New Perodua Alza variant teased for January launch

newalzaClick to enlarge.

This is a big one. A teaser of a new Perodua Alza has appeared on the local carmaker’s website, with the accompanying photo you can see above. The updated MPV is already open for booking, and will arrive at showroom floors in January 2014. That’s next month!

It’s still unclear if it will be a full-fledged facelift or just a minor spec/variant update, but by the looks of it – it’s labelled as The New Alza – we’re looking at the former. The current model was first introduced over four years ago (November 2009), so it’s definitely due for a mid-life update.

So what are we looking at here, exactly? The main image shows a whole new front bumper, which is similar in style to the existing Myvi SE. Perhaps Perodua will introduce a range-topping Alza SE with this round of facelift. Also visible is an updated headlamp cluster with clear indicator lamps instead of the current model’s amber fittings.

New_Perodua_Alza

Other highlights include a monotone black interior in place of the two-tone black/grey combo we have now, new instrument cluster design, (possibly optional) new multimedia system with navigation and reverse camera functions and a roof-mounted monitor. Meanthile, the updated armrest will house a storage compartment.

A welcome and completely new addition is the split-folding third-row seats (the outgoing Alza’s rear-most seats have a one-piece design) so you can now expand the boot space without sacrificing both passenger compartments. Plus, ISOFIX anchors are now built into the middle-row seats too – there’s no mention of third-row anchorage points, so it might just be found on the second row.

It looks like we are about to see a new Perodua Alza that is thoroughly revamped both inside and outside. The new tagline – The Alza For Everyone – could also suggest that it will be offered in a broader model and more importantly, price range. What do you think?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Ahmad on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:52 am

tak malu Perodua, nak ikut jer apa yang Proton buat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 161
    • this is called trends. put aside your negative thinking brother. even tho im not one of Perodua customer, at least they try to improve and cater what malaysian wants especially young family.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 21
      • Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:04 pm

Funny thing is, Alza never intended to compete with Exora but Proton seems so scared panic with price cuts and maybe soon SV model to fight off Alza.

Ha Ha Ha big joke lah this Proton…luckily Avanza, Livina, Freed all being forced to price higher otherwise Exora sure bungkus.

Exora proven afraid of Alza, it tells you something is wrong with Proton suka buli budak smaller size segment HA HA HA HA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 77
        • atuk jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:15 pm

apa daa si ahmad..komen mcm budak sekolah..nak malu hapenyer..isk3..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
          • mr arrogant on Dec 22, 2013 at 4:17 pm

Ahmad bukan x sekolah tapi sepatutnya x dilahir ke dunia ini.Dah besar besar kepala pulak tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • spec1 on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:21 am

should be the other way around. P1 offers better spec all around. P2 retaliates with ‘facelift’ only, safety features no increase.

• peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:44 pm

What.. i tot Avanza , livina n freed being forced to protect Alza since those ara compact MPV.. just imagine freed, livina price same as alza.. no body wanna but Alza.. same gose to other compact car swift, jazz n polo if price among myvi.. who wanna buy??
          prrrtfhh

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:18 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 209
        • Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Alza sales always higher than Exora anytime.

The better trash wins lah LOL!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 44
          • peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:45 pm

see .. i told u rite… proton pbasher= perodua salesman n owner but pretending as non national import car owner

prrrtfhhh

• OMG…again Kurang ajar betul. puihhh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
        • Alza owner on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:08 pm

I’m an Alza owner. The car is good especially for small family use. It doesn’t bounce like Avanza and the current model 2nd row seats can be move front and back. It give better leg room adjustment for 3rd row. Hey dude, driving Toyota doesn’t mean you’re better in the ladder status if your mind set still in the bottom of the community.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 9
          • alldisc on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:51 pm

unfortunately, perodua got alza from daihatsu. and toyota owns daihatsu.

avanza is designed with indonesia in mind. hence the soft suspension to cope with rough terrains there.

• sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:41 pm

I have told many times before, Toiyota is just like Garbage Tai Lan Ngong cars and they are for the low class and low income people in Malaysia. It is a car for low achievers or purely lazy people who do not want to work hard like myself, and own a wonderful K5 or other Korean car.
          My advice to Toiyota owners, work hard, aim higher in life and you will be able to own a real K5 and upgrade your status in life. You cannnot all the time be at the bottom of the ladder with your low class UMW thinking you got some Kimchi under the bonnet. You don’t. Toiyota, especially the Camri is nothing but a low class hailat car that only smells the fart of real Kimchi cars.
          So for all those arguing here that Vios is better or City is better, well BOTH are trash.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 15
        • Derrick Lee on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:23 pm

Sam Loo, you are a disgrace by insulting everyone’s intelligence. Toyota in fact making lot of shit vehicles which you always denying it. You even dare to show up in Driven. And I expect you to give me thumb down for my comment. Paul Tan, why on earth you allow this crowd to show up in Driven?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
          • SamToyotaSalesMan on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:02 pm

He is only a junior toyota uncle sales man that talk cock like he is richest man in the world. I know Sam loo when we worked together at toyota showroom, he is person with no integrity, extremely arrogant. He gain no respect from us. In average, he made RM5k (before expenses -RM1-2k), best time at RM 8k permonth.I quit the job because I cant survive with this salary, only weak sales man like Sam Loo still stay

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Syazwan007 on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:33 am

If there is one thing i learn from listening to your trash is that ill never EVER buy a toyota cause i dont want to be associated with “successful” people like you..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • sotai on Dec 21, 2013 at 7:56 am

no class mentality and minded of the Hilux owner…hopefully only one in malaysia…

• sushisupporte on Dec 21, 2013 at 3:41 pm

Well support RV here
          http : / / www.facebook.com/SamLooRV

• mr arrogant on Dec 21, 2013 at 5:02 pm

low class mind thinking person, always think that your are the best mankind in the universe. still in idiot thinking. if you think you are high class person don’t live in the this earth, don’t too arrogant dude.everyone have their own right on whatever car type that they want to buy. belajar tinggi2 tapi bodohnya semakin bertambah-tambah. orang yang tak pernah rasa bersyukur dan sering bangga diri. tuhan itu adil dan saksama. jangan sempitkan fikiran dengan kesenangan yang telah dinikmati sekarang. bila2 masa saja tuhan boleh ambil semula hak itu. kereta itu memang lama2 akan menjadi sampah tetapi tidak mustahil anda akan menjadi sampah masyarakat suatu hari kelak. as a human, kita mesti always be humble. then, everyone will like to friends with us…..

