Proton P2-30A Global Small Car spotted at night

p2-30a-night-2

Here’s a first view of the Proton P2-30A Global Small Car being tested at night, thanks to AAM GoDrive’s Facebook fan page. Unfortunately the car is pretty heavily disguised at the rear so we can’t see the tail lamp design, but they look like they could be powered by LED.

The tail lamps are mounted high flanking the rear windscreen, and appear to have a teardrop shape, much like those on the Ford Fiesta. The tailgate is trapezoidal shaped like the front grille.

p2-30a-night-1

The number plate on this prototype appears to be mounted on the rear bumper, however it might be too early to confirm that this will be the final position as the rear is so heavily disguised. The number plate recess might actually be on the tailgate. Or it might be on the bumper like in the photo.

What do you think of the shape of the car so far? Do let us know your thoughts in the comments. This new B-segment hatchback is expected to go on sale in the first half of 2014.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lim guan eng on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:26 pm

kenapakah bile aku melihat ini keleta aku seperti jatow hati kepada ini…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 17
    • Herman Tino on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Yale-yale…Aku juga berperasaan sebegitu rupa, akanku mendapatkannya

Alangkah indahnya alam maya
      Yang berpuspa raga dan keindahan
      Yang serba menawan serba mengbangkitkan
      Angan-angan berahi dan perasaan… Yale Yale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
      • farghmee on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:56 pm

Ole ole Temasekkkkk

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 109
          • Herman Tino on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Saya peduli apa dengan toyota kamu? ada aku peduli? saya tidak menyukai toyota, pergi mati sahaja dengan toyota kamu, Yale yale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
          • elpaciko on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:59 pm

I dont know toyota is such a high class car.. let me tell yo..

Toyota is a low class car for low class and low income people. Unfortunately, Toyota makes people aim low in life. They don’t want to aim any higher in life ie like owning a wonderful and fancy BMW.

My advice to Toyota owners, please aim higher in life. Don’t aim so low in life. By aiming so low, you tend to be lazy and malas. So, you don’t want to work harder because you can buy a junk for RM88k.

But think about your family’s safety and not your lazy butt. With a BMW, in an accident, you are safe. In a Vios, you and your family sure kaput.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • Dadadad on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:36 am

you guys damn like to complain weyh .. why nt try to make one ??

• farghmee on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:42 am

low class pakai Hilux macam lu.
            hi-class pakai merc G-klasse.

hahahahaha

• bezzerk on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:52 pm

what a faggot. keep mentioning a toyota such a luxury. a car that their engineer so damn lazy to make a new engine.. LOL

• MUHAMAD FIRDAUS BIN ROZLAN on Dec 21, 2013 at 2:33 pm

hello…cakap jangan sebarang cakap..biarkan lah selara sendiri, nak suka ke tak suka poket sendiri yang menentukan. kalau encik suke sangat toyoto hilux tu pi tdo selimut sebelah hilux…ta

• jacksonljs on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:58 pm

The ‘T’ brand itself is so bloody luxury… only in terms of 1st class pricing (eg. there’s a junk that cost Ringgit Malaysia Two Hundred and Seventy Thousand only) AND 3rd class (or i say 4th class safety spec). RM270k junk comes with only 2 airbags and ABS+EBD (not even comes with stability and traction control), where we can get all of these features from a RM50k (or slightly cheaper by RM few K) brand new sedan/hatchback.

• ikhwan on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Plz learn what is ANCAP RATING then write on post. All lot like you type of people show under educate in the web. Stupid.

• ikhwan on Jan 01, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Plz go and check why Toyota name VIOS in Malaysia/ Thailand/ Indonesia/ Philipine & not the rest of the world? What the actual name in the Singapore/ Euro/ America?

• GSC – Global Silly Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 68
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 171
    • imran on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:11 pm

good.. a lot of positive comments.

kipidap proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 13
    • Glokal on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:27 pm

“GLOBAL SMALL CAR” hotak kau! Kereta ni pakai-buang kat Malaysia je.
      Proton direka hanya untuk memeras rakyat Malaysia yang tiada jalan lain….. orang luar takkan beli.
      Global ke Glokal.
      Malaysia bebas bila Proton bankrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 118
      • Syameer on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:56 am

So, tell me where do all of those 11,000 employees of Proton gonna go to if Proton ever ceased operation? And if you got balls, tell me why aren’t you off from this awesome county yet. We don’t need people like you here that only know how to criticize others and not helping others to improve. What a low-life moron.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 43
        • Vader on Dec 18, 2013 at 7:16 am

Only a moron asking other ppl to move out from this country if he or she don’t like it!
          Hopefully u r not politician, our country don’t need u at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 37
        • Fariq on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:03 am

Dumb idiot. Still using that shitty ol’ “get out of this country if you don’t like it” phrase. You’re the low life moron, whose appreciation only goes towards your own kin, and not the contributions we made as Malaysians. You wanna argue with Glokal, argue like an educated person. Don’t tell others to leave the country, bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 26
        • Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:23 am

Humans are like monkeys living on fruit trees, once the fruit bearing trees cease to bear fruits or the trees fall, the monkeys will seek new trees to continue to seek living. So, don’t worry about Proton employees if Proton closes down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
        • just me on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:09 pm

No need to worry lah, sure got solution. The clever minister that you guys voted in says ayam mahal, beli sayur, sayur mahal tanam sayur.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
        • noname on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:41 pm

well, when proton ceased operation, govn lifted the NAP, free market, your automotive industry will be competitive and hence it will lure foreign companies to invest in our country and by contrast, we can have more than 11,000 employment opportunities. Not only in automotive, other sector may also have more FDI coming in.

so really, you don’t have to worry about proton’s employees, they could be better off serving another company than prot0n, the people would have been much much better off without prot0n.

