2014 Toyota Verso – offers BMW-sourced 1.6L diesel

toyota-verso-7

Toyota has updated the Verso for 2014 with a host of new features and options. When it goes on sale in Europe next year, the C-segment MPV will offer a new direct-injected 1.6 litre D-4D turbodiesel engine sourced from BMW, becoming the first Toyota to adopt a BMW powerplant.

The Euro 5-compliant engine develops 112 PS at 4,000 rpm and 270 Nm of torque between 1,750 and 2,250 rpm. Mated to a Toyota six-speed gearbox, it accelerates the Verso from 0-100 km/h in 12.7 seconds, and on to a top speed of 185 km/h.

The 1.6 litre D-4D is also 20 kg lighter and 8% more fuel-efficient than the 2.0 litre D-4D, being capable of returning a combined 4.5 litres per 100 km and emitting 119 grams of CO2 per km (a 10-gram improvement) in the Verso. Stop-start is also equipped.

toyota-verso-33

To properly integrate the engine, Toyota has redesigned all electrical interfaces and fitted a newly-developed dual-mass flywheel to cut noise and vibration. The engine itself, which sits on new engine mounts, has been tuned for better throttle response. Finally, the spring settings for this 1.6 D-4D variant have been modified.

The 2014 Toyota Verso offers five other engine choices: 150 and 177 PS versions of the 2.2 litre D-CAT diesel, a 124 PS 2.0 litre D-4D diesel, a 132 PS 1.6 litre Valvematic petrol and a 147 PS 1.8 litre Valvematic petrol.

A new Trend trim level joins the existing Active, Icon and Excel trims. Trend sits between Icon and Excel, and what you get are blacked-out C-pillars, fog lamps, privacy glass and new 17-inch five-spoke alloys with a smoked silver finish. Also on the Trend is the Toyota Touch 2 with Go pack, which offers navigation and Toyota Online connected services.

Other new features on the 2014 Toyota Verso include an Avantgarde Bronze body colour, tyre pressure warning system as standard and new upholstery choices.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• alzan on Dec 17, 2013 at 3:54 pm

future alza?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Anti CO2 on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Pray hard that our G introduce Euro4 diesel first la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:38 pm

I am from Toyota and the real story is this. BMW beg Toyota to take their engine because BMW produce to much in excess. Toyota, being clever thought it was a good idea. Why waste time developing a diesel when BMW, like a kuli has done the dirty work. The Japs are wiser than the German apes who just know how to drink beer and bonk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
        • Haiya….. Just say that Toyota dont have diesel technology ….
          Itu pun manyak susah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • HiluxSoWhat? on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:12 am

More like Toyota is too stupid to develop a decent Diesel engine.

• rashuk khan2 on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:33 pm

In Malaysia we call UMW Toyota. Then go to Europe they call BMW toyota LOL

• ABTguy on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:45 am

Ha ha, when I see the first pic I told my wife this is new Alza as wel !!

Joke aside, this is the real deal !! Toyota body, electronics, undercarriage and everything mated with BMW engine. It should last as long as a usual Toyota and perform as efficient as a BMW.

• brownkids on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:07 pm

no one bashing toyota for not ‘develop’ their own engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • Jonathan on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:26 pm

Toyota fanboi wont buy this.

It’s to lure BMW driver to test Toyota.
      BMW fanboi always say:: IF got BMW Aeroplane engine, I buy!

now, a chance for them to try.

• No, they are happy that Toyota will stop using it’s own infamous ‘Blown Headgasket’ diesel engine:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056283818

• but i like Hilux.
        It has been rated the most reliable vehicle in Malaysia.

and That’s Toyota Diesel Engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Zamri on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:55 pm

Why Condemn ?
      We know it’s collaboration between BMW and Toyota.

stated up there::
      To properly integrate the engine, Toyota has redesigned all electrical interfaces and fitted a newly-developed dual-mass flywheel to cut noise and vibration. The engine itself, which sits on new engine mounts, has been tuned for better throttle response. Finally, the spring settings for this 1.6 D-4D variant have been modified.

BMW developed the engine engine, and Toyota make it a more reliable version. Maybe BMW will be using it too.

http://paultan.org/2011/11/29/toyota-and-bmw-discussing-broad-partnership-on-environmental-vehicles-primarily-for-europe/

• frenzyaustin on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:47 am

BMW used a Toyota engine, does it make BMW a tarted up Toyota?

• niterunner99 on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm

Don’t think it’ll be cheap when it’s available in mkt.
    BUT will have higher resale value…I hope!
    (is there a small little ‘made by BMW’ somewhere on engine?)

• Sam Loo on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm

Buy this i will sure you get 90% RV return.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Just saying on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:48 pm

If the RV is 90% like you said, then how much should be the resell price? Its going to be almost same as the price when new, right? There is no way you can sell it.

• Oii enough laa Sam Loo with your RV thingy. Please continue doing so in the Driven series only.

• HiluxSoWhat? on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:14 am

Oh yeah sure… I would rather pay the extra for a brand new one instead. RV 90% pfft.

• sam96 on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Who want to drive a fugly cheapskate Toyoita without VSC and other safety features? I believe only Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong Sam Loo want it badly. Look at Korean car they give high spec with all safety features equip and best of all their price is reasonable lower than all competitors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:21 pm

I will soon see your hailat face hen you trade in your k5 to me. Loser drive kimchi. No RV no taste and no standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:05 pm

This car is sold in Europe. To be attractive to potential customers it will have a minimum of 6 airbags and ESP. Otherwise there is no point in trying to sell it.