• lamnb on Dec 22, 2013 at 4:02 am

Hi sam loo dupe
          you want to say prtoton has no achievement?? well try this:

1. Proton succeeded extreme heat and cold tests in Oman deserts and the North and South Poles!

2. ‘How Do They Do It”? Discovery Channel featured Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant in this series, calling it the “most advanced modern car plant”

3. Proton is the only ASEAN car maker to pass Australian ANCAP with full 5-star rating

4. Currently, there are Proton car owners in 25 different countries in the world

5. Egypt has the largest Proton Persona fan club

6. Miss Universe Australia 2013 is the ambassador of Proton

7. In July 2013, Proton clocked the fastest time in history for a “Malaysian Touring Car Class” (MTC) race car, overtaking Mazda, Toyota & Ford with a time of under 2:39 minutes

8. Proton is the only team to win 7 awards championships in a year at the Asia Pacific Rally Championship

9. The Proton Impian is used by the UK police in Humberside, next to the Lexus IS-F cruiser

10. Proton adopts various technologies from LOTUS’ vehicle dynamics. All new Proton car models use Lotus engineering and handling

11. Proton is the only Muslim country manufacturer, and the only ‘full-fledged’ manufacturer in South East Asia that designs, develops and manufactures their own cars

12. Proton car prices around the world are determined by the respective country’s vehicle import taxes

13. Proton is the only team to win both first and second place in the Sepang 1000km Endurance Race 2012

14. Proton uses the German technology of “Hot Press Forming” which enhances structure integrity to the strength of its car by 3 times

15. Proton’s Turbo engine of 205 NM torque can accelerate from 0-100kmh in less than 10 seconds. Nice!

16. Proton and Honda are in collaboration to share technology enhancement, new product line-up, platform and facilities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 26
          • Shamelexx lamnb on Dec 22, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Comemnt to your stupid points;
            1. Who the hell wants to drive a family sedan car in a deserts, north or south poles.
            2. You know how much “undertable” money P1 paid for D channel?
            3. Same answer as 2.
            4. In other 24 countries you can buy potong much cheaper than Malaysia.
            5. So, nothing to be proud of in a stupid country without future.
            6. Even ur mama is the ambassador for potong doesn’t mean anything!
            7. If you want to compete in a race for sure you put in everything u have, somemore in own country.
            8. So….what!!! see above.
            9. You know how much per car potong “subsidy” the UK G for using these craps?
            10. Thief!, use own people money to buy other company/technology.
            11. Is this something related to religion?
            12. ya…but how come I can buy cheaper potong in UK than in Msia?
            13. See “7”.
            14. Thief..
            15. If this engine can’t do that potong can go hang themselve.
            16. All stupid engineers in potong can’t develope their own platform?

None of the above we can called it achievements. They are all shameless things that did by potong for the past 20years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 33
        • ThumbsUpSam on Dec 22, 2013 at 5:44 pm

Good say Sam. 2 thumbs up for you. These craps are for those bottom class people which most of them from kampung and low educated who can’t affort to buy toyota. They forgot it is P1 and P2 make them only can buy the craps with their “tiny” salary. They are still happy that they can have a car to drive, go back tunggang ur basikal dan kapcailah…LOL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • phuwekkk on Jan 20, 2014 at 3:57 pm

well we maybe form kampung but at least we’re not japanese wannabe who thinks toyota is all in this world. hey you can buy your extra rich and famous toyota as your ride but in the end the only car that you’ll ride is just the hearse. so enjoy your toyota as long as you can. peace..

• people on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:15 pm

Comment from arrogant people.

• I never knew the “trends” now are to fit your perodua with ricer bodykits. Only in malaysia where you can buy cars riced out before they even reach the owners.

• ben 10 on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:58 pm

in malaysia nobody use the word ricer. it is for noob.

we call it mekap.

• magpie on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:27 am

Mekap are for girls. Guys only interested in what under the hood. As far as im concern, all alza variant are just the same.

• Sgdude on Feb 20, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Yup aircond at the back…

• Rizab on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Bodoh.Apa mau malu.ini adalah maju.malas boleh maju tak?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 9
    • sam69 on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Good job, P2. Keep it up! Make it lower price sure can sell like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • XenoV on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:16 pm

ooo.. pandai komen perodua ikut? Yg proton rebadge lancer dan Accord tu boleh pula?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
      • rebadged on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:22 pm

Aa aah! Betul jugak kan? Dua-dua ada rebadged.

Tapi entak lerr. Terpikir jugak, ada tak Perodua pernah TAK rebadge???

Engineer tak cukup terror lagi kot, hmmmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • bekas perutdua on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:24 am

bagi aku, bukan sebab engineer terel tak terel. tapi, management direction. dengan jepun dah pegang perodua, korang ingat senang-senang diorang nak kasi ilmu pada orang luar cam malaysian ni? kena pulak market malaysia, go for cheap car. sebab tu diorang buat cheap car. cost down sana sini, buat padding, buat habis basic. compare features comparable model between perodua dan daihatsu (boon & myvi). diorang concern apa. bukan rakyat negara diorang pun.

• Someguyonthenet on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Nak tau apa yg lagi malu? tiru bulat-bulat kereta dari brand lain yg memang di market malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Peminat Kereta on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:28 pm

@ Ahmad…if you dont have any constructive to say…jz diam je la …I notice that many of those likes to bash, are lacking of ideas in giving notable ones…Anyway, I think its hi time Alza be given a new look aka facelift or something along the line already…keep it up P2.

• mr arrogant on Dec 22, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Ahmad oh Ahmad, tak belajar ker? Cakap tak guna akal tapi guna tumit kaki. Hanya orang yang sombong dan bongkah tahap gaban macam kamu jer yang memang layak dianugerahkan orng yang tak malu. Kalau rasa dah rasa kaya sangat, kaya lagi tuhan yang ada di atas sana. GUnakan akal dan otak sebaik-baiknya untuk memberi komen.

• aiden on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:13 pm

bro, ingat proton tu ori sgt ke?? semua tiru juga..

• nicholas on Jan 05, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Ahmad, Proton tidak ada kualiti jadi banyak kali proton nak lelong kapada kilang lain lain pun tak diterima.Mengapa!bro Ahmad you pun tau apa sebab. Kilang lain seperti: GMC, Rolls Royce,Bugatti,Porche,Skoda,Nissan,Mitsubishi,Mazda,Volvo,Audi,Hyundai dan lamborghini dah kahwin dengan kilang lain lain.bro!

• Jayden Koo on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:54 am

If you are looking for a safe local MPV, better take Exora Bold rather than this one. The chassis is not well-built and low rating on crash test. I was shocked when saw an Alza split into two after a self collision.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 47
    • Can you provide the link of this? or you observed it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
      • Jayden Koo on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:20 pm

I saw it at Seremban – Tampin trunk road around 2 years ago midnight. Unfortunately, i don’t have the evidence of that incident.

Here is some Exora Crash test at 56 km/h

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1DKI-rFx-QU&feature=related
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiM0ZEKd1E4&feature=related

This one is Alza at 23 km/h crash test

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1wrtcQIgps&feature=related
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pvEU9LNn5DE&NR=1

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Ms Lovely on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:37 pm

Jayden Khoo.

http://paultan.org/2013/02/01/asean-ncap-first-phase-results-released-for-eight-models-tested-ford-fiesta-and-honda-city-get-5-stars/

Alza ASEAN NCAP
          is tested @ 64km/h. = Same Speed as AnCap.

Your Exora link is tested @ 56km/h only.
          omg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
          • spec1 on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:26 am

that alza at 23kmh is real. look back at the previous PT post.

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:40 pm

Alza = 4Star Ancap
      Exora = 4Star Ancap

if Alza Split, Exora @ the Same Crash Condition Might Split too.

http://paultan.org/2013/09/11/proton-exora-awarded-4-star-ancap-safety-rating-proton-suprima-5-star-ancap-rating-becomesofficial/

http://www.ancap.com.au/mediarelease?id=183

Drive @ speed limite and be alert.

Furthermore, Alza is more like a 5 Seater Wagon + 2 bonus Mini Seat Concept.

it’s not a full size MPV. Alot people buy it not because got 7 people to fetch.

Full Size MPV – might as well get Exora, Avanza, Livina, Innova etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
      • Do not confuse the different ‘NCAP’s.

