Electricity tariff to go up in January 2014 – how will electric car owners be affected?

tnb-tariff

If you’ve been paying attention to Malaysian news, you would have read that consumers will have to brace for a hike in electricity rates in January 2014. Unless you live in a condo with a strata title, we should all be paying for electricity under Tariff A – Domestic Tariff. Tenaga Nasional have revised both the price bands as well as the price per kWh. The new rates are shown above.

You might be thinking what has this to do with motorists. Well, since electric cars are now officially here in Malaysia, electricity prices are as much as a concern as fuel prices for owners of these cars. We decided to have a look at how much extra an owner of an electric car such as the Mitsubishi i-MiEV or the Nissan Leaf would be paying under the new rates.

We’ll base our calculators on the experiences of our contributor Daniel Yap with the Nissan Leaf pilot programme, where he drove a Nissan Leaf as a daily driver over a period of six weeks. Over the six weeks he had with the car, he traveled a total of 1,785 km, or about 42.5 km per day. For all that, he consumed 361.4 kWh of electricity to recharge the car.

Nissan LEAF - 10072012 - _78

That translates to just under 5 km per kWh, or 4.94 km per kWh to be more precise. Based on the old tariff’s highest price bracket which is 45.4 sen per kWh, he basically spent RM164.08 over the period of six weeks charging the car. At that tariff, the price per km is about 9.2 sen per km.

The new tariff is 57.10 sen per kWh. That translates to 11.42 sen per km. So the same 1,785 km would have cost him RM203.85 instead of RM164.08.

So how much more would you have to pay for electricity per month for your Nissan Leaf based on the new tariff? This assumes the same driving pattern that Daniel used of course.

Mileage Old Tariff (9.2 sen per km) New Tariff (11.42 sen per km)
1,000 km per month RM92.00 RM114.20
2,000 km per month RM184.00 RM228.40
3,000 km per month RM276.00 RM342.60
4,000 km per month RM368.00 RM456.80
5,000 km per month RM460.00 RM571.00

Daniel, who coincidentally owns a VW Golf TSI, says that based on a similiar driving style with how he drove the Leaf, the VW would consume 11.63 litres per 100 km. That would be 232.6 litres per month, or RM488.46. The gap between electric and Golf TSI is a difference of RM260 per month.

So yes, are you considering an electric car, and has the recent electricity tariff announcement made you rethink your decision? Share your thoughts in the comments.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• motorhead on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:05 pm

New tariffs.. EV hub? Toll increase..NAP.. It’s all make sense..

100% EV is craps anyway.. Dead halfway or trap in a bad traffic jam, where to charge?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 12
    • BMW Fanboi on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:07 pm

That’s not a fair comparison Paul. You compared the running cost between his Leaf and Golf. You need to remember that Mr. Daniel Yap needs to factor in all his DSG failures as well. The towing charges itself is already super high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
    • Someone needs to develop powerbank for cars then.. Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
    • Peter on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:38 pm

EV are not realistic in our country. Even you go the station to recharge, you might not have the time. Every time bfr driving out, you better prepare a drive plan (vs flight plan) like a aircraft pilot: consider traffic cond, weather, fuel level … etc. unless you only drive for very short distance.

• LimPek on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm

this is absolutely worst than Toyota Prius!
      my Prius average 4.3-4.5L per 100km.
      (4.4 x 2.1)/100= 0.0924
      so about 9.2cent per km

• Whynot on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:23 pm

Today EV are not so practical as the mileage per charge is about 100Kms. But future EV is about 5 to 10 times as per full charge. Let assume we do not own this present 100Kms EV. Why not make E-EV? EEV or Extended EV are car that still runs on fossil fuels but the engine does not drive the car but mainly for air-cond and charging the batteries. The beauty of EEV is that you do not have to find charging stations. It is very much better than any hybird on all cost saving on fuel consumption!

• wow.. not so saving than i expected.
    whatever happens to cars with hydrogen fuel cells? shame as it is renewable energy rather than electric

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Heng Lee on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:41 am

Hydrogen is renewable energy?

94% of the hydrogen produced worldwide is made from natural gas.

