Kia Rio 1.4 SX Test Drive Review

Rio51

Kia have come a long way, haven’t they? The Korean car company have gone from becoming the butt end of jokes to being the case study of beautiful car design. People started to take notice and reassess their valuation of Kia when the Forte was introduced; mainly because every car that came before it were – and let’s be honest here – destined to the scrap metal yard the moment it rolled off the assembly floor.

Delightfully, the Forte wasn’t a one-hit wonder. Every car that came out of Seoul since were sculptures in motion. Till today, I still turn my head and have a second look at the K5. And now we come to the Rio, Kia’s card in the B-segment pile.

Rio39

So what happened here, why does the Rio look somewhat bland? Granted that it is curvier and round instead of sharp and sleek but the overall shape does not convey the same sense of ‘wow’ the other new-gen Kia seem to have. Then again, a different pair of eyes would be saying otherwise.

In any case, the Rio comes with contraptions that make it stand out (read: add value for money). Seen here is the Rio SX, which comes with all bells and whistles ringing. It has projector headlamps, daytime running lights, front fog lamps, a sunroof, LED rear lights and 17-inch alloys that seem too large for this hatchback. OK, it does help get the car prettier but not a whole lot.

Main

What about the interior? It is deceptively spacious, fitting five large males with varying degrees of waist sizes without much fuss. Actually, there’s nothing much to say about it except that its materials quality is decent and the finishing is one of the better ones that money can buy. Nothing here that truly stands out – good or bad – even when it comes to the layout of the dashboard. That said, the design of rocker switches for the air conditioning are a welcoming touch. Pointless, but a nice nonetheless.

The better news here comes from the number of features that you’ll find missing from some of the cars in Rio’s class. The SX trim also gets automatic air conditioning with cluster ioniser, auto defogger, rain sensor and a six-speaker audio system tuned by Arkamys.

Rio46

If that does not impress, then maybe the six airbags might. More? OK. ESC with EBD, ABS, traction control, brake assist, hill-start assist and vehicle stability management are machined into the Rio. So far the Rio SX is building up a case that it gives much more value for your money. That is if you don’t mind how it drives.

The little car gets moving from a 1.4-litre mill that pushes 109hp at 6,300rpm and 137Nm at 4,200rpm to the front axles, a four-speed automatic is tasked to get the power there. It’s not the sprightliest thing in the world and it is further bogged down by the 17-inch wheels. As such, the car feels heavy and reluctant, which starts a chain reaction that drains the 43-litre fuel tank quicker than you’d expect.

Math quiz

And when you do get it up to speed, the car’s NVH starts to come apart at the seams. Funny how cars that need more sound-proofing doesn’t get enough. At this point, the steering will have plenty of artificial weight added; still very little feedback is coming though. The ride is also harder than you’d expect and it does not bring any benefit to the handling. The Rio still has all the body motions synonymous to the class; nothing new here.

Nevertheless, the Rio is a decently priced, feature-heavy car. But if you don’t mind not having a sunroof and smaller wheels, you can consider saving RM6,000 and going for the Rio EX instead. My verdict – loaded with kit and priced attractively to save it from mediocrity. Don’t expect much else.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• kadajawi on Dec 27, 2013 at 11:44 am

Sunroof means it gets hotter inside the car and you have to spend more on tinting, larger rims mean a harsher ride, higher fuel consumption and worse performance. Seems to me like the SX doesn’t make sense at all.

The EX though… I agree it isn’t particularly pretty, even the new Vios looks better, but the safety gadgets can easily cancel out all the negatives. To me it is better to be alive in an ugly car than to be dead in a pretty car. Shit happens, so it is better to be prepared.

And to Sam Loo: Money can be replaced. Lives can’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
  • Rizal on Dec 29, 2013 at 8:44 am

My current ride is a Rio SX. Delivered to me mid July 2013. Of course due to the 17 inch wheels and the low profile tires – 45 series, the car suffers harsh ride and slow acceleration. However, I don’t have any issue with the Noise and Vibration especially on highway. It’s have better sound insulation and damping than P1 or P2. The Conti Sport Contact tyre that comes with the car does superb job on the highway especially on a wet day. I have mine tinted before delivery. For me, the sunroof is a bonus features as it is enjoyed during casual driving (Sunday morning drive). For a sub 80k price tag, it a value for money. BTW its a hatch back, so don’t expect to lug big bulky luggage. The big pickup trucks with big ego driver will do a better job of carrying big things. The Rio just a decent car for city driving and occasional weekend excursion / Balik Kampung for small family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • Simon on Dec 29, 2013 at 8:28 pm

Hi bro, can u share more on the fuel consumption on highway and city use?? I was thinking of almera sv or rio sx or a jazz ckd.. Do give comment tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Rizal on Dec 31, 2013 at 1:19 pm

The fuel consumption is similar to my dad’s P1 Waja (Manual) when I took both cars for my weekly assignment / meetings in Ipoh. It’s more for casual / relaxed driving. Of course one still can enjoy spirited ride on Sunday morning. With the safety features / accessories/ looks vs sub 80k price tags, I find it value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Tutti on Dec 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm

Its hatch..but the car suits with a parent with 1 child..at least..the boot can fit in the large stroller like quinny moodd/buzz..n we could fit all the things in rio withoit any complain..so at least my wife is happy for that..

• i’m looking to own this unit as my first car. is there any possibilities they will come out with new/updated version of rio in 2014.

• Rio Azman on Mar 18, 2014 at 8:17 am

Just got mine last week. Black Silver colour. It’s Rio EX finally after much deliberation between Vios, KIA and Mazda. Love it at first sight. We wanted small car that fits us nicely and efficient fuel consumption. Hopefully our Rio is really up to the expectation. Bought mine from KIA AMPANG POINT.

• Rio-lover on Mar 23, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Hi Rio Azman. I’m interested to know more about the car. Could you tell me the cost of RIO Ex?

• Omg…i luv dis car so much! Luv dat design n features.. But just buy the p1 preve last month make me a little bit upset becoz before dis I dun know much bout kia cars… Hatchback car is my first choice..i dun know y im driving sedan preve now on my life hahaha

• Anybody can explained more in rio,about Fuel consumption. And about the gear …..its four speed only.i think to bought it

• 1) Can anybody tell me one Fuel little can drive how many kilometer ?
    2)Kia Rio just 4 Speed is not 6 Speed can it save fuel ?
    3)Kia Rio in Malaysia have two types 1.4 SX and 1.4 EX any diffecent ? Price ?
    4)Can anybody telling me about this four cars Kia Rio and Ford Festa 1.5 and Mazda 2 2015 and honda Jazz with one can save more fuel in town area /Highway

• Shari on Aug 25, 2015 at 10:48 am

Rio saya ni baru 3500km tapi bila tekan minyak ingatkan terus memecut tapi tekaan saya meleset sebab kereta terus jadi terlompat2 umpama kaburatornya tersumbat kalau badingkan dgn myvi 1.3 auto saya lain pulak pikap lagi ketika memotong kenapa ek