There is the EuroNCAP (Western Europe) and ANCAP (Australia+New Zealand). Both are almost equally stringent, and if a car gets a 5-star ANCAP rating, it pretty much has a 5-star EuroNCAP score as well and vice versa.

Then there is ASEAN NCAP (Southeast Asia) and LATIN NCAP (South America). These two are not very strict if compared the the above. Some cars like the Nissan Almera which only has 1 airbag can still get 4-stars ASEAN NCAP. Meanwhile, the new Honda Accord with 6 airbags scored 4-stars ANCAP. See the difference ?

Then there’s the American IIHS. This one is the big boss of them all. Even BMW and Mercedes Benz cars cannot get 5-star IIHS because of new extra tough tests. You may Google to learn more, but in short, it’s much tougher than EuroNCAP and ANCAP in many ways.

So the Perodua Alza with 2 airbags only got 4 stars ASEAN NCAP, but the Proton Exora with 4 airbags and other active safety features scored 4-stars ANCAP. So, from what we’ve learned above, which one of the two is actually safer ah ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
        • Tok Berlagak on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:27 pm

Believe in Asean Ncap.

U want compare Almera with New Accord 2013?

I help u:

Mirage 2013 AnCap (aussie) 5 stars.
          – 4 airbags.

Accord 2013 Ancap (aussie) 4 stars. only.
          – 6 airbags.

http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au/Comparison-List?0.42537036002613604

so, U havent proove that Asean Ncap is not reliable.

4 airbags in Mirage, small and light car.
          Got 5 Stars Ancap but Accord same crash test only 4 Stars.

conclusion- U havent proof Asean NCAP is no good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
          • farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:20 pm

http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=510

mirage ancap 6 airbags la der.

• Tok Berlagak on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

So, Who say More Airbags + Stronger body + Size = More Stars???

Alza 4stars vs Exora 4stars.
          is literally comparable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
          • Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:20 pm

Aero cannot accept the fact that Perodua is comparable to Proton safety.

Aero believes that Proton is the centre of automotive universe. The rest just space dust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:55 am

celah mana the safety is comparable between perodua and proton? bodoh ke apa?

• Green on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:44 pm

Aero.

Did you know:

Mitusbishi Mirage got 5Star Ancap?
          AustraliaNcap.

only 4airbags + ESC + some simple safety features.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm

green leaf yah?

http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=510

memang hijau.

blaja membaca.

• GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm

waa.
            6 airbags in Mirage.

got 5 Star Ancap.

but Accord dont have..

Why aa???

so, it doesnt proof that Alza is weaker then Exora.

Maybe Alza is stronger.

anyhow.
            Alza 4star crash test.
            Exora 4star crash test.

• Wrong
        Alza = 4 Star ASEAN-NCAP (frontal crash test only)
        Exora = 4 Star ANCAP (all test for 4 Star n below)

Alza cannot land on Ausie land due to lacking of standard ESC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 8
        • Tok Berlagak on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:03 pm

lmao KZM.

SAGA no ESC why selling at Aussie??
          Exora at Australia Pun Tak Ada ESC la~
          itu sebab 4 star saja..

Who say No ESC tak boleh Jual Kat Aussie?

On the other side,
          Perodua has been primary established JV between Japanese and local for Malaysian market.

Maybe 2014 with the New Daihatsu World Standard boleh Jump Start start producing car for global.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:14 pm

jeez..

let me educate u.

http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=539

u need to read more.

• pathfinder on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:15 pm

wei…saga n exora yg kat aussie tu ade ESC la weyyy…lain kali kaji dulu ‘fakta’ tuuuu…

• Aussie bound saga n exora have ESC

• from 2011 mandatory for all car sell in australia must have ESC…saga s16 flx that sell there oso has traction control..onli lacking airbag

• pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:56 am

haha malu la tok berlagak. berlagak tak mahu membaca fakta. booo!

• zapruder on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:20 pm

How about L ANCAP?
          How many stars do they get?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:47 pm

ASEAN NCAP my fren..
        not Australasia NCAP

• tokcock on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Alza only a mini MPV
        Exora is consider a compact or midsize.

Full size are refering to either Estima or Alphard

• Proof on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:51 pm

Proof your statement. I don’t remember Exora being safer as Alza. Both of them are equal. Car splits into two depending on collision force.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 40
      • Alza never went to ANCAP whereas Exora did. It scored 4 star. Pretty good for the first homegrown MPV from Proton yes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
        • Need cheap car on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Malaysian people like relatively cheap,better quality, reliable and less trouble cars/transport. Even Exora can get 4 star ANCAP, it will never outsold Alza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • jacksonljs on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Give to those Malaysian driver (majority of them are syaitan anyway), any car, even Mercedes/BMW or other conti cars can also split into two, however, chances of a vehicle split into two is higher for those Pepsi-Cola tin made can cars (milo tin is not really applicable as milo tin is much more stronger than cola tin car).

• as always add few accessories that we can do outside (cheaper)price it 70kPLUS..it could be better if you put vsa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • wiralution on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:07 pm

60k sudah la.
    Exceed 60k considered pricey & therefore not interested.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
    • theanswer on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Nobody force u to buy. Plus, alza is one of the best selling car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
      • Yayaya….no one force u to buy. but with only 60K, what else MPV you can buy except Exora/Alza??

• Herman Tino on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:08 pm

meh…

Yale yale

• Seems good.. jangan harga naik sudah.. 2014 goin to be despert year for G..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • fix the hollow sounding doors first Perodua. Don’t cut too much on soundproof although we know Perodua is under UMW which is a moneysucker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:34 pm

Perodua is not 100% own by UMW, UMW has some shares in it, one Malay tycoon has got more shares in it than UMW, the rest of the shares are from Daihatsu and public joe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Mat Saad on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Who is the malay tycoon? Dont just create ypur own story ok

• r u sure? UMW Corporation Sdn Bhd (GLC) 38%, MBM Resources Berhad (GLC) 20%, Daihatsu Motor Co. Ltd 20%, PNB Equity Resource Corporation Sdn Berhad (GLC) 10%, Daihatsu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd 5%, Mitsui & Co. Ltd 4.2% and Mitsui & Co, (Asia Pacific) Pte Ltd 2.8%…who is that M**** tycoon that u mention?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
        • alldisc on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:48 pm

dont forget, PNB holds majority stake in UMW – means… they are all under govt investment arms.

means UMW = malaysia govt. see??

• honest on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Kalu rear brake still drum type
    Tak minat sbb tak safe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
    • heel-and-toe on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:35 pm

Are you going to wear full fire-proof race suit to go to work everyday?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
    • Low Budget on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:36 pm

Jangan harap semua disc brakes-lah. Perodua pandai tukar Grill/Bumpers saje.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
      • Need cheap car on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:12 pm

same like proton Percord (perdana + accord)& Proton Inspilan (Inspira + Lancer).. tukar logo and bumper jgk maaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • pirlo on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:43 pm

ok. kita tengok perodua keluar rear disc brake.

• So what? Proton did RnD, improved and fixed many problems in both Lancer and Accord. That’s why Proton still do camouflaged tests. You think Japanese cars very reliable ah?

• Aaron on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

What are the difference between disc brake and drum brake? Why do you need disc brakes? Drum brakes aren’t safe? Don’t be an ignorant person.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 20
      • people said p1 with drum brake not safe

• Tok Berlagak on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:31 pm

because Proton Cars are very Heavy..