And I concur with Vader, it’s only moron who will ask people to migrate, don’t use toll and etc. I don’t like paying tax, can I opt not to pay tax? moron!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Glokal on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Syameer,
          11,000 Proton employees ONLY ?!

That means there’s only 1 Proton worker for every 2,700 Malaysian citizen. Proton employees should be ashamed to be part of an institution that is a burden to Malaysians .

I SAY CLOSE THE PROTON FACTORY NOW!!! 2700 guys shouldn’t suffer for the sake of 1 guy.
          Malaysia will survive if the “Proton worker” is jobless or dies or better still, GETS ANOTHER JOB.
          Sometimes I wonder where people like you think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
          • you need to learn to admit it, proton is not gonna close now….

if u dont like it pls dont read any news about proton anymore, it will just make you tense

• si besi on Dec 31, 2013 at 12:29 pm

Glokal ni pembangkang, aku taw bro aku pun x bpe kenan dgn gover. tapi bro.. ko ingt tutup proton bleh murahkan hrga brg asas ke? naik bro, naik.. jgn malukan gang kita bro.. ko bodoh sgt da ni statement ko.. proton buka pekerjaan pada org2 malaysia,, bila namanya buka peluang pkerjaan.. org datang kerja.. org dtg kerja niat kerja kerana Apa? nak dapatkan rezeki halal dari Allah swt.. Ko nak tutup kilang, niat ko x baik taw, menutup rezeki dari Allah taala.. niat buat baik je dapat pahala, niat x baik,, haa?? cer pikir .

• Die Maker on Jan 20, 2014 at 11:46 am

Vendor yg bersepah ni tak pakai pekerja ke..lu sembang lebat boleh la..kalau bran meh dtg depan2 sembang dgn kitaorg..ko tukar minyak itam moto pon tak tau..ade hati nak sembang pasal automotive manufacturing..puiiiii

• Blablabla on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:25 am

Kena peras ugut utk beli proton?! Ada orang acu pistol kat kepala kau suruh beli proton kah? Kalau tak mampu beli kereta besar, beli lah yg murah. Ukur baju di badan sendiri.

Kalau proton tak ada pun, kerajaan tak akan mansuhkan cukai la sebab ia adalah sumber income yg besar. Proton pun bayar cukai dan sediakan peluang kerja utk ramai orang.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 12
        • pirlo on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:23 am

itu la pasal. as if, govt will demolish the vehicle taxes when proton is closed. sudah-sudah la kena tipu. before PRU, guarantee minyak, tol, elektrik tak naik. but now? buta-buta kena kencing. and yet, you guys still hope govt to remove import, excise, sales if proton closed shop? HAHA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • im not affected..i don use toll road most of time n my monthly electric usage less than 300kWh..oni fuel get affected since i need RM1 extra to get same amount of fuel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • pirlo on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:15 pm

you are one lucky rakyat marhaen who don’t use toll. mostly, orang makan gaji who work in kl, have to reside outskirts due to overpriced house in kl. kami terpaksa guna highway untuk ke tempat kerja. itu belum kira intercity punya toll, macam damansara to puchong, shah alam to subang.
            i agreed on your point the electricity usage. it depends on the user. guna berpada-pada. air-cond tak payah nak 24/7. personal home do not have a gigantic network server to cool it down. however, how illogical would it be if seri perdana cost more than a million for its electricity consumption?

• Bukan diugut atau dipaksa…tapi tade choice….hanya mampu P1/P2….ada wang siapa nak P1/P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
          • Passerby on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:57 am

jangan asyik nak mengumpat cina… tengok masyarakat melayu sekarang pun dah upgrade dok kereta jepun dah… belilah barangan buatan malaysia konon… haha! melayu sendiri pun tak mau support nak bilang cina… PUI!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 24
      • '(00)' on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:36 am

glokal, kamu ni spesis orang tak sedar diri. Mcm ketam dalam baldi, bila ada yg cuba naik keluar disitulah orang mcm kamu berusaha dgn apa cara sekalipun utk menjatuhkan orang lain. Kejatuhan orang lain jadi kepuasan kamu. That’s how typical you are..

• zaimtanake on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:53 am

F*** whos does said Proton should bankrap. Im the one of Proton staff. watca ur mouth people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • Ibrahim Katak on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:20 am

Kami mendesak kerajaan menyiasat supplier camo sticker kerana didapati ada unsur2 bla.bla bla.

