Facelifted F10 BMW M5 now in Malaysia, from RM902k

M5-LCI-01

The F10 BMW M5 LCI is now officially available in Malaysia, joining the facelifted F10 5-Series range that was introduced by BMW Group Malaysia in October. The range-topping 5-Series from the M Division is priced at RM901,800 on-the-road without insurance and options.

The 4.4 litre twin-turbo V8 engine with 560 hp and 680 Nm of torque remains untouched, as are the seven-speed M dual-clutch transmission, Active M Differential and M-specific suspension settings. Not enough? There’s a new Competition Package that will cost you an additional RM85k.

The upgrade brings 575 horses, developed over the same 6,000 to 7,000 rpm range as in the standard engine. Peak torque, unchanged at 680 Nm, is maintained for 200 rpm more than before (now 1,500 to 6,000 rpm). The extra power shaves off 0.1 and 0.2 seconds off the M5’s 0 to 100 km/h and 200 km/h times. That’s 4.3 and 12.8 seconds respectively.

M5-LCI-02

Power aside, the Competition Package suspension, dampers and stabiliser bars are all stiffened up, and ride height is lowered by 10 mm. The Active M Differential and steering get bespoke settings for improved traction and agility too, while the DSC in M Dynamic mode intervenes less. Unique 20-inch alloy wheels are included (19-inch standard), and the exhaust tips are finished in black chrome.

Back to the standard car. The F10 M5 LCI sports a new ‘double-line’ kidney grille with a model designation badge, just like on the M6. Adaptive LED headlamps with reshaped Corona Rings (flat top and bottom lines) are standard, just like on regular F10 LCI variants.

Inside, LCI revisions include a bigger armrest storage compartment, chrome-trimmed iDrive display (10.2-inch wide here) and a Touch Controller. The slim three-spoke M steering wheel first seen on the M6 also makes an appearance in the latest M5. Sound is courtesy of a 600W, 16-speaker Harman Kardon Surround Sound system.

Other options include Vehicle Tracking and Recovery with Safety Upgrade (Telematics Platform Accessory) for RM5,900 and 20-inch M Light Alloys (double-spoke style 343M) for RM25k.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Gitu je on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:11 pm

Wah..
    But JAP’s GTR is smaller CC (meaning smaller roadtax $$) but is way way way much faster and awesome than this Germanic boy toy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 64
    • Because the GT-R is awd and lighter lah faggot. Surely will accelerate faster.
      And people don’t buy M5 to chase laptime or performance figures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • AUSNSW on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:08 am

M5 is for those who love to show off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
        • 2 years Warranty Only? on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:37 am

Sell this car for RM1 million and only get 2 years warranty? This is suicide. Parts like gearbox alone will cost RM100,000. What to do if kaput?

Anyway, most people looking for speed don’t go for sedans. More prestigious to get a Porsche Carrera for RM800,000. More classy. More respect. More gaya. Somemore Porsche give you 4 years complete warrany with option of paying a bit more to get 8 years warranty. Also 4 years free service both parts and labour!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • jacksonljs on Dec 24, 2013 at 5:59 pm

Plus, with 7-speed MANUAL transmission option alongside with 7-speed PDK.

Even if not brand new, a pre-owned 1 ~ 2 years Carrera 991 series also jadilah as there’s still have warranty besides cheaper price (if you visit Porsche Glenmarie, Shah Alam)

• Fredo on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:35 am

yeah, some people have both M5 and GTR in their garage :)

• superbird #43 on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:59 pm

GT-R isn’t the fastest car in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • 1) You can park this anywhere and people wont scratch your car out of jealousy
      2) people who buy these cars, buy it because they want one, unlike cars like the GTR ,they dont buy it for posing
      3) a GTR is not “WAY WAY WAY” faster than an M5, it is only slightly faster.
      4) comparing a 4 door luxury saloon made to bring your family to the shopping mall whilst still racing other performance cars in comfort, with a 2 door hardcore sports car proves you are as ignorant as your grammar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Heng Lee on Dec 24, 2013 at 2:45 am

‘way way faster”? LOL!

A Nissan GT-R nismo GT3 reached position 134 at the 24h Nurburgring race 2013, behind “supercars” like Audi TT (pos. 25), Peugeot 208 GTI (pos. 30), Hyundai Veloster Turbo (pos. 90) and even an Opel Manta from 1980 (pos. 98)… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Gegary on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:30 pm

That’s a 24 hour endurance race, where there are other factors besides speed. Not a straight-up speed race.

• Aaron on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:43 am

Only a person without automotive knowledge would compare a GT-R with a M5. M5 is a true luxury sedan with 4 doors, whereas the GT-R? Try asking a company CEO sitting in the GT-R compared to the M5, the CEO will slap your face so hard that your children will have hand prints on their face if you ask them to sit in the GT-R. Anyway, do not compare cars from totally different category, AND, do not compare a Japanese to a true German Machine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • GT-R is a 4WD car and is designed as a sports car as it’s first priority. It is more of a racing car/track car.

The F10 M5 however, is a RWD car and is designed as a executive sedan car in the first place. M5 is a high performance variant of the regular BMW F10 5-series that combines high performance with luxury and comfort all together in a single package.

M5 is for people who wants a luxury car together with a good performance while GT-R is a pure sports car built for speed and track.