So heavy bulky but no disk brake..
          boleh brake ka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Say Who? on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:57 pm

with Saga FL aku rasa aku dah brake emergency dalam 3-4 kali dah… 1 aku dah selamat brake, ada mangkuk pulak hentam… 1 aku manuever like a champ… yg lain tu ngam2 la…haha, ok je brake drum je pun…xde ABS lg…tp dlm x sampai 2 thn brake shoes aku habis…haha

true story..

• tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:27 pm

Already come Out Alza S more value added features + 3 years free Service.

Now want to facelift and more features + more value??

Waa. This is what I love.
    Great Competition Going On.

Race Race Race!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • damaza on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:28 pm

Bukan ke Alza tu convert daripada Toyota? ye ke teruk sgt kualitinya?

• I like Alza..

Quality is very good. Fully Satisfy with enough power, BIG interior due to long wheelbase, very spacious for 5 seater.
      Fuel efficiency @ city driving is good.
      12km/L @ Subang Jaya style.

Great value for the price.
      Wheelbase is longer then Preve and Exora, that’s why the 5 seater feels very big and luxurious.

5+2 concept is just great.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
      • tunJang on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:53 pm

Hari tu Green ada post:

Alza wheelbase = 2750mm.
        Exora = 2730mm
        Preve/Suprima = 2650mm.
        Grand Livina = 2600mm
        Myvi = 2440mm.
        Saga FLX = 2380mm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
      • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:58 pm

Quality good my ass…!!!

I got so many problems with mine. Gearbox problem, steering problem, air-cond problem, wind noise problem, NVH sucks to the max…

The only plus point here is price…

Don’t bang the car though, else you will join Paul Walker 6 feet deep in ashes… You have been warned…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
      • pirlo on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:47 pm

talking without facts. how can we trust you with your statement that alza’s quality and fc are good?

• Teruk. Convert drpd Toyota =/=Quality convert drpd Toyota. Interior tengok mmg ok. Lepas touch cakap omaigod saje.

• Barang Naik on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:30 pm

Harga turun! wajib turun baru jalan

• budinol on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm

good point is:
    1. 4 STAR NCAP
    2. noise and vibration improvement
    3. stylish bumper FR N RR.
    4. new multimedia lcd on roof
    5. sporty 7 spoke rim.
    6. 3years free servce n labor.
    7. price will not change. maybe lower.
    8. what else do u want

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
    • tokmoh on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Good Buy.
      Less Capability Rakyat Can take 7 years or even 9 years Loan with Peace of Mind.

Engine + Gearbox is having high reliabilty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • jibby on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:49 pm

WTF budinol. where did u get ur fact? 4 star ncap rating? what a joke! with no ESC/VSA & only 2 airbags, do not dare to dream to awarded with 4 star ncap. talk with no brain, puiiii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • jibby need to go to school on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:01 pm

Why u duno how to read the brochure pic up there?
        Why u duno how to read comment up there?
        &
        Why u duno how to google??

Fyi, copied from above.

Alza = 4Star Ancap
        Exora = 4Star Ancap

Exora: http://paultan.org/2013/09/11/proton-exora-awarded-4-star-ancap-safety-rating-proton-suprima-5-star-ancap-rating-becomesofficial/
        Alza: http://www.ancap.com.au/mediarelease?id=183

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
        • mohd hc on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:50 pm

alza got rating by Asean NCAP and EXORA got rating from Australian NCAP. Two different body… check carefully….

• GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:33 pm

different body but comparable.

Accord 2013 only 4stars Ancap.
            but Mitsu Mirage 2013 got 5stars Ancap.

http://www.howsafeisyourcar.com.au/Comparison-List?0.42537036002613604

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Alza got 4 star Asean NCAP but Exora got 4 star Australian NCAP. different ma……dont get confius over the same acronym ANCAP. prthhhhh

• pirlo on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:50 pm

siapa yang tak reti google sebenarnya ni? asean-ncap ngan australian-ncap tak dapat beza?

• jibby begong on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:42 pm

No need to teach him la. He oredy got 6 star for melANCAP. lol.

• jibby angry with budinol on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm

Jibby.

Did you know?
        if Alza got ESC, would be 5 star rated?
        Mitsubishi Mirage(got ESC) is 5 star Ncap.
        Mitsubishi Mirage (no ESC) is 4 star Ancap.

Finish high school faster and learn Google for research.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:09 pm

here comes ur brain jibby,
        alza
        asencap>> http://www.aseancap.org/perodua-alza/
        ancap>> mana ada.

exora
        aseancap>> mana ada.
        ancap>> http://www.ancap.com.au/crashtestrecord?Id=539

• price 50k ok

• Low Tee Ween on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:31 pm

After accidents can become like Myvi or not….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • any car accident can become like anything u like.. want to become ikea meatball..drive like hell and crush back of the big lorry

wanna become like curry puff.. take ur car to genting and jump off the car into the cliff.

wanna become shine… go to meguiar car centre.. hahahah

• zapruder on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

We all not sure..
      How about u try first? Then u can bash kaw2.

• gtmaniac on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:57 pm

3rd row split fold seat is the most useful & welcome addition to this Alza. As an Exora owner with family n children, this will be very convenient, especially when in long distance holiday/shopping.

• catnium on Dec 20, 2013 at 12:59 pm

Wow, this is the best small MPV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:12 pm

Perodua = Daihatsu.. Check out uk reliability index.. See who at the 1st place.. Im not a sales man.. But I don’t like talk cock. Let figure & rating do the speaking.. New Alza worth waiting.

• ZephyrLock on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:18 pm

Anyone knows if there’s any changes in engine or transmission choices with this facelift?

• reshbala on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:21 pm

Will the alza lose the 2nd row sliding seat function if can have isofix? Isnt it seats with isofix r fixed in most cars?

• qwerty on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:30 pm

If this were to follow Perodua’s previous pricing strategy, the fully equipped new Alza will be very very pricey!

• sparcov on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:34 pm

There is nothing wrong to choose between Exora and alza, both also great car and serve the purpose.

Personally I prefer Exora because of the turbo engine and bigger size. Travelling on the highway, exora wins Alza. In terms of city driving, Alza better than Exora due to power to weight ratio.

I’m a proton and Perodua owner too Preve+myvi

As long as the pricing is correct packed with good and useful accessories, i don’t see any reason why people don’t like it.

Interior, Alza quite spacious except the third row.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Exora = 10-9 KM/Liter or lower

Alza = easily over 12KM/Liter

feel free to add other silly excuses to claim Proton engine is better FC OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • not-my-name on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:32 pm

I own exora bold, I can proof u my exora can travel more than 600km on single full tank with 3 adult and 4 kids on board.
        So many scary cramped alza in accident, go find it yourself.
        Performance wise my exora is equal to 2.0cc NA cars, alza for sure is not comparable.
        Feel free to contact me if u dont shame on ur blind assumtion, i can give u a proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
        • Green on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:06 am

Alza 12km/L is City Mode.
          Exora FC city Mode is 9km/L.

• Krasher on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:59 am

Exora 600km/tank? My IMA1.3 can only get that on 100% highway

• GrenPa on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:30 am

Exora Fuel Tank = 55Litre.

600km/55litre. 10.9km/L

Waa. Highway only can jalan 10.9km/L for Exora.

• peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:53 pm

selling the product by condeming other product

• Niaulong on Dec 20, 2013 at 1:53 pm

This mini mpv is more suitable for young n not big size body family to drive/ride. The third row seat legroom not much different than exora that for kids only.

