost cutting car gets no 1? The Mazda 6 should be number 1 followed by the i40..

Yup the Camry is a total joke in today’s motoring scene…LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • Lam Soo on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Sure, if u wanna compare based on spec sheet, no need to drive the car, can just record a video comparing the brochure side by side

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • now why dont u guys do a budget car/small car.. viva..myvi..saga..persona..gen-2..or anything that are related just i mentioned..hehee..;)

• Amresh on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:20 pm

It would be more awesome if could compare with Volkswagen CC or Passat which could sprint 0 to 100 km/h in 8.5 seconds. But it’s a nice review anyway. I just love this show. Waited every Monday to watch this :D 

• Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:21 pm

I would laugh at those Volkswagen owner with their DSG will hailat in the middle on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • kadajawi on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:42 pm

That’s funny, cause I mostly see Toyota’s broken down at the roadside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
        • Maserati(Official) on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:52 am

Because out of 2000 Toyota, probably 10 breakdown, but out of 200 VW, 9 breakdown. So more Toyota breakdown la.

• AARON on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:21 pm

should add Peugeot 508GT in this video. sure easily can beat mazda6 2.5. GT better build quality, Nappa leather, gud fuel efficient, more power wit 450 torque. the most awesome luking sport rim. Price just RM189k.

• blublibla on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:08 pm

Sat in the back seat of a 508 sedan. It’s so cramp in there. You can’t even put your legs under the front seat and the back seats are quite low too which makes it even worse. Don’t know about the GT though. Most probably the same.

TBH a Saga FLX has more legroom than a 508 sedan. And I’m not exaggerating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • frenzyaustin on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:55 am

I still doubt if 508 GT really has better built quality? A French car built better than a Japanese car is like Proton are more efficient than the Germans.

• Bila nak buat pasal MPV Car. Like exora or etc..

• nabill on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:24 pm

ya maybe k5,sonata should have been included to to level the playing field…that i20 is of a smaller size n segment compare to those 3….
    those 19′ on the mazda is an overkill…bt i think the passat wd have been perfect companion size and engineering wise…

• kadajawi on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:58 pm

The i40 is the same segment as the others in the test, it’s just that it was built for Europeans. And Europeans are usually smaller than Asians.

• Where is uncle sam?

• TheDean on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Why not include the 155k Passat? Better drive, better build, better mileage….. and cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:25 pm

Because Passat junk no RV and its DSG will easily kwai tai especially at evening rush hour at Penang Bridge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
      • ng ka fai on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:41 pm

Exactly la bro, VW = Very Worried, suck balls car for poser who cant afford audi, but wants some fancy shit LED lights. low quality shit bag car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • The gearbox is a bomb.I prefer passat is a nice car which is very powerful.But the maintain fee…………!!

• Hahhaahhaahahhahahaa samloo. I think i need to go to the loo… anyway. I think the best looking car among all is the Hyundai but damn I have to agree with that rear el-cheapo screen.

• ss427 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:30 pm

well its a good thing SG market i40 doesn’t have such nonsense. Our i40 is fully loaded from the factory, including factory 18″ wheels..

The only local fitted items are the solar films and that dreaded ERP reader …:(

• policeman on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:44 pm

People, better be careful or we might be featured in the next episode.

• daniel on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:54 pm

sam loo in the video… LOLOLOLOL

• Sam Loo 2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:56 pm

Sorhai sam69 aka fake guy come to Penang you will see full of Toyota on the road.New Vios is blooming.New Altis is coming soon,looking forward to own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 26
    • bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm

the new vios is looking better then the previous one. but still ugly ,like a mad person with their mouth open big, and the new altis also. all new toyota cars’ exterior are look same to me.
      and instead of buying altis for 115000+ and above ,i better wait until the mazda 3 is available in malaysia.

• kusochon on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:52 pm

new vios when look exactly from behind looks like a fat women terkangkang mau berak

• The altis is very expensive!!!And the rear suspension is torshion beam.How can this car sell so expensive

• Perdana man on Dec 17, 2013 at 12:57 pm

Ya! Accord it memang tumbs up! tapi yang lama tu dah jadi Proton. Tak… tak… nak Proton lagi… kena fikir lama, lama ni, janganX2 proton ambil model ni tukar batch kemudian.

• o0o sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:01 pm

He mention jap cars not camry. Mazda 6, honda accord, nissan teana, toyota camry are all jap cars. And forgot to mention Mazda 6 is CBU from jap so it has pure jap blood. So stop saying people Tai Lang Ngong. You are making yourself looks like Tai Lang Ngong here. Poor sam69 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Jap Blood? LOL..I know they are all from japan, but still MOST of them made in Thailand. MOST sushi blood car doesn’t care about your life aka without VSC/Safety features like korean car has. So ppl who buy them actually are Tai Lan Ngong too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • leong on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Passat vs peugeot 508 vs camry vs accord vs sonata vs mazda 6 vs mondeo vs kia optima vs teana..rerun with this review please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:47 pm

i think thy should compare more cars in their video. prolong the video to 20+ mins or even 30 mins, we will like it.

