Proton P2-30A Global Small Car illustrated – is this what Proton’s upcoming hatch will look like?

proton-p2-30a-global-small-car-illustration-paultanClick to enlarge.

This illustration was done by Theophilus Chin based on spyshots of the Proton P2-30A Global Small Car that we’ve seen so far, especially the one at the PLUS Ulu Bernam rest area that we saw earlier this week, which was the clearest yet.

Details such as the bumper and grille shape was based on that spyshot. The shape of the headlamps are also based on what we could make out from under the disguise, and the they are given a twin lens design based on the two cut-outs in the prototype’s camouflage.

The shape around the side window profile is a little touch of Theophilus’ own, inspired by the shape of the window line of the Proton EMAS and Lotus CityCar concepts. And of course, finally, the alloy wheel design is based on those found on the Proton P2-30A prototype that we featured on test in Europe.

What do you think? Is this what the P2-30A looks like? Spyshots below for reference.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Borat on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:01 am

Wow-wow-Viva

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 70
    • OMG….”Gana Sai Car”(in Hokkien) = GSC…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 40
      • SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 339
        • What toyota? Vios? hahahahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 2
        • Please don’t be an Ass. It’s nice to troll but saying the same thing over and over again. Your sir are an annoying Jackass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 2
        • droll on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:46 pm

why is toyota luxurious? i thought only lexus is luxurious. what have you done to the toyota brand? oh god…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
        • kurangak on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

toyota? a high class car? hahaha!!!

thanx for giving me a good laugh there mate!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 0
        • sam69 on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:39 pm

Toiyota? My office kakak cleaner use camri to pickup trash only…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
        • Syeikh on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

It’s good trying.

Wish u achieve your dream soon.

I dont see you able to afford Toyota when You comment on this GSC RM25k car Post.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
        • OMG…kurang ajar betul ini…puihhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • what TOYOTA???? …..i own VW cc yet i never brag …i use proton saga too and love it so much..im proud of proton…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 6
        • kenny on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:33 pm

If wanna be aim then aim for MB ker.. Beemer ke.. even those are not considered luxury unless u look at their top end models..toyota?? Normal class car only la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
        • Low Budget on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:42 pm

You talk kock! Toyota owners = Hawkers, illegal 4D runners, smugglers, car workshop owners, some middle management staff.
          All Latuks, Tan Sillys, wealthy business men own high end BMW and Merc..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • ARIFFIN on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:50 pm

SamShoow….., There are many Proton Perdana users who are chauffeured driven and arrived at functions in style and not like you who had to parked your own car and walk to the function venue in sweat.Talk about CLASS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • hadi75 on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:58 pm

Really feel sorry for this samshow…..he’s really desperate for attention…..living in his world of make believe….

• PassingBy on Dec 19, 2013 at 7:37 pm

i wonder who are those who agrees with him? Sam Loo x 11 times? lol.. not popular enough meh? trashtalker..

• Nonsense,all words from you like foaming at the mouth

• Someguyonthenet on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:17 pm

Drove a Preve and ride a Preve. That car proves that Proton is getting better. Reliability? Proton is Malaysian produce plus the warranty last for at least 5 years so if any problems, just go to the nearest service center and spare parts are not as expensive.

• ya U R really success man, but your father are really idiot that do not know how to ware condom properly and have son like you.

• ikan tapir on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:47 pm

thank you for your kind words.. i hope u die peacefully by yourself in your beloved toyota.

• gynaecologist on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:11 pm

kenape Malaysian nk sebok2 dgn product proton? nanti dah official released, mesti kene kutuk jugak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
    • Jom beli Proton GSC. Jom beli Global Shit Car. Spearheading the High-Income Nation (Negara bependapatan Tinggi). Please don’t sell cheap, we don’t like cheap stuff, Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 70
    • savoc-havoc on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:55 am

so after rebadge perdana, proton decide to rebadge myvi…proton ftw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • abuya123 on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

Good job Theophilus….