Alza and myvi quality need to be improve in-term of the material and Sound prove. My sister’s one yo myvi had bring her back to perodua sc several time for repairing doors, eletronic power steer, rear bonnet switch. She have regret to buy myvi instead of T vios because is my fault persuet her to buy perodua . Sorry !sister…

Dear Perodua ,
    Please improve harder about quality of your cars.
    And put more safety feature for this small mpv alza.
    We don’t want buy our nasional car with 70k only for 2 airbags and no TCS .

• Tok Berlagak on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:11 pm

There is no car got traction control which is meant for slippery road.

I Prefer Traction Control over Stability Control (ESC/VSC) anytime too.

ESC/VSC is for those crazy driver who always drive over speed limit.

But Traction Control is for everybody to drive more safely on a slippery road.

Like your comment!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • pathfinder on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:18 pm

pemahaman kau mengenai ESC amat menyedihkan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:33 pm

ESC/VSC/ESP Stability Control
          only prevent skidding @ cornering.

if drive slow, ur car always in control, wont skid, so no need ESC/VSC/ESP.
          but it’s important for inexperienced and mad driver.

Traction Control
          – prevent skidding over slippery road.
          e.g. water/oil spilled in Malaysia.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:29 pm

go study

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

• GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:30 pm

Tok Berlagak is right.

Farghmee – Misleading.

Stability Control
          – 1. Prevent Skidding, trying to act against law of inertia..

Skidding – in terms of high speed cornering or Sudden Swerve.

it give u grip for you to corner better.
          But not over the wet water on straight road.

2. Traction Control.
          – for running over Snow/Icy area and water ponding area.
          – prevent skidding on straight road over the water/ice.

Recap:
          1. Stability control/ESC/VSC/ESP
          – prevent skidding from cornering/swerving.

2. Traction Control.
          – prevent skidding over slippery area.

Mainly. drive slowly – low moment of inertia = less usage of ESC.

but slippery happen on straight road so often.. That’s Why Traction Control is more important for a Safe driver who follow speed limit.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:16 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Traction_control_system

prefer TC over VSC?
            read both articles pls.

• then why the neraka that euro n australia ncap prefer ESC/VSA/VSC as safety standard?

• GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 10:51 pm

Most people driving too fast.
            Cornering also driving @ car limit..
            highway drive over 110km/h.

hence, ESC is very important.

If we drive @ speed limit, reduce speed @ cornering.. low risk skid away..

but drive @ own car limit = high chance skid away.

ESC is important for people who dont know how to slow down @ cornering and capped at 110km/h.

Law of Inertia.. too fast will definitely lost control. ESC also not enough to help u.

• U used law of enertia at wrong example…BA+EBD+ABS for braking is better describe enertia..resistance u need to change velocity….ESC just to correct ur stering to previous stering condition before sudden change..TC is to correct or wheel spinning..1 will faster n 1 will slower (this i learn fr F1)

• atoyat on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:20 pm

Don’t ever think that even you drive slow or you are professional race driver you don’t need ESC/VSC. Even though you drive slow, u need it at emergency situation. ESC/VSC is much more important in Malaysia because we do not have snow/icy road condition (yeah2 we have rain & wet road but if you ever drive in icy condition, then you know that rain is nothing to compare)

• Sparcov on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:11 pm

I agree myvi sound proof need to be improve. A lot improvement required!

But it depends on every myvi also in terms of problem. Not every myvi got problem as you experienced on your sister myvi. I do not know which batch and how long your sister use the myvi.

My myvi only 1.5 months old and is a SE 1.3 version. Since day 1, I could hear some tik tik sound coming from dashboard. And so far so good. Because it comes with 3 years warranty, so if anything happen, we can head straight to SC for replacement or repair.

• Niaulong on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Guys, thanks for all those useful reply about TCS and ESP. Hopefully Perodua Malaysia will meet at least Japanese standard while it still a SEMI-JAPAN brand with local distribution.

Honest said : I sit at my fren alza front seat. Looks better than my 2005 gen.2 (junk tool) and almost equally quality than my grand livina.
        I prefer alza exterior n interior rather than my boring livina. But, me n my family member size is like Godzila . Haizzzz…

• I have using Alza for pass 3 years and so far it is reliable and I pretty like the practical and versatile space of this car.I am happy to see the “late” facelift after this model has launched for 4 years…I believe the car will still on sales in Perodua showroom for another 2~3 years. Hope Perodua will improve the sound insulation and equipped with more up market accessories (look at how Kia did to new Picanto)

• P2 is.rebadge company, wat techincal capability they posses?. They just R&D how ro produce different looking bumpers, etc and brazenly called themselves a car manufacturer..the Daihatsu/Toyota blueprint, engine and gearbox and platform is set in stone

• Need cheap car on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:23 pm

yeah man…same like Proton Percord (perdana + accord) and Proton Inspilan (inspira + Lancer)

• pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

ok la. let’s wait when perodua will come out with their new engine. after k3-ve and 3sz, next 1KR engine right? was it developed by our own local people?

• Fahmi on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:21 pm

The Alza badly needs a facelift… The current model is overdue, sold from late 2009 without major changes…

• Fahmi on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:23 pm

The Alza badly needs a facelift… The current model is on sale since late 2009 without major changes..

• Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:11 pm

Pandai you komplen

Proton Saga 1985 until Saga LMST 2006 that is as old as muzium negara item lah

• spec1 on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:50 am

cakap benda lama buat apa? alza still on the market but facelift only. want to compare, compare with BLM>FL>FLX laaaaa

• nzain on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:35 pm

mostly they’ll purchase it coz of the look n exceed price instead of fuel safe…err…i’m not one of them hoh

• Kepunden Parang Skeper on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:38 pm

whoa i was just about to consider getting an alza to welcome a new member of the family… thanks hafriz shah & paultan.org for updating us! now i guess i’ll hold on to my cash for about a month or so… =D

• hahaha on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:41 pm

hopefully perodua can learn to design their own car…i mean try to make it look cheerful and funky inside out by using only cheap material and most importantly remain cheap…this is what a supermini or small cheap town cars should be like isn’t it?

• Paul Joker on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:46 pm

I am waiting for Sam Loo appearance here. hehe.

• Mr Love on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:47 pm

I love ALZA very much. got extra space to hold hand when you’re out with your girlfriend or wife :P

• Ms Lovely on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:27 pm

love you dear

I love your Alza Front Seat is flat.
      I can move so close to you anytime..

we enjoy moment in the car.

• Don’t be such cheapskates, you two. Go get a room. BTW, pity the person who bought your car second-hand because got ‘extra’ on the seats.

• nabill on Dec 20, 2013 at 2:52 pm

its gonna have a new design door handle,new sticker ,brand new world exclusive radio volume knob and higher PSI tyre preassure ….

• failed in safety features on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:17 pm

I think Perodua won’t provide all disc brakes, 6 airbags and ESC because so far they don’t have that technology.

• need cheap car on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:34 pm

RR drum cheaper than RR disc brakes. As long as it can brake safely within the target distance, drum is good as disc. ABS is must for safety braking. 6 airbags & ESC/VSA/VSM all expensive stuff. P2 target market differ from Proton. Produce cheaper car is their strategy. But even with 6 airbags, Preve sale is way behind any P2 model. Better put that 6 airbags cost into satisfied customer complaints.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:31 pm

ok, now i can read ur mind.

sales 1st, people nth.