• brilliant!! the best so far!! :) haha esp for the Sam Loo introduction.. :)

• bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:10 pm

yes,the mazda is the most expensive one. but comes with the most safety features here : i-stop,esp,6 airbags,the most fastest car among those 3.
    and Driven ,u forgt to talk about the sensors which located on the rearview mirror …it consist of the sensor for auto braking when the distance between ur car with the front car is close.this is one of the good features tat accord and camry will never have.

• blublibla on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:11 pm

don’t think so. An i40 gives 9 airbags. And the sedan i40 is even cheaper than the M6.

• bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:10 pm

compare all the features,specs,material of interior,comfort, then u will know why M6 is expensive.
        i’m not deny the quality of i40,but tis is the fact.

• deadaccu on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:11 pm

i think your speed test is wrong..
    bmw320i 0 to 100 in 7.2
    mazda 6 = 7.6
    accord =7.8
    camry = 8.3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • mizuru on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:03 pm

i read the us version review with minimal difference on spec.i would say that the speed you state are about the same but camry clocked longer than 8.3 sec.around 8.8 i guess,toyota emphasize on comfort too much.

• Why only Sam loo? on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:17 pm

Why only him? How about the other 2 umw cronies maserati and hilux? Or are the 3 the same person?
    Really good job this umw. Altis even we don’t bother compare it to other c segment anymore. Camry everybody know the result already.
    Rip umw toyota and all the cronies hired to fake support it.

• meng meng on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:18 pm

at 6.40min the two police sana cari makan..?

• Norman Jazeera on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Hoi, want to buy a Toyota??? Hahaha… What a hilarious episode. And who is Sam Loo?

• _xXx_ on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:23 pm

i40, K5 semua ni TEKSI kat singapore…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • blublibla on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:13 pm

So? It is still better than Camry.

• sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:44 pm

Camry, even pasar malam uncle owned them to use as trash collector.

• ss427 on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:47 am

Yup well one taxi company in SG used to have quite a few JDM XCV40 Camries in their inventory, but reliability was poor and the taxis broke down quite often. You can hardly see them on the road these days… In fact that taxi company has closed shop already. Their drivers transfered to NTUC comfort and SMART taxi.

NTUC comfort do deploy approx 10 units of ACV40 Camry Hybrid as taxis. But they’re for evaluation purpose and it never took off. Those 10 units are all they have on the roads right now

• So does that mean its reliable and comfortable?

• _xXx_ on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:48 pm

Comfort? yes. Reliability, I dunno…unlike here in mesia, customers r treated like b*ngla. Customers have no choice but to sit in the scary s*ga teksi…

• E class is taxi too, so?

• kadajawi on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:36 pm

Hm, completely ignored the boots of the car? Doesn’t that matter?

The insertion of Sam Loo was brilliant.

It’s a shame that this wasn’t a 2 parter… the VW Passat, Ford Mondeo and Peugeot 508 (perhaps as diesel?) would have spiced things up (especially if the Citroen DS5 had been added too, like in the episode where suddenly a Mini appeared out of nowhere), and you rarely see comparisons between European and Japanese brands in Malaysia. Either reviewers compare the Japanese, or they compare the Europeans. But how do they stack up against each other?

As a premium choice I’d suggest the Skoda Superb. Massive amounts of space, good price, luxurious.

• bigman on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:37 pm

boots space is not a problem. such d-segment big car sure have very large boots space. tis is comment sense ,ok?

• Enthu on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:36 pm

It was very informative to know that the Mazda 6 was lacking the zoom with its gearbox. Such a pity, great driving dynamics but a sluggish response drivetrain.

Kind of a mixed bag for the driver really.

• Caesar on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:55 pm

The review of the Mazda 6 is a little biased here to be honest. I distinctly remember in their written review they were singing praises about the ride, but now they’re saying in relation to being better than the Hyundai’s, apparently “that’s not saying much”.

As for the response, I’ve driven all 3 cars and can safely say the M6 is NOT as sluggish as claimed. Just because it doesn’t throw you back in the seat like a turbocharged car doesn’t mean it lacks “zoom”. It is responsive, just in a more refined manner. But to each his own I guess. Overall, an amusing video.

• Skyactive is tuned to put fuel efficiency as its overriding objective, at the expense of performance. That’s why u really need to floor the pedal for quite some time b4 the gearbox will downshift. Manual override will improve the responsiveness by a little bit, but hardly felt. So skyactive will give u an able chassis but the “heart” has no courage & it is even refusing to try.

