Hyundai Grandeur Hybrid introduced in South Korea

Hyundai_Grandeur_Hybrid_01

The Hyundai Grandeur Hybrid has just been launched in South Korea, making it the company’s third hybrid model in its local market. It slots neatly above the electric motor-assisted Sonata and Elantra models, and is the largest hybrid-powered Korean car yet.

Called the Azera in other markets (Malaysia has seen both nameplates before – the third-generation Grandeur XG and fourth-generation Azera TG), the new variant uses the same in-house-developed parallel electric hybrid drivetrain already in use in the Sonata Hybrid.

Here, a 159 hp 2.4 litre MPI works alongside a 35 kW electric motor to develop a combined output of 204 hp. Fuel economy jumps to 16.0 km/L, a healthy gain over the standard Grandeur 2.4’s 11.3 km/L claim. In Korea, the hybrid model is covered by a 10-year or 200,000 km warranty, including a 30-day vehicle exchange programme.

Size wise, it fits between the Sonata and Genesis within Hyundai’s Korean/American model range. Think the Toyota Avalon, the Lexus ES’ platform donor. If the Grandeur/Azera Hybrid were to be introduced here in Malaysia, do you reckon there would be a market for it? As a cut-price alternative to the RM 353,000 Lexus ES 300h, perhaps?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kimchilover on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:46 pm

i absolutely love how the grandeur looks. damn nice. but over 300k, no way. if bring in the normal engine one at maybe 220k can consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Only hailat sorhai losers buy Korean. If you are poor and a loser, a failure in life, then you buy either Korean or Proton.

Work hard like me, and you can afford a Toyota. A car that commands prestige and status.

Its time you Proton and K5 losers wake up and work hard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 66
      • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:19 pm

Toiyota? Pasar Malam Uncle use Camry just to collect the trash left over only! Wake up lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 14
      • Lindalum on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:00 am

i cant stop you to proud of your thailand national car… but wat’s the different between proton and your thai made toyo-ta? you just made me laugh! wake up la… dont stay in kampung, open up your mind! if not you’ll be the forever katak di bawah tempurung…

• Sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:28 pm

Opened to the World. I just realized KimChi NoT Full Spec.

Let’s Buy FULL Safety Feature Car.

7 Airbags + ESC + Traction Control.

Fyi. Kia Forte, Cerato, Elantra, Suprima S, City, Vios, Civic, Altis.

All these dont have Traction Control.

yes, CBU Japan.

RM90k. Go checkout and test drive @ Toyota. believe me, TOyota Hybrid is 2x Honda Hybrid power. thats why they need traction control, to prevent skidding.
          Ultimately, more stable over the water too.

Good buy! I am getting the Luxury Version Prius.

• sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

lol..fake fella..btw who want to drive a Fugly Dugong Prius ?

• Boring on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:07 am

Wah lau eh, how many irritating Sam Loos are there? Initially there are only Sam Loo and SamShowedMeTheHilux, now Sam Loo 2 appears. It becomes boring when all talk about is RV RV RV and RV. Oh wait, that’s because there’s nothing else to promote about Toyota cars than RV cos they lose in all aspects to other car brands.

• sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm

I agree with Sam. He has been correct all this while

I was shown broomsticks again this morning. I really was so darn stupid to buy the KIA

If its a sushi, it will have great RV
      As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV
      If its a KIA, consider driving it into Klang River

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • JunkBlognow on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:56 pm

The quality of blog is getting worse and worse seeing all those comments from those car sales men and those phycho and narrow minded sales person like Sam Loo. It is suppose to be a blog to share the opinion of car in positive matters however the comment on RV seems like major topic from those sales men to influence those potential korean and euro car buyers. It is pity to have this group of people here.Typically those sales men who pretend to be taukeh and talk like they are dictating the price of Korean car RV.

• Hyundai De La Junk on Dec 18, 2013 at 12:58 pm

UMW Toyota Camry front ..lol muahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
    • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:56 pm

Don’t bring trash camri into this topic, you are just proven to be Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong only..camri should just sit on the showroom and let it rotten. Nobody bloody cares!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:25 pm

This time i agree with what sam69 said.Of course Camry cannot compare to this Hailat koria car.One is a high RV and reliable-to-drive car and the other one is a low RV junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
        • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:38 pm

Hahaha…So now you agreed with me that Camry is just a rotten car? LOL…….which Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong want to buy a 2nd hand high RV Rotten garbage car anyway..keep it for yourself Sam Loo with your Hilux face stick on it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
        • Sam Loo3 on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:33 pm

Sam Loo2 and Sam Loo are from Sohai kindergarden where the headmaster is Sam Loo, best subject is talk bdh and sing song

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • qwerty on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:12 pm

If Hyundai were to bring it in and place it head to head against the Lexus ES, that is a super bold move. After all, I don’t think Malaysians are ready for a 300k Hyundai; and I personally would not spend that much on a Hyundai. Hyundai has improved a lot, true, but just not on par with the Germans and Lexus in terms of brand image.

