MEGA GALLERY: Honda Vezel goes on sale in Japan

am_vz1312092H

The Honda Vezel has officially gone on sale in Japan, where it is sold as both a regular Vezel with front-wheel drive or 4WD, as well as a Vezel Hybrid, equipped with Honda’s new Sport Hybrid i-DCD system, also available as either a front-wheel drive or 4WD.

The Vezel made its debut at the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show and is Honda’s answer for the increasingly popular B-segment SUV market, where it will face competitors such as the Ford EcoSport and the Peugeot 2008.

am_vz1312090H

The new 1.5 litre Sport Hybrid i-DCD system combines a new normally-aspirated 1.5 litre direct-injection DOHC engine with a 29.5 PS/160 Nm lithium-ion-powered electric motor, matched with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission. The front-wheel drive version is rated to do 27 km/l based on the JC08 driving cycle. The regular petrol version uses a 131 PS/155 Nm normally-aspirated 1.5 litre DOHC engine codenamed L15B, mated to a CVT gearbox.

We have a huge 120-photo gallery of the new Honda Vezel, so if you’re interested in getting it when it eventually comes to Malaysia, enjoy pictures below. You can also check out our live gallery from Tokyo 2013.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• anti body kit on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:12 pm

Got to admit that this car is quite good looking overall. Will it come to Malaysia next year? Got to save some money to buy this baby.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 1
    • Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:00 pm

Overall it is a good car, better than Kimchi where there is no RV. I just got 2 shorhai K5 ownerwant to trade in their 1 year old k5 to me this morning at 50% of buying price. I am not going to take it since there is no value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 98
      • RV King on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:38 am

Then the second batch will be rebadged as new Proton SUV, see now which car got higher RV?

Better spend your 100k on a Rolex watch if you don’t want to lose money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
      • sam69 on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

Indeed a good looking car, at least slightly better than Toyoita Hilux.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 29
      • SamhowedMeTheHilux on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:02 am

If its a sushi, it will have great RV
        As long as its not a kimchi, it will have some RV
        If its a KIA, do consider driving into the Klang River

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 17
        • Low Budget on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Might as well sell it to me rather than Klang river, only fools think that Korean cars are inferior, oh for that matter, Proton also OK for me-lah.

• RICH PEOPLE DON’T SEE RV as priority. What is RV if the car can’t provide safety & comfort at highest level. Get it?? Don’t everyday also talk RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
        • Mackymac on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:06 am

Benz, surely you’re not one of them? Perhaps it’s all not only about rv but there is a great cost against utility relationship to be evaluated be it if you’re rich or otherwise.

Rv is a significant component of that.

• Low Budget on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:07 pm

They like to talk about RV where actually no one (car buyers) is getting more money back when they sell than they spent buying on any cars except the car dealers.

• farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:12 am

Mr Sam Loo, the most successful troller on PaulTan.org. :)

• sam loo my ass on Dec 23, 2013 at 12:49 pm

RV my ass laa…

• Nickky on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:02 am

Can you advise me where can find the 1 year old K5 at 50% price? Seriously interested to get one on that price.

• Smart_YC on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:46 pm

Haha? Are you kidding everyone here? 50%? mind to give me the phone number of the owner? i want both the K5.

• Say goodbye to these things when Honda Malaysia bring it here:

-Nice rims.
      -Touch screen and navigation.
      -Push start button.
      -That ring speaker light.
      -7-speed transmission.
      -etc etc god knows what else!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
      • mesinrumput on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:01 am

oso goodbye to DOHC…will get SOHC engine just like City, Jazz, and Freed here.

• mesinrumput on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:51 am

also goodbye to DOHC…will get SOHC just like city, jazz and freed here.

• OMG…DAMN NICE…Pls come to Malaysia with below RM100k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • the 131ps, 155NM 1.5 litre could be used in the next CITY?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • the 131ps/155nm 1.5 is direct injected. So low chance of entering the Malaysian market is its assembled in SEA or CKD. Even the Odyssey didn’t came with the direct injected engine.

• fourwheeler on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:24 pm

..when it come to bolehland, we will call it prozel maybe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • mamak on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:26 pm

menarik yaww!

• Nice compact suv .hybrid will b a good choice for urban drive.

• Sparcov on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:50 pm

I think it will come to compete with 2008 and ecosport

If price nicely between 90-110k – why not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • lonelyobserve on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:56 pm

Honda already moves on to 7AT, following Nissan. Where are other Japanese car makers? Still dreaming in 4AT, 5AT and 6AT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • superbird #43 on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:58 pm

downsizing, EPS(electric power steering), cvt gearbox, hybrid system, though the list is not exhaustive, seem the way to go these days.

• sonic31s on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:14 pm

Ok I loving this and hope Honda(HICOM) be fare selling price in this country
    OR proton re-badge??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • RingaLinga on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:54 pm

CBU Jazz RM100k -> CKD RM75k.
      CBU Vezel RM110k -> CKD RM82.5k.

*Lancer 2.0L RM120 -25% =RM90k
      Proton rebadge will be same price as Honda.
      Honda can cut so much tax = Fully fullfilled the national car element. High content local part + RnD centre is Set up.

yes! Honda please bring B-SUV.
      Good car for engineer go to site @ budget.
      Good for Malaysia always flood.