• Caesar on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:30 pm

It’s quite an exaggeration to say the heart of the M6 has no courage and refuses to try. But we’ll just have to agree to disagree.

• heybadigol on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:37 pm

How come the 0-100kmh for the Mazda6 is only 9.5? In US reviews, it does 0-60mph (96km/h) in 7.7 secs. Going an extra 4km/h should take around 8 secs tops. Anyways, I gotta agree with the review. I suspect it was the lower price of the Accord that made the difference over the Mazda6.

Ive sat in the Accord before, and have to say the backseats are quite luxurious and deep (leather is very soft). The Mazda6 is just slightly more spacious than a Honda Civic, which is a class lower. And the interior doesnt live up to the exterior. So, yeah, Honda wins it by not being best at anything, but being good at all areas. Like a word champion who only finished 2nd in each race, but no DNF.

Would be nice to see the Suzuki Kizashi being compared to these. Its probably the best handling, even better than the Mazda6.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Aberline on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:58 pm

Kizashi drives well but its no way close to Mazda. My cousin bought one Kizashi and I tried before. My dad’s car is the 6. No fight IMHO.

• Colin Wong on Dec 17, 2013 at 1:38 pm

That was entertaining because of Sam Loo! LOL. However, it would have been more complete to include other D-segment cars such as K5, 508, Passat that are all within similar price range.

I like this one. Sam Loo should be in every episode!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:26 am

KIA/Hyundai, TATA, Mahindra, Geely, Great Wall all belongs in the same category.

Reviewing them together makes perfect sense

• Boss should wear coat in this video. Where is VW Passat?

• kenot on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:22 pm

cmonlah umw and honda malaysia. please give at least 6 airbags for your cars especially for camry and accord. Even preve can give 6 airbags and ESP for all range.

• The forgotten child: VW Passat

• Denaihati on Dec 17, 2013 at 2:59 pm

the best comparison ever. with special apperance, sam loo make me laught sampai pecah perut…heeee
    nod bad for this 3 car fuel consumption. mazda6 2.5-13.1km/L, h accord 2.4-12.2km/L and t camry 2.5v-11.0km/L, still ok and efficient, even have big cc.
    if mazda6 price slightly lower, i think i will be no.1.
    congratulation paultan team member.

• Mohd Hijau on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:50 pm

Being tech Savvy.
    I am getting myself luxury version Toyota Prius.

Spacious, Crash Test = 5 star.
    7 air bags.
    Traction Control = for running on slippery road.
    VSC = for cornering.

So much of torque in this car.
    Superb easy running uphill to genting highland.

bonus
    = Reverse Camera
    = JBL Sound System. 8 channel amplified + 8 speaker
    = Best most quiet no engine noise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • Just saying on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:01 pm

Pity that the Prius is not a good looking car, no matter what angle you look at it. Even the cheaper prius c looks better proportioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Zamri on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I kind of like it design.

Unique + Modern Dashboard no car can provide.

• ruffstuff on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:52 pm

Pity Sam Loo didn’t register the nick. Now everyone trying to imitate this Sam Loo persona.

• Halleluyah on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:52 pm

After 5 episodes, this is the best episode ever. All presenters had improved significantly and very natural on screen. This episode is quite informative comparing to the other episode (especially the hatch reviews. Come on paul, no one buy a hatch for comfort – A250) Insertion of Sam Loo is epic and extremely funny. Thumbs up for the idea!! Great job guys.

• tokmoh on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:39 pm

When you rich enough to spend rm200k++ for small premium hatch, come back and tell me you want stiff, loud car, with questionable reliability, despised image of road menace and showoff.

What you want, will be comfort, safety, elegant style, refinement, comprehensive after sales support. A Volvo V40 T5.

Inb4 next season tokmoh cameo as Volvo salesman

• Halleluyah on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:08 am

nah, if one person can spend money on a sport hatch, they will not give a damn on comfort, or a quiet relaxing car. Hot Hatch means Sporty!!! Lets not take it to the RM200k+ mark, RM100-150k will do. If one passionate for hatches, they will go for a hyundai veloster, satria neo, or the focus hatch S+ rather than civic, camry or even the accord.
        its because hatch lovers like us love hatches. looking for comfort nice sweet ride? sport hatches isn’t for you.

regarding people who can afford RM200k+ will only looking for comfort then you are wrong.
        For me, i personally will go for a renault megane R.S 265 but i couldn’t afford it, so waiting for the new 1.6 turbo veloster to launch. =(

• kimchilover on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:53 pm

its funny you dont even mention the peugeot 208 gti in your list of cars that dont even drive all that well

• Halleluyah on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:47 pm

I am making a point, do i needed to mention all the hatches for a single point?