My vote still goes to the Lexus ES.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Fariq on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:52 pm

There’s not even a single mention of this car’s estimated price in the Malaysian market should it be sold here.. The only figures mentioned here was the RM335k Lexus ES300h. This car will definitely hover below the RM230k price tag.

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:41 pm

Hyundai is targeting US and European market-lah.
      The Malaysian ‘So Hais’ will not buy Hyundai, those ‘Soh Hais’ prefer buying Merc. and BMWs. The more stupid ones will buy Camry.

• kiddo on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:16 pm

The rims remind me of those on the Audi A6 hybrid.

• 10 years warranty WIN

• I cant think of any other car manufacturer giving a 10 years warannty.. it shows how confident they are with their product. It bloody suprise indeed.. bring it in to bolehland, even take it with 9 years loan still hev another year of peace of mind.. after that, another 2 hev to be scrap..if u knw wat i mean.. haha.. just kiding.. but really a suprise..

• I really envy the progress of korean motor company…. when will our national car company can archeive this level…. when will our nationn be able to enjoy saving from buying cars due to successful national car company….

• sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Good Job! Kimchi is the best! Throw all the Toiyota Junk in to trash! Only Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong will buy a junk car without VSC/ Safety features. Korean proven to be No.1 in the world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Only Sorhai retarded person like this fake guy will drive the crap Kimchi cars.Toyota is proven to be No 1 in terms of Resale Value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:46 pm

Toyota should just make Toy Car instead, at least it wouldn’t cause an accident on the road. Only Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong will buy a car without VSC, 2 airbags, 4speed, 10years dino engine no improvement yet want to use BMW engine? What a lame joke! Toyoita care for your “Money” instead of your “Life”. Look at Korean they are improving like a rocket jet, with their own creativity and design. No doubt, Korean are now world No.1!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • GrenPa on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

If u want to compare NON Malaysian Korean car.

Toyota also got advanced car..

Korean also no give face to Malaysia Market. e.g. Kia K7 K9.. Sonata Hybrid.

Go Blame GOV BN.
          Sam69 Bought KimChi because He Tai Lan Ngong Sorhai think driving KimChi like a Korean Star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
          • sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:39 am

What make you think driving Sushi doesn’t make you look like Porn Star?

• K-Pop on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Korean No.1? Where’s Korean supercar?

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 18, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Same old crap from Korea. Put on a beautiful shell and try to sell . Everyone forgets its how it drives that counts.

And now these jokers want to come up with a hybrid? Haha, korean tech not on par with Japs yet.

In fact, they are so far behind. People who really know cars indepth will never recommend you to buy a korean car let alone a hybrid one.

Pls stop bringing in Korean junk to Malaysia anymore. We Malaysians are not looking to buy 9 airbags in a car. We want cars that drive well and is reliable.

Just take a look at my frens Kia Forte 1.6. Interior feels like its disintegrating . And its only a 3 year old car.

As a conclusion, stay away from Korean crap as much as possible!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 34
    • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:15 pm

Edit:
      Same old crap from Sushi (Toiyota VIOS). Put on a Hilux shell face and try to sell . Everyone forgets its how it safety to drives that counts.
      And now these jokers want to come up with a HILUX FACE? Haha, sushi has NO VSC & ONLY 2 Airbags of cause it not on par with kimchi. Kimchi has at least 6 airbag & come with VSC as standard!
      In fact, they (Toyoita Junk) are so far behind. People who really know cars indepth will HIGHLY recommend you to buy a Korean car let alone a brand new hybrid one.
      Pls stop bringing in Sushi Hilux Face Junk to Malaysia anymore. We Malaysians are looking to buy 9 airbags ofcause with VSC in a car. We want cars that drive well and is SAFE on road.
      Just take a look at my frens Toyoita VIOS. Interior feels like its disintegrating. Plastic Leather wannabe. And its still using 10 years dino engine.
      As a conclusion, stay away from Toyoita crap as much as possible!! Dont be the next Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong Sam Loo showing you the Hilux face!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 60
      • Sam Loo 2 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Butthurt and Sorhai kinchie fanboy
        Smart person will consider RV when buying a car.
        Same old crap from Korea. Put on a beautiful shell and try to sell . Everyone forgets its how it drives that counts.