Although basher is basher, give a credit to Theopilus for his work

• proton nak laku kena tukar enjin jepun….

• abis la kene bash

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
    • Infanticide on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:50 pm

Nip it in the bud. Kill it in the womb. Proton has always been bad news for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 59
  • azrai on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:04 am

There’s a lot new Picanto’s cues can be seen. Same goes with its name GSC, it should fulfil Global taste to become success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
  • Looks decent for a Proton. The way the bonnet line extends to the bumper reminds me of a Viva and the headlamps seem to be a bit oversized. The car would be significantly better if they fit in bigger wheels IMO and yes the side mirror curve at the A-pillar works for me. Hope that Proton can make something better this time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
    • Yes, the last spyshots look better as they seem to use bigger rims (16″ ?).

• azrai on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:07 am

Paul,
    Those European spyshot’s rim I think taken from the new Picanto. Same as this one. Maybe it’s just a mock-up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • farghmee on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:37 am

i believe it’s the same car.

try zooming the door handles, typical to that of preve’s.

• azrai on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:04 pm

I don’t mean the car itself a Picanto, just the rim borrow picante one, for mock-up purpose.

• It looks kinda good, for now. But was hoping that Theophilus can render the rear. If this is a global car, I would expect that the features if miles better than Myvi, which could also compete with the Myvi when it comes to pricing, since the Preve is already in the near RM 60k mark. But I would hope that the fuel consumption is close or miles better than the Myvi, but with the engine range that they have, I doubt it unless they have made a miracle and optimizing the engine capabilities. We’ll see bout that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • iluvsawi on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:25 am

It is a bigger kancil. Well done, proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 28
    • taboogen on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:50 am

Alza and exora have the same car length and dim.. but how they package the car is the important thing. Even swift look bigger at the outside but when you seat at the back seat.. you’ll find out that myvi is my bigger then swift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Green on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Wheelbase Comparison:

Myvi = 2440mm
        Swift = 2430mm

Alza = 2750mm
        Exora = 2730mm

For Roomy interior.
        Wheelbase does the Big Job.

• toyol on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:51 pm

dont compare alza with exora.alza is not mpv.it just wagon.haha.myvi tarik bontot sikit.. exora is excellent mpv compare to livina,and myvi tarik bontot..come with all package.include CFE..the result is wow…impressive..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
          • GrenPa on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Omg.
            Nobody Want Campro already…

People want Japanese Engine.
            Pls Put Honda engine into Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
          • Conan on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:50 am

As I drive both brands, what I like about Proton is the handling which is firm. That’s all to it. Don’t make me lament about its poor spare parts, poor FC (not as per advertised) and service. I agree, the Campro should be phased out already. Proton should consider platform sharing with other automotive makers to stay in the game.
            Perodua, even with its older spec-ed engine and “tin-kosong” construction is a much better car for city commuting. Better FC and cheaper to maintain for the long run. Just the handling is too “bumpy” for my liking.

• DonkeyKong on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Headroom is also a big factor for roominess

• Just saying on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:15 pm

The alza is roomier than the exora? Have you guys sit in alza 3rd row seat? Even children complained its very cramped back there. The exora is a true 7 seater while the alza is a 5+2 seater only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Green is obviously replying to taboogen.

The Space mentioned clearly meant for the Middle Row.

Exora Middle Row is Sempit, Small Sofa.
            Give so much space to the Rear and the boot.

So, Like that la:
            Exora = 7 seater ( Chair Style, Small Sofa and Small Legroom, Can sit all 7 adults.)

Alza = 5 big seater(Big LegRoom like a boss) + 2 mini size only good for kids.