• OMG…not attractive, puihh. Myvi still better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • Yag ni nampak besar pulak. Saiz rim sesuai dengan kereta =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
  • Otter on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:29 pm

Is it me or the side mirror looks like the one on the city?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • SPigen on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:20 pm

It copy from the Honda Hatcback – Honda Jazz.

It’s ok.. It’s Proton… Just let them be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 61
      • Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:28 am

Who cares if they copy Honda or any other makes, as long as it is reasonably cheap and reliable.

• then how to make the side mirror? u want squarish? roundish? rectangular? hemisphere? no need at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • no need to put at all.. if possible make the turn indicator aka signal aka lampu signal as optional feature coz most wont use them.

• The steering wheel is circular! And the tires too! Surely a copy of Honda City… ;)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 6
    • i think p1 copy toyota tyre..look closely there is 4 tyre same like toyota..if u look further u can see the driver side same as toyota!! u copy too much p1!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 6
      • '(00)' on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:38 am

yea.. proton does not produce tyre, sometimes they use silverstone tyre, bridgestone..hahahahahaha

• mak jah suka pukul/penaboh org on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:32 pm

mak jah harap lampu merah belakang dia led jeneh yg depa boh kat suprima tu la no…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • prince rakim on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:38 pm

I think the size is about the same with kia rio.. those big wheels looks nice tho.. sure a myvi beater la this one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • SPigen on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:22 pm

these car got no boot space Flat Ass u say same as Kia Rio??

Surpima also got Ass space smaller then Jazz.
      This 1? Maybe same as Kelisa ass size. smaller then Viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 53
      • farghmee on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:58 pm

nk temberang agak2 la..

suprimaS lg besar la boot dia dr Jazz GD/GE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
        • Zamri on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:14 pm

He is correct.

Here: Paultan first episode shows it::

Go to : 3:10 and start watching.
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=3fSQJCKFt2w

Proton Surpima.. boot space,
          is no larger then the Honda Jazz’s.

I wonder if You all are PAultan Fanboi?
          Go watch all their episode ba. Maybe Bias Rating, but fact is fact.

C-segment can be smaller then B-segment boot space.
          so, I dun see SPigen is wrong.
          Probably Proton B-segment hatchback got smaller boot space then A-segment(viva) too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
          • farghmee on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:52 am

can u show me where can i find the boot space for jazz?

• The Suprima have smaller boot space than the Jazz? Clearly, its your brain that is in your ass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
        • Yes.
          Suprima got very very small boot space.

Suprima S – Very Small boot space:
          only 309 litre
          http://paultan.org/2013/08/17/proton-suprima-s-hatchback-launched/

Honda Jazz – Big boot space:
          300 Litre Up to 846 Litre.
          http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/honda-jazz-hybrid-launched-insight-powertrain-rm94800/

It’s. Seriously.
          A C-Segment car, so long wheelbase + hangover.

only 9 litre extra space??
          Imagine That Ass less + no hangover PRoton GSC.

Literally,
          C-Segment Proton = Japanese B-Segment boot(Jazz).

this B-segment GSC = Japanese A-segment(Viva) boot space.

Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
          • Who cares about boot space, if you do, go for exora. Can jazz ferry 7 people inside and still have boot space? Exora got turbo engine summore, jazz only with pathetic old engine. When jazz got 846 litre boot, how many people can sit inside?

Jazz doesn’t have good ride and handling like Suprima, it’s ride sucky like most B segments Japs cars. Only those who never been in proton cars tell those old lame jokes here.

Only 2 airbags versus suprima 6 airbags? To know which is safer is a no-brainer.

The point is, there is no way comparing different cars with different body design. And of course proton might spawn B segment MPV from this platform and beats the shiate out of jazz

Grow up faster kid. Learn to think like a mature man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
          • Syeikh on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:28 am

Proton GSC is a budget car.
            People discuss about GSC is due to having limited buget, hope to get a Money Value GSC.

No like u.. Rich people have 1 big car and 1 small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
          • Firdaus on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:30 am

Wah Josh.
            U Quite Lansi aa.

People no money buy Exora la.
            That’s why they hope to a decent size GSC yet CHEAP.

GSC SV maybe.

• farghmee on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:51 am

bro, jazz 846L when all rear seats down
            http://jazz.honda.com.au/

care to tell me what SuprimaS’ when all rear seats down?
            http://www.proton-edar.com.my/en/Models/Suprima/Model%20Pricing%20and%20Specification%20Page.aspx#PRICING & SPECS

• R U SICK on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:45 pm

Excuse me?! Jazz got bigger boot? Think twice man…

See for your self

http://paultan.org/2013/08/17/proton-suprima-s-hatchback-launched/suprima-s-launch-0025/

http://paultan.org/2012/03/15/honda-jazz-hybrid-launched-insight-powertrain-rm94800/dsc_0128b/

• Haiya you dun get my point ar? At 70k who cares to buy jazz ? If boot space is your priority then just go for exora as it’s cheaper.