Electrolyses of water is not used to produce hydrogen, as it’s uneconomical…

• Hydrogen cell car oso EV car..unlike normal EV this type of EV uses chemical reaction to power electric motor…main source of hydrogen currently in production is from crude oil

• Jab! Strong! Fierce! on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:37 pm

There’s just too many limitations in owning an electric car for now, hence the Golf TSI or any petrol based car is the obvious, practical choice. I believe most Malaysian would only consider electric vehicle when there’s a substantial quick charging station being deployed sufficiently around the country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • spark on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:40 pm

‘kalau tak suka eletrik naik jangan guna eletrik pergi pakai lilin sana,’ – menteri xxx.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 7
  • anti body kit on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:55 pm

On paper, everything seems rosy for electric car ie maintenance, cleaner enviroment and low cost of electricity compared to petrol. What about if you drive to say Penang and half way no more juice, so what happened? Can switch to power bank?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
    • taboogen on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:10 am

dont think so that EV car are meant for long distance.

• farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:39 am

I guess, electric cars make sense driving in towns, at least in our country. In the US for example, Tesla started placing fast charging station along certain routes so that Tesla drivers can recharge their vehicle for long trips.
      With the current hike in electricity, I don’t see the government commitment is sincere towards these green cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
      • PassingBy on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:38 pm

correction there, which government commitment is actually sincere? they even question u back bout their sky high electric bill. forget bout green cars in their list.

• Toyota Fanboi on Dec 22, 2013 at 8:56 pm

nobody own electric car anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
  • We will make things cheaper they said….prices of things will be lowered they said

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
  • kadajawi on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Basically it seems like electric cars don’t make any sense at all in Malaysia. Petrol and diesel are too cheap, electricity is too expensive. A modern diesel engine will easily consume less than the Leaf…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • sonyman on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:14 pm

diesel is great, but a lot of petrol station always run out of stock. dont believe just hang around at any petrol station. and it seems they have achieve their quota, and cannot order replacement till next month, that was like last week.

Not once i encounter this, many times. I dont drive a diesel, but when paying for something i always pity those lorry drivers. No more diesel,

• Nissan leaf = expensive
    vw golf = expensive +stupid gb
    electric bills = expensive + stupid tnb + ….. think whatever u want to think

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5
    • Gitu je on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:04 pm

True..

BUT dont go for cheapo Audi/Seat/Skoda/VW with the dry clutch; (D)ie (S)ure (G)earbox…

go for the WET clutch DSG; minimized problem..
      far superior then the DRY…

• superbird #43 on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:17 pm

Dr. Leo, have u gone mad?

• Okay election is over, back to driving:
    petrol price goes up

okay, okay nevermind, I can bare with that, I’ ll just drive more efficiently in highway:
    Toll price goes up.

WTF!! well nem, I heard those hybrid cars does save petrol, and they are pretty cheap for the spec:
    Future Hybrid cars incentive uncertain

Well screw private cars, I’ ll just bare with Malaysian public transport:
    Public transport fees goes up!

Sigh, well electric cars dosen’t use petrol and have no service chargse, and I live near, so I’ ll just get one:
    Electric price goes up…

Well Sh*t

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 173 Thumb down 4
  • Green on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:35 pm

Golf TSI 11.63l/100km = 8.6 km/l

8.6km/L??

Mad driving style??
    or
    VW drivetrain not only not reliable, but also not fuel efficient?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
    • it could b urban driving… its just a comparison between electric n petrol with the same driving pattern, and not a question of how fuel efficient golf tsi is…

• Heng Lee on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:49 am

‘The best result of the day was a scarcely believable 3.7 litres per 100 km, far bettering the Golf TSI’s official claimed combined figure of 5.0 litres/100 km. That equates to over 27 km per litre of fuel used, all over real-world roads. That’s beyond hybrid territory! Not bad for a car that’s capable of an 8.4 second 0-100 km/h sprint and 200 km/h top speed.’

http://paultan.org/2013/08/22/volkswagen-think-blue-national-championship-2013/

• farizY on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:45 am

Who have to drive like a complete pondan to get higher than that. 8.6km/L is quite reasonable.