• jolly_idiot on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:15 pm

1 million for a M? I’ll skip this.

Too many choice of others and recon comes cheaper and better.

Bmw malaysia trying to rob/rip us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • AUSNSW on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:16 pm

For expensive car,you can go for a recond unit in Malaysia…Haha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • It isn’t to targeted to the general public anyway. Those who count money in millions /billions wouldn’t mind paying 1 mil for a new car that they like. Also by bringing introducing an expensive, range topping model, BMW will be able to reinstate their premium image and engineering excellence. Grow up man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • bmwhardcorefan on Dec 24, 2013 at 3:16 pm

if u really study about bmw,you will know m5 is not just an ordinary 5series with that badge

• You haven’t seen AMG models yet. For example SL65 AMG or S65 AMG. You should check the price of those. Should be over 2 million RM in malaysia.

• superbird #43 on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:32 pm

why are there no BMW M 6-speed manual?

• lonelyobserve on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:03 pm

BMW M cars have 6-speed manual. It is standard on M3 and upcoming M4. However, you may need to special order such variant from BMW Malaysia (provided it willing to accept such order, as 7-speed DCT is considered standard equipment in this country).

But bear in mind M5 and M6 have 7-speed DCT as standard equipment across the globe except US, where 6-speed manual transmission on M5 and M6 is provided specially for there.

• heel-and-toe on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:47 pm

This current generation of M5s and M6s are offered with 6-speed manual transmission in US because the customers there demanded for it.
      However surely we can custom-order it if we have poket tebal, just like Tiff Needell as he owns the one and only manual E60 M5 in Europe.

• lonelyobserve on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:29 pm

Correct. He is an old school driver. Driving pleasure is most important.

• sl_tan on Dec 23, 2013 at 5:47 pm

can i have the 20″ M rims pls ,

i want to exchange with a BLM

• That gear stick is ugly

• PassingBy on Dec 23, 2013 at 6:11 pm

lol from 902k. pfft skip. buy better brand better, totally not worth the money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • nzain on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:00 pm

what the heck…pay more almost reach 1m for what??the exterior stay the same instead has minor facelift…i think pay more then u’ll get that F10…LOL

• Johny on Dec 23, 2013 at 7:24 pm

Wah M5 = 902K? then M6 = 1M++ then…

• Whatever** on Mar 15, 2016 at 7:20 am

M6 now cost 988k…but mybe if it have some options….yess…it will cost more than 1mil i think

• heybadigol on Dec 23, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Sounds like a slight price increase. Think I recall the pre facelift costing RM888k.

I know the M5 is faster, but I kinda prefer the Maserati Ghibli S – for one it doesnt look like a typical 3 box sedan. Will Paultan please do a comparo when they’re both available? That should be a riot.

• RM902k? what a fast moving luxury home

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Dec 23, 2013 at 9:39 pm

Driving a no RV car and bank account is empty. Smarter people takes Camry where bank is loaded. And you dont see the car kwai tai at highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • jolly_idiot on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:36 pm

I smoke lotsa camry at kl jb highway with my f10. I do enjoy smoking them being they thought their camry is so superior in rv and power.

Best moment is I even smoke a mark x too.

Sorry bro, but I admit that other brand owner do have better manners compared to toyota owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
      • AUSNSW on Dec 24, 2013 at 9:13 am

Have money try get other country pr or migrate.Try other country highway…Some of its don’t have speed limit.But you will get smoked…Haha

• Sam Loo 2 on Dec 24, 2013 at 11:53 am

jolly idiot is jolly idiot.Those Camry and Mark X owner are not interested to play with you because they know that you are just a Sorhai that will be shown two Hilux and a Camry when you trade in your Hailat F10 to my boss’ yard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • BOYRACER on Dec 23, 2013 at 11:46 pm

Bird brain!!!

• Johny on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:51 am

Banana Brain!

• IShowedSamTheFinger on Dec 24, 2013 at 10:49 am

What’s with this guy..likes to condemn and bash other brands.And worse of all,to bash the buyers is downright humiliating not to other people but himself,this is to show that he has no respect for people.If I were to buy a Toyota,I will NOT look for this particular salesman.He has NO dignity,self-respect and the most obvious thing he is lacking is he has no working brain.

• SeriousSam on Dec 24, 2013 at 8:53 am

I drive a M3 and i have 12 houses around Asia. What do you think Camry man?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • kairys on Dec 24, 2013 at 12:08 pm

one thing i wonder, why this F10 M5 LCI doesn’t comes with Enhanced Black Panel as other F10 LCI model before?

• Correction. F10 M5 do not come with black panel as they dont need gimmick to show the sportiness. There are already on top of the hierarchy. My fren has one pre-LCI F10 M5.

• kairys on Dec 24, 2013 at 7:30 pm

all F10 comes with black panel (as they call it). in fact all new BMW comes with it.
        the only different is the new ENHANCED one that comes with LCI F10 but not with LCI F10 M5.
        the enhanced one is different because it is full LCD including the speedometer while the old black panel is only the bottom part is LCD.

• Maserati(Official) on Dec 25, 2013 at 9:17 am

Would be better off to buy a recon GTR which is so much more awesomer than this.

You buy an M5, ppl will just think its a normal 5 series on the road.

Or heck, for a million bucks, getting a Porsche Panamera GTS will make heads turn.

• bloody hell rather get a recon E60