Alza macam interior macam Big Sedan + 2 baby chair Concept.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • Honda Brio?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • pirlo on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm

yup. absolutely. it does look exactly like honda brio. it has 4 tyres, side mirror on both side, andddd….. oh, it has a hood as well! damn. it does look like honda brio. damn you proton. try to copy honda brio. i am disappointed with you. damn. damn. damn.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 15
    • it look like ferrari 458 speciale to me the only different i can see now that gsc has 4 doors and 458 has onli 2 doors..

• bluebird on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:37 am

Still Looks like Sawy to me. It is very hard for Potong to shake the image of failed Sawy away, unless something radical is done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
    • It’s designed by the same old LG. What do you expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • Y u said look like savvy since most basher said this is look like brio?..better check ur bash

• bigman on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:47 am

it’s look like the savvy to me . based on the drawing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • toya hang on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:02 pm

agree … savvy get new life —> facelift…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • Y they want to facelift for model that is not on sale in bolehland anymore?

• Just A Nobody on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:51 am

Neah, that rendering are too Hyundai-ish, unlike the spotted P2-30A GSC. We need to wait for another few clear spyshots. Nontheless, great job Mr. Theo sir, keep it up will ya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • rakyatkito on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:51 am

1st impression, looks like a perodua. not surprise, flagship proton is an accord. might as well just buy a perodua and accord, at least their power windows work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:09 pm

Power window again?? Don’t buy BMW diesel vehicles ’cause their engines keep failing.. Don’t buy Kias because their dashboard plastics degrade quickly.. oh wait, that’s last decade.. Grow a brain, man

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • GrenPa on Dec 19, 2013 at 8:41 pm

In 2012.
        Top 10 Worst Reliability Car @ UK including
        BMW and VW.

Kia and Hyundai is not Top 10 best Nor Top 10 Worst.

Top 10 best Reliability.
        including Honda, Toyota, Benz, Lexus, Nissan, Mazda.

• peyno on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:17 am

perodua power window works???? switch power window…
      see just ah beng perodua je

• Lim Keng Yaik on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:53 am

Looks bit like Smart Forfour

• policeman on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:56 am

Very good use of Microsoft Paint.
    Good job Theo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • bluebird on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:58 am

just another Sawy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
  • thedarkside on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:02 pm

what about the rear? btw the headlamp is huggeeee

• Rosyam Nor Fan on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:06 pm

It is so cool that rosyam nor will buy it.

• aalio on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:06 pm

Ya ya ya savvy la bro ganti kangkong lepas ni bayam dan bende.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • myoswee on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Do people still buy Proton nowadays?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 46
  • SAVVY on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:18 pm

Macam cantek je…macam cantek je..macam cantek je…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • dzulx on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:20 pm

If yes.. then not too bad.. but the curve line at body side panel is unlikely imho… proton not known for curvy lines

• Proton R3 Biru on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Good effort. But trust me the real P2-30A look better than the illustration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • mokhlisnor on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:27 am

Last time also they said savvy look better than the illustration.. But actual.. wekk!!

• GSC Owner on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:35 pm

I njoy driving this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Penyu pata on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Since animal names worked well for Perodua, eg Kancil and Kelisa, I think Proton should name its new model “PEROTON PENYU”. PEROTON instead of PROTON to capitalise its Malayness or Malaysianess.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 52
    • Syazwan007 on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:52 pm

Why do u want to emphasize on the malayness? What quelms do u have against us malay? Dah proton biarlah proton, x payah nak masukkan kaum pla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
      • Penyu pata on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm

It is supposed to be a compliment….too bad you took it the wrong way. Be proud 007.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
        • AdamA on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

tak rase mcm ko nak bagi compliment. sounds more like being an asshole jer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • gOOsh on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm

i think you need to have a proper education… both human and technology aspect… then we can talk…

• ruffstuff on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Some say looks like myvi, brio, picanto.. people make up your mind. It has to looks like something. But it cannot looks like all cars just because it has lampu and tayar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Ok i answer. It looks like Proton P2-30A =P
      Another job well done Theo (y)

• paulus on Dec 19, 2013 at 12:47 pm

facelift SAVVY
    @#$%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • Khairuddin Abd. Wahab on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:00 pm

Confirmed, it is Honda Brio. Proton is moving away from Mitsubishi to Honda. Just have a look at New Proton Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
    • Say Who? on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:56 pm

hahaha…this.guy.so.slow…. hahahaha

• No, not Honda Brio!