• A cheap car is more important than a safe car? So, you just admit your life is cheap.

• pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:06 am

i thought perodua’s slogan is building car, people first?

• They Don't on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:07 pm

They can’t, even if they want to.. They dont have the brain to do that. Perodua only know how to rebadge cars from toyota/daihatsu..

• Aussieguy on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Well, Ima Malaysian, study @ Australia….
    No Alza or any P2 cars sold here…except the oris Daihatsu mira, coure and so on..
    P1 Exora is 1 of the best people mover(MPV) seller here…despite it’s cheap price, came with alot of safety features….it’s gonna be 5-star ANCAP rating for Aussie Exoras….even the sucky Malaysian build Saga…here, saga across it’s range all with ESC, ABD, EBD as standard..unlike Malaysian saga with no ESC, while build quality(especially the interior) is build as hard plastic as you seen in Altis/Civic…P2 Alza ar……worthless low quality 5 seaters wagon(3rd row for kids only), not consider extra 2 seaters…

• Sam Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:39 pm

again and again. Those stupid local so called car maker (or we can call it car rebadger) are doing same shit again. Haha. They should learn totyota, especially vios which got the cutting edge technology and design!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • They Don't on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:11 pm

i feel you man, ifeel you…hahaha

• GrenPa on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:15 pm

Perodua is a Sub-Toyota company.
      Daihatsu, Lexus, Hino, etc.
      Toyota got different brand for different market.

Scion – Primary for USA.
      Perodua – Primary for Malaysia.
      Since Malaysia Demand high Taxation for foregin car.

So Toyota had to set up a new company with local collaboration.
      Malaysia Local Car definition – Local Assembled with High content of Local parts.

So, Toyota had to set up Perodua.
      Perodua had proven to be successful.
      Now, Daihatsu is helping Perodua with a New Global Standard Factory – for Mass production of Global car.

Why now only do? Perodua is a new company, sourcing local content must have time to proof it’s reliability before Toyota want Perodua go Globally at full scale.

in summary.
      Perodua = Toyota tactic to conquer Malaysia market.

I think this is business.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:33 pm

wow cutting edge?

other than lexus, those “toyota” we have here are low-class.

• motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:44 pm

You want a comfortable 7 seater?? Get a MPV lah pandai.. Sigh..

• motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:53 pm

What technology perodua don’t have? Don’t you know Perodua rebadge daihatsu? Go to their service centers.. All Daihatsu stuffs. Perodua just adjust the product abit suit national market. It’s not about technology they don’t have, it just about cost & profit. Learn some business knowledge.

• Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:07 pm

Daihatsu engine far better fuel efficient than Exora Camprot engine suck fuel like hell.

Wonder who is still learning here!

• motorhead on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:43 pm

What’s your problem? When did I talk about Exora? Read all comments above before you talk. You didn’t get it, do you?

• pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 8:37 am

chill out. Nenek Jack is a perodua salesman. he/she tried to kill people mindset about proton and upgrading perodua. that is his/her role.

• motorhead on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:04 pm

Yes bro.. Those salesmen are getting worse..

• peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:52 pm

FYI.. daihatsu n Japn more interested invest in Indonesia… all their new product now manudacterd in Indonesia instead of malaysia.. they allow perodua to assemble the car just becoz of Gov incentive n privillage as malaysia national car

• norman on Dec 20, 2013 at 3:54 pm

In real terms Alza only score 4 stars in Asian rating while Exora 4 stars in ANCAP.Alza material mostly lightweight and not so durable during crash compared to bulky Exora.But reliable wise I go for Alza cause of its Daihatsu/Toyota engine.Exora meant for more long journey rides with more peace of mind for safetyness.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Dec 20, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Daihatsu/Toyota engine reliable…? AHAHAHAHA…!!!

My first year of ownership, my gearbox gave problem… And mine was not an isolated case. Perodua rushed to get new gearbox for me from Daihatsu, and that also took 5 weeks. That means my car got stranded for 5 weeks in kilang. You call that reliable ar…? FYI, that 5 weeks were just half of the total time my car sat in Perodua kilang waiting for replacement parts.

If you said Perodua acquired REJECTED technology from Toyota/Daihatsu, then I believe lar…

• bikers kental on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:29 am

told you so already. daihatsu dumped their old technology through perodua here in malaysia. Why daihatsu phased out their model using 4AT in Japan, but starting out the manufacturing plant in Nilai? they are concentrating using CVT in Japan for daihatsu model, while in Malaysia still use old 4AT. additionally, will there any significant cut of selling price for perodua model auto variant since the 4AT gearbox will be CKD not CBU unit anymore?

• If perodua can equip this with better spec and lower the price, I will wait for the exora sv… or exora premium with bigger discount… proton for sure will response if it has impact on exora market

• Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:08 pm

LOL you still wanna buy Proton…!!! Good luck with the petrol bills OK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:50 pm

no need to bash others to sell ur perodua… be a professional salesman la bro

prrrtfhhh

• phuwekkk on Jan 20, 2014 at 4:26 pm

if you want to save your petrol bill then don’t use your car. walk for the rest of your life. still talking about fuel when buying mpv ka? haiyooo..

• They Don't on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Typical Malaysian.. Want this and that for a peanut price..

• only stupid people rather pay more for less value for money car… it is typical stupid person looking for brand rather than spec..

• amd2u on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:16 pm

same engine ? no ESC ? alza for everyone ? I doubt

• Nenek Jack on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:28 pm

Exora still lost to Alza sales? Alza not even direct Exora competitor but Proton kecut perut like hell. Exora Bold over RM80K yet still buyers prefer Livina or Avanza.

Loser lah this Exora. Trying to compete both ends, but actually just joking itself. Hah, sell SV version kah? Running out of ideas? HA HA HA HA!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Sparcov on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:26 pm

It make no different whether is a Toyota advanza or Perodua Alza, it comes from the same plant if i not mistaken.

sharing the same engine and DNA. Both also equipped with locally made parts

Is that means Perodua is better than Proton?
    Yes in terms of vendor and quality control, technology sharing from Toyota and Daihatsu.

No in terms of in house technology, R&D capability and innovation.

At the end Proton can develop its own engine, car, chasis and proudly say “yes made by Proton” e.g. Preve,new saga,satria neo,exora,waja.

Perhaps they still leaning to refine their drivetrain and design, but at least it proved they can build car.

In this competitive market, car buyer don’t really want to know where the car origin from, whether they copy, rebatch, sharing, new in house develop car. Most important is the car value for money without sacrificing safety,efficiency,economical.

All car will depreciate over the time, is only depends how many percent it depreciate and how fast it will depreciate. RV may not be the priority in today’s market. Some may want to enjoy a common car e.g. honda, toyota or nissan by saying they are reliable and high resale value.

some may go for peugeot, kia or hyundai for something different without taking too much care on RV.

So it depends on willing buyer willing seller basis.

• Beatthetraffic on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:36 pm

Need to treat to discuss about toll hike. Like paultan fans apply some pressure to the federal government

• Hedges on Dec 20, 2013 at 4:47 pm

ohhh… Daihatsu Boon.

• Perodua Alza is a rebadged Daihatsu Boon Luminas. Perodua Alza lacks the advanced features of the Proton Exora, such as the Body Control Module (BCM).

Typically in a car the BCM controls the power windows, power mirrors, air conditioning, immobilizer system, central locking, etc. The BCM communicates with other on-board computers via the car’s vehicle bus, and its main application is controlling load drivers – actuating relays that in turn perform actions in the vehicle such as locking the doors or dimming the salon overhead lamp.