• Just saying on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:39 pm

From the looks of it, this is definitely bigger than viva and almost the same size as the myvi. Not the rebadged savvy so many bashers have predicted. Now, if only some details of the powertrain could be ‘leaked’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:43 pm

Its size could be around the size of a Fiesta, with very short overhangs. The rumored powerplant is Campro NFE which is the naturally-aspirated version of the CFE, i.e. Campro with new VVT-enabled engine head. The transmission is rumored to still be the crappy Punch CVT. As long as it’s a Punch CVT, the overall driveability of this car will be crap compared to other CVTs that use a torque converter with lockup torsion dampers. The multi-plate wet clutch on the Punch CVT has difficulty simulating torque converter creep, leading to often jerky low-speed characteristic in forward and reverse gears.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • No more punch gearbox please. Exedy perform better than this stupid punch.

• Robotic wet or dry clutches will never beat smoothness of torque converters la bro. Automakers now reverting to clutches simply because efficiency, lower cost and lower weight (DCTs are heavy though).

At least Punch’s CVT in Protons are quite refined and doesn’t jerk a lot.. compared to VW’s unreliable DSG and Ford’s PowerShift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • armandd on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:13 pm

Punch CVT also has S (Sport) mode. So far there are very few cars that can beat my Suprima S in traffic light drag using this mode.

• u just went full retard..never go full retard bro

• Quite true, this. Most Suprimas can do 0-100km/h sprint in 8+ secs. Proton is very honest with their specs lol.

• Not bad!

One question still remains: What engine and gearbox will be used in the P2-30A?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • if RM40k, I want reliability,
      gimme Honda Engine.
      this car got no boot space.

if GSC SV RM25k,
      ok, just campro pun Ok.
      Then I can change car every 5 year.
      no need worry about the lousy engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • If I need boot space, then I will buy Saga or Persona. Myvi don’t have boot space too, is it a bad car?

BTW: I have a Persona with Campro, so far no problems. My neighbours don’t have any problems with their Campro in their Saga’s and Persona’s too. Campro is not too fuel effecient though, this is it’s weak point.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • DonkeyKong on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:45 pm

And the Campro engine is sorely lacking in low-end torque, and it revs pretty rough at higher RPMs. The auto gearboxes that have been paired with Campro engines also do not aid fuel economy, resulting in the engines doing highway speeds at over 3000rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • Even Toyota viols and Nissan Latio rev up also rough too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
          • blublibla on Dec 17, 2013 at 9:14 pm

The Campro also releases a lot of Co2, unfortunately.

• Campro engine now is with CVT, that’s much better than normal auto gearbox. And of course if this car comes with turbo variant, then the output might be around n/a 1.7l engine. That’s fast if power to weight ratio is big.

• ntah pa2 on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:55 am

campro not to reliable vs tut tut & tut, kuat mkn minyak..cukup time lifter mesti bunyi..my colleague broke his iafm modul got change for rm700..campro engine always make funny sound even when idling..

• Another my friend, my college, my family, my uncle, my neighbour stories. Sigh.

• Dayyum, side profile looks nice. there’s this angular look that pops up the width of the rear wheels. Rear shot looks like a widened/flattened myvi but look nice anyways. hope the shape of the lights will complement the shape.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Proton staff on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:24 pm

The Proton Global Small Car are targeting premium small car such as Fiat 500, VW Beetle or Mini Cooper.

It even far better than the duo. So don’t compare it with Myvi or even Honda Jazz, it’s different standard.

• pirlo on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:23 am

yeke bro? jangan sembang sangat encik. nanti tak sampai kepada expectation orang ramai nanti. lebih baik kau berdiam diri daripada kerap membocorkan rahsia syarikat.

• steamafication on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:52 pm

take my money, just take it Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • baboon on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:02 pm

Campro engine forget it bro its useless,other engine with timing chain its okey can beat myvi and viva.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Yes, timing chain is much better:

‘Toyota Timing Chain Tensioner Assembly Life Expectancy’
      http://mechanics.stackexchange.com/questions/7559/timing-chain-tensioner-assembly-life-expectancy-2003-corolla

”04 Corolla timing chain noise’
      http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2795858

‘2.0 Vvti Timing Chain Rattle’
      http://www.toyotaownersclub.com/forums/topic/147751-20-vvti-timing-chain-rattle/

• sorry, those was ALL old information..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • Of course timing chains don’t have problems on “new” cars. There are no timing belt problems on “new” cars too.

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:42 am

Need to spend RM500-600 to change timing belt every 80KM. I have seen one guy need to do overhaul on his Perodua car, because he did not change it and the belt gave way.

• i guess it’ll be using new engine.

CFE engine is quite good and service interval is every 10000km not like some japs engine that need service interval every 5000km.

btw,. timing belt isn’t that bad. and timing chain isn’t that good.. both have their own pros and cons.

pls read and learn more. tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
      • Service interval for toyota and nissan hv been 10000km, honda is starting 10000km service interval for the earth dream engine in the new accord…Mazda and etc im not sure…

• What? Only D segment Jap cars can do 10,000km service interval? That’s pathetic

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:46 am

If you use Semi-Synth. oil the service interval is 10000 KM for all engine types, but some service centers just want to make more money from us and tell us to service at 5000 KM.