The sister-in-law of an uncle of a cousin who’s working as a cleaner at Proton confirmed it’s using a shortened Honda Accord platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • HAHAHA on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Look is ok. But i know price is more expensive than viva. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • apa ni…copy Myvi lah wei

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 34
  • Proton Vendor on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:14 pm

Close enough Chin. Keep it up.

• Tok Berlagak on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:20 pm

if put in Campro engine should be saving alot of cost…

not like PErodua had to used Toyota patent and engine.

so, Proton GSC SV Auto version reasonably should be price at RM25k.
    with ABS EBD and 2 air bags as standard.

Maybe RM30k for 4 airbags, ESC Auto version.

If Honda Engine.
    Bolehlah U letak RM40k 4 airbags + ESC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • If Proton put it 25k, its gonna be bombastic but I wonder about that. Logic guess I think the price will start at 33k-39k. Hopefully.

• TauJang on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:39 pm

Proton do know how.
        No worry.

Proton Saga SV Campro Auto Bombastic RM37k.
        Persona SV Campro Auto Bombastic RM48k.
        Maybe GSC SV Campro Bombastic RM26k???

literally RM25,999!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Such a nice Proton car (if the real car did look better than this) for RM25k! I don’t think so… btw, is it me the front bumper inspired by the new Dugong? Lolx… hopefully the real one dun look like that…

• Anonymous Coward on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Release this NOW. If it looks anywhere near like this, they’ve got my money.

• small car but pretend visually big…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Pok Lah on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:36 pm

AKA HONDA BRIO

• Han!h on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

Exora? ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • farizY on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:44 pm

Looks pretty good to me. Now, one can only wish Proton’s versions is as good or better than Theophilus’s rendering.

• Peter on Dec 19, 2013 at 1:57 pm

Thanks Theophilus Chin. You’ve skinned the spyshots. I think your estimation is quite accurate because base on same platform & reusing parts, it’d be not much deviated from Preve design, especially the chasis. They can play with the plastic part but even that it won change much in order to save cost. Same goes to the internal (i.e dashboard).
    So … ppl, don have great hopes it won differ much. The suprima has taught us a lesson after 1 year ++ of spyshots.

• Proton Staff on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:47 pm

It is not based on any current Proton platform. It is new generation P2 platform. Only 20% carry-over parts.

• Theophilus Chin on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:40 pm

You are welcome Peter. And thank you too for understanding this illustration is a de-skinned impression of the spy photo.

• erwin bangsar on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:55 am

Congrats Theo Chin your illustrations are world class

• Surainee on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:10 pm

its rebadged Honda Brio, already confirmed by some guy in Proton showroom. base price starts at 40k, full spec 50k.

4 airbags, ABS, EBD are standard on all specs.

full spec will get 15″ rim, 7 speakers, leather seats and HID light.

by the way, engine not campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 28
    • Proton Staff on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:45 pm

Who is that stupid SA?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • panadoll on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:04 pm

lol..guy in proton showroom, i assume its proton SA, lol funny believing what bullshit that SA told you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • TauJang on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm

Dont Potong Steam When later come out is
      Campro Engine RM40k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • BOYRACER on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:55 pm

I dont think the guy was a SA…my guess would would be the car wash guy having a break in the showroom…

• Xplore on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Alamak! Bigger Size of Savvy ar?

• fiesta?

• Proton must have given their drawing to this Theo guy to create the hype.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • janganpercaya on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:40 pm

the design is too good for proton standard.. remember tuah-preve story

• hilat hilux on Dec 19, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Actually..to think about it..Proton is not really competitive anymore..