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:27 pm

Mr Green,

that 8.6km/L is of Golf TSI.

the catch word here is that he drives (pattern) the Leaf more or less the same as he would in Golf.

as long as he’s happy with it, that’s ok.

i believe these values varies with driving patterns.
      so as Daniel’s, the RM saved is RM233.
      & i also think that the road are heavily congested.

on the contrary,
      if some1 else manage to drive light-footed (drive pattern) the saved money will be different.

however, there is a catch.
      as the electricity usage is a tier-ed based,
      the actual money he will spent on the Leaf may as well escalated not as predicted in the article above.
      we use electricity in our home more than in the car,
      so the consumption will be higher & new tier maybe reached before the next charging phase of Leaf.

apart from this, yes it is another rant.
      only landed-houses (or ground floor of apartment) will be have the previlage of plug in the socket into their car. Or they can tap the electricity from nearby surau? ;)

• GrenPa on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:13 pm

I think, even highly congested.
        from mixed driving stated 5L/100km or 20km/L

and get 8.6km/L @ urban driving is insane.
        just 1.4L TSI.

It’s not 8.6km/L that matters.
        1. It’s far from the OFFICIAL AMOUNT (mixed driving)
        2. It’s only 1400cc. TSI.

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:16 pm

we never know his driving style.
          so anything is possible.

5L/100km is hardly achievable even during highway cruising. petrol engine, non-hybrid.

• Some ppl can read the brochure much better than anyone else.. kudos..

• 1000km for RM 114.20 or 5000km for RM571.00 equals to 11.4cents/km…

Prius C FC is better than this, and Jazz Hybrid FC is comparable…

What are the real benefits of electric car besides zero emission?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Green on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:41 pm

EV is more like a rich Man’s toys for now.

We cannot judge it by using Quantity Method.

http://paultan.org/2013/11/07/toyota-fcv-concept/
      On the other side,

Toyota FCV Concept coming in 2015.
      Benefit: Hydrogen Powered
      1. 3 mintues refuelling.
      2. Run>500km
      3. Practical for everyday usage and Balik Kampung.
      Why 2015, not NOW?
      – It’s now in the stage to gain Public Acception.
      2015 will be good enough to get some sales.

But still, it’s Rich Man toys for the beginning of the game.

• … no need to save the world, it is end of the world anyway!

• motorhead on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:57 pm

When all go up.. Oneday the minister will ask us naik kereta lembu.. Or use bicycles.. You all wait & see..

• PassingBy on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:44 pm

they already been asking u to use a bicycle everyday. the ad is on the radio everyday. pfft

• Tuapuikia on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:09 pm

What to comment? Nothing is free in life. Driving the leaf may be cheaper but what is the return on investment like, if compare to driving that golf? 50 years perhaps?

• _xXx_ on Dec 22, 2013 at 10:18 pm

with that kind of car price, what’s the point of talking about consumption? It’s meaningless even though its consumption is 0.1sen/km coz depreciation/year is sky high

• can’t believe it’ll cost so little less for electricity over petrol. No reason to switch then when such a boring car like the leaf costs so much!!!

• limahpek on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Nissan leaf + electric tariff hike = really a bad combination. Hybrid is a better value option for now.

My Prius for RM13k cheaper at RM145k travels 9-10cents a km in city drive!! With the saving in RM13k, i could get 130,000km traveled assuming fuel price remains. Hybrid would be a better choice than electric car now, no paranoid of charging when travel long distance.

• preve_laser_beak on Dec 22, 2013 at 11:04 pm

Kereta elektrik ini sama harga lebih kurang dengan bil elektrik di rumah. Teruk betul dgn tarif baru TNB. TNB bodo. BN bodo.
    Semua mahal. Pakai elektrik car pun mahal, pakai petrol/diesel car pun mahal. Semua mahal. Mmg mampus terus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • With 0.05sen/km, NGV still cheaper thoo! :D

• in times like disaster, gasoline is always more reliable than electric..

