Citroen DS 5LS unveiled for the Chinese market

This is the latest addition to the Citroen DS range – the Citroen DS 5LS, and it is for the moment only for the China market. It’s the first sedan in the range, which until now has been full of hatchbacks. A DS-badged SUV will be launched in 2014.

The Citroen DS 5LS – which Citroen classifies as a C-segment car – measures 4,700 mm long by 1,840 mm wide by 1,500 mm tall, with a 2,710 mm wheelbase. Its design is inspired by the Numero 9 and Wild Rubis concepts. It features a new grille called ‘DS Wings’, which Citroen says is a nod to the original 1955 DS.

Features include a choice of nine body colours, keyless access and start, blind-spot monitoring, front and rear parking sensors and a reversing camera, as well as a complete range of multimedia systems. Engine options include THP160 and THP200 versions of Citroen’s 1.6 litre turbo engine, mated to a six-speed automatic.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow the design is nice, but it is not looks like Citreon anymore..

• kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:23 pm

Shouldn’t this be the DS4 LS instead? It’s probably based on the DS4, they even say it is C segment… even though it is almost as long as the D segment C5.

Also I still miss a proper C5 in a DS version. It is ironic that the DS line doesn’t have the hydractive suspension… the thing that made the original DS famous and popular.

So even though it is cheaper than the DS5, the C5 is probably the most grown up, most luxurious Citroen there is.

All that being said… my god does this thing look good! And that interior… sweet.

• kadajawi on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:18 pm

If you look at the interior, it has taken the dashboard and steering wheel from the DS5. However everything else, for example the part between driver and passenger looks very much like the DS4. So do the climate controls, the whole navigation system and buttons, … they have probably changed everything you see and touch, but underneath there sits a DS4. A massively modified one, with longer wheelbase etc.

• coffeedude on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:07 am

The interior looks nicer than the C5 especially the seats and the larger screen on the center console.

• sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:35 pm

Bring this to Malaysia, Toiyota can just go Fly Kite!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:03 pm

Overall it is a junk car, same like Kimchi where there is no RV. I just got 2 shorhai K5 owner want to trade in their 1 year old k5 to me this morning at 50% of buying price. I am not going to take it since there is no value. Only sorhai kimchi owner make good comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • ShameXO on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:54 pm

Naza..please

• kadajawa on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:09 pm

Proton should rebadge it as new Persona or Gen2…just like Proton did last time rebadge Citroen AX as Tiara…jangan malu-malu lah Proton…He He He

• casta on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:34 pm

rebadge it as Inspira….let the T fans grumble..haha

• motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:51 pm

Citroen is dead here.. I can’t see new one till today… Old ones also very rare… Can tapau lah… Citroen owners please thumb down or give some comments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • NIEKO on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:03 pm

hum FYI I Have already seen about 3 DS5’s in just a week around Setia Walk (Puchong ) two White ones and a red one ,God you just got to see these cars they are gorgeous ie when sunlight shines on the body colour and it emits a kind diamond effect …just sexy um um

• AUSNSW on Dec 21, 2013 at 8:26 am

For chinese market,citroen can survive in china because chinese is rich and don care about RV. They can buy 10 cars in 1 day by using cash or even gold plate.

• Chinese ppl can afford best cars in the world even use it at disposeable. They r rich.

• Richard on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:59 pm

I used to own a Xsara 1.6 in 2002 and no doubt it is a good car. I will seriously consider the DS5. And ffff the rv. And the shithole who condemn this car knows crap about car. Sam Loo why dun you shove RV down your arse!!!

• farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:08 am

Sharp looking car. I like Citroen’s daring design. Thumbs up for them!