• tokmoh on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:49 pm

Want sports but too pussy cannot drive manual meh? A-class, golf, 1series all auto, dafuq, damn poser bapok dunno drive manual, kills the fun and point of going sporty la wei.

Sporty should give more control to the driver, no matter how good the torque converter or twin clutch, it can never match freedom granted by manual. Period.

So yes I agree, if want performance, only consideration is Megane RS265, Focus ST, any other as long as must be proper MANUAL gearbox.

So if dun want drive manual, stop pretending. Don’t get Merc, BMW, VW. They’re not sporty enough, nor comfortable enough.

Just get the Volvo. With that sexy arse, might be able to pickup some ang moh chicks. And she’ll be impressed cuz she no need ride in tow truck cuz no DSG to break down.

• TO SAM LOO : NOT A SINGLE FXXK WAS GIVEN

TQVM

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:23 am

another K5 owner shown the broomstick barking here

• How about u, sam? You are just the pure brainless idiot that everyone sees.

• You guys should read this as well.
    http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/sedans/1212_2012_2013_midsize_sedan_comparison/

• Zamri on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:19 pm

It’s not always the quantity.

Quality = customer trust + customer satisfy.

This make the sales chart.

• should have added Ford Mondeo and VW Passat cc

• VW_Pass_At on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:38 pm

how come no mention of passat?

• vwoom on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:47 pm

“The Toyota is in the same league as Bentley, Rolls Royce and Jaguar…”

The same league?! OMG!!

SamShowedMeTheHilux, are stupid or something…

“Those who have achieved real success through hard work always go for either Rolls Royce, Bentley, Jaguar or Toyota. And more specific, a Camry or a Crown.”

SamShowedMeTheHilux, you’d get a Toyota for being successful?! You do have VERY LOW STANDARDS in life, are you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • what about camry 2.0 and accord 2.0?are they underpower?i wonder if u guys can help me choosing between civic 2.0s and accord 2.0 vti-L..which one is better?i am going to buy it soon..

• blublibla on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:17 pm

How about considering a Toyota Prius? A Luxury version which costs RM145k now only costs RM 136k because of year end promotions.

You get awesome fuel economy without sacrificing power. You’re also doing a part to promote eco-conscious and green things in Malaysia. The dashboard design is quite cool too. JBL speakers with 7 airbags,ESC,TC and Hill Assist are a bonus.
      Plus it’s a CBU from Japan! Better than an Accord or a Civic which is made in Melaka.

And I’m no salesman. :D

• lol are you kidding, these cars for chauffeuring? more for rubbish collection i suppose

• haha.. that harvinder guy sure is funny.. hope you guys will be back for a new season fast.

• This is by far the best episode… really enjoyed it so much! That Sam Loo cameo really make lol’d hard…

Btw… stop making stupid people famous…

• ng ka fai on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Comparing the C segment 3 series and C class with the D segment Lexus? nice try noobs. Dont even dare to pick on same segment fight ar? Lexus the over priced toyota.

• sonyman on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:48 pm

No wonder so many bosses including my boss also end up from the old camry to the new camry. upgrade from a Camry to a Camry. What is that upgrade? i wonder. And surprising Camry fails in the fuel efficiency department, also comfort department. So sad, Later you bring in Passat, and K5, again the Camry will fall short again.

Anthony lim is an uncle lim oh, no wonder Lexus loh. very obvious choice. Pay through your nose for a even more cut throat Camry.

Now I40 comes with a GDI engine, so when will NAZA bring GDI in? Maybe they wanna keep the price low and maintain the MPI engine.

But i am never a fan of Hyundai, probably because of Sime Darby, But KIA, for its price, its ok.

• gdntsk on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:52 pm

To the boys who did this episode, you should not have added the i40 but the Sonata 2.4 instead because you are comparing cars that are targeted primarily towards the North American and general markets (not including European market).

In Europe, the Accord Euro is sold instead of Accord; the i40 instead of Sonata; and the Avensis instead of Camry. However, the Mazda6 is sold worldwide.

Just my 2 sen :)
    and kudos to you boys for making this episode lively with “Sam Loo” included :D

• Syameer on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:05 pm

Hahahahaha what can I say?! Thumbs up to ‘Sam Loo’! Well, it is quite expected Honda will be the best among the three Sushi. However, with the introduction of the rebadged-Accord by Proton, I would rather go for the Mazda. The new Camry is such a huge disappointment and I’ve no idea from where did they come up with such a design? I personally prefer the former generation than the latter. Nevertheless, it is undeniable that the Camry feels solid and good to be in. Tough competition though.

• sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:12 pm

I like the most in this video is “if kimchi car give me free also I don’t want”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • you guys never stop improving… and this one is worth a million thumbs up! great video! keep it up!

• Niaulong on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Hi all, I’m new here.

I have learn some”thing” or some”word” in Paultan forum web site since last month.

Some”thing” is Sam Loo
    Some”word” are Sushi , kimchi, RV and Sorhai Tai Lan Gong.

To all paultan members who make the 5 DRIVEN episode.
    “Salute”
    Clap clap clap clap clap clap !!!!

Well done & stunning & hilarious.
    Love watching….thank you all for making such fantastic automotive video ever in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Good Job!
    You do have a fair review on different marques, much alike to what I have in mind, especially the Esp 3 hot hatches. Tested the same three hatches over a weekend, and I do have the same conclusion, minus the Bavarian.
    Keep it up! Merry Xmas & a Blessed Happy New Year!

• robert chee on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:36 pm

To all Toyota bashers, I don’t blame u for bashing their safety spec, aging drive train, dull look. Personality I felt it too, and how I wish for improvement. Aside fr reliability, durability, RV & ease of locating a spare part, there’s 1 thing I thk worthy of compliment for toyota. It’s the sales attitude and after sales service. I’m looking for my first car few yrs back and my 1st choice is honda city. I still rmb when i entered the sales gallery full of standing salesman & salesgirl, nobody gives me a stare and not bother to serve me. I hang ard for 10 mins, looking stupid and nothg changed. (Maybe I looked too poor to own a Honda). The next day I visited Toyota, and it’s a total different scenario. I was greeted on the door by an uncle salesman (looks so much diff than the Sam loo in the video), wf smiling n friendly attitude. Even the aunty serving coffee looks so pleasant. Its the hospitality tat made all the difference. Yes they give awful specs with least safety. I’ll nvr object tat. Pls dun bash me as it’s my personal opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • sam69 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Have you been to Lexus show room? No other car company can even close to them. I don’t know about RR and Bentley of course.

• Sazali on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:08 pm

Toyota = Damansara Height, Bangsar Tmn Tun, D.Jaya – V Good RV
    Honda = Kepong, Cheras – Good RV
    Mazda = Puchong Bt 15
    Kimchi = Bkt Beruntong.
    K5 = Tanjung Sepat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Anthony, are you really that old?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:33 am

No, I’m actually 25, but you know the camera, adds 20 years to your face. LOL! Hahaha, yeah, I’m ancient, having driven the Peugeot 205 GTi and Fiat Ritmo Abarth 130TC when they were new cars!

• Sazali on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm

Penny wise Pound foolish.
    Your saving few cents on fuel but losses thousand in RV. The downpayment for your next car. The more d/p you have the more you save on interest. Camry the clear winner.
    Talks very much about not going for RV. When trading in, less RM500 also want to bargain, press salesmen to offer and have to drive few a-round to get the best few hundreds more.
    Try selling your car after 5 years. Your Kimchi will be all down the drain. Still keeping your car after 5 years. Look at your repair cost and repayment for 7-9 years loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
  • PauCharSiew on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm

was danny tan sam loo?

• tokmoh on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:44 am

Yes, that was Danny Tan. 90% good impression of Sam Loo.

Except deduct 10% cuz he using what looks like kimchi phone. Real Sam Loo sure use ifag cuz high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Guilt79 on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:08 pm

Nice video with Sam Loo cameo.

Accord maybe the best but later will become new Perdana..

• blaze on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:24 pm

Was expecting Sam Loo to be slightly older and rounder, nonetheless cool vid!

• Horray on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:28 am

virtually a punch to sam loo’s face…. Ouch!

• dugong on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:43 am

Best episode of the series so far!!Kudos to you guys! I was roflmao. Thumbs up if you watched more than once just to see “Sam Loo”.

• Tok Berlagak on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:59 am

Ini Kali Beli Lexus la.

Ada Kelas.

• omniscent_one on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:18 am

Just wondering why the VW passat was left out? Since you guys showed the 3 series and the lexsus as the step up.

• If for company cars…. that’s always a NISSAN!

• maybe in future driven episode we can see mondeo vs passat vs 508 or maybe legacy

• andrewk on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:48 am

To Paul, Harv and gang, great job on the new season. Like the new editing/format style… Top Gearish in a good way.

I guess with all the (non Sam Loo) comment, it’s quite clear that an European/American D segment review should seriously be considered. Even a wagon comparison would be interesting with automakers now bringing it back into the market.

Another segment that you may consider is perhaps a review on best used car in the market, with an emphasis on value-for-money and maintenanace.

Cant wait for the next season!

