VIDEO: Development secrets of the 2015 Subaru WRX

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91Baq6vLcO8

This new video of the 2015 Subaru WRX has its product general manager, Masuo Takatsu, explain at lengths the inner workings of his new rally-bred baby. You’ve seen the new Scooby in action here, and now it’s time to find out the work that has been done to make all that possible.

One of the major improvements introduced in the latest WRX, according to Takatsu-san, is its steering. Adapting the concept “Pure Power in your Control,” the steering response has been “dramatically improved.” and is now on par with that of European sports cars.

Stability too has been “considerably enhanced,” with a sharper turn-in employed thanks to the new car’s better rear grip. The rear axle is now said to be the centre of rotation (the point where the car revolves around in turns), which makes powerslides easier to control.

A more rigid body is now paired to the stiff suspension needed for such a high-performance application. The extra stiffness of the body allows the harder suspension to work better, without affecting ride quality. That last part is quite amusing, as we didn’t know that past WRXs were known for their luxurious ride comfort :).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Wilson on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:06 pm

Thank you Subaru for prioritizing six speed manual gearbox. highly appreciate it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Petrolhead on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Seems like Mitsubishi is continuing the next generation of Lancer Evolution, it will have a different name and a different platform from its brother Lancer
      http://www.motortrend.com/future/future_vehicles/1312_mitsubishi_lancer_evolution_coming_back/

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:24 pm

I can tell you one thing, after the recent radio ad on Subarau where a retard sings “ABCDE….XV XV”, many Subaru fans are staying away from the brand now.

What a retard radio ad. So irritating and has resulted in countless of Subaru fans now running away.

Great Job Subaru Malaysia. Even your own Subaru fans are running away purely because of the retard ad, what more new customers.

• STiEnthusiast on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:51 pm

I agree with you that the recent commercial for the subaru XV sound retarded.But it doesn’t represent the STI division.True sti fans will still be loyal if there continue the development of high performance car.

• sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:03 am

This is their marketing strategy. The radio ad is trying to pycho the kid from young, when you get older it will reminds you to buy a Subaru when you heard of “ABCDE…XV XV”..lol…

• ntah pa2 on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:18 pm

proton tolong buat interior macam ni..
    proton pls design your car interior like this!!! luv the center console..gear stick must short & solid, look so premium..

• Ah biak on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:43 pm

Not they can’t make, they obviously can make, but will you pay premium price for a proton? How much is a subaru price and a gen 2 price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Biawak on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:46 pm

VW is having superb finishing but is darn cheap @ it’s own country..

Proton with China Quality Campro CFE.
        Cant at least give u Quality finishing like VW/Subaru?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • mamıt on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:26 pm

Ugly, as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 54
  • ShameXO on Dec 18, 2013 at 3:50 pm

As for 2015 model, the interior design is the worst i ever see….ever! but it may be true about the drive dynamic bit not design

• GM cakap banyak tak guna, try bagi Sam Loo test drive, baru kita tau bagus atau tidak subaru wrx ni

• SukaTiru on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:16 pm

Waiting video from proton “Development secrets of the all new Proton Perdana”

• frenzyaustin on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:32 pm

Probably a bunch of Asian guy speaking Japanese from 2007.

• Unforgiven on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:53 am

I like your joke, but we are the joker in global perspective.
        The junk from Jap, selling off old tech/machines 2002 development phase.
        Proton bought it, spent multi-millions, then get free money into the pocket from Government, with the process/system.

• maybeSUBARU on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:37 pm

the front overhang is just too much! it totaly makes the car ugly, way over for a sports car!
    this is way off from the concept!!

• Just saying on Dec 18, 2013 at 4:51 pm

Looks like Subaru is keeping the WRX alive and remarkably true to its turbocharged AWD rally machine roots. Its a pity that the Mitsu Evo is facing uncertainty and straying away more into a GT.

• abahko on Dec 18, 2013 at 5:37 pm

this WRX lacks of blue and spoiler. c’mon put them onto one.

• naqib on Dec 18, 2013 at 6:25 pm

nice colour.. new and fresh colour.. but, the front end looks similar to evo x.. ryt? maybe, the same engineer.. umm.. interior is very simple – suits the sportscar type.. i love the pedal.. but still, looks cheap… hopefully, the price tag would be reasonable for this car.. rally eh? keep up the good work subies..

• ptui!..nothing close to the concept

• Van Damn on Dec 18, 2013 at 11:14 pm

secret to product marketing video success : long and grey hair chap speaking jap with final fantasy type of songs in the bg.

• maybeSUBARU on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:37 am

im still giving it a chance. maybe this version is not so photogenic. might look ok in person.
    else, have to opt for focus ST…!!!

• PauCharSiew on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:35 pm

waiting for STI