Perodua Alza is equipped with a de-tunned 102 bhp, 136 Nm 1.5-litre engine, borrowed from the Toyota Avanza.

• Sparcov on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:51 pm

To be honest, as a preve owner, I really don’t feel the BCM.

what I can feel is, when i switch on the fog lights, they will automatically switch off when I restart my car engine the next morning. Also, it will automatically lock again if i did not not open the door after number of seconds.

so for me, the BCM not that obvious :(

• Conti cars like the Peugeot 408 i have also does the same thing of what you mentioned,both the fog lights and the door lock. And i guess its for a purpose,as fog lights are really meant to be used in a Fog,or maybe it won’t be too necessary sometimes,and the doorlock is when you unlock your car in the carpark for example,then you turn back to go pay for the carpark ticket that is in your pocket. Then the doors lock so that anyone is not able to sneak in while you’re away and have forgotten to lock it. Another car like an ’06 Yaris have the lock feature as well.

• Badrul on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:36 am

there interesting thing about BCM communicates through CAN is, the command can be set up like computer programming. for example, if vehicle speed more than 20km/h, auto-lock sensor will detect it as 1, and lock the door. if not, it will assume as 0, and not lock the door. the vehicle speed can be changed and disable. something like that.

• walauweh on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:38 am

mr sparcov,u dont feel bcm is obvious becoz u dont used it or play with it,n not involve in situation that bcm may save ur car or ur life.

just give some example to you. u can choose unlock the driver door only when press the unlock button on the key fob,or to unlock all 4 doors. its actually for security n for female drive so that intruders cant sneek in through other doors.

u can determined the interminent speed of ur wiper. u can adjust the duration during wipe.

n for exora n suprima,if on front wiper during raining, if u engaged reverse gear to reverse,rear wiper will automatically on,n it will turn off automatically when u disenggaged reverse gear.

and where do u think rain sensor n light sensor come from?its part of abcm of ur preve.

n this is where bcm may save ur car n ur life. when u do emergency braking at speed beyond 90kmh, the hazard light will on automatically,to help warn the incoming or outcoming vehicle ur situation.

auto unlock features if involve in collision,to help out in safety action to take out the occupant inside the car coz if the door is lock,then its hard to them to take out the occupant.

thats why now many cars in malaysia which previously has autolock features,now they dont have it because unece homogolation requirement that u need to have auto unlock during collision,then u can have autolock when driving.

myvi n alza has autolock previously,same as new elantra,but now they dont have it. but becoz of bcm,prtn has autolock n autounlock features that may save ur life.

if u want to know about ur ABCM in ur preve,read ur manual that come with the car. there are bundles of usefull function that u can used as comfort,security n safety.

no wonder u think bcm is just a small thing.

• farghmee on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:23 pm

they won’t understand BCM.
      penat je menerangkn.

• Alex Chan on Dec 20, 2013 at 5:45 pm

DONT FEED THE TROLL (Sam loo and the parasites)

• saya betul tak tahan orang yang pakai toyota sahaja sudah begitu. saya mempunyai vw passat, myvi,saga,dan baru ini beli accord terbaru & estima recond. semua dibeli dengan tunai kecuali accord loan 40k di bayar dalam masa 2 tahun. saya selalu memandu myvi dan saga untuk outstation 200km, saya tak rasa itu kereta orang miskin atau apa, saya rasa itu kereta rakyat malaysia. rakyat malaysia mesti tukar fikiran, jangan ingat kereta murah mesti tak baik dan tak class, ingat kita bayar 40k boleh dapat kereta baru itu panggil super value !

• catnium on Dec 20, 2013 at 6:31 pm

Alza got ASEAN NCAP 4 star (in which the tested variant is not equipped with ABS) still get 4 star.
    EXORA got ANCAP 4 star but the tested variant was equipped with Dual frontal airbags,Side airbags with thorax and head protection, Antilock brakes (ABS), electronic brake distribution (EBD)
    and electronic stability control (ESC).
    BUT the question is do we get the exora with the same spec like Aus here?? If Our exora spec tested in Aus do you think still get 4 star??
    so why so proud with the star get from Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) since that was not the car we have here!

• phuwekkk on Jan 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm

apart from the side airbag and ESC, yes we do get the same spec as the above in Malaysia. Do your study kid.

• Atuk kencing malam on Dec 20, 2013 at 7:54 pm

Kenapa kereta saga atuk first model tak ada ANCAP ? Tapi kalau kereta lain yang langgar kereta atuk semua kemek teruk . Kenapa ya? Kereta lain tu semua ada ANCAP la . Hairan la atuk. Kenapa kereta atuk tak ada ancap ? Huk huk huk. Maap… Atuk dah tua….. Nak mampus dah.

• Ada org naik kereta perodua atau proton tp tinggal dirumah banglo, ada yang naik honda civic atau toyota altis tapi tinggal di rumah flat….kereta apa yg kita pakai tak mencerminkan status kita bijak atau bodoh, kaya atau miskin…tp orang yang hanya memandang rendah pada orang lain tu yang sebenarnya bodoh sombong tak bertempat….

• Only fools still think that just becoz a nation can build its own car, it be proud…building is one thing, almost every nation can do wat Potong do, but building good quality cars and marketing and selling them worldwide is another thing…and they all hire the best designers, the best engineers…and again, the Waja was based on old Volvo/ Mitsu platform, and Saga based on Savvy platform, which was based on some old French platform..no wonder so many people still blindly believe wat Potong said ( the Waja 1st Potong platform wholley desogned and built by them)

• Totally wrong.. to built a car is not easy and not many country able to do and survive it.. It take many2 years to be successful in this field.

• pirlo on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:32 pm

which volvo/mitsu model that waja derived from? and savvy from where?
      please enlighten us.
      thank you.

• So what about those platform? Now the preve and exora are on its on platform and now those new GSC platform is coming. Proton is progressing and improving. And yes other automakers are also using their platforms again and again. You never heard about Vios? Go figure.

• Betul bro, gua tau manyak olang pandu Vios, City, Elantra lansi pandang rendah kat keta Potong tapi poket diaroang kosong

• jacksonljs on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:07 am

dan hari-hari terakhir sebelum gaji masuk hanya makan mi maggi yg cepat dimasak dan sedap dimakan.

• tapi yang pastinya, saya bekas pengguna proton gen2. nasihat, jangan sekali-sekali beli kereta proton. sangat sangat sangat menyakitkan hati. pendapat peribadi, perodua 10 kali lebih baik. Wallahu a’lam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • blublibla on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:25 am

Proton zaman bila? Kalau awal 2000 macam Gen-2 tu jgn cakaplah. Proton yg 4 tahun kebelakangan ni dah cuba? The Saga BLM that we bough in 2009 is still running smoothly and there are no rattles form the interior plastic panels. We have absolutley no complaints about the car. Don’t talk cock if you haven’t tried the new ones

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Badrul on Dec 21, 2013 at 1:40 am

saya bekas pengguna perodua kenari. saya tidak kisah kereta tersebut tidak mempunyai kestabilan yang bagus kerana body yang tinggi (high COG contributes to unstable moving body). tetapi, saya pakai tak sampai setahun, body bergegar-gegar macam nak runtuh masa enjin idling. mounting dia takde getah ke nak absorb vibration? NVH level kat dalam tak usah cerita. gearbox shock? semua gear ada. tingkap rosak sebelah penumpang depan.