• Say Who? on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:33 pm

LOL…CamPro useless? cerita lama bro… dah pakai yg 3 tahun kebelakangan ni x?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • farghmee on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:00 pm

buang masa layan.

timing chain vs timing belt pn jd issue?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • peloton on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:21 pm

Much better if proton allow us to comment on this model.. But proton need to reveal its specs b4 its production . products are like yoyo..some okay but some..down the hill. Wait n c now coz waiting for other brand

• i hope proton didn’t screw up on the back design this time.Proton suprima, savvy, preve , gen2 etc back design are terrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
    • I like Gen2 back design and persona as well. Others so so only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • hohaho on Dec 17, 2013 at 7:01 pm

C’mon Paul Tan… u got nothing better to report than to repeat reporting this crap car every time someone spot it on the road?

It’s just a crummy proton, n all covered up, as though the general public is interested in a Proton car in the 1st place.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 43
    • Just saying on Dec 17, 2013 at 8:30 pm

Clearly, you are interested as well. Otherwise you won’t enter from the mainpage to read this post. And how many comments (pros and cons) are in here now? You still saying people are not interested?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 64
      • Dengki sbnarnya tu on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:44 am

hahahaha….betul tu…siap ada masa tulis komen lagi tu…. tak suka Proton, abaikan….
        macam menteri kita cakap la… TAK SUKA MALAYSIA PERGI DOK LUAR NEGARA!….TAK SUKA HARGA AYAM MAHAL, JANGAN MAKAN AYAM!…..TAK SUKA TOLL MAHAL, PAKAI JALAN TAKDE TOLL! hahahaha…

• farghmee on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:55 am

kamon la,

kalu nk tgk kamo kt kete lain, g la blog internasional.

kt mesia kita ni, proton jek yg heavy-camo. tu yg jd bes tu.

• I think this gsc is wearing some pretty shoes this time in this photo? It is high time to show it off now

• Yada yada yelo yelo bada bada….look all the comments again… Satu cakap macam designer, satu cakap macam dr engineer.

proton bukan bodoh sampai keluarkan kereta sampai takde bootspace…. Ataupun bukan tubelight sampai nak pakai 3rd party engine.

we have our own engine, and there will be more varieties on the displacements, remember, in UK Gen.2 is called Ecologic. They don’t simply name it for fancy purpose isn’t it??

fikir lah wahai manusia. Kalau Hyundai i10 Ada bootsize beg sekolah takde pun kecoh….. Haizzz…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • We talk as a consumer.

We talk about what kind of car we want.

Are u one of the Proton Designer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • most people who bash oni talk crap..how to agree or to like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Well no sir, confidently I am almost accurate about the automobile industry…. Just imagine passionate about cars since small I am…

currently I am trying to pursue my degree in transportation design, and would like to join proton and hit the g spot for what really Malaysian customer need in an average Malaysian vehicle. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • faber on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:31 am

Malaysians love frog alike car Myvi.

Please design one like that ok?

• Budak Proton on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:50 am

Please join and help to improve Proton from the inside….dun be like most of the retarded morons here with their baseless bashing…

• farghmee on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:57 am

then talk to hyundai i10, fiesta etc.

come to proton u talk much, others gooding.

• Proton seriously needs to revise their CamPro engine with CFE. It would be horrible if they have it in the GSC as it’s very noisy especially at high RPM with terrible fuel consumption. Please don’t repeat the mistake you’ve done on previous models Proton.

• Saga BeLum Masak on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:02 am

Have you ever driven a manual Campro at 7K rpm on third gear? Well if not, you won’t appriciate the ability of its torque and the engine sound at high rev.

Now, we need to see the true ability of this GSC. Just let it loose and we will judge it.

• Budak Proton on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:52 am

Ko compare dgn kereta apa sbnarnya ni bro?

• what does it looks like? u asking?

urmmmm it does look like it has rubbish handling.

campro engine, worst fc and lacks of torque.

blindspot of the front coz no small window. especially when turning left and need to avoid the curb.

everything else, wait for the launch and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • ‘urmmmm it does look like it has rubbish handling.’

You can judge the handling from it’s looks? Surely you’re some kind of magican? :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Just saying on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:16 pm

Wow! If the handling can be determined from the looks of a car alone then there is no need for car magazines to conduct reviews, right?

• '(00)' on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:55 am

my god, this car was in heavy disguise..and yet you can tell its rubbish? Whoaaa. I think its your head is the one is full of rubbish..you brain..small..

• With the same people working attitude in proton and the failure of savvy and tiara, Do we expected this model to be better? Fat hopes! Proton quality sucks to the core. Now im hearing suprima having problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
    • wat problem? u hear oni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Yes! P2 (Daihatsu) quality is much better!

‘Daihatsu recalls record 892,000 vehicles over engine glitch’

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/09/11/us-daihatsu-recall-idUSBRE98A0IB20130911

Of course, there are no Malaysian Daihatsu’s (Viva) affected, as Malaysia Viva’s have better engines as the Japanese ones… ;)

• Peter on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

Dulu, proton punya power windows kerap rosak tapi tak recall sekali pun, gen 2 punya back light masuk air tak recall pun, waja punya side mirror peel off, tak recall pun. Base on your logic, proton quality better.
        Go buy proton, don listen to bashers like us.