• Obviously on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:47 am

The way things are in Malaysia, one does not buy hybrids and EV’s to save money. They cost a ton to begin with so much so that most citizens will not even consider the price range they sit in. It would take many years (reaching into decades) for the cheaper energy source of EV’s or the fuel efficiency of hybrids for the savings in fuel costs to recoup some of the cost that goes into purchasing the said vehicle.

IMO, one buys these sort of vehicles only out of good will for the environment and for the future generation of human beings. Or out of curiosity or to show off. In Malaysia, at least, the cars aren’t cheap enough to be an economic solution and are more of an extravagant option.

That said, the Leaf is more economical than the Golf TSI, hands down. And all this talk about running out of juice in traffic is really because people are used to not planning their trips ahead for the day according to driving range, spoiled by the flexibility allowed by the use of a gas tank. Using an EV would require more planning ahead than a conventional or hybrid vehicle.

• LatukBandar on Dec 23, 2013 at 3:42 am

This is definitely a spam comment, must be a false positive. Akismet missed it.

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:31 am

Good work Paul!

I am in energy line, electricity tariff is pretty much my forte . So I would just want to add that in top if the tariff rate hike, if you have noticed since 1-1-2012, there is already 1% of you electricity cost added into your bill for most people for feed in tariff or more precisely renewable energy fund contribution. The bad news : that 1% will also be increased by 1.6% effective 1-1-2014

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:40 am

Oh my typo… It should be ‘On top of ‘ not ‘ in top if”

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:42 am

Another correction 1% will be increased To 1.6% not by

• Jordao07 on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:04 am

I was wondering, TNB makes billion of ringgit every year. Never a year announce losses but yet, every 1 – 2 year the tariff will increase. I wonder why??? Can someone tell me why???

• To be honest how many car owner will be affected by this electricity tariff up and down? Majority still using petrol fuel.

• Tracks on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:36 am

Your calculation of the electricity cost is based 2014 tariff and the petrol is the current price. Although it appears as not much saving based on your calculation, bear in mind that fuel prices will surely go up next year and therefore making electric cars more cost effective in terms of energy cost.

With regards to EV cars being not practical, I have to after to a certain extent only. At the price that they are asking for one, e.g. Nissan Leaf at about RM168k, owners typically would have another car for the long distance drives.

On fuel consumption claims, typically what we get in the real world when travelling in city traffic especially rush hour will be about 20-30% less than the manufacture claimed fuel consumption.

• Sam Loo on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:55 am

The VIOS would definitely have a better mileage than these 2 cars, and a much better resale value. A full tank vios could go 700km easily… try beating that!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
    • samlooissohai on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:32 am

really???…wonder why my vios cant reach that mileage…u want to tok kok also use brain la

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:30 pm

Obviously, the K5 owner that has been shown 3 Hilux, 2 Broomsticks and manhandled by a Gurkha.

Sam only trades used Hyundai. Another 60 units went to Colombo last week, so we are now clean of cabbages in our yard. KIA owners start to come in but we are still not taking them for now.

After CNY, used KIA’s value will drop another 25%, which makes them viable for export. Will see how it goes

• brainless aunty on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:28 pm

My neighbour told me his cousin’s vios can achieve 900km on a full tank in city traffic. You must be a heavy footer.

• i own a vios and generally driving plus minus at 2000km/month. I spent about rm275 fuel each month (or 5 times, rm55 each each)for a month. That means vios and electric cars not so much difference in terms to save money. If newer cars has better FC than vios so it will wiser to buy that car rather than electric cars.

• Honda Hybrid Owner on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:17 am

I think the cost (electric vs fuel) that u pay for electric car same with hybrid car.
    So no point having electric car at the moment as long that petrol price not get above Rm3 per liter. No different of saving at all between it.

• rickyll on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:40 am

This article certainly touches all Malaysian what not, with so many impending tariff adjustments moving upward. Malaysian generally would be hardest hit next year and should start tightening the belt now. By the way, you may be new to this site. Paultan.org has been around for many years. It’s one of the most popular auto websites here. It provides the latest automotive news to the netizens. I bought my cars based on Paultan’s reports, like I said before:”In Paultan I trust”, keep up the good works, Paul and your dedicated team.

• Petrol price in Malaysia is so much cheaper why bother with electric car?! Beside electric car is so expensive, you will never get break even point with current cheap petrol.