• You like Korean car then go sleep with them, stop saying that Korean stuff is good.

Even Korean hide the news of few Samsung phones exploded in Korea.

• taboogen on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:53 pm

wow really no comment on the bmw engine used by Honda.. then I hope proton go for this engine lah then.. no bashing…

• komarad on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:05 pm

proton should use this engine for their future exora replacement!!!!

• Then I will buy the exora

• kadajawi on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:08 pm

You think your average Proton mechanic knows how to deal with a BMW engine? They would have to be trained and get experience, and that takes a while. The Renault engine in the Savvy has a great reputation in terms of reliability, yet in Malaysia people think it isn’t reliable. Why?

• elfenstar on Dec 17, 2013 at 4:59 pm

So this means that Toyota will be getting the peugeot/citroen diesel since the BMW’s 1.6 diesel is their HDI, just manufactured by BMW

• No, this is a new diesel engine, entirely designed and manufactured by BMW:

http://paultan.org/2013/09/06/bmw-psa-engine-partnership-to-end-in-2016/

• ss427 on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:02 pm

Oh man Toyota still trying to put the instrument cluster in the middle? The layout already looked so dated and tired in the Vios but Toyota is still trying to pull it along in the Euro Corolla Verso.. Its a gd thing the reg Auris doesn’t have this

• hidop potong on Dec 17, 2013 at 5:08 pm

toyota tak malu malas bikin enjin sendiri now use other brand engine! phuiiii

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
    • Green on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:50 pm

Why dont you learn how to read?
      LET ME HELP U:

Toyota REDESIGN part of the Engine:

To properly integrate the engine, Toyota has redesigned all electrical interfaces and fitted a newly-developed dual-mass flywheel to cut noise and vibration. The engine itself, which sits on new engine mounts, has been tuned for better throttle response. Finally, the spring settings for this 1.6 D-4D variant have been modified.

• when proton rebadge, they also redesign the bumpers, packaging, suspension setup, etc

tapi still kena bash

kesian

• Zamri on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:01 am

Hidung Tinggi..
      Why Condemn ?
      We know it’s collaboration between BMW and Toyota.
      BMW developed the engine engine, and Toyota make it a more reliable version. Maybe BMW will be using it too.
      http://paultan.org/2011/11/29/toyota-and-bmw-discussing-broad-partnership-on-environmental-vehicles-primarily-for-europe/

• You know what an ‘interface’ is and what engine mounts are?

And ‘tuned for better response’? Hahaha…

• motorhead on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:11 pm

Look useful & practical.. Bring it here.

• tokmoh on Dec 17, 2013 at 6:29 pm

A toyota that will Banyak Masuk Workshop and Banyak Makan Wang? Do not want.

• tokmoh on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:20 am

I prefer Toyota with Toyota engine.

Not BMW engine.. masuk workshop selalu no Peace.

• John Tan on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:46 pm

“it accelerates the Verso from 0-100 km/h in 12.7 seconds, and on to a top speed of 185 km/h”
    Hmm.. wouldn’t you think this is sikit lambat for a turbo diesel car?

• paul chung on Dec 17, 2013 at 10:48 pm

malaysia wont get this cool models.

if it did come , the price is like crazy

• tokmoh on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:21 am

This is C-Segment MPV.

maybe u can compare to Toyota Wish Price.

• PauCharSiew on Dec 17, 2013 at 11:01 pm

so toyota drivers to become pricks now?

• haidir on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:36 pm

D-4D throttle body is from Denso, TOYOTA’s subsidary. it is same what we see on Hilux, and subaru BRZ.

• driveabird on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:29 pm

surely Toyota done their part in term of RELIABILITY..since it’s becoming the first Toyota to ADOPT a BMW powerplant…hopeful that Perodua will rebadge it…

• People said Prxtxn used H or M engine, now T also sourced engine BxW, so what people will say???

• Toyota, you failed again. Go back to the drawing board. It’s FUGLY. You need to hire new forward looking designers and engineers, if not because of your strong image branding, you could have dropped in popularity a long, long time ago.

• SamLooKasiPungkuk on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm

My Camri “kuai tai” on the road and cause me an accident last night. I had a broken leg, broken neck & arm. Luckily i’m still alive to write this message. I’m really regret now, should have listen to my sifu sam69 to buy kimchi. Toiyota really tak boleh pakai. No VSC, 2 airbag n 4speed. Now I want sell my camri but KIA are not accepting trade in for camri anymore, so i ma go hyundai they only offer me 20% after 1 year usage. I have no choice but to sell it off so that I have money to fix my broken leg, broken arm & neck. Im so hilux now.

• insan on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:42 am

do u all know that Toyota 2000GT based on YAMAHA engine, this engine used to be inside the 1964 Fairlady Z (nissan reject the engine)..so not new for me.

• Ah Chong on Dec 21, 2013 at 7:04 pm

All this bmw banyak masuk workshop, do you even drive a beemer? Why i only go service every 3 months to service and drive my car without major problem since 2007? All cars go to workshop if not being taken care properly and to replace wear & tear, even toyota (if it’s not get stolen 1st). If bmw engine is lousy why on fcking earth would toyota use the engine?

• Sam Loo on Dec 31, 2013 at 9:38 am

Ah Chong go to Ah Chee workshop and Ah Kau tyre shop and Ah Beng’s panel beater shop …..