2014 European Car of the Year – top seven finalists

2013-ECOTY-BMW-i3

The 2014 European Car of the Year shortlist is out, and we have seven finalists vying for the crown. In alphabetical order, they are the BMW i3, Citroen C4 Picasso, Mazda3, Mercedes-Benz S-Class, Peugeot 308, Skoda Octavia and Tesla Model S, chosen from a list of 30 eligible new cars.

We have, of course, detailed each of the seven cars over the past year, and you can recap here:

The above cars will be tested by each of the 58 judges from 22 European nations, before a winner is announced at the 2014 Geneva Motor Show in March. Will the groundbreaking EV from BMW prevail over the “best car in the world” from Stuttgart, or will a C-segment hatchback collect the baton from classmate and 2013 winner VW Golf? Can an MPV finally win? What say you?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• parang on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:07 am

why only 1 sushi and no kimci?

• just me on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:57 am

No dodol also

• Low Budget on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Mat Sallehs don’t eat dodol, only a few British do.

• i3 is Emas / VW Up rip off. Shame.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:22 pm

Proton or Perodua can only dream coming in the top ten with their sorhai hailat low class cars. Malaysia only good for making things like the longest dodol in the world or the largest ketupat in the world. When cars and tech are concerned, we are real hailat. Even handphone also we fail. The Ninetology phones are like hailat Proton and Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • eh sam, why no Toyota in the list?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • Hadi75 on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:42 am

Where’s your prestige and luxury toyota????why not in the list????

• No Toyota lel

• Where is Sam Loo’s luxury Camry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Not sold in Europe, cause Europeans don’t like it. Toyota had to develop another D segment car just for Europe to be able to compete.

Toyota also haven’t released anything of interest this year.

• Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:44 pm

My Camri “kuai tai” on the road and cause me an accident last night. I had a broken leg, broken neck & arm. Luckily i’m still alive to write this message. I’m really regret now, should have listen to my sifu sam69 to buy kimchi. Toiyota really tak boleh pakai. No VSC, 2 airbag n 4speed. Now I want sell my camri but KIA are not accepting trade in for camri anymore, so i ma go hyundai they only offer me 20% after 1 year usage. I have no choice but to sell it off so that I have money to fix my broken leg, broken arm & neck. I’m really so Hilux now. Seriously yo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
    • Mr Smart on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm

it’s only European cars dumbass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • fatchicken on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:39 am

so this award is like comparing apple with durian and with orange and banana as well? mazda3 competes with merc S? what’s the point?

• kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:30 pm

They take the price into account, so any car can win, if it offers good value for money and is in some way special…

• paulman on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:42 pm

so meaning it’s a Euro Value For Money Award…wat so special?

• farizY on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:31 pm

There you go, nothing like a light Googling will help you get answer…
          http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Car_of_the_Year

• WhereIsSamLoo on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:41 am

Where is the epic RV guy when we needed 1

• sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:20 pm

Sam Loo camri already “kuai tai” on the road, now he is having hard time to sell his Junk camri because KIA/Hyundai no longer accept trade in for camri liao and no Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong want to buy his High RV camri. He’s in Hilux mood now.

• nabill on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:42 am

its easy to give it to s-class or model S,i wish its given to a mainstream car….i vote mazda 3 for them being a small manufacturer bt always in top 10 …

• Maserati( Official) on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:49 am

Haha, as usual no Korean junk in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 19
    • sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:06 pm

Haha, as Expected no Fugly Toiyota in the list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Mr Smart on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:41 pm

To all idiots out there saying no Toyota or Hyundai, these are all European cars, which does not include Korean or Japanese cars.

Read the title before you comment dumbasses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • Heng Lee on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Tesla is not European Mr.”Smart”

• fatchicken on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm

Mr.Smart ass, back in 2005 toyota prius was the winner of european car of the year…read more than just the title before u comment ur smartass

• Guess Mr Smart is actually Mr Moron. Better keep your mouth shut; the more you speak, the more you sound like one of our MPs.

• Hadi75 on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:56 am

Mr smart ass is not really that smart after all….

• Storm on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:17 am

You look so stupid with your name and comments. Mazda come from where?

• Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:59 am

Well this is not RV competition. So it’s make sense if my company is not listed here. No point to be shortlisted as well though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Nobody give a sh!t about RV. New generation people buy a car they like and enjoy all the feature given. KIA/Hyundai offer High spec with all safety equip and best of all their price is reasonable lower than sushi. Only Sorhai Tai Lan Ngong will buy Toiyota with empty spec tin milo car sum more without VSC / safety features, 4speed & 10year dino engine.