• EnergyAnalyst on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:48 am

To be more precise, due to 1% feed in tariff also increase to 1.6%, the increase of electricity cost is actually more than what the tariff rates show

• auto-enthusiast-but-not-quite on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:51 am

just need to clarify the calculations that the Editor assumed can be better improved.
    the 45.4sen/kwh is only applicable after using over 900 kwh, and that figure is more realistic at the end of the month. As the attached table listed, the electricity tariffs are charged in steps, the more you use, the higher tariff you are charged.
    Thus, when you charge the EV earlier in the month, you benefit from the cheaper tariff (below 300 kwh) . Based on TNB FAQ, the average tariff is 33.54 sen/kwh and when the new tariff kicks in, its closer to 39 sen rather than to use the maximum 57.1 sen.
    Further to add, those older Leafs that Daniel had have a lower estimated range of ~160km. I believe this newer Leaf that tan chong nissan is selling is the newer versions, rated in UK to be at 195km range. After some calculations, it seems the new Leaf actually returns a lower sen/km even with new tariffs!

• rickyll on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:37 pm

With all due respects, I beg to disagree with you. For owners of Nissan Leaf, we must assumed that their monthly household consumption of electricity be more than 900 Kw. TNB’s metre reader comes once a month, so there is no difference whether you charged it earlier or later on, the total monthly usage would still be calculated base on the tariff rate.

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 23, 2013 at 10:56 am

Unfortunately, its not so simple.

Charging up an electric car may bump you to the next tariff level. Causing your household electricity cost to go up as well.

To be honest, I am surprised at the electric running cost of the leaf. That’s not better than a good modern diesel.

• dieselISbest on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:16 am

If you want the best bang for your buck, currently diesel technology is still the best for your pocket. European motorists and now India too have realised that. Having used on long term, a high capacity diesel turbo sedan, small capacity turbo petrol and also a hybrid, must say that the diesel still comes out top in all respect – fuel efficiency both city and highway, maintenance and the most important, driver satisfaction. Paultan can perhaps do some comparison tests for the benefit of those who are still unclear about the potential of diesels.

• charging at parking lot, guard house etc (the one you not pay the electric bill)…. priceless…. huhuhu

• Aaron Lum on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:33 am

Wow.. 11.42 cents per km? But I drive Toyota Prius c only cost me 10 cents per km leh..

• Paul Tan on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:58 am

Different driving style. You need to remember that this particular driving style is the same one that causes the Golf TSI to use nearly 12 litre per 100km.

• Me drive Prius C, using RON97 still save a lots = 1 bar equal to 110km – 115KM, depending on how your driving.
    Ev idea is good yet it came with heave price due to new TNB electrical tariff.
    Go Green with Toyota Hybrid :)

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm

As long as its a sushi, you will have peace of mind.
      If its a KIA, do consider taking the leap of faith from Plaza Masalam

• Romie on Dec 23, 2013 at 12:09 pm

Like peribahasa melayu always said “Ukur Baju Di Badan Sendiri”.. If you think EV car expensive, electricity bill so high, petrol price not reasonable just buy a motorcycle (kapcai). If you want to look like macho guy, buy superbike or harley.. end of the story. Be smart guy.. smart thinking save your pocket money.

• cardreamer on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:21 pm

So it translate into 10km/RM for the Nissan Leaf on electric.

My Proton Saga FLX 1.3 on NGV can run 20km/RM. On a full tank of petrol @ RM60, combined with the use of NGV, i can run the car 1050KM before i need to refill the petrol full again. That’s even cheaper than electric car! and the Saga is almost 1/5 the price of a Leaf…the carbon footprint is very low and more benefits to the environment than the ‘zero’ emission expensive electric car.

• farghmee on Dec 23, 2013 at 2:35 pm

maybe u should be the one who drive the Leaf, so that the comparison maybe valid.
      lightfooted NGV user drives fully-electric Leaf lightfootedly (sorry my rojak english).

regarding carbon footprint,
      well that depends from what source the electricity is derived.
      if it is from coal-fired powerplant, then surely it is more pollution compared to hydro-electric PP.
      but to compare it with all the oil refinery etc., only detailed data could confirm.