Produce a small category car like that, a mountain obstacle to overcome; Perodua Myvi.

Proton is 5 years too late. Hyundai and Kia are at least 8 years ahead now. Proton had a chance when they spent money to develop Savvy. But Mahaleel’s vision was bad, created a car from personal interest rather than rakyat’s interest. Old story: renault engine, AMT transmission, Fun car rather than daily car, in the end all buy Myvi.

Create Preve when Persona is in the market. Launch price: rm75k-80k. Persona is 8 years old, selling for rm45-50k, but so old ppl loose interest.

Rm75-80k is expensive market, not too affordable for general rakyat.

Anyway if this P320 can replace Saga and priced around rm30-38k, it will be a success, cheapest car in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • alldisc on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:12 am

actually i agree with this statement. it seems that proton designers are actually up-to-date when designing a new model but when the model is to be launched, the trend is not there anymore.

proton need to be pro-active and years ahead of market. just like any other manufacturers

• GSC from GLC on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:04 pm

My guess would be:-

1) using honda engine like in the brio.
    2) front would be handsome
    3) rear would be epic fail (as always)

its like the front and rear were designed by a different person..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • motorhead on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:12 pm

It doesn’t matter.. I won’t buy.. Never.. Lessons from Tiara, Savvy.. Keep producing failed products.. No continuity..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
    • Enginehead on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:20 pm

how you know they keep producing failed product?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • motorhead on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:07 pm

Dare ro buy one? If not protected.. All will fail. Wanna bet?.. Tell me where to meet. We ll see what happen if the gov liberalize the auto market. & which proton models that selling well outside the kampung. Please tell me. Get your figure & show me the numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • I wanna bet..saga, persona n exora..i see many of them in KL area and Shah Alam even in klang.

• motorhead on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:28 pm

Bro.. Baca la soklan tu betul2.. Kat klang etc bole la.. Tolong la bagi satu negara proton ni jual laris mcm goreng pisang.. Kalu xde NAP dah lama poton ni mampus le.. Tolong fhm sikit.. Kalu proton tu bole hidup apasal perlukan NAP lagi? Kenapa gov x buka aje pasaran kereta? Tolong jawab? Ko kat mana? Berapa nak bet? Wa x kisah. Kalau gov dekat2 nak abolish NAP kita buh duet. Lu bole cari wa kat sini.

• Buruknya! tapi mungkin ada banyak features;10 airbags, bang olufssen 3d sound system, graphic meter panel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • whereisSam on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:22 pm

?

• The looks kinda promising. But the successful of this small model is really depend on the price, power of engine at low torque and fuel efficiency. If Proton can balance all these 3 factors then absolutely this model can be great. Gudluck Proton!

• sl_tan on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:37 pm

side view looks like new picanto

• JeremyNg on Dec 19, 2013 at 3:47 pm

It look not bad and it will ride well bcs it’s proton !

Most important question : what engine will it carry ? if CamPro den sienz d lo

• cara mereka nak mundurkan MALAYSIA… mereka bermula dengan kereta… tidak rasa bangga dgn product kita. tidak semua pengguna proton malas dan kurang pendapatan… klu kurang pun semua TUNAI. bukan berlagak guna kereta mahal tapi tayar botak, itupun kereta ayah awak atau nenek awak…sudahlah
    Ayuh jayakan produk Malaysia. Tak puas hati buat sendiri…
    “Pemacu industri Malaysia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
  • Denaihati on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:15 pm

i think the headlamp is too big. illustrated front bumper is nice than photo. overall not so bad. for me the important thing for this economical car is internal look, seat comfortability, engine and gearbox with better reliability.

• Syeikh on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:46 pm

Agree.
      Hope Proton Dump Campro Engine and Take Honda Engine.

That would allow Proton to Stay Competitively.

Else, nobody want to buy Proton.
      Now People Only Buy SV version.

e.g. Saga SV RM37k Auto.
      Persona RM48k Auto.

why high competitive? GSC SV RM25k Auto.