• perodua pon mcm2 problem jugak

• i dont mind my status low while having glamour in my pocket nor bank~

• Justin on Dec 21, 2013 at 7:05 am

Honestly, I have owned 2 protons.
    Persona b-line 2012 and Preve executive 2012.
    Both have been great. No problems at all.
    Infact we even have a myvi 2010 at home and iis more is great too.

So, I really don’t see why people complain about our local cars. For me both Proton and Perodua are good. But personally I like Proton more because I feel the company is more caring and the cars are more value for money.

All I can say is, just buy what makes you happy and enjoy it. Life is too short to think about how others will judge us or whatever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • SoJustinHai on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:37 pm

Poor guy (Justin), I bet you never use other cars other than P1 and P2. Go seat in other cars before you talk kok here. Whatever, continue to enjoy your “best car in life” as I bet you never got chance to buy other cars. Pity…sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • niaulong on Dec 21, 2013 at 2:48 pm

“SoJustinHai”

I showed u a dislike for unmoral talking to said ppl .

Guess you are rich guy or “Pretending Rich guy” thats typical with high salary always attacking ppl who buy/praise thier National product.

Go back to primary school and learn moral and make sure u have pass your moral.

p.s – And u also dont dare to use your own name to post here..

• SoJustinHai on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:10 am

OMFG! ur real name is “niaulong”?! Hey, “niaulong”, put ur “niau” back to ur pants than put on ur face. I know u are butthurt as well by owning these junk and no money to buy better car. I understood ur situation. Another pity butthurt “P” owner.

• catnium on Dec 21, 2013 at 6:45 pm

From your comment i can conclude that you are the lucky Proton user (Or you still keep quiet/ proud with your proton car even face problem with your car because if let people know you spend so much money for that kind of car…).

• cktan on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:46 am

I have been using PROTON for the past 12 years. From Iswara to Saga BLM, honestly you get what you pay for. But I would like stress that my 2008 Saga has never failed me. No rattling or breakdowns. I have to admit that Campro is not a FC friendly engine however it gives you enough power. All comes with proper maintenance.

What you sow, is what you reap.

• And honestly i have 1xWira sedan, 1xWira hatchback, and all the common poblems tat hundreds pf thousands of owners had, me too…power window poblems, peeling paints, dropping bumpers, engine overhauled once ( and again next week), gearbox at least once etc…soem of u may argue tis was the old Potong models, but u knwo wat, i heard and saw myself the same poblems with Waja and Personas…just becoz u happne to have “no” poblem wit yur Potongs doesnt mean all oter owners donnt have and doesnt proved Potongs quality…look at the rating agencies like JD Power and u will know wherePotong stands,

• nizam on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:55 am

Better if produa redesign teh panel meter and place it in front of the steering wheel. This is why i didn’t choose Alza.

• Niaulong on Dec 21, 2013 at 12:33 pm

Guys,

Assume u sweep the Aladdin Tea pot in somewhere else.

“Master! I got only new Alza and new Exora in shame-loo yard, which one do u prefer. It’s free for u.

Please choose… Or u want used kimchi or used sushi below 70k.

• catnium on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:25 am

ALZA for sure. I dont want to suffer from that heavy fuel sucker esok-la…

• kuriboh on Dec 21, 2013 at 6:47 pm

the only thing P2 can do..change bumper design and added some interior device, and still using Daihatsu and Toyota platform. At least now P1 is much better designing their own car (I’m not a P1 fans but I salute their effort). Open your eyes Malaysian!

• ALZOK on Dec 22, 2013 at 12:08 pm

Alza doesn’t has stability control. Period.

• nationhopeless on Dec 22, 2013 at 4:57 pm

Both Proton & Perodua doesn’t need to exist anymore. All they do is rebadge foreign cars, make it into a lower cost, less safe versions.

What is the mission of Proton & Perodua? Is it simply to rebadge? Where’s the R&D? How can we be proud of something that is not ours?

“Belilah barangan buatan Malaysia” & “Support our Malaysian cars”. Guess what, those cars are not ours. The only thing that is Malaysian about those cars are the logos.

What do you think foreign investors think about automobile industry in Malaysia? “Imitators, cheap market, low quality”. The tag “Made in Malaysia” is even less respected than the tag of “Made in China”.

You think foreigners want to buy Proton Accord or Proton Lancer? When they can get the latest originals at about the same price?

Is this what Proton & Perodua mission & vision? To cheat the rakyat, only care about untung and no aspiration to build their own cars and penetrate the global market? If that is it, then Proton & Perodua should be closed down.

This brings shame to our country.

• fakta_auto on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:47 am

reading all the comments here strangely no ioma/amoi to defend from p2 bashers.. but i senses nenekjack=grenpa=ioma=amoi since all of them have the same pattern.. defend p2 by attacking p1 (wonder why not any other brand) without facts and mislead people.. c’mon laa p2 is already leading the market why still want to play dirty in doing business.. if the product & service are good it will speak for itself.. why so kiasu one.. the japs & kimchis are competing each other healthily by offering better spec and feature to customer not by bad-mouthing each other.. yes i do own an alza and it had served me well for the past 3 years but i still wish p2 will improves it safety features.. yes it may be asean ncap certified but i am fully aware of the ncap regulation.. don’t just trick anyone into thinking that asean ncap & australian ncap rating is the same.. it’s not.. full stop!

and for p1 people out there please take note on this.. if you can come up with a smaller mpv with better safety spec i might consider switching side in the future..

• Gerry on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:39 am

Now if this New Alza comes with 6 Airbags & ESP/DSC, that would be Perfect! Proton has already equip some of their Cars with 6 Air-bags, how soon is Perodua gonna do the same?

• Bezzerk on Dec 23, 2013 at 12:46 pm

this topic should be about alza. how come proton get a bash. WTF.

• Seriously??? on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:14 pm

Guys, are we serious about safety?
    i know the car is cheap hence it comes with lesser fit. But,should passanger safety undercut everything else? Should that be the very base thing even before we talk about accesories?
    I’m trying my level best not to be biased but i’ve heard fair amount of incidents on Alza turning turtle once it loose control. i myself have personally seen 4 such incidents, including 1 involving my friend & 1 more just very recently (last Friday, 20 Dec) at PLUS heading to north, just before LATAR exit.
    I just hope everyone emphasis more on safety features then ‘mekap’ as our national automobile system is not as stringen as those of US / EU.

• peyno on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:46 pm

now is era of SAFETY… urban ppl need more safety car.. kampung ppl needs more stupid accesories

• Bongcs on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:12 am

Well. you cant get two good things at a time.

• michelle on Jan 02, 2014 at 2:46 pm

alza cantik but..coba ubah ckit butut dia pasti tampak lbh maaantap.

• Alza 2014 on Jan 07, 2014 at 2:40 am

kenapa mesti marah dengan perodua jika mereka keluarkan model baru ? kebetulan ikut proton sbb bertukar wajah? tapi model nih lebih menarik dan ditambah pelbagai aksesori baru didalamnya.. salute alza baru.. ! =)

• logen on Jan 10, 2014 at 12:04 pm

i think this new alza is better than the stupid refreshed new grand livina where they just change the lights oni not the interior at all.alza got at least changes made in and out and now is more looking more unique

• coplaint on Jan 14, 2014 at 3:40 pm

what la dam old design back no aircond same before dam shit designer