• i do read some of the problem in lowyat forum mostly bout electronic..

• '(00)' on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:59 am

yeah, my 2 year old Mazda BT50 and my wife 2 month Toyota Vios had problem too. But my sons 10 year old kereta sorong never got any problem with it’s electronic..

• glad to see the design doesnt resemble any kind of animal

• Denaihati on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:17 pm

i guess the about size of viva with 1.2L engine and above. exterior design is quite good.

• omg, where they source that 1200cc engine?

Honda Brio Engine??

Hooray!! take my money, if RM40k..
      (if RM50k no boot space, go die)

Not Honda Engine? 1200cc come from where?
      omg, Savvy Engine.
      Shit shit. RM25k i also dont want. I rather take 1300Campro RM25k!.

• paul chung on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:45 pm

u buy a hatch car for boot space?

i think u made a big mastake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Firdaus on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:36 am

He is having low budget.

Dont discriminate. Let’s hope there is GSC SV RM25k.

• kktan on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:43 pm

i have confident with car , they have learned not to take europe engine anymore , that solve expensive part and reliability ,

is the engine and transmission that killed tiara and savvy.

i still love my savvy manual , with jasma N1 muffler and center bullet

• while Hyundai Kia go on to produce bigger and more powerful sednas, Potong is running the oter way around..looks like more poor rakyat will die in such a small car, unfortunately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • The thing that most people never understand when comparing Proton with Hyundai-Kia is that Proton only has the support of a small developing country, whereas Hyundai-Kia has a larger, developed market base to work with. The income of an average South Korean is many times higher than the average Malaysian rakyat. If Proton starts making big D-segment or luxury cars like the Optima/Sonata/Equus etc., very few Malaysians will actually be able to afford it in the first place. It’s not that Proton CAN’T do it, they bloody well can and will but it doesn’t make economic or business sense right now. If they do, Proton will have to export their ‘expensive’ cars overseas and that is difficult at the moment because overseas customers are not ready for an ‘expensive’ Proton yet.

That’s why Proton is concentrating on the A, B and C segments for now. I think it’s a smart move, and it will do them justice. When Malaysia reaches newly developed status (hopefully by 2025/28 if Opposition wins come GE14, if not, maybe never), then Proton will expand to the luxury market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
      • pergh on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:34 am

Proton bashers don’t care, they only want to bash bash bash…..

• Have you ever bought a Proton or not?

Cakap besar tin kosong full of hot air kentut only

• Yes, my family has gone through 6 cars in the last 20 years.

First my dad bought an old Datsun or Nissan in 1994, I can’t remember which model. Sold it a few years later. Then he bought a late 80s Ford Telstar. Gave us soooo many problems, he sold it and bought a 1999 Proton Wira 1.5 Aeroback. Served us well until 2007 when we bought a Proton Saga LMST for my mom. The LMST was in many ways worse than the Wira, but for RM27k we couldn’t complain at the time.

Then in 2011, my dad bought a new Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E. Gave us weird problems at first, like whenever we used WiFi in the car, the alarm will go off for no reason. Other than that, no major problems. Following year, we bought a 2012 Proton Saga FLX Standard (mom’s car). She wanted a Myvi at first, but I convinced her to get a Saga. So far, no major problems and for the price, it is more value for money. I got the old 2007 Saga LMST, and I currently only drive it to my uni, 30km from my house. I would like a newer, safer car, but I do not want to burden my parents with further debt, so I’ll drive the LMST until I graduate, or for as long as it proves worthy.

So yes, there were a lot of ups and downs but I still wouldn’t hesitate to buy another Proton, if the price and package is right. But I already know I will never buy another Toyota, because from where they’re going with their new models, it seems as if their customers are nothing to them and we can be bullied into buying low spec, outdated and unsafe cars at high prices (with or without excise tax). Proton at least listens to their customers, and while they can’t get everything right, they’re still trying so I’ll give them my kudos where it’s due.

What about yourself ? Care to share your experience ?

• Peter on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

If given the same segment, same price, same specs will you buy toyota or proton?

• Toyota is CKD nowadays, if you want more quality CBU unit please get your money big first. You want them in same price? How is it can happen in bolehland?

You throw out the tax, proton is still cheaper and one segment higheR? Who cares about B segment 2 airbags old engine and gearbox catfish Vios when we can get C segment 6 airbags ESC turbocharged suprima/preve?

• thefact on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:28 am

isnt this something that they should have thought bout when they started this business 29 years ago? that u need a huge market to develope and mass market cars? or at that time it was mahathir’s syok sendiri project? :D

• Actually, during the 80s, it was not a bad idea at all. That time, our GDP was growing at like 7-9% (now it’s just 3-5%).

The only failures were poor execution and lack of competition and transparency (in other words, cronyism). So yes, Mahathir didn’t consider the consequences well enough when it all began in the 80s.