• Low Budget on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:51 pm

Honda engine and price at RM25K? People will que up around the Proton showroom (belit macam ular) to be the 1st to book this model.
        Seriously, I think it will be equipped with Proton’s own engine.

• Syeikh on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:55 pm

Najib Janji Viva RM25k.

This is the 1.
          GSC SV Auto RM25,999.

If Campro Engine RM35k.
          facepalm.

New Viva with Bigger interior Room, 2014 is 20km/L.

GSC with small bootspace too.
          but Campro 11km/L.
          RM35k boleh Jual?

Mestilah kena RM25k baru boleh Jual maa.
          Itulah
          GSC Campro SV Auto Must be RM25,999.

Else, Proton can close shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • High Budget on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:31 pm

He mean if Campro GSC SV.
        Should be RM25k [Auto].

If Honda engine, most would agree pricing at RM40k.

• hahaha on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:32 pm

looks nice…well at least it is way better than savvy and viva…looking forward to knowing the price!

• Low Budget on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:53 pm

Yup, thats right, price will be the biggest factor! Next year, we Malaysians will be half ‘Pock Kai’ due to harga barang naik..

• another sayur SAVVY i guess….good effort shown by PoLOTON….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Syeikh on Dec 19, 2013 at 4:43 pm

I think the Chasis resemble Savvy/Saga Chasis.

Fuel intake, same position too. At the Right Side.

Omg. Campro Engine this time?
    GSC SV RM25,999 Auto Version is coming.

• Raja Lawak on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:34 pm

Let Proton do it stretch version…GSC Executive…for lower ranking govt officers…or deputy ministers…LOL

• catnium on Dec 19, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Nice car if low price BUT i wont buy this GSC

• uLTRAMAN3 on Dec 19, 2013 at 6:41 pm

thenks to Mr. Theo for the drawing . everything just nice , pretty cool actually . hopefully can compete with myvi . .

To those proton haters , if you dont like dont buy . please be professional , dont be a third-class minded person ,

MENGKRITIK no 1 , dont u guys have a bit feel of shame , if you really smart and clever , try to build your own car , dont just know how to kritik only. . wheres your dignity ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • sebab tu on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:12 pm

sebab orang macam ko ni lah proton boleh survived another 50 years.. ayat taraf menteri

power window rosak? -buat window sendiri
      lousy engine? -buat engine sendiri
      design teruk? -reka kereta sendiri

• Victor R on Dec 19, 2013 at 7:20 pm

sam Loo or some loos,
    Low income people can not be equated to Low class people, toyota sales man in Malaysia generally may earn RM 120,000 per year, but to compare with a successful investment banker in Singapore,this toyota sales man in Malaysia is low income, does it mean you Sam Loo or loos people are low class ?

• rickyll on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:20 pm

While Theophilus’s rendering should be commended, I strongly believe that the real car should look better. Partly because it’s quite different from his previous works which gave real car feel. Anyway, what wait to be seen beside look are even more crucial, the power train, safety features and quality of its fittings all carry a lot of weight in ensuring the success of this car.

• pearjai on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:44 pm

If u see front,left,n the back…..u should see “brio”…….there is no way drb spent much for r n d….alang dah pakai honda chasis letak aje la enjin vtec ! Hehehe….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Botol on Dec 19, 2013 at 9:51 pm

Put the suprima s engine and gearbox or a manual inside…. Then looks wont really matter. At least will put a stop to the stupid kancils modded with turbo…

• Doesn’t look bad at all, hopefully the back doesnt spoil.

• Painter on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:15 pm

It’s just difficult to follow in the footsteps of Perodua Myvi. They should’ve taken the EMAS and turn it into a high-tech small car, like slapping a hybrid or a range-extender engine.

