Lamborghini Huracan LP 610-4 replaces the Gallardo

lamborghini-huracan-0001

This is the new Lamborghini Huracan, which will replace the Gallardo in Sant’Agata’s line-up. It will make its world debut at the 2014 Geneva Motor Show, as well as over 130 private preview events in over 60 cities around the world.

The Huracan nameplate replaces the Gallardo which was used for the last two generations. The word Huracan basically means hurricane, but it still has bull origins. It is named after a fighting bull named Huracan of the Spanish Conte de la Patilla breed from the 1870s, said to be known for its outstanding courage and strong sense of attack.

The interior is finished in Fine Nappa leather and Alcantara, with multiple colour options. A 12.3-inch full-colour TFT instrument panel delivers all car information to the driver, from rev counter to navigation maps and infotainment functions.

lamborghini-huracan-0011

The gods of downsizing and turbocharging have spared this one, as it continues to be powered by a normally-aspirated high-revving V10 engine. The 5.2 litre V10 now has Iniezione Diretta Stratificata or IDS, which combines both direct-injection and port-injection.

The result is a maximum output of 610 hp at 8,250 rpm and a peak torque of 560 Nm at 6,500 rpm. This engine is mated to a seven-speed dual clutch Lamborghini Doppia Frizione (LDF) gearbox, and power to all four wheels.

Standstill to 100 km/h takes just 3.2 seconds, and the car will hit 200 km/h in 9.9 seconds, on to a top speed of over 325 km/h. The Huracan has a dry weight of 1,422 kg.

lamborghini-huracan-0006

The different driving modes of the Huracan can be selected via a driving dynamics selector switch in the steering wheel – Strada, Sport and Corsa. The driving modes influence gearbox and engine behavrious, sound, the four wheel drive system and the electronic stability control system. Carbon ceramic brakes are standard.

Optional is a variable ratio steering system called Lamborghini Dynamic Steering, and magneto-rheologic suspension damper control, also adjustable via the three modes if equipped in the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 21, 2013 at 8:31 pm

1 word: Sexy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • GT-Rider on Dec 21, 2013 at 10:57 pm

GT-R is still faster

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 59
      • Gitu je on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:49 am

GTR is not a luxury car its only a fast Jap car.
        nothing to proud about.

This on the other hand superior brand…
        Luxury..

In terms on reliability or resale no comment..
        but those with platinum taste and style will get this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
        • GT-Rider on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:05 am

Who cares about luxury when you can smoke this car like a peanut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 43
          • so what if the gtr is faster? The gtr is everywhere, some even driven by ah beng. The lambo on the other hand, only those privileged enough can own one, which makes it special

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • If it clashes, it’ll end up in flame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • Anti-Fuel-Price on Dec 22, 2013 at 3:22 pm

LOL!!! good one WTH. But each driver got his own “favourite” brand/make. GT-R is fast (for speed purist) while Lambo is Luxury Sports Car. So no offend, but Huracan really far more sexy than GT-R :)
            Cheers Bro!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Redundant comment. You go mod your evo also can be fastest.

• Heng Lee on Dec 22, 2013 at 6:01 pm

GT-R looks as sexy as a Sylphy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • GTR sucks on Dec 22, 2013 at 6:05 pm

Wira turbo already smokes GTR like nothing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reiEnb9DJ4Y

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • _xXx_ on Dec 22, 2013 at 7:01 pm

can’t see who won but anyway tat stoopid GT-R driver was insulting other GT-R owners by racing with a wira (WTF?)…

• Heng Lee on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:02 pm

You meant he was insulting other GT-R drivers by LOSING against a Wira? :D

• GT-Rider on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:45 pm

Kid, enough with such childish post. It doesn’t show any racing spirit at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:46 am

Any car can beat any hypercar or supercar; provided that car has a powerful enough engine and gearbox that can cope with all that power and correctly ratio-ed fro drag racing and good enough traction to the ground.
          However, in the twisties, now, that is a whole different story.

• i support the bike guy ^^
          he looks fast too

• thedarkside on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:19 am

cant afford a lambo and probably also a GTR comment

• It may be faster but if you were in a GTR and someone pulled up next to you at a stop light in this, you’d have second thoughts. Also the GTR is a sophisticated computer on wheels. The car defies the laws of physics around the bends with its tech which is something the Europeans don’t emphasize on. Europeans aim at the mechanical aspect of a car, not electronically and even so, not to the extent the Japanese and pushed it. That’s why the GTR takes it to a whole new level.

• D.I.Y on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:08 pm

why the car look so cuties ady?

• Mormon on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:30 pm

Lotus Élan ripoff!! Sue them!!

On the other note, such a lame ad for a Lambo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • iskhalifah on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:05 am

Yup the front part looks eerily similiar to Elan concept. Frankly this bull looks ‘tame’. I would expect some kind of design language derived from the Reventon, Sesto Elemento or Veneno. Those are really raging bulls, not this one.