• Malaysian cannot afford D-segment cars? Malaysian are paying D-segment price for a B-segment car in Malaysia. All because want to make Proton competitive. Competitive my foot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Assume that without tax, a new Toyota Camry/ Honda Accord/ Kia Optima/ Hyundai Sonato/ Mazda6 etc. would cost between RM75 to RM100k.

That is Vios/City/Almera territory, like you said, B-segment. The Top 5 best selling cars in Malaysia (Myvi, Saga, Alza, Viva and Prevé) are all below RM75k. It might seem like Malaysians can afford expensive cars, but that is only in KL, Penang and Selangor. The rest of Malaysia is poor, and some parts like Sarawak, Sabah and Kedah are even poorer.

• Preve? Top 5 best selling car? hahaha… did you knocked into something today?

Back to the topic. You mean Sarawak, Sabah and Keday will be richer if D segment cars are all heavily taxed? What logic is this?

• Read it again dude. I think you are the one who is drunk all day.

• Debmark doesn’t have a ‘national var’, not even a car industry. But it does have a 180% tax on cars, even second-hand cars!

‘Buying a car in Denmark: even a banger costs a fortune’
          http://www.telegraph.co.uk/expat/9853662/Buying-a-car-in-Denmark-even-a-banger-costs-a-fortune.html

What does you make believe that cars will become cheaper if there’s no Proton any more?

• rickyll on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:10 am

While I agree with most of what you mentioned, don’t forget that in the 70s or early 80s, our GDP or per capital was better than South Korea. In fact, we were better off in many fields including our national favourate sport football. But what the hack! Thirty years down the road, we are now lagging far far behind. Proton is just the tip of the iceberg, the whole country is in deep trouble now. We are too busy embroiled ourselves in political infighting, non-stop squabbling over racial issues. Our so called leaders or politicians are more interested in personal gains rather than the well being and the betterment of the rakyat and the country. Too much time has been wasted and too much money corrupted. So, wake up fellow Malaysian, we must stop all these nonsenses and work whole heartedly if we really want Malaysia, Proton included, to have a better future.

• Not really, by the late-60s, South Korea had already overtaken Malaysia in many ways. We were ‘ahead’ because of the effects of the Korean War, which took many years to reverse. But in any case, we could never compete with them anyway. All of the world’s most competitive countries have historically been homogeneous (same race, same religion). It is always easier to move forward if everyone is looking at the same obvious goals. In multi-ethnic countries like Malaysia, South Africa, the US etc., it’s not so simple. One group might be more inclined to economic progress, another will value cultural development, and another might just be a plain liability. Malaysia might not be one of those countries with the best GDP growth rates or hardworking populations, but we have things others can only dream about such as nice tropical beaches, jungles and islands, brilliant food and whatnot. Everything is what it is for a reason.

So we just need to do what we can with what we have. First step, vote for Opposition in GE14 !

• We are ahead because of the legacy left by the Brits.

Multi-ethnics? Singapore are way ahead of us. United States of America are much much more diverse than us, yet their economy is no 1 in the world.

• theanswer on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:44 pm

bro, those who compared proton with kia/hyundai totally blind and failed to read that kia/hyundai was formed years ahead of proton. hyundai already sold their car in USA as early as late 70s.

• farghmee on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:59 am

tgk market demand la wei..

apa sengal la komen lu.

• Supima sure got poblem…..cannot sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 24
  • Suplima on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:02 am

Myvi lagi best!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • pirlo on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:38 am

most of negative comments came from UMW personnel and Perodua salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • I think the practice tape or closed body cars with stickers already irrelevant. Who cares about new cars entering the market, but the act of installing adhesive sticker to cover car body is like to let people know that this new car – funny!

• Most other testing cars are heavily camoed. So they are irrelevant too? Funny.

• Sparcov on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:09 am

If i understand correctly, the current proton saga derived from savvy chassis. Basically is based on savvy. am i correct?

• Hope proton put honda engine there..so body proton engine honda vs body daihatsu engine toyota(perodua)..i wonder which 1 is better..

• heheho on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:35 am

This one got bigger rim. 16inch?

• Jason Lim on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:55 am

so much hoo-haa.later end up like savvy

insaf la proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • spyshotX on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:13 am

how come the rear quarter view of this white car looks much better than looking it from the front quarter view of the black one in previous post?

in the front quarter view pic the rear end looks as if it is flat like viva/brio/i10 style but when looking from the rear quarter view the style resembles more like the sexy butt of fiesta..

i guess the camo tapes did work out after all..

had to wait for the undisguised version than we can judge the final look..

• thebosssedangbercakap on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:07 am

what car is this car based on? another rebadged TATA NANO? lol.

• wira wira on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:14 am

Can’t P1 produce hybrid car. We all need hybrid now so as to cut the fuel cost. What’s P1 long term plan? Continue to produce car that drink petrol like water ah..that’s your corporate responsibility towards the society is it? What happened to Exora Range Extender? Project failed already ah?? Please come out with a statement Proton. Still tidur is it?