• Carson on Dec 19, 2013 at 10:20 pm

By only considering the exterior design based on this illustration: My expression is :( **BIG SIGH**
    Hopefully I’m wrong when this car is full revealed.

• tok_kok2 on Dec 19, 2013 at 11:34 pm

Proton’s so called Global car .. can only sell in Malaysia only.

Kampung Small Car sounds better!!!

• forrestcat on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:15 am

honda tiru proton lagi

• toyota no 1 on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:40 am

what a rubbish car.

no need create new car, confirm fail.

ok proton salesman, thumbs me down. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • Flat Black on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:09 am

Bila Proton nk re-badge Perodua Viva? Install engine 1.6 CFE CVT Hybrid. Confirm jd Malaysian Car of the Year 2014. Jimat minyak, berkuasa tinggi dan dpt diskaun mesra alam.

• Peter Griffin on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:44 am

Honestly, this car rear end is ugly. Where is the much-famed Guigaro concept design? This deviates so much from the original concept. Did they blew all the money to pay for Guigaro’s copyright for Suprima S research? Even the ugly-end Honda Brio deserves much love than this car. Will be a disaster if they sell this over RM40k mark.

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:23 am

Last time Proton was champion – Mitsubishi Engine.

The day Proton can gain back the Glory – Honda Engine.

Ini Kalilah. Nobody want Campro.

• TunJang on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:26 am

True Man.
      Proton wira/saga was great selling due to Mitsubishi, not only local, but great sales at UK!.

now, Campro = zero sales @ UK.
      Malaysian also dont want Campro.

Inikalilah~! Regain Glory! Honda Engine!
      No Honda Engine = no talk.

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:02 pm

What’s this, I have dupe fan? Nfufufu

The Mitsu era was a fairly slow era. Proton can get away with it back then. Not much environmental pressure, and cheap fuel back then.

Today, the game has changed completely. The world is much more green savvy, and fuel is getting more expensive. Everyone’s racing fast to have the most fuel efficient tech. Aluminum block, direct injection, modern diesel, start stop when idle, etc.

Proton’s not developing on that, then cry baby ask for more bailout from taxpayers when nobody wants to buy it.

• Wait what? It looks like Smart ForFour at the back. It looks like Fiat Punto at the front. BUT it is not. It is the new Proton (trololololololol)

• PaulTang on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:06 am

New Proton Savvy ???
    lollll
    tak boleh pakai punya la, PRONTON~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:49 pm

Anyway, it’s good to see a few ppl going to spend a few thousands for this.. Just like the previous craps.. Tiara & Savvy.. Also they claim good compact car bla bla.. Feel nice looking at ppl dump their money.. It’s their money anyway.. So go ahead & buylah..

• old dog on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:38 pm

remember Savy? how can this global car go into Euro there not only ENCAP, but the CO2 will kill them…

building a car only for local market name it a global car? gimme a break..

• lim88 on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:55 pm

After few million R&D finally A copy cat of Savvy or Tiara… Proton Boleh haha…

• below rm25k please

• Avenger Osiris on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Bler tgk sume gambar spyshots dgn sketch ni lame2… cam mini Exora je… kalo enjin CFE masuk ni…

• bahasa inggeris + bahasa rojak ….

• naz6411 on Dec 21, 2013 at 8:26 pm

Head lamp too big lah theo..no eyelid too..
    most likely hybrid engine..thats y they make it global…duh

• Tinta Merah on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:31 pm

Looks great. But main things to consider is price and size. If size is smaller than saga, then price must be lower.

Congrats Mr Chin. At least there is someone out there able to give as a nice rendering. Thanks.

• mamat on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:42 pm

macam lembik je design..

• jabit on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:22 pm

kenapa ye diorang ni x kluar kan proton emas? design emas tu dah cantik + sporty + futuristic bagi aku laa. tapi kenapa still amik design yg ni? alahaii buruk yg amat~

• lolllllll soo ugly sketch as compared to the uriginal.. anybody who did this very untalented person