Also, the moment I spotted the ah beng in the Hilux t-shirt behind Jon…. cracked up laughing! It was legen… wait for it…. ;)

• Contender on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:46 am

At last, we all know Sam Loo is part of Paul Tan org that’s why always commenting on the blog…. anyway not bad.

Logical upgrade for Camry to Lexus ES250 … good one

• Urzu3 on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:30 pm

compare to Nissan Teana, Hyundai Sonata YF, Kia K5 or Passat..?

or maybe all of it loose to those 4 cars?

btw, Sam Loo really annoying even the paultan.org members.. eat that, LoL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:03 am

Wow, its now a reality that my presence has influenced the Malaysian Car Owners and reinforced the fact that Korean Cars (Hyundai) has low resale value and KIA can no longer be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • dugong on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:05 pm

You are lying thru your nose wor. My colleague just traded in his 3 yr old KIA forte for 48.5k.
        Liar liar pants on fire!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:20 pm

Well, as long that there are tai lan ngong sorhais buying Hyundai, boss Sam will pay us big bonuses.

2nd batch of Hyundai just went out the country last week, looks like we will have a really good CNY ang pow.

Thanks to all Hyundai owners. Will thank KIA owners when the boss agrees to take in KIAs

• Urzu3 on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:58 pm

good seeing u being so sarcastic towards Sam Loo… hahahahaaa

• chubbivespa on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:47 pm

nice presentation. that new honda accord looks stunning.

• Vin R on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:28 pm

Great job with the review guys. The (purely fictitious character) Sam Loo cameo was hilarious. Looking forward to more videos.

• Vincent on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:40 pm

Really great video with the infamous Sam Loo show up ! LOL!

• Fair verdict, thou my favorite is in 2nd, my most sensible is at 1st. The I40 is a great car, it still look great thou and it certainly feels special/unique in Malaysia. but my time with it in KLIMS didn’t leave a good impression with the sitting position and button layout.

And as for the Lexus, weirdly the Koreans dig the Lexus as it is the 2nd most succesful import car after BMW. Sorry Sam Loo, there’s little love for Korean’s 2013 COTY.

• Volkswagen on Dec 18, 2013 at 7:35 pm

I have seen many passat owners than camry nowadays. There are too many VW owners nowadays

• torquealot on Dec 18, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Good job guys, the standard of your video is improving and the judgings are quite professional too…

• Good review guys. Agreed with the result. However just for your future DRIVEN series (if still got sponsor hehe) I would recommend u to go into details according to segment. Like for D segment, ppl are looking for comfort, suspension at the back, noise and premium spec. Tell us more on the comfort level, cruising etc. C-segment would be different aspects. Just my 2cents

• Everyone left the scene when Sam (the Hailat) Loo appeared. Damn funny. hahahaha

I havea Citroen C5 and IMO a Ford Mondeo or a C5 is better than these Japanese cars depending on what you are looking for. Power or comfort.

• Josh Ling on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:21 am

DANNY TAN, YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!! LOL…….finally, thanks Paul Tan for making my wish come true….not exactly the way I want, but it’s wwwaaaayyyy more hillarious!!! Sam Loo is definitely THE LEGEND here already!!

I do hope you guys can make more episodes, but well……there’s always next time!

• Well done again guys!! Sam Loo inclusion is touch of genius. Anyway Hafriz, i would really like to know which of these three cars has the quietest / relax cabin in various operating environments (city/highway driving)? Thanks

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:10 pm

Thanks for the kind words :).

Overall, the most comfortable cabin is the new Accord’s (best ride comfort and seats), though the Camry is still a pinch quieter. The Mazda is the hardest riding and noisiest of the bunch, mostly due to the silly (but absolutely gorgeous) 19-inch wheels.

• Thanks. Good luck and keep up the good works.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Hi Hafriz,

Agreed with most readers that you should compare with the Hyundai Sonata (i45) as its sedan vs sedan and also 2.4 range.

As for the Lexus ES, to be honest, had been eyeing on that car for a next change but torn between that and the VW CC. If you guys planning to do a review of that price range, please consider these cars.

May I suggest that for future car comparison in Driven, can you include the interior sound test which is similar to the test done comparing the old vs new vios? This should be done when cruising at 110km/h on the highway. This will give your readers a better idea on the sound insulation of each car.

Keep up the good work and best regards to all.

• Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:01 am

Lexus Luxury comes with peace of mind on durability, reliability and Resale Value.