Welcome to Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
    • sam69 on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:02 am

It just the matter of time. Give them some time after rebadge Proton Accord, this will be next.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • Siti Nurbaya on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:22 pm

Looks fantastic and the quality detail looks great (dual USB charger, little rope at trunk to help pull the trunk door).

I hope to see this on 2014 DRIVEN on Vezel vs. Juke vs. Peugeot 2008.

• sl_tan on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:42 pm

ssangyong ripoff rear light

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Carnut on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:43 pm

Interior looks upmarket and better executed compared to even the CRV. Even the undercarriage looks good with covers for both protection of components and increased down-force. Wouldn’t mind making this a daily drive. Honda is definitely upping the ante.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 8:56 pm

Well, the minute Honda Malaysia gives a launch date, Santa Fe, Tucson, Sportage, Sorento owners will cause a massive jam along MRR queing into my yard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
  • Yes, bring it in and price it under $100K to kill off the greedy Nasim cronies & their Peugeot 2008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
  • Not striking, not by Korean standards, but neither is it bad looking either. Personally a very well proportion car given that its the size of the Jazz. Hopefully price will hover around the low 100k and comes in hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:12 am

Well its definitely Jap, so it has RV, unlike Korean vehicles

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • idunnoyualwayssayrv on Dec 23, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Hey,pls,stop talking about RV.It has good features in Jap but we don’t know will Honda Malaysia cut down the features or not.If they give u a kosong car with two airbags and SOHC engine,I don’t think RV make sense anymore.

• motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:31 pm

Nice.. Good seats setup. Bring it here.

• honest on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:43 pm

Knaper kulit nampak tak kemas & murah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • SpongeWai on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:53 pm

i am big fan of Honda and currently own a 3rd gen Honda City i-DSI

and i think these Vezel to come here end of 3rd quarter after 3rd gen Honda Jazz or Honda City arrived here in the end of 2nd quarter

• Urzu3 on Dec 20, 2013 at 9:57 pm

very nice looking mini SUV.. 4WD capability and small engine plus not really a huge car. Nissan Juke killer maybe?

sabah sarawak need this type of vehicle.

please come to malaysia with a GOOD price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Looking at this car from the rear angle, it is just like Citroen DS4. The way how they design the rear door and the lump on rear looks really alike.

• Mohd Shubhi on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:56 pm

Alamak! already booking Mazda CX5. Should have wait this Honda for comparison especially on prize!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Just saying on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:40 am

Err, the CX-5 is in the same class as the CRV. The Vezel is smaller than both. If it is available here, will be cheaper than CRV but by how much depends whether its CBU or CKD.

• the centre console design is very nice, storage compartments and cup holders at the bottom of the gear shifter, brilliant

• Krasher on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:34 am

I’ll kill the front passenger by just turn the aircond to 19c

• skatax on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:37 am

I am surprised to see that hondas of late have decided to remove/exclude this feature in their suvs just because reverse camera is fitted as standard: NO REVERSE SENSORS in this Vezel just like the CR-V. Check the bumpers guys. Are Honda trying to cut corners on safety or what? I still dont’t understand the logic behind saving a few hundreds when our cheapest car in bolehland can offer them as standard.

• I like its rear door handles

• seancorr on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:51 am

Hope the price will be lower than the Pug 2008 and comes with decent spec. The Ford Ecosport estimated price is just under RM100k so I hope they will price it around there too.

• vezel on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:02 am

wondering the suspension is beam or multilink?

• Besiman on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:04 am

Honda malaysia please bring this mini SUV

• torquealot on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:32 am

I’m looking for a crossover right now and yes this one fits my requirement, o bring it in Honda….and please, don’t let Proton rebadge it or i will boycott you for the rest of my life !

• adika on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:43 pm

Interior design is superb, but exterial stii have some weak point, not so good looking. some more only provide two door which not popular here. I prefer peugeot 308 or mazda 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Definetly a much better looking Honda compared to recent launches

Good job Honda

• teamsleepnine on Dec 21, 2013 at 6:25 pm

lol,honda…kononnye cool,hip and trendy latewwww….evoque IT IS NOT!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • nighttrain on Dec 21, 2013 at 6:32 pm

What does a B segment SUV do? Can it handle knee high flood water? How bout knee deep lumpur? Don’t be like BMW where they can’t properly explain the purpose of an X6..

• ahmadfaris93 on Dec 21, 2013 at 7:47 pm

I’m really surprised by the rear design. It’s quite close with the Citroen C4 and C3. Very creative, Japs !

• preve tailight. copycat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • sonyman on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:15 am

should have called it honda CR-A nicer and more into the family.

CR-V, CR-A,

• idunnoyualwayssayrv on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:19 pm

Yeah,they should have probably launch more car and name it the CR family.CR-V ,CR-W ,CR-X ,CR-Y ,CR-Z.(the family) actually Vezel sounds like pretzel.Talk about pretzel,I’m a little hungry……

• kerapufx on Dec 22, 2013 at 3:52 pm

i dont think the price will below 100k. believe me friends. but this car awesome.

• azrai on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:14 am

Yes, Honda designer manage to ‘kowtim’ with SsangYong OEM to supply the tailgate lamp. :-) http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/8a/SsangYong_Kyron_rear_20090423.jpg

• liow chan on Jun 29, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Ass…proton much better than this..all plastic recyle bin..