• cardreamer on Dec 24, 2013 at 1:27 pm

Well..thank you sir. I think most electric car user or any fuel saving car user for that reason are mainly light footed people. Their main concern mainly getting from point A to point B at a reduced cost and adding to that a better environment.
        When we talk about carbon footprint, it focuses on the environment degradation that took place along the process of producing a product. For example, someone earning 5K a month need only 6 month working to get 30K, while on the other hand he need to work for more than 20 month to get a Leaf. And the extra month he work would include the extra mileages, extra electric usage in the office, extra engine oil for maintenance, extra food consumption..etc. Not to mention the transport of Leaf through shipping, the further the source, the bigger the footprint…it not only about power generation or pollution arises after using the product..and that is carbon footprint..it is a whole lot of thing to consider…
        Sometime the technology is so advance in its being environmentally friendly, but when we consider the cost on environment to produce the technology,which may be higher, then it may not be feasible for it to be produced.

• Nicholas on Dec 25, 2013 at 1:31 pm

Saga FLX on NGV? Try talk to those taxi driver first before even try to think about converting the campro to NGV, kaput in 3 months… Source from taxi driver on my way back from LCCT…

• cardreamer on Dec 26, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Campro, kaput in three months? Been using it for more than 3 months now..are not all the taxis out there running gas on Campro?
        Before i converted it to gas, been told by the company that Campro is not as good as toyota engine to run on gas, but it shall works as usual..but extra care needed..
        Reality is gas is dry in nature compare to petrol, given any engine it will suffer any way any how…talked to a KLIA taxi driver driving a continental car as a taxi..and been told that engine will need more maintenance due to gas..but as i mentioned earlier, how much is a saga for you to worry too much?..the saving is a lot more that your worries…think of this, i filled up full tank at RM9.80 and could travel from Shah Alam to Ipoh! filled up again at Gopeng and get back to Shah Alam..not even RM10 for 200km!

• engineer on Dec 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm

and he also pay 500 ringgit more for the nissan leaf every month (instalment)compare to golf gti….need to include that…which summarize that ev is totally bullsh8!

• Is simple, petrol hike, electric hike, toll hike, spare parts hike only my salary not hike, change gov to stop hike.

• Go to brisbanetimes.com.au /drive
    Article by Andrew Maclean
    Petrol power will dominate to 2040 says US government.
    “Despite car makers spending billions developing electric cars, petrol-powered vehicles will still rule the roads by 2040 according to a report released by the US Energy Information Administration.”
    “ The report said that, within that number, it predicts a significant rise in mild hybrid systems to improve fuel consumption with almost half of new cars sold in 2040 featuring some form of energy recovery technology.”
    “It says full electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids which can run partially on electric power alone will only make up two percent of sales.”

• A fool and his money will soon be parted!

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:33 pm

Well, all kimchi owners does fall into this category

• Stealth on Dec 23, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Need to use water based fuel. I remember reading of a project by a university student sponsored by Hyundai (if I’m not mistaken ) that uses the fotosintesis concept. Using solar power to break the water atom into oxigen and hydrogen. Hydrogen is used to power the car while oxigen is release through exhaust system. How amazing is it rite if it goes into production

• 4G63T DSM on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:25 pm

Hahaha. Good one. Would it not be much simpler to use solar energy to charge batteries or super capacitors?

Battery performance will improve so will the efficiency of solar cells.

the photosynthesis method will need some biological photosynthesis vat, and then a way to compress hydrogen into workable storage (which requires energy) then another fuel cell to convert the stored energy into power + water. Then imagine having to fit that entire contraption into a car.

:p

• thebugbud on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:45 pm

Our friendly minister said that highway is alternate route and not the main route. The rakyat oay for faster alternative route. Later they will say car is alternative transport and main transport is kereta lembu or basikal or jalan kaki. *** really dumb excuses ****

• good luck to those who bought Nissan Daun, or any electric car and including golf buggy.

• firo02 on Dec 26, 2013 at 8:04 pm

I wonder how EV car perform in recent banjir event…