If its a BMW/Benz/Audi, maintenance nightmare starts after 40,000kms

For kimchis, it it not only associated with low RV, but also tow truck operators

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:34 pm

Episode 6 will feature K5, Sonata, Geely Emgrand, TaTa Indigo together. That will complete the review end to end, apple with apple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Why don’t Camry compare to 1996 optima. Its the same age and level. It has nothing what we call technology. A real people who knows car will know what is better. Only people like sam loo don’t have any knowledge and full stomach of ego.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • dugong on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:56 pm

Camly can compare with stone age cars like datsun 120y, ford cortina and 1986 proton saga together. That will make the review apple to apple.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:19 am

2012 Sonata is worth as much as a 2005 Camry

What does that tell you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
      • It tells you that Camry is a piece of crap. No money to buy other than Toyota, sad to hear that. I think u really have no knowledge in cars. Poor thing. I think the kindergarten kids know better than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:16 pm

It tells you that the ACV50 model is too pricey for the specs.

However, most companies with CFO/CEO’s that have better education than the people that did the review will opt for the Camry, as it will have a much lower TCO than the rest

Also, ACV50, being locally assembled by UMW is just nowhere equal to ACV40 that was imported from Thailand. Suspension used for the local ACV50 is too soft compared with the Thailand ACV50

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • hehehehe…gud episode, almost fell of the chair laughing..that Sam Loo, whoever the real guy is …his a cult fav!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:58 pm

Sam dem lansi today after being famous.

He asked his gurkha guard to stop me coming into his yard 50m meters before reaching.

I really jialat liao this time, can’t get rid of my K5 to get the new Accord

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • ultraman3 on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:09 am

very nice video . keep it up . you guys did a very good job to help us malaysian to find and to know the best cars in their classes .

Well , to mr. samshowedmethehilux. .

why you are so arrogant ? if i got 20mill jackpot money , i would rather buy a private jet than buying a toyota camry . come on lah ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • langdon on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:41 pm

Sam Loo to Paultan/Driven is like the Stig to Top Gear….. Absolutely brilliant, Joker Card for the show!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
  • I think Driven trying to mimic Top Gear but the SAM Loo is hilarious. It would be good to add in more technical review which include these:
    1) compare the drive in auto and semi auto modes
    2) compare the cornering dynamics
    3) brake feel and balance
    4) acceleration and distance to stop
    5) reliability and weight distribution
    6) attractiveness
    7) innovation
    8) differentiation btw each car

Good luck..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 25, 2013 at 9:48 am

And they have left the most important bit, Resale Value of the Camry, Accord and Mazda 6 based on track record

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
      • Resale value is not important anymore. My goodness, move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
      • Sam Loo on Dec 26, 2013 at 9:17 am

Revealing of trade in value is where most people gets a stroke.

TCO is the most important element of car ownership

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Robin on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:17 pm

I’m a new Camry owner, ‘upgraded’ from old Camry. Kinda regretted the purchase, should have gotten the Passat. The drive is superb, handling awesome compared to my new Camry. Passat is a conservative looking car but a monster under its hood. Was surprise it is a chick magnet after some of my gal pals kept complimenting the Passat at a traffic stop. Seems to be driven by younger men now compared to an “Uncle” in a Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
  • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 25, 2013 at 9:46 am

Passat is so plain and even more uncle than Camry, plus you will need to pay RM650 for the 1st service alone, plus the nightmare of the DSG.

Most importantly, when you sell 2 years later, OMG, 50% of purchase price will be lost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • Volkswagen on Dec 25, 2013 at 12:16 pm

Hi there. 2011 Camry 2.4 RM 119,000
      New Camry 2.4(2011) RM 170,000
      170-119/170 x 100% = 30% loss
      2011 Passat RM 125,000
      New Passat RM 180,000
      180-125/180 x 100% = approximately 30 %
      So,it’s not 50 % of the purchase price. Get your facts right. I noticed that the RV of toyota and volkswagen almost the same :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 40
      • Agree with you. Sam loo is a pure idiot and don’t have any facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
    • Sam Loo on Dec 26, 2013 at 9:07 am

Trade in Value vs used car value for kimchi is around 40% gap. Its because used car dealer take a high risk of these cabbages taking a cliff edge devaluation, like the rupee and rupiah recently.

So, if the advertised price of a 2011 Sonata is RM90k, trade in price will be around RM54k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • JoanK on Dec 25, 2013 at 1:02 pm

LOL someone does not know anything about conti service vs mileage. and only buy a car for RV. Car is all about safety, ride and handling, and not about resale value in 2 years lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 38
  • Spark on Dec 25, 2013 at 5:55 pm

“woiiiii…. want to buy toyota?” LOL…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
  • SK Lee on Dec 25, 2013 at 6:40 pm

I own a Passat 1.8 tsi Sportsline (CBU) as well as a Polo 1.2 tsi. Both are great cars …. Powerful and fuel economic. Yes, encountered the DSG problem with the Polo and rectified during the recall session. It’s really fun driving machines …. And at very competitive pricing as compared to those overpriced Japanese brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
  • SK Lee on Dec 25, 2013 at 7:14 pm

Once you drive a continental car, you will never go back for a Japanese or Korean brand. VW comes with low cc but high hp and torque machines … having very good pick up. The thrill is something you will not get in a same class Japanese and/or Korean brand. German technology and engineering is superior. Just my personal opinion as I used to owned Honda and Toyota before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
  • Amresh on Dec 28, 2013 at 10:00 am

Hello Hafriz :) If not my mistaken,I thought the honda accord has mic which lowers the frequency of noise to provide a quiet ride? It’s that true? Thank you :)

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Yes, the Accord does have such a system, and so does the Mazda6. Funnily enough, we found that they are both noisier inside compared to the Camry, which doesn’t.