• britney on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:54 pm

RV Competition? Lols. In your dream. Toyota Camry has never got any point to be shortlisted in anything good.

• iluvproton on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:26 pm

Proton global car?

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm

I only like Mazda3 out of the Seven Choice.

• kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:37 pm

I think it will either be the Tesla… The first electric car that makes sense and doesn’t feel like you’re giving up on something compared to a proper car, or it will be the Citroen C4 Picasso. A comfortable family car that puts family first, is practical and good looking. The price is also good.

• paulman on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:44 pm

shd be the S class, it’s a nice family car, and the price is good in euro.

• Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Its funny that the combined sales and reliability tests of all these manufacturers in the so called ‘top 7’ is a fraction of Toyota. Says a lot about Toyota’s quality, and thumbs up for Toyota not entering this competition knowing it will win it hands down. A true gentleman indeed, Toyota! (likes!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
    • sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:20 pm

This time i have to agreed with Sam Loo. My toilet cleaner kakak say her camri can use recycle sh!t water to fill the fuel tank. It can still move smoothly, seriously yo!

• farizY on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:32 pm

Do read…
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_Car_of_the_Year

• Theophilus Chin on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

It will be a close fight between BMW i3, Tesla Model S and Mercedes-Benz S-Class. And Mazda 3 might be the dark horse. Not sure how the boring Peugeot 308 gets shortlisted though. I thought Jaguar F-Type would be shortlisted instead.

• fatchicken on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:50 pm

Peugeot 308 is sexy man!!

• FansCloseBashersCloser on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:19 am

Oh cmon,nobody would call the 308 ‘boring’,it is really pleasant to the eyes #feline =D
      Btw correct me if im wrong,but looking at some of the lists from European Car of the Year from Wikipedia,BMW was not to be found,while Merc earned it once with an older S-Class i think. Tbh,Bimmer’s car shortlisted here should stand a chance,being revolutionary.

• frenzyaustin on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:27 pm

S-Class or Mazda 3.
    One is run wild about technology and one is run wild within budget. One you dream of owning one and one is you work harder to own one.

• My money is on Tesla Model S or BMW i3, but I’m really rooting for Mazda. Mazda’s current line up of cars like the CX-5, Mazda6 and Mazda3 is really good, it’s even more impressive when you take into account how small Mazda as a company is.

• Josh Ling on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:15 pm

i think it should come down to either i3 or S-Class to get the crown, if we see from innovation point of view. and i think those two deserve the crown, because the innovation is really off-the-chart compare with those in the list.

• Mr Smart on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:40 pm

To all idiots out there saying no Toyota or Hyundai, these are all European cars, which does not include Korean or Japanese cars.

Read the title before you comment dumbasses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:43 pm

Hello…dumbass… have u check wiki before comment? Check the past winner and you will see toyota. Is u are dumbass and dont act smart.

• Heng Lee on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:08 pm

TESLA MOTORS
      Founded: 2003
      Headquarters: Palo Alto, California

California is in Europe?

• Nobody on Dec 21, 2013 at 2:45 am

Definitely S Class…my preference :)

• BMW never become a winner since the inception of the this award in 1964…. very funny..!!

• ttlai on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:52 am

bmw i3 is the most ugliest bmw ever

• Roger on Dec 05, 2014 at 12:49 pm

luk so ugly..sure if cars like vw have this color will luk ugly also..just my opinion..

• relax bro..every ppl hv different taste in color..and vw hv few colors that they offer to customers..so color is not an issue to make a vw car look ugly ;)

• wahh..vw not in the list? unbelieveble..so the car is that bad uh?

• Hogus on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:51 pm

aiyoo! y everybody say that particular car not in list means will be bad? come on man doesn’t mean vw car is bad if it is not in the list, every competition only got one winner right? vw is a pretty good car in terms of performance and design!

• Broker on Dec 05, 2014 at 1:04 pm

walaooo…i see many ppl use vw..but not even 1 model in the list? keh keh keh…

• Carloff on Dec 05, 2014 at 3:55 pm

m sure thr are some criteria for this european car of the year
      u know that competition mins gt ppl lose and win all the time, and not only vw, gt other models not in the list..like protong and p2..hahahaha..just joking :P but vw still a gud car bro!
      once i went to genting with my fren who using vw golf, i have to say that m impressed..the performance is outstanding!!