And now these jokers want to come up with a hybrid? Haha, korean tech not on par with Japs yet.

In fact, they are so far behind. People who really know cars indepth will never recommend you to buy a korean car let alone a hybrid one.

Pls stop bringing in Korean junk to Malaysia anymore. We Malaysians are not looking to buy 9 airbags in a car. We want cars that drive well and is reliable,and also High RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • Sam Loo3 on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:37 pm

I start to believe both Sam Loo 1&2 are not the sales man of toyota but more like those from tanjung rambutan. Specialized in talking nonsense and pretend to be rich where bank acct is kosong but jealous on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:56 pm

Try as hard to condemn Korean cars as you like, Hyundai has become top five car makers in the world, ha,ha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • ss427 on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:16 pm

The new Azera is one of the best looking Hyundai till date. This is fluid sculpture styling at its best.

Unfortunately, unlike the old Azera, which is still being used NTUC Comfort as one of their limo taxis, Hyundai has not readied a RHD version of the new Azera.

So hybrid or not, we have to wait for Hyundai to ready a RHD version of this car. :(

The Azera needs the 3.3L GDI V6 to run at its best. The base 2.4 Theta II model is usually meant for rental car fleets.

This Hybrid version should slot it ABOVE the 3.3L V6 given its general equipment list as shown in the pics.

The 3.3L V6 completely outgun the Hybrid in terms of power o/p of cos, but the hybrid wins in fuel economy dept

• Denaihati on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:23 pm

i’m interested is the warranty, 10-year or 200,000 km, including a 30-day vehicle exchange programme. if this warranty valid in malaysia, sure can lead market…

• sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Meanwhile, Toyoita crap only offer you 3 years warranty & only T&C applied!

• Low Budget on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:59 pm

Toyota cars are good cars, no doubt about that, only the buyers in Boleh Land got short changed by the local Toyota distributor.

• sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:39 pm

My sifu Sam Loo tell me this car has no RV. Stay away from korean junk. Buy a Camry better and more cheaper. If no money can go buy a Vios, also high RV and higher than any Mercedes out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:51 pm

My Camry always “Kui Tai” on the road side, this piece of junk should just stay on my garbage house till rotten. I’m just a Poorfag that got my brain stuck in my ass. Please forgive me. kthxbai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:00 pm

obviously fake.

• Oh so its called the Grandure, I always wondered what was that Hyundai that looks absolutely luscious, its even better than its bigger bro, the Genesis and Equus….will take a closer look afterwards around the car park.

• rigid on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:30 pm

one can read all funny comments in paultan when it comes to blog entry about proton or toyota or korean cars. LOL!

• sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 8:51 pm

It looks like a Junk, it sounds like a Junk, it drives like a Junk – It must be a JUNK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:43 am

Yes, you’re referring to Sushi Junk aka Toyoita Hilat, Camli, Bios~

• Guilt79 on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:09 pm

Suddenly, everybody wanna be Sam Loo. Try to be famous.. Haha

• sam69 on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:30 pm

In this forum only Sam Loo is real, the rest all are fake. So all the fake fella want to act like they are Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo3 on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:52 pm

Nobody want to be Sam Loo, all enhanced version of Sam Loo only want to show how childish and tak ada otak Sam Loo is. He has made the blog standard to go down. Pity we have this guy in this blog.

• The worse one in this forum is not Sam Loo but “sam69 the fake Sam Loo”, he is one butthurt kimchi car salesman. And sometime really don’t know what he is talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Jan 06, 2014 at 12:34 pm

All these fake fellas are obviously kimchi owners that has either been shown the Hilux or broomsticks

• Josh Ling on Dec 19, 2013 at 7:12 am

i am sorry, the rear design just doesn’t work for me. it’s not supposed to even appear on something that expensive in the beginning. it’s too tacky and cheesy.

• Sam Loo on Jan 02, 2014 at 6:39 pm

This car will be great for my export market.

Please bring it in. Am sure that there will be some fellas that buy it