• Hadi75 on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Niiiceeeee……

• AUSNSW on Dec 21, 2013 at 9:49 pm

not bad…

• Iniezione Diretta Stratificata

Lamborghini Doppia Frizione

damm why Italian sound so nice

• As Italian and French are one of the most romantic language?
      But I’m glad that Lamborghini finally has their own dual-clutch gearbox. Maybe it can be fitted on next generation Aventador? Surely will unleash its full potential.

• Don’t be surprised when “Lamborghini Doppia Frizione” is translated to English it reads “Audi S-Tronic” :).

Gallardo is probably 80% Audi if not higher. Just look in the engine bay to see the four rings everywhere

• thedarkside on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:15 am

great comment

• chauffeur on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:33 pm

I like the side profile, but the frontal and rear view looked a bit mundane. Better stick to my Ferrari then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
  • Muddy on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Very fierce frontal look! Resembling a cobra with wide open mouth!

• Toyota Fanboi on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:36 pm

Toyota is so much better than Lamborghini. Lamborghini is prone to burning. Nobody can beat reliability of Toyota. Toyota is the best car manufacturer in the history of mankind. Toyota – Then, Now, Forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
    • Heng Lee on Dec 22, 2013 at 7:40 pm

One more advantage: Toyota doesn’t use 7-speed dual clutch.

4 speed auto more reliable and can use spare parts from 1945.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • thedarkside on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:13 am

fanatic comment

• Greyson on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:13 pm

Herm. Toyota huh.I think they have lost their design language. Regarding the engines and transmission it is proven and reliable but mind that its a old stuff and in the world where we care about fuel efficiency and Carbon fleet this formula is unusable. Toyota has to come up.with new technologies with their engine and transmission. The current Toyota simply cant impress me. EXCEPT Prius.

• spongewai on Dec 21, 2013 at 11:38 pm

mini Aventador

one word JENG

price est from RM1.5mil when arrived

• Preve is better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Yeah. Why no one comments on that? Preve better because it has turbo engine, this only NA

• The Huracan NA engine has roughly 120hp/litre of engine displacement..

Preve turbo has only about 87hp/litre of displacement..

Turbo still lose to NA power density, damn malu..

• thedarkside on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:10 am

yeah…top class comment..lol

• macky on Dec 22, 2013 at 6:44 am

Rock You like Huracan

• Mini Aventador

• kucipan on Dec 22, 2013 at 12:10 pm

proton please design your car like this! and i will buy proton till 8th generation

• Rocket on Dec 22, 2013 at 2:36 pm

Certainly this lambo is worthy progeny of gallardo, with even the most powerful x-men, magneto, is listed as its option (ceramic brake is standard, mind you!). The tradition of NA engine has been preserved to the joy of lambo purist, but not without challenges in meeting the strict emission control of the future law (we are talking of 10 years horizon). But in the end, who cares, as we, the indignified citizen of the end of time, can sit back, and enjoy the ride (if we can afford it!)! Bravo lamborghini!!

• Fem Pawah on Dec 22, 2013 at 3:08 pm

Mai wee looks so much better! Especially the sedan!

• Super rich vip toy.me only can afford gallardo RC as toy.

• I really like this Huracan than veneno. This huracan much better from my perspective

• Amarjie on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:59 am

The back end reminds me of Lancia Stratos, at a glance…

• farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:52 am

Nice car.
    But why all the irrelevant comments? GTR faster la, Preve better la, Toyota better la?
    Is this the mentality of Malaysians? Why can’t we just appreciate the beauty of this beast?

• Nice to see. But impossible to own.

• Joe Radzif on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:13 am

Beast!

• Sam Loo on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:24 am

I agree with toyota fanboi.I can mod my gt86 with quad turbo to smoke this beast.

• idunnoyualwaystalkrv on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:08 pm

Go ahead then,we would like to see it.(Change the bloody meter and dashboard also if u can……)

• thedarkside on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:09 am

my dream car…..

• Handos Chicken Chilli Sauce on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:55 am

I don’t know man about this. I think Vios is better in term of fuel saving, reliability and handling.

• this is the worst lambo ad.
    cant wait to see the official lambo ad.

• Derick on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:23 pm

Looks fierce and sexy!!Can see cannot buy :(

• if i try to speculate its price in Malaysia (by comparing with the Aventador already in sales on our shore).

Aventador = USD 397,500 (USA) = RM 3.0 million (Malaysia)
    http://paultan.org/2011/12/15/driven-lamborghini-aventador-lp700-4-in-sepang/

Huracan = USD 200,000 (USA) = RM 1.5 million (Malaysia)?

which is about right, if a brand new limited edition Gallardo would set you back 1.68 million

http://paultan.org/2012/05/03/lamborghini-gallardo-malaysia-limited-edition-20-units/

• ariel on Jan 10, 2015 at 2:06 am

are you GT-R lovers are crazy!?
    thets a lamborgini! its a legend
    a supercar
    no way a normal muscel can beat thet!