Ford Focus facelift sighted again – first look at interior

Ford-Focus-Facelift-001

Ford continues work on the upcoming mid-life facelift for the Ford Focus, and we actually notice that since the last time we saw the Focus facelift back sometime in the middle of this year, the prototypes have actually added on disguise instead of shedding them.

This could mean that Ford probably has more significant changes planned for the Focus mid-life update than what was previously suggested, and the prototypes have only just been updated so there has to be more disguise tacked on. In these recent shots, we notice that the mules have been given temporary headlamps and tail lamps that are functional but not of any particular design.

Ford-Focus-Facelift-7

We also have one photo of the interior of the new Focus, which shows a new design for the dashboard. The lower aircond controls have been revamped for a more futuristic design that includes Volvo-like air flow direction controls in the shape of a human. The current car’s centre stack looks like this.

We also notice the buttons of the infotainment controls are a lot larger now, which means they’re probably a lot easier to identify and press without taking your eyes off the road. This particular car looks like it has a low spec version of the infotainment system though.

Read our review of the third-gen Ford Focus here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• the best thing is, i think that is a different shifter with no stupid select shift?

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Pariah scum Ford and Sime Darby better just give up the dealership. People just bought the Focus last year in Malaysia and now, a facelift!!!

Pity all the Ford Focus owners. This is how Autoconnexion treat you, like dirt. Launch the car so late and give you outdated old engines. Now, you car already old!

In Europe, every Focus is a 1.0 Ecoboost. Here, they scared to intro it cause they have to sell it at RM80k because tax and duties will be lower. Miti don’t allow this because nobody will buy Proton anymore. This is how gomen and gomen GLC Sime treat customers in Malaysia. Launch old cars and big cc engine cars to squeeze customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Fahmi on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:53 am

Dashboard looks more logically laid out… The current one is a mess inside..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Petrolhead on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:19 am

At first sight, thought it was the Proton GSC!!! But nope><

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • farizY on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:31 am

I wish the would replace the four spoke steering wheel with a three spoke steering wheel, much more sportier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • art appreciator on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:12 am

hee hee, the front camouflage reminds me of Jason from Friday the 13th =D

• Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:49 am

Suprima S is much better than this junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 45
    • Sam Loo on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:15 pm

I am real Sam Loo, I am Toyota Sales Man, Number 1 in Malaysia and Asia. I also have a old 2.0 camry that I still owe bank 7 years loan. Although I can afford to buy Merz easily but i will not buy this junk because only Toyota is prestigious car. I am also the headmaster of Sam Bdh Kindergarden. RV is my best subject and talk cock is my best hobby.

• sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:24 pm

No.1 PKHKC issit? lol..

• motorhead on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:23 pm

Congrats.. You are kindergarten headmaster now.. At least you are honest about talk cock one.

• measant on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Still own a 7 year old camry? I tought you would sell it off a year later since sushi owner love to sell their car after own it. 7 year old nothing to much on rv

• Wilson on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:46 am

hmm…i saw a five speed manual gearbox…dear Sime Darby Malaysia, do kindly note that there are still demand for Manual gearbox. Focus comes with such good handling and engine response, a manual with put smile on more faces~ :) thanks.

• Sam Loo's Junk on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:41 am

This is way better than me~

• sepul on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:29 pm

The handbrake lever is moved somewhere to the center console. Where it used to be has some buttons on it now.

• Good to know Ford is ‘refreshing’ the Focus look.
    Proton, this is how you should do your design, evolve it..Not totally changing it all the times..

• Gonggok on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:55 pm

Not much of a mystery how it will look like considering what they did with the fiesta. Like the current focus but with an aston grill. Just like the all electric focus electric.

• Pls pls bring in TDCI engine too …
    Ecoboost sure expensive since a new engine technology.

• NgongLanSamLoo on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:53 pm

So the next gen Proton Suprima S…..

• tok_kok2 on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:42 pm

I’m a Fiesta owner..
    Stay away from Ford as long as it’s running on Dual clutch gearbox. Buy one and you will regret.

• Waaa..nasib baik x beli focus…i will wait for this new facelift