• sam69 on Dec 31, 2013 at 10:38 am

So bro, if you are the Managing Director of CEO of a SME whereby Benz and BMW are ruled out, would you not go for a Camry as the company vehicle of choice?

• Hi sam69,
    For now, I will go for accord 2.4. Camry and accord are both nice car, but Camry will bit boring. Just my own opinion

• Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Either the Accord or Camry will be a great choice, if you choose to buy brand new.

If you choose pre-owned, a kimchi would give you a great bargain, especially K5

• Korean Kopy Kat Junk on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Those who bash Japan cars are the same vile lunatics that parade on Apple’s sales. Trying every means to justify purchasing weaker
    Korean brand names of lower prestige – Samsung, LG Hyundai, Kia. A lot of theseanti-japanese comments are fueled by racism and the addiction to korean entertainment rather than a logical automotive opinion. Apple and Toyota commands a premium for their history in respective fields.
    Something Samsung and Hyundai has NEVER achieved.

Where is Samsung when it comes to build quality and design? Oh, that’s right a 1billion law suit for shameless copy, piss poor plastic at high prices, dishonourable warranty and awful firmware support for lower end models. Compare that with
    Apple’s complete ecosystem, quality screened apps, high build quality, iconic designs and fantastic customer service.

Same with Hyundai. The koreans couldn’t design a car to save their lives. That’s why a Caucasian was hired to do the job at Hyundai. So, technically these aren’t Korean designed cars at all. And if they can’t design one, they’ll rip them off like they did with the 7th gen Civic to Kia Forte. Real Korean designs are the god awful days of Daewoo, Sanyong, and granny looking hyundais. Great for kim jong ill, i’m sure. Go visit South Korea and you’ll witness even more
    blatant Japanese ripoffs from Korean Hello Kitty merchandise (*called KITTY KITTY) to beverages Calbee, Pocky all used without license.

Japan has a century history of distinctive automotive design. While beauty is subjective,
    most would agree JDM has churned tons of great looking coupes, sport vehicles, and daily drivers over the decades before hyundai was even born.

Back to Toyota-hyundai – where are the high tech class leading hybrids like Prius?
    Heavy weight reliable pick up trucks, Hilux? Luxury division like Lexus that has earned
    top ranks in JD Power and Consumer Reports year after year? Reliability, decent resale value, accessible spare parts? I could go on and on.
    But i think you get the point. Brands like Toyota and Apple exists and commands a higher premium even if it comes with fewer accessories for a reason. Hyundai and Samsung make up for their deficits by offering a few more airbags or tech gimmicks in their overall piss poor products to overcompensate for their weaknesses.

If you don’t like it, don’t buy it. Buy your favourite ‘KOREAN’ designed JUNK. Migrate to a 1st world country where you can finally ride a continental luxury under $80k. Don’t go flaming the brands and forcing others to boycott them. It’s bad enough these korean pop loving morons rave about korean cars. To see the need to inflict personal tastes on others to validate their purchase is beyond pathetic. Oh, and Pegeout is god awful.

• Germs Car R Virus on Jan 02, 2014 at 9:49 pm

SK Lee “German technology and engineering is superior.”

Lol, typical inferior complex chinaman. Always thinking whatever a white man makes must be better. Yes, that’s why Japan is still leading the world in dSLRs, Bluray, 4k resolutions, IGZO displays. Oh, where are the german electronic brands? LOL, worse than even Koreans.

Yes, German makes are superior in LOW RELIABILITY, POOR HYBRID TECH, HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION compared to Japanese brands. Handling? Try the GT86 or even the LXS series that has been getting rave reviews. Worth to note that Japan is also richer than all European countries. Ouch. That must hurt lol

• Mahen on Feb 25, 2014 at 3:30 pm

I m planning to buy a car within 2 mths . My 2 favorites is the VW passat and the accord 2.4. Please advice on the pro and cons. VW great car to drive but may only be driveable 10 mths a year. Accord less exciting drive but more reliable.

Home town is in kedah planning to do a lot of outstation travel also