• Just A Nobody on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:25 am

With a proper ride hight and decent size wheels (like what it was sporting in those pics), I’d say it’ll be nice to look at as the Fiesta. Hope it comes standard with a rear spoiler though.

• Kenny on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:43 pm

This proton new car looks like myvi……

• shamshaww on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:46 pm

tear design looks promising. i still doubt how head lamps gonna look like.

• like chevy sonic

• nzain on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:28 pm

my sis had seen these car undisguised..and said very nice model and the interior is looking good..suits for evrybody

• bluebird on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:30 pm

my uncle’s brother’s wife saw the car too, she said not good model and interior is not looking good

• nzain on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:26 am

juz keep hoping it will be a nice model for malaysian..i don wanna bash it now so juz wait till it will be release

• More photos will come until the car launch next year……

• myvi78 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:22 pm

walaupun sy pkai myvi..tp sy yakin model ni mampu kacau market perodua…kalo kena cara dan gaya myvi bole tkeluar top 3 local production car

• vee-oh on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:33 pm

just thinking…maybe if DRB sell Proton to Tony Fernandez, and then Tony hire Syed Zainal as the main man..it will be more interesting

• NIEKO on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:53 pm

FYI if Syed Zainal was the best CEO that Proton Ever Had Than way did he insist on making the Inspira when he knows the preve was coming in 9 months to the market, and in the proses making the inspira less attractive ..
    He may be a brilliant man but when it comes to leading the charge at Proton it is not as easy as Perodua where you just sit there just making money and nothing else ..
    Ok the reason I support DRB is because i’am a person who only wants progress (slow Progress but Progress )Ok let me put it this way ,after Proton was taken over by DRB they Made a lot of changes that even we Malaysian cant see ,here let me list down a few things that DRB improved in Proton :
    1) Improved the vendors (letting go some vendors that are really incompetent )
    2) Improved The overall Safety of all Proton Cars (They Made the Saga better by introducing The SV models that are better than the other models ,Safety wise ,Exora has Managed to get 4 Stars From ANCAP ..
    * the Preve has Manage to be safer than cars from much bigger makers :Honda Acorrd 4 Stars ,Ford Focus 5 stars But still lower score than the preve ,Kia Forte 4 Stars, Holden Cruze 5Star But only beats The Focus ,Toyota Camry 4 Stars ……
    3)the introduction of The two SV Models: Saga SV ,Persona SV making these two cars cheaper than some Perodua Myvi models and to make Perodua Look even worse is that Proton Managed to add more safety fetures white even lower pricing …
    4)Better at making decisions ie How Long have we been waiting for a new Perdana ,we must remember that the old perdana will be tuning 17 Years of age this year ok I know the the New Perdana is actually a Honda but That car is only for The government .What we will be getting is totally deferent in Two Years Time…

Fooh ,That was long write ….

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • Tok Berlagak on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:47 pm

oh My eye hurt.
    Dont show me China Quality Campro Engine @ RM40k.

Give the Rakyat the Honda Engine.

• Makin Proton hasilkan banyak kereta berkualiti, makin sakit hati pengguna jenama lain. hehe..

• elpaciko on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:08 am

kepada mereka yang bodoh kata kalau proton tutup, harga kereta akan murah…

ingat kereta akan jadi murah ka? tax dari automotive sector adalah salah satu pendapatan utama kerajaan. kalau proton x ada pun.. tax akan tetap ada. kalau tak dari automotive sector, tax akan berpindah ke tempat lain. tax tetap tax.

dan kalau kereta jadi murah pon.. korang tetap nak beli yang mahal, dah memang itu sifat manusia, suka berbelanja lebih dari kemampuan.

• ae92r on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:15 am

For me proton is still okey to buy. Now many car are CKD, just name Vios, Almera, I30, Creed, Jazz, Cerato….Many Malaysian cars are Locally Assembled. So they are on the same level of tax sceme. But still they have difference in price even same segment lets say Saga and vios.
    If u say CBU model….. that is a totally different tax sceme. But still alot of room for improvement can be done such as build quality, FC and NVH.

• Flat Black on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:16 am

Susah pe nk buat small car? Re-badge je Perodua Viva. Globalize by installing CPS, CVT, CFE, hybrid, start/stop button, reverse camera, 4G, built-in GPS Nav, sensor wiper, LED daylight and additional airbags. Don’t forget leather seat, R3 bodykit and wheels.

• knz_mp_ on Dec 28, 2013 at 9:21 am

Design nampak macam iras2 Hyundai EON jer. sikit jer la.

• OE EXPERT on Jan 20, 2014 at 9:41 am

I think you kept continue with Proton this and that, why dont we Malaysian help Proton Malaysia to enhance instead asked to go bankrupt. Remember, Proton owns by DRB and before DRB is Khazanah. No doubts there’s politic going on and so on, so we as the new generation, dont just talk only, walk the talk whatever you say. CBU VS CKD, what do you expect more? I guess you all have black heart saying Proton staff are useless and so on. They have families, kids to feed. Dont be so selfish. Life is short, money doesnt come that easy. take it easy everyone. Blame the rulers / Goverment. Dont put the burden to Proton staff.

OEM MAN